• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 533 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service I have always had excellent service, even over the phone they have always had the answer to my questions. I was even out of town for a few months, went to a local Fidelity office, and you would have thought I was a regular customer there . Very impressed. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy Self-directed IRA I wanted a self-directed IRA that was easy to check.... along with in-depth, detailed research at my fingertips. The Fidelity Roth IRA gives me all of that along with security and low fees. July 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Expected much more. In terms of service, options, and value. Very disappointed. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Many options with low fees. Compared to my former investment firm, Fidelity offers more options and at lower fees. Very satisfied. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Security I am positive with my experience with Fidelity's IRA July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA Great to see all accounts on one page. We need to get better at annual conversions and tax planning. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to navigate Fidelity makes it so easy to see your stocks and how they are doing. They have an excellent app and I love it because I monitor most of my stocks from my phone. They also make it easy to research and watch stocks you may want to monitor. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by dividends ex-dividend dates shoud be placed next to symbols of your shares so if you wish to add more you can do so! June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect I enjoy the knowledge of the staff when calling in, the excellent service is what gets my business. June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA When it came time to rollover my 401k to an IRA and Roth IRA there was no question about which firm to use. I had the 401k with Fidelity and their service over the years made the choice to stay with them very easy. June 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good stuff very happy with this account. received good and helpful information over the phone. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Setting up a ROTH IRA The members were very helpful in setting up and adding to my Roth IRA June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Content Need to enhance more function on chart compare for stock and ETF. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and convenient Excellent customer service, lots of choice and easy use web side. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent services, great resources and overall good value I am very happy with my Roth IRA account. The research tools are wonderful, especially for dividends. Only recommendation I would make: Ability to graph portfolio performance vs various indexes. By providing this feature you can track how you are doing relative to the overall market. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax due on roth ira appreciate the info provided on the chat online service May 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All I wanted. I have only had this Roth IRA since the first of the year but I have been totally satisfied. The range of products available and the low cost of buying them made it a no-brainer for me. I plan to add more money to it before I stop working completely. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just moved my 401K to an IRA My account manager supported me in transfering my 401K to IRA's. Transfering my accounts to IRA's was quick and easy. A multitude of investment options are available to choose from. Lots of background information is available for research. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Fidelity IRAs Nothing but praise. Fidelity has the best web site, the best customer service, etc. I've been with others. I'll never leave Fidelity. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent customer service Every time I call with a questions, representatives are friendly, knowledgeable and easy to understand. It's so nice to be able to have help whenever I need it. April 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by satisfied have invested with fideleity for almost 20 years , very satisfied with service overall March 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful I think that my Roth is a great investment choice. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Easy to open an account. Easy to process. Easy to see the pros and cons of other accounts. February 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professionally Managed I have had nothing but a good experience with Fidelity. There was a minor issue with the timing of a contribution. It was not straightforward and the customer service rep quickly realized he wasn't able handle the issue and escalated it. The next person researched it and handled very professionally and efficiently. There are very few good customer service groups out there and Fidelity has one of them. Very impressed. February 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by more work are desired on mobile web For example: In trade panel, when sell all share selected, a selection of current holding should be out automatically. February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Many Options for Investors I like Fidelity and the website more each time I use it. Fidelity constantly updates and makes their site easier to use, the investing information is very useful, the funds are easy to research and the personal reports are invaluable. As an average investor I feel lucky to have these resources. When I call I get immediate, and accurate service from very helpful people with great attitudes. February 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA A Roth IRA is the best thing to have. Pay your taxes on your investment when you open the Account, then as you earn you don't have to worry about taxes. February 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good research and results I find your web site a huge help for research. I had to change the type of acct. I have last year and the phone help was very good. I would like to see rate of return available February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Very simple to use. A vanilla product for a simple concept February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Rocks Have always experienced good service whether on line or with call to customer service. Never left on hold and always pleasant experience. February 3, 2014
  • 2015-03-27T09:44:48.823-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_533, tr_533
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 18 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.9.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.