• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 580 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA Fidelity has a great selection of funds to suit all strategies. Don't forget that you do NOT have to take RMD over age 70.5 with Roth so you can draw down standard IRAs first, leaving the Roth to accumulate further.. January 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable I have been with Fidelity a short time but have found my time here a pleasant experience. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retired spousal Roth Implementation looking ahead a few years, we have collaborated with our investment advisor to reduce our traditional and rollover accounts and maximize both annual Roth contributions with Fidelity's informative website and knowledgeable telephone representatives. Fidelity makes it so easy to implement and follow our financial plans. Fidelity remains competitive on the cost and performance aspect while far exceeding our expectations on the personal service and implementation side. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really satisfied Have been a Fidelity customers for almost 6 years now. My experience has been so satisfactory. I would highly recommend considering Fidelity for your investment needs. January 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by No complaints I transferred my old Roth IRA to Fidelity and so far, I have been very pleased. The costs are lower, I have more control, and everything is much more transparent. January 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Participant Not much to say about my investment since I am a new participant. But I can say I like the convenience of doing things on my own. January 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I love having my investment accounts at Fidelity. I have never been pressured to make inappropriate investment decisions or give up control of my accounts. Service is always prompt and excellent. It is my considered belief that there is no better value available, and no more secure house of finance. It is apparent that Fidelity maintains a high standard of ethics that give me great comfort. December 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greg's Roth IRA Fidelity offers a great IRA account. The main reason I like it is because I can populate it with no-fee iShares ETFs offered by Fidelity. Fidelity's customer service is wonderful and the financial tools on their website are absolutely terrific. I would recommend a Fidelity Roth IRA account to anyone. December 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the Small Business Employee A Fidelity Roth IRA gives you the option to seek expert advice or to use your own judgment for the account. Recurring deposits on a monthly, quarterly, or yearly basis ensures money is wisely saved for your retirement goals instead of foolishly spent on short term goals. Moreover, there is peace of mind that a nest egg will be available in the future. December 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Below Expections Good information available on the web site, but very long wait time to speak with an advisor. December 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy access and no hassle I enjoy the easy online access to my account. The Fidelity website is easy to navigate and easy to quickly retrieve specific account information. I also like the long rang plan management option so I don't have to try and manage it myself. Keep up the good work! December 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and easy So far, setting up and using my ROTH IRA with Fidelity has been great. The only "complaints" would be about the website itself and the ease of finding new things that I'm currently unfamiliar with. The website seems to need an overhaul to be in touch with the rest of the "technology looks" that other websites offer today. For example, I use Fidelity in Safari, and the site is always "left justified" and to a set size....It seems to me that it would make much more sense to have the screen AT LEAST in the center of the page, if not magnified and adjusted to each user's screen size. December 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great deal I had the desire to create a Roth account for a while. The IRS changes in rollover rules for 401K to an IRA made it possible for me to open a Roth. The Fidelity's Professionals, once I explain what I wanted to do, they made in so. I truly appreciate this great professionalism and service. December 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by convenient and reliable Everything is good except one thing: for the login ID and password, special characters are not accepted. So I don't feel 100% secure about the protection of my account. I think special characters such as ! ? - % $ & * should be allowed. December 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by overall experiences nothing special about Fidelity... esp. re: products, prices and conviences December 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's just a custodial account I am a self directed investor. I really cannot complain about the account structure itself. It works as I had intended it to. I can make trades inside it, etc.. The only thing I wish there was (and this is not just for IRA and Roth accts.) would be a evaluator tool on the website for evaluation of ESG performance and an ability to evaluate/screen out fossil fuels and the like. December 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No YTD Change I live chatted an agent asking about how to see the YTD change on my Roth IRA - I have a employer 401K and can see the YTD change with a click of a button. When I chatted to ask about the Roth IRA and that feature, I felt the person (I believe her name as Anne) was very condescending. I am capable of calculating the YTD change by pulling up the actual statements. I don't need to know HOW to calculate the YTD change, I would just like to conveniently pull it up like my 401K (it is on the same drop down menu as my 401K, but it doesn't pull up the YTD change when I click on it). I thought there was a possibility I was in the wrong area of the website. December 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Traditional IRA Converting to Existing Roth Great experience so far, easy trades, transfers, etc. 60 % of my portfolio is currently in a Traditional from conversion, 25% in Roth and 15% about in a Individual cash account. I want to ultimately have all the Traditional money in the Roth and wondering how much sense it makes to transfer the 60% into the Roth and not withholding taxes. Would this just deplete my tax return and is this a good move for the future? Also, the 60% transferred into a Roth doesn't count as contributions meaning only $5,000 ($5,500) a year right? Thanks Fidelity! December 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review of Fidelity Roth IRA We are very happy with our Fidelity Roth IRA.. Especially important to us is the ongoing communication with our Fidelity Investment Advisor and articles of interest provided to us for review of the global marketplace and investing. We are very pleased with our investment experience with Fidelity. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service Eric does an excellent job in keeping me updated with the market and he know's exactly what my expectations are. November 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Setup easy with Adviser Explained all the steps and how accounts worked. Friendly and knowledgeable about what I was trying to communicate. November 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Roth IRA My Roth IRAs are self directed and I have one BIG COMPLAINT. WHY CAN'T FIDELITY GIVE US A CHECKING ACCOUNT FOR OUR ROTHS LIKE THEY DO FOR A CONVENTIONAL i see no valid reason why you cannot do so. It is not rocket science to establish a simple set of rules to allow this. I personally find it a great inconvenience to transfer money to our joint account. IT would be so nice to be able to carry the Roth checkbook with us so that we can make an instant purchase if necessary while continuing to let our money grow tax free. Had I know this before transferring my accounts I would not have transferred my Roths. Having online access is great to buy/sell stocks etc, but you certainly do not make it easy for us to have access to our money. I would recommend Fidelity to friends but also warn them about your position of not issuing checking accounts for those who want them on their Roth IRAs I have voiced my concern on several occasion to my premium team and have never gotten a satisfactory answer. or any follow-up to my request. November 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why not a Roth? Why not now? There are no fees; set up is quick and easy using Fidelity.com. Transferring funds is a simple matter of a few keystrokes, and Fidelity customer service people are always available and always very efficient if you have a question. There's no reason to put off a Roth IRA any longer. October 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Website has great ease of use. Every time I have called Customer Service they have been extremely helpful. I actually look forward to talking to a representative and always get through quickly. October 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Service I have requested multiple times and for months that Fidelity help (you actually offered) to transfer my Roth IRA from another institution. After several hours on hold, on the phone -- nothing has been done. I have offered another institution to move everything I have with Fidelity (if only that would also include by 403b) to them when they make the transfer occur. October 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ease of use Do it on my time but hard to get help from a representative. Have great mutual funds so it is much better than my previous brokerage account. Wish there was a little more info but customer service is great. October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to understand the type of investment, and the terms and conditions are very accessible and clear October 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful Service When I first got my Roth IRA, I was completely lost after I signed up. I spoke with an agent who walked me through the process which was a great help and now I feel better that I am investing money! October 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secured and Reliable I am so new to doing something like this.(Opening a ROTH IRA) Savings for my retirement. And I am so glad, I did it with Fidelity. October 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Income I only wish I could put more money into it every year! The taxes on a Traditional IRA are outrageous, especially in California! October 7, 2014
  • 2015-07-27T11:09:43.341-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_580, tr_580
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 20 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.9.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.