• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features


No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments


Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 599 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA The client service is excellent. I have had no issues anytime I have had to call in for information. The online tools are excellent as well. The only issue I would have is when you open an IRA, you should be able to invest in mutual funds at any dollar level, not the 2500 minimums. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plenty of options Pros: Easy to open, no fee's, plenty of options, dividend reinvestment option for most stocks, easy to use website. Execution is fast, online trading platform is easy to use. Commission is low. Con: a low password max character limit is enforced and this is no good. Makes it much easier for the bad guys to crack passwords if they know the max char limit, and it is easy to figure out when making an account or pretending to. Longer passwords are stronger. This makes me hesitant to trust that my information is stored in a secure manor. February 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Client Communications Exceptionally poor client service. Emails and phone calls not returned. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Pair with Rewards Credit Cards Fidelity's Retirment Rewards credit cards (AMEX, VISA) make an excellent pair with the actual IRA itself. Spending results in saving. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Backup Retirement account Am happy to be able to combine typical investments in a brokerage account with high yield intermediate bonds (not bond funds).......it works, although have found the 'new' system to be more difficult to scan and see enough of my line items on one page - have supplied this feedback another time or two previously. February 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not to expensive and relatively easy to use It is pretty easy to make contributions and the expense is not bad. February 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Inexpensive and flexible, easy to use Lots of options and smooth website interface. Customer service is exceptional! February 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too soon to tell No problems, but can't rate 5 stars because I've only had the account for a feww months. February 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenience and secure It took very long for me to transfer from traditional Ira to Roth ira and I had to transfer twice to make it right. February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA So far, I have been pleased with my Roth IRA. I rolled it over from a previous employer, and I think the recommendation made by Fidelity has work well so far. February 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Always A Problem It seems that every attempted transaction with Fidelity takes an extra step or two. When you think something is complete, it takes more input. This is true with all of my accounts and with my conversations with reps. With this Roth account, transferred from my 401k, I authorize the transfer, wait for the fund transfer (from Fidelity to Fidelity), need to come back and choose a fund again (not an easy step with website not set up intuitively for such investment transfers), and hope again it went right. Need to check regularly online to see what else is needed or what unexpected thing has happened. Investment is now fine, but I am not happy. February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy and reliable Rolled over several past accounts to fidelity - glad to have them all in one place! February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I started my Roth IRA at age 40. Now that I am 60 and do not need it, the interest, dividends and capital gains can continue to grow tax free inside the Roth IRA account. February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great customer service i'm new at this but feel secure with your group. I get very helpful information online thank you. January 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by roth ira don't know anything about it. All I know is that the taxes have already been paid on it. January 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Website The website is AWFUL compared to Fidelity's own 403b website. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retirement GREAT WAY TO INVEST FOR YOUR RETIREMENT IN THE FUTURE - :) January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Years Resolution? Get a Roth IRA There is really nothing else to say, other than this should be your goal in the new year if you're looking for a fool proof resolution: create an IRA account. I've never personally dealt with Fidelity's customer service since I established and transferred my IRA to them via the computer, but I'm assuming (and hoping) if I did contact them it would be a pleasant communication. Other than not having enough information to rate them on customer service, they seem like a strong go-to. January 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by FidelityrothIRA good financial plan. provides many options for using the funds. January 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA Fidelity has a great selection of funds to suit all strategies. Don't forget that you do NOT have to take RMD over age 70.5 with Roth so you can draw down standard IRAs first, leaving the Roth to accumulate further.. January 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable I have been with Fidelity a short time but have found my time here a pleasant experience. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retired spousal Roth Implementation looking ahead a few years, we have collaborated with our investment advisor to reduce our traditional and rollover accounts and maximize both annual Roth contributions with Fidelity's informative website and knowledgeable telephone representatives. Fidelity makes it so easy to implement and follow our financial plans. Fidelity remains competitive on the cost and performance aspect while far exceeding our expectations on the personal service and implementation side. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really satisfied Have been a Fidelity customers for almost 6 years now. My experience has been so satisfactory. I would highly recommend considering Fidelity for your investment needs. January 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by No complaints I transferred my old Roth IRA to Fidelity and so far, I have been very pleased. The costs are lower, I have more control, and everything is much more transparent. January 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Participant Not much to say about my investment since I am a new participant. But I can say I like the convenience of doing things on my own. January 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I love having my investment accounts at Fidelity. I have never been pressured to make inappropriate investment decisions or give up control of my accounts. Service is always prompt and excellent. It is my considered belief that there is no better value available, and no more secure house of finance. It is apparent that Fidelity maintains a high standard of ethics that give me great comfort. December 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greg's Roth IRA Fidelity offers a great IRA account. The main reason I like it is because I can populate it with no-fee iShares ETFs offered by Fidelity. Fidelity's customer service is wonderful and the financial tools on their website are absolutely terrific. I would recommend a Fidelity Roth IRA account to anyone. December 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the Small Business Employee A Fidelity Roth IRA gives you the option to seek expert advice or to use your own judgment for the account. Recurring deposits on a monthly, quarterly, or yearly basis ensures money is wisely saved for your retirement goals instead of foolishly spent on short term goals. Moreover, there is peace of mind that a nest egg will be available in the future. December 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Below Expections Good information available on the web site, but very long wait time to speak with an advisor. December 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy access and no hassle I enjoy the easy online access to my account. The Fidelity website is easy to navigate and easy to quickly retrieve specific account information. I also like the long rang plan management option so I don't have to try and manage it myself. Keep up the good work! December 15, 2014
  • 2015-10-09T11:05:20.589-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_599, tr_599
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 20 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.