Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 673 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Oriented I have appreciated the interface with my broker. He has given me items to look at and consider. January 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use I enjoy the online tools. They allow me to do my own research and investing. January 5, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by SDR Roth IRA Fidelity does a great job managing my IRA's. The issues I have all revolve around how difficult it is to navigate through your web site. The main problem I have had is once I have made a withdrawal from my traditional IRA I have had to call each time to get help making sure the taxes were taken out. Your customer service people have been great each time, which helps a lot. Nevertheless, I should not have had to call for the help. December 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA I'm very satisfied with my Fidelity Roth IRA; I consolidated several other Roth IRAs into 1 at Fidelity. December 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to open Rollover from company 401K plan. Easy to do, representative was helpful. Reasonable commission on stock trades, easy to setup DRIP. December 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA All is good. Everything is as expected. Access to account is good. Haven't used Customer Service. Transfer from another IRA is a slow process like all brokerages that I have worked with. December 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Feedback I believe the Roth IRA is a good investment, although I find it difficult to navigate the website myself to get what I need. I typically have to call customer service and they walk me through how to get what I need. They are always very helpful. December 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by CD Valuation Frustrated with the value you place on my CD's. Would prefer to see them valued at face value in my totals, not at the value they could theoretically be sold for today. December 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful information and tools I love the wealth of information and tools provided to help me make the decision to convert an IRA to a ROTH. December 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA - Smart Move I had post tax dollars in my company 401K. Fidelity made it simple and seamless to roll these funds over without any fees with the principal invested in a Roth IRA and the dividends on the principal to an IRA. Investment Funds were either the same or similar investment objectives. December 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA A Roth IRA at Fidelity is convenient and offers many investment choices. December 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely secure/reliable I have had a Roth IRA since the 80's. Best tool the Gov't. gave to people wanting to have investments grow and not be taxed at withdrawal. I don't understand why more people do have them. Big mistake is wanting to open one after you retire but you might not have earned income. I love my Roth IRA accounts and I love Fidelity. Your after hours/weekend support is great! December 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service Review Excellent!! The software is very easy to use. I do not have any problems, what so ever!!! December 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recently moved my Roth to Fidelity I have held small accounts at Fidelity for years, but only moved this account to Fidelity about six months ago. It is doing fine, but not enough time has passed to fairly justify giving Fidelity maximum scores in every category. There are several things I like very much. Two examples important to me are: #1 is the advice and support -- very much in tune with my needs, concerns with consideration of long term needs and tax implications of investments. (My previous adviser had more of a "one size fits all" approach, and slightly higher expense ratios.) The web site is excellent, has lots of resources for looking at alternatives, comparisons, etc., and is easy to use. My only regret is that I waited so long to look into Fidelity for this kind of help. November 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and helpful I'm a college student getting into investing and beginning my retirement planning. Fidelity has made it easy for me to learn and made educated decisions easy to make. The account has been all that I need it to be. November 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity is the Best I have been completely happy with my entire Fidelity experience - be it the tools on line - the simplicity in placing my orders. When I have issues, I call someone and they do everything to help me out. When I did a rollover, I felt the customer service representative went well beyond my expectations to make that happen. I was very appreciative of that. November 23, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Using Fideltiy for your IRA Other brokers offer more and at a better price point. If you are just buying and holding they are pretty good at that. November 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service When I called the Fidelity representative was extremely helpful. All of my questions were answered and establishingJ the Roth was as easy as it could possibly be. November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Completely confident with Fidelity. I am completely confident with Fidelity, they are true icons in the investment world. I feel safe with them, and never doubt their integrity and professional handling of my transactions, their prompt correspondence and follow up are reassurance of their commitment to total customer satisfaction. November 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Fidelity has exceeded my expectations. Tyna has done a great job. October 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth Easy to use. A variety of investments to choose from and I'm the one in control. October 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tools Everything just works really well compared to my experience with the competition. Fidelity has great visual tools and dashboards, and clicking on various tabs produces wonderful stock or bond analyses. Love the secure feeling I get from using VIP Access (the phone authentication process) and it's very easy to use. Whenever I talk to my account manager or someone in Customer Support, I feel I get excellent advice, am not rushed and am confident that I can execute my investments properly. October 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA - Great Savings Account I enjoy my account, user friendly online access, helpful customer service. October 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to update Everything works as advertised. Not much else to say. October 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lack of Timely Account Management and Contact I have mutliple accounts with Fidelity both Work Related and many Personal Accounts. Now the accounts are no longer linked in same view through my work account, which makes it harder and less convenient to view all my Fidelity information. I left my Personal Account Representative a very detailed message and all I got in return was a message from his secretary asking if I could call back and give specifics on what I was looking for etc. Obviously this indicated my voice message to my representative was not listened to following me announcing who I was, it must have not even been forwarded to the secretary, otherwise, if either of them had listened to it, they would have heard the SPECIFIC DETAILED QUESTIONS AND HELP I WAS SEEKING. Again I must emphasize that this is not in relation to JUST ONE ACCOUNT, I have at least 6 Accounts minimum with Fidelity. It is disapointing because the representative was so sincere while we set up all the additional accounts, but now I feel I have been pushed to the side now that he obtained those accounts. I have stocks that were suppose to be transfered upon finalization of my father's estate to a brokerage account with Fidelity within the next couple of months. But unfortuneately, I had to make the decision not using that account now based on what my own experience has been thus far in regards to my Personal Fidelity Accounts. I have always enjoyed having my Fidelity Accounts, but now not so much. :( September 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA I like the Fidelity Roth IRA; I mostly use the app to check my balance and day-to-day price changes. However, I do find it unusual that no one has reached out to me to help with my investment decisions. I wouldn't necessarily accept it or solicit it, but I figured that would be a selling point for the company. August 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by my review meets my limited needs its sunny today and maybe rain tomorrow August 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by New Format I would have rated these areas as good to very good. However, the new format is confusing and definitely not convenient. The old format was perfect and I do not understand the advantage of changing it. Maybe I'll get used to it, but for now, it was not a good decision. August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great resources My Roth is composed almost entirely of stocks, and it's important to me to be able to find current and reliable information on both value and growth stocks. Fidelity provides quality resources as well as low-cost trades. August 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service & Convenience Fidelity gives great customer service and is very easy to use. I called the customer service line and had a great experience with the financial representative I spoke with. I appreciated how I wasn't transferred a bunch of times to people who were poorly trained like most customer service numbers. August 15, 2015
  • 2016-06-28 T06:37:13.464-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_673, tr_673
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>