Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 705 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Choices & Convience I'm a solid Fidelity fan. Love having all my investments in one place. The web site is terrific. May 16, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by seems to do what it is supposed to do I chose a roth conversion to reduce future mandatory distributions and maybe have a partially tax free estate. May 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable No issues here. I enjoy seeing both of my retirement portfolios on the site when I choose "Positions." Also, I like the idea that my cost basis is shown and immediately changes after a purchase. May 1, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4* Your service is excellent. I can really give the company 5 stars. However the interest amounts paid on your CD's and Annuities are not competitive with rates that can be available in the open market. I can find other comparable reputable banks and insurance providers(A+ rated) providing better rates. I have conveyed this to each of your customer service professionals who answer's my call to have this information passed along. If better rates are offered on these two products I sure can transfer additional amounts held outside of Fidelity and have it consolidated. Would appreciate a feed back please. I can provide you additional details if needed. Thanks. April 25, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Percentage of Growth I have never been able to find a way to check the percentage for the growth of my Roth IRA since the beginning of the year or since inception. I can see how much money has been earned but it would be nice to also see a percentage. April 25, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by ROTH IRA review $7.95 is too expensive in this market. Plus someone just told me that there's a hold after you sell a stock and before you can buy a new stock. Again, that's not what your competitors are doing. April 25, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by reliable I have never been with another investment company. Do not know how they could be any better. Have been with Fidelity for 41 years and am totally pleased with them. Every time I think theres a problem I talk to a representative it all gets fixed quickly and I am happy. April 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by no-brainer to set up Roth IRA There are lots of reasons to have a Roth IRA. I finally set one up when I retired and it was very easy to do thanks to the Fidelity online system. April 11, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by transfer Transfer was easy to effect, went smoothly without any issues April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Intuitive The website for work on the Roth IRA is easy to use and has an intuitive format - there is just not a lot of stumbling around finding things. The trading itself is excellent. April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service For any transaction I complete through Fidelity, I always receive excellent service. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best After having my account sit for a few years when I left a former employer, I decided to get serious about retirement. I rolled over my old 401Ks to a Fidelity IRA because it offers a wide range of investment options for a low price. April 4, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Taxes Diversification of taxes. Leaves to my daughter w/o tax implications. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy access and convenience! Enjoy being able to purchase any stock or fund I want. No annual fees and commission free offers for i shares and Fidelity offerings. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure I appreciate that we have a local office to ask questions etc. The people are courteous, and helpful. March 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfaction Have been with Fidelity for approximately 7 months. I am satisfied with Service. March 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use with Helpful Tools Its great. It offers great tools for research and offers easy and secure management of the account. March 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rliable The rep was very knowledgable and direct. Greatest set up ever. March 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1 Satisfied, generally happy with the service and IRA. March 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest and best move I ever made. My transfer from another Institution says it all Right on time no excuses, mistakes or any Headaches. A+ March 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easily accessible My experience using the Fidelity platform has been extremely positive. The investment accounts are easily accessible and the platform is intuitive, even for first-time users. March 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for long term While I have had the Roth IRA for a short time, it will definitely fill a need for a long term investment vehicle with great tax advantages. Thanks. February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by FOODY I LIKE THE ROTH BECAUSE OF THE TAX FREE SAVINGS. I CAN'T COMMENT ON MUCH MORE BECAUSE I HAVE NOT HAD TO USE IT. I PLAN TO LEAVE IT AND LET IT GROW TAX FREE AND IT WOULD BE THE LAST MONEY I WOULD USE. February 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very valuable in retirement We did not have Roth IRA or the Roth 401K accounts when I was young. As earnings accumulate over the years it is much more valuable to manage the savings in a Roth account. If I were to start my career today I would use only the Roth IRAs. February 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple It is easy and simple to use! Many funds to choose from. February 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Control your future When my previous Roth IRA provider exited the business, I had the courage to take control of my investments. I had existing accounts with Fidelity so I added the Roth IRA to the mix. The newsletter I subscribe to has an excellemt track record and Fidelity makes it easy to follow their recommendations. February 15, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure Need to provide more instructions and advise for first time users. I wish someone would have helped me with investing my first $5K February 15, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dean Dailey IRA review The IRA is convenient to use. Friendly service. Good value obtained through a combination of fixed income resources such as CD's, US Treasuries etc. Standard stock trades are also very convenient but with high market volatility a bit too risky for my personal approach. February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flexibility The ROTH IRA gives so much enthusiasm and confidence knowing that withdrawals and earnings are essentially tax free. This will be a big boost one day when you need those extra funds to make a significant purchase during retirement and wont get hit with a big tax bill. That is my hope. January 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by On par A Roth IRA is a Roth IRA. It is the funds that make or break it. Service with Fidelity seems to have been declining recently. There even seems to be an unwillingness to face to face meetings with an Executive Account Representative. January 17, 2016
  • 2016-08-31 T11:16:22.632-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_705, tr_705
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>