Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 716 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly and Trustworthy I was happy to have learned during the course of my meeting so as to be more knowlegeable about handling my finances in the future. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Total return I would like an easy way to view the total return both including dividends, and not including dividends, for each position. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by no complaints here I have enjoyed using Fidelity's services. The web site is easy to navigate and the research tools are adequate. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 stars all sections I found that working with Fidelity's office is fast & enjoyable & always look forward to my visits.No matter who I see the experience is painless. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Like all Fidelity accounts Good research tools and a range of no-load, no-fee investment options. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fid Roth The Roth account works well with my personnal and retirement accounts with Fidelity. The web site is the easiest to become aquainted with and information is accessable in many different forms. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Love the Fidelity website, and customer service is excellent. On the down side, transaction fees for mutual funds are significantly higher than your competitors. Your lineup of NTF funds is also much more limited than several competitors. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure The most convenient account for the pre-retirement period June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA rules I got the answer I wanted about MRD's right here right away. Great information. June 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just opened a Roth IRA I just opened a Roth IRA to balance my retirement portfolio. Setting up the account was a breeze. The only thing I had trouble with was locating how I can set up automatic contributions to the account online. However, a quick 5 minute phone call to a friendly representative quickly answered my inquiry. Glad I selected Fidelity. May 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome Great customer service. Easy setup, and plenty of investment options. When I started I had a small concern with my account, the customer service rep couldn't have been friendlier. I'm excited about investing with my Roth IRA. April 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Options Wide selection of investment choices, but more NTF funds would improve the value added to each customer. I'm considering consolidating my retirement accounts at Fidelity. February 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy with Fidelity I like Fidelity's research tools, portfolio analysis and planning, and website layout. February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable and good offering of Funds from Fidelity I like how I can view multiple accts at once. It makes studying your whole portfolio easy. February 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Offer products (including retirement products) I prefer to have my assets at one brokerage firm, however, because Fidelity does not offer a wider range of account types (i.e. Roth 401K accounts for self-employed & Individual HSA accounts, I must use other brokerage companies. It would be nice if Fidelity offered these products. February 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by #1 in my Book I've been with Fidelity for at least 30 years and have never had a single problem or negative experience. During this time Fidelity has grown tremendously as a company, greatly expanded it's services and done so without sacrificing the personal connection to it's customers. There are not many businesses I can think of that have maintained this level of customer service. Overall, the employees and management at Fidelity have done an awesome job and should be commended! Thanks again Sincerely Randy January 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use It's intuitive. I like how you can figure things out without having to read the help tutorial. The retirement supplemental calulator and articles are easy to understand and very helpful. January 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flexibility with Roth IRA I am definitely satisfied with my Roth IRA account. I am able to use funds from both inside and outside of Fidelity's accounts to better diversify my portfolio and this is done at a minimal fee by investing automatically. It would be nice if no fee would be owed for investing in a non-Fidelity fund, but I understand why it is necessary. January 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA Good access Smartphone app delays need improvement Fullview is great Trade execution good Cost ok January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by good information I like Fidelity's website and the different areas to research. January 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by servey should offer service to inform me what it would cost me to convert my rollover ira to a roth. after all, you have all the numbers January 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality Service, Excellent Web Site Web site is easy to navigate. Have been extremely pleased with customer service over the phone, the few times I've needed it. Mobile site is very well done, and handy to use. Access to a very good selection of assets and funds. January 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by rate of return I would like to see a "Year to Date Change" a personal rate of return from 1/1/2013 to "today's date" similar to my 401k January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity made it easy Fidelity makes this important method of saving for retirement easy! January 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ease of use Fidelity is simply an easy investment partner to work with January 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by mr wish there was a way to pull up the current real asset allocation January 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by thebrentster I love the old web format and hate the new dashboard format. For example, the dashboard format tells me nothing. I need detail information like the old format. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by convenient & reliable Roth ira is an ideal vehicle to hold assets. Fidelity is a group of very trained advisors. My enhancement request would be to allow self-directed retirement vehicles January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenience Plus Fidelity has removed nearly every obstacle to make IRA investing extremely easy with countless options for the self-directed investor. Compared to investors using other financial companies, I have the best of all services. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy and quick to establish " IRA to ROTH conversion " account This Roth is an " IRA to ROTH conversion " account at Fidelity. It was so easy and quick to establish and transfer the assets. The Fidelity rep assisted me in moving the assets I selected in my IRA to the new ROTH account. Very helpful. January 24, 2013
  • 2016-09-23 T10:59:55.777-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-15, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_716, tr_716
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 24 next>>