• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 653 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Roth account Having all my accounts at Fidelity makes it easy to switch between accounts - esp that I am often make transfers from my regular to my Roth IRA - easy to do over the phone with Fidelity. I just wish Fidelity had an option for a self-employed Roth 401K January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great IRA inconvenient website I have always had trouble navigating the Fidelity Website. I consider myself very tech savvy but adding the confusion of investing and picking the right funds makes using the website confusing and non-intuitive. If the website could be simplified but provide the vital information that I need to invest properly, I would find it much more useful. The investing language is also foreign to me and I constantly found myself searching Google to understand the investment options that were available. This should be readily available or made more accessible on the website. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality and Quantity There are a number of top quality mutual funds in most every catagories. If one fund isn't performing as well as it used too, you have many others to consider. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good trustful company. I've been dealing with this company quite a while now and they are very dependable. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Statements It would be VERY convenient to run stmts for the entire year and YTD. And be able to filter (select) based on buys, sells, transferred, etc. Currently too many categories are combined. Qrtly stmts do not always meet my needs. If I want to see all of my buys/sells during the year, I have to run four qrtly stmts!!!! this applies to any account, not just Roths January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Place to have an Account with Great Value Having invested with Fidelity for quite a while, I can say I am a big fan of what it has to offer. I can generally do whatever I'm trying to accomplish online in a simple and easy manner. Additionally, the access to research and products that help with making investment choices are excellent and vast (I'm still continually finding new things). All of this with no fees and only the 7.95 commission when I make trades. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of Choice What we like about having our Roth IRA's with Fidelity: 1) 25+ years of positive experiences with Fidelity 2) Wide variety of investment choices What could be improved: - My wife and I keep virtually mirror Roth IRA portfolios, so it is inconvenient to have to log out of one account and back into the other when we want to make changes to the portfolios. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth Account Review The management of the account is relatively easy to handle. Questions concerning the account are easily handles by Fidelity representatives. January 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Service response time 1. I called customer service and requested help. I was told someone would contact me but no one ever called me back. That was the last time I called to ask a question. 2. I always have difficulty with the accounts on the website. I find it difficult and confusing to navigate to what I want to see. Maybe it is because I don't make enough trades. Just a comment for what it's worth. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cost effective I have a number of accounts with fidelity and it gives me easy access and flexibility . I am contacted occasionally but not harassed. The only regret I have with my Roth accounts is I should have put more mutual funds in instead of in my other accounts. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Roth Ira I love my Roth Ira. I wish that I could invest more money per year. I find the small amount I am allowed to invest too limited. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by ROTH IRA REVIEW I APPRECIATE THE NUMBER OF INVESTMENTS OPTIONS FIDELITY OFFERS TO FUND MY IRA WITH. ALSO APPRCIATE THE ABILITY TO CONTACT FIDELITY TO DISCUSS MY IRA AT ANYTIME I DESIRE. ALSO APPRECIATED ALL THE RESEARCH INFORMATION THAT IS AVAILABLE TO ME ON THE FIDELITY WEB SITE. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recharaterization Very thorough help and answered all of my questions to explain the 1099-r Thanks January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth Review Fidelity has done an excellent job for me. You are easy to work with either online or on the phone or in person at the local office in Overland Park Kansas. Everyone is well trained and does a professional job. The only change I would like to see is to change the characters that you can use in a password, such as #, *, etc. Other comkpnies aloow these characters and I would like to be able to standardize on my passwords so I have fewer to memorize. I am sure this sounds trivial, and it does some to me as I write this, but 2 other people I know with Fidelity accounts have the same thoughts. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA I love my roth ira. I do all my trading in this account as the profits are tax free and there is no reporting requirement for hundreds of small trades. The fidelity platform is easy to use and provides the information I need. Fidelity representatives are on hand to explain an unusual transaction or market issue. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and easy For a simple question this was faster than going through the phone sign-in process. January 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Transfer from Fidelity Trad IRA to Fidelity Roth IRA I am unable to find where to do this online, so I need to call by telephone. December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for the beginners just started investing and have a lot to learn but i am happy w my choice to go w a fidelity roth and fidelity in general. April 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent I do like the Fidelity site in general, but there are several improvements i would like to see. Most importantly, between all of my accounts, I have almost $1M with Fidelity, but I pay basically the same commission as somebody with $1000. I don't think that is appropriate. Also, I think the price triggers are really cumbersome to use. You don't even provide an option to see all of your price alerts on one page. It is really tediius to have to page through page by page to change/delete, etc. I think an overhaul is long past due on that. Finally, it would be nice if you could somehow do custom views like you can in Mornignstar so you can sort by Divident yeild, etc. March 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use Your recent change to the main accounts page is a step backwards. Drop the commission for exiting low value option positions. March 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by General I've never had any problems accessing my account or reaching a Fidelity representative. Pricing on trades is in line with other online brokerages. March 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The website is easy to use. I don't have time to do alot of research so it is handy to get publications off the Fidelity website to find out what the economy is going to do. Because I have a Roth IRA I can do that. March 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service Our account executive is very helpful. She is thorough and knowledgeable about the market and applies this to our future goals. March 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Service from a reliable and insightful provider Fidelity has been a rock-solid organization through the financial crisis and has been a symbol of strength. I trust this organization more than my own bank and hence trust all my retirement account with them. The Fund-network provides access to several funds from various fund families. The research material available for customer is unparalleled. The only negative that I see is that for the funds that are not in funds-network, customer pay a big price for transactions/loads. I wish all the fund-families co-operate with each other make it 0 fee for investing in any of the funds. I will recommend not only the provider but it family of funds for retirement needs. March 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Private Investor The account is very convenient and meets or exceeds my expectations. Auto debiting from my checking account for making contributions is very simple to set up and modify, as is desired. Investment choices are adequately diverse. March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and reliable I've been happy with ability to choose my investments. If I have a question I know I can ask for assitance. March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I frequently recommend Fidelity's services. I'm very satisfied wih the service i get from Fidelity Investments. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I think it has been a sound investment. The investment has given me long term confidence and since I have moved to the Upper East Side in Manhattan the service I have received at the new Fidelity Office on 77th St and 3rd Avenue has been superb. In fact, I want to expand my Investment Portfolio because of it ... March 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems pretty standard No problems with Fidelity so far. Only issue is I am unfamiliar with where/how I am getting charged? More obvious explanations would be nice. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly how I like it. Thank you. Fidelity does a great job. There with excellent assistance 24/7 if I need it. Leaves me alone when I choose to be independent. Thank you. Keep up the good work. March 4, 2012
  • 2016-05-04 T05:54:24.397-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-15, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_653, tr_653
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 22 next>>

Investing involves risk, including risk of loss.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Guidance provided is educational.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.12.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.