• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 595 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by good custodian More timely fund/stock/bond performance would be better. If Morningstar can do it, surely Fidelity can also! M* updates performanced DAILY! February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Options galore Fidelity IRA's give me many investment options at reasonable costs. Service is second to none. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Provide more value to customers I suggest Fidelity to provide more value to customers by reducing the flat commission for online trades. Also offer more commission-free ETFs. February 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by More investing options Mutual funds available for Roth IRA accounts are very limited. Would like to see more mutual funds available for selection while investing. Thats the reason I gave 3 stars for overall rating and average for Value. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am pleased with the amount of information available to customers. I am pleased with the amount of information available to customers. The performance review is a nice feature also, but I would prefer in addition to quarterly and yearly comparisons, a more frequent refresh of comparisons. Perhaps on an unrelated note, I was looking into one junk bond: this bond was on the lists when I first found it, and disappeared 2 weeks later when I went back to continue looking at it. I did not do research nor did I call Fidelity to understand why I could no longer see the bond (the company certainly still exists, and the bond to my memory was not yet callable.) February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only IRA for Israel bonds I wanted to diversify by putting some of my savings into Israel bonds, and Fidelity is the only broker outside of NYC who handles Israel bonds. February 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not for those who want Fidelity advice Not sure if I would recommend Fidelity. Advisors do not really advise. They are just there to expedite things. Sometimes one wants an opinion, not just a stock answer that really does not advise. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by User friendly I like the fact that the website is very user friendly and the support staff is incredibly helpful. No one treats you like an idiot and that is very appreciated. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy conversion We took advantage of the 2011 relaxation of the conversion rules to convert most of our traditional IRA's to Roth's. It was simple and convenient. While we are currently above the thresholds to further contribute to the ROTH's, we have maintained the original IRA's and will make non-deductible contributions to those. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Informative and easy to use. Please only make changes when the benefit is overwhelming, or to correct an error. It seems everyone is making changes for the sake of making changes these days - it becomes annoying to us older people. February 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by reliable reliable and I will cotinue to have ROTH account remain with Fidelity even though I stopped contribution. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA I would like to receive at least an annual free review with advice on how to achieve the best possible return since I have a long time horizon in which to invest. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fine I haven't done much with my Roth IRA, just put money in it, so I haven't really needed any assistance with it. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I am completely satisfied with the service I get at Fidelity am completely satisfied with the service I get at Fidelity February 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Review Ive been a Fidelity customer for over 20 years. Its so rare anyone reaches out to me regarding my investments. This seems like a very tiny gesture towards maintaining customer satisfaction. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall very good! I am very pleased with the service I receive from Fidelity and its representatives. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review My Husband and I each have a Roth acciount as well as two college accounts for our grandchildren. Each time my husband has found it necessary to contact Fedelity, the representatives have been courteous and helpful. We appreciate the ease in setting up all of our accounts and the information we are able to obtain via the online account access. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use. I think Fidelity offers all of the investing choices I need. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use On-line site easy to use with real time data to do trades accurately and efficiently. Account information presented in a useful format making assessment very clear as to value and cost data of various investments. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure, Convenient and Easy to Use With my hectic schedule, I do not always have time to call for financial advice, or do research on my own to find the best savings options. I have found my Fidelity IRA to be invaluable in helping me to save for my retirement, and ensure I do so wisely. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Website is easy to navigate, and if I need to contact customer service by phone, the representatives are knowledgeable and helpful. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plenty of Choices There is a wide selection of investment choices available through Fidelity. The research tools are comprehensive and simple to use and the online banking provided by Fidelity lets me make my choices with ease. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall Happy with my account Very convenient. No real issues or complaints. I like being able to direct deposit from my paycheck into my account. Trading fees are reasonable. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by ease of use I like the ease of use with the fidelity website. I would like to see more investment choices, like REIT but i don't find them easily for my account. Not sure if these are index fund or not but i would prefer them. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to manage I like my self directed Roth IRA for ease of access and services. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by more helpful Your advice for investments would be more helpful if the advice were more specific. My expertise is in the field I work in and I am happy to go into as deep an explanation as you would deem necessary as my client. Your advice always seems limited and expecting research from me. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure, reliable, easy tools for research I really like the customer service - it is live and it is there when ever I need it. It is also accurate. Lots of choices and very good price. It's a clear decision for me and I often suggest Fidelity to others. February 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Roth IRA Excess Contribution I called Fidelity to obtain guidance on what to do with excess contribution. (I just found out while doing my taxes that my adjusted gross income is higher than the limit, and so that means I am not eligible to contribute to my Roth IRA the previous year.) The person on the call was very rude and did not have the patience to explain each option to me, what's the pros and cons of each (or why a person would decide one over the other). His tone was very condescending. In the end, I did my research online and decided on one of the options as next steps. His service was horrible. I admit I'm not very knowledgeable in these things, but if customer service is this bad, I'd rather take/move my money elsewhere -- one that will provide advice, help me reach my goals and add value to a learning investor (I still have many many years before retirement and have just started investing). I wouldn't put money to invest with Fidelity if they are not very helpful. February 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I need and more Excellent site, personal, products, and reputation. I'm happy. February 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I do NOT like the new display of account positions on the web site. The new display of account positions is not making things easier. It is making me want to shop other brokerages as I value the web interaface and ease of use that I previously had at Fidelity. February 28, 2012
  • 2015-08-27T12:16:31.923-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-15, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_595, tr_595
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 20 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.9.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.