• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 584 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA I would like to receive at least an annual free review with advice on how to achieve the best possible return since I have a long time horizon in which to invest. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fine I haven't done much with my Roth IRA, just put money in it, so I haven't really needed any assistance with it. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I am completely satisfied with the service I get at Fidelity am completely satisfied with the service I get at Fidelity February 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Review Ive been a Fidelity customer for over 20 years. Its so rare anyone reaches out to me regarding my investments. This seems like a very tiny gesture towards maintaining customer satisfaction. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall very good! I am very pleased with the service I receive from Fidelity and its representatives. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review My Husband and I each have a Roth acciount as well as two college accounts for our grandchildren. Each time my husband has found it necessary to contact Fedelity, the representatives have been courteous and helpful. We appreciate the ease in setting up all of our accounts and the information we are able to obtain via the online account access. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use. I think Fidelity offers all of the investing choices I need. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use On-line site easy to use with real time data to do trades accurately and efficiently. Account information presented in a useful format making assessment very clear as to value and cost data of various investments. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure, Convenient and Easy to Use With my hectic schedule, I do not always have time to call for financial advice, or do research on my own to find the best savings options. I have found my Fidelity IRA to be invaluable in helping me to save for my retirement, and ensure I do so wisely. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Website is easy to navigate, and if I need to contact customer service by phone, the representatives are knowledgeable and helpful. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plenty of Choices There is a wide selection of investment choices available through Fidelity. The research tools are comprehensive and simple to use and the online banking provided by Fidelity lets me make my choices with ease. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall Happy with my account Very convenient. No real issues or complaints. I like being able to direct deposit from my paycheck into my account. Trading fees are reasonable. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by ease of use I like the ease of use with the fidelity website. I would like to see more investment choices, like REIT but i don't find them easily for my account. Not sure if these are index fund or not but i would prefer them. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to manage I like my self directed Roth IRA for ease of access and services. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by more helpful Your advice for investments would be more helpful if the advice were more specific. My expertise is in the field I work in and I am happy to go into as deep an explanation as you would deem necessary as my client. Your advice always seems limited and expecting research from me. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure, reliable, easy tools for research I really like the customer service - it is live and it is there when ever I need it. It is also accurate. Lots of choices and very good price. It's a clear decision for me and I often suggest Fidelity to others. February 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Roth IRA Excess Contribution I called Fidelity to obtain guidance on what to do with excess contribution. (I just found out while doing my taxes that my adjusted gross income is higher than the limit, and so that means I am not eligible to contribute to my Roth IRA the previous year.) The person on the call was very rude and did not have the patience to explain each option to me, what's the pros and cons of each (or why a person would decide one over the other). His tone was very condescending. In the end, I did my research online and decided on one of the options as next steps. His service was horrible. I admit I'm not very knowledgeable in these things, but if customer service is this bad, I'd rather take/move my money elsewhere -- one that will provide advice, help me reach my goals and add value to a learning investor (I still have many many years before retirement and have just started investing). I wouldn't put money to invest with Fidelity if they are not very helpful. February 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I need and more Excellent site, personal, products, and reputation. I'm happy. February 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I do NOT like the new display of account positions on the web site. The new display of account positions is not making things easier. It is making me want to shop other brokerages as I value the web interaface and ease of use that I previously had at Fidelity. February 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple and convenient I have a Fidelity Roth IRA. It's very easy to understand and to contribute every year. My only concern is that I'm not taking full advantage of the investment opportunities available through the account. But, I have no complaints. I don't have to think much about it, which makes my life much easier. February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent products We have been very happy working with Fidelity! Questions are answered and support given when requested. No complaints from me! February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to set up and easy to use. I found it very easy to set up the ROTH IRA account online. Funding was a simple process with a few clicks, we were finished. February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Excellent and efficient service, secure transactions as always with Fidelity. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy as pie ? Easy to add, change, and review investments. Good for a beginner like me. February 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Have (IT) problem with account, and it is not being resolved in expeditious manner. See below. Several problems: 1. Wife's 403b account is not being reflected in one view (Summary), and it is being double-counted (and both with incorrect amount) in another view (Analysis). Have attempted to get this cleared up through 1-800 service (poor response, I was basically refered to my Account Rep.) and now via my Account Rep. 2. The numbers being portrayed in the "pie chart" and the "bar chart" for asset allocation are inconsistent. The former has my bond % around 24-25, while the latter has 35%. This cannot be. See No. 1 ... used same method to try to resolve. 3. The bond numbers (individual holdings) shown within a given account (in my case, in my Joint Account and 401k) do not agree with the numbers that appears in the bond section of "Analysis" tab. Something is wrong. The numbers must be identical. February 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy access and available research Easy to review offerings, make deposits and conduct additional research into available products February 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great people to work with! There have been many great conversations with knowledgable, experienced, and friendly people. Whether the market was up or down I have been very happy with the services from Fidelity. Love your website too! February 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It is good service The serviice is good in general, I like it. Havn't used customer service yet. February 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by satisfied My wife handles this and it works for me. I value having the roth product.productive February 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenient, easy to navigate I prefer Fidelity to other investment companies. When I resign from my job in may I will roll over my other investments to Fidelity. February 26, 2012
  • 2015-08-04T12:21:13.538-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-15, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_584, tr_584
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 20 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.9.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.