Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 673 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by growth and incom I like the availability to research and change my funds according to the market as I see it. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple, efficient and secure A terrrific savings product supported by professional and efficient service. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AO Web site user friendly. Calls answered promtly with no long holding. Movement of funds from my bank is painless. Questions are answered first time and I feel confident the information is correct. I work for a regional bank and am thankful that Fidelity does not have banks, they would be tough competition. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth account review I've been advised that with auto-withdrawal from the bank to the roth account that fidelity will not insure that I go over the limit for the year and that it is my responsibility not to have more than the limit deposited; please address and fix this situation if this is still the case; thanks... January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Fidelity is there to help me decide which funds to choose when I need to and the ease of managing the Roth IRA fund makes it all the more worthwhile. January 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by frustrated It was easy to transfer. My rep left and the new rep had somebody call me a few minutes before my appt and say she was sick and would contact me to reschedule. It has been a couple of months....maybe she died? I would like to invest smarter. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA good - no changes needed. I currently do not have any problems with my account. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need better tools I would like to be able to see mutual fund risk and performance parameters, for a period and/or dates of my choice. That is, I would like to be able to specify two dates, let's say Jan 1,2000 to Jan 1,2009, and be able to see return after taxes, standard deviation, beta, etc. Especially 3-year risk parameters are totally insufficient to make a decision for IRA investments. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by No complaints I have no complaints. The account is easy to use and I have never considered transferring it. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable I am very happy with the services I receive from Fidelity for my Roth IRA. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid Service Solid Service, great retirement tools. Excellent customer servove, both phone and web available. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy, automated contribution, but without threshhold assistance Our Roth IRAs have been a staple of our retirement planning. However, we feel alone in determining whether or not we can contribute to the maximum contribution level. Fidelity is not aware of our income fluctuations, so it is difficult to "guess" at when we must no longer contribute to a Roth. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Title I believe the technology is useful and information timely January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Familiar & Reliable As a former employee, I know that Fidelity is safe and secure. I trust Fidelity...not only for the security of my information but the ability to get the best price for my trades. January 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by convenient The most important info I need on my ROTH and Traditional IRA statements is the yearto date contributions. put it on the front page not hidden in the back somewhere. Also, send me a deposit coupon and/or a reminder email specific to me not a general one that says Have you made your 2013 contribution... Also, fidelity needs a much better selection of individual corporate bonds. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to set up and monitor. Staritng a Fidelity Roth IRA was simple and all done online. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA I am very happy with Fidelity except for one thing. Please stop trying to get me to convert my Company 401K to an IRA. We all know why you want me to do this and it is not to my benefit. If you knew anything about the 401K you would not be telling me about having more options with a Fidelity IRA. I have all the choices I need. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and accessible I access my Roth IRA online periodically to check progress against my investment goals. Fidelity financial consultants have been very accessible and helpful. I also recommend getting a Fidelity branded American Express where 1% cashback is automatically routed to your Fidelity account (in my case my Roth IRA), a win-win. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprising Based on my income, I think I've done pretty well with savings and I'm also pleased with the amount of my savings, too. Fidelity has been reliable and easy to use. I do everything online and haven't had to call for help. However, the few times I've needed to do that, the help has been very good. My only complaint is that I think the $75 charge for many funds I want is too high. I don't expect free services like many seem to, but it's still very high. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best deal going. Even at age 71 I am a strong believer in the value of Roth IRAs. An excellent vehicle for passing assets tax free to children or grandchildren. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Roth account Having all my accounts at Fidelity makes it easy to switch between accounts - esp that I am often make transfers from my regular to my Roth IRA - easy to do over the phone with Fidelity. I just wish Fidelity had an option for a self-employed Roth 401K January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great IRA inconvenient website I have always had trouble navigating the Fidelity Website. I consider myself very tech savvy but adding the confusion of investing and picking the right funds makes using the website confusing and non-intuitive. If the website could be simplified but provide the vital information that I need to invest properly, I would find it much more useful. The investing language is also foreign to me and I constantly found myself searching Google to understand the investment options that were available. This should be readily available or made more accessible on the website. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality and Quantity There are a number of top quality mutual funds in most every catagories. If one fund isn't performing as well as it used too, you have many others to consider. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good trustful company. I've been dealing with this company quite a while now and they are very dependable. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Statements It would be VERY convenient to run stmts for the entire year and YTD. And be able to filter (select) based on buys, sells, transferred, etc. Currently too many categories are combined. Qrtly stmts do not always meet my needs. If I want to see all of my buys/sells during the year, I have to run four qrtly stmts!!!! this applies to any account, not just Roths January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Place to have an Account with Great Value Having invested with Fidelity for quite a while, I can say I am a big fan of what it has to offer. I can generally do whatever I'm trying to accomplish online in a simple and easy manner. Additionally, the access to research and products that help with making investment choices are excellent and vast (I'm still continually finding new things). All of this with no fees and only the 7.95 commission when I make trades. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of Choice What we like about having our Roth IRA's with Fidelity: 1) 25+ years of positive experiences with Fidelity 2) Wide variety of investment choices What could be improved: - My wife and I keep virtually mirror Roth IRA portfolios, so it is inconvenient to have to log out of one account and back into the other when we want to make changes to the portfolios. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth Account Review The management of the account is relatively easy to handle. Questions concerning the account are easily handles by Fidelity representatives. January 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Service response time 1. I called customer service and requested help. I was told someone would contact me but no one ever called me back. That was the last time I called to ask a question. 2. I always have difficulty with the accounts on the website. I find it difficult and confusing to navigate to what I want to see. Maybe it is because I don't make enough trades. Just a comment for what it's worth. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cost effective I have a number of accounts with fidelity and it gives me easy access and flexibility . I am contacted occasionally but not harassed. The only regret I have with my Roth accounts is I should have put more mutual funds in instead of in my other accounts. January 23, 2013
  • 2016-06-26 T11:24:29.562-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-15, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_673, tr_673
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 23 next>>