• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1034 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Multiple Card Rejections I had my card rejected again (at least third time in same number of months) while trying to buy a rifle which led to a 15 minute ordeal involving two store sales clerks and eventual shutting down the checkout line at a well known retail store. As so typical of this outfit, the process involves calling, going thru multiple irrelevant questions and data before getting to at least three different real people and then getting dropped from the line. Tried again and finally was able to get card cleared for the purchase after going thru similar process. Yes you make 2% on purchases that will take the card, but be prepared for an abnormal amount of embarrassing card rejects while trying to check out along with the runaround to get it cleared. December 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Apple Pay Convenience would be 5 Star if Apple Pay was accepted :( December 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amex Difficult to access acct through fid.com and about 10 percent of merchants won't accept Love the card and rebate.would recommend to everyone. December 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by High maintenance card I use this card for most purchases including recurring charges. Far too many times I have received phone calls that my card might have been compromised. Turns out it is the same exact recurring charge for the exact amount from the same exact merchant. It happened for months in a row. Thought of canceling the card and going to another 2% back card. Annoying people at customer service. December 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great Rewards, But Constant Hassle Obviously a great choice for a cash reward card, and I will likely continue using it unless I finally snap. HOWEVER, be warned that you will be subject to seemingly constant account "freezes" due to their filters for possible fraud. Be prepared to carry a secondary card because this one will regularly be declined. I promise it will drive you crazy. December 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Annoying admin issues !!! I signed up for the card for the 2% cash back but the administration issues make me wonder. My card has been rejected three times for no good reason. Once while travelling after I had even called and informed them exactly when and where I would be going. The other two times was when I had made two purchases on the same day at the same store, the second purchase was denied. In all cases it was annoying, embarrassing and frustrating to correct the issues. Customer service was not empathetic nor efficient. They made promises that were not kept. Also I can not use Apple pay yet even though I can use it on my other Amex card. The reward process is OK but not reliable or clear in my opinion. I like getting the 2% but I'm not sure it's worth the hassle !!! December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2% of payments returned as cash. I use this American Express card whenever possible. I have had no problems beyond the merchants who do not accept American Express cards. They pay a higher service fee to Amex than to the other cards. Otherwise, this is the best credit card available. December 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Card First of all this card is almost impossible to get unless you are rich and old. My daughter in law has been applying and has been rejected for about two years now. She has NEVER made a credit mistake, has bought and finished paying for brand new cars on her own, been at the same job over 8 years and does still not qualify. This card stinks of Elitism and there are much better cards that do not have such high credit requirements. Fidelity as a company is AWESOME it's sad that they chose to partner with such an Elitist company. Absolutely worst partnering I have ever seen in my life. December 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good card. I use it on everything. This card is very good. I really like the 2% cash back going to my Roth IRA account. I have it since early September 2014 and I already have like $140 cash back into my Roth IRA account. I use this card on every puchase. A lot of places are accepting American Express now. Customer service is very good. The only thing that I would like to see is FIA Card Services adding this card to Apple Pay. December 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Features First I was told I would have all of the features of my other American Express cards which was completely false. The two most important to me: 1) Different numbers for myself and my wife to make it easy to track spending between the two. 2) Email alerts for any charges over $10. Those two features are extremely important and neither is available with your card. The other problem I have had is the magnetic strip seems to be of very poor quality and stops working very easily. I have had numerous cards over the last 27 years and never had a problem with card readers like I have had with this card. The rewards are also much more of a burden than is needed. You should be able to set it up in such a way that when you have qualifying awards they can be automatically invested, instead of having to manipulate the awards each month manually. December 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the 2%! 2% back is the best you can find. Don't need to worry about categories. Great! December 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Credit Card 2% cash back is really unmatched. I am VERY particular about what credit card I use, and this is by far the best all-around card. December 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by BillPay Limitation What is the point of offering BillPay if one cannot pay a balance in excess of $400? That should be disclosed prior to taking the time to set up banking information only to be told the amount cannot exceed the $400 limit. Also, there's no ability to set spending and fraud alerts. December 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Program is not user friendly All I wanted to do is pay my Fidelity Amex on line and fining it is next to impossible. December 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by User unfriendly The website for credit card manage is very poorly designed, unintuitive and unfriendly. It is difficult to view activity, make payments, redeem rewards and etc. If you are expecting at Fidelity.com-like experience to manage this credit card, you will be very disappointed. December 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why Wait With no annual fee, excellent customer service and a go to card that deposits a minimum of $50 automatically to your Fidelity Account when you reach that amount, why would anyone wait to sign up? November 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Apple pay Great card except it will not accept Apple pay. Just bought new IPad air and my card are useless for Apple pay. November 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Like Sunday Morning Just as the other reviewers have stated this card is a real winner. I have been using this card for nearly every purchase over the past 3 years and its amazing how quickly the 2% cash back grows into a $50 cash deposit into your Fidelity account. The only downside I have found and this is very recent, is that it is not approved through ApplePay. For me, being able to use this AMEX on ApplePay would just make it that much more convenient. Customer service is handled through FIA card services and my experiences with them have been average at best. November 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Security algorithm stinks I have had persistent problems with charges being declined, some overseas, some out of state and some around the corner at the drug store I have used for 20 years. In case no one has noticed air travel is cheap and people travel outside the US, the interstates have been around for years allowing easy movement around the US and in the north east travel from one state to another is not unusual given their proximity. What is the point of having a credit card which gets declined because I am lunching in CT rather than NY? Have wasted inordinate amounts of time trying to get this resolved but nothing changes. November 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice features but more trouble than it is worth Because of the generous cash back aspects, I have used this card for several years in spite of recurrent problems with FIA's security monitoring system which periodically locks my card---resulting in inconvenience, frustration, and time wasted. I use three other cards (one of which is AMEX so it is not an AMEX problem but an FIA Services problem) and have NEVER had similar issues. November 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superior in most respects Every price out there has the cost of doing business with the credit card companies embedded within it. Cash back cards let you recapture some of that. Why this card? + liquid, spendable, value-defined CASH, not points or miles or seashells + automatic sweep MONTHLY to your account. No annual waits, no $50 increments, no BS + 2% cash back matches or exceeds every other card I've been able to find. - AMEX is not accepted everywhere. A Visa or MC with the same terms would be truly superior. As it is I carry this card AND another for vendors who don't take AMEX. November 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by FIA Cardservices is AWEFUL I have had the Fidelity America Express for a couple months now. I an used to first rate service from Fidelity, but FIA Cardservices is providing among the worst service I have experienced in my life. Their website doesn't work at times - and their customer service reps can't do much. Avoid this card! November 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't use if you travel overseas! I travel overseas often and ever time it gets declined. Card services says they are "protecting" you but in reality they are protecting themselves. You'll spend 15 mins speaking with card services to get your approval. By then I'm late for a meeting. No time for this silliness. Will cancel after this trip. I have brought this up numerous times but to no avail. November 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by FIA Amex Disappointed that this card does not have the same features that true AMEX card have. Especially the feature(s) that my other AMEX cards have that allow emails/text-messages to be sent upon any/all transactions. I consider these transaction alerts to provide a significant degree of peace of mind / security. November 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by No frills basic card with solid cash back returns. Totally skimmed down so not much by way of site capabilities or features but it gets the job done nicely and has probably the best cash back rewards out there. At the end of the day, this works great since cust service is strong, fraud detection is evident and you can get all the bells & whistles just by connecting with a free service like Mint.com November 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cash back program excellent, service not good 2% cash back is an excellent deal and the card is very convenient. As long as you don't have any problems (e.g. calling for information/service) it's a really good card. I'd give it all 5 stars if they improved their service. November 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Rewards Great for making large investments that accept credit cards. November 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Set it and Forget It No gimmicks or remembering to transfer points...the money goes right in my Fidelity Cash Management account! November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased Excellent choice and I am pleased with features and their Customer Service. November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best card ever! Have no regrets or anything bad to say about a 2% Cashback card with no annual fee! November 4, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 35 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0