• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1159 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best credit card This card by far has the best rewards, easiest to use and lack of fees May 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Card denied too often Although I really like the 2% payback, I find this card is just too annoying. We've had it for two years, and it has been replaced - without explanation - twice. That means I have to change the info on all our recurring bills. Worse, three times in the last two months the card has been denied for reasons they can't seem to explain. To add insult to injury, calling in to get it fixed is painful, taking way too long on hold. The web site has no features I've come to appreciate on our other cards, like alerts and on-line forms to let them know we are traveling. Instead, I have to wait on hold for 30 minutes to do anything. My wife and I have almost decided to give up and stop using the card. May 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Reward points ?? After over 30 min. and 10 attempts unable to transfer earned points to acct. and $50 bonus is nowhere to be found. May 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wrong Account I have one problem. I can't get American Express to realize that my charge is linked to an IRA. Twice they have sent me a 529 college savings identified card. I tried to talk to them, but they don't know an IRA from a hole in their head. I finally just gave up! May 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good card The card works very well - very pleased. It was quite easy to obtain and use. May 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy cash back I love my card. I use it for the majority of my purchases. I have a Visa rewards card that I use for places that won't take Amex, but otherwise, I use this everywhere. 2% off everything you buy adds up quick. For me, that is around $500 a year. May 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great way to build investment portfolio! I love the benefit of using the card to get cash back towards my investment goals. Only drawback is that some retailers do not accept AmEx. May 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Points need to be converted to Dollars which I monitor closely. Like being able to access my CC purchases on the Fidelity platform. May 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity FIA Investment reward cards I've had the 529 Mastercard Sibling of the Amex card ever since our grandkids were born. At 2% and our spending habits, the accounts add up quickly. My wife uses one card and i the other. Both offer 2% with no fees. Whenever I see card reviews that omit these, I try to comment. IMO these are far better than any card offering lower rewards or rewards based on miles. May 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor customer service killed this card Called customer service about a fraud charge. Instead of removing the $180, they added another $180 charge to my account. I spent another 2 hours waiting on hold over 3 separate days when I finally gave up. I will now cancel this card because I can't afford to spend hours on hold trying to get this bank to fix their own mistake. If you ever have a fraud dispute, you're in trouble with this bank. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Card Cash back with no annual fee, what a great combination. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the hassle-free rewards This is without a doubt the best rewards card I was able to find on the market. Sure, some cards will have specials different quarters with different categories that are sometimes higher than 2%, but if I am not planning a shopping spree at whatever category has the bonus, I am not really benefiting from that, right? The flat 2% reward on everything cannot be beat. Also, American Express is much more widely accepted than it used to be. There have only been a handful of times I have not been able to use it in the past 6+ months I have had the card. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seamless Integration Love the ability to link my rewards card to my Fidelity account for tracking, payments and review with the rest of my savings accounts. May 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by STOP STOP STOP STOP If you are thinking of getting and using this credit card. Since February cards get flagged every 2-3 weeks for "suspected fraudulent activity". Shopping at the same grocery store you always have? Potentially fraudulent. Getting gas from your corner gas station? Potentially fraudulent. Going out to dinner 2 miles from your home? Sorry, potentially fraudulent. Recurring charge from your insurance company? Sorry, we thought that might be fraudulent. Local big-box retailer? Sorry, we thought that was fraudulent. There is a 50/50 chance your card will be rejected. So what do you do? Do they text you like other CC companies and allow you to reply? no. Can you at least go online and check transactions for fraudulent activity and flag those as OK? NO. they turn OFF online access with the fraud alert. The only thing you can do is call and wait onhold (for 5-20 minutes) to have a human reset your account. This is the worst customer service in the history of credit cards. If you think this AMEX is going to replace an AMEX that actually lets you spend money; think again. FIA is ruining AMEX's good name (and Fidelity's now mediocre name). I think Fidelity doesn't really want to pay the 2%... it works better as an ad to get new fidelity customers than as an actual program once you are a customer. Don't be fooled. If I could have rated lower I would have. May 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best out there! This is the only card I've found that gives a 2% cash back reward on every purchase on an unlimited basis. If you want a cash back award card, this is the best. For me, cash back cards offer more value than any other kind of card. May 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best rewards card I have I have several cards, I only use this one now with a MC or Visa backup in case AmX is denied. I have earned several hundred dollars cash back in my Fidelity account for whatever I want in just the past 5 months. I pay it off monthly so this is like free cash money. I haven't figured out how to use my existing points in my decades old cards yet. This one was easy. May 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Quicken download ok I read one review that said Quicken download was not supported. I've been able to download to Quicken without any difficulties. Other than that, not much experience with the card yet. May 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient Financial Aide Really pleased with the Amex Card Service. It helps integrate many day-to-day aspects of my personal business dealings. Only minor issue is that Amex is not accepted by several places where I try to use it, which means I need to carry a second card. Customer service has been great when I have needed it. I have recommended it to my children and several friends. May 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Like the higher reward % It's nice to get a reward percentage higher than my other cards. May 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Customer Service If you have any issues plan on spending forever on hold and getting the run around poorly trained agents. May 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best rewards credit card available!! I have been using Fidelity Amex for the last five years or so. 99% of all my financial transactions go through this card. I got more than $1000 last year from my purchases. The points can be transferred to my brokerage accounts (and to my bank account if needed) or my kid's 529 plan. They used to have bonus points for purchases made from vendors on their shopping portal. This feature is gone now, but the card is still excellent. May 1, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by quit using i quit using this card because card services was a hassle to deal with, frequently canceling my card and sending me a new one with a new number on slight provocation. April 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Apple Pay??? I tried to put this card on my ApplePAY and my phone told me to call card issuer. I called FIA and after being transferred to 5 people I was told Fidelity has not agreed to allow the card to be used on Apple Pay. My other AMEX cards are allowed on ApplePAY. I would use this card more often if it was ApplePAY compatible. April 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by FIA Card services is a bad operator for a great product FIA website is decades behind "real" american express website. Currently, issue with amounts being debited instead of credited but poor communication by FIA team. Calls with Customer service generally do not get questions answered. Great product in terms of cash back (over 3,000 in the last two years) but definitely bush league service. Definitely not comparable to Fidelity's customer service. Buyer beware. Still would recommend due to value outweighing antiquated systems. April 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Had loved this card until fraud 18 fraudulent charges on this card were not caught by FIA card services, totaling over $600. I caught them after 3 days. I was making charges on the card near my home the same day the fraudulent charges started in a different state. Multiple charges in the same NY metro area over the next 3 days while I was making charges near my home. I had been assured there was additional fraud protection on this card after I had used it at Home Depot during the credit card breach. FIA Card Services assured me there was no need for a new card at that time. The first time I talked to them about the fraudulent charges they only removed 8 of the 18 charges. There were a number of identical charges, and they removed some of them and not others. It took a second call to get them all removed. When I activated my new card today I decided I needed to make sure I get activity alerts set up via my phone or text. I called and the rep. just told me it isn't possible to get any alerts!!! I would think they would want this, since their lack of fraud protection just cost them over $600. I had loved the 2% back to my fidelity investment account, but am seriously wondering whether it is worth it. I would think Fidelity would be making sure this card has better customer service, since it is being marketed as a Fidelity card, and the only reason I got it was for the 2% cash back to my Fidelity account. April 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by secure AmEx can not be used every store. The costomer service people is not very helpful. April 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent rewards - web portal needs help Great rewards program. Two problems that make it less convenient to use this card than some of my other cards: 1. Online portal is pretty terrible to use and doesn't give the option to automatically pay the card each month (you can only schedule a set amount to be paid on a set schedule - not very useful). 2. Apply Pay. We've heard for months that "it is coming" with no other details. April 25, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Cash Back Not a true AMEX card but serviced by FIA. Terrible customer service, no apps and still do not understand how I earn my 2% cash back, Also not usable by Apple pay. April 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Great Card and Double Points on all purchases is great. April 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware! A fraudulent charge and American Express couldn't care less A fraudulent charge led to cancellation without any offer to send a prompt replacement. In addition, it still does not work with Apple Pay! Very disappointed in both Fidelity and American Express. Not what I expected. April 18, 2015
  • 2015-08-01T11:59:39.426-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1159, tr_1159
  • loc_en_US, sid_003, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 39 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0