• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Investments and services

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 15 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Account benefits

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading representatives

Over 150 Investor Centers

Fees and pricing

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 626 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity online account management Very simple and easy to use while being able to manage complicated account changes or modifications. Online interface is excellent and very easy to accomplish what you want to do. Very convenient. almost as good as a personal visit. August 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No service and very poorly designed website The website is designed for 1980's. Doesn't have simple way to check order status. System keeps doing its own things and sending message about order status. When checked, it says no execution. Haven't received a single call from Fidelity to discuss my needs. August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent I like the info the website, easy to read and understand. Always help if you need it by phone. Lots of funds to pick from. Low fees August 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by average I recently had fidelity change my financial consultant and the my new broker and I have had minimal interactions to date August 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by purchasing on line Maybe it's just me but I always (once a month) have trouble finding the right way to buy from the money I transfer in to my account...I always get there but but I am never sure how. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleased overall I have had accounts with several firms and this one is definitely above average. I particularly like the internet analysis tools which are quite superior. Customer service is good. This account is not for the beginner. You don't have to be an expert investor but some knowledge is required as the in person adivise is just OK. August 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by none It's a very user unfriendly website, frustrating. - - August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just What I Need I've been in the process of learning about investing for about one and half years. Books, magazines, and the internet are my primary sources, and whenever I'm exploring a subject, Fidelity's resources are part of my search. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always reliable Probable the best firm for the money. I have been with the firm since 2000 and I have been very satisfied. July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Provides Macro and Micro views The Fidelity brokerage enables me to see micro-level details through the trading history and the bill pay history (each on its own separate page), while also giving me macro-level, net-worth view through the Full View web page. The Full View is useful because it includes holdings that are not held in Fidelity accounts. It even includes my local bank balance. It is sometimes helpful to be able to jump back and forth among these various views of holdings. The different functions are fairly well integrated, especially considering how different they are from each other. Downsides: One downside is that the Full View page does not allow me to EXCLUDE any accounts. So, for instance, I am a custodian of a minor account, and the Full View includes the child's portfolio as part of my holdings. This distorts reports about the percentage of my holdings that are in one category or another, and it increases the total net worth estimate. I'd like to see a feature that would allow me to EXCLUDE accounts that I manage but that do not actually belong to me. Another downside is that the Full View is not always able to interpret holdings held elsewhere. In my case, for instance, I have a very large account that was originally intended to become an annuity but which currently functions as a large mutual fund of bonds. When Full View shows me the percentage of my holdings that are in stocks or bonds or cash, etc, it shows 40% "unknown," thus making all of the other percentages lack any meaning as well, so it is not useful for examining my overall asset mix. (Note: these problems also invalidate the quarterly GPS reports that Fidelity produces, which COULD be very useful if they could exclude minor accounts and accurately categorize all my holdings but they don't). Another minor issue has to do with the bill-pay feature. It allows me to pay bills one month at a time, and it allows me to set up automated monthly payments PROVIDED that the monthly payments are always for the exact same amount. I'd like to have a feature that says, "automatically pay this bill whatever the amount is." July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleased Easy to navigate, great information, reasonable fees. Thanks. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service from trusted source Only down-check is lack of statements for my 401k IRA account. I have not called to discuss this yet. July 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by senior very secure and trustfull and i will recommend fidelity to all my friends etc. July 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Weak bond and option features Negatives: 1) Bond prices are sometimes out of date by more than a day. 2) Account balances are rarely accurate across all tools 3) Lack of option strategy testing support Positives: 1) Monthly statements and account performance are well organized and provide needed info 2) ATP floating windows allows max use of multiple displays 3) trade pricing/fees July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Rocks The site is great. I use the tools provided to think about the future. I've also used the reps on several occasions. I would like all my portfolio on my start up page, personal investments and HP 401K and pensions. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great options I enjoy the research and the many options available. July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exciting I've been an investor for years and worked in the industry for years all before home computers. Fidelity has made my maiden voyage into personal investing an easy and enjoyable experience. It's fast, easy, and inexpensive, and they've been there on the phone when I needed them. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity - happy My (our) accounts with Fidelity are minimal and secondary in nature for us. However, the accounts we do have have given us a very positive view of the company's efforts. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the service and support I have been very impressed and satisfied with everything Fidelity provides for me as an individual investor. Really like using the online tools such as the GPS tool and the research data available. Both the helpdesk support and my local advisor have been available and responsive in anything I have needed help with. Glad to have made the move to Fidelidy July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good For Beginners! Fidelity is a one-stop operation. I am able to get the information I need to research my investment options and I also like the instructional information available. I have learned a lot by investing with Fidelity and using their investment tools. I feel confident when I have a question, I can get straight factual answers. The monthly statements and other documentation are clear and concise. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy I am new to doing my own investments but customer service has always been very helpful and patient with me when I needed help. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by New to this, but learning fast Fidelity seems to have everything most retirees and traders would ever need in once place. Phone service for questions has been terrific. My account representative is very helpful, but not intrusive. I enjoy the security of being able to do everything in one place. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Accurate I am a retired broker/branch manager/national sales manager of full service brokers. I am delighted with the breath and scope of Fidelity. I had numerous occasions to speak with the support staff and they are as knowledgeable and well trained as any major wirehouse broker. I am happy to use and recommend Fidelity to other investors. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by STAYING UP TO DATE The web site and account detail helps me stay currant with the market. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First timer This has been my first experience with Fidelity only because I inherited my account from my Dad. Fidelity has made it so easy for me to understand my account and have great personnel when I have questions June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by low cost With Fidelity you have a wide range of investments.Plus there is helpful customer service for those who need it. June 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ok website is difficult to maneuver and manage; often need to call to find anything. The older versions were easier to manage. The Advisors are very good. June 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by It's Okay. Average service. No meaningful advice. Account information does not contain all of the information I would like to see regarding dividends June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for me The only change I would make it to allow a comment or directions on the online Wire Transfer request. It's available on the hardcopy, but not online and it's needed. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and informative I am delighted to receive the daily email telling me exactly where I stand June 10, 2014
  • 2015-03-27T09:45:41.388-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_626, tr_626
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 21 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.7.0