• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 645 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by I don't know why you would trade anywhere else. After searching all of the top companies, I chose to go with Fidelity, in part because they had lower fees, and in part because I had prior experience with Fidelity through an old 401K. One feature I really liked was having a checking account through Fidelity, where I could spend my dividends immediately with a debit card, without waiting to transfer funds to another bank. It offers a better interest rate as well as FDIC insurance to $2 Million. I opened my account to trade equities, and I can't express enough how pleased I have been with the Active Trader support team. The Active Trader Pro software is not perfect, but it is pretty close, and Fidelity is constantly updating it to fix bugs and roll out new features. (By constant, usually once a month.) Fidelity offers lots of online tools, training, and seminars as well. Whether you are a new investor, or a veteran, Fidelity has tools to help you succeed. Disclosure: I do not work for Fidelity, nor was I compensated for this review. September 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Haven't fixed an issue - waiting months I have a broker who has tried to get Fidelity to fix an issue on the "Change Since Purchase" column of my account. The entire column, both Dollar and percent, read n/a, and have since the account opened. I have asked my broker if he can have it fixed and he has gotten several agreements that it should work, it will be working tomorrow, or in a few days, but nothing has happened. I am ready to switch my account to another investment brokerage. September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service! !!! Great Brokerage.... my Broker always answers the phone. September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA I recently did a direct rollover from my former employer to my Fidelity IRA account. As always, my experience with Fidelity was a cut above! Any time I had questions and would call in for help, I was greeted with a friendly and knowledgeable representative. The representatives always spoke clearly and was very respectful and I appreciated that. Fidelity is most definitely a very professional and American-based business that I enjoy doing business with. I would recommend this company to anyone, young or older. I just cannot praise them enough! September 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure good website, easy to manage, easy to find info.... September 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Accounts Not a good organization of the Web Site a weak mobile tool. Not User friendly UI September 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It is secure and trustworthy. So far,I have good experience, except a few times it was totally confusing and unclear. However, it was fixed by Mr. Dews quickly. September 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accessible and informative I am very thankful Fidelity opened an office in Madison WI. The staff are very professional and one can tell that the customer is served well. A shout out to Vicky and Lynne. Keep up the good work. Brad September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs Less Watching Good place to invest and not have to worry about the accounts or other problems. I think the one place that Fidelity can do better is in the IPO's. I cannot always get to a computer on 'the' night before, but I have already shown an interest. I'd also like to know how you allocate shares of IPO's. September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only one complaint The site is easy to use and navigate. It allows me to accomplish my simple trading goals. The only problem is the time between selling a stock/bond and receiving the cash. It takes three business days to clear. I am confident that Fidelity gets the cash sooner than that, and is earning interest for at least 1-2 days off my trade. Trades should be fully settled within 1 business day. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by helpful and encouraging This is the first time I have had a brokerage account where I could make my own trades and the research is very helpful, customer service is a needed source and they have been helpful in pointing me in the right direction and have been very curtious August 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by bad customer service i am recently widowed and was trying to transfer assets and deposit checks into my new personal account. There were some complications which Fidelity mishandled, and they made some pretty serious mistakes. I also had to deal with multiple different customer support teams, with one not knowing what the other had already told me. Very aggravating and disappointing August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy and reliable I feel very confident dealing with Fidelity and would highly recommend them to a friend. Fidelity, I feel is very reliable. August 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful and Personal Twice, I wasn't sure how to sell or transfer monies from our Joint Savings to our Roth's (both mine and my wife's). Through a phone call I was able to accomplish this with no problems August 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Layout Great !!! A person in customer service who qualifies in answering Tax questions would be great . August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great ! I love Fidelity. Their software, webpage and customer service is outstanding comparing to the rest of the options in the brokerage bussiness. August 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Feed back I wish you would: 1] fix IT problems -Silverware is bad; 2] give your customers feed back; 3.] August 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cash goes in fast, out slow I tend to not use this as my primary account as there is an enormous disparity between the time it takes to transfer funds in versus the time it takes to get funds out. The offerings have improved consistently and the online facilities are very good, but it makes me uncomfortable to have my money in 'limbo' for the interval between it being debited from one institution and credited to another. August 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Active Trader service was horrible I felt like I was bothering the active trader support person when I called in with some question on a bond I sold. He was very short with me and didn't even say by at the end of the call. Not sure how safe I feel with my money here.... when people like that have access to my accounts. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity online account management Very simple and easy to use while being able to manage complicated account changes or modifications. Online interface is excellent and very easy to accomplish what you want to do. Very convenient. almost as good as a personal visit. August 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No service and very poorly designed website The website is designed for 1980's. Doesn't have simple way to check order status. System keeps doing its own things and sending message about order status. When checked, it says no execution. Haven't received a single call from Fidelity to discuss my needs. August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent I like the info the website, easy to read and understand. Always help if you need it by phone. Lots of funds to pick from. Low fees August 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by average I recently had fidelity change my financial consultant and the my new broker and I have had minimal interactions to date August 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by purchasing on line Maybe it's just me but I always (once a month) have trouble finding the right way to buy from the money I transfer in to my account...I always get there but but I am never sure how. August 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleased overall I have had accounts with several firms and this one is definitely above average. I particularly like the internet analysis tools which are quite superior. Customer service is good. This account is not for the beginner. You don't have to be an expert investor but some knowledge is required as the in person adivise is just OK. August 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by none It's a very user unfriendly website, frustrating. - - August 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just What I Need I've been in the process of learning about investing for about one and half years. Books, magazines, and the internet are my primary sources, and whenever I'm exploring a subject, Fidelity's resources are part of my search. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always reliable Probable the best firm for the money. I have been with the firm since 2000 and I have been very satisfied. July 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Provides Macro and Micro views The Fidelity brokerage enables me to see micro-level details through the trading history and the bill pay history (each on its own separate page), while also giving me macro-level, net-worth view through the Full View web page. The Full View is useful because it includes holdings that are not held in Fidelity accounts. It even includes my local bank balance. It is sometimes helpful to be able to jump back and forth among these various views of holdings. The different functions are fairly well integrated, especially considering how different they are from each other. Downsides: One downside is that the Full View page does not allow me to EXCLUDE any accounts. So, for instance, I am a custodian of a minor account, and the Full View includes the child's portfolio as part of my holdings. This distorts reports about the percentage of my holdings that are in one category or another, and it increases the total net worth estimate. I'd like to see a feature that would allow me to EXCLUDE accounts that I manage but that do not actually belong to me. Another downside is that the Full View is not always able to interpret holdings held elsewhere. In my case, for instance, I have a very large account that was originally intended to become an annuity but which currently functions as a large mutual fund of bonds. When Full View shows me the percentage of my holdings that are in stocks or bonds or cash, etc, it shows 40% "unknown," thus making all of the other percentages lack any meaning as well, so it is not useful for examining my overall asset mix. (Note: these problems also invalidate the quarterly GPS reports that Fidelity produces, which COULD be very useful if they could exclude minor accounts and accurately categorize all my holdings but they don't). Another minor issue has to do with the bill-pay feature. It allows me to pay bills one month at a time, and it allows me to set up automated monthly payments PROVIDED that the monthly payments are always for the exact same amount. I'd like to have a feature that says, "automatically pay this bill whatever the amount is." July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleased Easy to navigate, great information, reasonable fees. Thanks. July 29, 2014
  • 2015-04-26T09:22:14.073-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_645, tr_645
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 22 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.10.0