• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Investments and services

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 15 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Account benefits

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading representatives

Over 150 Investor Centers

Fees and pricing

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 626 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor design of new screens Very unhappy with new screen format, have had conversations with two Fidelity staff and was advised, "I'm sorry". Not adequate response, may take funds to another vendor. Unhappy former screens not available. I did not request changes and have advised several times I do not believe the screen formats are helpful or useful. October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by FIDELITY HAS USER FRIENDLY PROGRAM! For retirees, and newbies to trading , this site has the usual features, but you can find your way around with some patience, unlike a few other trading sites. Also the customer assistance people are polite and do not mind explaining things. No snippy or superior people answering the phones! October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service online Fidelity online service is excellent. Very easy to buy shares and manage your account. You can receive deposit slips and checks to deposit/withdraw to/from your account. Great analysis of the stock market. October 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Suggestion I like the new page layout. When I open the Order description, there is an empty wide area on the right side...why not automatically pop up the stock/ETF/position quote, so I don't have to click on the symbol. If someone is checking out the order, it would be nice to have the RT quote right then ..... September 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Information I have been a Fidelity account holder for more than fifteen years and have done my own research and made my own investing decisions for the entire time. Fidelity has continually evolved through that period and has made my job easier through the information provided and the available selection processes. Thanks to you I feel confident I am ready for retirement. September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great job I have found my Fidelity accounts to be easy to open and easy to monitor. Online access is quite simple and the support team is informative if I need to call. The branch office is wonderful and they even give away cookies, um! I am very pleased with my account service September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by balanced secure and reliable Excellent customer service Good advice personal to our needs Easy trading online Secure site availability concerned about the slow market recently September 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Penny Stock Investor The only problem so far with Fidelity is having to wait for transferred money to clear before I can purchase a penny stock, even after the money has been transferred out of my bank account. Cash Available to Trade doesn't mean I can trade with it. Most every time I call customer service to make the trade, I have to listen to their disclaimer and explanation as to why I have to wait, even though I am authorized to purchase penny stocks. Customer service is usually good, not always. I'm able to make a trade anywhere using my iPhone, nice. September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy It is easy for me to quickly see my accounts and make my trades. I am a very basic user and your interface has made it easy to do the simple functions I need. September 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Functionally complete The website truly provides the necessary information for smart investment assistance. Particularly, I like the easy classification of phone contacts that pre direct you to your need. The account is excellently designed for quick pragmatic decisions to be made. Truthfully, I only have one complaint, and it is the inability for the system to recognize one central bank account to distribute money to different investment accounts. I addressed this issue to a knowledgeable representative and he provided me with the information I needed to work around the issue. Overall, I've had a great experience with a minor bump on the road, where I was assisted with great customer service. September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Lots of research Site is easy to navigate. Trading platform very easy and reliable. Can do lots of analysis. September 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I don't know why you would trade anywhere else. After searching all of the top companies, I chose to go with Fidelity, in part because they had lower fees, and in part because I had prior experience with Fidelity through an old 401K. One feature I really liked was having a checking account through Fidelity, where I could spend my dividends immediately with a debit card, without waiting to transfer funds to another bank. It offers a better interest rate as well as FDIC insurance to $2 Million. I opened my account to trade equities, and I can't express enough how pleased I have been with the Active Trader support team. The Active Trader Pro software is not perfect, but it is pretty close, and Fidelity is constantly updating it to fix bugs and roll out new features. (By constant, usually once a month.) Fidelity offers lots of online tools, training, and seminars as well. Whether you are a new investor, or a veteran, Fidelity has tools to help you succeed. Disclosure: I do not work for Fidelity, nor was I compensated for this review. September 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Haven't fixed an issue - waiting months I have a broker who has tried to get Fidelity to fix an issue on the "Change Since Purchase" column of my account. The entire column, both Dollar and percent, read n/a, and have since the account opened. I have asked my broker if he can have it fixed and he has gotten several agreements that it should work, it will be working tomorrow, or in a few days, but nothing has happened. I am ready to switch my account to another investment brokerage. September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service! !!! Great Brokerage.... my Broker always answers the phone. September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA I recently did a direct rollover from my former employer to my Fidelity IRA account. As always, my experience with Fidelity was a cut above! Any time I had questions and would call in for help, I was greeted with a friendly and knowledgeable representative. The representatives always spoke clearly and was very respectful and I appreciated that. Fidelity is most definitely a very professional and American-based business that I enjoy doing business with. I would recommend this company to anyone, young or older. I just cannot praise them enough! September 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure good website, easy to manage, easy to find info.... September 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Accounts Not a good organization of the Web Site a weak mobile tool. Not User friendly UI September 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It is secure and trustworthy. So far,I have good experience, except a few times it was totally confusing and unclear. However, it was fixed by Mr. Dews quickly. September 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accessible and informative I am very thankful Fidelity opened an office in Madison WI. The staff are very professional and one can tell that the customer is served well. A shout out to Vicky and Lynne. Keep up the good work. Brad September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs Less Watching Good place to invest and not have to worry about the accounts or other problems. I think the one place that Fidelity can do better is in the IPO's. I cannot always get to a computer on 'the' night before, but I have already shown an interest. I'd also like to know how you allocate shares of IPO's. September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only one complaint The site is easy to use and navigate. It allows me to accomplish my simple trading goals. The only problem is the time between selling a stock/bond and receiving the cash. It takes three business days to clear. I am confident that Fidelity gets the cash sooner than that, and is earning interest for at least 1-2 days off my trade. Trades should be fully settled within 1 business day. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by helpful and encouraging This is the first time I have had a brokerage account where I could make my own trades and the research is very helpful, customer service is a needed source and they have been helpful in pointing me in the right direction and have been very curtious August 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by bad customer service i am recently widowed and was trying to transfer assets and deposit checks into my new personal account. There were some complications which Fidelity mishandled, and they made some pretty serious mistakes. I also had to deal with multiple different customer support teams, with one not knowing what the other had already told me. Very aggravating and disappointing August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy and reliable I feel very confident dealing with Fidelity and would highly recommend them to a friend. Fidelity, I feel is very reliable. August 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful and Personal Twice, I wasn't sure how to sell or transfer monies from our Joint Savings to our Roth's (both mine and my wife's). Through a phone call I was able to accomplish this with no problems August 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Layout Great !!! A person in customer service who qualifies in answering Tax questions would be great . August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great ! I love Fidelity. Their software, webpage and customer service is outstanding comparing to the rest of the options in the brokerage bussiness. August 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Feed back I wish you would: 1] fix IT problems -Silverware is bad; 2] give your customers feed back; 3.] August 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cash goes in fast, out slow I tend to not use this as my primary account as there is an enormous disparity between the time it takes to transfer funds in versus the time it takes to get funds out. The offerings have improved consistently and the online facilities are very good, but it makes me uncomfortable to have my money in 'limbo' for the interval between it being debited from one institution and credited to another. August 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Active Trader service was horrible I felt like I was bothering the active trader support person when I called in with some question on a bond I sold. He was very short with me and didn't even say by at the end of the call. Not sure how safe I feel with my money here.... when people like that have access to my accounts. August 19, 2014
  • 2015-03-29T10:15:21.380-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_626, tr_626
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 21 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.7.0