• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 803 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Safe & secure Love the mobile app. Big fan of fidelity. Setting up auto investment can be a little tricky. June 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Feedback Enjoying my investment with Fidelity in customer service and the way my portfolio established. Stephanie has been a good communicator on various issues and when I have questions she is prompt in responding. June 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retirement account Excellent flexibility. Easy RMD execution. Invest in stocks, funds, CDs, Preferred stock, ect. Have made QCDs easily. Your offer to automate the RMD is not attractive to me. I prefer to handle it myself for timing flexibility. I have other IRAs and have to manage them as one. June 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by well done Review and advice is done well. recent visit was handled well. June 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by new account This is a new a/c for me (so I couldn't provide highest rating) but I can say so far customer service has been superb. I'm fussy about personal set up options and found all I wanted to be available. June 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable The communications are frequent, clear and concise. The platform is organized well, and the information regarding account values, transactions, etc. is accurate, and up to date. The support is excellent. June 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Scariest part is making the jump. Fidelity made the process easier. June 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe and trustworthy I am a new customer and am very pleased with my financial advisor and all his help with my investments June 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investing skills practice for over 60 investors Now over 60 taking the time to learn investing skills creates a lot of late life opportunities applying my finance degree and lessons earned over 40 plus years managing businesses in corporate America. June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My experience with Fidelty Although I have established new relationship with Fidelity just a few days ago, previously I had experience for many years in starting my company's employee's 401-K plan as well my own account with Fidelity. This was some 20 years ago. My previous broker has now adjusted their information systems so that they do not meet my requirements and I am happy to find that Fidelity's do and far exceeds what I previously had. May 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure & reliable I have always received answers as I need them and everyone is very helpful and courteous. I would recommend your services to everyone. May 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glad to be w/Fidelity I feel somewhat foolish having my investments in a large fee intense brokerage house. I've moved everything to Fidelity and so far I coouldn't be happier. May 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by varied some features such as account balances are not current at the end of the day. posting is the delay. customer service should accommodate peak times such as 4/15 May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Information at your disposal The research section is excellent. All the quick info needed to make initial decisions is readily available. Whatever info that isn't, can usually be discovered through links. May 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure It would be nice if the appt would be more like the web site. May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Joint Account and Traditional IRA Acct. Fidelity's visual and digital displays have clarity and conciseness. However, I wish you might add a feature to your news accounts which I would call TRENDS. Volume leaders, Earning Leaders, and Largest losses. Focus on underperforming and over performing sectors. These might be interesting areas for future investment. May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Simple to Use I have opened this account because I was not happy with the charges and the complexities of another brokerage beginning with an "S." I have been with them for over 20 years. So far I have been extremely pleased with the ease of use of the Fidelity website. I would highly recommend this brokerage to beginners and professionals alike! Their account administration is excellent and thorough. May 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by steady but sure There a lot of tools to assist in analysis. The research charts help a lot. The new proposed format sucks. We need better reports on returns May 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by reliable when i need help they do what i need , it is easy to find how the market is doing May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by people on the phone People that work the phones are very well trained, but not empowered to make any change even if it covers the smallest issue. May 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by SR Director Good site, easy to work in and make trades. Second favorite trading company. Rates are higher then my first May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient, safe and diversified I am very satisfied with my choice in picking Fidelity for my brokerage account. I recently received an inheritance, and Fidelity has been very helpful in assisting me with setting up the account and educating me in the many choices I have for investing my money. May 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Account Executive Improve elect.transfer features used to move funds form one account to another May 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fast and easy Good platform, quick execution and good liquidity in fixed income. Would like to see slightly better reporting mechanism to have more functionality to see performance YTD, etc. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Satisfied Extremely satisfied with Fidelity, their client support, access to research material and ease and cost of transactions. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy I found everything to be easily done with no confusion on my part. May 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good service the array of investment choices, the ease of placing orders, managing cash and the supporting documentation are big pluses to my way of thinking May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service I am very confident about my investments at Fidelity. My ability to review all of my accounts at any time is a plus. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Wow Is the best so far and easy to use for trade and easy management of money wow its the best account. May 8, 2015
  • 2015-11-27 T11:31:27.262-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_803, tr_803
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 27 next>>


More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (from $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time, and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.