• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 679 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service I appreciate the hands-on service your team provides! The Fidelity online interface is both clear and rich with detail. Thanks for making my banking/investing experience a great one. January 31, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by New UI is several steps backwards; please restore the old First, let me say that I've been a customer of Fidelity's for decades. Your customer service is second to none, not just in the financial services space, but compared to every service I use. Now, the rant (my first ever): The new user interface is very difficult to use. It occupies a screen space bigger than my HD screen (1920x1080 pixels). There's no way to resize the columns. When I scroll right to see the rightmost column, I lose the info in the left column. The problem is aggravated by tiny, nearly illegible type and vast expanses of white space. And there seems to be no way to go back to the old format except for bill pay. For bill pay, I go back to the old format, since it's worth the extra click to do so. I see NO advantage to the new screen layouts, which are far more difficult to navigate and use. Please either revise the new design, go back to the old formats, or have an easy means to switch between old and new for every screen, not just bill pay! January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Fidelity Accounts I must say that Fidelity is by far the best that I have used over the years. January 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Complete Complete pretty much sums it up although I'm still not sold on the new user screen January 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fine but a few bugs The website is basically fine, but FullView has been a waste of time. After spending hours inputing information and learning how to use it, I have run into various bugs producing errors in my Networth and other calculations. I wasted hours tracking down the cause. Later I found out my financial adviser knew the program was buggy but he never told me. Wasted my time and I am looking elsewhere for a better tracking program. January 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by roller coster Always exciting to see how much I have gained or lost in a day! January 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Improveing Your website changes too frequently. IPad APP and website is not user-friendly (not easy to find what one needs), but you are getting better. I prefer to use my iPhone APP 99 % of the time. I dislike getting the Trade screen when I am in Watch List and just want to check EPS, DIV., EX DATE, etc., NOT do a trade. I can only do this on my iPhone APP January 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just the same as everyone else In the last two years my view of Fidelity is much lower. What I do not like is the fact that my contact person changes all the time at the local office. With each new person all the time and effort spent is lost. January 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mr. Just a first time investor, learning as I try, fidelity's customer service impressed me. I think I would stick around in foreseeable future. January 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really great but... Research is excellent, customer service is excellent, software is very good and easy to use and understand. My only issue is that autopay is too difficult to set up and takes to long. My credit card balances also don't seem to accurately reflect what the cards say on FIA. I would like Fidelity to make autopay easier to set up and easier to tell if it is set up and for accurate card information to be present on the cash management page so I don't have to log in to FIA to see the right balances. Thanks for asking for the feedback. January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great brokerage We have been with Fidelity for several years, and would not think of going anywhere else. January 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use I enjoy the interfaces a great deal. The main complaint that I have is the inability to easily review a positions overall return including reinvested dividends. The cost basis changes distorting the true return on initial investment. I have yet to find a brokerage that offers this. It blows my mind this isn't a feature. January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient & Effective I have been with Fidelity for almost 30 years and continue to have great confidence in the services, security and many options available. My new investment professional appears to strongly validate my confidence in Fidelity. January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I find the service to be very professional and the information disseminated in a timely manner. It is also comprehensive and easy to follow. January 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great advisors and great support tools I rate my account overall excellent because of the professional account advisor and excellent support team that assist me in managing my retirement account. I get advise when I need it. It is thoughtful and my advisor takes time to discuss the various possibilities. My advisor has a background that is well suited to my account portfolio. I know I am getting quality advise to help me in my decision making. January 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure I am satisfied with the services. Trades are carried out as per orders in a consistent and timely manner. I have had no opportunity to talk to any representatives so far. January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Summary I find the site easy to use and the customer service is excellent. January 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I like Fidelity, but don't like change Because of my age, I find it annoying when Fidelity makes changes to my page. I get used to doing things one way, and someone comes along and says isn't this much better. For me, the answer is no, I want to keep my old page. January 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lacks historical performance tracking your security team had locked down our account 3 times in 7 months, each time it transferred assest to new account numbers and each time lost all historical performance information. LOUSY SERVICE!!!!!! January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Review The Fidelity Brokerage Account is very user-friendly. One click navigation from balances to information to analysis to trades. Simple and easy. January 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by accessible and convenient I like being in control of my own finances but very grateful for the help and guidance David gives me. January 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by save and reliable it takes too long to transfer money from one fidelity account to another January 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by User friendly and secure Fidelity has provided friendly service and one on one help when I was learning to use the site. I can do my own trades with full confidence and know that if I have a question, they are close at hand to assist. January 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond Expectations I came over from one of your competitors and the comparison is like night and day. The service and the solution oriented staff has helped me many times work my way through a new system in your firm. Everyone of them thanked me for choosing Fidelity. I haven't even scratched the surface of all the services available to me and I'm very enthused about that. Keep up the great work! January 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just plain excellent! Love it! Would recommend to anyone because it's easy and secure. January 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy and knowlegeable I enjoy studying the different stocks and mutual funds to make the decisions needed to buy. your company makes this so easy. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Customer Services The customer services via hot lines are the best in the industry. The representatives are very knowledgeable and very professional. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service New to Fidelity. Just opened a brokerage account and intend to put more of stocks into this account. Service is great and I can even meet with my broker! January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the App The new layout of the App is great. I access mine with an iPad Air and it works great. January 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Bad I think the interface is easy to navigate, and customer service always seems ready to help, so that's nice. I have 2 suggestions: A suggestion, another brokerage I use shows me the balances over time and allows me to analyze my portfolio and see it at a bird's eye view more easily. I'd like it if I could more easily see this here as well. I saw that you've added a graph that shows my balances over time, but it only charts my brokerage account and doesn't include the money in my other accounts with you. Another observation I've made is that with trades, you set the default to "margin" when a person has that functionality enabled. I don't prefer this and would feel more comfortable if the default was the funds in my account, not margin. January 12, 2015
  • 2015-05-24T10:47:37.524-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_679, tr_679
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 23 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.10.0