• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Investments and services

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 15 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Account benefits

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading representatives

Over 150 Investor Centers

Fees and pricing

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 626 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly, Competent, Helpful Helpful contacts at local branch, knowledgeable phone staff - friendly people throughout the company - very easy to do business with November 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by User Interface is a security and privacy hazard I think it makes no sense and is a privacy hazard to give portfolio totals and other account information - on the left of each each page in your web interface and definitely not on a mobile. I think account # should be masked with maybe just aliases and just list the stocks/positions. Giving account info and totals in such bold letters can be seen by anybody in a public place and hence is a security hazard. I even noted parts of an account number and positions from a co-passenger on a train. I have to look either side before I can use your interfaces. The new one especially both in web and mobile seems to think the position value is the key information to login to. The main reason to use these on a daily basis is to tract current positions, if possible with a level II and also potential stocks that I may want to take a position. Not to see my account total every time I login. November 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use Fidelity's on-line set up is very easy to use. I can manage my accounts and also watch potential investments that I am considering. November 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by always available/ I AM NEW AT INVESTING FOR MY KIDS FUTURE AND MINE WITH WHAT I HAVE AVAILABLE.FIDELITY MAKES IT A LITTLE EASIER.Thank You.... November 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by review happy so far, no major concerns, if I do have any i will call. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Your web site is easy to use and navigate. The information obtained is conscise. November 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Making money I need to have more instruction on how to use the system November 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service Fidelity helped in moving a difficult stock transfer and stayed on top of it until the transfer was complete. Excellent customer service and face to face contact. All your telephone reps have been very professional and willing to help as long as it took. November 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2015 end of the year review for the year 2014. and looking at next year November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable No problems: have had a brokerage account 30-40 years! stock and bond markets expensive. cash is King in my opinion! November 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Fund Family High marks for selection of funds and helpful associates November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comprehensive and inexpensive Using Fidelity for over 20 years has been a great experience. Retired now without a pension but happily used Fidelity Annuity, IRA's, trading stocks, and funds I am financially secure. With their guidance and support my wife and I are enjoying retirement. Thanks Fidelity! November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Access Someone is always available to answer my questions November 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure Left Fidelity after 35 years, 1.5 years later, I moved all my money back. Looked for help to invest my money. Seem Fidelity is only interested in pushing me towards managed accts. Don't want that, so am seeking outside help to invest my money looking at the long term, buy and hold. November 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Service for Fidelity Despite having 5 accounts with Fidelity, I do not have a single person with a direct dial phone, email or fax that I can reach for any kind of service. This company does not offer customer service. I have no confidence in their ability to assist me with my investments. I am researching alternatives. November 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A quality outfit Fidelity has a great website that is easy to navigate. Although I have not used their customer service department, it is my expectation that it will be of the same quality as the other components Fidelity offers November 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My one issue I used to work for a company that had their stock plan through Fidelity. I stopped working for them three years ago. Their stock plan has been showing zero $ on my portfolio page for three years. I don't want see it on my portfolio any longer. But for three years Fidelity has been able to figure out how to remove it from my portfolio. In internet time, three years means that means Fidelity doesn't really care or they would have fixed it. October 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything I need to invest Everything needed to invest is found on the website. The one complaint is the inability of the site to find a company's symbol if there is a misspelling. Google can do it why can't you? When I don't know the correct spelling of a company or the exact name I go to Google and they find it. Perhaps you should speak to them. Aside from this I have recommended Fidelity to a fair number of people. October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by investor I have had a 401K and also a stock account and Fidelity has been fine. October 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Improvement I need to applaud your team for improvements to the site. I am a new user. Several months ago I registered several complaints/improvements re: working the site. As of today, whether it is based on larger feedback or mine--vast improvements made. The early start is the only reason I did not give best marks across the board. October 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Good with the basics. Good customer service. Could improve in flexibility of web views. October 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy and Reponsive I find Fidelity to have easy internet access to all of my accounts. I'm able to make quick deposit and easy trades whether at work, home from a desktop to the ease of use via mobile access. Fidelity also provides online webinars that cover various topics for beginners to experienced investors. October 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure but hard to communicate with agents Overall the account works well. The major problem is getting a hold of an agent or getting them to respond to my emails in a timely (<24 hours) fashion. They often do not return calls or emails for more than a day. This needs quite a bit of improvement. I cannot manage my account effectively if I cannot communicate with staff effectively. October 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK - Needs lower fees Lower fees - The options platform was confusing, so I don't use it. Most important is lower the fee trades. The no load funds are great. Very good for a long term buy and hold, but lower fees for trading. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good enough. This account suits my purpose, but please maintain the "classic" view for my use FOREVER! My recent international trade is a perfect example. The new view had me looking all over the place for the trade details, but the classic view had it included in the account overview - quick and simple. Thanks for being there! October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I'm very happy with Fidelity. When my computer got infected, Fidelity was helpful and changed all of my account numbers. I like that I can talk to a live person at Fidelity, who knows what they are doing and are very pleasant about helpful. October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Green Horn I have just started to learn the in and outs of trading. Fidelity has been an excellent learning tool. your learning center and help desk have been easy to work with and understand. October 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity made this new investor feel comfortable Very satisfied with the amount of information for new investors such as myself. Interface is easy to use. Website clearly explains all types of accounts and investment options. Provides easy to find breakdown of stats and fees. Great overall product. October 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Availability I wanted a platform that would give me good trades at competitive prices. October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Longterm Customer I opened my first Fidelity account in 1989 because my parents had their investments at Fidelity. I have been a satisfied Fidelity customer since then and have gradually migrated all of my non-employer-sponsored-retirement assets to Fidelity. I look forward to many more years with Fidelity and highly recommend Fidelity to anyone who is looking for an investment account. In addition, I highly recommend Fidelity's cash management (AKA checking) accounts, debit cards and credit cards. I have been extremely happy with my ability to manage all of my Fidelity accounts online and really like the ability to initiate an online chat with Customer Service or Technical service representatives for help with account features and services -- Fidelity's online experience is superior to the online capabilities provided by other nationwide banks where I have previously kept assets. October 1, 2014
  • 2015-03-29T10:15:19.019-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_626, tr_626
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 21 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.7.0