The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 21 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 1068 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and complete I have been very satisfied with my investment professional August 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure using active trader pro its Good Traders on the phone are very helpful August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by All I could ask for Everything is so great; I don't know where to start. Your representatives are outstanding! Not only their expertise, but their friendly, caring service. I love my Visa check card and cash account, keeping things safe, receiving my social security, paying my bills, etc. And all at such below the competition fees! I am glad to have this opportunity to say "Thank you so much' in writing. I tell your reps, but I like being able to tell you in person. So . . . Thank you again! August 20, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Corporate Account I use this account for business and there are a few features that have been frustrating. The cash balance does not always match the market balance. I had to pay an overdraft fee before I figured this out as QB downloads the latter. Check deposits take a long time to deposit into the cash balance affecting my cash flow negatively. Your customer service dept was unable to give me a contact for a reference. August 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I needed Reliable people with answers, easy access to information & account updates August 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Company Everyone at Fidelity that I have come in contact with were very helpful , knowledgeable, and considerate to all of my questions and needs! I feel very fortunate to do business with this company August 16, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by History and statements In HISTORY i find that not giving the number os shares is a problem. It is not always easy to go directly to statements or confirmations. You have to go to something else first. August 16, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Little Benefits over alternatives The customer support is good and I like a lot about Fidelity. Having a commission on a trade just seems to be another way Fidelity can make money on something that shouldn't cost money, especially when there are lower cost brokerage firms. The rates of the other "competitors" when it comes to online trading that are mentioned on this site are only the ones that offer higher prices and make Fidelity look like a bargain. Fidelity seems to be more for rich people who already have the means to pay for a 7.95 tax on trades or who don't want to deal with investments themselves so they spash into Fidelity's mutual funds. Active traders have no reason to use Fidelity other than to hear other peoples analysis of stocks Fidelity claim are professionals. I would figure active traders do their own research, making the other 'benefits' of joining Fidelity moot points. Spending 15.90 on buying then selling is just too much, especially when it costs nothing for Fidelity. I would give Fidelity a perfect 5 and recommend it to everyone, but I'm a young active investor who has been moved to shopping around by the sheer fact that I could have invested 3x more of MY money with no trade commission. August 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity is the Greatest! Fidelity gives me exceptional service. Anything I want to know about my investments I can find on their web site. Although I seldom need him, my adviser is always available. I went with Fidelity over 15 years ago and have never regretted that decision! Their non-commission ETF's are great. August 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extra Ordinary The response and execution of trading is all that anyone could expect; however, it is the customer service and unbiased responses from Fidelity personnel that makes me a very happy client. August 11, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Individual - TOD Overall a very good account. Convenient for consolidating accounts from other account administrators. Easy to use. Low cost. Convenient tracking of performance, cost basis and capital gains. August 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by bree customer service is excellent phone answering is quick and curious account info is very good electronic access to account info is fast August 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible Value Proposition I have used a myriad of brokerage firms and their associated research and trading venues. Based upon my experience Fidelity offers the best value proposition. I have used Fidelity for several years and plan to continue to do so. August 9, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Options excersized is not clear Poor data representation. Have not seen such a poor representation this far in my career. Not able to determine how many shares are in my account after they are exercised (i.e. taxes paid) August 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safety and appreciation New this year. Portfolio seems to be doing OK. Recommended by my son and his friends. August 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient I can see my accounts every day and know what they are up to. August 1, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by I came back I had a Fidelity account for many years and changed about two years ago, but returned to Fidelity early this year. I missed Fidelity's easy to understand on line reports, I like my personal account manager, and I really appreciate Fidelity's excellent on line support. In my opinion Fidelity has their "act together". August 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent service fidelity provides wonderful service 24 hours a day & has a office near by for extra help August 1, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cannot access I cannot access the system to look at my account. This has always been a problem. August 1, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cash Management I don't understand why more of the cash is not avialable for investment. July 28, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable and excellent tools I have been a loyal customer of Fidelity for more than 20 years. I currently have four accounts with them. In the past I have had accounts with other brokerage firms in addition to having an account with Fidelity. I must say that I had found Fidelity to have the best customer service. I especially like their several tools to aid in selecting sector ETFs and mutual funds. Over all I'm a Fidelity man. July 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Future Vision I've been incredibly pleased with the service of the Fidelity Account. I'm excited that my future is secure and I am set up for long term success. My only regret is not taking advantage of this sooner in my life. July 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trusted partner I feel very confident that my account is being managed well, and I am very happy with the service and support from my Fidelity financial adviser July 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure, Reliable and Informative Fiedelity has been an amnazing experience for me. The customer service and amazing reseach tools have allowed me to invest with confidence. July 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity is Excellent Great customer service. Very functional website for researching investments. July 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Job BJ and custom service did great job. Very quick response and always nice and good altitude. July 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Acct review, excellent I am extremely pleased with my Fidelity brokerage account, as it provides excellent investment and trading capabilities that I am able to access and manipulate. Information and access to my other accounts is readily available and effective to use. July 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Easy I appreciate how easy it is to self manage my Fidelity Accounts. The Fidelity Website makes it quick and easy for me to research and make decisions. July 19, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by New interface works The new interface is user friendly, but I'd like to see a feature that shows the gains from dividends or interest in a fund. July 18, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good peopleUncomfortable and hard to reach. The account provides good value and otherwise is like most others, however customer service is anything but comfortable. Phone wait times are crazy long. Moreover, clumsy and uncomfortable login process is required even for the simplest of questions and issues. There is no way to leave your rep an email. In short any access outside the web is a true pain the behind. July 18, 2016
  • 2016-10-22 T07:48:17.022-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1068, tr_1068
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 36 next>>