• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Investments and services

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 15 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Account benefits

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading representatives

Over 150 Investor Centers

Fees and pricing

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 626 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond Expectations I came over from one of your competitors and the comparison is like night and day. The service and the solution oriented staff has helped me many times work my way through a new system in your firm. Everyone of them thanked me for choosing Fidelity. I haven't even scratched the surface of all the services available to me and I'm very enthused about that. Keep up the great work! January 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just plain excellent! Love it! Would recommend to anyone because it's easy and secure. January 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy and knowlegeable I enjoy studying the different stocks and mutual funds to make the decisions needed to buy. your company makes this so easy. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Customer Services The customer services via hot lines are the best in the industry. The representatives are very knowledgeable and very professional. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service New to Fidelity. Just opened a brokerage account and intend to put more of stocks into this account. Service is great and I can even meet with my broker! January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the App The new layout of the App is great. I access mine with an iPad Air and it works great. January 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not Bad I think the interface is easy to navigate, and customer service always seems ready to help, so that's nice. I have 2 suggestions: A suggestion, another brokerage I use shows me the balances over time and allows me to analyze my portfolio and see it at a bird's eye view more easily. I'd like it if I could more easily see this here as well. I saw that you've added a graph that shows my balances over time, but it only charts my brokerage account and doesn't include the money in my other accounts with you. Another observation I've made is that with trades, you set the default to "margin" when a person has that functionality enabled. I don't prefer this and would feel more comfortable if the default was the funds in my account, not margin. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best thing yet Joining Fidelity has been the best move I've made. I have had nothing but positive experiences from their trading platform to their customer service. January 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lots of Bugs Website Poor. Poor links to 'features' that do not work. Poor FAQs links. Ease of Use is Poor. Fidelity now into their second year of "managing" AT&T Health Care Savings Accounts. January 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by new account Excellent assistance with setup. Easy to use. Buying etf at no commission! January 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by review overall excellent prompt, courteous reliable a good value January 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by my review Fidelity has been my principal investment vehicle for decades. You do a good job for me. January 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Personalized and Professional Thanks to our excellent account executive, Robin W, my husband and I are confident that our investment plan is reviewed and updated regularly to reflect our changing needs. Ms. W provides us with explanations and pertinent reports so that we are able to track our investments and adjust as necessary. We truly appreciate her professionalism and friendly demeanor. When we have questions, we know that she will respond quickly and efficiently. We are very satisfied with her work and with Fidelity. January 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accessible with great service Not much experience with Fidelity yet, but so far, so good. Staff is responsive and broker seems really empathetic, knowledgeable and willing to share that knowledge. Go Team Galley!! January 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient but not very useful The web site is good and convenient. The person I spoke about the bonds I would like to order was not helpful or even didn't sound very knowledgeable. January 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by So-so In addition to my own account, I have been handling my parents' accounts for two years. I've been very surprised by the number of errors made in paper work submitted and the amount of money transferred from my father's to my brother's account. It has also not been very convenient because so much can't be done online. I have to either call or go to the office to get things done. I have also gotten different answers to questions when I've called Inheritor Services. Every time I use the computer at the Bridgewater, NJ office the printer doesn't work and they changed the kiosk there. Now the table is too low and there's no privacy--someone standing in the office can see you enter your information. December 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Michelle The site is easy to use and the price per trade is good. The only complaint is the delay on the stock price. If it can be real time then it would be 5 stars. December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by makes equity trading easy Looking forward to more Fidelity etfs especially focused etfs presently served only by very expensive issuers, December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ease of use found the web site easy to use and when I've needed to talk to someone they have been very knowledgeable and friendly. great job!!!!!!! December 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good value and easy use I'm happy with the account and find it to be informative and priced right. Any negatives I might have with the account are a result of my decisions and not a problem with Fidelity. December 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Investor Love how simple online services are. I like the low trading fees. I have the best Account Rep. Everyone is always courteous and quick to answer my questions December 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good on US stocks, lacking somewhat on fixed inceom, lacking substantially on foreign stocks While generally satisfied with the account management capabilities, there are a number of concerns that have to be raised: 1. The tracking and history capabilities (incl. short and long term) on foreign stocks are missing - they are essential for active trading and planning. 2. The FI trading abilities (requiring phone communications) are too slow and inefficient. Performance in the FI field - fully recognizing the liquidity issues - is not at par with other institutions(prices are generally too far off market, and execution does not compare to other FI broker/dealers) 3. I am very concerned about the plans of Fidelity to migrate to a new platform. The last conversion was rather unnerving due to the complete lack of coverage of non-US$ denominated investments. The fact that the conversion took place without warning and despite my voiced fundamental concerns regarding the support of non-US$ denominated investments is rather upsetting. December 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by cash management hodgepoge - unintelligible this mess is a clear step backwards. Too much pushy selling, not enough useability. December 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Managed Well managed accounts, user friendly website makes it easy to review investment portfolio and make trades. Information about stocks, mutual funds and investing in todays market is easily accessible, articles are easy to read and understand. Account manager is awesome and very knowledgeable. December 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hate the 800 number prompts The customer service people are nice and helpful, if I could ever get to them. Requiring the password to be typed out from characters to numbers in order to get to someone is a joke. After I finally get to a representative, they hang up on me so I have to go through this twice before someone actually talks to me. December 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Platform Really like the web site and also the ability to sometimes call an adviser. December 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Confident trading Good variety of investment options for both stocks and bonds, rtfs, and mutual funds. December 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Efficient and Convenient Since starting my trading with my Fidelity account, I find it to be easy to move money into and out of the account, as well as place and receive orders. While the trade cost is a little higher than other places, I am happy with the quality of service and dependability of the company. December 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased with Fidelity I am happy enough with the older style of account listing and do not use the new now. Fidelity offers a great deal of useful information on its site and it is easy to gain access to. December 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service Had an issue with IPhone App and uderstanding something about trading. Talked to John K. He gave me excellent service & was very proactive. Got back to me quickly with answer on IPhone App. Very polite, helpful & gave acurate information. John gets 5 stars for Fidelity November 25, 2014
  • 2015-03-30T10:22:18.223-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_626, tr_626
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 21 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.7.0