• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 803 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Suggestion Suggestion - Please consider providing a "total" for the cost basis column on the Positions screen under Accounts: It would be good to see the total account value against the total cost basis. Can't now! July 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reservations Though the Fidelity site has tons of information both about my account and the market in general, as a non-professional investor, the information could definitely be more clear and complete. The way financial statements are worded is downright enigmatic sometimes. Also, I've applied four times for level 3 options trading ability, and have been turned down three times (so far) without any explanation. This is extremely frustrating. Although I appreciate your caution, it is, after all, my money. July 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fast and responsive Everything here is fast and responsive. With a Mobil device I can make trades quickly and on the go,at work or out with friends. The web platform is faster yet and has yielded enormous searchable data and histories as well as keeping me apprized of my situation. My only real con(2 full stars) is when I update my balance for a new trade(today) the system uses the "from the open" data instead of "from my purchase" to tabulate my current daily gain/loss on that position. July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great job Fidelity easy to use easy to read easy to get research all my accounts in one place July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best broker I've ever used Great service, great products. Great website. Anytime I had a problem, a representative answered and addressed them promptly and to my satisfaction. July 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by EXPLORE FIRST While we have said Fidelity is the best in the past, they have changed their format to make trading and viewing your portfolio and its holdings more difficult and time consuming. Give it a test run first before you decide. Customer service is great, the best, but their format is no longer user friendly. Try it first! July 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Starter Account As a relatively new investor, I can say with confidence that Fidelity offers the full range of amenities that I need to feel comfortable in beginning to trade. Intuitive web portal layout and ease of linking bank accounts, as well as conveniently located spec information on stocks, bonds, etc. definitely have allowed me to smoothly transition into the market. July 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Use I appreciate the display of positions daily and within two hours of the closing bell. It seems easy for me to collect prices of my holdings and use this info in other software that helps me integrate these holdings with other investments that are of a very different nature than mutual funds or securities. July 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall I am pleased with my account I have not been a customer for very long so hard to know how dealings will be over time. It is convenient and customer service very good. Did not think much of the lessons on margin buying. July 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hopefully secure, convenient and helpful The account affords many features and tools that help me manage my money. The site is easy to navigate and provides plenty of helpful information July 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by It used to be superb. Now it is poor The fidelity brokerage account management used to be superb. Someone at Fidelity probably had a problem with that, so they had to change it without allowing customers to select which version they prefer. As a consequence, the new site is confusing, has a lot of unnecessary clutter, and no longer includes needed features. The customer service response to complains and suggestions, as simple as "please let me keep the older interface" is a normal big-business-we-do-not-care-about-the-customer kind of response, intertwined with a polite, generic language about how the customer is important. While I will likely stay with Fidelity, I can no longer recommend it to my children and students. July 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Investment Site Its very good for the novice. Summary and other visual displays are easy to read. July 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by HATE,HATE,HATE NEW PERSONAL ACCOUNT WEBSITE Title says it all. Previous website was compact & easy to use. Could easily find things on it. Not so with the new website. Its significantly slower & there's too much unneeded 'junk' cluttering up the screen. According to customer service, the prev website version is no longer available as an option . Its amazing to me that customers have no choice here. Been a 30+ year customer but maybe its time to vote with my feet & go elsewhere. Bottom line is I have no problem with change when there's a benefit to be had. But the benefit with the new website simply eludes me. Dissatisfied customers need to vent their displeasure with Fidelity & let them know they want the old website back. July 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by You Get What You Pay For! You get what you pay for. Words could never be truer when describing Financial Investment Companies. Fidelity may not be the cheapest, but the fee structure is straightforward as well as transparent. And while they are not the cheapest they are far from the most expensive. And how does Fidelity make up for not being the low cost provider? By providing industry leading research and ratings, cutting edge analytic tools, expert commentary and analysis, full online and mobile investing platforms, real-time quotes/trading, and intuitive learning tools just to name a few as well as certified financial advisors only a phone call away. I know you scenic's out there are saying every company offers these benefits. I have personally had a full service account with 6 other Financial Investment Companies. And I can honestly say, you get what you pay for. Personally Fidelity's research alone is worth every penny. And no not all research is the same. Not even close. For me and my family Fidelity is the clear choice. This is the 2nd time in my life I have had an account with Fidelity. I will not be leaving. Fidelity not only meets my needs but they exceed them. If you are considering a new account or switching accounts I would highly recommend researching Fidelity to see if they can meet your needs. That includes calling and speaking with one of their Financial Advisors. I think you will be pleasantly surprised. July 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Accounts setup 3 months ago Accounts work. However Fidelity has not come through with the commitments that lead me to move my funds over. To date, there is still one external account yet to be transferred over, and trade commission reduction to $5.95 per trade has not come true. I am disappointed at Fidelity's efficiency. I makes me hesitate to trade more often. July 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by unhappy w/website changes Website used to be user friendly & easy to use. Changes made during 2015 have not been an improvement in my opinion for whatever it's worth. July 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cash management, just not for businesses I love everything about Fidelity - the mobile deposit limits, the interface, the priority support and website. Unfortunately, I had to close a number of business accounts because the same retail services (mobile check deposit and online bill pay) were not available for business accounts, and that wasn't clearly disclosed. July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional and Comprehensive Very professional staff. Very impressed with the organization which has various experts to utilize. July 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Trading between accounts Fidelity has so complicated its website that I now cannot easily [or even any other way] move money from my money market account to either of my stock or bond accounts. You are so caught up in your own complexity you believe everyone else can't wait to figure it all out. July 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure Low price options should be able to be put in pennies. Not five cents(.19not.15or.20)..04cents is a large per cent difference. July 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by usage Difficult to navigate through mounds of information which I have No use for. Looks like Fidelity tried to jam 5 pounds of garbage (ay least for my needs) into a one (1) pound bag. I found no way to customize pages. Creating printable reports I use to do, is horrible. Calling Fidelity did no good, all I got was apologizes. That does no solve problems. Sorry, but looking towards other financial institutions. July 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A long-lived customer. Not previously aware, I stumbled on this review. I've had Fidelity account since 1985 and been authorized trader on a number of interested party accounts since 1990's. Obviously, as long as you keep pushing envelope on improving platform and services, I'll remain a loyal customer. Hope you appreciate my decades long business of bringing additional clients on board, including heavy use of margin for win-win for you and me. July 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by WT Very pleased with all interactions I've had. Easy to work with June 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by CDL No problems - Helpful - Provides assistance when requested June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Security Suggestion Could Security Sign-In to the account be enhanced by having client sign-in be a "two stage process"?, The client would review a previously agreed upon security screen provided by Fidelity that pops up and displays client selected information between the username and the password to ensure security information on file has not been revised without client authorization before entering password. June 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by could be better love the customer service. wish it was more user friendly June 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need breakdown on trades Need record of past trades in reference to % gains..for each trade then an ongoing rate of return to date...similar to 401K. June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Satisfied Intuitive UI and quick to access information such as performance and positions June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No sweat with Fidelity! Excellent services from well qualified, organized and resourceful people. Have been with Fidelity for twelve years and have no regrets. Not having to hassle with buy/sell Brokers and Stock Market gyrations leave me with peace of mind and restful nights of sleep. June 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Makes it easy Everything about my Fidelity account is easy to use. The amount of analytics available is immense and provides enough information to make educated investing decisions for every level of investor. June 15, 2015
  • 2015-11-24 T07:19:50.607-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_803, tr_803
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 27 next>>


More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (from $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time, and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.