The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 21 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 1079 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by MRD Distribution & Transfer Answers Both Ian and Joe (being the last person I dealt with) have demonstrated considerable knowledge about the arcane subject of the options available to take MRD distributions and how to execute MRD transfers to non-tax deferred separate accounts at minimum expense. I could not have asked for more--and they certainly outshine the other non-Fidelity financial advisors I have. August 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Accounts My account at Fidelity has allowed me to integrate all of my IRA's as well as my 401K account as well as aggregate a number of post tax stock accounts into one place for ease of convenience as well as planning. One of your reps was very instrumental in initiating this account. August 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Analysis I am a novice investor, but the analysis and recommendations provided by fidelity have given me great confidence in my ability to manage my portfolio. My account has been very easy to learn and use, despite my lack of experience. August 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by User friendly sites with smart reps a call away Fidelity offers access to a vast amount of investment information. Trading is easy and more than reasonable. When needed representatives are almost always courteous, always knowledgeable and give you the time you need. August 27, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Service I am still learning the site. I have trouble finding the information I want, but there appears to be research data needed. It will just take time to learn where to go and how to organize it. The speed from screen to screen is slower than expected, The people on the customer service desk are very knowledgeable and friendly. August 23, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and reliable It provides me a convenient tool to manage my money. The research tools are very good and easy to use. All in all, I would say this Fidelity's web site has been a real great tool to manage my money as well as provided me a very complete education in investing - something I have not pursued before. I have enjoyed my experience use Fidelity's web site. August 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bank Wire Forex Transfer Requested assistance in making a forex transfer for a purchace of special equipment from a supplier in France. I was given good guidance in filling out forms, and rapid processing of the transaction. August 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service is sometimes startling While on vacation in Mexico, it came to pass that I needed to transfer money from my Fidelity account to a mortgage company in Santa Rosa, CA. I hand wrote a note / letter to Fidelity stating the requisite information including tax withholding. The hotel faxed the information for me to Fidelity. A while later, I received an email telling me "Fidelity cannot complete the requests" or some such. I was unpleasantly surprised at this communication. Before I could address the situation, about 5 minutes later I received two emails telling me my requests had been executed. Why the first mail? I don't know. Other than this, all went well and I thank Fidelity for honoring my poor penmanship letter. August 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by what's this about settled funds? says I can only use settled funds for 90 days/ I don't like that. August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable and efficient. Services including the pro trader platform allows me to be efficient with the operations embodying my accounts. The educational and informational outreach to me are really helpful. August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by very reliable Very easy to buy and sell stocks/bonds on the website. Very reliable and orders are filled quickly. August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and complete I have been very satisfied with my investment professional August 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure using active trader pro its Good Traders on the phone are very helpful August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by All I could ask for Everything is so great; I don't know where to start. Your representatives are outstanding! Not only their expertise, but their friendly, caring service. I love my Visa check card and cash account, keeping things safe, receiving my social security, paying my bills, etc. And all at such below the competition fees! I am glad to have this opportunity to say "Thank you so much' in writing. I tell your reps, but I like being able to tell you in person. So . . . Thank you again! August 20, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Corporate Account I use this account for business and there are a few features that have been frustrating. The cash balance does not always match the market balance. I had to pay an overdraft fee before I figured this out as QB downloads the latter. Check deposits take a long time to deposit into the cash balance affecting my cash flow negatively. Your customer service dept was unable to give me a contact for a reference. August 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I needed Reliable people with answers, easy access to information & account updates August 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Company Everyone at Fidelity that I have come in contact with were very helpful , knowledgeable, and considerate to all of my questions and needs! I feel very fortunate to do business with this company August 16, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by History and statements In HISTORY i find that not giving the number os shares is a problem. It is not always easy to go directly to statements or confirmations. You have to go to something else first. August 16, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Little Benefits over alternatives The customer support is good and I like a lot about Fidelity. Having a commission on a trade just seems to be another way Fidelity can make money on something that shouldn't cost money, especially when there are lower cost brokerage firms. The rates of the other "competitors" when it comes to online trading that are mentioned on this site are only the ones that offer higher prices and make Fidelity look like a bargain. Fidelity seems to be more for rich people who already have the means to pay for a 7.95 tax on trades or who don't want to deal with investments themselves so they spash into Fidelity's mutual funds. Active traders have no reason to use Fidelity other than to hear other peoples analysis of stocks Fidelity claim are professionals. I would figure active traders do their own research, making the other 'benefits' of joining Fidelity moot points. Spending 15.90 on buying then selling is just too much, especially when it costs nothing for Fidelity. I would give Fidelity a perfect 5 and recommend it to everyone, but I'm a young active investor who has been moved to shopping around by the sheer fact that I could have invested 3x more of MY money with no trade commission. August 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity is the Greatest! Fidelity gives me exceptional service. Anything I want to know about my investments I can find on their web site. Although I seldom need him, my adviser is always available. I went with Fidelity over 15 years ago and have never regretted that decision! Their non-commission ETF's are great. August 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extra Ordinary The response and execution of trading is all that anyone could expect; however, it is the customer service and unbiased responses from Fidelity personnel that makes me a very happy client. August 11, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Individual - TOD Overall a very good account. Convenient for consolidating accounts from other account administrators. Easy to use. Low cost. Convenient tracking of performance, cost basis and capital gains. August 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by bree customer service is excellent phone answering is quick and curious account info is very good electronic access to account info is fast August 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible Value Proposition I have used a myriad of brokerage firms and their associated research and trading venues. Based upon my experience Fidelity offers the best value proposition. I have used Fidelity for several years and plan to continue to do so. August 9, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Options excersized is not clear Poor data representation. Have not seen such a poor representation this far in my career. Not able to determine how many shares are in my account after they are exercised (i.e. taxes paid) August 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safety and appreciation New this year. Portfolio seems to be doing OK. Recommended by my son and his friends. August 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient I can see my accounts every day and know what they are up to. August 1, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by I came back I had a Fidelity account for many years and changed about two years ago, but returned to Fidelity early this year. I missed Fidelity's easy to understand on line reports, I like my personal account manager, and I really appreciate Fidelity's excellent on line support. In my opinion Fidelity has their "act together". August 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent service fidelity provides wonderful service 24 hours a day & has a office near by for extra help August 1, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cannot access I cannot access the system to look at my account. This has always been a problem. August 1, 2016
  • 2016-10-30 T07:45:57.546-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1079, tr_1079
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 36 next>>