• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 716 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Initial review I am a relatively new client of Fidelity and therefore have only limited experience with my account. However, I am very pleased with the online trade transactions, report contents, and research tools. I have not used the Fidelity advisors, so cannot comment on their services. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Fidelity provides some unique capabilities that I can not find elsewhere but also falls short on some mutual fund offerings I am looking for. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easily Accessible I'm very happy with the ease of accessibility to my account information. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Customer I have enjoyed my Fidelity financial relationship since I switched four years ago. Easy to use, great service when you need it and OK prices. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and user friendly To date I have found the people that deal with my account knowledgeable and caring about my financial needs. They listen to me instead of trying sell me something I don't need. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Research and Investment My experience in buying and selling has been great, as I'm a 6-month beginner. News seems just a little behind on mergers, as sticks are rising quickly by the time I see it on site. Also, in selling shares, I have to look two places to compare acquire price to sell price. But, having fun and love user friendly! March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Math The customer reps are great and helpful. The accuracy of desktop ATP system being in sync with online is very bad. The online 'performance' feature is absolutely silly and NOT up to date or even close to being accurate. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Service, good value I would have rated "convenience" 5 stars if the Windows Phone mobile app had Bill Pay and Mobile Check Deposit, like the Apple and Android phone apps. It appears that Fidelity has no update for the Windows Phone app, and this hobbles "convenience" immensely. I have to borrow another's iPhone to deposit a physical check. In all other respects I'm very pleased with Fidelity's wide scope of services. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A pleasure David was professional and informative in our recent appointment. This is a scary time for most retirees but he put us at ease very quickly. We look forward to financial security with Fidelity. March 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by flexible Great online account but unable to deposit cash and was unable to purchase an EFT because it was not supported by Fedelity. Other than a few minor issues the account has been very flexible and helped me to learn a great deal about investing. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy trading My experience using fidelity is a wonderful one. I am not an expert at trading but by using fidelity they make is very easy. There trades are executed at the push of a button and they have great research tools. I would definitely recommend them to a friend or relative. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for me Haven't used the many available companies offering similar brokerage services so can't actually offer a comparison, but as long as Fidelity continues to provide consistently good services, I'll not be tempted to look for another.... March 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by sell I wanted to sell some shares in a mutual fund but couldn't find the way to do it and called for customer service. I was kept waiting for almost half an hour without anybody coming on line. Meanwhile I managed to figure the way to sell online. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy trades Something's I would change. Doing research on an existing holding is a two step process. Click the ticker, than click Research. The first step is a waste of time and effort. Also, when I really can't find what I'm looking for (specific to my account actions) searching the webpage rarely finds the topic - I almost always have to call CS, and they always help me. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Account Review Excellent service in transfering my monies from outside into Fidelity. I am going from a Full Service Broker to self directed at Fidelity. I wish there was some medium where questions could be asked regarding stocks, funds, etc., as part of the hand-holding process in this transition even if it had to be paid for... March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comprehensive and customer oriented. I've been with Fidelity several years from the days of benefits. At retirement back in May of 2011, I decided to consolidate my IRAs and other investments in Fidelity which to date it has been a very good experience. Fortunately, I live within 3 miles of the Houston Memorial office which allows me to drop by often and maintain face2face contact with my account executive; however, I mostly use online services either on my PC or my windows phone. The website is easy to use especially the newly improved version. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy and Convenient I have thoroughly enjoyed using my Fidelity accounts.They are simple and straightforward and easy to use, whether trading, transferring between accounts or between Fidelity and my local bank,in both directions, or just checking daily balances or daily activity. The stock research has been very valuable although not extensively used by me yet. The statement and/or online layout are both very clean and easy to follow and I am able to see what I want to know very quickly. At the current time I don't envision any change that I would want. March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by online access availability is excellent I really like that I chose Fidelity to handle my accounts. When I needed Customer Service, it was there and the representative answered my question or handled the event I required very quickly and in a manner that I thought was excellent. My overall rating of "Good" is due to the changes made to only parts of your online site. The "Positions" is more confusing to me, but the Activities page is excellent. Going back and forth between to old and new formats is something you upgrade soon, I hope. As a NOTE: I was a designer of web sites for several companies over an 18 year period before I was forced to retire at age 71. March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased I don't trade often but when I need info. it is easy to get my advisor is always ready to Assist me. Imake few demands because my investments are pretty much in place............. March 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by New User I love the depth of research and information on Fidelity but you're behind on user friendly. We need to be able to see the current price of an outstanding order by holding the mouse over the symbol. The positions and watch lists need to be able to be customized so we can see info important to us like ex date, next est report date, dividend yield, volume, etc. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy & Complete Can do anything and everything I need to with this account. And all on line with little fuss. Would and do recommend this for all. March 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure On line functionality is very good and the follow up from my advisor is also very good. March 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Transaction execution great, other servi not so good Like my title says, I am very happy with my trade executions. However, since I trade mostly on companies' shares, I found that the rating services that you employed are mediocre, or at best fair. My overall impression is that you are very happy offering ETFs and mutual funds, since you have a commercial relationship with most of them, than offering services that has no up-front reward. Perhaps you should offer a subscription service priced accordingly with Morning Star, or Investors Business Daily. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable very helpful, accommodating and clear recommendations from my advisor at Fidelity. he responds promptly, after a phone call for a querry. he is patient , explains very clearly and allots enough time . gives options and lets you decide . does not impose his opinion. pleasant to deal with March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service From the attentiveness of the customer service representatives when I've had to call, to the user friendly website, to the low transaction costs... I couldn't be happier with fidelity! March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Tracking and Alerting system This is only my second investment account but I have found Fidelity to be user friendly and reliable. I enjoy and grow through the constant educational access and broadening my investment knowledge. It gives me a sense of financial confidence. Thanks for asking March 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple, Convenient Broker I signed up with Fidelity because I already had a retirement account with them through my job. Fee breakdowns are simple and easy to follow. I haven't come across any hidden fees or anything sneaky yet. Will continue using. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by safe, reliable, and they stay in contact Excellent service and support for a rollover IRA account. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Research Information The Research Section allows a great source of financial information to make investment decisions. March 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor access to funds. The account transactions takes ages to process. The debit card associated with the account is useless. I tried to follow the spending limit but somehow it's not accurate. March 9, 2015
  • 2015-07-29T10:49:30.938-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_716, tr_716
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 24 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.10.0