• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 842 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fielity Webpage I am not a heavy user but do log in every two or three days. I find the site user friendly and easy to use. September 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Account review Investment products seem to be fine, but I'm looking for a higher level of involvement from my financial planner. Seems like there are too many clients per planner, and they have a difficult time providing level of focus, especially considering the amount of funds I have invested. September 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by OKish this account comes with some good features, very convenient at times September 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by still exploring the service gradually learning the system and the services; so far, I'm reasonably satisfied with responsiveness of staff and the user-friendliness of the syatem September 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Account rerview I am pleased with all aspects of my account, including the American Express accounts. September 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by reliable Hate your new web page ... you need GPS to find anything ... the old web page was user friendly and it took no time to find anything you needed to do. Now I constantly have call customer service to find anything if I am in a hurry and don't want to spend a half hour looking for what I want to do. this is why I would not recomend Fidelity to anyone. September 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Klapakis Account Review So far the account setup and functioning has been excellent. Service also have been excelent. September 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall Good Good educational materials. Wish there were better tools for learning how to use the stock screeners for newbies. Also wish there was an easier way to find suggested ETF/mutual funds for 401k rollovers based on age/risk tolerance. August 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful answering questions The fidelity app for non apple products is very good. August 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by good choice easy to navigate website, comprehensive information, many investment options, good value. very satisfied. August 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Investing and Everyday Transactions Great account to use for everyday banking transactions and investing transactions. August 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by happy fidelty customer very happy with your research of funds and stocks. August 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Upside I have found the Fidelity site very user friendly and very accommodating as well as having a depth of capacity to accommodate even the most sophisticated user. August 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Value I think fidelity has to reduce their commission between 6-7 dollars to continue to stay competitive. Alternatively, you could have different commission points for days traders (regular traders) vs non professionals. August 24, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by awful new site New site is horrible. wont even display entire option position unless i reset settings every time i log in option summary does not show cost per share only reason i dont recommend to friend is new website is awful. last improvements were inconvenient, these are awful. August 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very convenient I have multiple accounts for various reasons, cash management, investment, IRA, Inherited IRA and a trust account. I am able to manage all accounts as a portfolio and have linked them to my regular checking account. August 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems safe compared to others I'm following For my own teaching, I'm keeping a review on 7 of your accounts. I find this account, that a friend recommended, to be a wise choice. Still so much to learn, and enjoyable to follow as I understand more. August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for me Works for me. Lets me trade, view, keeps history of price I paid. Sales are easy, buying is easy. No problems. August 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by App & Site alright Gets the job done. App is finally mostly up to date with the times. Has touch ID for iphone, makes logging in easier. August 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to do everything Love everything about it. Only complaint I have is that I have trouble syncing my portfolio with outside sources (i.e. Google Finance). I tried to do that automatically and it didn't work, and I tried to do it once manually and that didn't work either. August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glad to be with Fidelity Always good service both in person and on the website. August 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of use The Fidelity accounts are easy to use and the site is easy to navigate August 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by new website is unusable for trading the new website is slow and unusable for purposes of trading stocks. August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by safe and fruitful My personal Fidelity adviser was very helpful And when my Dad died, Schooled my family on the many directions our new found wealth could be invested. I rate it 5 star August 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by P & L I am disappointed that a firm as large as FIDO does not offer an account page that provides my realized gains and losses to date. August 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Great broker I'll first start out with the bad; The commissions are sizeable for people with smaller accounts/smaller trade positions. This is the only reason I've considered switching brokers. Everything else about them is great though. I've been helped multiple times using the online chat program and the fidelity staff is always very helpful and courteous. Their smartphone app makes viewing your account and performing tasks easy when you're unable to use a computer. August 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by meets my needs Offerings are good, tools are pretty good. Access to advice and research is excellent. Local staff are excellent. August 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by New "positions" interface is much worse. All in one, endless scrolling, all fonts are different. Endless info, I do not need. Smallest panel for the account info I do need. Considering moving mine and my husband's accounts to a different provider.I stayed with fidelity for many years only for the interface. August 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by terrible new site the new fidelity site is very awkward and difficult to use August 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by New website portfolio view The new website portfolio view is simply awful. Please bring back the classic view. August 3, 2015
  • 2016-02-07 T08:11:03.863-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_842, tr_842
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 29 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (from $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time, and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including, but not limited to, risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance before short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE, SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Before trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading. Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.11.0