The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $4.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 21 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$4.95 commission on all online U.S. equity and options trades.

View commission details

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 4.00%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 1182 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredibly Convenient The on demand money movement cannot be beat. I left to a competitor last year and returned after six months. January 2, 2017
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mobile App Interface Some stock/ETF price changes rapidly at certain time of a day. It usually takes 5 seconds or more to fill a limit order. From there, the app will ask you to either confirm order or void, without showing price change occurred in the past few seconds, which could affect user's decision. It would be helpful to allow user to manually "refresh" current price when confirming order. January 2, 2017
Rated 3 out of 5 by fine Web interface is ok; some low-cost no-load no-trade-fee index funds. January 2, 2017
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great research Sometimes hard for me to wind up where I want on the website but I usually find it eventually. There is a great variety of research available which is why I switched to Fidelity. January 2, 2017
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Easy Access! My Fidelity Accounts are easy to access and precise! January 2, 2017
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not done correctly That account was opened in error. I called last week to get it deleted. Why hasn't it been done? December 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by User friendly I'm confident my transactions with Fidelity are secure and handled efficiently. I really enjoy the iPhone app they have for on the go access. December 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable New features are a significant improvement. I like the additional detail provided in the snapshot of an equity, Thank you much. December 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easily accessible I have been very satisfied with Andrew in the Stamford location. He has been helpful ,pleasant,and professional at all times. December 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE BEST done me very well have had this account for a very long time . Iam very satisfided December 12, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dividends Why isn't the ex dividend date and the yield more easy to find on security that I hold in my portfolio? I have to click multiple times to get to it. That information would seem to be high on the list of items account holders would like to know, especially if it's a bond fund or a dividend paying stock. December 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very trusting I feel my investments are safe and Fidelity always keeps me informed on my account..You have always responded to all my questions that I have asked. I am very happy with Fidelity... December 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service! Fidelity reps are simply the best! They are consistently knowledgeable, friendly and patient with non-professional investors (me). My son moved to Fidelity after listening to my experiences. My brother told me last weekend that he intends to open a Fidelity account. And Sunday night, my daughter told me that she is moving to Fidelity too. December 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Retirement account Overall good to excellent experience so far, therefore I've recommended fidelity to some friends. December 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value Overall, good experience so far. Easy trade, great tools (financial planning is the best), and your customer service is awesome! Only issue I have now, and it is a little troubling, is that your system made changes to one of my equity positions where it, without my knowledge, converted the equity from a long term asset to a short term asset. I had already traded some of my positions creating short term gains. We are in the process of correcting this but was stunned that Fidelity would make this sort of change to a customer portfolio with zero input or notice to the affected customer. System needs to be corrected and am anxious to see concrete actions to prevent this in the future. December 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of use I greatly enjoy using Fidelity. The user interface is very clean and the customer service is excellent. December 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for do it yourself approach. Great for those who want to take a more hands on approach to their own investing. Questions can be handled via phone call typically and there is not much follow up once set up in my experience. I would assume the amount invested reflects how much TLC you get. That said if you know what you want to do Fidelity is a great option to get it done. Research is great and the tools provided get me the answers I need. December 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by double click dividends As a retiree, I depend on the dividends provided by stocks in my portfolio. I would like to see per share dividends and % of yield displayed with my stocks, without having to click twice on each security to see dividend performance. Aside from that, I like the account and I have been very satisfied with the performance of Fidelity people in person and over the phone. November 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond Expectations I used to have three financial services firms handling pieces of my portfolio. I did not pick Fidelity as one, rather I "inherited" it because my employer moved our 401(k) to Fidelity. But it wasn't long before the difference in services, and the on-point customer service from the reps and advisors showed the clear and distinct difference between excellence from Fidelity and very good and dependable from the others. As a result I have switched all my accounts to Fidelity and my life is so much simpler and better. Every time I think "I wish they had this option", I find out that they already do. I needed some money moved in a timely fashion and the phone reps made sure the process worked exactly as it should and even stayed on the line to assure confirmation. I used to downplay the value of the account fees at the other firms that I paid because even though nominal to my portfolio it was a matter of principle to get value for payment. I never doubt the value of the low fee I pay now for the 401k and the other fees are so low as to make investing fun, I recommend Fidelity to anyone who will listen. November 28, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could be better Wrong strike prices and date frequently appear on the Trade pop up. Option to Sell All not available as it is for other firms. November 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional and knowledgeable I have not had a single less than stellar encounter with Fidelity; be it in person, over phone or online. Good work. November 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellence My Fidelity account provides the services and variety I seek in my retirement. Not only is it convenient, but the customer service it offers is excellent. Fees are minimal when compared to other fund groups. I look forward to being with Fidelity for many years ahead. November 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by rate fidelity account like the system, easy to use and very helpful. experience to date has been great November 28, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Service Great customer service and professional employees. November 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nicely done The web portal and account functionality are generally excellent --- far surpassing other institutions. It is clear your team thinks about things, test, and then deploys new tools, functionality in a structured way. I am tremendously pleased with your online tools and capabilities. November 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by fidelity account I have no complaints, excellent service. read the news letters as well,very informative November 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best overall brokerage Whenever I call Fidelity, I have very helpful, responsive individuals on the other end of the line. Fidelity is more affordable than other brokerages I have dealt with. And Fidelity's online tools are easier to use and understand than other brokerages I have used. November 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by feedback I frequently have difficulty finding the different locations of the various accounts. For example, I may be looking at the rollover retirement account, and when I want to see how much cash we have, I have to keep trying to find where it is. Otherwise, after I have finally found what I have been looking for, I appreciate how the information is set up to use. This is especially a problem when I am planning to do, or change, some products. November 22, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by HSA A Disaster Trying to fund this account. Only direction/instruction is that there is a pending action. No directions on how to complete or what to do next. Complete failure on Fidelity part. No help options and cannot contact Fidelity. November 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent, Professional Service Fidelity managed the 401k program at Sandia National Laboratories where I was employed before I retired. When I retired, my account executive did a great job of advising me of my options. Therefore, I rolled over my 401k into IRA's with Fidelity. I chose to continue working with the same account executive, even though I moved out of state. The Private Group folks have also been great with whom to work. I have now consolidated all of my investment activities with Fidelity. November 18, 2016
  • 2017-02-01 T06:11:09.628-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1182, tr_1182
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 40 next>>