The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 21 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 4.00%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 1164 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beyond Expectations I used to have three financial services firms handling pieces of my portfolio. I did not pick Fidelity as one, rather I "inherited" it because my employer moved our 401(k) to Fidelity. But it wasn't long before the difference in services, and the on-point customer service from the reps and advisors showed the clear and distinct difference between excellence from Fidelity and very good and dependable from the others. As a result I have switched all my accounts to Fidelity and my life is so much simpler and better. Every time I think "I wish they had this option", I find out that they already do. I needed some money moved in a timely fashion and the phone reps made sure the process worked exactly as it should and even stayed on the line to assure confirmation. I used to downplay the value of the account fees at the other firms that I paid because even though nominal to my portfolio it was a matter of principle to get value for payment. I never doubt the value of the low fee I pay now for the 401k and the other fees are so low as to make investing fun, I recommend Fidelity to anyone who will listen. November 28, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could be better Wrong strike prices and date frequently appear on the Trade pop up. Option to Sell All not available as it is for other firms. November 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional and knowledgeable I have not had a single less than stellar encounter with Fidelity; be it in person, over phone or online. Good work. November 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellence My Fidelity account provides the services and variety I seek in my retirement. Not only is it convenient, but the customer service it offers is excellent. Fees are minimal when compared to other fund groups. I look forward to being with Fidelity for many years ahead. November 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by rate fidelity account like the system, easy to use and very helpful. experience to date has been great November 28, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Service Great customer service and professional employees. November 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nicely done The web portal and account functionality are generally excellent --- far surpassing other institutions. It is clear your team thinks about things, test, and then deploys new tools, functionality in a structured way. I am tremendously pleased with your online tools and capabilities. November 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by fidelity account I have no complaints, excellent service. read the news letters as well,very informative November 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best overall brokerage Whenever I call Fidelity, I have very helpful, responsive individuals on the other end of the line. Fidelity is more affordable than other brokerages I have dealt with. And Fidelity's online tools are easier to use and understand than other brokerages I have used. November 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by feedback I frequently have difficulty finding the different locations of the various accounts. For example, I may be looking at the rollover retirement account, and when I want to see how much cash we have, I have to keep trying to find where it is. Otherwise, after I have finally found what I have been looking for, I appreciate how the information is set up to use. This is especially a problem when I am planning to do, or change, some products. November 22, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by HSA A Disaster Trying to fund this account. Only direction/instruction is that there is a pending action. No directions on how to complete or what to do next. Complete failure on Fidelity part. No help options and cannot contact Fidelity. November 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent, Professional Service Fidelity managed the 401k program at Sandia National Laboratories where I was employed before I retired. When I retired, my account executive did a great job of advising me of my options. Therefore, I rolled over my 401k into IRA's with Fidelity. I chose to continue working with the same account executive, even though I moved out of state. The Private Group folks have also been great with whom to work. I have now consolidated all of my investment activities with Fidelity. November 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable Fidelity was recommended to me from my brother-in-law. I have found that Fidelity was an excellent recommendation. November 17, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by You have messed up big time My CFP left and I was never notified about his departure. It was only upon my second email to him, that I received an email from someone I had never heard from telling me that I had a new CFP. I called to ask for an appointment was told it would be several weeks before I could get one. Finally, after insisting, I was given an appointment for later in the week. I was just notified by email that that appointment was cancelled. I am very angry. November 16, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by reliable Good investment choices. Fees a bit high. Performance can be better. November 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional & Caring The work on my portfolio has been prompt, accurate and on time. The employees have made an extra effort on my portfolio to meet the goals and objectives I outlined. I have recommend Fidelity to friends because of these factors. November 15, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by I feel better with Fidelity in my older years I have been with Fidelity for many years and have had nothing but great things to say about there professionalism and the way they help you out in all your questions I think i'm for life. November 14, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ok Ok, service, nothing to complain about, nor nothing to rave about. The few times I asked for help I got a generic web page for suggestions of investments. November 14, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Average I am not sure how to describe the service offered by Fidelity. Nobody ever contacts me, nobody is updating me about what is going on in the market, zero clients/brokerage contact. Just nothing. November 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Fair commissions, excellent research, feel safe in using service. November 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by good stuff I'm happy to have a place where I can look at all my stocks, and have some guidance on them. Thanks. November 14, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lacking Access There is no fund availability to institutional share classes. As my account grows, there is a push to leave to get into a trust account somewhere to save on fund fees. November 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to work with My personal experience with Fidelity has been good. I make most of my trades myself, but I got great help when I had questions about something. They have a great resource of educational sites as well as for getting information about possible trades November 14, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed I have called at least twice over the past year to get a minor correction taken care of and it has STILL not been taken care of. November 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good customer service, easy and informative web site Very helpful retirement planning, setting up an IRA account, and transferring funds from company 401k. Office location is not convenient for me, but luckily most transactions can be handled electronically. November 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Fidelity Investment Group is very knowledgeable about all thier investment information to its clients. All the employees that I have dealt with are very professional and polite. They seem to want to go out of their way to help the client. November 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity I have used Fidelity almost since it started. Impressed with the automation and the ever increasing improvements. If I were to make one recommendation I would say be careful about how many upgrades and how fast. November 7, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Chat service is particularly helpful I'm new to having a portfolio and have felt welcomed aboard by the representatives in the local office and the chat feature. November 7, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sasting My Time After less than one year with FIDELTY, I am unable to review Fidelity. I do like all Fidelity's representatives. They are patient, efficient and caring. November 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Financial planner is extremely helpful and willing to help in a proactive manner. He is approachable and accessible when needed. November 7, 2016
  • 2017-01-23 T05:39:02.673-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1164, tr_1164
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 39 next>>