• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 645 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Responsive service, good website I prefer Fidelity because of good account representation and on-line service. Great website. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and comprehensive I have been a Fidelity client for over 30 years, and though I have money invested elsewhere as well, the bulk of it is at Fidelity. I'm a very satisfied customer. February 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Don't really like new platform It seems like the new "homepage" where all accounts can be found is more confusing then prior layout. When placing a trade, it's OK but still difficult to navigate. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recent Investments I was impressed with the assistance I received when calling for guidance on how to complete my investment actions. The two different Fidelity advisers I spoke with were patient, helpful and most knowledgeable. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and great service I am just a beginner but have found Fidelity to be very trustworthy and helpful. Couldn't ask for more. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clear and Concise Fidelity Accounts are clear and concise and offer full service for investments. Online access is easy and helpful. Statements mailed to my home make sense and keep me informed. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity account review I have been very pleased with the service and performance of my account. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Has everything I need I had an account with another company, but it didn't have the great research features or a wide variety of stocks and mutual funds to choose from. I switched to Fidelity and I am totally on track with my financial goals. February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value/Product I almost exclusively use my Fidelity account for Brokerage transactions. I mainly use Active Pro Trader and the IPhone app when I am not on my desk. I love the fast executions and the functionality of Active Pro Trader. There are two things that are lacking in my opinion - the inability to get real time market Futures and real time commodity prices (same for FX but I don't use FX). If you added them there wouldn't be a need for me to go to additional services. All in all though a very good product offering. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Been using Fidelity for 25 years :-) I've been using Fidelity for over 25 years and the convenience, customer service, and online tools make it easy to manage our investments. I moved all but one other retirement account to Fidelity so I can trade stocks within my IRAs. When I call Fidelity a rep answers immediately after entering my authentication information. They provide fast service and quality advice. I used to rebalance investments once or twice a year. Now I rebalance every few months based on market conditions and buy/sell opportunities and it takes me less time. Fidelity makes it easy. February 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by not sure at this time 2/17/15 customer service is fine. I sometimes like to talk one-on-one. But my first contact with a rep in the princeton office encouraged me to contact customer service after my initial meeting with him. Which i did not care for. I felt as though I was pushed to deal with only reps via a phone call always talking to a different rep. Very impersonal. Its always a different rep who doesn't know me personally. Not very personable. I feel like a just a number and not a person. there is no relationship with any rep. Do not feel very warm and fuzzy. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use My Fidelity account is easy to navigate and simple to use. Their customer service people have been extremely helpful on the rare occasions that I have called or used the chat line. I'm very satisfied and recommend Fidelity. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Very professional agents helped me set up my portfolio. February 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Happy with service and ease of use The online system is easy to work with and offers a variety of tools. Very pleased. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retired No complaints. Company keeps financial information up to date. February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by fidelity account 4.5 positive, easy to use, user friendly. good research capabilities, etc. February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK using DSL makes the advanced charting impossible to use. Yet another financial institution's chart are quick and easily accessible even with DSL hookups. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well organized I think everything is very well organized. There are two things I would like changed, however. I like to use limit and stop loss orders, and it is inconvenient to navigate around the website to find open orders. Also, the trading fees are high. February 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by good My Fidelity adviser has been excellent to deal with and keeps me informed about account. Although it is difficult to reach adviser timely. February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Resourcefull Very helpful, user friendly, and love the learning center. February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Your software is a bit confusing when I am trying to make a trade. I wish you had a document/PDF file on how to use the software or a FAQ section February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by comprehensive and trustworthy I have had very few issues with Fidelity over the 30 years I've been investing with you. One area you could improve on for us Mutual Fund only investors is the web pages used to set up moneyline and periodic distributions - It is impossible to do online as the website implies - one must call to set it up February 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and Easy to Use Website is easy to use and the full view is great to help me manage my finances. February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and easy to work with Website is easy to understand and work with. Account can be operated very easily. Initially, it takes time to understand and follow; but eventually it does become easy to work with. All acknowledgements are done timely. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and dependable Very satisfied with the product and my agent. the on line help is great February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prompt services. Excellent, prompt responses through phone calls by personnel who take the calls; patient and helpful, offering multiple suggestions and advice when asked. I am well satisfied with the service. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Service I appreciate the hands-on service your team provides! The Fidelity online interface is both clear and rich with detail. Thanks for making my banking/investing experience a great one. January 31, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by New UI is several steps backwards; please restore the old First, let me say that I've been a customer of Fidelity's for decades. Your customer service is second to none, not just in the financial services space, but compared to every service I use. Now, the rant (my first ever): The new user interface is very difficult to use. It occupies a screen space bigger than my HD screen (1920x1080 pixels). There's no way to resize the columns. When I scroll right to see the rightmost column, I lose the info in the left column. The problem is aggravated by tiny, nearly illegible type and vast expanses of white space. And there seems to be no way to go back to the old format except for bill pay. For bill pay, I go back to the old format, since it's worth the extra click to do so. I see NO advantage to the new screen layouts, which are far more difficult to navigate and use. Please either revise the new design, go back to the old formats, or have an easy means to switch between old and new for every screen, not just bill pay! January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Fidelity Accounts I must say that Fidelity is by far the best that I have used over the years. January 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Complete Complete pretty much sums it up although I'm still not sold on the new user screen January 29, 2015
  • 2015-04-27T10:09:36.516-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_645, tr_645
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.10.0