The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 1001 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Zeroing International Changes I've been with Fidelity for three decades and have enjoyed the first class experiences and your willingness to accept inputs toward improving. On international holdings you erase any changes to international holdings after the markets are closed. It fully distorts the reporting of daily results and misleads the client when reviewing daily performance. For example, today it appears that I had a gain of almost $4k but in fact barely had a $1k gain. You do not show the changes for my international holdings so when I come in on the weekends to review my result they are practically worthless. Why can't you change your software to allow the closing figures to remain accurate until the respective market opens again? July 9, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Re-thinking my decision to go with Fidelity I am most concerned about the follow-up and the bonuses I was promised haven't occurred on my account. I transfered a number of accounts over to Fidelity and I was told one thing and than I've literally have had to follow-up and still have yet to receive all the fees and bonuses I was promised by the VP I've been working with. So, yes, I am disappointed. July 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use and plan for retirement The online account is easy to use and I can easily see the value of all of my positions. Research is easy too. The only downside is I'm not sure that when I place an order to buy a mutual fund, at what price and time the order will be executed. I placed an order to buy a Select Fund after the close on Thursday, but didn't get an email confirmation until Saturday. July 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleased Been with Fidelity for many years - never a problem, always ready to assist 24/7. Professionals are top notch and extremely helpful. Systems are always updated, efficient, and user friendly. Extremely pleased and comfortable. July 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good financial management site The Fidelity website is a good one-stop place to take care of larger financial needs. I use my Fidelity accounts as the central pivot-point between my bank accounts and my other trading accounts. The website makes this an easy way to manage my assets throughout my financial realm and it is very intuitive. July 5, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and easy to use I have been pleased with this system for the most part. Apparently, there are issues when many investors are trying to trade at the same time. My cost rose roughly $0.25/per share for one purchase I made recently, due to heavy volume. July 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by good I have an account with Fidelity since the late 70's. that says a lot. July 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by What's left to say? Fidelity has been a flawless financial tool for me for over 20 years. Never a hiccup, never a doubt. July 5, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Useful Views of Protfolios The Fidelity site presents portfolio views and other account information in relatively logical formats and is easy to use for trading and account reviews. The one drawback is the lack of future income estimators (from estimated dividend and/or fund payouts) July 5, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fits my needs I am very happy with my investments and how they continue to meet my needs. This is a bond portfolio that matches my conservative investment strategy through Fidelity. July 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, but needs economic indicators The account features are great, but for index-based investing, I need economic indicators that gauge the present and future state of the U.S and World economy and the trade between them. I've been providing this on my own. July 5, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great people, average product Fidelity offers a lot of information but it is not well organized. The lack of an OS X native application for ActiveTrader is unforgivable at this point and the Silverlight based web app is horrible. Unless there is something specific that Fidelity offers that you need I recommend looking elsewhere for a better deal. July 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Efficient and Professional Highest Integrity ! Decades ago I relocated all my investment products to Fidelity . Agent walked me through complete process . I have been utilizing all of Fidelity research , comparative opinions both on - line and telephone as well as at local Fidelity office . I also set - up a Fidelity Charitable - Giving account to honor my deceased Mother . Several very minor issues [ my misinformation ] IssuesQuickly resolved to my satisfaction every time . I have recommended friends and family to Fidelity and shall continue to do so . Highest recommendation . Sincerely ; July 5, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not helpful I get direct deposit from my company every two weeks for years with fidelity. Getting expense checks once a month and fidelity tells me they have to hold the funds for 4 days before releasing. Same company as my direct deposit, same Bank, why hold my money for 4 days??? Would be acceptable 1-2 days but 4??? Crazy. Also the app shows money as available which is not at all misleading.... June 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent I've been with Fidelity since 1980 and used my account for all kinds of trades and interest bearing stocks, funds and accounts. June 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by pleased Overall very pleased with all things Fidelity. Customer support is outstanding. The web interface is a little hard to navigate at times, but most information is presented clearly. I would like to see things presented a little more simply and graphically, but the current internet, android and trade platforms certainly get the job done without too much trouble. June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great customer service I am pleased to be contacted by an investment professional, to go over investing decisions for the future. June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Right Provides exactly the right amount of customer support. Representatives are always available quickly and are very knowledgeable. Online tools are excellent. Very inexpensive. June 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use The site is easy to use. I was able to get what I needed to with little searching or assistance required. June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable and easy to understand I don't like change once I'm accustomed to how your system works, so I appreciate it being quite consistent. June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by savings excellent service no complaints with anything. thanks June 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by confirmations WHAT ANNOYS ME IS THAT YOU DO NOT SEND OUT CONFIRMATIONS FOR EACH STOCK/OPTION ON A SEPARATE SHEET. I MATCH BUY AND SELL CONFIRMATIONS AS THIS MAKES KEEPING TRACK OF MY INVESTMENTS EASIER. EVEN MAKING DUPLICATES OF THE CONFIRMS DOES NOT HELP BECAUSE MULTIPLE BUYS/SELLS MAKE FOR CONFUSION. June 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Brokerage Account at Fidelity I have found it easy to use in transactions. The reports are clear. The costs are the same as other accounts that I've used. I use it because it's easy to move money on Fidelity's system. June 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Employees Fidelity has excellent ,knowledgeable people who have been most helpful after my husband died. June 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT Have daily access, if needed, with easy access to your on line and phone services, both excellent.. Because l am almost entirely invested in mutual funds, you have great online info of ratings, investment value, comparisons and other info I'm probably not even aware of. I like having the ability to "drill down" to research top funds in selected categories and to look at your recommendations of funds comparable to mine. Use of Turbotax makes tax time more bearable. Don't know if it's possible, but some early warning tips or footnotes would be helpful, i.e., too heavily invested in foreign, small cap or long term interest funds at this time. I know I could call my representative at any time, but it's the only improvement I can think of. June 15, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Sincere I feel constricted in investments choices & times. June 14, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nothing Special Unable to be approved for full options trading. Unable to link my bank account without jumping through hoops. No access to ATP without $50,000 or making a certain number of trades so I am forced to use basic web page trading which isnt very good. When I first transferred stock over here it was put in margin so I couldnt even sell anything without first calling customer service to get it switched to cash account. Which took forever. Waiting time to get someone was over half hour every time and then I had to fight to get stock, that was paid with cash, to get converted from margin back to cash. Only still holding this account for long term div reinvestment and do all my trading elsewhere. Very disappointed with fidelity. June 13, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Rich The site's not bad but don't give info like how much the account has grown or lost in the last year. 401 k, how much has there been invested and the value month to month. It's very hard to track things. I thing more detailed info would be a hreat help June 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reluable Excellent service and follow up format of financial reports comprehensive and easy to read June 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fast, secure I do like the fact I can move assets quickly to my demand account.....the funds are generally deposited 24- 48 hours. suggestion: why not include a morningstar premium membership to your valued Fidelity clients (i.e. those with a minimum of $x placed with Fidelity). June 13, 2016
  • 2016-08-29 T13:09:35.824-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1001, tr_1001
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 34 next>>