The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 900 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service Have been a Fidelity customer for many years. Couldn't be happier. Customer service reps are knowledgeable and efficient. Process is streamlined. Website is constantly getting better. February 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than I hoped I moved to Fidelity in August 2015 and I'm so impressed with the level of service I've received. It's rare to feel like I'm getting more for my money but that is the case at Fidelity. My rep and his team are responsive, the Fidelity website and platforms are user-friendly and the research at Fidelity is top-notch. I recently started using ActiveTraderPro and I love the analytics. I've logged in for two free Webinars which have been useful and a good use of my time. Looking forward to long relationship with Fidelity. February 16, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and Reliable Trading It's been a great experience. All trades have been executed as expected. Would like to see better graphs for full view. I also would like to have access to active trader pro platform (web or download) without having to meet the 36 trades per 12 month requirement. February 15, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by ???? The statement is 6 pages to many and it is very difficult to read February 14, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Positive I do not likethe fact that despite having two seperate funds I do not receive SEPERATE reports. I tend to treat each of my funds as a single investment regardless of how many I may have with a particular firm February 14, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by fidelity app I am starting to get more familiary with the website and find it easier to navigate than the app. February 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dislikes Overall, very happy with Fidelity & associated website info. There are, however, a few improvements I'd like to see: 1- Without my knowledge I've been paying interest for a margin balance for a margin feature I don't need & didn't know I had. 2- I would like to be able to see the Dow and S&P averages on the same pages with the portfolio net balance and Portfolio Total. 3- I'd like the Fidelity AMEX account page to show a running list of charges and balance for only the CURRENT statement period. February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service Customer service is important to me because my account has only recently switched from the old mutual fund only platform to the fully functional brokerage platform. So I am still learning. I also like being able to view all my (Fidelity) assets in one place and time. February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice site Get good portfolio info and research. Timely financials. Money transferring could be quicker. February 8, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fidelity is not for Mac options traders Fidelity has left Mac users behind. I recommend using a platform that is native to the Mac. February 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Replacement Account (what is with the requirement to name the review?) Overall, I am pleased with this account and Fidelity in general. However, as I have mentioned before, I do not like the recently expanded version of the monthly statement, as it contains much duplicate information and makes the important items harder to find, especially for someone who also owns an IRA at Fidelity. Also, when I was recently forced to open a replacement account, due to sensitive information being compromised (through no fault of Fidelity), I was somewhat disappointed to learn that Fidelity would not honor my request to remove the check writing privileges. February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by survey Wouldn't do business anywhere else. Get great customer service when I need it. January 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity multi-tasks I've used Fidelity for over 25 years for so many different kinds of accounts... savings, ROTH IRA, college, mutual funds, you name it. A true workhorse with all the tools I've ever needed and all the support I could ask for. Have considered other brokerages, but why? January 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by review Good customer service. Telephone always available. Easy access to account representative January 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Senior Citizen assistance. I have found Fidelity and, in particular, the agent I have used, to be helpful, informative and understanding. January 25, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Transaction Difficulty Although I have recently had an over-the-phone tutorial, I find the website intimidating and difficult to use. I am sure an experienced trader might find the site very informative but, since I do not trade often, I find it difficult and confusing trying to accomplish the tasks at hand. January 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Low Fees Excellent Products & Service The title tells it all. Fees are low and there is a full array of products with great knowledgeable reps to help if you have questions. January 23, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Inadequate Account Service I am a widow who set up my Fidelity accounts after my husband died almost ten years ago, and I have generally thought the service from Fidelity was appropriate. However, I recently had an experience that made me suggest to them that they do a better job of attempting to contact customers when something bad is about to happen in an account. Recently they forced a trade in my account that I had no idea was about to happen and which cost me a lot of money. They attempted to call me on a Friday afternoon before a three-day weekend, but I didn't get the message. They have various ways to contact customers, including email, texts and placing messages on the account for a customer to see when one logs in. NONE OF THIS WAS DONE, BUT COULD HAVE BEEN. So I am suggesting that they use all means to contact a person when something bad is about to happen. I appreciate the attempted phone call, but PLEASE put a message on my account, email me, text me - whatever needs to be done to let me know that I am about to lose the money I live on. January 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent customer support from active trader team Each time I contact the active trader pro help desk either about my account or some technical question with the platform, I get immediate high quality answers. No long wait times also. January 17, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by reliable Customer service was average. Questions concerning procedures were unclear. January 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by investment Excellent service from brokerage support to my service rep. -Meg Also good educational opportunuties and guidance. January 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Monthly Investment Report Your new monthly investment report has become too bulky and hard to read. Please go back to the old one January 11, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Local office folks just don't cut it No problems with the trading and online aspects. However, the same cannot be said for the folks at my local branch. They do not call back when they say they will. It has happened at least four times since October. And, guess what? That is out of four times! That's right - a perfect 4 out of 4 failures. Still waiting on a call and/or email from early December. January 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Informative, Concise Research links are excellent. Financial planning areas could use a little TLC. Please avoid dumbed-down advice pieces. January 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by baseball Always VERY helpful and knowledgeable-very professional- probably best financial institution I deal with. January 11, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by web site positions display Overall fidelity is great. However the website took a step backward when it was enhanced. It used to remember that I liked the postions sorted by value and the CD's excluded from the page. Now I need to adjust those settings each time. I find it doubly annoying because it used to be more convenient. I really do wish you would have someone fix that - and I'll boost the rating to a 5. January 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable Easy to use; especially like it for research; intuitive website; much simpler than other money sites I have used. January 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Can did a much or as little in mgt. of account as I want and request assistance from Fidelity as desired. January 2, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review 1 Made it easy to transition accounts to Fidelity and manage them. December 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use...updates fast Fidelity is far and away the most comprehensive,accurate and easy to use financial website available! December 29, 2015
  • 2016-05-02 T06:22:47.268-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_900, tr_900
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 30 next>>