• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 803 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by good choice easy to navigate website, comprehensive information, many investment options, good value. very satisfied. August 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Investing and Everyday Transactions Great account to use for everyday banking transactions and investing transactions. August 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by happy fidelty customer very happy with your research of funds and stocks. August 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Upside I have found the Fidelity site very user friendly and very accommodating as well as having a depth of capacity to accommodate even the most sophisticated user. August 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Value I think fidelity has to reduce their commission between 6-7 dollars to continue to stay competitive. Alternatively, you could have different commission points for days traders (regular traders) vs non professionals. August 24, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by awful new site New site is horrible. wont even display entire option position unless i reset settings every time i log in option summary does not show cost per share only reason i dont recommend to friend is new website is awful. last improvements were inconvenient, these are awful. August 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very convenient I have multiple accounts for various reasons, cash management, investment, IRA, Inherited IRA and a trust account. I am able to manage all accounts as a portfolio and have linked them to my regular checking account. August 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seems safe compared to others I'm following For my own teaching, I'm keeping a review on 7 of your accounts. I find this account, that a friend recommended, to be a wise choice. Still so much to learn, and enjoyable to follow as I understand more. August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for me Works for me. Lets me trade, view, keeps history of price I paid. Sales are easy, buying is easy. No problems. August 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by App & Site alright Gets the job done. App is finally mostly up to date with the times. Has touch ID for iphone, makes logging in easier. August 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to do everything Love everything about it. Only complaint I have is that I have trouble syncing my portfolio with outside sources (i.e. Google Finance). I tried to do that automatically and it didn't work, and I tried to do it once manually and that didn't work either. August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glad to be with Fidelity Always good service both in person and on the website. August 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of use The Fidelity accounts are easy to use and the site is easy to navigate August 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by new website is unusable for trading the new website is slow and unusable for purposes of trading stocks. August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by safe and fruitful My personal Fidelity adviser was very helpful And when my Dad died, Schooled my family on the many directions our new found wealth could be invested. I rate it 5 star August 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by P & L I am disappointed that a firm as large as FIDO does not offer an account page that provides my realized gains and losses to date. August 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Great broker I'll first start out with the bad; The commissions are sizeable for people with smaller accounts/smaller trade positions. This is the only reason I've considered switching brokers. Everything else about them is great though. I've been helped multiple times using the online chat program and the fidelity staff is always very helpful and courteous. Their smartphone app makes viewing your account and performing tasks easy when you're unable to use a computer. August 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by meets my needs Offerings are good, tools are pretty good. Access to advice and research is excellent. Local staff are excellent. August 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by New "positions" interface is much worse. All in one, endless scrolling, all fonts are different. Endless info, I do not need. Smallest panel for the account info I do need. Considering moving mine and my husband's accounts to a different provider.I stayed with fidelity for many years only for the interface. August 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by terrible new site the new fidelity site is very awkward and difficult to use August 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by New website portfolio view The new website portfolio view is simply awful. Please bring back the classic view. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by General Review I use the website and mobile app. Both are easy to use and convenient. However, the one part that is challenging is that the iPhone app is different than the iPad app and it takes some getting used to. I was very unhappy with it in the beginning, but I am used to the screens now. Although I have had this account less than 1 year, my wife and I have multiple Fidelity accounts. August 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does everything it's supposed to do. So far, satisfied and content and does everything that I require done. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity is The Best! I transferred all of my financial assets from other brokers to Fidelity several years ago. I am so pleased with my Fidelity experience. Fidelity is a one-stop firm offering investing and banking services. I could not be happier. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost everything you could ask for in a brokerage account I have been a Fidelity customer since before the internet, and intend to remain so. I am especially happy with the Private Client Group, and the service they provide. The only minor inconvenience is that I cannot fully manage my wife's IRA from my main/grouped logon. To make a MRD from her account, I must log out of my main/grouped logon, and log on with her ID (a minor inconvenience). August 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product - Well designed The product offers many useful features to review and analyze complete portfolio. I can see history, rate of returns in a single click. Other options such as cash management, credit cards are very useful. What I miss is check deposit and locker facility. Once that is available, I will most likely be closing my bank account and moving to Fidelity for all my needs. I would also like fidelity to further reduce commissions from $7.95 to say $4.95. This is will be a great intensive for me. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Novice is excited! I am a novice placing two trades in the last year. Although it is important to read and review each webpage, Fidlity really makes it easy for the novice trader. I am pleased to have found such a consumer friendly tool to utilize for my trades. I am taking little baby steps but feel confident in time, I will be placing more orders. Thanks for all the readily available customer service. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding responsiveness The Fidelity representatives have been knowledgeable, responsive, and helpful. August 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by The new brokerage web site is TERRIBLE! Fidelity has taken a BIG step backwards with the roll-out of their new brokerage website. The old website was very compact and easy to use. Every screen on the new website is too busy. Quotes could be obtained via pop-up windows in the old website which made it easy to compare various trade options. Quotes are now imbedded into the account page. I found a work-around by going to the options research page; which still provides the pop-up quote window. I'm wondering when Fidelity will "improve" that page and take away that feature. Specific trade data on the History page is buried as web links and needs to be called up one at a time rather than appearing chronologically on screen. How is clicking through to one more level for each individual trade an improvement? It is obvious based on reading the other recent web site reviews that Fidelity considers the negative feedback to be based on lack of training/understanding rather than the fact that they made a mistake. That will only hurt them in the long run. August 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stability Why do new customers sometimes get some free trades, while I, being a customer for more than 30 years have never gotten any? A little consideration would be appreciated. I know I am small potatoes in the investment world, but other companies are offering hundreds of free trades for new customers. July 30, 2015
  • 2015-11-29 T08:19:02.656-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_803, tr_803
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 27 next>>


More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (from $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time, and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.