The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 21 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 1079 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Responsible Fidelity works hard to communicate relative information, that a individual can choose to use or not. They fulfilled this responsibility with class. September 28, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trade Tool I wish the trading tool was a little easier to use. It doesn't do much to guide an investor through selecting the appropriate TYPE of trade, or showing the maximum number of shares that you could purchase, etc. There is room for improvement. Why not make that tool AWESOME? September 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Use Find the site very easy to use and if I ever have had an issue, the support people are excellent. The only negative would be the credit card. I find the Fidelity Card the most difficult site to use of the 6 cards that I maintain. September 27, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lost Access to 403(b) A few weeks ago my 403(b) account "disappeared" from my portfolio that I check online. I have made numerous calls to Fidelity to try and have this issued resolved. I have spent approximately an hour on the phone using up prepaid phone minutes in an attempt to have this problem corrected. I have been told twice that I would be called back on this issue and no one calls me back. As of this morning I still do not see this account listed. I will have to move my accounts to another company; I need to be able to monitor my all of my accounts. September 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by no complaints fidelity has consistently shown me great service in so far as managing my money, dealing with problems and answering any questions i may have, even if not about my fidelity account. September 27, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by ??? the more I use this system the better I like it. Would like to have a direct link to watch list... list of stocks that I follow. It may be there I just don't know where. September 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Account review Fidelity account is an excellent way to manage my investment. More information and more easily available than any other that I have used in the past September 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very reliable for beginner I feel like it was a good start for someone who never invested or have zero investment knowledge, they seemed to be helpful and patient :O) September 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by New acccounts Good research and investment choices. Customer service is fantastic for those new to Fidelity. September 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Satisfied Found the personnel at the local Fidelity Office to be very knowledgeable, professional, and helpful. September 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure The Fidelity account is a great, full featured account with maximum choices for investment options. The website is easy to us, but I do think the mobile app could us some additional tuning. September 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Presentation, Flexible & Reliable I switched to Fidelity from using another investment companies website for managing my investment accounts because the other company's website was very basic and became unreliable, and sometimes would not work at all with my IE browser when they made changes. So far Fidelity's website has been very good and more flexible in choices of how you can display your account info. The only thing I have found to be missing is there doesn't seem to be any way to display my overall personal performance of my accounts on a month-to-month or year-to-year basis. Other than that I am very pleased in using Fidelity online services, although it can become a bit confusing or overwhelming at times as there is so much available and so many web pages to navigate when wanting to dive a little deeper into account management options. September 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Feedback Easy to transfer and I like the email updates on the status. September 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Valuation issue Most days my account says I lost $50k. This is because you use a $ price for a gbp security. I have reported it several times and no one seems to be able to fix it September 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable Most information I get through the web site are use for understanding and making investment decision . the resources offered are very reliable and current. I use the on line information for both domestic and international use. I am a satisfied customer . September 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Foreign currency trading Unfortunately, Indian currency is not on the list. September 14, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Nice intuitive view of your account, and easy to transfer or trade. However, if Fidelity can lower the trading fee and make the numbers more explained, that will be great. September 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity review Customer service is phenomenal. Had one slightly unpleasant conversation regarding a margin application, the gentleman I was talking to would not answer my questions specifically. Could have been due to company protocol, no big deal. All other experiences with Fidelity reps have been outstanding. The mobile app is on point. I have the feeling that my account(s) are small potatoes to them, however the reps definitely do not make me feel that way. September 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by better than competition compare to competitoin, much more reasonable. Try it. September 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My account I'm very happy with the products and services of Fidelity September 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by A reliable place to do business I have been with Fidelity for more than 30+ years. Their web site not only has tool for investment, but also good for retirement and tax planning. It is very easy to follow. The staffs in Fidelity Investment is very helpful and nice. But folks from their other associate channels like Managed Accounts and Annuity Accounts are a little bit less willing to give me true help. September 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by tradeable i would like to see the prices I pay for option contracts come down to a more competitive level. September 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenient and user friendly Excellent service. Convenience of on site visits by fidelity representatives at work. September 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stuff for a rookie This has been an amazing experience...just wish I was better at it...LOL August 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and good support Fidelity provides many resources for research and their support is excellent. It was easy to start an account and the customer service staff were very helpful when I had questions. I use their mobile app frequently and it is also very good. Overall, as a beginner investor, Fidelity has been great! August 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable secure and reliable are 2 very good words to describe my fidelity accounts. I can access them from anywhere and can do anything with extreme confidence. Also the research and ability to keep notes is great! I am glad I opened my accounts! August 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Transfer to Fidelity was the best decision I transferred many of my accounts including retirement to Fidelity last year and it was one of the best decision that I have made. They offer personal service at a reasonable cost. The investment options are the best feature as I am able to satisfy all of my needs under one umbrella. I am looking forward to a long relationship with Fidelity. August 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by reliable Has been a convenient company for me to use as my employer uses Fidelity and I was then able to easily transition to it upon retirement. August 29, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fidelity used to have a great web site Fidelity used to have a great web site. The latest modification to the web site improved little, but the old web site is not accessible anymore. The new site is very slow and, despite providing some additional benefits, got rid of the convenience and speed of the old site. Instead f looking at just 1 page online, I have to browse through about 5-6 pages now to all investments. The site also displays some meaningless information - it seems to be impossible to get rid of all this nonsense despite my multiple requests to do so. The new site attempted to fix something that did not need to be fixed, but did not touch on the many things that needed to be fixed. Shame on Fidelity;s IT! With few exceptions, the service advisers are usually very helpful and knowledgeable. August 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by ? I am generally very satisfied with the account and account services. All is well and satisfactory, with the exception of paper statements. I have opted for paper statements. For the last several years, since Fidelity changed the format, the statements have become VERY confusing and, to say the least, complicated. The information is made unnecessarily detailed and complicated. For example how much is going to be the 'cash-flow' on even smallest IRA accounts (not needed EVERY month), information on end-of-the-month price and other information is separate from any distribution amounts (ALL the information related to ONE portfolio/fund should be TOGETHER, so the customer does not wonder back and forth to assemble the total information. There are other similar issues with the statements lay-out which should be looked at. August 29, 2016
  • 2016-10-30 T07:45:56.862-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1079, tr_1079
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 36 next>>