• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 842 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by no complaints It works just the way that I want it to. I'm very satified. December 28, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by full feature? test the user's patience Fidelity may be full feature, but it is extremely painful to utilize their online services. It takes "forever" to find the activity that you are attempting to complete. December 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by half done Trading app is easy and well constructed. Cost of trading is excellent. Analysis is uneven, incomplete and awkward. Reporting and data displays are incomplete and poorly structured. December 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellet Tools The availability of the evaluation tools for mutual fund selection is very important to me, The Customer Service of the private client group is superior as is my Fidelity AE. December 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Security and Service Can obtain investment information and service. easily at Fidelity.com or by phone. December 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy to consolidate accounts This year I decided to simply my investment accounts, I had brokerage accounts with several firms. I decided to consolidate all of them with Fidelity. The process was easier than I thought -- no fees, cap gains, or hassles. I was impressed. December 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Brokerage account review Web page shows too much information that I have little or no interest in. Would be good if home web page could be customized to show only the topics that I am interested in. Really not interested in seeing the 10 gainers and 10 losers each day - I can pretty well figure that out by looking at the summary. December 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comprehensive Support Full services at excellent prices and fast responsive customer service. December 14, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Individual Acct Can never find a method to transfer my money into a non Fidelity account. Cannon find a way to send myself a check without phone support. December 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Improvements I would like my adviser to have a direct email which would improve speed of communication. December 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good I am keeping my funds in here for the short term to see if having all of them in this location is beneficial. A few of my other investments were already with Fidelity so I moved my stock in here. I am still seeing some fees that I'd prefer not to incur. Once I have two full years of data, I will make a decision to stay or go. December 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Job I believe your focus to the end customer is great. November 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and reliable My Fidelity account is the best brokerage account that I ever had. It combines excellent internet self-service navigation features, with excellent customer service assistance by phone. And the few times that I have had to go to an office, the service is fast and excellent as well. November 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cash management has room for improvement I am a "buy and hold" kind of investor so most of my activities on Fidelity are around cash management. I treat my Fidelity cash account like a checking account. As such, I have found several areas that could be improved. - Check imaging: I should be able to see scanned images of the paper checks I wrote and the checks I deposited (especially if I use the phone app to deposit the check!). - Sub-Total of my transactions at whatever time interval I choose. In other words, if I choose to see my past 30-days of transactions, give me a subtotal of all the money in and money out. - I use the Chrome browser on a Mac. If I go to "my dashboard", then I am forced to launch each of my accounts in a separate (small) window. Furthermore, each of these windows look and feel exactly like the original "dashboard" window. This is very confusing and annoying. It makes me NOT want to use the "dashboard" feature at all. November 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by This company cares ! When I first opened my individual account I had sent in a purchase request for a fund that had a substantial front-end charge. I had no idea that this was the case. An account representative called me to explain this fact and a little more about the fund. I was very thankful and I ended up purchasing another fund that I'm quite pleased with. I've had my retirement account with Fidelity for many years and I have always been pleased with the service there also. Thank you Fidelity ! Paul Wukovits November 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure & reliable excellent service, need faster quotes, & updates, thank you November 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent service excellent service with my transaction really appreciate the help November 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good but missing a simple thing FOR some reason, CASH in my accounts is 'hidden/buried' on internal pages. It should be on the very first page so I know both what I can invest immediately and how much I might need to sell if my cash is not high enough to cover needed expenses expected soon November 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Local and convenient The Fidelity office is only 20 minutes from home when needed. The representatives are friendly, helpful and responsive when I call or email. I liked the Classic on-line statement much more than the current one but now that Classic isn't an option, I am trying to get comfortable with the new format. November 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Investment Service I have been using Fidelity to invest for a year or so now - mainly because they also manage my pension. I have found them to be efficient, and the website is very simple to use. Overall, I am very happy with the advice and the service... November 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service I am not real familiar with investing terminology and details of my account positions, but every time I have called with questions or for assistance Fidelity people have been very helpful. I'd like to see another layer of security during login--such as routine use of secret questions besides username and pw. November 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by my account I HAVE BEEN AND WILL REMAIN A CUSTOMER MY NEEDS ARE SIMPLE, AND YOU ARE A GREAT COMPANY. November 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Fidelity makes it easy to consolidate my accounts. The rep was fantastic when I needed to consolidate from 2 separate providers. Walked me thru all the steps and was patient. Online research is great for the do it yourself investor. November 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by helpful The Fidelity Account is a helpful and convenient way in which to review all your holdings. November 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied customer I find the website fairly easy to navigate. I think I had some difficulty with the dashboard. I really have no complaints. November 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Service is world class, accuracy and speed of trades unmatched. November 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by processing account info efficently looking forward to end of year account tax information being promptly received November 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Want to view Webinars without logging in I would love to view the online lunch-time webinars. However, I don't want to sign in to my Fidelity account (with all my $$ investment info) while at work. So, to view lunch-time webinars, can I sign in to a "different layer of membership" that will not reveal all my financial info? November 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by on-line ease of use Screens are not easy used to be easy to concentrate on one screen ira / stock / checking. once one is signed into the account that you want to waork with all other info should disap[pear from scrren, when dealing with stock should be easy to ge to o[ption chains and then trades and back to ac listing November 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very satisfied secure and reliable Whenever I called Fidelity someone was there to answer my questions and gave me a reliable answer. Fidelity's web tools and resources in finance are immense. November 9, 2015
  • 2016-02-08 T09:48:50.637-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_842, tr_842
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 29 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (from $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time, and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including, but not limited to, risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance before short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE, SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Before trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading. Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.11.0