The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 21 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 4.00%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 1164 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Website I like Fidelity's website as I do my own research and make my own investment decisions. Also, the fees are reasonable and I like the savings over using an advisor. January 10, 2017
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and helpful. I have found the tools within the web version of Active Trader to be useful for my style of investing. I am still learning about the whole process and your site has helped me learn. January 10, 2017
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Hopes Fidelity representatives who have helped me since my husband's passing have been very professional, helpful, and patient. January 10, 2017
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best source for Trade Over all Fidelity has the tools that enable any trader feel comfortable to make a decision at that moment. January 9, 2017
Rated 4 out of 5 by The very good and the ugly I use only the brokerage platform, only for long-equity, no margin, no options. It is easy to set up accounts and I obtained excellent help through online help as well as by email and real-live person when it was required. I love the ability to view and trade positions in all accounts at once, with clear reminders of which account positions are being traded at a given time, a definite advantage over other brokerage services I use. Commissions are reasonable. There are no hidden fees. Trades are prompt and appear to execute at favorable prices when possible. Mobile check deposit is easy and intuitive. The ugly is that I do not like the arrangement of columns, I do not even care to see some of the columns and I might want to add a few of my own in the portfolio view, but there is no way to customize it. This seems a surprising and silly oversight in an otherwise very well executed application. Fix this and convenience and overall rating go to excellent. January 9, 2017
Rated 1 out of 5 by Finding info Good luck finding your information, get a cup of coffee and be patient you will find something at some point January 8, 2017
Rated 3 out of 5 by not happy It takes forever for a deposit (checks) to appear on the account. January 3, 2017
Rated 4 out of 5 by Help readily available I've had the account for about five months. I've been very pleased with being able to get help from customer service. People have always been very polite, friendly and willing to spend time with me. January 3, 2017
Rated 4 out of 5 by 24 hour on line availability 24 hour availability is a great plus. The process for integrating stock certificates from other companies is too complicated. Too many precedures. January 3, 2017
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fidelity Review Account is very basic. Not designed for options, margin, or other strategies other than Mutual Funds and Stocks. Margin Rates seem high. January 3, 2017
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use The Fidelity process has improved over the years. I have been an investor since 1999. I was able to establish, set up and fund two accounts without help from Fidelity. It's easy to analyze and adjust funds in our accounts. I spend a lot of time comparing and adjusting the funds. Fidelity has the tools that we need to make focused decisions. We are very satisfied with the entire process. January 3, 2017
Rated 4 out of 5 by Annuity Statements The only criticism I have is that annuities with outside firms often have less frequent statements (quarterly, for instance) than monthly. I think it would be helpful if Fidelity offered monthly statements for annuity investments just like all other investments through Fidelity. January 3, 2017
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredibly Convenient The on demand money movement cannot be beat. I left to a competitor last year and returned after six months. January 2, 2017
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mobile App Interface Some stock/ETF price changes rapidly at certain time of a day. It usually takes 5 seconds or more to fill a limit order. From there, the app will ask you to either confirm order or void, without showing price change occurred in the past few seconds, which could affect user's decision. It would be helpful to allow user to manually "refresh" current price when confirming order. January 2, 2017
Rated 3 out of 5 by fine Web interface is ok; some low-cost no-load no-trade-fee index funds. January 2, 2017
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great research Sometimes hard for me to wind up where I want on the website but I usually find it eventually. There is a great variety of research available which is why I switched to Fidelity. January 2, 2017
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Easy Access! My Fidelity Accounts are easy to access and precise! January 2, 2017
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not done correctly That account was opened in error. I called last week to get it deleted. Why hasn't it been done? December 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by User friendly I'm confident my transactions with Fidelity are secure and handled efficiently. I really enjoy the iPhone app they have for on the go access. December 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable New features are a significant improvement. I like the additional detail provided in the snapshot of an equity, Thank you much. December 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easily accessible I have been very satisfied with Andrew in the Stamford location. He has been helpful ,pleasant,and professional at all times. December 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE BEST done me very well have had this account for a very long time . Iam very satisfided December 12, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dividends Why isn't the ex dividend date and the yield more easy to find on security that I hold in my portfolio? I have to click multiple times to get to it. That information would seem to be high on the list of items account holders would like to know, especially if it's a bond fund or a dividend paying stock. December 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very trusting I feel my investments are safe and Fidelity always keeps me informed on my account..You have always responded to all my questions that I have asked. I am very happy with Fidelity... December 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service! Fidelity reps are simply the best! They are consistently knowledgeable, friendly and patient with non-professional investors (me). My son moved to Fidelity after listening to my experiences. My brother told me last weekend that he intends to open a Fidelity account. And Sunday night, my daughter told me that she is moving to Fidelity too. December 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Retirement account Overall good to excellent experience so far, therefore I've recommended fidelity to some friends. December 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value Overall, good experience so far. Easy trade, great tools (financial planning is the best), and your customer service is awesome! Only issue I have now, and it is a little troubling, is that your system made changes to one of my equity positions where it, without my knowledge, converted the equity from a long term asset to a short term asset. I had already traded some of my positions creating short term gains. We are in the process of correcting this but was stunned that Fidelity would make this sort of change to a customer portfolio with zero input or notice to the affected customer. System needs to be corrected and am anxious to see concrete actions to prevent this in the future. December 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of use I greatly enjoy using Fidelity. The user interface is very clean and the customer service is excellent. December 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent for do it yourself approach. Great for those who want to take a more hands on approach to their own investing. Questions can be handled via phone call typically and there is not much follow up once set up in my experience. I would assume the amount invested reflects how much TLC you get. That said if you know what you want to do Fidelity is a great option to get it done. Research is great and the tools provided get me the answers I need. December 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by double click dividends As a retiree, I depend on the dividends provided by stocks in my portfolio. I would like to see per share dividends and % of yield displayed with my stocks, without having to click twice on each security to see dividend performance. Aside from that, I like the account and I have been very satisfied with the performance of Fidelity people in person and over the phone. November 30, 2016
  • 2017-01-22 T06:39:20.995-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1164, tr_1164
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 39 next>>