• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 803 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and informative Fidelity online handles transactions in a fast and efficient manner. There is a lot of information about various investments, all in one place online to help make investment decisions. November 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Brookerage Account It is easy to move around the site. It is sometimes difficult to match the requied inforamtion to the Fidelity titlies. October 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review I can't always find the correct telephone number for the company in Norwood. Have to go through loops to get the number. I feel that my account is secure however. October 26, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I don.t like the New Format I find I like the old account view and maneuvering better for me. Currently there is too much info displayed and the screen appear cluttered. I love dealing with your firm but not because of the account viewing. October 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good solid investment Has a flexibility to allow me to make the decisions or allow an account manager to do it. October 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality is superb Fidelity is the most convenient and reliable; active trader pro is amazing. An ATP app for ios will be most appreciated. October 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient & Efficient Have this account for over 30 years or so. - User-Friendly Professional service - Objective advice - Low overhead October 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenience and Value Fidelity is constantly updating their web site with additional tools, calculators, and articles. I especially enjoy the View Points I occasionally receive via email. Whenever I've called the company to discuss a problem the first person I talk to takes ownership and stays with me until my problem is resolved. My Account Executive is professional and personable, and the amount of contact I have with him is just right. October 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too many layers Poor customer service, wanted to move money out and had to go through 4 people and still have not been able to get this accomplished. Not happy and would not recommend Fidelity October 19, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by App doesn't work The fidelity app does not appear to support messages. I get notifications that I have messages, but I can't access them via the app. I have tried to contact customer service to no avail. Maybe this will help..... October 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by All in! Great tool and account management system for equity purchases. Quick, consistent access to my accounts, research tools and daily balances is outstanding. There is rarely a time when the web based application is not available or running slow! I have been extremely happy with Fidelity. October 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice I'm so happy with the structure of the online service. I'm new customer (about 9 months) and learn how to operate online was so easy and friendly. Great telephone support when you need help!!! October 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by That Guy's Review Fidelity offers probably one of the best collection of research tools. The commissions are reasonable for the industry. The only real complaint I have is the difficulty in getting margin. This is a large issue by itself, and it seems ridiculous that a customer with roughly $40,000 in a clean account has to apply and reapply for a relatively small amount of margin. October 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quality and support I moved all of my holdings into Fidelity upon retirement earlier this year and I've been very satisfied with the quality and support of the Fidelity account manager and his staff. October 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by porfolio my experience with your company has been positive thank you September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Portfolio Assesment I transferred to Fidelity because the Fidelity website is user friendly, relevant, and assists greatly in developing an informed basis for making investment decisions. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Online Account Review Everything is excellent. Only thing I wish I could do is to "separate" my account into 2 different portfolios to better track specific account positions more easily. Now I have to download everything to a spreadsheet then delete the positions I want to ignore to see how the others are doing collectively. September 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by research Mutual fund research: 1. Needs to be able to save profile like stock research. 2. More drop-down selections without having to select OK which has to be done every-time and is never saved. 3. Have the ability to deselect the funds you are not interested in. 4. Be able to have all results on first page or select the number of results with at least l00 being an option. 5. Be able to select what criteria you would like to see instead of having to click between tabs at the top of the page. 6. in other words make it more user friendly like stock research. Stock research: 1. New style is cumbersome and confusing. 2. Definitions should include a sample so that the concept is understood better. Thank you September 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Learning Happy with the service and looking forward to seeing it grow September 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Website needs work Fidelity is competitive and has excellent customer service. Their website however is not ready for primetime. For example, when i got to view my options summary the tabs disappear making it very difficult to navigate the site and hard to find what you are looking for. Regardless of where you are in the account, the servicing tabs should be the same and always be visible. In addition, the options summary button is sometimes a button and sometimes a dropdown. Overall, the online experience is disconnected and inconsistent. September 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need Easier YTD Performance on Summary Would be nice if the summary had a YTD and 1 Year performance on funds so I would not have to dig into the investments section to see it. September 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fielity Webpage I am not a heavy user but do log in every two or three days. I find the site user friendly and easy to use. September 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Account review Investment products seem to be fine, but I'm looking for a higher level of involvement from my financial planner. Seems like there are too many clients per planner, and they have a difficult time providing level of focus, especially considering the amount of funds I have invested. September 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by OKish this account comes with some good features, very convenient at times September 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by still exploring the service gradually learning the system and the services; so far, I'm reasonably satisfied with responsiveness of staff and the user-friendliness of the syatem September 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Account rerview I am pleased with all aspects of my account, including the American Express accounts. September 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by reliable Hate your new web page ... you need GPS to find anything ... the old web page was user friendly and it took no time to find anything you needed to do. Now I constantly have call customer service to find anything if I am in a hurry and don't want to spend a half hour looking for what I want to do. this is why I would not recomend Fidelity to anyone. September 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Klapakis Account Review So far the account setup and functioning has been excellent. Service also have been excelent. September 3, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall Good Good educational materials. Wish there were better tools for learning how to use the stock screeners for newbies. Also wish there was an easier way to find suggested ETF/mutual funds for 401k rollovers based on age/risk tolerance. August 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful answering questions The fidelity app for non apple products is very good. August 31, 2015
  • 2015-11-27 T11:31:26.773-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_803, tr_803
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 27 next>>


More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (from $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time, and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.