The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 915 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comprehensive and inexpensive Using Fidelity for over 20 years has been a great experience. Retired now without a pension but happily used Fidelity Annuity, IRA's, trading stocks, and funds I am financially secure. With their guidance and support my wife and I are enjoying retirement. Thanks Fidelity! November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Access Someone is always available to answer my questions November 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure Left Fidelity after 35 years, 1.5 years later, I moved all my money back. Looked for help to invest my money. Seem Fidelity is only interested in pushing me towards managed accts. Don't want that, so am seeking outside help to invest my money looking at the long term, buy and hold. November 4, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Service for Fidelity Despite having 5 accounts with Fidelity, I do not have a single person with a direct dial phone, email or fax that I can reach for any kind of service. This company does not offer customer service. I have no confidence in their ability to assist me with my investments. I am researching alternatives. November 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A quality outfit Fidelity has a great website that is easy to navigate. Although I have not used their customer service department, it is my expectation that it will be of the same quality as the other components Fidelity offers November 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by My one issue I used to work for a company that had their stock plan through Fidelity. I stopped working for them three years ago. Their stock plan has been showing zero $ on my portfolio page for three years. I don't want see it on my portfolio any longer. But for three years Fidelity has been able to figure out how to remove it from my portfolio. In internet time, three years means that means Fidelity doesn't really care or they would have fixed it. October 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything I need to invest Everything needed to invest is found on the website. The one complaint is the inability of the site to find a company's symbol if there is a misspelling. Google can do it why can't you? When I don't know the correct spelling of a company or the exact name I go to Google and they find it. Perhaps you should speak to them. Aside from this I have recommended Fidelity to a fair number of people. October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by investor I have had a 401K and also a stock account and Fidelity has been fine. October 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Improvement I need to applaud your team for improvements to the site. I am a new user. Several months ago I registered several complaints/improvements re: working the site. As of today, whether it is based on larger feedback or mine--vast improvements made. The early start is the only reason I did not give best marks across the board. October 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Good with the basics. Good customer service. Could improve in flexibility of web views. October 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy and Reponsive I find Fidelity to have easy internet access to all of my accounts. I'm able to make quick deposit and easy trades whether at work, home from a desktop to the ease of use via mobile access. Fidelity also provides online webinars that cover various topics for beginners to experienced investors. October 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure but hard to communicate with agents Overall the account works well. The major problem is getting a hold of an agent or getting them to respond to my emails in a timely (<24 hours) fashion. They often do not return calls or emails for more than a day. This needs quite a bit of improvement. I cannot manage my account effectively if I cannot communicate with staff effectively. October 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK - Needs lower fees Lower fees - The options platform was confusing, so I don't use it. Most important is lower the fee trades. The no load funds are great. Very good for a long term buy and hold, but lower fees for trading. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good enough. This account suits my purpose, but please maintain the "classic" view for my use FOREVER! My recent international trade is a perfect example. The new view had me looking all over the place for the trade details, but the classic view had it included in the account overview - quick and simple. Thanks for being there! October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I'm very happy with Fidelity. When my computer got infected, Fidelity was helpful and changed all of my account numbers. I like that I can talk to a live person at Fidelity, who knows what they are doing and are very pleasant about helpful. October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Green Horn I have just started to learn the in and outs of trading. Fidelity has been an excellent learning tool. your learning center and help desk have been easy to work with and understand. October 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity made this new investor feel comfortable Very satisfied with the amount of information for new investors such as myself. Interface is easy to use. Website clearly explains all types of accounts and investment options. Provides easy to find breakdown of stats and fees. Great overall product. October 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Availability I wanted a platform that would give me good trades at competitive prices. October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Longterm Customer I opened my first Fidelity account in 1989 because my parents had their investments at Fidelity. I have been a satisfied Fidelity customer since then and have gradually migrated all of my non-employer-sponsored-retirement assets to Fidelity. I look forward to many more years with Fidelity and highly recommend Fidelity to anyone who is looking for an investment account. In addition, I highly recommend Fidelity's cash management (AKA checking) accounts, debit cards and credit cards. I have been extremely happy with my ability to manage all of my Fidelity accounts online and really like the ability to initiate an online chat with Customer Service or Technical service representatives for help with account features and services -- Fidelity's online experience is superior to the online capabilities provided by other nationwide banks where I have previously kept assets. October 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor design of new screens Very unhappy with new screen format, have had conversations with two Fidelity staff and was advised, "I'm sorry". Not adequate response, may take funds to another vendor. Unhappy former screens not available. I did not request changes and have advised several times I do not believe the screen formats are helpful or useful. October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by FIDELITY HAS USER FRIENDLY PROGRAM! For retirees, and newbies to trading , this site has the usual features, but you can find your way around with some patience, unlike a few other trading sites. Also the customer assistance people are polite and do not mind explaining things. No snippy or superior people answering the phones! October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service online Fidelity online service is excellent. Very easy to buy shares and manage your account. You can receive deposit slips and checks to deposit/withdraw to/from your account. Great analysis of the stock market. October 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Suggestion I like the new page layout. When I open the Order description, there is an empty wide area on the right side...why not automatically pop up the stock/ETF/position quote, so I don't have to click on the symbol. If someone is checking out the order, it would be nice to have the RT quote right then ..... September 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Information I have been a Fidelity account holder for more than fifteen years and have done my own research and made my own investing decisions for the entire time. Fidelity has continually evolved through that period and has made my job easier through the information provided and the available selection processes. Thanks to you I feel confident I am ready for retirement. September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great job I have found my Fidelity accounts to be easy to open and easy to monitor. Online access is quite simple and the support team is informative if I need to call. The branch office is wonderful and they even give away cookies, um! I am very pleased with my account service September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by balanced secure and reliable Excellent customer service Good advice personal to our needs Easy trading online Secure site availability concerned about the slow market recently September 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Penny Stock Investor The only problem so far with Fidelity is having to wait for transferred money to clear before I can purchase a penny stock, even after the money has been transferred out of my bank account. Cash Available to Trade doesn't mean I can trade with it. Most every time I call customer service to make the trade, I have to listen to their disclaimer and explanation as to why I have to wait, even though I am authorized to purchase penny stocks. Customer service is usually good, not always. I'm able to make a trade anywhere using my iPhone, nice. September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy It is easy for me to quickly see my accounts and make my trades. I am a very basic user and your interface has made it easy to do the simple functions I need. September 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Functionally complete The website truly provides the necessary information for smart investment assistance. Particularly, I like the easy classification of phone contacts that pre direct you to your need. The account is excellently designed for quick pragmatic decisions to be made. Truthfully, I only have one complaint, and it is the inability for the system to recognize one central bank account to distribute money to different investment accounts. I addressed this issue to a knowledgeable representative and he provided me with the information I needed to work around the issue. Overall, I've had a great experience with a minor bump on the road, where I was assisted with great customer service. September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Lots of research Site is easy to navigate. Trading platform very easy and reliable. Can do lots of analysis. September 16, 2014
  • 2016-05-26 T12:45:01.915-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-15, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_915, tr_915
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 31 next>>