• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Investments and services

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 15 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Account benefits

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading representatives

Over 150 Investor Centers

Fees and pricing

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 594 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Larry & Mary's Fidelity Account This is an excellent service that you perform and the information on your website is extremely helpful. June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient It is easy to buy and sell securities online with this service. June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charting Would like a panoply of technical considerations tied to all stocks in each account. June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Review Fidelity meets my financial needs in terms of convenience and cost. June 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bond trader Overall service is good. The on line tools are ok but not great. The lack of ability to trade individual corporate bonds is a real deficiency for any income investor. Fidelity needs to be a bond trader for its clients. June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Local Offices You closed the Tampa Florida offices. Although I seldom used it, it was convenient. I was asked if I would like a rep to contact me from the Sarasota office and I affirmed that would be nice. The rep tried to contact me but unfortunately I was delayed in traffic and missed his call. I called, apologized and asked if we could set up another appointment. He never called back. ....bad form. June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Brokeage Account Feedback I like the independ abillity to buy and sell stocks as I see the need. However, the buying and selling bonds is confusing. I tryed setting up an appoint with a Fidelity representative, but he never contacted me as was scheduled. I have not had any communication with a representative to discuss my account or plans. June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Conifer I like the web site because it is very easy to find and research products. Easy to buy, sell and transfer money June 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by portfolio screens Go back to where the portfolio screens use to reflect previous days value, current days value....previous days price, current days price....The screens you had were perfect and the new screens are poor...All you show now is the current priceing and current valuse based on the current days close. And as far as the costs of each mutual fund I own, that is something one should be able to drill down in order to get the information which will open up two columns of real estate whereby you can put theprevious values back on the screens as you had prior to your new screen changes that u updated some 6 or 9 monts ago! June 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by high bar for participation in IPOs I have been a fidelity customer for several years and definitely in the high income bracket as far as my household income is concerned. Though, I haven't been working long enough to have high enough savings and a high balance in my fidelity account. The bar for allowing participation in IPOs based on balance in fidelity accounts is a big disincentive for me. It doesn't account for the rate at which my account is growing. I am seriously evaluating moving to a different broker that can provide better offers to me June 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by improvement suggestions The android fidelity application needs to be improved. Better stock analysis tools need to be added. June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Convenient The ability to access all of my accounts simply and reliably through Fidelity.com, allows me to manage my investments easily. Fidelity's research tools and analysis allow me to manage my investments effectively. June 6, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great promises. lousy on delivery great marketing....great promises...absolutely poor translation to real hands on, day to day service drawing on expertise of right people at right time. I would not recommend Fidelity to anyone based on over a decade experience with them. If it weren't such a hassle at the moment I would pull plug. Fidelity management seeks answers... but doesn't do the most important thing...getting down to basic service that counts...Fidelity....not my answer and maybe should not be yours. June 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Std acct I find that other houses offer better nice times and customer service June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenient The brokerage account allows inexpensive trades with good fills and research. The ability to have all household accounts available on line is essential and very valuable to me. June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Margin Calculator I've found the margin calculator to be a very valuable tool. Before I was "guessing" at how much margin I was biting off. Now I can determine how a trade will affect me prior to executing it. June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid and great servuce Great online information on accounts, easy to use for the most part. Good app for IPhone though it is hard to do options. Customer service people are always knowledgeable and helpful, as are people in local office. It is almost always quick to get to a real person. June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent TNX ! Good job. Thanks again. Not sure why that is not enuf info ! June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Support and information I have tried to get answers to specific questions regarding market trends. I only get the generic answers that do not address my concerns on long term trends for specific investment areas. June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Review June 2012 As an independent retired investor I find the Fidelity services to be very good. I would appreciate more "one on one" help, but, this is really up to the individual (appointments etc). Lectures and seminars have been very helpful. June 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Options Platform is PATHETIC The options trading platform in Active Trader Pro is pathetic and totaly useless!!! June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and informative Overall very secure and the research information is good. The latter helps me understand the past trend and the company's issues in current news articles. One needs to know what future direction the company may take before investing in it. June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by iPad app: Watchlist lacks key aspect of website version I use your WATCHLIST feature to keep track of my holdings [in several brokerages]. The website [PC] version of the watchlist provides a "Total" at the bottom that allows me to see the total value of all my my holdings -- but the iPad version does not. Why not? Should be simple to add? Please do!! June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by effective Active Trader Pro and website have reliable and good resources. People are always available on the phone but personal representatives are not that responsive. June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comments Overall I am happy with the service, although the lack of Saturday hours at my local branch is a negative. Also, the limitations you have on online password characters (e.g. no *, &, ! and many other such characters) does not allow me to have the most secure possible password as I do for my other online accounts. Really hard to understand. June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by len tenzer Good product selection and value. Customer service at my local branch is poor. Hours are Mon. through Fri. 9-5 with no Saturday hours or willingness to accomodate. Knowledge of markets/recommendations are basic. Phone customer service is fine. June 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good customer service Cutomer service via phone or in-person is excellent. People are knowledgable, friendly, and patient. Unlike some other organizations that have shifted their service overseas, I appreciate Fidelity keeping the service here in US which clearly is reflected in the quality of service.l June 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good with a few exceptions I've had a few confusing incidents trying to transfer stocks to children: Several reps clearly did not understand your procedure and could not give the correct directions. A broker from another company finally told me the correct, and easy, way to make the transfer. It was totally frustrating. As for the new format, I find I get much too much information. Maybe my older eyes just find the number of columns confusing. I keep wishing I could opt for the original format, which suited me just fine. I found it very clear and was happy to click to the page showing change since purchase. That was easier to print, too. June 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Overall Banking/Securities Institution I love Fidelity for all my banking needs…Bill Pay, ATM card, Checks, Customer Service, High Quality Advisors, Stock Research tools, Portfolio Analysis, Seminars, Quarterly Updates, and Trading. The best part of Fidelity Investments…people, people, people! Yea, I'm a fan. June 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by fees & return on my investment For a long time customer and having all my investment at Fidelity, I don't think I am getting any benefits, I have several role over 401K accounts, IRA accounts plus personal investment account. Would like to have 5-10 free trades per month or year as my employer give me that option after having certain threshold of amount at the firm, but I don't want to do that for other reason. Also I am restricted to have accounts beside few firms and all trades need to approve before a trade is made so person like me who does only 5-10 trade a year and have to pay any fees is not fair when I have lots of money at your firm. June 3, 2012
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 20 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.7.0