The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 903 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK - Needs lower fees Lower fees - The options platform was confusing, so I don't use it. Most important is lower the fee trades. The no load funds are great. Very good for a long term buy and hold, but lower fees for trading. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good enough. This account suits my purpose, but please maintain the "classic" view for my use FOREVER! My recent international trade is a perfect example. The new view had me looking all over the place for the trade details, but the classic view had it included in the account overview - quick and simple. Thanks for being there! October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I'm very happy with Fidelity. When my computer got infected, Fidelity was helpful and changed all of my account numbers. I like that I can talk to a live person at Fidelity, who knows what they are doing and are very pleasant about helpful. October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Green Horn I have just started to learn the in and outs of trading. Fidelity has been an excellent learning tool. your learning center and help desk have been easy to work with and understand. October 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity made this new investor feel comfortable Very satisfied with the amount of information for new investors such as myself. Interface is easy to use. Website clearly explains all types of accounts and investment options. Provides easy to find breakdown of stats and fees. Great overall product. October 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Availability I wanted a platform that would give me good trades at competitive prices. October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Longterm Customer I opened my first Fidelity account in 1989 because my parents had their investments at Fidelity. I have been a satisfied Fidelity customer since then and have gradually migrated all of my non-employer-sponsored-retirement assets to Fidelity. I look forward to many more years with Fidelity and highly recommend Fidelity to anyone who is looking for an investment account. In addition, I highly recommend Fidelity's cash management (AKA checking) accounts, debit cards and credit cards. I have been extremely happy with my ability to manage all of my Fidelity accounts online and really like the ability to initiate an online chat with Customer Service or Technical service representatives for help with account features and services -- Fidelity's online experience is superior to the online capabilities provided by other nationwide banks where I have previously kept assets. October 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor design of new screens Very unhappy with new screen format, have had conversations with two Fidelity staff and was advised, "I'm sorry". Not adequate response, may take funds to another vendor. Unhappy former screens not available. I did not request changes and have advised several times I do not believe the screen formats are helpful or useful. October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by FIDELITY HAS USER FRIENDLY PROGRAM! For retirees, and newbies to trading , this site has the usual features, but you can find your way around with some patience, unlike a few other trading sites. Also the customer assistance people are polite and do not mind explaining things. No snippy or superior people answering the phones! October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service online Fidelity online service is excellent. Very easy to buy shares and manage your account. You can receive deposit slips and checks to deposit/withdraw to/from your account. Great analysis of the stock market. October 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Suggestion I like the new page layout. When I open the Order description, there is an empty wide area on the right side...why not automatically pop up the stock/ETF/position quote, so I don't have to click on the symbol. If someone is checking out the order, it would be nice to have the RT quote right then ..... September 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Information I have been a Fidelity account holder for more than fifteen years and have done my own research and made my own investing decisions for the entire time. Fidelity has continually evolved through that period and has made my job easier through the information provided and the available selection processes. Thanks to you I feel confident I am ready for retirement. September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great job I have found my Fidelity accounts to be easy to open and easy to monitor. Online access is quite simple and the support team is informative if I need to call. The branch office is wonderful and they even give away cookies, um! I am very pleased with my account service September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by balanced secure and reliable Excellent customer service Good advice personal to our needs Easy trading online Secure site availability concerned about the slow market recently September 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Penny Stock Investor The only problem so far with Fidelity is having to wait for transferred money to clear before I can purchase a penny stock, even after the money has been transferred out of my bank account. Cash Available to Trade doesn't mean I can trade with it. Most every time I call customer service to make the trade, I have to listen to their disclaimer and explanation as to why I have to wait, even though I am authorized to purchase penny stocks. Customer service is usually good, not always. I'm able to make a trade anywhere using my iPhone, nice. September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy It is easy for me to quickly see my accounts and make my trades. I am a very basic user and your interface has made it easy to do the simple functions I need. September 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Functionally complete The website truly provides the necessary information for smart investment assistance. Particularly, I like the easy classification of phone contacts that pre direct you to your need. The account is excellently designed for quick pragmatic decisions to be made. Truthfully, I only have one complaint, and it is the inability for the system to recognize one central bank account to distribute money to different investment accounts. I addressed this issue to a knowledgeable representative and he provided me with the information I needed to work around the issue. Overall, I've had a great experience with a minor bump on the road, where I was assisted with great customer service. September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Lots of research Site is easy to navigate. Trading platform very easy and reliable. Can do lots of analysis. September 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I don't know why you would trade anywhere else. After searching all of the top companies, I chose to go with Fidelity, in part because they had lower fees, and in part because I had prior experience with Fidelity through an old 401K. One feature I really liked was having a checking account through Fidelity, where I could spend my dividends immediately with a debit card, without waiting to transfer funds to another bank. It offers a better interest rate as well as FDIC insurance to $2 Million. I opened my account to trade equities, and I can't express enough how pleased I have been with the Active Trader support team. The Active Trader Pro software is not perfect, but it is pretty close, and Fidelity is constantly updating it to fix bugs and roll out new features. (By constant, usually once a month.) Fidelity offers lots of online tools, training, and seminars as well. Whether you are a new investor, or a veteran, Fidelity has tools to help you succeed. Disclosure: I do not work for Fidelity, nor was I compensated for this review. September 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Haven't fixed an issue - waiting months I have a broker who has tried to get Fidelity to fix an issue on the "Change Since Purchase" column of my account. The entire column, both Dollar and percent, read n/a, and have since the account opened. I have asked my broker if he can have it fixed and he has gotten several agreements that it should work, it will be working tomorrow, or in a few days, but nothing has happened. I am ready to switch my account to another investment brokerage. September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service! !!! Great Brokerage.... my Broker always answers the phone. September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA I recently did a direct rollover from my former employer to my Fidelity IRA account. As always, my experience with Fidelity was a cut above! Any time I had questions and would call in for help, I was greeted with a friendly and knowledgeable representative. The representatives always spoke clearly and was very respectful and I appreciated that. Fidelity is most definitely a very professional and American-based business that I enjoy doing business with. I would recommend this company to anyone, young or older. I just cannot praise them enough! September 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure good website, easy to manage, easy to find info.... September 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Accounts Not a good organization of the Web Site a weak mobile tool. Not User friendly UI September 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It is secure and trustworthy. So far,I have good experience, except a few times it was totally confusing and unclear. However, it was fixed by Mr. Dews quickly. September 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accessible and informative I am very thankful Fidelity opened an office in Madison WI. The staff are very professional and one can tell that the customer is served well. A shout out to Vicky and Lynne. Keep up the good work. Brad September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs Less Watching Good place to invest and not have to worry about the accounts or other problems. I think the one place that Fidelity can do better is in the IPO's. I cannot always get to a computer on 'the' night before, but I have already shown an interest. I'd also like to know how you allocate shares of IPO's. September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Only one complaint The site is easy to use and navigate. It allows me to accomplish my simple trading goals. The only problem is the time between selling a stock/bond and receiving the cash. It takes three business days to clear. I am confident that Fidelity gets the cash sooner than that, and is earning interest for at least 1-2 days off my trade. Trades should be fully settled within 1 business day. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by helpful and encouraging This is the first time I have had a brokerage account where I could make my own trades and the research is very helpful, customer service is a needed source and they have been helpful in pointing me in the right direction and have been very curtious August 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by bad customer service i am recently widowed and was trying to transfer assets and deposit checks into my new personal account. There were some complications which Fidelity mishandled, and they made some pretty serious mistakes. I also had to deal with multiple different customer support teams, with one not knowing what the other had already told me. Very aggravating and disappointing August 30, 2014
  • 2016-05-04 T05:54:25.723-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-15, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_903, tr_903
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 31 next>>