• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 631 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable prompt execution of the orders also, ability to have axcess to analyst opinions March 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nobody Ever Responded to my lasy inquiry A couple weeks ago I stopped in the office on LaSalle Street to deposit nearly $100,000. I asked for an investment advisor. No one was available. I asked that an investement advisor call me. No one ever called. March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity guided potfolio summary last column does not does not appear on detailed holdings. Last review I had with account exec was not fruitful. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service Having been a customer for over 20 years, I find all representatives I spoke to very knowledgeable and helpfull. The web site is very easy to navigate and the research is outstanding March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by helpful & responsive i've had some issues periodically but Fidelity has always resolved in a timely response & clarifications. i had a great experience with a cost basis issue recently & he individual, nicholas, did a great job in clarifying & directing me to the correct individuals & following up to ensure resolution. March 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by not good enough I do my own investment dexcides but get other options for compar.sion Fidelity makes too many changes to their product screens without good testing most of fid programmers are control freeks and do not allow the user to input data or the direction of t`he application. I see this most in option trading where if the user makes a typo then the progammer cloears all fields and tells you to reissue all data. not only is this stupid but it is frustrating to the point I cancel the whole trade and go away and use my second broker. Every Fid screen is a sell-screen and after you have account you do not need to be sold anything-the user wants to use the account and get to work not be informed on how wonderful Fid is or will be in the future-he/she has already bought the idea and does not need to be sold a seconh/third/umpteened time on behg wonderful. October 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Service good and not so good Most of the time they deseve A for the service. Hiwever, if a mistake is made i,e in cost basis of lot cost-they would not correct it even when the Fidelity document show otherwise June 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure, reliable, helpful The Fidelity Account is the by far best brokerage account I have experienced up to now. June 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and Reassuring When I log on and review my Fidelity Account, I understand more each time. I appreciate the expertise of the Fidelity professionals. June 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good experience I have found Fidelity to be a good company and good people to deal with. June 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Likes and Wishes I like that you have always treated me with courteous respect; that you keep records of past conversations so that speaking with a different representative is never like "starting over." I like that you listen to us, your clients, and continue to broaden your services and simplify the paperwork. I plan to look into your new Cash Management Account. It could fill a need. I wish I could buy gold and silver coins and bars through you at reasonable prices. Currently I'm having to deal with independent dealers and would prefer a more reliable and trustworthy source. June 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by web redesign I have appreciated your quick inclusion of a number of my comments into the Fidelity account positions pages June 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by FIDELITY PORTFOLIO Satisfied with experience so far. Prefer my own decision making. June 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works for me I own mutual funds, not stocks, always do my buys/sells/exchanges online, same for transferring $$ from and into my accounts, including my external bank account. Fidelity's customer service is excellent, as is the website. Overall, I give it 4-5 star rating. June 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by What I'm Hearing on the Grapevine I've been hearing that some accounts are having a problem with retaining cost-basis information, and restoring the lost cost-basis information is not happening quickly or at all. Fortunately, so far, I've not been affected (knock on wood). June 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by client first Fidelity continues to be a guardian for financial security of those entrusted, while also offering conservative approaches for growth where possible. This should remain the priority in the high risk, global growth constrained, wealth and trade normalizing economies. June 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased I have been with Fidelity over twenty years. I have never once missed talking to a real person. Your representatives ane always curtious and helpful. I also enjoy being able to do my own research through all the information you make available. It has been a pleasure. Thank you! June 7, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Informative Fidelity account is transaction fidelity. The research tools are required but complex for a new user. How to documentation for this tool will improve utility of the tool. Fidelity accounts managers have been proactive. How ever investment options are limited. June 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Always there when we need it. easy and simple to use. June 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Okay by me I am happy with the way things have progressed. The ease of use and information received. June 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by variable service being a day trader, with a bulk of intl mutual funds, I often run into issues, due to house calls, bill pay, and margin balance. The service has been spotty at best. some agents are more rigid, unwilling to provide some friendly assistance, or willing to take some risks. With the bulk of my portfolio being intl funds, I often know the general direction prior to closing but need to transfer funds to cover calls. After closing the calls are more than covered. June 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I really like Fidelity I have had a Fidelity account for many years and have no complaints, only praises. I have had accounts with other firms, but I closed them all. Up until this year I only communicated with Fidelity by phone or the internet. This year I visited a Fidelity Investor Center several times. I received the same great service from both. I have recommended Fidelity to friends and family. June 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to review and full of information Access to the internet is very easy and the system remembers my user name. I can select information in many different ways. the analysis is complete and I am very satisfied. June 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by investing I am pleased with the service and ease of execution I receive from Fidelity. June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity is Number One in My book I rely totally on Fidelity's insight and assume that the products that are featured are the best in the marketplace. Love the "discounted commissions" June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stable Support for both my prior employers and personal accounts for 30+ years. Fidelity has hosted my GM pension, 401K accounts and personal taxable investment accounts for 30+ years. Recently Fidelity has begun hosting my HP (EDS) 401K account as well. Not one problem in all this time. I've had my Fidelity account balances downloaded daily to Quicken for 15 years, along with bank accounts, credit cards,etc. There have been lots of changes in Windows software, Quicken functionality, Internet service providers, etc. But my Fidelity data in Quicken remains rock solid. I'm lucky to have a Fidelity office 2 miles from home, but prefer online internet access for 99% of transactions. Keep up the good work. June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb I've been a Fidelity account holder since the 1980's and have had no regrets in keeping a significant portion of my portfolio there. In comparing Fidelity with my other investment accounts, Fidelity definitely comes out on top in my book. June 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cheap and Good Service is cheap, reliable and good. What more can I ask for. June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I did not know that option that is held in my account that is over $100,000 does not count for margin account. Therefore, my account was suspended. I wish I had that information when I was approved for day trade. June 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mr. I have been a Fidelity customer for more than 30 years. I am happy with my experience with Fidelity services. I certainly would recommand Fidelity to my friends and relatives. June 6, 2012
  • 2015-04-01T09:50:55.021-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-15, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_631, tr_631
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 13 14 15 16 17 ... 22 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.7.0