The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 1000 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy and Convenient I have thoroughly enjoyed using my Fidelity accounts.They are simple and straightforward and easy to use, whether trading, transferring between accounts or between Fidelity and my local bank,in both directions, or just checking daily balances or daily activity. The stock research has been very valuable although not extensively used by me yet. The statement and/or online layout are both very clean and easy to follow and I am able to see what I want to know very quickly. At the current time I don't envision any change that I would want. March 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by online access availability is excellent I really like that I chose Fidelity to handle my accounts. When I needed Customer Service, it was there and the representative answered my question or handled the event I required very quickly and in a manner that I thought was excellent. My overall rating of "Good" is due to the changes made to only parts of your online site. The "Positions" is more confusing to me, but the Activities page is excellent. Going back and forth between to old and new formats is something you upgrade soon, I hope. As a NOTE: I was a designer of web sites for several companies over an 18 year period before I was forced to retire at age 71. March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased I don't trade often but when I need info. it is easy to get my advisor is always ready to Assist me. Imake few demands because my investments are pretty much in place............. March 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by New User I love the depth of research and information on Fidelity but you're behind on user friendly. We need to be able to see the current price of an outstanding order by holding the mouse over the symbol. The positions and watch lists need to be able to be customized so we can see info important to us like ex date, next est report date, dividend yield, volume, etc. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy & Complete Can do anything and everything I need to with this account. And all on line with little fuss. Would and do recommend this for all. March 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure On line functionality is very good and the follow up from my advisor is also very good. March 16, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Transaction execution great, other servi not so good Like my title says, I am very happy with my trade executions. However, since I trade mostly on companies' shares, I found that the rating services that you employed are mediocre, or at best fair. My overall impression is that you are very happy offering ETFs and mutual funds, since you have a commercial relationship with most of them, than offering services that has no up-front reward. Perhaps you should offer a subscription service priced accordingly with Morning Star, or Investors Business Daily. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable very helpful, accommodating and clear recommendations from my advisor at Fidelity. he responds promptly, after a phone call for a querry. he is patient , explains very clearly and allots enough time . gives options and lets you decide . does not impose his opinion. pleasant to deal with March 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service From the attentiveness of the customer service representatives when I've had to call, to the user friendly website, to the low transaction costs... I couldn't be happier with fidelity! March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Tracking and Alerting system This is only my second investment account but I have found Fidelity to be user friendly and reliable. I enjoy and grow through the constant educational access and broadening my investment knowledge. It gives me a sense of financial confidence. Thanks for asking March 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple, Convenient Broker I signed up with Fidelity because I already had a retirement account with them through my job. Fee breakdowns are simple and easy to follow. I haven't come across any hidden fees or anything sneaky yet. Will continue using. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by safe, reliable, and they stay in contact Excellent service and support for a rollover IRA account. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Research Information The Research Section allows a great source of financial information to make investment decisions. March 9, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor access to funds. The account transactions takes ages to process. The debit card associated with the account is useless. I tried to follow the spending limit but somehow it's not accurate. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy Fidelity provides exactly what I am looking for: transparent, low-cost execution from a sturdy, reliable online broker. The times I need service, I have always been made to feel like their most important customer, even though I know I am not. March 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like fidelity It is very convenient to open account and I like fidelity is charging less trading commission fee than other on line trading company. March 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by brokerage account is average I had brokerage accounts at different institutions in the past 16 years and consider Fidelity brokerage account as average. However, Fidelity excelled in the customer service arena as I always had my questions answered and they were very prompt and professional. That is why I stayed with Fidelity after all these years. March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by A few years with Fidelity I find the walk in service and online to be nice. My broker who set up my account is not available when I call and has not followed up on items I have asked for. The convenience of accessing my 401k and personal investments in one place is what keeps me with fidelity. March 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by call me terrible access to stock options cant transfer money back yet March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleased I moved other accounts here because I really like most of the way your web site works. It is organized in an intuitive way that makes finding what you want straightforward - including current holdings, pertinent articles, research, etc... I would really think you hung the moon if the account positions tab could also be grouped by sectors- without going to the analysis tab. I would also prefer the watch list as presented from the research tab be the same as clicking it from the accounts and trade tab. The little things are what can frustrate you the most so I have a great appreciation for the fact that posted statements tell me yes or no that I have reviewed them before the email notification and not print it twice. I also detest wasting colored ink on statements that take up half a page on logos and your statements are better than many others. However as much as I am pleased I have a bit of an obsession regarding email and clicking on the offered link. I go directly to the web site to avoid going to an imposter web site. (Yes I have received email from a fake amazon site that was phishing.) Therefore I will not answer any other request that aren't available on my logged in site. March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Positives and Negatives Fidelity offers an extremely wide, if not full, range of investments. Mutual Funds, stocks, ETFs etc. The cost of doing business, for the small investor is minumal. On the negative side, admittedly minor is the ability to print out confirmations using their link on the confirmations page. I can get around this though so it is a minor March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Navigation The only complaint I have as of right now is that it is very difficult and very frustrating trying to update my password online. March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Account Review Everything works smoothly. Financial info is always available on demand. Stock transactions work perfectly. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Site is easy to navigate and gets you to useful information quickly February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Source of Retirement Planning Excellence Pulled together a plan from a lifetime of savings, investments, life insurance, 401ks, IRAs and pensions at a pace that was palatable to our understanding capability. Provided the wherewithal and inspiration to get this critically important job done during difficult transitions of semi-retirement. Excellent sources of necessary technical information were provided all along the way. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Responsive service, good website I prefer Fidelity because of good account representation and on-line service. Great website. February 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and comprehensive I have been a Fidelity client for over 30 years, and though I have money invested elsewhere as well, the bulk of it is at Fidelity. I'm a very satisfied customer. February 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Don't really like new platform It seems like the new "homepage" where all accounts can be found is more confusing then prior layout. When placing a trade, it's OK but still difficult to navigate. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recent Investments I was impressed with the assistance I received when calling for guidance on how to complete my investment actions. The two different Fidelity advisers I spoke with were patient, helpful and most knowledgeable. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and great service I am just a beginner but have found Fidelity to be very trustworthy and helpful. Couldn't ask for more. February 23, 2015
  • 2016-08-26 T12:01:09.657-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-14, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1000, tr_1000
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16 ... 34 next>>