• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 753 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Accounts Love my accounts, Easy to work with my money,its easy to navigate your accounts September 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trade stocks. Excellent...secure and reliable. Fidelity provides excellent services. 5 star. I have been with Fidelity for over 12 years and hav found it easy to deal with the company. Fidelity Staff is very helpful. However, mostly, I do my own research through Fidelity. Good business. Excellent. June 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for do it yourself investor The account is easy to use and easy to track online. The customer service is good when needed, which for me has not been very often. I find this is a good account for the do it yourself investor. April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure & reliable These accounts work very well for us, it works well with our new life style. Our questions and concerns are always addressed when necessary. We are quite happy with Fidelity. April 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use service! I like the ability to manage my own investment portfolio to meet my needs. If I need assistance, help from Fidelity is only a phone call away. There is so much information available online that help isn't often needed. I think the Fidelity Account is a great product. April 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by web site is inconvenient and difficult to navigate It pops up a new window when you do a quote, and if you click "trade" from that window, it opens up another window, and on and on...It's very difficult to deal with multiple windows, and it's inconvenient. April 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Place to Invest Great research tools, fairly priced products and services. Fidelity is the place for serious investors or anyone who wants to provide for financial security. Customer service is excellent and always available. On line site is easy to use, and help is always available if you need it. If you handle your own investments or if you need financial assistance, Fidelity is the place to be. April 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Free trade ETF's I really love the new ETF options with no transaction fees. The fund expenses are really low and with no fees to trade in and out it's a steal. I'm basically becoming an index trader now. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable, consistent, convenient My brokerage account is in good hands with Fidelity. I like the features of the account which are customer-centric and convenient. Any time I've needed to talk to a representative I've gotten great service. April 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by super with one exception I am very satisfied with my fidelity brokerage account with one exception (this may be due to me not doing enough digging), I would be a totally satisified customer if I could have displayed the yield of each applicable stock in my portfolio. I also like the fact that I can rely on Fidelity for a sound second investment opinion if needed. March 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly and reliable I feel very good about being with Fidelity. I think my rep is looking out for our future and is very honest is giving us advice and recommendations. He is very patience and helps us to understand. And everyone is so friendly at the office. March 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by good info excellent website could add a price history with dividends, splits etc. March 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and low-cost Fidelity Account has been a convenient vehicle for our portfolio management at a reasonable cost for the services. Our initial experience was that the account manager was slow to respond to inquiries but with the new team assigned to us, that has greatly improved. Our experience with the ATP platform has been good, but certainly not excellent. We hope that that will improve as the pltform and team mature. March 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Kathleen Paddon Trading platform provides excellent information regarding stocks mapping the range of large to small cap and value to growth. Good range of ETF offerings. March 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient but Limited with too many Fees Overall, my Fidelity accounts are decent and allow me to do most of the things that I want to do. However, I find the activity fee a real turn off. It is one of the proverbial "hidden fees" that brokerages seem to use in order to squeeze a few more cents out of each transaction. For Fidelity's level of involvement with each transaction, the commission fee is more than fair. Otherwise, stock trading is ok, and it is good that Fidelity has recently provided easier access to extended hours trading. However, bond and CD trading remains far too limited. I hate the idea that I need to call a representative and pay a ridiculous fee to try and sell a bond or CD which does not have a current bid or a bid for a number of shares that I can trade. I also don't like that I can't post my own bid for these securities for a day without again going through a representative for a high fee. Years ago, it was much easier and more profitable to trade bonds and CD's through Fidelity. Now, I only buy bonds through Fidelity that I plan to hold to maturity. I trade bonds and CD's elsewhere. The customer seems to be more and more of an afterthought at Fidelity and the account is not the value that it used to be. March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by future income i would like to have a complete flow chart of all future income from all investments in all accounts up to one year out. this would greatly help my future investment planning. March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by FIDELITY REVIEW I AM HAPPY WITH THE ACCOUNT. IT WOULD BE NICE IF IT OFFERED STOP LIMIT ORDERS. March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy I don't often take actions in my account, but when I do I find it very easy to research and take the action. If I can do it without any guidance, it must be easy. March 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fidelity location I would like to sit down and talk to a rep, but Las vegas has one location and it is located about 55 minutes away. They are a small office and everything is done in the open. I wasn't to happy when I visited them last time. Very unprofessional location. March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy I find it to be easy to handle my account online. Much more convient than a telephone call in many cases. March 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Improve Security Allow more dynamic passwords, such as "%^&*". Also, allow two-step verification. The current system is vulnerable and antiquated. March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy, asking only for a small tool I have been very happy after switching from a our family's broker to Fidelity. The customer service has been impeccable, and the iPhone app is great. I have asked in the past about determining my estimated annual income (based of course on currently available dividend rates), but it seems that function is not built into the system. It seems like a fairly simple tool to build (I can do it at home with a laborious spread sheet) - would you consider adding it? March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Fidelity Private Client Group does not provide quality services; sent email and called once each; no responses. Finally, we were told that they have many clients to serve. On line representatives are doing better jobs. March 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by reliable I am very satisfied with the information and assistance your company has provided to me. March 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to understand The Fidelity Account is easy to access and contains most of the information needed for a concise "snapshot" of the positions held within it. However, accessing other information is awkward. Example: You have to go to the "trade" tab to access the "history" of recent transactions. March 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trustworthy Most all contacts have been positive and it is very convenient to have a local office. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Excels At Just About Everything! I have had a brokerage account for many years with a competitor, and elected to roll-over my 401K, when I recently retired, to an IRA with Fidelity (who managed my 401K). I am absolutely delighted working with Fidelity - from the many hours my Fidelity account executive has spent with me providing sound investment advice, and the outstanding on-line tools, and the comprehensive on-line research, and the excellent customer service at the Fidelity office. From what I have experienced, Fidelity excels at just about everything. March 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by NOT BROKERAGE - MARVELOUS HMMMM... not sure why Fidelity sent us Brokerage review cause you don't "manage" our accounts. BUT we have been with Fidelity for 52 years....and we think you're wonderful. Joan Erickson March 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure Fidelity should look at ALL owned accounts combine Joint and each individual IRAs when considering the number of trades for people using Active Trader Pro. An example is that a joint account may have a few 100K where as the owners of the joint account may have well over a million dollars in all accounts at Fidelity. March 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by year end statements year end statements for tax purposes consistently come late and then for at least 2 years in a row, i have received a corrected statement. i should receive a correct statement on time each and every year. March 24, 2013
  • 2015-09-04T11:07:04.487-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-13, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_753, tr_753
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 26 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (from $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time, and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.10.0