• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 644 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by do3in Simple and clear, easy to trade , commission and fees are reasonable. March 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by reliable and performant I have been promised 3 time during the last year, that I will have access to the fidelity pro. trading tools, and evrytime no follow up... This is the only reason I did not increase my portfolio with Fidelity, even though I am very satisfied with everything else. Sylvain March 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Watch list Years ago the Watch Lists were changed and it has been a mess for me ever since! When I sell a stock, I like to watch it and maybe buy it back. Also I need a Watch list to track what I own. And I also use Watch Lists to watch what I am considering buying. All of these lists are easier when stocks are automatically entered in chronological order like it use to be. Now the lists are scrambled and the last entry is not the last. I have called at least 5 times to learn how to managed my Watch Lists but it just does not work for me and seems to change. I look at these Watch Lists 2 -3 times a day. Have considered changing brokers but Fidelity is so great in every other way! March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Primary Financial Services Provider As an experienced investor, I have utilized Fidelity for decades and they remain my primary provider. Their systems, reputation and product line-up stand alone in a crowded financial services universe. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by moderate security Snapshot does not contain full dividend information. I have to go back to research and "quotes" to get dividend information. Just an extra step. Private broker in Seattle is too busy to reach him quickly. He does return calls but it takes a day or two. Often I have to go "national" Fidelity to get answer..Analysts ratings are listed but no written description of the reason is given for some. Some analysts are almost a carbon copy of others you use. They contribute nothing .Would like to see Argus added to list.. Why was our Morningstarr discount discontinued? March 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by On line services I like the on line features but some are not that intuitive to use. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Fidelity Account Is Exceptional My Fidelity Account is convenient and offers me a wide variety of investments, history, reports, advice, and updated information - all at my finger-tips. Using the Fund Evaluator, I'm able to evaluate potential investments by reviewing performance and fees. I'm very pleased that I chose Fidelity! March 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missing critical information To manage assets effectively one must go to other sites to augment data. For instance, the Star Mine score reflects primarily technical analysis but I have to visit other sites for more fundamental analysis and target prices. The beta product has been in beta forever and still has bugs. There are other sites equally good and price competitive. Fidelity has lost its edge compared to several years ago when I first decided to open an account. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely efficient and knowledgeable Fidelity Investments has been the one constant in my investing world. I look to Fidelity research first when scoping out new ways to make money and make it the last place I go right before making a decision. Keep up the good work. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by fast, complete, accurate, completion of brokerage trades 1. fast trades 2 .most important accurate reporting 3. 1099's & tax information clear 4. when I've phoned good service March 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure and reliable Good, reliable and reputable, professional counseling, and available. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy I find it easy to use. It's informative and helps me in making decision about financial investments. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by You figure it out , Dumb question ! Well satisfied with both on line and personal services. Rare to get a representative who is not friendly, knowledgeable, and courteous. BIG plus is no press #1 for English. All representatives I have spoken with are understandable with perfect English. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peace of mind From the local office to tech support for ATP everyone is super kind and helpful. March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by title of what? I use this mainly to pay bills. I have had a problem knowing exactly how to change the amount of a bill - tings do go up! jgj March 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lost trust and confidence Your customer service is set up to help customers when they are in need. But they were removed when a problem arrived. Instead the customer was given a silent treatment. This is the way that Fidelity solved their problem.. I lost all the trust in Fidelity.. I do not trust Fidelity any more even I have been with Fidelity for more than 20 years. March 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy I really like the convenience of online access to my accounts and analysis tools. However i Would like to see secure mobile access and faster access to my cash after a stick sale. Why does it take 3 days? March 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable I think there is a vast amount of information and Fidelity has done a great job on its titling and navigation. The ease of trades is great ant the price of $7.99 is fantastic. I also like the ability to trade options. I would like a tool where I could explore dividends both projected and announced for the next 4 quarters. March 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I spend a little time each day researching stocks and Fidelity's on-line research tools are more than adequate. March 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for plain vanilla US Very good for Listed Equities. Takes too long to execute foreign instruments. March 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Under One Umbrella Having all your financial information accessable and under one umbrella is the way to go! March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Informative records Records are up to date and prompt in response to requested action. The account executive is helpful and responsive. March 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good tools - no useful advice While I love the tools available on the web and love the iPad app... I have never received useful advice on investment strategy or retirement planning and need some! March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and good service Fidelity provides excellent customer service both on the web and via phone. I am very happy with my brokerage account March 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure and reliable Matt was really great getting my account transferred and calulating basis for us. I look forward to working with Fidelity March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trading fees If I had more free trades I would move more funds to Fidelity. Rather than shop around for other brokers. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by the professionals I don't invest in many individual stocks and definitely don't trade frequently, so I'm not the best customer to ask for an opinion. However, I've maintained accounts with Fidelity for about 30 years. I have never found any fault with Fidelity Investments and have always considered it the best financial services company, and one of the best companies in any industry, that I've ever dealt with. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Information & Easy to Use Contains a wealth of information and it is very easy to perform transactions. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable It does what is advertised and the service is good. Would like to see more info on building an income portfolio. March 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Additional market indicators I need to use another well known trading platform, because you do not offer these indicators: $TICK, AUDJPY, $ADD and $VOLSPD. Start offering these and I can eliminate a competitive platform. March 19, 2013
  • 2015-04-18T10:47:52.436-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-13, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_644, tr_644
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 22 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.10.0