• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 722 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Misses the mark The web interface is dated and cumbersome. It is difficult to find answers to questions and the search feature does not work well. Retirement planning features lack depth and there needs to be more user-friendly features to balance accounts, make suggestions, etc. Very disappointing. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My act Excellent service. Efficient and knowlegable staff March 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recent disappointment Until now I would have rated Fidelity 5 stars on everything, however in preparing my taxes this year Fidelity was a big disappointment. On the IRS Form 8283 sent to me by Fidelity there was no cost basis info on specific lots of stocks I had transferred to the Fidelity Charitable Gift Trust. It did not exist online in my account and it required a phone call and a calculation by the representative to obtain it. This was very inconvenient. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Fidelity Account I have had no problem at all with the quality of service at Fidelity. The office is conveniently located and there is adequate parking. Almost all of the staff at the front area are cordial and professional; there is one male, not to be named, who doesn't have the best personal skills. Other than that one individual, I am most pleased with the service at Fidelity. March 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Superior For over 30 years I have used Fidelity as my main source for investing. I have never had an urge it use any one else, because I would beat a loss to know how they could improve. in other words I am a. satisfied customer!. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Fidelity in Greenville is convenient and very accessible. Branch holds several informative meetings and has excellent knowledgeable staff. March 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by please create wash preview it would be great if you could please create a wash calculator.. wehre we can preview whether buying a certain stock would create a wash or not. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity account survey Your people are very knowledgable and have spent a great deal of time and effort helping me March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Complete I've been a customer since the 1980s and have never been disappointed or regretted my decision to use Fidelity as my cash management/investment account. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellence Excellent products, services, support. My Account Exec is outstanding... very attentive to my goals / objectives. March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good service I have been happy with Fidelity. I feel the mutual funds are among the best in the industry. Commissions are low and the site is relatively easy to navigate. I like using it to research mutual funds from other companies as well. There are more tools and more areas of the site that are great but I don't use them. I think whether you are a new investor, or one that has been doing this for a long time, this is a great broker to work with. I have often recommended them to my friends March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trading account controls Although I've brought up that when one is in an account and switches to the trading function the account number can switch. The only solution provided by Fidelity is to switch the sort order to have the account with the most frequent trades listed first... come on, really? Rich March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by COMPLETE FINANCIAL SERVICE I USE THE WEB SITE TO REVIEW MY ACCOUNTS OFTEN. I CAN TRACK MY POTENTIALS VERY EASY. FIDELITY ALSO HANDLES MY RETIREMENT PENSIONS FOR TWO OF MY PREVIOUS EMPLOYERS, SO IF I HAVE QUESTIONS.........ONE SITE. I LIKE THE CHANGES FIDELITY HAS MADE TO THEIR WEB SITE, TOOK A WHILE TO ADJUST, BUT ONCE YOU GET IN IT IS EASY TO PULL UP ANY INFO YOU NEED. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Responsive Easy Contact . Quick response. Pleasnt representatives. Error free. Excellent. March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient The account is easy to access online, with a tremendous amount of information available to me to help me make good investment decisions. The research information truly makes investing much more of a science than a roulette wheel where you rely on hot tips. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable I've been dealing with Fidelity for 30 + years. I have always received great service, easy access and excellent people to work with. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Love My Fidelity Smart Money Account My Fidelity Smart Money Account gives me a full range of investment options and the convenience of checks and a debit card. I can easily move money between investment and the on-line tools are easy to use. The only thing this account can't do for me that a checking account can is issue a Cashier's check. This is definately an easy way to manage my money. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure, practical, easy and convenient to use Excellent , easy to manipulate, I will recommend fidelity t o every investor March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A keeper I do everything online. The Web site works very well, it provides useful research tools, and the instructions are clear. Discussions of tax consequences are especially complete, compared to some competitors' sites. Updates accurately into Quicken almost without hitch--unlike some competitors. I have used three competitors' sites, and much prefer Fidelity's for trading, account management, and research. When I do have an occasional question, it is easy to talk to a Fidelity rep, and I have always gotten quick and accurate answers. One weakness that Fidelity shares with other firms: research support for foreign stocks is very spotty--even for companies in the NAFTA zone that have US tracking stocks trading in the US. There are presumably legal and technical problems that help to create this situation, but at least Fidelity might provide links to where investor information might be found for such companies. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Longterm view Keep the good service and try to lower the on-line commissions to stay competitive. March 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Online good no personal contact Since a local office was opened I switched my acct mgr to the local guy. Never once heard from him, then was notified he left. Haven't had any verbal contact since then. March 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good at execution Not so good at technical help. Tax issues (not advice) transfers between accounts, inheritance issues that I feel you should have been able to answer were not handled to my satisfaction. March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity account review Customer service is excellent and local Fidelity offices are helpful and has seminars. Sometimes the web site can be confusing and it seems like Fidelity is trying to improve it -- hopefully they do and do not make it more difficult. March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best in class but improvements needed By far the most no-hassle trading platform short of paying an exorbitant fee for a Bloomberg terminal. Love the conditional trade function, analyst ratings (though a bit outdated at times) and especially the stock screener. Problems I've had: 1. The technical analysis section doesn't always save my view settings. I want to save a "template" of desired indicators and apply them to a particular security. 2. The news section is lacking. There should be a section for the trusted wires and a section for other business news sources. I wouldn't mind paying extra if fidelity aggregated WSJ, Bloomberg, etc. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Account holder Fast,reliable,good value for your stock transitions and mutual funds. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable and educational HAPPY WITH THE RESULTS I GET FROM FIDELITY WHEN I CONTACT PREMIUM SERVICES WITH A QUESTION. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity meeting investment challenges Opinions and choices are developed by many factors,this account engages my thoughts and ideas to help meet my goals.Investing is a choice we all HAVE to make. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prompt and helpful Have found for more than 20 years Fidelity Investments to be very well organized, informative and helpful. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comprehensive and easy to use Commissions for individual stocks are among the best rates. Web site is easy to navigate. I like that it is easy to determine the total return of an IRA. A wide range of mutual funds not from Fidelity is available commission free, this is a plus. March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Research Funds I find it tough to navigate through the Fund Research page. It always reverts back to the default setting if you dive into a Fund and come back to the list page. On that Fund research List page it would be nice if it indicated the funds in my portfolio in a different color Also A nice feature that would help me is to compare my existing funds against other funds in the same "Category" . March 22, 2013
  • 2015-08-02T10:52:58.861-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-13, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_722, tr_722
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 25 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.10.0