• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Investments and services

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 15 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Account benefits

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading representatives

Over 150 Investor Centers

Fees and pricing

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 602 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and repponsive Great product and pleased with accounts.............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................. March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Umbrella Account New personal rep very helpful. Multiple funds under one account very convenient. Analysis tools very good. Retirement income planner excellent. March 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed Customer Service I was made promises by an account executive that were not kept. Very disappointing. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Job Every service from Fidelity has been handled with care, concern, and insight. I am very pleased. John B. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient I am a long time customer for a reason. I like to access my account often throughout the day. It is well laid out and I can do my business or check my stocks quickly. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Iam very please with the service and help of the agent,they try to educate me in my account.thak you March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by individual brokerage investment account Have recently closed a competitors investment account and opened one with Fidelity due to the detailed cost-basis records, and research features provided by Fidelity on all my investments. You find out the value of professional book-keeping and records provided by Fidelity come tax filing time. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by thorough and factual still learning to navigate the website. particularly like the graphs for all securities and ability to compare. am impressed with ease of speaking with any of the personnel and with their ability to follow through on requests. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent products and now services We like having a CFP nearby to help us with decisions and to review our portfolio. It's comforting to know my wife has met several times with our account manager and now feels secure, if I die, in handling the estate with the help of Fidelity. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable Always appreciate the time and assistance provided. Thank you again for your help March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retired One problem that likely could be easily fixed is the ability to review the performance of my account from year to year and over a period of several years. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid Like your on-line format very much, and even when you modify it, it's easy to pickup. Keep up the good work. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by trusted relationship foucused on our success My compliments to Chris and his team for guiding us toward a goal of a finacially secure retirement. The advice and selection of investment vehicles offered through the team has helped us understand risk, select investments and make adjustments to keep the plan on track. Many thanks! March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Encouraging, postive, and knowledgeable My CFP provided expert advice on how to reach my retirement goals. He took his time and cleary answered all my questions. The long-term scenerio was very helpful and left me feeling very confident that I would reach my retirement goals. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by review Every thing is okay. Every thing is okay. Every thing is okay. March 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fidelity Stock Accounts Very poor this AM - seem to go exceptional slow and never connected to main stock page multiple times. Finally gave up and came back in PM. March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use Reps always knowledgable and friendly if they do not know an answer they refer me to someone who does March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Watch list/Trading On the watch list, it would be nice if one could have a choice of listing the matual funds in alphabetical order, or by type of account. Also, when trading from a mutual fund to the core or money market, that it would be considere a trade, and not just a sell from the mutual fund. I like to see the account name (money account or core) mentioned in the transaction. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finnvest Fidelity offers timely help when I need it. And I can also get help at local Minneapollis office when I need it. March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by low cost trades discount trades and reputation make the account worthwhile March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by review service is outstanding. people are more than helpful. only too willing to offer their help March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by safe & secure Why would anyone even consider a company other than Fidelity? March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Accurate with good value Online support is good however office support sometimes leads to inefficient processing of requests. March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by All Around The Best I've been a Fidelity customer for a long time. I watch the magazine ratings and Fidelity is rated Top Discount Broker often! I have to agree with that rating in general, and here are my suggestions to make Fidelity even better: 1. For mutual fund buyers, consider lowering the Transaction Fee (TF) for mutual fund purchases from $75 to $50 per TF purchase. $75 is one of the more expensive commissions. 2. Consider developing and providing a mutual fund portfolio Xray feature for brokerage accounts in order to show bond mutual fund buyers what's in their bond funds--percent in various regions of the world, percent in various bond categories (i.e. high yield, gov't, etc), percent in various credit levels, etc. This is readily available for stock mutual funds, but not for bonds. Even morningstar doesn't offer it! 3. Finally, I would wish for more thorough and consistent advice on investing that comes with a $500K account. Perhaps from more seasoned people. My advisor is very nice, but young, not very detail-oriented, and doesn't call quarterly as he said he would. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great secure value Very happy with the information and tools available through Fidelity. There is much I've not had time to access, but it's nice to know it's there. March 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by I was your biggest fan... emphasis on 'was' Great customer service, regarding account transfers, etc... Very disappointed that I feel trading/margin desk speaks down to me - seemingly reads from a script, does not address my questions succinctly. March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room for Improvement Fund and stock Research should be able to help better search for and analyze. This could be done by improving Research tab of the 401k accounts by multiple and step wise filters to create lists and narrow selections etc. Fund or stock performance is another area that needs improvement.. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Improve options research While your research on option trades is good, it could be improved. Allow for your customers to design their own strategy and give us evaluation tools to gauge the profitability, probability, etc. March 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by ACCOUNT REVIEW My interest is in learning how to trade stocks and optoins on my own. So far, FIDELITY dosn't have any on line training programs or seminars to aid me. March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good offering and products For the do it yourself investor; Fidelity is the right place to conduct your business. Timely and easy trading with excellent access to research information. March 18, 2013
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 21 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.7.0