The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 21 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 1067 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Starter Account As a relatively new investor, I can say with confidence that Fidelity offers the full range of amenities that I need to feel comfortable in beginning to trade. Intuitive web portal layout and ease of linking bank accounts, as well as conveniently located spec information on stocks, bonds, etc. definitely have allowed me to smoothly transition into the market. July 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Use I appreciate the display of positions daily and within two hours of the closing bell. It seems easy for me to collect prices of my holdings and use this info in other software that helps me integrate these holdings with other investments that are of a very different nature than mutual funds or securities. July 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall I am pleased with my account I have not been a customer for very long so hard to know how dealings will be over time. It is convenient and customer service very good. Did not think much of the lessons on margin buying. July 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hopefully secure, convenient and helpful The account affords many features and tools that help me manage my money. The site is easy to navigate and provides plenty of helpful information July 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by It used to be superb. Now it is poor The fidelity brokerage account management used to be superb. Someone at Fidelity probably had a problem with that, so they had to change it without allowing customers to select which version they prefer. As a consequence, the new site is confusing, has a lot of unnecessary clutter, and no longer includes needed features. The customer service response to complains and suggestions, as simple as "please let me keep the older interface" is a normal big-business-we-do-not-care-about-the-customer kind of response, intertwined with a polite, generic language about how the customer is important. While I will likely stay with Fidelity, I can no longer recommend it to my children and students. July 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Investment Site Its very good for the novice. Summary and other visual displays are easy to read. July 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by HATE,HATE,HATE NEW PERSONAL ACCOUNT WEBSITE Title says it all. Previous website was compact & easy to use. Could easily find things on it. Not so with the new website. Its significantly slower & there's too much unneeded 'junk' cluttering up the screen. According to customer service, the prev website version is no longer available as an option . Its amazing to me that customers have no choice here. Been a 30+ year customer but maybe its time to vote with my feet & go elsewhere. Bottom line is I have no problem with change when there's a benefit to be had. But the benefit with the new website simply eludes me. Dissatisfied customers need to vent their displeasure with Fidelity & let them know they want the old website back. July 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by You Get What You Pay For! You get what you pay for. Words could never be truer when describing Financial Investment Companies. Fidelity may not be the cheapest, but the fee structure is straightforward as well as transparent. And while they are not the cheapest they are far from the most expensive. And how does Fidelity make up for not being the low cost provider? By providing industry leading research and ratings, cutting edge analytic tools, expert commentary and analysis, full online and mobile investing platforms, real-time quotes/trading, and intuitive learning tools just to name a few as well as certified financial advisors only a phone call away. I know you scenic's out there are saying every company offers these benefits. I have personally had a full service account with 6 other Financial Investment Companies. And I can honestly say, you get what you pay for. Personally Fidelity's research alone is worth every penny. And no not all research is the same. Not even close. For me and my family Fidelity is the clear choice. This is the 2nd time in my life I have had an account with Fidelity. I will not be leaving. Fidelity not only meets my needs but they exceed them. If you are considering a new account or switching accounts I would highly recommend researching Fidelity to see if they can meet your needs. That includes calling and speaking with one of their Financial Advisors. I think you will be pleasantly surprised. July 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Accounts setup 3 months ago Accounts work. However Fidelity has not come through with the commitments that lead me to move my funds over. To date, there is still one external account yet to be transferred over, and trade commission reduction to $5.95 per trade has not come true. I am disappointed at Fidelity's efficiency. I makes me hesitate to trade more often. July 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by unhappy w/website changes Website used to be user friendly & easy to use. Changes made during 2015 have not been an improvement in my opinion for whatever it's worth. July 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cash management, just not for businesses I love everything about Fidelity - the mobile deposit limits, the interface, the priority support and website. Unfortunately, I had to close a number of business accounts because the same retail services (mobile check deposit and online bill pay) were not available for business accounts, and that wasn't clearly disclosed. July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional and Comprehensive Very professional staff. Very impressed with the organization which has various experts to utilize. July 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Trading between accounts Fidelity has so complicated its website that I now cannot easily [or even any other way] move money from my money market account to either of my stock or bond accounts. You are so caught up in your own complexity you believe everyone else can't wait to figure it all out. July 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure Low price options should be able to be put in pennies. Not five cents(.19not.15or.20)..04cents is a large per cent difference. July 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by usage Difficult to navigate through mounds of information which I have No use for. Looks like Fidelity tried to jam 5 pounds of garbage (ay least for my needs) into a one (1) pound bag. I found no way to customize pages. Creating printable reports I use to do, is horrible. Calling Fidelity did no good, all I got was apologizes. That does no solve problems. Sorry, but looking towards other financial institutions. July 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A long-lived customer. Not previously aware, I stumbled on this review. I've had Fidelity account since 1985 and been authorized trader on a number of interested party accounts since 1990's. Obviously, as long as you keep pushing envelope on improving platform and services, I'll remain a loyal customer. Hope you appreciate my decades long business of bringing additional clients on board, including heavy use of margin for win-win for you and me. July 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by WT Very pleased with all interactions I've had. Easy to work with June 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by CDL No problems - Helpful - Provides assistance when requested June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Security Suggestion Could Security Sign-In to the account be enhanced by having client sign-in be a "two stage process"?, The client would review a previously agreed upon security screen provided by Fidelity that pops up and displays client selected information between the username and the password to ensure security information on file has not been revised without client authorization before entering password. June 22, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by could be better love the customer service. wish it was more user friendly June 22, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need breakdown on trades Need record of past trades in reference to % gains..for each trade then an ongoing rate of return to date...similar to 401K. June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Satisfied Intuitive UI and quick to access information such as performance and positions June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No sweat with Fidelity! Excellent services from well qualified, organized and resourceful people. Have been with Fidelity for twelve years and have no regrets. Not having to hassle with buy/sell Brokers and Stock Market gyrations leave me with peace of mind and restful nights of sleep. June 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Makes it easy Everything about my Fidelity account is easy to use. The amount of analytics available is immense and provides enough information to make educated investing decisions for every level of investor. June 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Safe & secure Love the mobile app. Big fan of fidelity. Setting up auto investment can be a little tricky. June 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Feedback Enjoying my investment with Fidelity in customer service and the way my portfolio established. Stephanie has been a good communicator on various issues and when I have questions she is prompt in responding. June 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retirement account Excellent flexibility. Easy RMD execution. Invest in stocks, funds, CDs, Preferred stock, ect. Have made QCDs easily. Your offer to automate the RMD is not attractive to me. I prefer to handle it myself for timing flexibility. I have other IRAs and have to manage them as one. June 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by well done Review and advice is done well. recent visit was handled well. June 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by new account This is a new a/c for me (so I couldn't provide highest rating) but I can say so far customer service has been superb. I'm fussy about personal set up options and found all I wanted to be available. June 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable The communications are frequent, clear and concise. The platform is organized well, and the information regarding account values, transactions, etc. is accurate, and up to date. The support is excellent. June 8, 2015
  • 2016-10-20 T07:51:11.631-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-13, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1067, tr_1067
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 36 next>>