The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 21 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 1079 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost everything you could ask for in a brokerage account I have been a Fidelity customer since before the internet, and intend to remain so. I am especially happy with the Private Client Group, and the service they provide. The only minor inconvenience is that I cannot fully manage my wife's IRA from my main/grouped logon. To make a MRD from her account, I must log out of my main/grouped logon, and log on with her ID (a minor inconvenience). August 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product - Well designed The product offers many useful features to review and analyze complete portfolio. I can see history, rate of returns in a single click. Other options such as cash management, credit cards are very useful. What I miss is check deposit and locker facility. Once that is available, I will most likely be closing my bank account and moving to Fidelity for all my needs. I would also like fidelity to further reduce commissions from $7.95 to say $4.95. This is will be a great intensive for me. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Novice is excited! I am a novice placing two trades in the last year. Although it is important to read and review each webpage, Fidlity really makes it easy for the novice trader. I am pleased to have found such a consumer friendly tool to utilize for my trades. I am taking little baby steps but feel confident in time, I will be placing more orders. Thanks for all the readily available customer service. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding responsiveness The Fidelity representatives have been knowledgeable, responsive, and helpful. August 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by The new brokerage web site is TERRIBLE! Fidelity has taken a BIG step backwards with the roll-out of their new brokerage website. The old website was very compact and easy to use. Every screen on the new website is too busy. Quotes could be obtained via pop-up windows in the old website which made it easy to compare various trade options. Quotes are now imbedded into the account page. I found a work-around by going to the options research page; which still provides the pop-up quote window. I'm wondering when Fidelity will "improve" that page and take away that feature. Specific trade data on the History page is buried as web links and needs to be called up one at a time rather than appearing chronologically on screen. How is clicking through to one more level for each individual trade an improvement? It is obvious based on reading the other recent web site reviews that Fidelity considers the negative feedback to be based on lack of training/understanding rather than the fact that they made a mistake. That will only hurt them in the long run. August 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stability Why do new customers sometimes get some free trades, while I, being a customer for more than 30 years have never gotten any? A little consideration would be appreciated. I know I am small potatoes in the investment world, but other companies are offering hundreds of free trades for new customers. July 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Suggestion Suggestion - Please consider providing a "total" for the cost basis column on the Positions screen under Accounts: It would be good to see the total account value against the total cost basis. Can't now! July 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reservations Though the Fidelity site has tons of information both about my account and the market in general, as a non-professional investor, the information could definitely be more clear and complete. The way financial statements are worded is downright enigmatic sometimes. Also, I've applied four times for level 3 options trading ability, and have been turned down three times (so far) without any explanation. This is extremely frustrating. Although I appreciate your caution, it is, after all, my money. July 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fast and responsive Everything here is fast and responsive. With a Mobil device I can make trades quickly and on the go,at work or out with friends. The web platform is faster yet and has yielded enormous searchable data and histories as well as keeping me apprized of my situation. My only real con(2 full stars) is when I update my balance for a new trade(today) the system uses the "from the open" data instead of "from my purchase" to tabulate my current daily gain/loss on that position. July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great job Fidelity easy to use easy to read easy to get research all my accounts in one place July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best broker I've ever used Great service, great products. Great website. Anytime I had a problem, a representative answered and addressed them promptly and to my satisfaction. July 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by EXPLORE FIRST While we have said Fidelity is the best in the past, they have changed their format to make trading and viewing your portfolio and its holdings more difficult and time consuming. Give it a test run first before you decide. Customer service is great, the best, but their format is no longer user friendly. Try it first! July 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Starter Account As a relatively new investor, I can say with confidence that Fidelity offers the full range of amenities that I need to feel comfortable in beginning to trade. Intuitive web portal layout and ease of linking bank accounts, as well as conveniently located spec information on stocks, bonds, etc. definitely have allowed me to smoothly transition into the market. July 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Use I appreciate the display of positions daily and within two hours of the closing bell. It seems easy for me to collect prices of my holdings and use this info in other software that helps me integrate these holdings with other investments that are of a very different nature than mutual funds or securities. July 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall I am pleased with my account I have not been a customer for very long so hard to know how dealings will be over time. It is convenient and customer service very good. Did not think much of the lessons on margin buying. July 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hopefully secure, convenient and helpful The account affords many features and tools that help me manage my money. The site is easy to navigate and provides plenty of helpful information July 20, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by It used to be superb. Now it is poor The fidelity brokerage account management used to be superb. Someone at Fidelity probably had a problem with that, so they had to change it without allowing customers to select which version they prefer. As a consequence, the new site is confusing, has a lot of unnecessary clutter, and no longer includes needed features. The customer service response to complains and suggestions, as simple as "please let me keep the older interface" is a normal big-business-we-do-not-care-about-the-customer kind of response, intertwined with a polite, generic language about how the customer is important. While I will likely stay with Fidelity, I can no longer recommend it to my children and students. July 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Investment Site Its very good for the novice. Summary and other visual displays are easy to read. July 16, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by HATE,HATE,HATE NEW PERSONAL ACCOUNT WEBSITE Title says it all. Previous website was compact & easy to use. Could easily find things on it. Not so with the new website. Its significantly slower & there's too much unneeded 'junk' cluttering up the screen. According to customer service, the prev website version is no longer available as an option . Its amazing to me that customers have no choice here. Been a 30+ year customer but maybe its time to vote with my feet & go elsewhere. Bottom line is I have no problem with change when there's a benefit to be had. But the benefit with the new website simply eludes me. Dissatisfied customers need to vent their displeasure with Fidelity & let them know they want the old website back. July 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by You Get What You Pay For! You get what you pay for. Words could never be truer when describing Financial Investment Companies. Fidelity may not be the cheapest, but the fee structure is straightforward as well as transparent. And while they are not the cheapest they are far from the most expensive. And how does Fidelity make up for not being the low cost provider? By providing industry leading research and ratings, cutting edge analytic tools, expert commentary and analysis, full online and mobile investing platforms, real-time quotes/trading, and intuitive learning tools just to name a few as well as certified financial advisors only a phone call away. I know you scenic's out there are saying every company offers these benefits. I have personally had a full service account with 6 other Financial Investment Companies. And I can honestly say, you get what you pay for. Personally Fidelity's research alone is worth every penny. And no not all research is the same. Not even close. For me and my family Fidelity is the clear choice. This is the 2nd time in my life I have had an account with Fidelity. I will not be leaving. Fidelity not only meets my needs but they exceed them. If you are considering a new account or switching accounts I would highly recommend researching Fidelity to see if they can meet your needs. That includes calling and speaking with one of their Financial Advisors. I think you will be pleasantly surprised. July 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Accounts setup 3 months ago Accounts work. However Fidelity has not come through with the commitments that lead me to move my funds over. To date, there is still one external account yet to be transferred over, and trade commission reduction to $5.95 per trade has not come true. I am disappointed at Fidelity's efficiency. I makes me hesitate to trade more often. July 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by unhappy w/website changes Website used to be user friendly & easy to use. Changes made during 2015 have not been an improvement in my opinion for whatever it's worth. July 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cash management, just not for businesses I love everything about Fidelity - the mobile deposit limits, the interface, the priority support and website. Unfortunately, I had to close a number of business accounts because the same retail services (mobile check deposit and online bill pay) were not available for business accounts, and that wasn't clearly disclosed. July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional and Comprehensive Very professional staff. Very impressed with the organization which has various experts to utilize. July 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Trading between accounts Fidelity has so complicated its website that I now cannot easily [or even any other way] move money from my money market account to either of my stock or bond accounts. You are so caught up in your own complexity you believe everyone else can't wait to figure it all out. July 7, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure Low price options should be able to be put in pennies. Not five cents(.19not.15or.20)..04cents is a large per cent difference. July 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by usage Difficult to navigate through mounds of information which I have No use for. Looks like Fidelity tried to jam 5 pounds of garbage (ay least for my needs) into a one (1) pound bag. I found no way to customize pages. Creating printable reports I use to do, is horrible. Calling Fidelity did no good, all I got was apologizes. That does no solve problems. Sorry, but looking towards other financial institutions. July 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A long-lived customer. Not previously aware, I stumbled on this review. I've had Fidelity account since 1985 and been authorized trader on a number of interested party accounts since 1990's. Obviously, as long as you keep pushing envelope on improving platform and services, I'll remain a loyal customer. Hope you appreciate my decades long business of bringing additional clients on board, including heavy use of margin for win-win for you and me. July 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by WT Very pleased with all interactions I've had. Easy to work with June 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by CDL No problems - Helpful - Provides assistance when requested June 22, 2015
  • 2016-10-30 T07:45:58.444-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-13, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1079, tr_1079
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 36 next>>