• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Investments and services

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 15 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Account benefits

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading representatives

Over 150 Investor Centers

Fees and pricing

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 594 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Under One Umbrella Having all your financial information accessable and under one umbrella is the way to go! March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Informative records Records are up to date and prompt in response to requested action. The account executive is helpful and responsive. March 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good tools - no useful advice While I love the tools available on the web and love the iPad app... I have never received useful advice on investment strategy or retirement planning and need some! March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and good service Fidelity provides excellent customer service both on the web and via phone. I am very happy with my brokerage account March 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure and reliable Matt was really great getting my account transferred and calulating basis for us. I look forward to working with Fidelity March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trading fees If I had more free trades I would move more funds to Fidelity. Rather than shop around for other brokers. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by the professionals I don't invest in many individual stocks and definitely don't trade frequently, so I'm not the best customer to ask for an opinion. However, I've maintained accounts with Fidelity for about 30 years. I have never found any fault with Fidelity Investments and have always considered it the best financial services company, and one of the best companies in any industry, that I've ever dealt with. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Information & Easy to Use Contains a wealth of information and it is very easy to perform transactions. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable It does what is advertised and the service is good. Would like to see more info on building an income portfolio. March 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Additional market indicators I need to use another well known trading platform, because you do not offer these indicators: $TICK, AUDJPY, $ADD and $VOLSPD. Start offering these and I can eliminate a competitive platform. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great method to "keep track" I really like the layout of the account tools and the availability of advisors who understand it all very well. The only thing I would ask is a "nit"...I would like a total at the bottom of the "cost basis column" like most of the other pertenant columns. We are moving my wifes IRA roll over to Fidelity this year. March 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Informative & Secure My account is comprehensive and can be easily manipulated to see details that I choose, at various levels. It can be viewed from different aspects; e.g., gain/loss, activity, holdings, new research, etc. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful Excellent Representative, very helpful can always contact on him for his input. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accurate & Secure I trust Fidelity. I moved my company's 403b plan to Fidelity. My four children all have Fidelity Accounts. My wife and I have all of our accounts with Fidelity and we like the lack of fees for many situations and the low fees where they exist. Excellent staff and account executive. Great followup and call back when needed. Easy to use website with all the information you will ever want. Great IPhone app. Great security, yet not too cumbersome. Only one suggestion...put the dividend rate on the stock quote page. I do most of my investing with the dividend in mind and I have to go several pages to get the information. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good stuff Fidelity offers a lot of service to its clients. These services include but are not limited to no load funds, free ETFs, low fees for stock transactions, investment opinions, tax impacts, estate planning, in house courses on investing, seminars on investing, an assigned advisor, etc. The fact that an advisor is not working for a commission based on a sale makes the advisor more trustworthy. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by QUICK 7 EASY kEEP UP THE GREAT WORK! EVERYTHING IS WORKING GREAT AND AS I WAS TOLD. March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best Online Portfolio System It is a great online system. When you need help all you have to do is call. They will give you great service. The investment selection is also very good. March 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Municipal Bonds Currently I am unable to access current Municipal Bond offerings utilizing the internet through Fidelity. March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service My Account Executive is friendly, knowledgable, and conveniently available at all times. Because of him, I keep my investments with Fidelity. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great investment service vast selection of offerings and I really like the research information. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retired Excellent service, convenient location, Knowledgeable representatives. People answer the phone most of the time. Important to me. Excellent reports. Do not trade so investment guidance most important. March 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by short term fees I don't like that you have a short term fee on so many of your funds. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and repponsive Great product and pleased with accounts.............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................. March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Umbrella Account New personal rep very helpful. Multiple funds under one account very convenient. Analysis tools very good. Retirement income planner excellent. March 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed Customer Service I was made promises by an account executive that were not kept. Very disappointing. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Job Every service from Fidelity has been handled with care, concern, and insight. I am very pleased. John B. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient I am a long time customer for a reason. I like to access my account often throughout the day. It is well laid out and I can do my business or check my stocks quickly. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Iam very please with the service and help of the agent,they try to educate me in my account.thak you March 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by individual brokerage investment account Have recently closed a competitors investment account and opened one with Fidelity due to the detailed cost-basis records, and research features provided by Fidelity on all my investments. You find out the value of professional book-keeping and records provided by Fidelity come tax filing time. March 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by thorough and factual still learning to navigate the website. particularly like the graphs for all securities and ability to compare. am impressed with ease of speaking with any of the personnel and with their ability to follow through on requests. March 18, 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 20 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.7.0