• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 753 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by STAYING UP TO DATE The web site and account detail helps me stay currant with the market. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First timer This has been my first experience with Fidelity only because I inherited my account from my Dad. Fidelity has made it so easy for me to understand my account and have great personnel when I have questions June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by low cost With Fidelity you have a wide range of investments.Plus there is helpful customer service for those who need it. June 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ok website is difficult to maneuver and manage; often need to call to find anything. The older versions were easier to manage. The Advisors are very good. June 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by It's Okay. Average service. No meaningful advice. Account information does not contain all of the information I would like to see regarding dividends June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for me The only change I would make it to allow a comment or directions on the online Wire Transfer request. It's available on the hardcopy, but not online and it's needed. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and informative I am delighted to receive the daily email telling me exactly where I stand June 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by nobody home3 i am infuriated today. i went the fidelity office in portland,me. to move an account to a new one to gain a little more intrest. no personel were available to help me .i`d have to make an appointment. i have arthritis and it`s hard for me to get around. when i opened my account there were plenty of people to help me. i came home and transferred my money back to the bank! June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it Fidelity has everything I ever needed when reviewing my holdings! June 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ??????? I just discovered the Cash Management function and found it to be comprehensive, user friendly, excellent layout and I believe is going to be extremely useful in my situation. I have been a Fidelity client for many years and in that time Fidelity has kept technologically sharp, expanded its' activities and options and has been trusted and honest in its' operations. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than I expected I didn't want to close one of my accounts, but I needed money fast. However, I will ,open it again in a short time. June 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unreliable and unpredictable Settlement took a week - generally should take 3 days. Online order to withdraw funds nysteriously disappeared - not once but twice. The status on one day stated "cancelled by Frdelity". There was no communication from fidelity. Currently there exists not trace of the request to transfer having ever been made/processed. Understand Fidelity has moved to a low service model. However, one would expect that a simple transfer of funds to work from an automated system rather than having to call in. May 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always available I have been able to access accounts through my phone, my computer, and even talk with a representative. I have found that the people with whom I have spoken have been helpful and encouraging. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Very happy with this account, and moved all of my accounts with other companies over to Fidelity. Very simple and reliable. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retirement Account Excellent web site, very user friendly, and the mobile version is equally good...no problems at all. May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity customer service the best My business interaction with Fidelity started several years ago with an IRA investment and I could not be happier with that and the present association with a brokerage firm that year in and year out offers top of the line financial services. May 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by CONFUESING THE NEW SITE IS NOT VERY USER FRIENDLY NOT READY FOR COMPLETE USE May 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cash Management improvement Most brokerage accounts allow for more flexible and cash management options, such as setting up weekly or bi-weekly deposits. The most frequent transfer option on this site is monthly. People tend to save more when they can put aside smaller amounts, more frequently. April 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Trading functions are very poor This site is not easy to use for buying and selling. For example, I go into a site which has cash and I want to purchase a fund. There are no easy options in which to do this. I have to figure it out, instead of having very clear options as it should be. February 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Really bad service End up going in circles and waste my time. One department points to other department, other department says go to the first department. February 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awkward Website Interface I am very happy with Fidelity overall, but the website needs some improvements. When performing a screen, it would be great to select one of the results and open it in a new tab to be reviewed later. The way the FIdelity site is set up, you must click on a link to security to review it, and if you want to return to the screen, if you hit the back button on your browser, the screen criteria are erased and you have to start over again. I think Fidelity needs to modernize their web site. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by JOINT APPRECIATE THE CASH MANAGEMENT FEATURE TO ASSIST WITH CHECKBOOK MANAGEMENT January 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by owner Fidelity once was a great investment house, however your service is now very knowledgeable and very poorly serviceable do to the corporate structure. appears as the company is now run by attorneys and not by business orientated people.... January 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by improved, convenient, helpful I like what you have done now; was a bit of a problem prior to this latest revision. Good job! Commendable! Worthy of my taking my time to make this review! See you listen to your customers as I have made a number of suggestions through the years. Thank you! December 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by feel good I will be very brief: Fidelity has been my best friend in investing for me and my family for over 40 years. We have weathered good times and bad,but like a very good friend,it's always there with a helping hand. Thanks Fidelity!!!!! December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Account Easy to use and handles all daily needed transactions from bill pay to account transfers and cash. Customer Service is good but needs to address your concerns with more detail and retain responsibility for the issue. December 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Costomer Set page defaults Manage Money & Payments Page should allow the customer to set default page features that suit their needs. Please note my comments above and below are in reference to the Manage Money & Payments page ONLY. December 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient Nicely organized and easy to use. My only complaint is that Bill Pay does not work with the Google browser Chrome November 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Old page was better the new page is good except it does not show the total amount bills that are pending payment. The total is very helpful so that I know if I have enough cash in the account. Please add this info; it was on the old page. November 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome This account has everything I need to make smart trades. I am new to stock trading and I'm glad I chose fidelity. Fidelity will be my go to well into my future. October 6, 2013
  • 2015-09-02T11:21:40.043-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-12, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_753, tr_753
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 26 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (from $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time, and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.10.0