• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 14 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices.

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

Fidelity's commitment to execution quality, including our 1-Second Execution Guarantee2

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade3

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 644 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A keeper I do everything online. The Web site works very well, it provides useful research tools, and the instructions are clear. Discussions of tax consequences are especially complete, compared to some competitors' sites. Updates accurately into Quicken almost without hitch--unlike some competitors. I have used three competitors' sites, and much prefer Fidelity's for trading, account management, and research. When I do have an occasional question, it is easy to talk to a Fidelity rep, and I have always gotten quick and accurate answers. One weakness that Fidelity shares with other firms: research support for foreign stocks is very spotty--even for companies in the NAFTA zone that have US tracking stocks trading in the US. There are presumably legal and technical problems that help to create this situation, but at least Fidelity might provide links to where investor information might be found for such companies. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Longterm view Keep the good service and try to lower the on-line commissions to stay competitive. March 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Online good no personal contact Since a local office was opened I switched my acct mgr to the local guy. Never once heard from him, then was notified he left. Haven't had any verbal contact since then. March 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good at execution Not so good at technical help. Tax issues (not advice) transfers between accounts, inheritance issues that I feel you should have been able to answer were not handled to my satisfaction. March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity account review Customer service is excellent and local Fidelity offices are helpful and has seminars. Sometimes the web site can be confusing and it seems like Fidelity is trying to improve it -- hopefully they do and do not make it more difficult. March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best in class but improvements needed By far the most no-hassle trading platform short of paying an exorbitant fee for a Bloomberg terminal. Love the conditional trade function, analyst ratings (though a bit outdated at times) and especially the stock screener. Problems I've had: 1. The technical analysis section doesn't always save my view settings. I want to save a "template" of desired indicators and apply them to a particular security. 2. The news section is lacking. There should be a section for the trusted wires and a section for other business news sources. I wouldn't mind paying extra if fidelity aggregated WSJ, Bloomberg, etc. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Account holder Fast,reliable,good value for your stock transitions and mutual funds. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable and educational HAPPY WITH THE RESULTS I GET FROM FIDELITY WHEN I CONTACT PREMIUM SERVICES WITH A QUESTION. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity meeting investment challenges Opinions and choices are developed by many factors,this account engages my thoughts and ideas to help meet my goals.Investing is a choice we all HAVE to make. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prompt and helpful Have found for more than 20 years Fidelity Investments to be very well organized, informative and helpful. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comprehensive and easy to use Commissions for individual stocks are among the best rates. Web site is easy to navigate. I like that it is easy to determine the total return of an IRA. A wide range of mutual funds not from Fidelity is available commission free, this is a plus. March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Research Funds I find it tough to navigate through the Fund Research page. It always reverts back to the default setting if you dive into a Fund and come back to the list page. On that Fund research List page it would be nice if it indicated the funds in my portfolio in a different color Also A nice feature that would help me is to compare my existing funds against other funds in the same "Category" . March 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Thinking of Chaanging I am seriously thinking of moving my account to another firm. The customer service regarding Fidelity Active Trader has been poor and I find the Fidelity web site a little confusing. All in all, I have been disappointed in the program. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by none Happy, no suggestions. Never had a problem getting the answers to my quetions. Like the fact you work with AT&T March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Getting older Your funds and services are excellent. I use Fidelity Active Trader and would like to see additional charting capability, such as: divide one seurity price by another and chart the result over time. March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bond platform suggestions A bond trade ticker would be an excellent addition to your platform--similar to that which SIFMA discontinued. I would welcome a bond search platform that was streamlined just to price and yield. Your platform has far too many variables for one who simply desires to get an idea of bonds available at a certain price or a certain yield, All those other fields are extraneous to a day trader and/or bond trader. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hi After having tried other investment banks, Fidelity is the best. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Brokerage account Great job. Fidelity's on-line experience is top notch! March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure, Reliable & Comfortable for Seniors & Others I like the monthly reports, the ease in reviewing our accounts on-line, etc The end of the year accurate reports that make tax returns easy for investers. These along with on line review of daily stock activities, opinions, other financial information make investing rewarding to those taking advantage of this knowledge. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable You are loosing my business to one of your competitors bacause I get 25 free trades per year and there is no comission for associate assisted trades. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Close to Perfect The service is reliable, accurate, timely and easy to use. My only suggestion is that it takes several weeks to update the performance part of my portfolio analysis. I don't understand why this isn't completed sooner. I especially like the research feature. It provides great information quickly. The stock screener is also excellent. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by transfers and trades Both transfers and trades are easily performed on the web site, and at a reasonable cost. The site makes facts on the investments to be purchased easily attainable providing helpful information. March 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by ETFs I had a very positive opinion of Fidelity, which turned into negative when I realized that Fidelity will be implementing transaction-fees for the so called "Commission-Free" ETFs that are traded within 30 days! In my opinion continued usage of words "Commission-Free" beyond July 31, 2013 is akin to false-advertizing by Fidelity. Thanks. - Salil March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Account services have gotten better and better Easy to use, many research options. Reasonable fees. March 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by VERY VERY VERY POOL !!!!!!!!!!! AFTER SPENDING OVER AN HOUR WITH YOUR REP. OVER 3 YEARS AGO WE STILL HAVE NOT YES NOT RECEIVED A CALL BACK !!!! IS THAT SERVICE !!!!! N March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenient and easy to use I use the Fideity account website almost daily. I find the info very useful and easy to access. March 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by security Hi I would like to see provision for a longer password. Also any other security measures such as double check sign-in. March 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have been well pleased for over 10 years I have found the web access of my account and its administration excellent. March 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service I really like the charting (even though I'm not really a trader) and the reasonably priced options. I suppose trading commissions could always be lower, but otherwise I can't think of too many things I would like to see improved. Also, when I call customer service has always been very helpful. March 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always There I do all our own research and investment work primarily on line. Tools available through Fidelity are complete and easy to use. Whenever there is a problem that can not be easily solved on line, you can always talk to a live english speaking person 24/7 and if they are unable to answer your question, they will find someone who can. No annoying sales calls from them either. March 21, 2013
  • 2015-04-18T10:48:32.490-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_644, tr_644
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 22 next>>

Questions?

More information

Free commission offer applies to online purchases of Fidelity ETFs and select iShares ETFs in a Fidelity brokerage account. Fidelity accounts may require minimum balances. The sale of ETFs is subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1,000 of principal). iShares ETFs and Fidelity ETFs are subject to a short-term trading fee by Fidelity if held less than 30 days.

$7.95 trading commission applies to online purchases of U.S. equities in a Fidelity brokerage account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal) by Fidelity. Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.

1. A brokerage account is required to access free research. $2500 minimum applies.
2. Fidelity will waive the commission charge on eligible stock trades not executed within one second. Offer limited to market orders between 1 and 1000 shares to buy, sell, or buy to cover stocks listed in the S&P 500® Index. Orders must be entered between 9:45 a.m. and 3:59 p.m. ET on a day when the equity markets are open and times will be adjusted when the markets open late/close early. Execution speed is calculated from the time Fidelity accepts the order to the time of execution reported to Fidelity by the executing market center. Eligible orders can be entered on Fidelity.com, Fidelity Active Trader Pro®, FAST®, wireless devices, or through a Fidelity representative. Short sales, extended hours orders, directed trade orders, and certain other orders excluded. Certain market and systems conditions may impact qualification for this guarantee. Fidelity reserves the right to restrict or revoke this offer at any time.
3. Commission comparison based upon published website commission schedules, as of 2/1/2013, for E*Trade, Schwab, and TD Ameritrade for online U.S. equity trades and for less than 1500 trades per quarter. For E*Trade: $9.99 per trade for 0-149, $7.99 per trade for 150 to 1,499 and $6.99 per trade for 1,500 or more trades per quarter. For Schwab: $8.95 for up to 999,999 shares per trade, though orders of 10,000 or more shares or greater than $500,000 may be eligible for special pricing. For TD Ameritrade: $9.99 per market or limit order trade for an unlimited amount of shares.

System availability and response times may be subject to market conditions.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

In order to short sell at Fidelity, you must have a margin account. Short selling and margin trading entail greater risk, including but not limited to risk of unlimited losses and incurrence of margin interest debt, and are not suitable for all investors. Please assess your financial circumstances and risk tolerance prior to short selling or trading on margin. Margin trading is extended by National Financial Services, Member NYSE/SIPC, a Fidelity Investments company.

For iShares ETFs, Fidelity receives compensation from the ETF sponsor and/or its affiliates in connection with an exclusive, long-term marketing program that includes promotion of iShares ETFs and inclusion of iShares funds in certain FBS platforms and investment programs. Additional information about the sources, amounts, and terms of compensation is described in the ETF’s prospectus and related documents. Fidelity may add or waive commissions on ETFs without prior notice. BlackRock and iShares are registered trademarks of BlackRock, Inc. and its affiliates.

Options trading entails significant risk and is not appropriate for all investors. Certain complex options strategies carry additional risk. Prior to trading options, please read Characteristics and Risks of Standardized Options, and call 800-343-3548 to be approved for options trading.  Supporting documentation for any claims, if applicable, will be furnished upon request.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information.  Read it carefully.
609495.10.0