The Fidelity Account®

This full-featured, low-cost brokerage account can meet your needs as you grow as an investor.

Reasons to consider The Fidelity Account

  • Wide range of investment choices
  • $7.95 per online U.S. equity trade—unlimited shares, unlimited trades
  • Free, independent research from 20+ providers

Get started now

Investment choices

Stocks: domestic and international

ETFs, including 70 from iShares® and 21 from Fidelity, available to buy commission-free online

Options: equity, ETF, and index; includes weekly expirations

Mutual funds: 1,400+ no-load funds from Fidelity and other fund companies

Bonds and CDs: 30,000+ investment-grade bonds and other fixed income securities

Precious metals: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium

View details on investment choices

Account features

Margin borrowing for leverage and short-selling strategies

International investing in 25 markets and 16 currencies

Extended-hours trading, before and after market hours

Cash management tools and services for quicker access to your money

Comprehensive tools

Powerful trading website puts you in control.

Mobile trading applications help you keep up with the market and your portfolio.

Advanced tools for Active Traders provide streaming market data and enhanced trading capability.

Research and monitoring

Free, independent research 1 from 20+ providers helps you uncover opportunities, generate ideas, and analyze trends.

A single, accuracy-weighted score helps evaluate your stock picks.

Customized alerts and watch lists carry across platforms—online and mobile.

Fidelity service advantage

24/7 access to experienced investment/trading consultants

Over 150 Investor Centers

Annual account fee None
Commissions and fees

$7.95 commissions on all online U.S. equity and options trades, lower than Schwab, TD Ameritrade, and E*Trade2

View commission details.

Margin rates

Competitive rates as low as 3.75%

008
5508tridion
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 1033 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to do everything Love everything about it. Only complaint I have is that I have trouble syncing my portfolio with outside sources (i.e. Google Finance). I tried to do that automatically and it didn't work, and I tried to do it once manually and that didn't work either. August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glad to be with Fidelity Always good service both in person and on the website. August 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of use The Fidelity accounts are easy to use and the site is easy to navigate August 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by new website is unusable for trading the new website is slow and unusable for purposes of trading stocks. August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by safe and fruitful My personal Fidelity adviser was very helpful And when my Dad died, Schooled my family on the many directions our new found wealth could be invested. I rate it 5 star August 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by P & L I am disappointed that a firm as large as FIDO does not offer an account page that provides my realized gains and losses to date. August 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Great broker I'll first start out with the bad; The commissions are sizeable for people with smaller accounts/smaller trade positions. This is the only reason I've considered switching brokers. Everything else about them is great though. I've been helped multiple times using the online chat program and the fidelity staff is always very helpful and courteous. Their smartphone app makes viewing your account and performing tasks easy when you're unable to use a computer. August 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by meets my needs Offerings are good, tools are pretty good. Access to advice and research is excellent. Local staff are excellent. August 10, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by New "positions" interface is much worse. All in one, endless scrolling, all fonts are different. Endless info, I do not need. Smallest panel for the account info I do need. Considering moving mine and my husband's accounts to a different provider.I stayed with fidelity for many years only for the interface. August 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by terrible new site the new fidelity site is very awkward and difficult to use August 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by New website portfolio view The new website portfolio view is simply awful. Please bring back the classic view. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by General Review I use the website and mobile app. Both are easy to use and convenient. However, the one part that is challenging is that the iPhone app is different than the iPad app and it takes some getting used to. I was very unhappy with it in the beginning, but I am used to the screens now. Although I have had this account less than 1 year, my wife and I have multiple Fidelity accounts. August 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does everything it's supposed to do. So far, satisfied and content and does everything that I require done. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity is The Best! I transferred all of my financial assets from other brokers to Fidelity several years ago. I am so pleased with my Fidelity experience. Fidelity is a one-stop firm offering investing and banking services. I could not be happier. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Almost everything you could ask for in a brokerage account I have been a Fidelity customer since before the internet, and intend to remain so. I am especially happy with the Private Client Group, and the service they provide. The only minor inconvenience is that I cannot fully manage my wife's IRA from my main/grouped logon. To make a MRD from her account, I must log out of my main/grouped logon, and log on with her ID (a minor inconvenience). August 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product - Well designed The product offers many useful features to review and analyze complete portfolio. I can see history, rate of returns in a single click. Other options such as cash management, credit cards are very useful. What I miss is check deposit and locker facility. Once that is available, I will most likely be closing my bank account and moving to Fidelity for all my needs. I would also like fidelity to further reduce commissions from $7.95 to say $4.95. This is will be a great intensive for me. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Novice is excited! I am a novice placing two trades in the last year. Although it is important to read and review each webpage, Fidlity really makes it easy for the novice trader. I am pleased to have found such a consumer friendly tool to utilize for my trades. I am taking little baby steps but feel confident in time, I will be placing more orders. Thanks for all the readily available customer service. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding responsiveness The Fidelity representatives have been knowledgeable, responsive, and helpful. August 3, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by The new brokerage web site is TERRIBLE! Fidelity has taken a BIG step backwards with the roll-out of their new brokerage website. The old website was very compact and easy to use. Every screen on the new website is too busy. Quotes could be obtained via pop-up windows in the old website which made it easy to compare various trade options. Quotes are now imbedded into the account page. I found a work-around by going to the options research page; which still provides the pop-up quote window. I'm wondering when Fidelity will "improve" that page and take away that feature. Specific trade data on the History page is buried as web links and needs to be called up one at a time rather than appearing chronologically on screen. How is clicking through to one more level for each individual trade an improvement? It is obvious based on reading the other recent web site reviews that Fidelity considers the negative feedback to be based on lack of training/understanding rather than the fact that they made a mistake. That will only hurt them in the long run. August 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stability Why do new customers sometimes get some free trades, while I, being a customer for more than 30 years have never gotten any? A little consideration would be appreciated. I know I am small potatoes in the investment world, but other companies are offering hundreds of free trades for new customers. July 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Suggestion Suggestion - Please consider providing a "total" for the cost basis column on the Positions screen under Accounts: It would be good to see the total account value against the total cost basis. Can't now! July 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reservations Though the Fidelity site has tons of information both about my account and the market in general, as a non-professional investor, the information could definitely be more clear and complete. The way financial statements are worded is downright enigmatic sometimes. Also, I've applied four times for level 3 options trading ability, and have been turned down three times (so far) without any explanation. This is extremely frustrating. Although I appreciate your caution, it is, after all, my money. July 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fast and responsive Everything here is fast and responsive. With a Mobil device I can make trades quickly and on the go,at work or out with friends. The web platform is faster yet and has yielded enormous searchable data and histories as well as keeping me apprized of my situation. My only real con(2 full stars) is when I update my balance for a new trade(today) the system uses the "from the open" data instead of "from my purchase" to tabulate my current daily gain/loss on that position. July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great job Fidelity easy to use easy to read easy to get research all my accounts in one place July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best broker I've ever used Great service, great products. Great website. Anytime I had a problem, a representative answered and addressed them promptly and to my satisfaction. July 29, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by EXPLORE FIRST While we have said Fidelity is the best in the past, they have changed their format to make trading and viewing your portfolio and its holdings more difficult and time consuming. Give it a test run first before you decide. Customer service is great, the best, but their format is no longer user friendly. Try it first! July 24, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Starter Account As a relatively new investor, I can say with confidence that Fidelity offers the full range of amenities that I need to feel comfortable in beginning to trade. Intuitive web portal layout and ease of linking bank accounts, as well as conveniently located spec information on stocks, bonds, etc. definitely have allowed me to smoothly transition into the market. July 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Use I appreciate the display of positions daily and within two hours of the closing bell. It seems easy for me to collect prices of my holdings and use this info in other software that helps me integrate these holdings with other investments that are of a very different nature than mutual funds or securities. July 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall I am pleased with my account I have not been a customer for very long so hard to know how dealings will be over time. It is convenient and customer service very good. Did not think much of the lessons on margin buying. July 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hopefully secure, convenient and helpful The account affords many features and tools that help me manage my money. The site is easy to navigate and provides plenty of helpful information July 20, 2015
  • 2016-09-29 T09:44:03.914-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1033, tr_1033
  • loc_en_US, sid_008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 35 next>>