• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Tax advantages

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Account features

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 437 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easily accessible The Fidelity website and makes it easy for me to review my investments. March 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy online access. It is easy to research the various mutual funds before contributing to my IRA. The online site is easy and helpful. March 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Feeling Alone My only issue is that I feel somewhat in the dark. I have no idea if I'm in the right program or not. And because no one contacts me (which could be by e-mail) to let me know if there are other funds that I should be in I really feel like your system is set up for people to go it alone. Joel Burton March 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to access and secure Web access and ATP access are excellent. Research tools and news data are targeted and timely. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Fidelity is a great company with plenty of choices and services. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Fast Very easy to set up and execute. Good helps online. Lots of help for researching and choosing investment options as well. March 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by No proactive Comunications from Fidelity After transfering a very sizable 401k to Fidelity I was promised that a premium accout manager would contact me. That was 3 weeks ago. No body has. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product. An extremely easy to use product with excellent service. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable with wide offerings and useful client tools I especially like the ability to purchase bonds and other securities in my brokerage IRA account. The tools available to analyze the account holdings are also very useful. March 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable and easy to understand The Fidelity IRA itself is a good product. However, I received a flyer offering IRA advice and when trying to take advantage of the offer by phoning the advertised number I was unable to talk to a representative and was instead put into some sort of loop asking for my username and password. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent IRA programs & support Excellent IRA programs & support - have been a Fidelity customer for approximately 18 years. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to understand I've been investing with Fidelity for over 25 years. The choices are great and the information available to make my investment decisions is excellent--no surprises! The customer service I have received is always beyond expectations. They make everything happen easily. I especially like the statements, and all the other financial reporting and analysis available online. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Review My experience with Fidelity has been excellent for the most part. I opened my first investment account in 1994. My company also has our 401-K with Fidelity, which is very convenient. Great website and customer service! March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollovers made easy! After deciding on a diverse portfolio of funds my IRA was invested in the course of one phone call. Since then I have been able to monitor the portfolio online, manage the investment of distributions across the funds to keep my portfolio in line with my investment strategies, and research the performance of additional funds being considered as additions to my portfolio. I have no reservations whatsoever about using the online experience for research and investment, and receive my statements in an electronic form. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use Easy to set up and use as springboard to retirement products and services. Graphical display of holdings by classification & sector help to summarize positions. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use. Great Job with the site. Easy to use and the information is very helpful. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review Fidelity Traditional IRA I have used the Fidelity IRA platform for 15-20 years. In 2010 I rolled my 401K over into the IRA, making it much larger. With online access, it is very easy to buy, sell, and exchange assets in the IRA. It's easier than managing the old 401K platform, and there are many more choices in the IRA. It is easy to avoid loads of all sorts, and there are several good Fidelity newsletters for their mutual funds. One is not limited to Fidelity funds in the IRA. Certain outside funds involve a fee, but many do not. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by trading easy, intraday updates very useful, but not always best price on stocks. the account experience has been generally fine. Trading is easy and the online account statement and update capability during the trading day are good to work with. However, not always the best price is obtained on stocks, both buying and selling. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient, safe, reliable Have been usng Fidelity for a long time and feel very confident in the service, record keeping, and trustworthiness. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Web Site Fidelity web site, particularly the My Account where I log in is autstanding. All information is available well layd down, organized and easy to find. Good tools to analyze performance and trade. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Online tools are extremely good for trading bonds. I love the way the online tools allow for trading bonds. March 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average, can be improved Need more anlaysis tools relative to current & future market trends. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure, dependable and accurate I opened this account several years ago and am very happy that I did. I have several other accounts with Fidelity ( IRA, Rollover IRA, Brokerage account, SEP and Cash account ) The customer service is wonderful. I can call anytime and get all my questions resolved. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Meets my needs Investment options and services meet my needs during the wealth accumulation phase of this part of my retirment portfolio. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Features, toolset, access, customer service, and reporting all good or great Fully featured - I am completely satisfied with the account features. Good toolset - while not 'great', the toolset is good and quite adequate for most people. Better options tools would be appreciated. Great access - lots of choices, including web, iPad, Active Trader Pro, and telephone. Outstanding customer service - no matter what question or issue I surface, the answers are alway timely and accurate. Great reporting - access to my account information is always there, whether from this year or last. Kudos! March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I hav referred many friends to fidelity. The clean, easy, detailed view of the website are great. The offices are close to my home and give me security. Great job! George Howard MD March 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Yes. Just not sure I'm getting my money's worth. Still, overall, I'm happy enough. I March 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by reliable Easy to log on and check your account daily if nee March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good I really like fidelity and the layout has improved tremendously. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Well done-but The account and service are great, however, I would not mind if you could suggest additional investments and or information based on what I'm invested in or changes in tax law or the economy. Also, you should look at giving streaming quotes to customers with a minimum account, whether they are "active" traders or not. I am thinking about moving my accounts to another brokerage firm because of that restriction. March 2, 2012
  • 2015-04-01T09:50:32.773-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_437, tr_437
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 15 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560589.9.1