• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Tax advantages


Tax-deductible contributions1


Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.


10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Account features


Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments


Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 488 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by OK Need more updated performance information. I have investments with other financial firms that allow me to see real time performance on previous day's close. Fidelity needs to implement this. February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good company I keep some of my retirement funds in Fidelity and have done so for 20 years. I've never liked Fidelity's statements however they are usable. February 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Authentication - 2 level Please incorporate two levels of authentication that requires a token and a password. With many issues these days on internet with hacking, this would seem a prudent measure to protect your invetors. January 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Traditional IRA I had positive experience with Fidelity. Never had any issues and help was always available. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Expanded Perspectives With guidance/help from account representative I was able to merge competitor's IRA, and taxable investments including deposit of common stock certificates held in safety deposit box to a Fidelity IRA. Moved 50% of former employer's 401K into the same Fidelity IRA. Using Fidelity's Internet web based software, I can access/trade my portfolio with improved functionality. I use Fidelity's fund transfer capability to move/transfer investments into taxable money market to pay bills. I'm very pleased w/Fidelity accounts to manage my retirement assets. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Timely Actually, my husband is the investor in our family and I trust his judgement. He seems to be pleased with this account and I am pleased that I do not have to keep looking at it. I have a retirement to get on with. There has been entirely too much scheduling in my life anyway. But I do like knowing who to call and where my money is. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Broad range of investment options, clear documentation Plenty of investment options, good research available on Fidelity site, transactions quick to enact. Good back up help from Fidelity available if you have questions. January 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investing made Easy I find using Fidelity's Traditional IRA an easy way to invest for the future. The investment tools, online ease of access, and flexibility make it a great product. January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple simple and straightforward. could use additional fund optioons though. some accounts not available to quicken download, which is a problem for me. January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to manage We have variety of funds available to invest. The menu options are easy. Faster connection. Overall we are very happy with Fidelity. January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! I have dealt with other retirement services in the past and Fidelity is hands down the best. The staff is knowledgeable and wait times are kept to a minimum. One suggestion would be to improve the navigation and size on the portfolio page. This would make Fidelity perfect! January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by performance of funds The account does not correctly reflect the actual percentage rise in the value of each mutual fund or CD and it becomes confusing when i want to compare the performance of my investments. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tried and true I've been a Fidelity customer for 20+ years. It's convenient, fast and the recent enhancements have been spot on. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe, complete and available My IRA account provides an online portfolio mechanism within a highly secure system with a complete package of tools for assessing my portfolio and making investment decisions. My Fidelity advisor is always available to discuss the pros and cons of investment options and my account is available 24/7 online. The annual calculation of required distributions and the automatic distribution function are excellent support tools for my IRA account management. I’m fortunate to have Fidelity as part of my financial management team. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need reminders Would like some (more) communications on contribution amounts and withdraws based on age. Otherwise, Fidelity does a great job with all my accounts. The customer service is superior. January 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by unreliable assistance Getting a person with knowledge to speak to on the telephone is a horrible experience. Often I do business elsewhere because of this. I tell them all but to no avail. Some are helpful when I finally get there but I am distraught by that time. I do not like the computer. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by simple IT change request I have my Fidelity credit card rewards deposited in my IRA account (historical reason). Every year I top up my IRA to the max allowed, but I cannot do it online as the system requires me to input whole numbers only!! Can you get you IT guys to change that so I won't have to call the rep. on the phone to make the transfer for me? Of course, you could alternatively get the credit card unit to deposit rewards rounded up to the nearest whole number, but I suspect that would be trickier. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loads of options I best part of using my fidelity Ira account is the wide range of investment options avaiable and the easy execution of orders. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hands Off Investing Easy to monitor online with plenty of options to chose from. Low cost and secure in a trustworthy financial institution. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent IRA Account I like the functionality of the IRA Account. You have plenty of investment opportunities at your fingertips to add to you IRA portfolio. The trading option is easy to use and ability to transfer funds from other accounts into Fidelity makes it convenient to contribute to my IRA. I also like the convenience of checking my account daily to monitor prices and values as well as research other funds and options for investment opportunities. The options are to numerous to mention, this is the best financial tool available out there on the market. I mine and my wife's Traditional and Roth IRA's with Fidelity. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A One Stop Shop Fidelity offers me a "supermarket" of no load, no transaction fee mutual funds run by Fidelity and other companies. It has been easy to choose a diversified portfolio of low cost funds. For years, I have used fidelity.com to manage the account, buying and selling funds without working through a representative. For 20+ years, I used a fully invested style and I made all of my own decisions using research that I gathered. I am now retired and have become more conservative, looking to preserve capital and generate a small return using income producing investments. My only complaint is that the Account Executive that I've been assigned has not been as helpful as I'd like, and is very non-commital regarding strategy. However, I assume that is to avoid any liability. January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA Overall the account is good since few fees are taken out of the account. However don't ever talk to a representative about "updating" your account. All they want to do is sell you an annuity even if you tell them up front that you have ABSOLUTELY NO INTEREST in annuities. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Newest ATP Beta software is "flacky" Since becoming actively involved with Fidelity, coming up on about 1 year ago, I have been exposed to 3 ATP versions. While any program has features that "could be better", ONLY this latest "cloud" version has erratic situations where data is randomly NOT updated or "blanked out" within a line of a security listing in the watchlist. Upgrades of the program have introduced, listing which do NOT save in the order "Applied & Saved". Rather have to modify EACH time, app is opened. Have gotten different answers from diiferent agents in the "same reference/topic group" whether talking live or by IM. Feel that annual "competence" exam might be warranted for all people fielding questions in order to make sure certain info is properly assimulated for responding to customers' questions. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Your Traditional IRA account is top notch If I had to choose one word to describe my IRA account at Fidelity, it would be efficient. The design is fantastic in that the display is not overwhelming yet a wealth of information lies one click deeper. I don't recieve unwanted solicitations or worthless research opinions from robo-analysts, It's simply clean, concise, and useful. Compared to the three other brokerage accounts I utilize in some capacity, Fidelity provides by far the best user experience. January 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Need to dump it Need to see if the IRA will improve my taxes in April, if not I see no reason at all to keep it. If you have other ideas, I would die to hear/see them. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mickey It is easy to make contributions. The easy of investment opportunities are there, but sometimes the are not east to understand for a conservative investor. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Assistance is always available The key differentiating factor with my Fidelity IRA is the easily accessible assistance. Fidelity’s staff is just a phone call away. Everyone I have ever worked with listens carefully to my questions and concerns and does not let me hang up, or leave their office, without a plan and/or solution in place. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by flexible and diverse Fidelity has a broad line of no load funds that provide a diverse product line that are well managed, low in cost, and easy for consumers to use. Getting fast response on trades and transactions is important in managing money and Fidelity's strength in financial markets seems to make that one of their benchmarks. I have been a customer for a long, long time and they manage their portfolios with professionalism and care. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fees too high I like my fidelity account but I think the fees are too high for non-fidelity funds. I rebalance once or twice a year and I am always shocked to see the fees I have to pay for these trades. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Monitoring & Trading I have had a Fidelity IRA for decades and I find it is always very useable on a daily basis. The web site makes any transactions simple and quick. Research is expansive. Record keeping is excellent. January 24, 2013
  • 2015-10-07T10:10:20.572-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_488, tr_488
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 17 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.