Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2016 and 2017: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$4.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

005
5508tridion

Ready to get started?


Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 592 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Conservative We (husband, Jill) have been clients for many years and during this tenure have always rated Fidelity a 10+. Your representatives are "always glad we called," and 100 % of the time give us the answers we need. Recently we wanted to merge our two accounts and you sent the paper work, sent it back when one item was not complete and then we were notified when the event was in work. Thank You! February 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small investors the last time I called to get some advice on my IRA account and where to invest it....the advisor I spoke with insisted upon knowing my "overall" worth or investable worth. This to me was code for, "is it going to be worth my time?" This was very obvious to me, even though he would argue that he was just trying to get a handle on my investible income. Doesn't matter, I really felt like I was being given less attention because I no longer have large amounts in my IRA. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ATP 10.0 Fidelity removed one of the most important columns in the watch list ... the entry column. Now the only way to sort the watch list is to log out completely, and then log back in. Please consider adding an Entry line item to sort on. Thank you. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Traditional IRA I like Fidelity and rate it very high. I particularly think the website is good. My ONLY complaint about Fidelity is I think their fee for buying certain mutual funds is too high. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA Review I don't have any complaints with my IRA service except the fact that I have never been able to determine what I'm paying for the service. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful The traditional IRA is helpful because I received this money from my divorce and it's helped me build my retirement. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Traditional IRA Review The Fidelity IRA is easy to access and informative. It also allows online trading and record keeping for tax purposes. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure customer service has always been helpful have gone above and beyond in finding solutions to my concerns January 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by RETIRED ACCESS EASY. INFORMATION HELPFUL THAT IS PUBLISHED. WOULD APPRECIATE A CLOSE OFFICE FOR FACE TO FACE DISCUSSION. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by retirement I have always been impressed with Fidelity's customer service. I have always received correct and courteous answers, however, I have to say I have not figured out how to use Active Traderpro yet. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Financial Empowerment Fidelity's website has all the research there for you so you can feel confident making an informed decision. I spoke to an investment professional who guided me when I wanted to diversify. When I traded/sold it was easy to connect to my bank account, no cost and efficient. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and affordable Site is rarely down and seems accurate . I appreciate the reasonable commission . January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable and secure I have had an account with Fidelity for many years. I have always had excellent service from them. One of the things I'm really happy with is the security that I have in dealing with them. One thing I don't want is to find out that some of my account information has been stolen. I have complete confidence that Fidelity will continue to keep up with the latest security features. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable and feature rich I like that commissions are reasonable and mailed statements are good. I like the option to re-invest dividends for no cost. I like that I can expand a particular holding and see when all shares were bought. Also that I can see the cost basis. I don't know of any thing else needed. Keep up the good work. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Customer service reps are knowledgeable and very competent. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by efficient and inexpensive I like the ability to invest in what I want, when I want it and for as little or long time as I want. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good, reliable information and statements The online database is very good. The information I seek for on the site is easily accessible, well presented and with helpful details. Also, when I contact an IRA rep I get quick and helpful guidance and answers to my questions. Keep up the good work.!!!! January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use. lot of choices. good research. easy statements. been a customer for years. have regular and roth ira's. statements are easy to understand. I actively manage my ira's. trades easy to make and inexpensive. good selection of products. I use many kind of asset classes. mutual funds, etf's, closed end funds, mlp's, stocks. customer service always good. I recommend fidelity to all my friends. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Active Trader I joined Fidelity in October and am a user of Active Trader Pro. Still learning what all is offered within Active Trader Pro and the various analysis available. At this time my opinion of Active Trader, it is very user friendly and much better then other products I have used in the past. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Evaluation I have nothing but praise for the help,courtesy and easy of getting to talk to someone. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Your money, Information immediate! Fidelity Traditional IRA provides secure, immediate access to my accounts which keeps me in tune to what the market is doing at all times. I would be lost without it! Past IRA administrators from other companies controlled everything and was lucky to see my account once a month!!! Love the immediate access on line. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr Its worked. A quite successful government program. One that far too few people could afford to take part in. I hope my IRA- shavings lasts. January 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Review is for Fidelity as a whole. My review concerns Fidelity Investments, not just our IRA. We are disappointed in the service we recently received from your Fixed Income Department. We are presently looking at other investment firms to handle our accounts. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity is the benchmark for the consumer investment industry. The website is full-functioning and easy to use. The cost to trade are among the lowest; they offer at least 65 ETFs that have ZERO commisions covering a wide range of investment sectors. The Fidelity family of mutual fund overings are among the industry leaders, and you have access to almost anything your could ever want from other Mutual Fund families. Simple to set up direct transfers from your bank (or banks). I love the easy-to-read consolidated statements. I don't have to spend so much time looking for (or keeping track of) the various accounts I have with them (brokerage acct, (2) cash management accts w/ check writing, Trad. IRA, Roth IRA) I don't use the on-line bill paying feature, but I am thinking about switching most of that into Fidelity. I am going to get a Fidelity AmEx credit card, too. You earn 2% cash back for all purchases (not just the flavor-of-the-month promo stuff) which gets deposited directly into the account of your choosing. WOW! I love this place... ;-) January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr Great support staff, and one of the best web sites made this my number one investment choice. Fidelity meets all expectations with answering questions , follow up and support from staff. This is my first try of an on line investment company, and fidelity has been a positive example of doing things right. Many on line services are hard to get any personal service when things go wrong, but Fidelity Investments is fantastic. Would recommend to all my friends and family. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient Excellent service and extremely convenient. Trades are processed instantly and the cost is very reasonable. Research is good but the website for research is somewhat difficult to get around in. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GOOD ON YOU, FIDELITY! I have been pleasantly please with my choice of Fidelity for a major of my IRA! I only wish that I had put all my IRA funds with you! It has been easy to sell, trade and exchange within my account. The few times that I have needed help has always been brief and effective. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good place to put IRA in very convenience and I really enjoy the freedom to buy and sell as I want. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life Long IRA I don't remember when the original IRA legislation was passed by the US Congress, but I set-up my own individual IRA with Fidelity in that first year. At that time it was fully or almost fully deductible. However, over the years as my income increased my contribution was no longer deductible. However, I still contributed the maximum that was allowed up until the year that I retired. I still have my original IRA plus I set-up a Rollover IRA that I have since used to accumulate miscellaneous other IRAs and 401(k) plans from some short term employments and contracts that I worked on. When my wife retired, we set-up a Rollover IRA with Fidelity for her as well. My son's current employer has a 401(k) set-up with Fidelity which he participates in. I have been totally pleased with the service that Fidelity has provided over my 30 year experience with the company. The hundreds of people that I have spoken to on the telephone over the years have always been very knowledgeable and professional. The several representatives that I have dealt with face-to-face have all been very personable and caring. I have only encountered one error situation that occurred during the October 1987 crash. The matter was resolved satisfactorily within a day or so. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and complete I have really enjoyed using Fidelity.com to manage my IRA. I also really appreciate the insights and information available through fidelity.com. January 29, 2014
  • 2017-02-01 T06:11:08.639-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_592, tr_592
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 20 next>>