Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2016 and 2017: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$4.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

005
5508tridion

Ready to get started?


Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 592 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy I honestly haven't looked at my IRA since it opened. I set it up to automatically transfer money directly out of my account once a month. It's perfect for someone like me that doesn't want to spend a lot of time on it. August 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good there is no long waiting time for connecting customer service and got good response. August 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple and efficient This IRA was easy to establish and is easy to maintain. August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, no complaints the account was opened quite easily, and though I've only had it about one year, there have been no problems with it. the trading systems are similar for all Fidelity accounts so far as I know, and they are pretty easy to work with. August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Non-deductible IRA I think it would be helpful if you would label a Traditional IRA as either deductible or non-deductible, instead of just Traditional IRA. This would clarify things and make it easier at tax time. July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by johne Do nothing with stocks and bonds in my account and just take MRD at years begining. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliability and Service Fidelity has a excellent display of information for a person to look at its IRA for him/her to administer by one's own initiative or with the help/guidance of a Fidelity representative that is very knowledgeable that keeps you updated and well informed. July 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Traditional IRA Review In January after talking to a coworker who highly recommend Fidelity to me, I moved all my IRA, my wife's IRA accounts to Fidelity. So far I am really happy with the move. I particularly like Fidelity's customer service. Every time and any time I have a question, I can pick up the phone to call for help and the reps at Fidelity is really polite and helpful. Another reason I moved all my IRA accounts to Fidelity is the investment options it provides. There are so many great mutual funds, ETF, etc to select from. And it's very convenient to have all the accounts in one place. It's much easier to manage. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Informative and easy I like the idea that I am in control of my financial future but Fidelity is by my side to guide me with information about investments that work best for me and customer service if I need it. Also, the easy online access keeps me in the drivers seat. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Research Tools I have used the mutual fund research tools extensively. I am pleased with the decisions I have made with the assistance of my Fidelity rep. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worry free plus nice website The Fidelity IRA has no limit to the choices of investments, but with help of our Fidelity advisor, I chose a Fidelity mutual fund that is meeting my needs. I also appreciate the nice website that makes tracking and comparing easy. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't ask for anything more I was blown away by the level of support when answering questions about rolling over a 401k to a traditional IRA. July 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Advisors Prior to my changing to Fidelity I had asked if there were agents that I could speak to regarding my investments without having to pay a fee. I was told "Yes". The first time I called, the agent I spoke to told me he couldn't help me I would have to pay the annual fee. I called awhile after regarding another matter and again asked if an agent could give me advise on different products/mutual funds without paying a fee. He was going to transfer me to someone that would help me. They were all busy but he said someone would definitely call me back. That was approx. 2 months ago - I'm still waiting!! Not happy about this. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good selection of funds Fidelity is one of the largest retirement planning companies, and with their prominent size comes a wide selection of mutual funds and brokerage services for my IRA. I liked the research tools that compare fund performance and fees, with clear recommendations via fund picks. Contributions are easy to make. I'm happy with the Fidelity IRA offerings. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA secure excellent information about retirement that I use for this IRA account July 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by FIRST TIME INVESTOR IN FAMILY Sought information in person at local investment center office on company policy/procedures and some 'how to' regarding online investing and over the phone as well as some details that were not answered after initial IRA creation and funding. Very poor in-office service; cold, unwilling to explain details clearly at 'my level', felt I was using their time and was a waste. Frustrating; treated me unintelligent in the office. I was embarrassed upon leaving and was shocked. I like the SYSTEM and the ACCOUNT and its EFFICIENCY, I think they need their branches to be more HOMETOWN and THANKFUL for their customer base and educational June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Individual Account I like the convenience of getting into my IRA, the prompt purchase and sales and above all the cost of transaction. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy I have been with Fidelity for years and so far everything I have needed to do, has been quickly and competently done. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Part of any retirement mix Everyone should have a traditional IRA as part of their retirement mix. In my case, I have one set up that will eventually be a rollover account when I retire from my job. Fidelity's web site makes it easy to set up a traditional IRA in minutes, and I can see my IRA in addition to my other retirement accounts when I log in. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nancy poe am very pleased with the service, and every one involved in fidelity. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and easy to access Love the website and availability of my accounts. Safe and easy access to the website. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Full of Value, Research and Choices Fidelity's services and solutions are rock-solid and make it easy for me to get my investment tasks done quickly and easily. I especially like the web, customer service via chat, the Advanced Trader Pro platform and the excellent reporting. The information on the Fidelity web site is most helpful for helping me make investment decisions. June 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Statements The statements have a section about dividend earnings that is useless. It is not even close to being accurate. June 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use and a Good Resource Happy about the Fidelity, will now be exploring OPENING UP A ROTH IRA May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Rocks My experience using the traditional self-executed IRA with Fidelity Investments has been excellent. Trades are handled expeditiously almost in seconds. Cost is minimal compared to other brokerage firms. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not much room for improvement I selected Fidelity because I believed it provided the flexiblity I would need. Sure enough, I made a couple of errors in initial placement of funds. No problem because of the flexibility of Fidelity. May 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by LEANER AND MEANER? I had a big account with the Co. which I closed before the big downturn! Now I just opened and IRA, carefully read the relevant research and prospectus for what I wanted to do, confirmed I could on archived chat and double-checked on an archived phone call.I transferred in my money, and called a trader to buy-- and got a whole different approach to saying "no". So, I closed the account, and gee, I do know where I will go next--with my money! March 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA I have been very satisfied with my IAR A/C w/ Fidelity and with Fidelity in general February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tools - Service - Security Good tools, excellent and responsive service, and confidence in account security February 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use The Brokerage IRA is much better than the 403-B accounts. It is more flexible in asset allocation and no fees. I wish all of my retirement accounts were like this one. I can trade equities, bonds, and mutual funds all in one account. February 2, 2014
  • 2017-02-01 T06:11:08.625-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_592, tr_592
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 20 next>>