Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2016 and 2017: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 569 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use and a Good Resource Happy about the Fidelity, will now be exploring OPENING UP A ROTH IRA May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Rocks My experience using the traditional self-executed IRA with Fidelity Investments has been excellent. Trades are handled expeditiously almost in seconds. Cost is minimal compared to other brokerage firms. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not much room for improvement I selected Fidelity because I believed it provided the flexiblity I would need. Sure enough, I made a couple of errors in initial placement of funds. No problem because of the flexibility of Fidelity. May 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by LEANER AND MEANER? I had a big account with the Co. which I closed before the big downturn! Now I just opened and IRA, carefully read the relevant research and prospectus for what I wanted to do, confirmed I could on archived chat and double-checked on an archived phone call.I transferred in my money, and called a trader to buy-- and got a whole different approach to saying "no". So, I closed the account, and gee, I do know where I will go next--with my money! March 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA I have been very satisfied with my IAR A/C w/ Fidelity and with Fidelity in general February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tools - Service - Security Good tools, excellent and responsive service, and confidence in account security February 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use The Brokerage IRA is much better than the 403-B accounts. It is more flexible in asset allocation and no fees. I wish all of my retirement accounts were like this one. I can trade equities, bonds, and mutual funds all in one account. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Conservative We (husband, Jill) have been clients for many years and during this tenure have always rated Fidelity a 10+. Your representatives are "always glad we called," and 100 % of the time give us the answers we need. Recently we wanted to merge our two accounts and you sent the paper work, sent it back when one item was not complete and then we were notified when the event was in work. Thank You! February 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small investors the last time I called to get some advice on my IRA account and where to invest it....the advisor I spoke with insisted upon knowing my "overall" worth or investable worth. This to me was code for, "is it going to be worth my time?" This was very obvious to me, even though he would argue that he was just trying to get a handle on my investible income. Doesn't matter, I really felt like I was being given less attention because I no longer have large amounts in my IRA. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ATP 10.0 Fidelity removed one of the most important columns in the watch list ... the entry column. Now the only way to sort the watch list is to log out completely, and then log back in. Please consider adding an Entry line item to sort on. Thank you. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Traditional IRA I like Fidelity and rate it very high. I particularly think the website is good. My ONLY complaint about Fidelity is I think their fee for buying certain mutual funds is too high. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA Review I don't have any complaints with my IRA service except the fact that I have never been able to determine what I'm paying for the service. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful The traditional IRA is helpful because I received this money from my divorce and it's helped me build my retirement. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Traditional IRA Review The Fidelity IRA is easy to access and informative. It also allows online trading and record keeping for tax purposes. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure customer service has always been helpful have gone above and beyond in finding solutions to my concerns January 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by RETIRED ACCESS EASY. INFORMATION HELPFUL THAT IS PUBLISHED. WOULD APPRECIATE A CLOSE OFFICE FOR FACE TO FACE DISCUSSION. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by retirement I have always been impressed with Fidelity's customer service. I have always received correct and courteous answers, however, I have to say I have not figured out how to use Active Traderpro yet. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Financial Empowerment Fidelity's website has all the research there for you so you can feel confident making an informed decision. I spoke to an investment professional who guided me when I wanted to diversify. When I traded/sold it was easy to connect to my bank account, no cost and efficient. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and affordable Site is rarely down and seems accurate . I appreciate the reasonable commission . January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable and secure I have had an account with Fidelity for many years. I have always had excellent service from them. One of the things I'm really happy with is the security that I have in dealing with them. One thing I don't want is to find out that some of my account information has been stolen. I have complete confidence that Fidelity will continue to keep up with the latest security features. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable and feature rich I like that commissions are reasonable and mailed statements are good. I like the option to re-invest dividends for no cost. I like that I can expand a particular holding and see when all shares were bought. Also that I can see the cost basis. I don't know of any thing else needed. Keep up the good work. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Customer service reps are knowledgeable and very competent. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by efficient and inexpensive I like the ability to invest in what I want, when I want it and for as little or long time as I want. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good, reliable information and statements The online database is very good. The information I seek for on the site is easily accessible, well presented and with helpful details. Also, when I contact an IRA rep I get quick and helpful guidance and answers to my questions. Keep up the good work.!!!! January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use. lot of choices. good research. easy statements. been a customer for years. have regular and roth ira's. statements are easy to understand. I actively manage my ira's. trades easy to make and inexpensive. good selection of products. I use many kind of asset classes. mutual funds, etf's, closed end funds, mlp's, stocks. customer service always good. I recommend fidelity to all my friends. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Active Trader I joined Fidelity in October and am a user of Active Trader Pro. Still learning what all is offered within Active Trader Pro and the various analysis available. At this time my opinion of Active Trader, it is very user friendly and much better then other products I have used in the past. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Evaluation I have nothing but praise for the help,courtesy and easy of getting to talk to someone. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Your money, Information immediate! Fidelity Traditional IRA provides secure, immediate access to my accounts which keeps me in tune to what the market is doing at all times. I would be lost without it! Past IRA administrators from other companies controlled everything and was lucky to see my account once a month!!! Love the immediate access on line. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr Its worked. A quite successful government program. One that far too few people could afford to take part in. I hope my IRA- shavings lasts. January 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Review is for Fidelity as a whole. My review concerns Fidelity Investments, not just our IRA. We are disappointed in the service we recently received from your Fixed Income Department. We are presently looking at other investment firms to handle our accounts. January 29, 2014
  • 2016-10-30 T07:46:00.736-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_569, tr_569
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 19 next>>