• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Tax advantages

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Account features

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 422 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Should focus on a Roth I wish that I had received better advice about the advantages of rolling this over into a Roth IRA earlier. This would have helped me minimize the tax impact. I was also unaware of the minimum distribution requirement once I hit 70 1/2 which does not apply with the Roth. Again some advance knowledge would have saved me a lot of money. January 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by secure and rreliable the mutual funds have low expense ratios. Likewise, the mutual funds propectus are easy to read and easy to understand. January 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Preferred Stock Have suggested and continue to suggest that Fidelity provide a report that shows all of a customers Preferred Stock showing the quantity of each Preferred Stock, it's dividend rate, the months dividends are paid, current value, original cost, per share and Totals. Dividends the stock generated YTD and monies taken out Year To Date. Other investment companies offered this service over 8 years ago. i am sure Fidelity can enhance what I am suggesting. I have to create and maintain my own Excel spread sheet to have this information. January 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by secure account is easy to access. other than that fidelity plays no part, never any advice, or guidance. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, consolidated all IRA's Great site and value, can trade options and stocks. January 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty Limited I find traditional IRAs pretty limited as one can only invest in a limited number of products from one company. However, as far as traditional IRAs go - Fidelity's are what I use because it can be linked to my Fidelity Roll-over and Brokerage accounts - so very convenient. I previously rolled both our traditional IRA's over into our roll-over IRAs where there is more flexibility and may do that again later this year. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure,Reliable and Simpler I am using FIDELITY for the last few months and I found it be very useful for savings and investments. September 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, fast, and simple Using Fidelity services for ones investments allows you an ease of service twenty-four hours a day. March 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by jfb satisfied with everything. have not had to use customer service much. March 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Keeps me well informed! My IRA is one of the most important investments in my life. Fidel;ity keeps me well informed and I am able to follow their guidance and keep piece of mind in a turbulent market environment. March 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity is #1 Fidelity is # 1 in my book for all around access to investment vehicles of every size and shape. If I were to create a brokerage business model it would be very much like yours. There is only one thing I would change and that would be to allow access to your superior trading software to everyone who wants to use it. Other than that, you're darn near perfect. Thanks guys. March 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient, no frills Very simple IRA. The internet site is good, customer service is good, no unnecessary complications. I have had no issues with Fidelity. March 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very convenient and easy to use. Trades are easy to use and reasonable fees. Good visibility of all steps in the process. Only two suggestions/problems: - I can't get it to select "lot to sell" in IRA as I can designate in the brokerage acct. I realize it doesn't make a difference on taxes in an IRA acct., but it would be nice to have that same freedom to designate the lot to sell from. - under "Analysis", there are 2 obsolete accts. still included that should have zero value, but carry the original vaule from before, distorting the analysis of all our investments. Please reply with any action I can take to address above. March 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by was better before the latest view modifications The design of the pages is not consistent and it is not as intuitive as it was before. For the cost basis I would like the see the price per share on every line even though the cost can be 0 March 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by cautious optomist Up to this point I have had no complaints and when I have required assistance in getting the "feel" of things. The individuals have been patient, respectful and on point.I initially had and still do have reservations with handling my lifes holdings online as I do with any dealings with personal information and SECURITY is EXTREMELY important so vigilance on Fidelitys part to keep us all secure is primary. I still have a distance to go in my investing prowess so what the future holds for both parties ...hopefully proves mutually beneficial. Until I find otherwise I see no reason to go elsewhere. March 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easily accessible The Fidelity website and makes it easy for me to review my investments. March 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy online access. It is easy to research the various mutual funds before contributing to my IRA. The online site is easy and helpful. March 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Feeling Alone My only issue is that I feel somewhat in the dark. I have no idea if I'm in the right program or not. And because no one contacts me (which could be by e-mail) to let me know if there are other funds that I should be in I really feel like your system is set up for people to go it alone. Joel Burton March 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to access and secure Web access and ATP access are excellent. Research tools and news data are targeted and timely. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Fidelity is a great company with plenty of choices and services. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Fast Very easy to set up and execute. Good helps online. Lots of help for researching and choosing investment options as well. March 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by No proactive Comunications from Fidelity After transfering a very sizable 401k to Fidelity I was promised that a premium accout manager would contact me. That was 3 weeks ago. No body has. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product. An extremely easy to use product with excellent service. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable with wide offerings and useful client tools I especially like the ability to purchase bonds and other securities in my brokerage IRA account. The tools available to analyze the account holdings are also very useful. March 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable and easy to understand The Fidelity IRA itself is a good product. However, I received a flyer offering IRA advice and when trying to take advantage of the offer by phoning the advertised number I was unable to talk to a representative and was instead put into some sort of loop asking for my username and password. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent IRA programs & support Excellent IRA programs & support - have been a Fidelity customer for approximately 18 years. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to understand I've been investing with Fidelity for over 25 years. The choices are great and the information available to make my investment decisions is excellent--no surprises! The customer service I have received is always beyond expectations. They make everything happen easily. I especially like the statements, and all the other financial reporting and analysis available online. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Review My experience with Fidelity has been excellent for the most part. I opened my first investment account in 1994. My company also has our 401-K with Fidelity, which is very convenient. Great website and customer service! March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollovers made easy! After deciding on a diverse portfolio of funds my IRA was invested in the course of one phone call. Since then I have been able to monitor the portfolio online, manage the investment of distributions across the funds to keep my portfolio in line with my investment strategies, and research the performance of additional funds being considered as additions to my portfolio. I have no reservations whatsoever about using the online experience for research and investment, and receive my statements in an electronic form. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use Easy to set up and use as springboard to retirement products and services. Graphical display of holdings by classification & sector help to summarize positions. March 2, 2012
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 15 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560589.9.1