Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 546 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Advisors Prior to my changing to Fidelity I had asked if there were agents that I could speak to regarding my investments without having to pay a fee. I was told "Yes". The first time I called, the agent I spoke to told me he couldn't help me I would have to pay the annual fee. I called awhile after regarding another matter and again asked if an agent could give me advise on different products/mutual funds without paying a fee. He was going to transfer me to someone that would help me. They were all busy but he said someone would definitely call me back. That was approx. 2 months ago - I'm still waiting!! Not happy about this. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good selection of funds Fidelity is one of the largest retirement planning companies, and with their prominent size comes a wide selection of mutual funds and brokerage services for my IRA. I liked the research tools that compare fund performance and fees, with clear recommendations via fund picks. Contributions are easy to make. I'm happy with the Fidelity IRA offerings. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA secure excellent information about retirement that I use for this IRA account July 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by FIRST TIME INVESTOR IN FAMILY Sought information in person at local investment center office on company policy/procedures and some 'how to' regarding online investing and over the phone as well as some details that were not answered after initial IRA creation and funding. Very poor in-office service; cold, unwilling to explain details clearly at 'my level', felt I was using their time and was a waste. Frustrating; treated me unintelligent in the office. I was embarrassed upon leaving and was shocked. I like the SYSTEM and the ACCOUNT and its EFFICIENCY, I think they need their branches to be more HOMETOWN and THANKFUL for their customer base and educational June 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Individual Account I like the convenience of getting into my IRA, the prompt purchase and sales and above all the cost of transaction. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy I have been with Fidelity for years and so far everything I have needed to do, has been quickly and competently done. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Part of any retirement mix Everyone should have a traditional IRA as part of their retirement mix. In my case, I have one set up that will eventually be a rollover account when I retire from my job. Fidelity's web site makes it easy to set up a traditional IRA in minutes, and I can see my IRA in addition to my other retirement accounts when I log in. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by nancy poe am very pleased with the service, and every one involved in fidelity. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and easy to access Love the website and availability of my accounts. Safe and easy access to the website. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Full of Value, Research and Choices Fidelity's services and solutions are rock-solid and make it easy for me to get my investment tasks done quickly and easily. I especially like the web, customer service via chat, the Advanced Trader Pro platform and the excellent reporting. The information on the Fidelity web site is most helpful for helping me make investment decisions. June 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Statements The statements have a section about dividend earnings that is useless. It is not even close to being accurate. June 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use and a Good Resource Happy about the Fidelity, will now be exploring OPENING UP A ROTH IRA May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Rocks My experience using the traditional self-executed IRA with Fidelity Investments has been excellent. Trades are handled expeditiously almost in seconds. Cost is minimal compared to other brokerage firms. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not much room for improvement I selected Fidelity because I believed it provided the flexiblity I would need. Sure enough, I made a couple of errors in initial placement of funds. No problem because of the flexibility of Fidelity. May 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by LEANER AND MEANER? I had a big account with the Co. which I closed before the big downturn! Now I just opened and IRA, carefully read the relevant research and prospectus for what I wanted to do, confirmed I could on archived chat and double-checked on an archived phone call.I transferred in my money, and called a trader to buy-- and got a whole different approach to saying "no". So, I closed the account, and gee, I do know where I will go next--with my money! March 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA I have been very satisfied with my IAR A/C w/ Fidelity and with Fidelity in general February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tools - Service - Security Good tools, excellent and responsive service, and confidence in account security February 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use The Brokerage IRA is much better than the 403-B accounts. It is more flexible in asset allocation and no fees. I wish all of my retirement accounts were like this one. I can trade equities, bonds, and mutual funds all in one account. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Conservative We (husband, Jill) have been clients for many years and during this tenure have always rated Fidelity a 10+. Your representatives are "always glad we called," and 100 % of the time give us the answers we need. Recently we wanted to merge our two accounts and you sent the paper work, sent it back when one item was not complete and then we were notified when the event was in work. Thank You! February 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small investors the last time I called to get some advice on my IRA account and where to invest it....the advisor I spoke with insisted upon knowing my "overall" worth or investable worth. This to me was code for, "is it going to be worth my time?" This was very obvious to me, even though he would argue that he was just trying to get a handle on my investible income. Doesn't matter, I really felt like I was being given less attention because I no longer have large amounts in my IRA. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by ATP 10.0 Fidelity removed one of the most important columns in the watch list ... the entry column. Now the only way to sort the watch list is to log out completely, and then log back in. Please consider adding an Entry line item to sort on. Thank you. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Traditional IRA I like Fidelity and rate it very high. I particularly think the website is good. My ONLY complaint about Fidelity is I think their fee for buying certain mutual funds is too high. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA Review I don't have any complaints with my IRA service except the fact that I have never been able to determine what I'm paying for the service. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful The traditional IRA is helpful because I received this money from my divorce and it's helped me build my retirement. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Traditional IRA Review The Fidelity IRA is easy to access and informative. It also allows online trading and record keeping for tax purposes. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure customer service has always been helpful have gone above and beyond in finding solutions to my concerns January 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by RETIRED ACCESS EASY. INFORMATION HELPFUL THAT IS PUBLISHED. WOULD APPRECIATE A CLOSE OFFICE FOR FACE TO FACE DISCUSSION. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by retirement I have always been impressed with Fidelity's customer service. I have always received correct and courteous answers, however, I have to say I have not figured out how to use Active Traderpro yet. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Financial Empowerment Fidelity's website has all the research there for you so you can feel confident making an informed decision. I spoke to an investment professional who guided me when I wanted to diversify. When I traded/sold it was easy to connect to my bank account, no cost and efficient. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and affordable Site is rarely down and seems accurate . I appreciate the reasonable commission . January 29, 2014
  • 2016-07-27 T08:05:50.723-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_546, tr_546
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 19 next>>