• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Tax advantages

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Account features

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 459 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent I am very pleased with Fidelity service and ease of use. January 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by reliable Having a secure and reliable retirement account is important to me at this age. July 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Traditional IRA I am very pleased with the handling of my IRA. I feel it is in safe hands. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service, Low Cost I moved all my accounts to Fidelity when my employer chose Fidelity for their 401k. I have used the low-cost index funds and ETFs. Whenever I have a question the customer service reps are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. June 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average IRA Offering While the IRA Fidelity pricing is average, there are not many IRA alternatives June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service, Great options I had my accounts with another brokerage. When the viability of that brokerage came in to question I went searching for a new one. Fidelity rose to the top for several reasons: Service, ability to talk to PEOPLE, investment options, and investment tools. The only thing I would change is make the web site more consistent with a unified design. It looks like it was implemented by 20-30 different groups, each with their own sense of style. June 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Generally decent Some hits, some misses. Sometimes clueless folks, generally good. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very satisfactory. Having been a Fidelity customer for a number of years, I'm very satisfied with the service that they've provided. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient Very convenient. I use several of the tools but in particular the analysts opinions and morning star ratings. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity® Traditional IRA Overall not too shabby. However, would like to see lower trading fees. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Suggestion for IRA Screen IRA account screen is well designed.Everything is there at first glance.For research you goy it all in the site.For the year end documents you can review ,read and print them easily. Simple instuctions to understand. I would like a column for personnal note on open position screen, so I can wtite reason to buy, when to sell and at what price to sell that particular security as I watch the screen. June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good internet access with meaningful views and options for assessing performance I appreciate the improvements in the internet account views and the associated research options. Comparisons of mutual funds is getting better with the latest improvements. Withdrawal of funds is quick and easy with the electronic fund transfer options. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of use and access I have use other companies in the past for an IRA, this is easy to use. I can add to the account or review what I have on the web. June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to maintain There is tons of infomation about retirement accounts, but Fidelity HP explains it as easy as reading ingridients label on the food package. Thank you. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rolls so smoothly ! My IRA with Fidelity rolls so smoothly that all I have to do is keep an eye on it! Thanks, Fidelity, for your professionalism and personalized service!! June 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by survey I would like an easy to read and understand simplified statement showing all fees and charges incurred with having my Fidelity IRA so a simple cost comparison could be made against other IRAs to find the best values. June 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by ira Be more about what the customer wants instead your of products June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moving funds is easy Using Fidelity tools to move funds into and out of the IRA is easy. I also like the cash being distributed to FDIC insured accounts. June 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great, but.... I really have only 1 complaint about my Fidelity IRA....the fact that I can't sell cash covered puts. Other than that, I very highly recommend Fidelity for your IRA. June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Traditional IRA We are very happy with our IRA's. We slone are responsible for the decisions and llove the no annual fee. Customer service is quick and helpful. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable and Flexible Within the confines of Federal Regulations Fidelity does a great job in the flexibility of managing my own IRA. It is easy to set up the required withdrawals when reaching age 70 1/2. All the guesswork is taken out of the minimum amount required to withdraw and options what to do with the withdrawal and the timing required to avoid tax penalties. Online trading is simple, inexpensive and Fidelity continues to supply adequate option for research. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Holding out for the future It was fairly easy to transfer my IRA to Fidelity. Fidelity has a clear definition to the fees for each fund. It also tracks where the investments stand from the last close and from purchase with percentages. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable and easy to invest I really do not have much to add. I am very happy with Fidelity June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Very pleased with Fidelity. Good access to products. Reasonably priced service. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost Perfect You have an excellent system, but there's a few missing things. Most of all, it would be real good to have iPad support, no more dependencies on Microsoft-only charting or on Adobe Flash content. June 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Accessible and Helpful The website and mobile apps are easily navigable and offer useful information in making investment decisions. Trades are prompt and information about account status timely. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this- have Abigail give you raises! Easy and ecomical trading platform! This format has made managing my own Ira simple. June 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inadequate account service Account administrator Rep could not obtain cost basis information for equity shares held in a 401k plan that Fidelity is administrating. The account rep did not understand the need for the cost basis in a NUA distribution. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure very good choices, low fees, good portfolio reports June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure, reliable and consistent It would be nice to be able to determing what your performance is instantaneously as oppose to once avery month or every six weeks. One should be able to find out account performance daily if he or she chooses to do so. This is the "computer age, not the stone age"! June 24, 2013
  • 2015-05-28T11:39:02.263-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_459, tr_459
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 16 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560589.9.1