Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2016 and 2017: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 569 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA review The only feature missing from your account interface is the ability to view personalized rate of return. I was told by a very helpful customer service rep that my balance is not high enough to "earn" this feature. This is a basic feature seen else where that every investor, no matter how big or small, should have access to. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's just perfect My experience with Fidelity and their custumer service is perfect. Talk to real person every time I called, their screen and trading platform is just perfect. I'm glad my husband introduced me to Fidelity. I was using other company but switched to Fidelity after he showed me how convenient and customer friendly Fidelity platform is. Love it. February 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trying to get funds out is a pain... Dear folks, My only experience with my IRA has been when I tried (am still trying) to withdraw $5000 for expenses of selling our home. It seems that every term on your website, especially the ones you brag about, is geared to folks who spend a lot of time buying, selling, and analyzing. All the terminology is geared to professionals in the financial business, not to ordinary people who just want to invest some money, earn a reasonable return, and not second guess the market every day. Maybe I'm the exception to your average clientele, but your website makes me feel like I really don't belong here! There is no help screen I could find that simply explains the steps of how to sell shares in a mutual fund and have the check sent to my bank account. Why not have a tab that says "sell shares" rather than "execute a trade", once I found this link last Wednesday and used it, I still don't have my money and it's Monday night....the message is that "transaction is still pending". Maybe you don't have enough clients like me to justify a more user friendly website, but I'm an accounting professor and I'm used to being able to explain financial matters clearly and distinctly. I guess I'd expect to have explanations given to me to be just as clear. Perhaps you need to have the high level financial/it folks who put this together step back a bit and let some communications/training folks, or English majors, have more input into the user interface. At any rate, thank you very much for at least asking for our feedback! February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Professional and Helpful I have had my IRA account with Fidelity for approx. ten years. I have enjoyed the relationship, everyone is courteous and helpful. I have gained a lot of worth while information as to how to research stocks, etc. January 30, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wasted time last night I wasted an hour last night trying to transfer money from my bank to Fidelity in order to purchase an IRA. I spent a lot of time explaining what I was trying to do. When we could not go any further, I was put on hold while she went for assistance. Never came back, instead new person came on and want to start all over. I explained what I just went through and he said he would contact the person I was working with. Put on hold again, phone rang, but got another message saying that the person was on another call leave message. By that tiime, my portable phone battery gave out. At one point I was suppose to give a cell phone number. Only option on the screen. I DON'T HAVE A CELL PHONE. All that time wasted. January 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by quality The quality of your investment vehicles is outstanding. Your customer service is outstanding. Your employees go the extra mile for me whenever I call. January 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fidelity Traditional IRA review My traditional IRA has been easy to manage through Fidelity. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Extremely amazing and thorough .Would recommend to anybody. January 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by I'm Impressed I wasn't sure about using Fidelity online for my IRA and retirement planning. I am in the insurance industry so I am knowledgeable, but no stock broker or mutual fund expert. The process was easy to set up and I really like being able to check my investments anytime online. It also allows me to contribute to my retirement easily, instead of call in an order to a broker. January 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Clumsy website Even my MD has a better website that allows me to plot test results. If there was one thing I would expect from IRA account it would be show the progress of my IRA by week, month, quarter and years. If it exists it is beyond me to find in your clumsy website. January 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Difficult to open account Won't let me do it electronically No instructions on how to do it by mail representative polite but clueless December 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Review This IRA is easy to navigate, extremely easy to process distributions and the ability to transfer money electronically to an outside account is a BIG advantage. December 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific Company for IRA/MM I have no complaints! Really! From what I can tell everything is going to plan. Thank you for a wonder 2014 and look forward to a better 2015. December 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Management Wide range of features for research and management December 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by regular IRA - not Roth I put money into this IRA a while ago, because I wanted to postpone taxes. It would be helpful if a representative from Fidelity that I meet with would have gone over how this money is invested. December 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient I like the convenience and the value that it provides. Very easy to contribute, execute investment decisions and monitor the portfolio. December 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy Account was very easy to set up, very quick. Will recommend it to anyone November 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mr Your system of reporting info is very confusing.I would love to talk to someone and explain myself,but I doubt anyone will call. November 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Say what? I have been impressed with all of the staff in Bellevue. My first account agent (who was fabulous) left Fidelity...and they helped me find a new account rep tailoring my needs to the person. I am very happy with the service! November 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to trade, secure fine --as all fidelity accounts good reseach available November 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rollover attempt has failed I have tried for over a month to rollover Funds and shares to our IRA's and the communication was good until it came time to do the actual rollover and then I did Not and have Not received a call back after I had one of your rollover specialists talk to my accountant and my transfering bank several times to make sure that Fidelity would be able to accecpt our Rollovers into our Ira's at Fidelity. I was repeatadly told that this would be possible but Fidelity did not get back to the transfering bank papers or did not call even November 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Build a winning portfolio Fidelity has best choices in highly-rated mutual funds & helpful customer service. Website is best for comparing funds & webcasts are great for keeping you informed. November 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Owner The best! I have had an account with Fidelity for over 23 years and it was the best financial decision I ever made. October 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Snowflake I am very pleased with the competent and well advised help I have received from Fidelity personnel October 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by reitirement So far we like what we see. Only been with you for 4 months. October 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suggestion The website has lots of resources but they are somewhat difficult to find. It is my first time investing and I had to research a lot before actually buying the mutual funds. Since most people are like me and have no experience investing, I would suggest the following to make things simpler: 1- Make a suggestion page and divide the page in three columns: a-) Aggressive risk b-) Moderate risk c-) low risk 2- For each of the mentioned columns provide the 10 most common mutual funds, stocks, etc.. that people buy and like the most and why. Maybe include the pros and cons for each. It would be some work to create at first but once its done, you will just need to review it once in a while and it will make things a lot simpler for novices. 3- Include a comparison chart on that same page at the bottom of the page of all 30 most common stock, funds, etc.. against other popular ones such as s&p500. Hope this help. October 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accessible and Responsive Fidelity traditional and Rollover IRAs are set up so you can access different accounts and your choice of investments. Customer service reps are available 24/7, and they are truly helpful. October 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Average I would like to see more pro active advice given. Suggestions on how to stay diversified while achieving investment goals. October 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable Informative and easy to work with their traders and admin staff September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retirement Review most excellent. David was just super he put my wife and I at ease. I felt must better about my retirement in five years that I was in good shape what a piece of mind September 17, 2014
  • 2016-10-30 T07:46:00.408-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_569, tr_569
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 19 next>>