Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 546 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Say what? I have been impressed with all of the staff in Bellevue. My first account agent (who was fabulous) left Fidelity...and they helped me find a new account rep tailoring my needs to the person. I am very happy with the service! November 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to trade, secure fine --as all fidelity accounts good reseach available November 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rollover attempt has failed I have tried for over a month to rollover Funds and shares to our IRA's and the communication was good until it came time to do the actual rollover and then I did Not and have Not received a call back after I had one of your rollover specialists talk to my accountant and my transfering bank several times to make sure that Fidelity would be able to accecpt our Rollovers into our Ira's at Fidelity. I was repeatadly told that this would be possible but Fidelity did not get back to the transfering bank papers or did not call even November 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Build a winning portfolio Fidelity has best choices in highly-rated mutual funds & helpful customer service. Website is best for comparing funds & webcasts are great for keeping you informed. November 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Owner The best! I have had an account with Fidelity for over 23 years and it was the best financial decision I ever made. October 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Snowflake I am very pleased with the competent and well advised help I have received from Fidelity personnel October 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by reitirement So far we like what we see. Only been with you for 4 months. October 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suggestion The website has lots of resources but they are somewhat difficult to find. It is my first time investing and I had to research a lot before actually buying the mutual funds. Since most people are like me and have no experience investing, I would suggest the following to make things simpler: 1- Make a suggestion page and divide the page in three columns: a-) Aggressive risk b-) Moderate risk c-) low risk 2- For each of the mentioned columns provide the 10 most common mutual funds, stocks, etc.. that people buy and like the most and why. Maybe include the pros and cons for each. It would be some work to create at first but once its done, you will just need to review it once in a while and it will make things a lot simpler for novices. 3- Include a comparison chart on that same page at the bottom of the page of all 30 most common stock, funds, etc.. against other popular ones such as s&p500. Hope this help. October 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accessible and Responsive Fidelity traditional and Rollover IRAs are set up so you can access different accounts and your choice of investments. Customer service reps are available 24/7, and they are truly helpful. October 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Average I would like to see more pro active advice given. Suggestions on how to stay diversified while achieving investment goals. October 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable Informative and easy to work with their traders and admin staff September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retirement Review most excellent. David was just super he put my wife and I at ease. I felt must better about my retirement in five years that I was in good shape what a piece of mind September 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent service The service is excellent and all employees have the best attitude, knowledge and are more than glad to help.; September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA I rolled over my 401(k) several years ago upon retiring. I now have excellent choices for investment, easy access to account information anytime, the best of research tools and a great staff who will assist me anytime. September 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by company tax deferred IRA It is great as long as the market continues to grow and/or stabilize. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by account representative Recently met with your account representative to evaluate my portfolio and he did an excellent job. September 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Basic platform The Fidelity IRA platform offers a wide variety of Fidelity and non-fidelity funds, as well as bonds, options, and CD's. Nothing stands out in regard to customer service. Value wise, trading fees are too high. Fidelity mutual fund fees are high, considering the huge sums that are invested September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by comprehensive and safe I've worked closely with Fidelity for many years. Last year I got out of the market at a downturn. Later, my wife got sick and then died. I haven't gotten back in yet, but need to. I have great confidence in Fidelity. September 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not Customer Friendly I completed an asset transfer online. I realized that I had made a grave error in filling out the form, but I was not able to delete it and start over. After much discussion with several different customer service representatives I was told it simply was not possible to delete a completed asset transfer. They said it would drop off the system after 90 days. However, the asset transfers of March and April of this year are still there. I would like to transfer more assets to Fidelity but I won't do it until the existing asset transfer requests are deleted. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy I honestly haven't looked at my IRA since it opened. I set it up to automatically transfer money directly out of my account once a month. It's perfect for someone like me that doesn't want to spend a lot of time on it. August 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good there is no long waiting time for connecting customer service and got good response. August 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple and efficient This IRA was easy to establish and is easy to maintain. August 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall, no complaints the account was opened quite easily, and though I've only had it about one year, there have been no problems with it. the trading systems are similar for all Fidelity accounts so far as I know, and they are pretty easy to work with. August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Non-deductible IRA I think it would be helpful if you would label a Traditional IRA as either deductible or non-deductible, instead of just Traditional IRA. This would clarify things and make it easier at tax time. July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by johne Do nothing with stocks and bonds in my account and just take MRD at years begining. July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Traditional IRA Review In January after talking to a coworker who highly recommend Fidelity to me, I moved all my IRA, my wife's IRA accounts to Fidelity. So far I am really happy with the move. I particularly like Fidelity's customer service. Every time and any time I have a question, I can pick up the phone to call for help and the reps at Fidelity is really polite and helpful. Another reason I moved all my IRA accounts to Fidelity is the investment options it provides. There are so many great mutual funds, ETF, etc to select from. And it's very convenient to have all the accounts in one place. It's much easier to manage. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Informative and easy I like the idea that I am in control of my financial future but Fidelity is by my side to guide me with information about investments that work best for me and customer service if I need it. Also, the easy online access keeps me in the drivers seat. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Research Tools I have used the mutual fund research tools extensively. I am pleased with the decisions I have made with the assistance of my Fidelity rep. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worry free plus nice website The Fidelity IRA has no limit to the choices of investments, but with help of our Fidelity advisor, I chose a Fidelity mutual fund that is meeting my needs. I also appreciate the nice website that makes tracking and comparing easy. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't ask for anything more I was blown away by the level of support when answering questions about rolling over a 401k to a traditional IRA. July 15, 2014
  • 2016-07-27 T08:05:50.108-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_546, tr_546
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 19 next>>