Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2016 and 2017: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 569 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful and dependable Good info behind their products. Makes it east for us aging folk. Willing to give good info to people with small accounts. April 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to follow The Fidelity website is easy to navigate to find the latest information. My account representative is easily accessible. April 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Gold Standard Fidelity represents an exceptional value and is the gold standard for customer service. April 27, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Discouraged I'm considering moving my money based completely on how user unfriendly your website is. It is difficult to get into, impossible to understand and then equally impossible to get help on the phone. Nothing like having money somewhere and don't have any access to it. I'm interested in investing but goodness knows I won't be able to get anybody to help me. I called one time and they told me I'd have to call back and talk to somebody else. ???? The only positive I have is that the last person I spoke to was helpful and apologetic and very courteous. Just took me three days to get to talk to him. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 100% Flexibility Fidelity's wide array of investments (funds, ETFs, CDs) combined with its superlative online brokerage account services and advice, provides 100% flexibility in my financial planning. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA Great service. Everyone is very happy & helpful. The pricing seems fair. April 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Need of Bank Pass code to fund IRA Given the choice of not funding my IRA this year or giving my online banking credentials to Fidelity. I'll choose to not fund my IRA. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA Is The Best Deal I tell everybody who will listen to open a Fidelity Roth IRA. It's the best deal for anyone saving for retirement. Fidelity offers so many choices for investing and is so convenient. What are you waiting for? April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Communication The two agents I work with go above and beyond to take care of my needs. They provide great communication and I am so glad I transferred both my pension and 401K proceeds to Fidelity. It's comforting to have someone truly looking out for my best interests! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe, secure and user friendly My Fidelity IRAs keeps my retirement assets safe and secure, and the extensive user friendly website provides me with all the necessary tools to manage my accounts. April 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by customer service the account rep does not keep in contact. asked for quarterly meetings with this person and so far no calls. The mobile app is great April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by reliable and informative I am overall satisfied with the ease of trades and the attentive customer service April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Traditional IRA Good Investment The IRA has functioned well, but transferring money from cash to mutual funds seems more cumbersome that from earlier years, or the process has been changed. The actual transfer from one investment type to another seems to take several days to complete. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA I had a previous financial planner who did things for her best interest. As soon as I switched to Fidelity, my interests were watched for my future. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tradition IRA I like the yearly calculation for me so that I can plan to withdraw min distribution. I also like the in kind transfer asset and I don't have to sell the assets in order to transfer. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Functional & dependable Great functionality and ease of access in a secure environment. March 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by John S I established the IRA with Fidelity in October 2014. I'm still getting used to your procedures. I'm doing OK with some on line purchases. I'm satisfied that expenses can be kept low by using trade free purchases. I fell comfortable with my money being with Fidelity. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding... fidelity is the very finest investment institution available... March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Site becoming too complex I used to monitor, trade & adjust my IRA on a monthly basis. Since the site has gotten so complex, I get here about once every 6 months now. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Love using my self directed IRA with Fidelity. If I need assistance, Fidelity is always totally professional and very helpful. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great I really like my Fidelity IRA. I had been a long time Fidelity 401k member. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Least Costly Fidelity is the least draining on your accounts. Knowledgeable associates. Excellent on line service. March 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Customer Experience For a new investor, Fidelity is not the way to go. There are much better options and better companies for new investors who need more information/research. I would not suggest Fidelity for anyone getting started. March 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by ira review I like the screens available and the info on sector and apportionment where i can elect % or $ to evaluate my position. I also like the analysis showing the morningstar ratings and info. The return % info seems to be consistently wrong or out of date. I want to be able to see ROI based on my initial investment. March 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by User interface for trades could be improved The IRA interface should provide a similar capability to the "rebalance" page on the 401K side. Being able to see the range of trades in one view makes it easier to do the rebalance work that involves several trades accurately March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable So far, so good. Our personal rep is very easy to work with as well as extremely knologeable March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Investment Vehicle Fantastic company and a great way to invest in the market. They have been very helpful in getting me up and running and have provided great insight on how to reach my financial goals. March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Longtime This IRA was opened over 30 years ago and we have happy ever since. Wide range of investment options and good service. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 401K rollover and investment counseling I had a 401K account with Fidelity for many years. I retired and discovered that my only distribution option with my 401K was total. I rolled my 401K into the current IRA account with the help of Adam, (my Fidelity premium accounts advisor). I called your 800 support number looking for assistance with my 401K options and was not informed that I was entitled to support from a local Fidelity investment counselor. I discovered the local Fidelity office on your website and called and spoke with Adam. He informed me that that I was entitled to support from a local premium accounts advisor and that he would be my advisor. I would not have kept my investment with Fidelity if it had not have been for Adam and the local office. Adam has done a fabulous assisting me with my 401K rollover, investment planning and fund analysis and selection. He has been everything that I could ask for from an investment counselor. I have worked with 4 different advisors at my other brokerage firm and none of them compare to Adam. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good A little overwhelming at first but lots of options. February 23, 2015
  • 2016-10-30 T07:46:00.467-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_569, tr_569
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 19 next>>