• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Tax advantages

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Account features

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 434 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nest Egg My Fidelity IRA account has been very flexible, convenient, and feedback has been very timely. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by complicated call in You could make it much easier to call a Rep. instead of having to do handstands and punch in a bunch of numbers etc. I haven't called in over a year. If I can't do it my PC, forget it. DS January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent suggestions and follow up I am well satisfied with the service provided. my financial planner and the premium team are very helpful and thorough in executing my plan of action. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Your Responsible for your Retirement Thank you to Fidelity for providing me with all of the selection and no fee retirement accounts. Other family members have been hooked by brokerage firms that tell you how they want you to invest, usually in Front Loaded Funds, and then charge a management fee even if the account loses money. I appreciate that I have a wide selection of funds so that I have great choices to balance my Portfolio. Thank you for the tools that help people understand how much they have to save to be prepared to retire. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use 2013 was my first year of taking a distribution from my IRA. I was delighted to see how easy Fidelity has made the process! I was able to set up my RMD payment schedule online and Fidelity took care of calculating the amount. I also appreciated the timely reminders re' requirement to take the RMD before the end of the year. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Customer service has always been great. All of the questions I've had has been answered to my understanding. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by dependable and secure helpful, knowledgeable, mindful, pleasant, courteous January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easily managed Fidelity offers a wide array of tools that you can use to easily manage your account and help assist you on your way to a successful retirement. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity, First class At Fidelity, I always find friendly efficient service and have never been left unsatisfied. The platform and reports are exceptionally easy to read and understand, The platform supports every level of sophistication and offers the investor numerous ways to learn and mature. Moving on to "Active Trader Pro", it is simple to use, so much a wealth of information I'm not sure it is possible to learn all it offers. I'll be at it for years to come. Thanks January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by simple and cost effective easy to work with tools. analyses are clear and concise. customer service personnel when needed are readily available and competent. research tools are well designed and simple to use. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure & reliable Anyone I have ever talked to at Fidelity have been great. I am very satisfied. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Well With Little Effort I don't like to have my accounts run my life. I am retired and appreciate your methods of keeping my life simple. January 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good, but not great Fidelity's IRA offerings are pretty good. but certain aspects prevent them from being great. First, the good - company that is trust worthy, GREAT research options, good online features. The bad - commissions that are slightly above average for an online broker, website is tough to use and often takes too many steps to navigate, slow transfer of funds. Overall I am satisfied with the offering, but there is certainly a lot of room for improvement. January 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Retirement Savings Account The Fidelity Traditional IRA has provided an excellent way to save for retirement and manage money after retirement. My IRA includes funds that were rolled over from a 401k plan after retirement to create a single retirement fund that simplifies managing withdrawals and asset allocation adjustments. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Traditional IRA Fidelity is an excellent host with a single source for all your investment options. January 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs better on-line security Investment tools are excellent. Customer service is also very good. My only complaint is that you need to provide for more robust (and longer) passwords as well as dual authentication log-in capability. I am concerned that security on accounts is lacking. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My IRA Very happy with the overall service provided by Fidelity. The only complain that I have is I will like to be able to obtain year end report of all of the account activities. This will help in eliminating savings of all monthly statements. This report is being provided by your competitors. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by always available,excellent advice! Sheldon and his team are the best-we feel as though we are treated as family.They are knowledgeable, helpful and friendly without being pushy.I feel very comfortable having them advise us with our retirement account.We highly recommend them to anyone looking for financial advisors. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ira I like the improvements I have seen over the past 2 yrs. I would like to recommend that the functionality of "compare" on the stock analysis page extends further to comparing key ratios between stocks. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy camper I have recommended this product to countless people. Great service and convenience, while very low cost. The educational materials and information available to investors is amazing. My only complaint is a little silly. Every time they "improve" the website it takes me a few weeks to figure everything out ! Then I slowly discover it really is better, and I"m a happy camper again. I have had a Fidelity IRA for over 30 years and have been a very satisfied customer. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Is Well Fidelity handles my IRA effeciently, and effectively. Great value for the customers. Fidelity continues to be at the top water mark for investor services John Bernard January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Easy to use I transferred to Fidelity's Traditional IRA several years ago and I appreciate the quality customer service for guidance and also the ease of use of their website for getting up-to-date information. January 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Limited Selection Very disappointed that Fidelity won't allow me to buy the bonds I want to in my IRA account. Maybe moving to another Broker. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long time happy customer I have been with Fidelity for over 20 years and have seen continual improvements. I would recommend them highly. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleased Fidelity is recognized as a quality trustworthy name so therefore I feel comfortable and secure with my IRA in your hands. Fidelity gives concise but complete data, easy to access and understand, actually everything I need is a click away. I particularly enjoy the notices I receive from Fidelity keeping me alert to pertinent information. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Value The Fidelity Traditional IRA is a good value. I can invest in any stock for just 7.95 per trade at my level of assets, and this is one of the lowest out there. When you consider how thorough Fidelity is in their business, dotting every "i" and crossing every "t", it's incredible that they can actually make money on these types of accounts. I trust Fidelity because they are so thorough. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Appleseed The service by all of the staff is excellent. They are courteous, efficient and knowledgeable. There is both a breath and depth in all financial matters. As an older person, I find a friendly environment to conduct my financial affairs. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable Being over 701/2 I have to make the required distributions. I would like easy access to the factor each year. January 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Feedback I like all my Fidelity accounts, the offerings available and the great customer service. I am currently not contributing to my traditional IRA in order to build my cash position pre-retirement. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent but with a glitch Typing in the "Username", No Problem! Sliding down to Password", another site segment sometimes pops up resulting in the need to retype the "Username" and try and slide down to the "Password" again. Occasionally even the second try fails resulting in a second repeat. If one tries getting down to the "Password", "Tab"ing from the "Username", entry to the site is rejected. January 27, 2014
  • 2015-03-28T10:32:07.413-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_434, tr_434
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560589.9.1