Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 554 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and Easy I like the tradional IRA because it's Online accessible, Easy to manage and great customer care. July 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cost Basis It would be nice if Fidelity also included in the "Total" the totaled "Cost Basis" amount (and the same goes for Individual accounts!!) July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding IRA I love the flexibility I have to invest my funds in an almost unlimited number of possibilities. I also appreciate the excellent customer service provided by the Fidelity representative in Austin. July 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure good brokerage firm. good website. easy to do trade. July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I'm very impressed by the overall experience that Fidelity has to offer. Good customer service, knowledgeable people to assist with questions. I feel very confident having them to guide me financially July 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Website Entire Fidelity website is too complicated, too difficult toi navigate. June 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by z Fidelity provides a great service. I am totally satisfied June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure, reliable and easy to access My Fidelity Traditional Ira account provide me with so much investment information and great tips on how to manage my investments. I feel very confident in the research information as well as the learning center. The news and updates on my portfolio to keep me abreast of certain changes are invaluable. Thank you for all you do!!! June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ira Review Easy and convenient of transfer from employer reirement plan June 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great IRA I opened an IRA (standard) for 2014 with Fidelity. It was simple, easy forms and was set up in no time. I'm having my son transfer his old 401(k) funds into one of his own June 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much better than previous carrier. I previously held my funds with another carrier. I really appreciate the transparency that Fidelity offers. I now have access to so much more information-- information that will hopefully translate into not just a more informative experience, but a more profitable one, as well. June 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Who Am I? You don't know who I am. You've changed my investment counselor and never informed me. I've had to contact Fidelity twice by phone to inquire why my dividends were still being reinvested when I changed that upon joining Fidelity. I've had to contact Fidelity twice by phone then twice by written request to set up a transfer funds account with my bank. The $600 sign on bonus was not forthcoming when I opened my account. That took more shepherding by me. I'm not impressed. May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent in every way I have always handled my IRA's as self directed and Fidelity makes it very easy and convenient to do this. On the rare occasions when I had questions about something the customer reps were readily available and extremely helpful. Fidelity has a large number of mutual funds allocate the total of the IRA to and it is very simple and easy to transfer between the funds if/when I desire to do this. May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Excellent Service Fidelity did it all for me. Set it up and made it happen. 100% pleased with Fidelity customer service. May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Brokerage account Fidelity is consistent across the board, as usual. May 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too many barriers While the investment options in Fidelity IRAs are great, the fees involved, and the difficulties of using their clunky and unreliable website just aren't worth it. May 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure and trustworthy fidelity has done exactly what was agreed in transferring acts. however when granted free trades , their no way to know how many trades are left and appropriate time-lapse?? May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Open and accessible Good, accessible and convenient. Good service representives. May 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Service Person I spoke to was very pleasant and explained every detail as to what was taking place with my trades. Could not have asked for better service. May 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Issues 1) A simple request to stop two identical emails was met with bureaucratic nonsense. 2) I ask for the home page to better reflect my needs and was told: yes, we're working on it; someday it might happen. 3) While I really like my account manager, he only sets up the initial accounts; any real help will require additional fees. Lots of people will do this for 1%. May 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA Having transferred funds from another brokerage, I opened an IRA account to hold these funds. The process was quite simple and convenient. All transactions have been handled seamlessly. My hat is off for a job well done. April 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful and dependable Good info behind their products. Makes it east for us aging folk. Willing to give good info to people with small accounts. April 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to follow The Fidelity website is easy to navigate to find the latest information. My account representative is easily accessible. April 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Gold Standard Fidelity represents an exceptional value and is the gold standard for customer service. April 27, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Discouraged I'm considering moving my money based completely on how user unfriendly your website is. It is difficult to get into, impossible to understand and then equally impossible to get help on the phone. Nothing like having money somewhere and don't have any access to it. I'm interested in investing but goodness knows I won't be able to get anybody to help me. I called one time and they told me I'd have to call back and talk to somebody else. ???? The only positive I have is that the last person I spoke to was helpful and apologetic and very courteous. Just took me three days to get to talk to him. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 100% Flexibility Fidelity's wide array of investments (funds, ETFs, CDs) combined with its superlative online brokerage account services and advice, provides 100% flexibility in my financial planning. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA Great service. Everyone is very happy & helpful. The pricing seems fair. April 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Need of Bank Pass code to fund IRA Given the choice of not funding my IRA this year or giving my online banking credentials to Fidelity. I'll choose to not fund my IRA. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA Is The Best Deal I tell everybody who will listen to open a Fidelity Roth IRA. It's the best deal for anyone saving for retirement. Fidelity offers so many choices for investing and is so convenient. What are you waiting for? April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Communication The two agents I work with go above and beyond to take care of my needs. They provide great communication and I am so glad I transferred both my pension and 401K proceeds to Fidelity. It's comforting to have someone truly looking out for my best interests! April 6, 2015
  • 2016-08-23 T11:24:57.294-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_554, tr_554
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 19 next>>