• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Tax advantages

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Account features

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 434 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Traditional IRA I like Fidelity and rate it very high. I particularly think the website is good. My ONLY complaint about Fidelity is I think their fee for buying certain mutual funds is too high. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA Review I don't have any complaints with my IRA service except the fact that I have never been able to determine what I'm paying for the service. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful The traditional IRA is helpful because I received this money from my divorce and it's helped me build my retirement. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Traditional IRA Review The Fidelity IRA is easy to access and informative. It also allows online trading and record keeping for tax purposes. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure customer service has always been helpful have gone above and beyond in finding solutions to my concerns January 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by RETIRED ACCESS EASY. INFORMATION HELPFUL THAT IS PUBLISHED. WOULD APPRECIATE A CLOSE OFFICE FOR FACE TO FACE DISCUSSION. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by retirement I have always been impressed with Fidelity's customer service. I have always received correct and courteous answers, however, I have to say I have not figured out how to use Active Traderpro yet. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and affordable Site is rarely down and seems accurate . I appreciate the reasonable commission . January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable and secure I have had an account with Fidelity for many years. I have always had excellent service from them. One of the things I'm really happy with is the security that I have in dealing with them. One thing I don't want is to find out that some of my account information has been stolen. I have complete confidence that Fidelity will continue to keep up with the latest security features. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable and feature rich I like that commissions are reasonable and mailed statements are good. I like the option to re-invest dividends for no cost. I like that I can expand a particular holding and see when all shares were bought. Also that I can see the cost basis. I don't know of any thing else needed. Keep up the good work. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Customer service reps are knowledgeable and very competent. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by efficient and inexpensive I like the ability to invest in what I want, when I want it and for as little or long time as I want. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good, reliable information and statements The online database is very good. The information I seek for on the site is easily accessible, well presented and with helpful details. Also, when I contact an IRA rep I get quick and helpful guidance and answers to my questions. Keep up the good work.!!!! January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use. lot of choices. good research. easy statements. been a customer for years. have regular and roth ira's. statements are easy to understand. I actively manage my ira's. trades easy to make and inexpensive. good selection of products. I use many kind of asset classes. mutual funds, etf's, closed end funds, mlp's, stocks. customer service always good. I recommend fidelity to all my friends. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Active Trader I joined Fidelity in October and am a user of Active Trader Pro. Still learning what all is offered within Active Trader Pro and the various analysis available. At this time my opinion of Active Trader, it is very user friendly and much better then other products I have used in the past. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Evaluation I have nothing but praise for the help,courtesy and easy of getting to talk to someone. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Your money, Information immediate! Fidelity Traditional IRA provides secure, immediate access to my accounts which keeps me in tune to what the market is doing at all times. I would be lost without it! Past IRA administrators from other companies controlled everything and was lucky to see my account once a month!!! Love the immediate access on line. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr Its worked. A quite successful government program. One that far too few people could afford to take part in. I hope my IRA- shavings lasts. January 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Review is for Fidelity as a whole. My review concerns Fidelity Investments, not just our IRA. We are disappointed in the service we recently received from your Fixed Income Department. We are presently looking at other investment firms to handle our accounts. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity is the benchmark for the consumer investment industry. The website is full-functioning and easy to use. The cost to trade are among the lowest; they offer at least 65 ETFs that have ZERO commisions covering a wide range of investment sectors. The Fidelity family of mutual fund overings are among the industry leaders, and you have access to almost anything your could ever want from other Mutual Fund families. Simple to set up direct transfers from your bank (or banks). I love the easy-to-read consolidated statements. I don't have to spend so much time looking for (or keeping track of) the various accounts I have with them (brokerage acct, (2) cash management accts w/ check writing, Trad. IRA, Roth IRA) I don't use the on-line bill paying feature, but I am thinking about switching most of that into Fidelity. I am going to get a Fidelity AmEx credit card, too. You earn 2% cash back for all purchases (not just the flavor-of-the-month promo stuff) which gets deposited directly into the account of your choosing. WOW! I love this place... ;-) January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient Excellent service and extremely convenient. Trades are processed instantly and the cost is very reasonable. Research is good but the website for research is somewhat difficult to get around in. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GOOD ON YOU, FIDELITY! I have been pleasantly please with my choice of Fidelity for a major of my IRA! I only wish that I had put all my IRA funds with you! It has been easy to sell, trade and exchange within my account. The few times that I have needed help has always been brief and effective. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good place to put IRA in very convenience and I really enjoy the freedom to buy and sell as I want. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Life Long IRA I don't remember when the original IRA legislation was passed by the US Congress, but I set-up my own individual IRA with Fidelity in that first year. At that time it was fully or almost fully deductible. However, over the years as my income increased my contribution was no longer deductible. However, I still contributed the maximum that was allowed up until the year that I retired. I still have my original IRA plus I set-up a Rollover IRA that I have since used to accumulate miscellaneous other IRAs and 401(k) plans from some short term employments and contracts that I worked on. When my wife retired, we set-up a Rollover IRA with Fidelity for her as well. My son's current employer has a 401(k) set-up with Fidelity which he participates in. I have been totally pleased with the service that Fidelity has provided over my 30 year experience with the company. The hundreds of people that I have spoken to on the telephone over the years have always been very knowledgeable and professional. The several representatives that I have dealt with face-to-face have all been very personable and caring. I have only encountered one error situation that occurred during the October 1987 crash. The matter was resolved satisfactorily within a day or so. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and complete I have really enjoyed using Fidelity.com to manage my IRA. I also really appreciate the insights and information available through fidelity.com. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by On-line Use Selling assets and obtaining withdrawals has been very convenient and effective for me when usuing the web site. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Fidelity has been a mainstay in my investment portfolio for years and has always been proactive with any issue I have. Highly recommended! January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Responsive and Helpful The web site is excellent and the costumer service is super. I track my stocks almost daily on the website and use many of the tools for assessing potential purchases. I use the stock analytic tools a lot. Anytime I have called or been called by customer service the Fidelity representatives have been extremely helpful from minor issues like "helping me reset my password" to questions on fidelity mutual funds to covered calls. I recently bought and sold a Fidelity Mutual Fund in less than 30 days and received a very kindly call letting me know I had sold too soon. I got the message and thought the caller was a very considerate man. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable I am very satisfied with your IRAs. I like your mobile app and your research tools as well. Suggestion 1: It would be very useful to be able to split screen and see both the full Trade Stocks/ETFs screen and the full Portfolio Positions screen at the same time. As it is, I have to load Fidelity twice and reduce them in size and place them side by side manually to do that. Suggestion 2: I have two Roth accounts in Fidelity. One I use for IRA conversion to Roth funds, the other as my long term ROTH. When I want to move funds from the conversion Roth to the other I must call Fidelity and request you to do that -- as you do not have a means on your web site to allow me to transfer those funds. Your folks do make the change lightning fast -- but why not make that transfer user accessible as with other accounts? January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, safe and reliable Perfect choice. Great website, great products and easy to deal with and low cost! January 29, 2014
  • 2015-03-27T09:45:08.521-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_434, tr_434
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560589.9.1