Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 554 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable I find Fidelity to be a wise and safe way to invest one's IRA. I also appreciate the frequent updates via email. December 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by accounts online is excellent. Telephone service is hard to get past robot answering. December 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by laboratory scientist friendly, knowledgeable representatives that are secure and reliable. December 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure and Informative Happy with IRA . Customer service was very helpful in my set-up. I fine with my numbers so far and the information that is made available to me. November 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well managed during difficult times I am very pleased with the advice and guidance I have received from Fidelity. November 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Satisfied I received outstanding financial advice on how to manage my retirement money. I wanted something conservative, and I ended up with the perfect solution -- after reviewing options with the fixed income team.. November 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by my regular ira with fidelity it meets my current needs. Only negative is that with the current transfer into Fidelity this calendar year, even though I input the MRD, the system won't catch it and track it. November 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great company I have found Fidelity to be very honest and helpful. They have been very good at getting me better prices then expected. November 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent convenience and value online. I FIND THE SITE QUITE USEFUL AND EASY TO NAVIGATE AROUND. CUSTOMER SERVICE IS HELPFUL ALSO EXCEPT A NUMBER OF TIMES I'VE WAITED 20 MINUTES OR MORE AND THIS IS A PROBLEM. November 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to navigate I find the ability to drill down and see the value, gain/loss and cost in an easy to read format very helpful November 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good and bad The computer software to monitor the account is great. The lack of personal follow-up concerning advise is poor to nonexistent. The Fidelity professionals should contact the account holder at least once a quarter. Offering on line investment topics to listen to is not a substitute for individual service. October 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cannot set up EFT on-line despite hours phone reps unhelpful and just transferred me around. October 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great choice of investment. Trustworthy I have always viewed Fidelity as trustworthy. Their IRA has only helped sure me about their commitment. I love the vast range of choices for investments. October 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need more information about fund choices Wish I could talk to a rep at Fidelity about better choices regarding retirement funds for a late 50's investor. October 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Easy It is so easy working with Fidelity. I trust them and find their web site easy to navigate. October 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good offerings, reasonable costs, excellent customer service I have been happy overall with Fidelity's Traditional IRA. The offering are good with reasonable costs, and with excellent customer service. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love My IRA Easy to contribute money. All the investment options one could want. September 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service! I've been with Fidelity for a very long time and their accuracy, documentation, and service have been excellent! September 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Proprietary 60 Day Mutual Fund REDEMPTION FEES In spite of virtually all Mutual Fund families doing away with their, once popular, 30-Day Redemption Fees, FIDELITY imposes a PROPRIETARY 60 Day REDEMPTION FEE, even on exchanges made between funds in the same fund family, even in fund families who have NO Redemption Fee in their prospectus. Fidelity even imposes this 60-Day fee on funds on their NTF ("No Transaction Fee") List. When you limit LIQUIDITY, you only serve to limit the usefulness of the Mutual Fund, not to mention Fidelity's On Line trading platform for the serious investor. One can only hope that Fidelity will re-think the merits of this policy and eliminate their 60-Day Proprietary Redemption Fee, much as their OnLine competitors have done. Frustrating! September 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service We have had a very positive experience with Fidelity. August 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied so far I'm relatively new to Fidelity but have been navigating my IRA without problems for the most part. August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Fidelity provides all kinds of account management options as well as investment tools and education for DIY. August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Superb service, easy to navigate websites with professional advice if needed. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort level My representative is nothing short of amazing. He is knowledgeable about all Fidelity products and presented them in a clear and concise manner. August 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Can usually work with it. I have some trouble contacting my account representaive. She never seems to be taling calls. I leave messages and she takes too much time to respond to them. July 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great customer service I have had my IRA investment account at Fidelity for a year now. I have had occasion to use the traders through customer service several times. Every time, the traders have been very helpful, assisting me with my account, always removing the fee so it would charge me only the online trading fee. The same is true for foreign stocks. Placed the trade for me at the online rate. Very helpful. July 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by N/A I was very disapointed to find that the agent I opened my account with left the company and I had no idea till I called to check with him on something and they told me he no longer worked there. WOW not great customer service I would say. July 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenience I find it easy to use particularly the classic site. Please continue supporting the classic site July 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by What help Once I put my money into a savings account the good help stopped. I ended picking my accounts by the number of stars with no clue if they are good for retiring in 5 years or not. Your web page is good and i have had no trouble seeing my invoice, but I don't think I would ever call and ask for help again. Which means if I want to talk to someone it will probably not be Fidelity. I transferred around 40,000 dollars and it may not be much to you but it is a heck of a lot of money to me. July 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why did it take me so long? After years of managing our IRA's through a "full" service broker I decided to go back to Fidelity. Before retirement I had an account through my employer. I was always impressed with the service. The educational tools are very useful and the trading platform is wonderful. And finally the savings on trade costs is exceptional. My only regret is not doing it 15 years ago! July 12, 2015
  • 2016-08-23 T11:24:57.279-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_554, tr_554
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>