• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now


Tax-deductible contributions1


Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.


10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½


Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

Rev up your readiness to retire
Fidelity study finds more than half of Americans at risk. Consider six steps to get on track.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 497 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by 100% Flexibility Fidelity's wide array of investments (funds, ETFs, CDs) combined with its superlative online brokerage account services and advice, provides 100% flexibility in my financial planning. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA Great service. Everyone is very happy & helpful. The pricing seems fair. April 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Need of Bank Pass code to fund IRA Given the choice of not funding my IRA this year or giving my online banking credentials to Fidelity. I'll choose to not fund my IRA. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA Is The Best Deal I tell everybody who will listen to open a Fidelity Roth IRA. It's the best deal for anyone saving for retirement. Fidelity offers so many choices for investing and is so convenient. What are you waiting for? April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Communication The two agents I work with go above and beyond to take care of my needs. They provide great communication and I am so glad I transferred both my pension and 401K proceeds to Fidelity. It's comforting to have someone truly looking out for my best interests! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe, secure and user friendly My Fidelity IRAs keeps my retirement assets safe and secure, and the extensive user friendly website provides me with all the necessary tools to manage my accounts. April 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by customer service the account rep does not keep in contact. asked for quarterly meetings with this person and so far no calls. The mobile app is great April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by reliable and informative I am overall satisfied with the ease of trades and the attentive customer service April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Traditional IRA Good Investment The IRA has functioned well, but transferring money from cash to mutual funds seems more cumbersome that from earlier years, or the process has been changed. The actual transfer from one investment type to another seems to take several days to complete. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA I had a previous financial planner who did things for her best interest. As soon as I switched to Fidelity, my interests were watched for my future. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tradition IRA I like the yearly calculation for me so that I can plan to withdraw min distribution. I also like the in kind transfer asset and I don't have to sell the assets in order to transfer. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Functional & dependable Great functionality and ease of access in a secure environment. March 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by John S I established the IRA with Fidelity in October 2014. I'm still getting used to your procedures. I'm doing OK with some on line purchases. I'm satisfied that expenses can be kept low by using trade free purchases. I fell comfortable with my money being with Fidelity. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding... fidelity is the very finest investment institution available... March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Site becoming too complex I used to monitor, trade & adjust my IRA on a monthly basis. Since the site has gotten so complex, I get here about once every 6 months now. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Love using my self directed IRA with Fidelity. If I need assistance, Fidelity is always totally professional and very helpful. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great I really like my Fidelity IRA. I had been a long time Fidelity 401k member. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Least Costly Fidelity is the least draining on your accounts. Knowledgeable associates. Excellent on line service. March 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Customer Experience For a new investor, Fidelity is not the way to go. There are much better options and better companies for new investors who need more information/research. I would not suggest Fidelity for anyone getting started. March 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by ira review I like the screens available and the info on sector and apportionment where i can elect % or $ to evaluate my position. I also like the analysis showing the morningstar ratings and info. The return % info seems to be consistently wrong or out of date. I want to be able to see ROI based on my initial investment. March 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by User interface for trades could be improved The IRA interface should provide a similar capability to the "rebalance" page on the 401K side. Being able to see the range of trades in one view makes it easier to do the rebalance work that involves several trades accurately March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable So far, so good. Our personal rep is very easy to work with as well as extremely knologeable March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Investment Vehicle Fantastic company and a great way to invest in the market. They have been very helpful in getting me up and running and have provided great insight on how to reach my financial goals. March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Longtime This IRA was opened over 30 years ago and we have happy ever since. Wide range of investment options and good service. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 401K rollover and investment counseling I had a 401K account with Fidelity for many years. I retired and discovered that my only distribution option with my 401K was total. I rolled my 401K into the current IRA account with the help of Adam, (my Fidelity premium accounts advisor). I called your 800 support number looking for assistance with my 401K options and was not informed that I was entitled to support from a local Fidelity investment counselor. I discovered the local Fidelity office on your website and called and spoke with Adam. He informed me that that I was entitled to support from a local premium accounts advisor and that he would be my advisor. I would not have kept my investment with Fidelity if it had not have been for Adam and the local office. Adam has done a fabulous assisting me with my 401K rollover, investment planning and fund analysis and selection. He has been everything that I could ask for from an investment counselor. I have worked with 4 different advisors at my other brokerage firm and none of them compare to Adam. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good A little overwhelming at first but lots of options. February 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA review The only feature missing from your account interface is the ability to view personalized rate of return. I was told by a very helpful customer service rep that my balance is not high enough to "earn" this feature. This is a basic feature seen else where that every investor, no matter how big or small, should have access to. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's just perfect My experience with Fidelity and their custumer service is perfect. Talk to real person every time I called, their screen and trading platform is just perfect. I'm glad my husband introduced me to Fidelity. I was using other company but switched to Fidelity after he showed me how convenient and customer friendly Fidelity platform is. Love it. February 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trying to get funds out is a pain... Dear folks, My only experience with my IRA has been when I tried (am still trying) to withdraw $5000 for expenses of selling our home. It seems that every term on your website, especially the ones you brag about, is geared to folks who spend a lot of time buying, selling, and analyzing. All the terminology is geared to professionals in the financial business, not to ordinary people who just want to invest some money, earn a reasonable return, and not second guess the market every day. Maybe I'm the exception to your average clientele, but your website makes me feel like I really don't belong here! There is no help screen I could find that simply explains the steps of how to sell shares in a mutual fund and have the check sent to my bank account. Why not have a tab that says "sell shares" rather than "execute a trade", once I found this link last Wednesday and used it, I still don't have my money and it's Monday night....the message is that "transaction is still pending". Maybe you don't have enough clients like me to justify a more user friendly website, but I'm an accounting professor and I'm used to being able to explain financial matters clearly and distinctly. I guess I'd expect to have explanations given to me to be just as clear. Perhaps you need to have the high level financial/it folks who put this together step back a bit and let some communications/training folks, or English majors, have more input into the user interface. At any rate, thank you very much for at least asking for our feedback! February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Professional and Helpful I have had my IRA account with Fidelity for approx. ten years. I have enjoyed the relationship, everyone is courteous and helpful. I have gained a lot of worth while information as to how to research stocks, etc. January 30, 2015
  • 2015-11-28 T12:13:28.147-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_497, tr_497
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.