Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 554 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful outline support Every time I have a question about my account, I can count on Fidelity outline support staff. June 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy setup Traditional IRA was easy to set up, and easy to review online. All accounts are rolled into one monthly report for convenience. May 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by ???? just like everything else at fidelity. any questions i may are promply and efficiently answered. May 16, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by good customer service Customer service helped me convert an inherited IRA to a traditional IRA. I didn't know this could be done, and they made the process very easy for me. It meant (I think) that I can delay a MRD until I turn 70-1/2 myself. I have other IRAs, not with Fidelity, so now I can manage all my IRAs similarly and as a group (I hope). May 16, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great enrollment options! Fidelity makes it simple and easy to enroll in retirement plans and offers a variety of plans and options to help save for retirement. This option came in very handy when I started consulting and didn't have the convenience of an employer plan. May 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to access Very good information for the novice and intermediate investor. Easy to navigate. Helpful agents when you call. May 9, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need ability to sell Call Options The fidelity IRA is outstanding, I am a strong user of the platform and I think the Active TraderPro is outstanding. But for the IRA we need the ability to sell Call options not just covered calls. This option should be presented to experienced traders. May 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trust and prosperity Great programs that support investing wisely. Good incentives to transfer in funds. Most important to me was my advisor, who is very knowledgable and gets the job done when I need help. He is the reason that I have consolidated funds from other investment firms to Fidelity. I trust Fidelity and my representative. May 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by QUITE PLEASED I've been online with Fidelity for quite awhile now. Frankly, I like the entire website. It is easy to use, informative and the research available is great. I will continue to use it and upon pending retirement I will access it even more frequently. April 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accountable and diligent Your choice of staff gives me confidence in the continuing care of my account! April 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by YES IT IS USING YOUR SITE IS INTUITIVE. THANK YOU FOR ALL THE WORK YOU PUT INTO IT TO MAKE IT EASIER FOR US TO UNDERSTAND. April 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy access I am pleased with Fidelity IRA. I have only had it for a short time. April 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by satisfied Very satisfied with overall objective. Hope the market continues in its current way. April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to trade and execute distributions I find the Fidelity website easy to use for trading, distributions and research. March 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Office advisor The advisor I ended up with was very helpful in making choices about my investments and respected my concerns. The person I was supposed to meet with did not sound very respectful of my positions and I was very glad he got ill and I ended up with someone else. I am only rating the person I met with. He was also very helpful with the paperwork. March 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Appropriate and informative Excellent, not "dumbed-down" or "overly complex" given the ability to provide too much info to those without a PhD or MBA in business. March 28, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good IRA's with Moderate Fees Fidelity offers a wide variety of IRA choices with excellent customer support. Fees are moderate. March 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Providing Everthing Necessary For Our Investment Needs After searching for many years to find investment professionals that we could trust, we struck gold with Fidelity. They offer all forms of investments at fair prices. With patient & expert guidance to help explain our options and point us in the right direction Along with a fabulous easy to navigate website with all the information we need right at our fingertips. We now feel very secure knowing that our investments are in the right place as we near retirement. March 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy access I like the fact that your customer service is extremely friendly and helpful, along with being able to make transactions on line. March 14, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by No value-add Gary was not as helpful as I had wanted - he seemed rushed and not allowing me to explain my situation - he skipped around and did not provide step by step guidance I was seeking. I am still confused on the EFT process to deposit into my ROTH IRA and if there are any restrictions for my contributions since I am a HCE in my employer 401k plan. March 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Traditional IRA Fidelity® Traditional IRA I have had my account for over a year. And love all the tools for doing your own research. Making a portfolio of your own likes and dislikes. You can be in total control of your investments, which I prefer. Or you can get a Fidelity agent to work with you advising. Any questions you may have about a online trade you have made and have a question help is just a chat online or a phone call away. Very pleased with them. And your own online trades are just $7.95 per transaction. And print out all documents for your own record file February 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to manage My experience has been that Fidelity IRA's, both Traditional and Roth accounts, are easy to manage via the internet. I have recently started receiving monthly distributions, via direct deposit to my bank account, to satisfy Required Minimum Distributions from my Traditional IRA. February 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Research Tools I very rarely utilize Customer Service. Not quite sure what Fidelity's Customer Service provides! February 15, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Monthly Statement The Monthly Statements are very long, repetitive and a waste of paper -- 11 pages for a single account. The useful needed information should fit on 2 pages. Despite the lengthy format, one piece of information is missing. I would like to see the previous month's value of each entry so I can see which one increased and which one went down and how much. February 11, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK Nothing to brag about, nothing worse than many others. February 8, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Customer Service / Funding Process Opened a new IRA with Fidelity and the funding process is horrible. You can either verify your account via mail or go to one of their investment centers. Was told by rep on the phone investment center is fastest way to do it. Drove 40 miles round trip only to find out that it still takes 3 business days to even process the form, and now being told 7 - 10 business days to verify the account is mine plus an additional 4 business days for the money to be available. Little more than 3 weeks from open to my money working for me. Have been told by multiple reps different time frames and each has a different excuse for why it takes so long. Last one blaming the weekend. Opened another IRA with a different company and from open to funded in 3 days. February 1, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by More needless problems executing simple transactions Simple transactions (e.g., sending wires to existing savings or checking accounts, which are already used for funding or receiving funds) is needlessly complex and requires extra needless steps. The workers are always courteous and want to be helpful. I find other major funds are more reasonable. February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by (Don't understand this request) Excellent choice of investments, and quick execution of trades. Love the moment by moment price updates. My only concern is navigating the client website once I'm on it. There are too many extraneous choices, and it's difficult to discover how to reach someone I can briefly speak with. I'm a $500,000+ "premium" account, and I couldn't even find the special telephone number allotted for these. All in all, a great firm though. January 31, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stable but could improve Would like better listing of nonFidelity mutual funds which would be available for IRA. Also, would like to see expenses for funds reduced to level given to established corporate 401k plans. Disappointed that the new account reports do not show month over changes in fund values. Like having a local account representative to speak to intermittently. January 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by fidelity reveiw I find he IRA and other Fidelity accounts convenient and easy to use. I do not like the informational notes that arrive as emails and do not link to the specific pertinent information. they merely link to the same generic comment as is in the email and I have to go searching for the important message. January 4, 2016
  • 2016-08-23 T11:24:57.249-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_554, tr_554
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>