• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

Rev up your readiness to retire
Fidelity study finds more than half of Americans at risk. Consider six steps to get on track.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 527 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Customer Service / Funding Process Opened a new IRA with Fidelity and the funding process is horrible. You can either verify your account via mail or go to one of their investment centers. Was told by rep on the phone investment center is fastest way to do it. Drove 40 miles round trip only to find out that it still takes 3 business days to even process the form, and now being told 7 - 10 business days to verify the account is mine plus an additional 4 business days for the money to be available. Little more than 3 weeks from open to my money working for me. Have been told by multiple reps different time frames and each has a different excuse for why it takes so long. Last one blaming the weekend. Opened another IRA with a different company and from open to funded in 3 days. February 1, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by More needless problems executing simple transactions Simple transactions (e.g., sending wires to existing savings or checking accounts, which are already used for funding or receiving funds) is needlessly complex and requires extra needless steps. The workers are always courteous and want to be helpful. I find other major funds are more reasonable. February 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by (Don't understand this request) Excellent choice of investments, and quick execution of trades. Love the moment by moment price updates. My only concern is navigating the client website once I'm on it. There are too many extraneous choices, and it's difficult to discover how to reach someone I can briefly speak with. I'm a $500,000+ "premium" account, and I couldn't even find the special telephone number allotted for these. All in all, a great firm though. January 31, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stable but could improve Would like better listing of nonFidelity mutual funds which would be available for IRA. Also, would like to see expenses for funds reduced to level given to established corporate 401k plans. Disappointed that the new account reports do not show month over changes in fund values. Like having a local account representative to speak to intermittently. January 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by fidelity reveiw I find he IRA and other Fidelity accounts convenient and easy to use. I do not like the informational notes that arrive as emails and do not link to the specific pertinent information. they merely link to the same generic comment as is in the email and I have to go searching for the important message. January 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable I find Fidelity to be a wise and safe way to invest one's IRA. I also appreciate the frequent updates via email. December 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by accounts online is excellent. Telephone service is hard to get past robot answering. December 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by laboratory scientist friendly, knowledgeable representatives that are secure and reliable. December 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure and Informative Happy with IRA . Customer service was very helpful in my set-up. I fine with my numbers so far and the information that is made available to me. November 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well managed during difficult times I am very pleased with the advice and guidance I have received from Fidelity. November 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Satisfied I received outstanding financial advice on how to manage my retirement money. I wanted something conservative, and I ended up with the perfect solution -- after reviewing options with the fixed income team.. November 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by my regular ira with fidelity it meets my current needs. Only negative is that with the current transfer into Fidelity this calendar year, even though I input the MRD, the system won't catch it and track it. November 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great company I have found Fidelity to be very honest and helpful. They have been very good at getting me better prices then expected. November 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent convenience and value online. I FIND THE SITE QUITE USEFUL AND EASY TO NAVIGATE AROUND. CUSTOMER SERVICE IS HELPFUL ALSO EXCEPT A NUMBER OF TIMES I'VE WAITED 20 MINUTES OR MORE AND THIS IS A PROBLEM. November 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to navigate I find the ability to drill down and see the value, gain/loss and cost in an easy to read format very helpful November 1, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good and bad The computer software to monitor the account is great. The lack of personal follow-up concerning advise is poor to nonexistent. The Fidelity professionals should contact the account holder at least once a quarter. Offering on line investment topics to listen to is not a substitute for individual service. October 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cannot set up EFT on-line despite hours phone reps unhelpful and just transferred me around. October 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great choice of investment. Trustworthy I have always viewed Fidelity as trustworthy. Their IRA has only helped sure me about their commitment. I love the vast range of choices for investments. October 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need more information about fund choices Wish I could talk to a rep at Fidelity about better choices regarding retirement funds for a late 50's investor. October 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Easy It is so easy working with Fidelity. I trust them and find their web site easy to navigate. October 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good offerings, reasonable costs, excellent customer service I have been happy overall with Fidelity's Traditional IRA. The offering are good with reasonable costs, and with excellent customer service. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love My IRA Easy to contribute money. All the investment options one could want. September 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service! I've been with Fidelity for a very long time and their accuracy, documentation, and service have been excellent! September 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Proprietary 60 Day Mutual Fund REDEMPTION FEES In spite of virtually all Mutual Fund families doing away with their, once popular, 30-Day Redemption Fees, FIDELITY imposes a PROPRIETARY 60 Day REDEMPTION FEE, even on exchanges made between funds in the same fund family, even in fund families who have NO Redemption Fee in their prospectus. Fidelity even imposes this 60-Day fee on funds on their NTF ("No Transaction Fee") List. When you limit LIQUIDITY, you only serve to limit the usefulness of the Mutual Fund, not to mention Fidelity's On Line trading platform for the serious investor. One can only hope that Fidelity will re-think the merits of this policy and eliminate their 60-Day Proprietary Redemption Fee, much as their OnLine competitors have done. Frustrating! September 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service We have had a very positive experience with Fidelity. August 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied so far I'm relatively new to Fidelity but have been navigating my IRA without problems for the most part. August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Fidelity provides all kinds of account management options as well as investment tools and education for DIY. August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Superb service, easy to navigate websites with professional advice if needed. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort level My representative is nothing short of amazing. He is knowledgeable about all Fidelity products and presented them in a clear and concise manner. August 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Can usually work with it. I have some trouble contacting my account representaive. She never seems to be taling calls. I leave messages and she takes too much time to respond to them. July 31, 2015
  • 2016-04-30 T05:51:09.902-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_527, tr_527
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2015 is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000. For 2016 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2016 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $184,000 for 2016; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $194,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560589.11.0