• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Tax advantages

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Account features

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 475 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Open and accessible Good, accessible and convenient. Good service representives. May 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Service Person I spoke to was very pleasant and explained every detail as to what was taking place with my trades. Could not have asked for better service. May 4, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Issues 1) A simple request to stop two identical emails was met with bureaucratic nonsense. 2) I ask for the home page to better reflect my needs and was told: yes, we're working on it; someday it might happen. 3) While I really like my account manager, he only sets up the initial accounts; any real help will require additional fees. Lots of people will do this for 1%. May 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA Having transferred funds from another brokerage, I opened an IRA account to hold these funds. The process was quite simple and convenient. All transactions have been handled seamlessly. My hat is off for a job well done. April 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful and dependable Good info behind their products. Makes it east for us aging folk. Willing to give good info to people with small accounts. April 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to follow The Fidelity website is easy to navigate to find the latest information. My account representative is easily accessible. April 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Gold Standard Fidelity represents an exceptional value and is the gold standard for customer service. April 27, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Discouraged I'm considering moving my money based completely on how user unfriendly your website is. It is difficult to get into, impossible to understand and then equally impossible to get help on the phone. Nothing like having money somewhere and don't have any access to it. I'm interested in investing but goodness knows I won't be able to get anybody to help me. I called one time and they told me I'd have to call back and talk to somebody else. ???? The only positive I have is that the last person I spoke to was helpful and apologetic and very courteous. Just took me three days to get to talk to him. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 100% Flexibility Fidelity's wide array of investments (funds, ETFs, CDs) combined with its superlative online brokerage account services and advice, provides 100% flexibility in my financial planning. April 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA Great service. Everyone is very happy & helpful. The pricing seems fair. April 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Need of Bank Pass code to fund IRA Given the choice of not funding my IRA this year or giving my online banking credentials to Fidelity. I'll choose to not fund my IRA. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA Is The Best Deal I tell everybody who will listen to open a Fidelity Roth IRA. It's the best deal for anyone saving for retirement. Fidelity offers so many choices for investing and is so convenient. What are you waiting for? April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Communication The two agents I work with go above and beyond to take care of my needs. They provide great communication and I am so glad I transferred both my pension and 401K proceeds to Fidelity. It's comforting to have someone truly looking out for my best interests! April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe, secure and user friendly My Fidelity IRAs keeps my retirement assets safe and secure, and the extensive user friendly website provides me with all the necessary tools to manage my accounts. April 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by customer service the account rep does not keep in contact. asked for quarterly meetings with this person and so far no calls. The mobile app is great April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by reliable and informative I am overall satisfied with the ease of trades and the attentive customer service April 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Traditional IRA Good Investment The IRA has functioned well, but transferring money from cash to mutual funds seems more cumbersome that from earlier years, or the process has been changed. The actual transfer from one investment type to another seems to take several days to complete. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA I had a previous financial planner who did things for her best interest. As soon as I switched to Fidelity, my interests were watched for my future. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tradition IRA I like the yearly calculation for me so that I can plan to withdraw min distribution. I also like the in kind transfer asset and I don't have to sell the assets in order to transfer. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Functional & dependable Great functionality and ease of access in a secure environment. March 23, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by John S I established the IRA with Fidelity in October 2014. I'm still getting used to your procedures. I'm doing OK with some on line purchases. I'm satisfied that expenses can be kept low by using trade free purchases. I fell comfortable with my money being with Fidelity. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by outstanding... fidelity is the very finest investment institution available... March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Site becoming too complex I used to monitor, trade & adjust my IRA on a monthly basis. Since the site has gotten so complex, I get here about once every 6 months now. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Love using my self directed IRA with Fidelity. If I need assistance, Fidelity is always totally professional and very helpful. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great I really like my Fidelity IRA. I had been a long time Fidelity 401k member. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Least Costly Fidelity is the least draining on your accounts. Knowledgeable associates. Excellent on line service. March 12, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Customer Experience For a new investor, Fidelity is not the way to go. There are much better options and better companies for new investors who need more information/research. I would not suggest Fidelity for anyone getting started. March 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by ira review I like the screens available and the info on sector and apportionment where i can elect % or $ to evaluate my position. I also like the analysis showing the morningstar ratings and info. The return % info seems to be consistently wrong or out of date. I want to be able to see ROI based on my initial investment. March 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by User interface for trades could be improved The IRA interface should provide a similar capability to the "rebalance" page on the 401K side. Being able to see the range of trades in one view makes it easier to do the rebalance work that involves several trades accurately March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable So far, so good. Our personal rep is very easy to work with as well as extremely knologeable March 9, 2015
  • 2015-07-30T12:41:14.304-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_475, tr_475
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560589.9.1