Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now


Tax-deductible contributions1


Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.


10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½


Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 569 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dependable, has my confidence. The only need for improvement: The MRD Estimate has been 0 from the inception of the account, and should be revised to indicate the true MRD. August 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent customer service I love working with everyone at Fidelity. Monte is my favor person there. August 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Growth Fidelity is great to work with because there are many options to suit your financial goals August 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by more flexibility It has only been a few months since I opened the IRA account and transferred my funds to Fidelity. Fidelity offers many more investment options than my previous financial institution - a bank where I was limited to CDs that now pay very low interest rates. July 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great customer service I'm very pleased with the help I received setting up my account. The woman I spoke with was very helpful and patient. July 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met with our Fidelity Rep. Our Fidelity Rep. offered good sound advise. He spoke clearly and in language that we could understand. Very kind, courteous and professional. July 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I'm happy The website gives me the information I need with easy access. July 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Company I've had my Fidelity account for years. They are consistently improving their services and I have yet to be disappointed. Customer service has always been very polite and they do actually follow up with you if you have any issues. July 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Evaluation Wonderful experience. Professional treatment. Thanks! July 11, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure so far so good. I should have switched to Fideltiy July 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by REVIEW I like the Fidelity trader pro, although I think it could improve in some areas. Daily dashboard should provide GOLD and OIL prices as well as the indecies. certain details and research are not reflected in the mobile version and rewverse. It would be nice to have all the same info on both mobile and desk top. June 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by simple It's nice and clean and simple and inexpensive, which I appreciate. The bit of frustration is that since my wife and I are on assignment in London, it's not possible for us to link these new IRAs to each other's accounts (medallion signatures are very US-centric). So even though the rest of our accounts are linked, when we sign in we know we're missing the whole picture. We have a dozen Fidelity accounts--why we need to go through this torturous process every time we open a new account? June 13, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by NEW WEBSITE It needs a lot of IMPROVEMENTS which I have given FEEDBACK on several times in the past year, namely: (1) The LEFT COLUMN of ACCUNTS MOVES UP & DOWN when we scroll on MUTUAL FUND NAMES in POSITIONS PAGE. The LEFT COLUMN of ACCOUNT NAMES should be DECOUPLED. I have 47 accounts to manage, and this becomes a NUISSANCE. (2) on POSITIONS PAGE, the column of SYMBOLS should also allow us to SORT by NAMES of MUTUAL FUNDS (the previous version used to allow the same). (3) On POSITIONS PAGE, we should be able to SORT by 52-WEEK HIGH/LOW. This facilitates our TRADING DECISIONS. (4) On POSITIONS PAGE under customize if we select "EXPAND SECURITY NAME, it should retain that as a DEFAULT, unless we remove the default. Because of these many HANDICAPS, I would NOT recommend any fidelity accounts (BROKERAGE and/or RETIREMENT. June 8, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by retirement just a place to put my retirement money, nothing attractive June 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by convenient I like the online easiness of being able to access my account. June 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful outline support Every time I have a question about my account, I can count on Fidelity outline support staff. June 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy setup Traditional IRA was easy to set up, and easy to review online. All accounts are rolled into one monthly report for convenience. May 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by ???? just like everything else at fidelity. any questions i may are promply and efficiently answered. May 16, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by good customer service Customer service helped me convert an inherited IRA to a traditional IRA. I didn't know this could be done, and they made the process very easy for me. It meant (I think) that I can delay a MRD until I turn 70-1/2 myself. I have other IRAs, not with Fidelity, so now I can manage all my IRAs similarly and as a group (I hope). May 16, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great enrollment options! Fidelity makes it simple and easy to enroll in retirement plans and offers a variety of plans and options to help save for retirement. This option came in very handy when I started consulting and didn't have the convenience of an employer plan. May 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to access Very good information for the novice and intermediate investor. Easy to navigate. Helpful agents when you call. May 9, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need ability to sell Call Options The fidelity IRA is outstanding, I am a strong user of the platform and I think the Active TraderPro is outstanding. But for the IRA we need the ability to sell Call options not just covered calls. This option should be presented to experienced traders. May 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trust and prosperity Great programs that support investing wisely. Good incentives to transfer in funds. Most important to me was my advisor, who is very knowledgable and gets the job done when I need help. He is the reason that I have consolidated funds from other investment firms to Fidelity. I trust Fidelity and my representative. May 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by QUITE PLEASED I've been online with Fidelity for quite awhile now. Frankly, I like the entire website. It is easy to use, informative and the research available is great. I will continue to use it and upon pending retirement I will access it even more frequently. April 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accountable and diligent Your choice of staff gives me confidence in the continuing care of my account! April 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy access I am pleased with Fidelity IRA. I have only had it for a short time. April 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by satisfied Very satisfied with overall objective. Hope the market continues in its current way. April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to trade and execute distributions I find the Fidelity website easy to use for trading, distributions and research. March 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Office advisor The advisor I ended up with was very helpful in making choices about my investments and respected my concerns. The person I was supposed to meet with did not sound very respectful of my positions and I was very glad he got ill and I ended up with someone else. I am only rating the person I met with. He was also very helpful with the paperwork. March 28, 2016
  • 2016-10-25 T08:02:46.057-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_569, tr_569
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>