• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

Rev up your readiness to retire
Fidelity study finds more than half of Americans at risk. Consider six steps to get on track.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 510 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great choice of investment. Trustworthy I have always viewed Fidelity as trustworthy. Their IRA has only helped sure me about their commitment. I love the vast range of choices for investments. October 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need more information about fund choices Wish I could talk to a rep at Fidelity about better choices regarding retirement funds for a late 50's investor. October 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Easy It is so easy working with Fidelity. I trust them and find their web site easy to navigate. October 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good offerings, reasonable costs, excellent customer service I have been happy overall with Fidelity's Traditional IRA. The offering are good with reasonable costs, and with excellent customer service. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love My IRA Easy to contribute money. All the investment options one could want. September 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service! I've been with Fidelity for a very long time and their accuracy, documentation, and service have been excellent! September 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Proprietary 60 Day Mutual Fund REDEMPTION FEES In spite of virtually all Mutual Fund families doing away with their, once popular, 30-Day Redemption Fees, FIDELITY imposes a PROPRIETARY 60 Day REDEMPTION FEE, even on exchanges made between funds in the same fund family, even in fund families who have NO Redemption Fee in their prospectus. Fidelity even imposes this 60-Day fee on funds on their NTF ("No Transaction Fee") List. When you limit LIQUIDITY, you only serve to limit the usefulness of the Mutual Fund, not to mention Fidelity's On Line trading platform for the serious investor. One can only hope that Fidelity will re-think the merits of this policy and eliminate their 60-Day Proprietary Redemption Fee, much as their OnLine competitors have done. Frustrating! September 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service We have had a very positive experience with Fidelity. August 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied so far I'm relatively new to Fidelity but have been navigating my IRA without problems for the most part. August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Fidelity provides all kinds of account management options as well as investment tools and education for DIY. August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Superb service, easy to navigate websites with professional advice if needed. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort level My representative is nothing short of amazing. He is knowledgeable about all Fidelity products and presented them in a clear and concise manner. August 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Can usually work with it. I have some trouble contacting my account representaive. She never seems to be taling calls. I leave messages and she takes too much time to respond to them. July 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great customer service I have had my IRA investment account at Fidelity for a year now. I have had occasion to use the traders through customer service several times. Every time, the traders have been very helpful, assisting me with my account, always removing the fee so it would charge me only the online trading fee. The same is true for foreign stocks. Placed the trade for me at the online rate. Very helpful. July 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by N/A I was very disapointed to find that the agent I opened my account with left the company and I had no idea till I called to check with him on something and they told me he no longer worked there. WOW not great customer service I would say. July 21, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenience I find it easy to use particularly the classic site. Please continue supporting the classic site July 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by What help Once I put my money into a savings account the good help stopped. I ended picking my accounts by the number of stars with no clue if they are good for retiring in 5 years or not. Your web page is good and i have had no trouble seeing my invoice, but I don't think I would ever call and ask for help again. Which means if I want to talk to someone it will probably not be Fidelity. I transferred around 40,000 dollars and it may not be much to you but it is a heck of a lot of money to me. July 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why did it take me so long? After years of managing our IRA's through a "full" service broker I decided to go back to Fidelity. Before retirement I had an account through my employer. I was always impressed with the service. The educational tools are very useful and the trading platform is wonderful. And finally the savings on trade costs is exceptional. My only regret is not doing it 15 years ago! July 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and Easy I like the tradional IRA because it's Online accessible, Easy to manage and great customer care. July 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cost Basis It would be nice if Fidelity also included in the "Total" the totaled "Cost Basis" amount (and the same goes for Individual accounts!!) July 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding IRA I love the flexibility I have to invest my funds in an almost unlimited number of possibilities. I also appreciate the excellent customer service provided by the Fidelity representative in Austin. July 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure good brokerage firm. good website. easy to do trade. July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I'm very impressed by the overall experience that Fidelity has to offer. Good customer service, knowledgeable people to assist with questions. I feel very confident having them to guide me financially July 8, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Website Entire Fidelity website is too complicated, too difficult toi navigate. June 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by z Fidelity provides a great service. I am totally satisfied June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure, reliable and easy to access My Fidelity Traditional Ira account provide me with so much investment information and great tips on how to manage my investments. I feel very confident in the research information as well as the learning center. The news and updates on my portfolio to keep me abreast of certain changes are invaluable. Thank you for all you do!!! June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ira Review Easy and convenient of transfer from employer reirement plan June 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great IRA I opened an IRA (standard) for 2014 with Fidelity. It was simple, easy forms and was set up in no time. I'm having my son transfer his old 401(k) funds into one of his own June 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much better than previous carrier. I previously held my funds with another carrier. I really appreciate the transparency that Fidelity offers. I now have access to so much more information-- information that will hopefully translate into not just a more informative experience, but a more profitable one, as well. June 8, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Who Am I? You don't know who I am. You've changed my investment counselor and never informed me. I've had to contact Fidelity twice by phone to inquire why my dividends were still being reinvested when I changed that upon joining Fidelity. I've had to contact Fidelity twice by phone then twice by written request to set up a transfer funds account with my bank. The $600 sign on bonus was not forthcoming when I opened my account. That took more shepherding by me. I'm not impressed. May 18, 2015
  • 2016-02-11 T07:59:55.263-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_510, tr_510
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2015 is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000. For 2016 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2016 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $184,000 for 2016; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $194,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560589.11.0