Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2016 and 2017: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 569 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by secure account is easy to access. other than that fidelity plays no part, never any advice, or guidance. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, consolidated all IRA's Great site and value, can trade options and stocks. January 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty Limited I find traditional IRAs pretty limited as one can only invest in a limited number of products from one company. However, as far as traditional IRAs go - Fidelity's are what I use because it can be linked to my Fidelity Roll-over and Brokerage accounts - so very convenient. I previously rolled both our traditional IRA's over into our roll-over IRAs where there is more flexibility and may do that again later this year. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure,Reliable and Simpler I am using FIDELITY for the last few months and I found it be very useful for savings and investments. September 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, fast, and simple Using Fidelity services for ones investments allows you an ease of service twenty-four hours a day. March 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by jfb satisfied with everything. have not had to use customer service much. March 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Keeps me well informed! My IRA is one of the most important investments in my life. Fidel;ity keeps me well informed and I am able to follow their guidance and keep piece of mind in a turbulent market environment. March 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity is #1 Fidelity is # 1 in my book for all around access to investment vehicles of every size and shape. If I were to create a brokerage business model it would be very much like yours. There is only one thing I would change and that would be to allow access to your superior trading software to everyone who wants to use it. Other than that, you're darn near perfect. Thanks guys. March 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient, no frills Very simple IRA. The internet site is good, customer service is good, no unnecessary complications. I have had no issues with Fidelity. March 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very convenient and easy to use. Trades are easy to use and reasonable fees. Good visibility of all steps in the process. Only two suggestions/problems: - I can't get it to select "lot to sell" in IRA as I can designate in the brokerage acct. I realize it doesn't make a difference on taxes in an IRA acct., but it would be nice to have that same freedom to designate the lot to sell from. - under "Analysis", there are 2 obsolete accts. still included that should have zero value, but carry the original vaule from before, distorting the analysis of all our investments. Please reply with any action I can take to address above. March 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by was better before the latest view modifications The design of the pages is not consistent and it is not as intuitive as it was before. For the cost basis I would like the see the price per share on every line even though the cost can be 0 March 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by cautious optomist Up to this point I have had no complaints and when I have required assistance in getting the "feel" of things. The individuals have been patient, respectful and on point.I initially had and still do have reservations with handling my lifes holdings online as I do with any dealings with personal information and SECURITY is EXTREMELY important so vigilance on Fidelitys part to keep us all secure is primary. I still have a distance to go in my investing prowess so what the future holds for both parties ...hopefully proves mutually beneficial. Until I find otherwise I see no reason to go elsewhere. March 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easily accessible The Fidelity website and makes it easy for me to review my investments. March 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy online access. It is easy to research the various mutual funds before contributing to my IRA. The online site is easy and helpful. March 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Feeling Alone My only issue is that I feel somewhat in the dark. I have no idea if I'm in the right program or not. And because no one contacts me (which could be by e-mail) to let me know if there are other funds that I should be in I really feel like your system is set up for people to go it alone. Joel Burton March 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to access and secure Web access and ATP access are excellent. Research tools and news data are targeted and timely. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Fidelity is a great company with plenty of choices and services. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Fast Very easy to set up and execute. Good helps online. Lots of help for researching and choosing investment options as well. March 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by No proactive Comunications from Fidelity After transfering a very sizable 401k to Fidelity I was promised that a premium accout manager would contact me. That was 3 weeks ago. No body has. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product. An extremely easy to use product with excellent service. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable with wide offerings and useful client tools I especially like the ability to purchase bonds and other securities in my brokerage IRA account. The tools available to analyze the account holdings are also very useful. March 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable and easy to understand The Fidelity IRA itself is a good product. However, I received a flyer offering IRA advice and when trying to take advantage of the offer by phoning the advertised number I was unable to talk to a representative and was instead put into some sort of loop asking for my username and password. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent IRA programs & support Excellent IRA programs & support - have been a Fidelity customer for approximately 18 years. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to understand I've been investing with Fidelity for over 25 years. The choices are great and the information available to make my investment decisions is excellent--no surprises! The customer service I have received is always beyond expectations. They make everything happen easily. I especially like the statements, and all the other financial reporting and analysis available online. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Review My experience with Fidelity has been excellent for the most part. I opened my first investment account in 1994. My company also has our 401-K with Fidelity, which is very convenient. Great website and customer service! March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollovers made easy! After deciding on a diverse portfolio of funds my IRA was invested in the course of one phone call. Since then I have been able to monitor the portfolio online, manage the investment of distributions across the funds to keep my portfolio in line with my investment strategies, and research the performance of additional funds being considered as additions to my portfolio. I have no reservations whatsoever about using the online experience for research and investment, and receive my statements in an electronic form. March 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use Easy to set up and use as springboard to retirement products and services. Graphical display of holdings by classification & sector help to summarize positions. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use. Great Job with the site. Easy to use and the information is very helpful. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review Fidelity Traditional IRA I have used the Fidelity IRA platform for 15-20 years. In 2010 I rolled my 401K over into the IRA, making it much larger. With online access, it is very easy to buy, sell, and exchange assets in the IRA. It's easier than managing the old 401K platform, and there are many more choices in the IRA. It is easy to avoid loads of all sorts, and there are several good Fidelity newsletters for their mutual funds. One is not limited to Fidelity funds in the IRA. Certain outside funds involve a fee, but many do not. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by trading easy, intraday updates very useful, but not always best price on stocks. the account experience has been generally fine. Trading is easy and the online account statement and update capability during the trading day are good to work with. However, not always the best price is obtained on stocks, both buying and selling. March 2, 2012
  • 2016-10-30 T07:46:00.907-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-13, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_569, tr_569
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 ... 19 next>>