• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Tax advantages

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Account features

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 423 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid company Good selection of investment products, easy to navigate website, courteous, professional customer service available, reliable record keeping. February 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT JOB... i'M VERY PLEASED WITH MY ACCOUNT. I 'M NOT SURE IF I LIKE THE NEW ACCOUNT INFO PAGE. TO ME IT SEEMS SOME WHAT CONFUSING. February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Meets my needs I find your services excellent and give me the information to make my own investment decisions. February 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good if you are not actively involved Like me, if you do nt have the time and or knowledge to actively monitor your IRA, a fidelity account may help February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by user friendly; very good the recent change in format was not helpful; in order to see my IRA by highest fund investments first I have to go through extra steps; this was not necessary before February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent displays I've had the Fidelity Traditional IRA for over twenty years and have morphed it from a collection of Fidelity mutual funds to a mix of funds from various sources and individual stocks. My favorite feature is the way information is displayed, especially the returns history. February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent investment choices are great.system is completely user friendly February 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to access and make trades One thing important to me is that I'd like Fidelity to maintain records on all contributions by year so that years later when withdrawls are made it is clear which dollars have already been taxed and which will be taxed. I don't know if this feature is currently available but I assume it must be. That sould be available on an annual statement. February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Reporting tools and superior Customer Service Have been with several brokers over my investing lifetime, Fidelity is by far the Best... Recent updates regarding performance review, investing strategy review, allocation/risk perspective are outstanding.... February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and cost-effective I'm very pleased with my IRA and the number of features available on the website. February 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Savings Vehicle Why wouldn't everyone take advantage of this? Control your own future. Be responsible. February 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I want to automate maxing it out and distributing each month evenly I want to automate maxing it out and distributing each month evenly How can you help me do that moving forward? Thanks Mike Weiner February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by good service I get very good service from both my Fidelity rep and also from the toll-free number, especially when I ask for a supervisor, which I do with sticky questions, when I can't reach my rep. February 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Investment Choices With Fidelity's large number of investment choices it is very easy to find one or more that fits my investment goals. I have been with Fidelity for many years and have always been satisfied with the professionalism and service. February 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple investing I don't have much to invest, and I can't stand the thought of paying up-front loaded fees - so Fidelity works for me. February 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient / economical way to save for retirement and get the related tax break. Convenient / economical way to save for retirement and get the related tax break. February 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by ok the account is ok, but the website is not. the changes made to the screen are not as user friendly as they used to be...and it was rolled out incomplete with bugs/issues. February 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Convenient Fidelity is one of the most accessible firms to invest your money with. I love using my online account and being able to open new accounts and transfer money from with it. February 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful and secure I put a lot of faith in Fidelity and, so far, I have not been disappointed! February 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by recent format change I was disappointed that the new format doesn't provide the date that the fund was bought. February 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good investment-well managed I have two IRAs and a mutual fund with Fidelity, and the results over the past 42 years have been good for my retirement package-combined with my Social Security and military retirement. February 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Key part of my financial plan This IRA is a key piece in my overall plans to meet my financial objectives. Coupled with the wide array of research and analysis tools, Fidelity offers a broad range of investment choices which makes it much easier to plan and execute my strategies. February 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by customer service great once was late posting closing prices on a high volume day but exellent overall. just wish i could have etfs in 401k. February 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid My Fidelity IRA is a good, solid account. Customer service is available and helpful, tax documents come on time, fees aren't too bad. February 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and good research I love the quick research and low fees. I don't think I could find a better set up for my IRA. February 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by over all Fidelity products and web sites are very good I just wish there were a easier way to rebalance as there was when I had a Fidelity 401k plan at work February 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure and reliable Fidelity's IRA account is a good vehicle for investors. It is secure and reliable. It is also well-designed and easy to use. Fidelity's research support is excellent. I particularly like their Active Trader Pro.com trading site which happens to fit my needs for most trades. February 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Refreshingly safe. It provides variety of vehicles to manage your retirement safely with your personal touch for secured retirement. February 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Straightforward and secure Access to positions, values, and trade information as good as it gets! February 16, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good. You have switched the way the accounts appear now and you have given me some difficulties in viewing what I want to see from each of my stock/fund positions. Furthermore to print the new information requires far more paper and information than I want. I want to view each position BY ITSELF. There are some advantages to the new way but there are some shortfalls as well. Did you review any of these changes with some existing customers first? February 16, 2012
<<prev 11 12 13 14 15 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560589.9.1