• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Tax advantages

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Account features

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 459 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure there's enough mutual fund to select. No load is a good deal February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have relied on Fidelity for my retirement planning for 15+ years Convenient website access from anywhere, 24/7. Lots of investment instruments, perhaps too many choices at first glance. Many similar funds probably could be combimed for simplicity. Always had good service at any of the invsetment centers, but never found a counselor i could feel totally at ease with. I prefer to make my own decisions, i guess. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient Fidelity overall is a convenient "one-stop" place for money management. The web site is quite informative (but the IPad app is a little difficult to get used to.) I would like to see more index-style funds (and their lower fees) but if you dig around enough you can find them, I guess. Also, I wish that the automatic contributions I have made in 2012 had been credited to 2011 until I hit the max. I suppose I can fiddle with that (before April 15) if I get around to it. February 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by average Fidelity gives good service for trades and accounting. The website could be easier to navigate with regard to quotes. Guidance is not provided. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by love the full view feature as well I would like to have the ability to choose tax lots when I sell stocks in my IRA account. February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Very happy with Fidelity and having my IRA and other accounts easy to review on line February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jeanette48 Excellent service, super internet access & web site February 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by secure The maintance fees for your company are very high compared to other management acccounts. February 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Technology and Improvements Negatives: order technology cannot keep up with balances and open orders during off market hours - huge pain. Website improvements - so they are called - add an extra click to accomplish common tasks vs prior set up. Some of the best funds in the network are reserved for Adviser only - meaning you have to pay someone extra to be allowed the privilege of purchase. Customer service - often have to transfer you to someone else. Positives: website is usually fast. treasury bond buys are easy. Neutrals: fee rates are a little above average but close. Research and search resources are typical. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good company have had holdings for years, Have never tried to use any advice, but could use the help if it didn't cost me. February 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by never go to their service centerany never ever go to the service center the people are aloof and very uncooperative February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and Easy no issues...the product is "as advertised" Fidelity is a trustworthy company February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable, secure, up-to-date, good investment tools Overall, very satisfied with my IRA account with Fidelity. All rollovers I requested over the years were handled effectively and efficiently. All my inquiries with Fidelity have been answered and handled very professionally. February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and efficient Electronic fund transfer works well for me. Your web site is set up so that I can make efficient research and investment decisions. February 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and dependable Convenient and dependable long time investor would recommend to new investors. February 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable I don't like the new setting it makes me confusing. February 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by good deal for a do-it-yoourself'er --price, support and tools good deal for a do-it-yoourself'er --price, support and tools February 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great job thanks , i have been with fidelity over 20 years you have always satisfied my financial needs. February 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional and Convenient Fidelity offers a wide range of opportunites and services at a good value. It's up to the individual on how they wish to take advantage of these. February 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always helpful, never overbearing We have had many years of excellent service from Fidelity in managing our IRA portfolio. Requests are handled efficiently and assistance is provided when requested. As we reach the minimum withdrawal stage of life, Fidelity is there with the necessary information to avoid unpleasant tax consequences of failure to meet the minimum requirement. February 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Broad scope of available information. The information,research,educational tools and wide range of informative articles are second to none.Questions and answers are easy to navigate and understand. The personnel with whom I have called; have always been courteous, knowledgeable,helpful and professional. February 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by convient and secure on-line access to account information convient and secure on-line access to account information February 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Alternative Investment limitations I have an investment in a hedge fund in my IRA that is held in custody by Fidelity. This private investment has been approved for holding in my Fidelity IRA. Last year I wanted to use some cash in my IRA to purchase more of the hedge fund partnership interests. Unfortunately I was informed that a $1 million balance was required to make additional investment in any alternatives. As I have been a very loyal customer, with periods of large account balances, I don't understand why I am restricted from making an investment that I already own and pay the requested fees. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by EZ!!! The online ability to make your annual contribution is quick and well-guided so you can't make a mistake. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I rarely have time to speak with an agent at Fidelity, but their web site is pretty easy to use, if you know what you're doing. Unfortunately, the folks at Fidelity don't have a crystal ball, and won't tell you exactly where to put your money, but do their best to point you in the right direction. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by comprehensive and detailed I have been a Fidelity customer for quite some time, and I am almost always able to get my needs filled by the site. February 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient I was a little disappointed that my investment rep could not work with my granddaughter, a minor, who had some earned income and whose parents wanted to open an IRA for her. I do understand that he must spend most of his time on larger accounts. February 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of use The Fidelity Account Web site makes it easy to manage my IRA. February 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything is good I like Fidelity and have been a long time customer and plan to remain. For me, the statements are too long and look cluttered. I have other IRA's that I could transfer to Fidelity but for the statement format. February 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trust and confidence My options at Fidelity for IRA's are excellent. Trust is a major issue for me and is the reason I stay with Fidelity. February 22, 2012
  • 2015-05-21T11:42:34.335-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-12, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_459, tr_459
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 16 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560589.9.1