• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Tax advantages

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Account features

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 434 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by comprehensive and detailed I have been a Fidelity customer for quite some time, and I am almost always able to get my needs filled by the site. February 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient I was a little disappointed that my investment rep could not work with my granddaughter, a minor, who had some earned income and whose parents wanted to open an IRA for her. I do understand that he must spend most of his time on larger accounts. February 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of use The Fidelity Account Web site makes it easy to manage my IRA. February 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Everything is good I like Fidelity and have been a long time customer and plan to remain. For me, the statements are too long and look cluttered. I have other IRA's that I could transfer to Fidelity but for the statement format. February 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trust and confidence My options at Fidelity for IRA's are excellent. Trust is a major issue for me and is the reason I stay with Fidelity. February 22, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by IRA feedback Have not been contacted by a company representative to discuss or make suggestions regarding this account. February 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ease of use I love the ease of use the IRA offers me. You can see all your securities, know how much your stocks have appreciated etc. The one thing I would like to see that isn't available is; what the hypothetical yearly income would be from their IRA investment, instead of trying to figure it out. February 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and reliable My Fidelity IRa makes it easy fr me to access a wide range of investment products while paying reasonable fees. February 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Fidelity offers the best service I have experienced. I have never had any consultant who failed to be informative, polite, generous, knowledgeable, and caring. I have already recommended Fidelity to my friends, and will continue to do so. The website is also the easiest to maneuver. The level of personal service is comforting and gratifying. Thank you to Fidelity. February 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure New fidelity website is missing 30,90 days transaction history from previous website. New website is not as friendly. February 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product Great product that integrates nicely into the account analysis system. The only reason it is not a 5 star results from the inability to convert a Mutual Fund Only IRA to invest in both mutual funds and stocks without opening up a separate account. February 21, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Website redesign makes an otherwise good investment choice frustrating. The new website design in the accounts section has made it very difficult to navigate from one account to the next. Almost impossible to make sense of the tiny font, and disorganizing, busy nature of the site. February 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable The investment value up to date on an almost real time basis. I like the stock research although ex dividend dates are not up to date. February 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Boring I chose index funds and then went to fixed income to balance my portfolio. February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to read and navifate would love some info on how to back-end a traditional IRA to a Roth! February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by very satisfied with fidelity I select my funds myself and use Fidelitys research even though I have funds in another fund family. Very broad selection of funds. February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent value and selection I like the broad range of invetsment options that are available in this account, along with the low transaction fees. February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great I love this account!!! It gives me all I need to make decisions. It Rocks!!!! February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just the investment vehicle I need I have several accounts with Fidelity; a 401K with a self-directed investment option, a ROTH IRA, a traditional IRA and a standard investment account. With Fidelity, I can research companies, compare attributes between companies in similar fields, initiate purchases/sales of investments, all from the convenience of my computer. Frankly the one and only thing I don't care for is the new way account information is displayed ... and I may grow to like that as well as I become more familiar with it. February 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easily accessible and easy to understand With the implementation of the new format, allowing you to see changes in fund earnings since inception as well as the current earnings, it is much easier to analyze your portfolio and make changes, if needed, February 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I'm a pleased customer I don't like the new format as much as the old. How about offering a transaction discount for loyal, frequently trading customers?! February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent IRA I have been very pleased with the flexibility of this IRA. It allows me to include a very wide variety of investments, which was lacking at my previous investment company. February 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent customer service, but need more option trading flexibility We have two traditional IRA's with Fidelity. Overall they work well and Fidelity's customer service is second to none. I would like to see additional flexibility allowed for experienced options traders. It would be nice to be able to establish coved call positions as a single trade for lots under 500 shares. Also, I'd like to see the ticket charge for options trades eliminated to allow greater flexibility in managing positions with multiple options. February 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Up until recently rating would be higher The latest change on the portfolio tab that shows a composite of all the accounts is a total bust. It is difficult to read and cumbersome. I used that sheet to give me a overall picture of what stocks are up and what ones are down. I don't need to see that I own a particular stock in 6 accounts-- and surprisingly the stock is off $.25 wherever it appears. The staff destroyed a perfectly good report. I don't want to printoff 10 pages on a report that was only 3 before. Now to get this quick overview, I need to go to Yahoo's portfolio screen. Fidelity's new screen has a button for positions and accounts,why not add another that gives a summary per investment? Jim Nowell February 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable , however limited and slow to get info Would like to see the canadian stock info or other foriegn stocks. Have to go to other brokrage acct. to get streaming price. Also, your trading charge on foriegn stock are way to high. February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Responsive/easy Customer Service represtatives are extremely helpful February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service and convenience Very customer friendly, both on the website and over the phone. February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by No problems No complaints; I don't know the type of services that you are looking to survey. February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to buy, sell and trade mutual funds My wife and I have called for advice from time to time, and your representatives were always helpful. February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trusted and Improving I find Fidelity Services an excellent service and will stick with them. What I would like to see is a price break for transactions fees for IRAs since these are savings for retirement. This would encourage more people to take advantage of IRAs and put Fidelity at the head of the class in initiative and forward thinking. It would provide support to the younger crowd as well as to the 55+ burgeoning group when it comes to retirement savings and show a caring business relationship with clients. February 21, 2012
  • 2015-03-30T10:21:59.147-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-12, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_434, tr_434
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 15 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560589.9.1