• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Tax advantages

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Account features

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 459 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by You make it easy I like to do my own thing but like the info available. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by needs work need more fdic money funds and my my fidelity active trader pro.com kicks me off or gives me a spinning wheel and i have to turn my computer completely off and restart which is a major headache. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Flexible and convenient Fidelity offers great product choices, a well-designed website that is easily navigated, and helpful customer service. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by God service, needs to be more personal Service is good, both in content and quality. I suffers from the "dial one for..." syndrome in that the one on one relationship I saw 5 years ago is lacking. March 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good source of information, and good documentation/tracking The staff is very responsive and proactive...ready to help in whatever I need in explanation, clarification, etc. March 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Broad choice of investment options, ample research toolds, and easy to use. Broad choice of investment options, ample research toolds, and easy to use. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding service and support Fidelity is an exemplary financial services provider. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great customer service I really feel very welll taken care fo with fidelity and they make it easy can't imaging anything else you would want February 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just OK I'm OK with my account. My concern is always fees, and Fidelity is as careful as every other investment firm about making sure they get theirs. February 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by User-unfriendly screen configuration is difficult to use The awful new Portfolio Positions page makes it difficult to spot needed information in a hurry. What drove the decision to not boldface the current price to make it stand out (as it does everywhere else on the web)? All the inks -- black, red, or green -- are pale and washed out looking. The screen is crowded with too much information, and everything is cramped to the left while there is an abundance of unused white space on the right. Trying to view specific lots for a position is a challenge to the eyes, as this just inserts more information into an already overcrowded page. I am looking for alternatives to Fidelity. February 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I would like to see my investment performance (year to date performance) on the Porfolio Summary section. I would like to see my investment performance (year to date performance) on the Porfolio Summary section. February 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good! Been a long time client. Whole wed account is great, not just the IRA February 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Online info I have all my investments at fidelity. It is pretty easy to navigate but one thing I wish was I could go from research to trade without changing screens. It is pretty hard to research and then go back to the trading screen. February 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very convenient & low cost. Having traditional IRA with Fidelity is very convenient, offers a wide range of investment options and is very low cost. Ideal for a low-term buy and hold investment like your IRA. February 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to navigate and find specific founds Like the online site and customer service is competent. February 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by poor customer service Customer service is so poor that the entire family is researching other firms to move our accounts. It is sad. We have used Fidelity for 25+ years and as the company grew in size, the personal service steadily went down hill. February 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Its just OK I dont like the new changes, frankly I dont see an improvement. I stay with Fidelity because I have been with Fidelity a long time, and I really dont want to make a change February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by User Friendly Viewing. reviewing, and modifying this is account is very user friendly. When you have questions, customer service is just a call or instant message away. Only drawback: some customer service reps are not available over the weekend- so you will need to get some questions answered Monday - Friday. Great website that continues to improve w/ time! February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by extremely pleased with the entire fidelity process i have found dealing with fidelity staff counter staff in framingham, after hours consultants and my own account executive informed, knowledgeable, extremely helpful, courteous especially through this rmd and roth transition period February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Job Excellent Job. Your people are very professional and always ready to help. Keep that up and nobody will beat Fidelity. February 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by fair to poor need customer representatives to be able to make fund recommendations. Need to be able to provide cost basis - especially on Fidelity proprietary mutual funds held there since beginning of account. JWC February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best customer service Fidelity's customer service is excellent. Other companies have representatives that lack either the training or experience to help. Fidelity's representatives always make the effort to provide the best service & offer assistance to help you accomplish the business that you are calling about. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by instant access, can always check on valuation instant access, can always check on valuation, easy to see history February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Excellent customer service. Easy to use website. Useful reports. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple and Concise information Fidelity has come up with many ways to display IRA account information in a simple and concise format. Research and ratings of funds is fast and easy to obtain with just a few clicks on Fidelity's website. February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Annual Reminder I really find the annual reminder a huge plus. When it arrived in the mail with the deposit slip all filled out with my personal info on it, it immediatley motivates me to make my deposit. Thanks Fidelity. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enhancements to the Portfolio Positions page I do not care for some of the recent enhancements made to the Portfolio Positions page, e.g., Change since close. Too much unwanted data is being shown. Please continue refinements to allow customization of the data. Allow customers to hide columns. Thanks, David Stephens February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use The Fidelity is very easy to use. I can deposiut money and invest with little effort. There is a wealth of fund information in the research area. I think it would be nice to have a place to check the rate of return for just the IRA (within the IRA). February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good the account is fine. it fits my needs. i am satisfied. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1-Stop Shopping at Its Best? Putting aside the endless requests to complete a survey and the seemingly constant updating of "visuals" which seem more like steps backwards than forwards [by the time you're just getting familiar with a revision, they're rolling out another] ... while ignoring gross shortcomings [I guess they actually take time and effort to execute], I continue to appreciate the actual human support and ease of doing business. But I have to say, the latest revision to the "Positions" or "Summary" or whatever it's called ... it's GROSS and very UNPLEASANT. February 27, 2012
  • 2015-05-22T10:22:53.931-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_459, tr_459
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 16 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560589.9.1