• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Tax advantages

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Account features

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 446 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very convenient & low cost. Having traditional IRA with Fidelity is very convenient, offers a wide range of investment options and is very low cost. Ideal for a low-term buy and hold investment like your IRA. February 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to navigate and find specific founds Like the online site and customer service is competent. February 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by poor customer service Customer service is so poor that the entire family is researching other firms to move our accounts. It is sad. We have used Fidelity for 25+ years and as the company grew in size, the personal service steadily went down hill. February 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Its just OK I dont like the new changes, frankly I dont see an improvement. I stay with Fidelity because I have been with Fidelity a long time, and I really dont want to make a change February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by User Friendly Viewing. reviewing, and modifying this is account is very user friendly. When you have questions, customer service is just a call or instant message away. Only drawback: some customer service reps are not available over the weekend- so you will need to get some questions answered Monday - Friday. Great website that continues to improve w/ time! February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by extremely pleased with the entire fidelity process i have found dealing with fidelity staff counter staff in framingham, after hours consultants and my own account executive informed, knowledgeable, extremely helpful, courteous especially through this rmd and roth transition period February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Job Excellent Job. Your people are very professional and always ready to help. Keep that up and nobody will beat Fidelity. February 27, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by fair to poor need customer representatives to be able to make fund recommendations. Need to be able to provide cost basis - especially on Fidelity proprietary mutual funds held there since beginning of account. JWC February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best customer service Fidelity's customer service is excellent. Other companies have representatives that lack either the training or experience to help. Fidelity's representatives always make the effort to provide the best service & offer assistance to help you accomplish the business that you are calling about. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by instant access, can always check on valuation instant access, can always check on valuation, easy to see history February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Excellent customer service. Easy to use website. Useful reports. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple and Concise information Fidelity has come up with many ways to display IRA account information in a simple and concise format. Research and ratings of funds is fast and easy to obtain with just a few clicks on Fidelity's website. February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Annual Reminder I really find the annual reminder a huge plus. When it arrived in the mail with the deposit slip all filled out with my personal info on it, it immediatley motivates me to make my deposit. Thanks Fidelity. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enhancements to the Portfolio Positions page I do not care for some of the recent enhancements made to the Portfolio Positions page, e.g., Change since close. Too much unwanted data is being shown. Please continue refinements to allow customization of the data. Allow customers to hide columns. Thanks, David Stephens February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use The Fidelity is very easy to use. I can deposiut money and invest with little effort. There is a wealth of fund information in the research area. I think it would be nice to have a place to check the rate of return for just the IRA (within the IRA). February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good the account is fine. it fits my needs. i am satisfied. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1-Stop Shopping at Its Best? Putting aside the endless requests to complete a survey and the seemingly constant updating of "visuals" which seem more like steps backwards than forwards [by the time you're just getting familiar with a revision, they're rolling out another] ... while ignoring gross shortcomings [I guess they actually take time and effort to execute], I continue to appreciate the actual human support and ease of doing business. But I have to say, the latest revision to the "Positions" or "Summary" or whatever it's called ... it's GROSS and very UNPLEASANT. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure there's enough mutual fund to select. No load is a good deal February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have relied on Fidelity for my retirement planning for 15+ years Convenient website access from anywhere, 24/7. Lots of investment instruments, perhaps too many choices at first glance. Many similar funds probably could be combimed for simplicity. Always had good service at any of the invsetment centers, but never found a counselor i could feel totally at ease with. I prefer to make my own decisions, i guess. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient Fidelity overall is a convenient "one-stop" place for money management. The web site is quite informative (but the IPad app is a little difficult to get used to.) I would like to see more index-style funds (and their lower fees) but if you dig around enough you can find them, I guess. Also, I wish that the automatic contributions I have made in 2012 had been credited to 2011 until I hit the max. I suppose I can fiddle with that (before April 15) if I get around to it. February 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by average Fidelity gives good service for trades and accounting. The website could be easier to navigate with regard to quotes. Guidance is not provided. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by love the full view feature as well I would like to have the ability to choose tax lots when I sell stocks in my IRA account. February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Very happy with Fidelity and having my IRA and other accounts easy to review on line February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jeanette48 Excellent service, super internet access & web site February 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by secure The maintance fees for your company are very high compared to other management acccounts. February 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Technology and Improvements Negatives: order technology cannot keep up with balances and open orders during off market hours - huge pain. Website improvements - so they are called - add an extra click to accomplish common tasks vs prior set up. Some of the best funds in the network are reserved for Adviser only - meaning you have to pay someone extra to be allowed the privilege of purchase. Customer service - often have to transfer you to someone else. Positives: website is usually fast. treasury bond buys are easy. Neutrals: fee rates are a little above average but close. Research and search resources are typical. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good company have had holdings for years, Have never tried to use any advice, but could use the help if it didn't cost me. February 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by never go to their service centerany never ever go to the service center the people are aloof and very uncooperative February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and Easy no issues...the product is "as advertised" Fidelity is a trustworthy company February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable, secure, up-to-date, good investment tools Overall, very satisfied with my IRA account with Fidelity. All rollovers I requested over the years were handled effectively and efficiently. All my inquiries with Fidelity have been answered and handled very professionally. February 27, 2012
  • 2015-04-17T09:46:40.124-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_446, tr_446
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 15 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560589.9.1