• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Tax advantages

Contributions

Tax-deductible contributions1

Earnings

Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Account features

Eligibility2

Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

005
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 482 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use. Great Job with the site. Easy to use and the information is very helpful. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review Fidelity Traditional IRA I have used the Fidelity IRA platform for 15-20 years. In 2010 I rolled my 401K over into the IRA, making it much larger. With online access, it is very easy to buy, sell, and exchange assets in the IRA. It's easier than managing the old 401K platform, and there are many more choices in the IRA. It is easy to avoid loads of all sorts, and there are several good Fidelity newsletters for their mutual funds. One is not limited to Fidelity funds in the IRA. Certain outside funds involve a fee, but many do not. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by trading easy, intraday updates very useful, but not always best price on stocks. the account experience has been generally fine. Trading is easy and the online account statement and update capability during the trading day are good to work with. However, not always the best price is obtained on stocks, both buying and selling. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient, safe, reliable Have been usng Fidelity for a long time and feel very confident in the service, record keeping, and trustworthiness. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Web Site Fidelity web site, particularly the My Account where I log in is autstanding. All information is available well layd down, organized and easy to find. Good tools to analyze performance and trade. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Online tools are extremely good for trading bonds. I love the way the online tools allow for trading bonds. March 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average, can be improved Need more anlaysis tools relative to current & future market trends. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure, dependable and accurate I opened this account several years ago and am very happy that I did. I have several other accounts with Fidelity ( IRA, Rollover IRA, Brokerage account, SEP and Cash account ) The customer service is wonderful. I can call anytime and get all my questions resolved. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Meets my needs Investment options and services meet my needs during the wealth accumulation phase of this part of my retirment portfolio. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Features, toolset, access, customer service, and reporting all good or great Fully featured - I am completely satisfied with the account features. Good toolset - while not 'great', the toolset is good and quite adequate for most people. Better options tools would be appreciated. Great access - lots of choices, including web, iPad, Active Trader Pro, and telephone. Outstanding customer service - no matter what question or issue I surface, the answers are alway timely and accurate. Great reporting - access to my account information is always there, whether from this year or last. Kudos! March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I hav referred many friends to fidelity. The clean, easy, detailed view of the website are great. The offices are close to my home and give me security. Great job! George Howard MD March 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Yes. Just not sure I'm getting my money's worth. Still, overall, I'm happy enough. I March 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by reliable Easy to log on and check your account daily if nee March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good I really like fidelity and the layout has improved tremendously. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Well done-but The account and service are great, however, I would not mind if you could suggest additional investments and or information based on what I'm invested in or changes in tax law or the economy. Also, you should look at giving streaming quotes to customers with a minimum account, whether they are "active" traders or not. I am thinking about moving my accounts to another brokerage firm because of that restriction. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by You're doing a great job, I just did not want to give "5 stars" for all areas I am very pleased with my experience so far. Especially when I make a 1-800 call to resolve any issues. Your people are extremely helpful, and if I ask a question outside of their expertise they refer me to another person. I like "MLP'S" for a number of reasons. Most MLP'S can't be owned in qualified accounts. I wish that Fidelity would compose a mutual fund like a "SELECT MLP FUND". Then I could own it in an IRA. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good I am very happy with my IRA account with Fidelity. I would recommend your funds to my friends and family. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good + rating . Could be a little more aggressive. Where is Peter Lynch's legacy? March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Investing in stocks I would also like the option of being able to invest in individual stockss in my mutual fund account--How can I do this?? March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really like the choice of investments, Fidelity makes it easy to save and invest. Really like the ability to invest in an assortment of mutual funds, CD's, stocks and bonds. Customer service is five stars, always helpful. The only thing I would like to see is a phone contact list, with specific choices like the phone number for the IRA department instead of calling in and getting transfered. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable place for my money I don't like the fact that when an account goes below $10,000 a $10 fee is taken. Why is handling that account any different than the ones over $10,000? March 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Early Investment Summary I never hear from my financial advisor. I'm now looking to move my assets to a firm who will reach out to me with recommendations to help me achieve my financial goals. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flexible, well supported, great customer service Fidelity has been a great partner with me in handling my accounts. The services and convince are truly remarkable and the research and ease of investing is superb. I'll continue to be a customer for many years to come. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by You make it easy I like to do my own thing but like the info available. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by needs work need more fdic money funds and my my fidelity active trader pro.com kicks me off or gives me a spinning wheel and i have to turn my computer completely off and restart which is a major headache. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Flexible and convenient Fidelity offers great product choices, a well-designed website that is easily navigated, and helpful customer service. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by God service, needs to be more personal Service is good, both in content and quality. I suffers from the "dial one for..." syndrome in that the one on one relationship I saw 5 years ago is lacking. March 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good source of information, and good documentation/tracking The staff is very responsive and proactive...ready to help in whatever I need in explanation, clarification, etc. March 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Broad choice of investment options, ample research toolds, and easy to use. Broad choice of investment options, ample research toolds, and easy to use. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding service and support Fidelity is an exemplary financial services provider. February 29, 2012
  • 2015-09-02T11:21:31.573-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_482, tr_482
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 ... 17 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560589.9.1