• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Traditional IRA

With a Traditional IRA, you make contributions with money you may be able to deduct on your tax return. Any earnings potentially grow tax-deferred until you withdraw them in retirement.

Reasons to consider a Traditional IRA

  • Earnings grow federal income tax-deferred
  • Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now


Tax-deductible contributions1


Any earnings grow federal income tax-deferred.


10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for other withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for first home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½


Individuals less than 70½ years of age

Must have employment compensation

Maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Learn about IRAs
Get the basics, from choosing investments to taking minimum required distributions (MRDs).

Roth vs. Traditional IRA Evaluator
Answer a few questions to find out which type of IRA is right for you.

Rev up your readiness to retire
Fidelity study finds more than half of Americans at risk. Consider six steps to get on track.

IRA Checklist
Follow these three steps to open a new IRA or transfer an IRA from another provider to Fidelity.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 497 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA Overall the account is good since few fees are taken out of the account. However don't ever talk to a representative about "updating" your account. All they want to do is sell you an annuity even if you tell them up front that you have ABSOLUTELY NO INTEREST in annuities. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Newest ATP Beta software is "flacky" Since becoming actively involved with Fidelity, coming up on about 1 year ago, I have been exposed to 3 ATP versions. While any program has features that "could be better", ONLY this latest "cloud" version has erratic situations where data is randomly NOT updated or "blanked out" within a line of a security listing in the watchlist. Upgrades of the program have introduced, listing which do NOT save in the order "Applied & Saved". Rather have to modify EACH time, app is opened. Have gotten different answers from diiferent agents in the "same reference/topic group" whether talking live or by IM. Feel that annual "competence" exam might be warranted for all people fielding questions in order to make sure certain info is properly assimulated for responding to customers' questions. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Your Traditional IRA account is top notch If I had to choose one word to describe my IRA account at Fidelity, it would be efficient. The design is fantastic in that the display is not overwhelming yet a wealth of information lies one click deeper. I don't recieve unwanted solicitations or worthless research opinions from robo-analysts, It's simply clean, concise, and useful. Compared to the three other brokerage accounts I utilize in some capacity, Fidelity provides by far the best user experience. January 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Need to dump it Need to see if the IRA will improve my taxes in April, if not I see no reason at all to keep it. If you have other ideas, I would die to hear/see them. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mickey It is easy to make contributions. The easy of investment opportunities are there, but sometimes the are not east to understand for a conservative investor. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Assistance is always available The key differentiating factor with my Fidelity IRA is the easily accessible assistance. Fidelity’s staff is just a phone call away. Everyone I have ever worked with listens carefully to my questions and concerns and does not let me hang up, or leave their office, without a plan and/or solution in place. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by flexible and diverse Fidelity has a broad line of no load funds that provide a diverse product line that are well managed, low in cost, and easy for consumers to use. Getting fast response on trades and transactions is important in managing money and Fidelity's strength in financial markets seems to make that one of their benchmarks. I have been a customer for a long, long time and they manage their portfolios with professionalism and care. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fees too high I like my fidelity account but I think the fees are too high for non-fidelity funds. I rebalance once or twice a year and I am always shocked to see the fees I have to pay for these trades. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Monitoring & Trading I have had a Fidelity IRA for decades and I find it is always very useable on a daily basis. The web site makes any transactions simple and quick. Research is expansive. Record keeping is excellent. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by pretty good Is there a way to get a quick (one or two clicks) to get a comparison of similiar mutual funds and ETF's when thinking of buying one-I.e. I want to buy a large cap Value mutual fund how does what I am selecting compare to funds in that family or ETF How does my example- compare health care ETF's with others and show the best according to fidelity January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Web Site Excellent. Customer Service good. Local representatives young and inexperienced. Fidelity is a fine company. I wish your retail representative were more experienced. At my age and with the assets I maintain in my account, I would like to speak with someone for advice. But not with someone who is 30 years old! Steve January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Integrated to brokerage account and easy to use Similar features to main brokerage account, benefiting from the same suite of tools. Integrated analysis with rest of portfolio. User friendly contributions and allocations. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple, Convenient, Easy to Use I've used Fidelity Investments for a number of years, and their site is extremely convenient, feature packed, and secure. They have a wide variety of four and five star funds to choose from (that are traded without fees), and their commissions on equities are low. I'm very satisfied and have migrated much of our family and corporate investing to Fidelity Investments. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and labor-saving Fidelity makes it so easy for me to get done what I want to accomplish with this account, and the record keeping is impeccable. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of use This program is very easy to use, the investment options is more than broad enough and it is very easy to track where you are on contributions and performance. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Should focus on a Roth I wish that I had received better advice about the advantages of rolling this over into a Roth IRA earlier. This would have helped me minimize the tax impact. I was also unaware of the minimum distribution requirement once I hit 70 1/2 which does not apply with the Roth. Again some advance knowledge would have saved me a lot of money. January 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by secure and rreliable the mutual funds have low expense ratios. Likewise, the mutual funds propectus are easy to read and easy to understand. January 23, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Preferred Stock Have suggested and continue to suggest that Fidelity provide a report that shows all of a customers Preferred Stock showing the quantity of each Preferred Stock, it's dividend rate, the months dividends are paid, current value, original cost, per share and Totals. Dividends the stock generated YTD and monies taken out Year To Date. Other investment companies offered this service over 8 years ago. i am sure Fidelity can enhance what I am suggesting. I have to create and maintain my own Excel spread sheet to have this information. January 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by secure account is easy to access. other than that fidelity plays no part, never any advice, or guidance. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, consolidated all IRA's Great site and value, can trade options and stocks. January 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty Limited I find traditional IRAs pretty limited as one can only invest in a limited number of products from one company. However, as far as traditional IRAs go - Fidelity's are what I use because it can be linked to my Fidelity Roll-over and Brokerage accounts - so very convenient. I previously rolled both our traditional IRA's over into our roll-over IRAs where there is more flexibility and may do that again later this year. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure,Reliable and Simpler I am using FIDELITY for the last few months and I found it be very useful for savings and investments. September 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, fast, and simple Using Fidelity services for ones investments allows you an ease of service twenty-four hours a day. March 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by jfb satisfied with everything. have not had to use customer service much. March 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Keeps me well informed! My IRA is one of the most important investments in my life. Fidel;ity keeps me well informed and I am able to follow their guidance and keep piece of mind in a turbulent market environment. March 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity is #1 Fidelity is # 1 in my book for all around access to investment vehicles of every size and shape. If I were to create a brokerage business model it would be very much like yours. There is only one thing I would change and that would be to allow access to your superior trading software to everyone who wants to use it. Other than that, you're darn near perfect. Thanks guys. March 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient, no frills Very simple IRA. The internet site is good, customer service is good, no unnecessary complications. I have had no issues with Fidelity. March 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very convenient and easy to use. Trades are easy to use and reasonable fees. Good visibility of all steps in the process. Only two suggestions/problems: - I can't get it to select "lot to sell" in IRA as I can designate in the brokerage acct. I realize it doesn't make a difference on taxes in an IRA acct., but it would be nice to have that same freedom to designate the lot to sell from. - under "Analysis", there are 2 obsolete accts. still included that should have zero value, but carry the original vaule from before, distorting the analysis of all our investments. Please reply with any action I can take to address above. March 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by was better before the latest view modifications The design of the pages is not consistent and it is not as intuitive as it was before. For the cost basis I would like the see the price per share on every line even though the cost can be 0 March 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by cautious optomist Up to this point I have had no complaints and when I have required assistance in getting the "feel" of things. The individuals have been patient, respectful and on point.I initially had and still do have reservations with handling my lifes holdings online as I do with any dealings with personal information and SECURITY is EXTREMELY important so vigilance on Fidelitys part to keep us all secure is primary. I still have a distance to go in my investing prowess so what the future holds for both parties ...hopefully proves mutually beneficial. Until I find otherwise I see no reason to go elsewhere. March 5, 2012
  • 2015-11-27 T11:31:32.616-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_497, tr_497
  • loc_en_US, sid_005, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 17 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. For a Traditional IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2014 is available to active participants whose 2014 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $96,000 or less (joint) and $60,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $116,000 (joint) and $70,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $181,000 for 2014; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $191,000. For 2015 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.