Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now


Earnings grow federally tax-free.1


Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner


No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 722 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA I have 2 IRA accounts that I should be able to transfer funds from into a Roth. My first attempt, I could only transfer funds from one acct. I think I can do both now but I have not tried. This may be a bug that needs to befixed. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and convenient The Fidelity Roth IRA is a perfect solution for my financial planning needs. It's incredibly easy to use, offers several avenues for research, and the information is simple to understand. I've recommended Fidelity Roth IRA to family and friends. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity is the best! I prefer to manage my own account, but know that Fidelity's knowledgeable agents are always able to answer any questions that I have. They are so polite & helpful & have always been perfectly patient with any concern that I have. I could not be happier with Fidelity. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Fidelity does it right! There are some places that you can save a few bucks on trade commissions but overall Fidelity has an outstanding stable of products and services. From research, to planning tools, to screening, and trading, Fidelity is good, if not the best available, for those who want to make their own financial decisions. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient and Expensive Having my ROTH IRA at Fidelity is very convenient, because my employer provided 401k is also at Fidelity. I have found trading on the platform to be very user friendly and easy. My only gripe is the high trading commission. I would have liked to receive some free trades to get started, but I wasn't alloted any because my account is too small. I am a young professional, and am looking to grow my account with a brokerage firm. I am going to be opening a personal trading account next month with only $500 in the account to start. I will look at other available options, as approved by my employer, before opening the account here. I would like to fund the account and grow with a brokerage firm that does not limit my small account growth with restrictive fees. Someday, these accounts will be large, and I will remember the firm that helped me get there. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased Wide selection of low-cost funds. Good website interface. Useful personal advice availalbe, if needed. April 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by long wait, insufficient info on hold for a long time -- with NO indication of the end of the tunnel... these days, it should be possible to say how many people ahead of you or your expected wait time. With NO information -- it's especially frustrating. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Accounts I spent a really, really long time researching different investment companies before deciding to open by Roth IRA account with Fidelity. Part of this was based on my parents many years of experience with the company. I have found the site very easy to use and have received great customer service any time I've had a problem (only a couple user error's). The very diverse portfolio options Fidelity offers is great. I plan on sticking with Fidelity for the long haul. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Fidelity! Love the Roth! Mostly, it's the 800 support that's so outstanding. But the website is great, too. I like everything about Fidelity. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy The entire Roth conversion took no time and it was very easy to navigate. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy IRA Starting and using my Roth IRA have been easy (so far). I have only had the account for 6 months. Customer Service was so helpful, thorough and fast when learning about my options in the Roth IRA program. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Website full of info & Research Great website full of research and information regarding Mutal Funds & Stocks . Just wish there were more commission-free ETFs online. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Confusing balance amounts Cash balance does not update in real time. Actual cash available is confusing if you trade and hold options. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Street I switched from a competitor to Fidelity and I'm very happy with the products and ease of setting up an account and moving my investment. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent secure and reliable I love my entire Fidelity experiences.. is to use and user friendly... March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient This is our first year in a Roth IRA...I wish we started earlier. We will continue to contribute. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The long hall A Roth provides the most flexibility hpe never to need it, but if I do I love knowing what comes out will be tax free March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Future Currently this is the best opportunity for saving for my future. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and easy to do It would be nice to offer more advice regarding investment options for an overall portfolio diversification strategy. Just seems to setup easily an Roth Account but then you are on your own. March 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need better research tools I wish the products could be more easily researched, e.g., i'm interested in index funds, with little or no fees, and then get a results based on my criteria. another way to increase my usage and rating of would be for me to compare multiple funds, e.g., using the previous index funds, i can choose and compare up to maybe 5 of them at once and see them all on a page. another way I'd be interested in researching would be comparing the top no/low fee index funds with the top no/low fee ETFs. these are at top of my wishlist. March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA I was amazed how easy it was to open a Roth IRA and link it to my traditional IRA. It is a good tool for investors in their sixties who need to think about the tax consequences of a MRD before reaching 70 1/2. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Financial Cornerstone Every financial professional recommends opening a Roth IRA if you qualify. Fidelity is a trusted institution and a low cost leader with plenty of investment options. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good rollover account, lots of useful features. The assistance in moving the security was welcome and needed. The transfer was surprisingly rapid. The opportunity to invest in some high quality 'load waived' funds was one of the main draws. I think this may be an exclusive situation. As I transfer my next IRA to fidelity- I will be making use of these features. The detailed retirement questionnaire that lets you know where you stand and makes 'what ifs' easy to manipulate' in your own plan is especially helpful. March 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Site becoming too complex I used to monitor, trade & adjust my IRA on a monthly basis. Since the site has gotten so complex, I get here about once every 6 months now. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Made Conversion Painless I am at a point in life where converting old 401(k) rollovers to a Roth make optimal tax efficiency. Fidelity handled the account setup and asset transfers, including payment of income taxes, flawlessly. I am very happy working with Fidelity. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trusted partner The creation and funding of my Roth IRA was smooth and without issue. The web site makes investing easy and worry free. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by extremely satisfied with my Roth IRA Before converting my accounts to Fidelity, I had many "bits and pieces" of stocks, and other assets. My representative was able to consolidate my funds into diversified, but simpler and more intelligent ways to invest. I am extremely pleased with his work! March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA change I like everything except for the fact that I can not get my "year to date return". I can get that in my Fidelity 401k but not my Roth. Why? March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far I love my Roth IRA Using Fidelity website to track my accounts is the best. My company's 401k program is with Fidelity so I get to track my 401k along with my Roth IRA. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Government should make it do everyone can qualify for a ROTH IRA. February 23, 2015
  • 2016-10-22 T07:48:15.858-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_722, tr_722
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 25 next>>