Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 699 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Site becoming too complex I used to monitor, trade & adjust my IRA on a monthly basis. Since the site has gotten so complex, I get here about once every 6 months now. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Made Conversion Painless I am at a point in life where converting old 401(k) rollovers to a Roth make optimal tax efficiency. Fidelity handled the account setup and asset transfers, including payment of income taxes, flawlessly. I am very happy working with Fidelity. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trusted partner The creation and funding of my Roth IRA was smooth and without issue. The web site makes investing easy and worry free. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by extremely satisfied with my Roth IRA Before converting my accounts to Fidelity, I had many "bits and pieces" of stocks, and other assets. My representative was able to consolidate my funds into diversified, but simpler and more intelligent ways to invest. I am extremely pleased with his work! March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA change I like everything except for the fact that I can not get my "year to date return". I can get that in my Fidelity 401k but not my Roth. Why? March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far I love my Roth IRA Using Fidelity website to track my accounts is the best. My company's 401k program is with Fidelity so I get to track my 401k along with my Roth IRA. February 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Government should make it do everyone can qualify for a ROTH IRA. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Convert The Fidelity Retirement Relationship Coordinator made the traditional to ROTH IRA conversion process seamless. February 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Roth IRA I love the customer service I received in setting up this Roth account. I wish Fidelity had someone to explain in greater detail how to buy and sell stock as well as have views to see and compare all options across the board. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Owner I am very satisfied with the features and management that Fidelity provides for my IRA. February 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA The client service is excellent. I have had no issues anytime I have had to call in for information. The online tools are excellent as well. The only issue I would have is when you open an IRA, you should be able to invest in mutual funds at any dollar level, not the 2500 minimums. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plenty of options Pros: Easy to open, no fee's, plenty of options, dividend reinvestment option for most stocks, easy to use website. Execution is fast, online trading platform is easy to use. Commission is low. Con: a low password max character limit is enforced and this is no good. Makes it much easier for the bad guys to crack passwords if they know the max char limit, and it is easy to figure out when making an account or pretending to. Longer passwords are stronger. This makes me hesitant to trust that my information is stored in a secure manor. February 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Client Communications Exceptionally poor client service. Emails and phone calls not returned. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Pair with Rewards Credit Cards Fidelity's Retirment Rewards credit cards (AMEX, VISA) make an excellent pair with the actual IRA itself. Spending results in saving. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Backup Retirement account Am happy to be able to combine typical investments in a brokerage account with high yield intermediate bonds (not bond funds).......it works, although have found the 'new' system to be more difficult to scan and see enough of my line items on one page - have supplied this feedback another time or two previously. February 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not to expensive and relatively easy to use It is pretty easy to make contributions and the expense is not bad. February 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Inexpensive and flexible, easy to use Lots of options and smooth website interface. Customer service is exceptional! February 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too soon to tell No problems, but can't rate 5 stars because I've only had the account for a feww months. February 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenience and secure It took very long for me to transfer from traditional Ira to Roth ira and I had to transfer twice to make it right. February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA So far, I have been pleased with my Roth IRA. I rolled it over from a previous employer, and I think the recommendation made by Fidelity has work well so far. February 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Always A Problem It seems that every attempted transaction with Fidelity takes an extra step or two. When you think something is complete, it takes more input. This is true with all of my accounts and with my conversations with reps. With this Roth account, transferred from my 401k, I authorize the transfer, wait for the fund transfer (from Fidelity to Fidelity), need to come back and choose a fund again (not an easy step with website not set up intuitively for such investment transfers), and hope again it went right. Need to check regularly online to see what else is needed or what unexpected thing has happened. Investment is now fine, but I am not happy. February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy and reliable Rolled over several past accounts to fidelity - glad to have them all in one place! February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I started my Roth IRA at age 40. Now that I am 60 and do not need it, the interest, dividends and capital gains can continue to grow tax free inside the Roth IRA account. February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great customer service i'm new at this but feel secure with your group. I get very helpful information online thank you. January 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by roth ira don't know anything about it. All I know is that the taxes have already been paid on it. January 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Website The website is AWFUL compared to Fidelity's own 403b website. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retirement GREAT WAY TO INVEST FOR YOUR RETIREMENT IN THE FUTURE - :) January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Years Resolution? Get a Roth IRA There is really nothing else to say, other than this should be your goal in the new year if you're looking for a fool proof resolution: create an IRA account. I've never personally dealt with Fidelity's customer service since I established and transferred my IRA to them via the computer, but I'm assuming (and hoping) if I did contact them it would be a pleasant communication. Other than not having enough information to rate them on customer service, they seem like a strong go-to. January 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by FidelityrothIRA good financial plan. provides many options for using the funds. January 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA Fidelity has a great selection of funds to suit all strategies. Don't forget that you do NOT have to take RMD over age 70.5 with Roth so you can draw down standard IRAs first, leaving the Roth to accumulate further.. January 13, 2015
  • 2016-08-23 T11:24:57.866-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_699, tr_699
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 24 next>>