• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 578 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my Roth Some years ago I converted a Traditional IRA to a Roth. I like it because I don't have to take the MRD every year. I have never taken a distribution, but it is nice to know that if I ever had to, I wouldn't pay tax on it. I feel very secure that the Roth IRA is at Fidelity, and if I need guidance, I can just call the experts at Fidelity, and I feel confident that I am receiving the best information. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by concise, informative portfolio page I have several brokerage accounts and the Fidelity portfolio page is the best for info on what happened today and since purchased info. Have had very little contact with customer service and think that is a good thing. Reliability and trustworthiness is an absolute requirement and has never been called into question. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investment option Good option for tax free money in retirement. Ability to invest funds in a variety of ways, CDs, mutual funds, RTFs etc. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Setting up and funding a ROTH IRA Easy to set up on Fidelity.com. Funding from my regular IRA is also simple. I convert some of my regular IRA to a ROTH each year. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Can you make the bottom line easier to know? There is money put into a Roth IRA (that you can withdraw at any time with no penalty) and then there's earnings...or losses. Would like to very easily know/see the status of my account--how much have I deposited that I'm entitled to withdraw at any time, how much is earnings/loss. Since I'm over 59.5 and have had the account more than 5 years--no penalties would apply if I withdraw earnings...but as I was getting to that 59.5 years old and 5 years with the Roth--would have been nice to know what part of the total value of the Roth account would have been subject to penalty and which part wouldn't have been. Thanks! January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by best deal in retirement Good mutual fund choices and great tax treatment!! January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent account I like the ease of use of the website and the app. I like money transfers being processed immediately. I also like the multitude of ETF's that are available commission free. Commission free is a must for a monthly IRA contributor like myself. I wish my employer's 401(k) was 10% as good as my fidelity IRA account. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Why so slow to credit deposits The only complaint (minor) is the fact it takes so long to credit my account when I transfer money in via a direct transfer from my bank. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by roth Easy transfer from company account to personal account January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure & reliable Trust-worthy managers who takes care of clients investments..Fidelity is secure & reliable..I like it.. .Good job.! January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth Review Meets all of my needs for investing in a Roth IRA each year and managing that investment. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Roth is a Roth Last spring I drove 125 miles to have an interview with my Fidelity account manager. He asked a few questions and said he would mail me some recommendations. A few days later I got two large packages that had more information than I could read in a reasonable amount of time. It turned out to be several stock and bond and mutual fund prospectus packages. It did not have any personalized info such as why Fidelity had chosen those particular investments for me, nor did it suggest any particular asset allocation tips for me, just the normal asset allocation tips you can find in Money magazine or Kiplingers. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity - The best place for my Roth IRA Fidelity is a great place to maintain my Roth IRA. There are so many investmens to choose from, my Fidelity customer srvice representative is helpful and knowlegeable, and the access to information through the Fidelity web site is simple and convenient. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Fidelity Roth IRA is an excellent value account The Fidelity Roth IRA is an excellent value account. You can manage your stocks, bonds and mutual funds from a central account. Gains are tax free!!! January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA The Roth IRA I have with Fidelity was easy to set up and allows me to easily contribute as well as to buy and sell holdings as in any brokerage account at their low transaction fees. A Roth IRA is an important part of a tax-diversified retirement approach. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Local Office appointments The office folks are very helpful in seeing me without prior appointments. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use I have been using the Fidelity Platform for this ROTH IRA for about one year. The site is easy to use (buyin & Selling), the account display is clean and succinct, and tools are available to do my own research. I would like to see some improvement in the ETF offerings: low cost, commission-free Fidelity products and the facility transfer assets from an index mutual fund to an identically structured index ETF - without triggering a taxable event. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by USEFULLNESS Roth is an account that may be passed to heirs without income tax affects on heirs. Investments are made with a long term view in mind. January 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Roth IRA help The people at the call center tell me all the time,,,,,,,,Robert, walk into the office on Linden Rd. ( Flint, MI.) and they will help you,,,,,,,,,,yeah, if you have 60,000 thousand dollars in your account, sure they will help, but if not, sorry Charile........ January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just wish not brokerage No issue. But I wish I can have Roth IRA in regular Mutual Fund accounts, instead of forcing to open Brokerage account. I don't trade in Roth IRA account. I don't need Brokerage account. I like the old Fidelity Mutual Fund account much better than Brokerage account. Sadly, Fidelity is moving away the old Mutual Fund account and push Brokerage account to everyone right now. Brokerage account is designed for people to trade. Not for the people like me who do not trade, but just want to own Fidelity mutual funds. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA survey I've had my Roth with Fidelity for maybe 11 years. I like the fact that Fidelity has a decent platform that they only change in small increments I dislike having to relearn new formats.. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not bad I wish funds would transfer into the account quicker than they do. Other than that, it's great. January 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just fine Fidelity provides overall great products and this account is no exception. However, my experience with this account is similar to other IRA's I have had with other providers. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good research I like the way you have set up the available research. The ratings are very useful as well as search by sectors. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works Well and Smoothly Fidelity's retirement account features in general, and the Roth IRA features in particular, are easy to use and provide all the tools for sound investment in a variety of instrument types as may suit nearly any investor. Maintaining my account, making contributions, and tracking performance of my investments are all easy to do, and monthly reporting allows me to track results readily. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I can sleep at night without worry Customer service makes it possible. All questions are answered quickly in terms I can understand. January 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Roth I really don't like it. I have a very difficult time trading on you platform. It never seems to work right for me. I haven't been able to place one successful covered call since trying to trade on your web site or trading platform. In fact unless I place a market order nothing ever seems to go through. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Doing a rollover was easy. This has become a great tax savine method. January 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Fidelity has average service when it comes to its Roth IRA. I used to get calls from specialists to check in regarding my investments, but that has happened in 2-3 years. Everything is online and can be confusing at times to navigate. January 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ease of access I find the website information and tools easy to understand and the choices of funds to be excellent. January 28, 2014
  • 2015-07-06T10:48:21.699-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_578, tr_578
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 20 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.9.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.