Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 688 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plenty of options Pros: Easy to open, no fee's, plenty of options, dividend reinvestment option for most stocks, easy to use website. Execution is fast, online trading platform is easy to use. Commission is low. Con: a low password max character limit is enforced and this is no good. Makes it much easier for the bad guys to crack passwords if they know the max char limit, and it is easy to figure out when making an account or pretending to. Longer passwords are stronger. This makes me hesitant to trust that my information is stored in a secure manor. February 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Client Communications Exceptionally poor client service. Emails and phone calls not returned. February 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Pair with Rewards Credit Cards Fidelity's Retirment Rewards credit cards (AMEX, VISA) make an excellent pair with the actual IRA itself. Spending results in saving. February 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Backup Retirement account Am happy to be able to combine typical investments in a brokerage account with high yield intermediate bonds (not bond funds).......it works, although have found the 'new' system to be more difficult to scan and see enough of my line items on one page - have supplied this feedback another time or two previously. February 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not to expensive and relatively easy to use It is pretty easy to make contributions and the expense is not bad. February 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Inexpensive and flexible, easy to use Lots of options and smooth website interface. Customer service is exceptional! February 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Too soon to tell No problems, but can't rate 5 stars because I've only had the account for a feww months. February 10, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenience and secure It took very long for me to transfer from traditional Ira to Roth ira and I had to transfer twice to make it right. February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA So far, I have been pleased with my Roth IRA. I rolled it over from a previous employer, and I think the recommendation made by Fidelity has work well so far. February 2, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Always A Problem It seems that every attempted transaction with Fidelity takes an extra step or two. When you think something is complete, it takes more input. This is true with all of my accounts and with my conversations with reps. With this Roth account, transferred from my 401k, I authorize the transfer, wait for the fund transfer (from Fidelity to Fidelity), need to come back and choose a fund again (not an easy step with website not set up intuitively for such investment transfers), and hope again it went right. Need to check regularly online to see what else is needed or what unexpected thing has happened. Investment is now fine, but I am not happy. February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy and reliable Rolled over several past accounts to fidelity - glad to have them all in one place! February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I started my Roth IRA at age 40. Now that I am 60 and do not need it, the interest, dividends and capital gains can continue to grow tax free inside the Roth IRA account. February 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great customer service i'm new at this but feel secure with your group. I get very helpful information online thank you. January 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by roth ira don't know anything about it. All I know is that the taxes have already been paid on it. January 22, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Website The website is AWFUL compared to Fidelity's own 403b website. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retirement GREAT WAY TO INVEST FOR YOUR RETIREMENT IN THE FUTURE - :) January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Years Resolution? Get a Roth IRA There is really nothing else to say, other than this should be your goal in the new year if you're looking for a fool proof resolution: create an IRA account. I've never personally dealt with Fidelity's customer service since I established and transferred my IRA to them via the computer, but I'm assuming (and hoping) if I did contact them it would be a pleasant communication. Other than not having enough information to rate them on customer service, they seem like a strong go-to. January 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by FidelityrothIRA good financial plan. provides many options for using the funds. January 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA Fidelity has a great selection of funds to suit all strategies. Don't forget that you do NOT have to take RMD over age 70.5 with Roth so you can draw down standard IRAs first, leaving the Roth to accumulate further.. January 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable I have been with Fidelity a short time but have found my time here a pleasant experience. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retired spousal Roth Implementation looking ahead a few years, we have collaborated with our investment advisor to reduce our traditional and rollover accounts and maximize both annual Roth contributions with Fidelity's informative website and knowledgeable telephone representatives. Fidelity makes it so easy to implement and follow our financial plans. Fidelity remains competitive on the cost and performance aspect while far exceeding our expectations on the personal service and implementation side. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really satisfied Have been a Fidelity customers for almost 6 years now. My experience has been so satisfactory. I would highly recommend considering Fidelity for your investment needs. January 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by No complaints I transferred my old Roth IRA to Fidelity and so far, I have been very pleased. The costs are lower, I have more control, and everything is much more transparent. January 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by New Participant Not much to say about my investment since I am a new participant. But I can say I like the convenience of doing things on my own. January 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I love having my investment accounts at Fidelity. I have never been pressured to make inappropriate investment decisions or give up control of my accounts. Service is always prompt and excellent. It is my considered belief that there is no better value available, and no more secure house of finance. It is apparent that Fidelity maintains a high standard of ethics that give me great comfort. December 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greg's Roth IRA Fidelity offers a great IRA account. The main reason I like it is because I can populate it with no-fee iShares ETFs offered by Fidelity. Fidelity's customer service is wonderful and the financial tools on their website are absolutely terrific. I would recommend a Fidelity Roth IRA account to anyone. December 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great for the Small Business Employee A Fidelity Roth IRA gives you the option to seek expert advice or to use your own judgment for the account. Recurring deposits on a monthly, quarterly, or yearly basis ensures money is wisely saved for your retirement goals instead of foolishly spent on short term goals. Moreover, there is peace of mind that a nest egg will be available in the future. December 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Below Expections Good information available on the web site, but very long wait time to speak with an advisor. December 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy access and no hassle I enjoy the easy online access to my account. The Fidelity website is easy to navigate and easy to quickly retrieve specific account information. I also like the long rang plan management option so I don't have to try and manage it myself. Keep up the good work! December 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and easy So far, setting up and using my ROTH IRA with Fidelity has been great. The only "complaints" would be about the website itself and the ease of finding new things that I'm currently unfamiliar with. The website seems to need an overhaul to be in touch with the rest of the "technology looks" that other websites offer today. For example, I use Fidelity in Safari, and the site is always "left justified" and to a set size....It seems to me that it would make much more sense to have the screen AT LEAST in the center of the page, if not magnified and adjusted to each user's screen size. December 14, 2014
  • 2016-07-30 T10:53:56.297-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_688, tr_688
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 23 next>>