• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 533 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer service I have called your customer service and they have been very helpful and are very knowledgable. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable Both my husband and I have Fidelity Roth Ira's, and he also has a Fidelity 403(b). The people at Fidelity are there when we need them with help. The tools on the website are extremely helpful, and it is easy to monitor and manage one's funds online. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Makes It Easy To Invest I love that I can contribute money each week. It may not be a lot, but some companies have a minimum. This makes it easy for us to save for retirement. January 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ROTH IRA Enjoy having it with Fidelity. Would enjoy it even more with some more free trades. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient with great service Fidelity has been very good over the years. Online access is convenient, and their in-house research ability is very good. When needed, customer service has been very good as well. Only complaint would be that the trades are a bit too expensive at $7.95 each. Total value of our accounts is almost $250,000 and you'd think we could get some relief on that score. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the active investor. I maintain a margin acct, rollover IRA and Roth IRA with Fidelity. Margin and options were easy to apply for, options are available for my IRAs, automatic investments are simple to set up. Their website is very dependable and easy to use. Their mobile program for my phone and iPad is great as well. Customer service has been great the couple times I used it and is available on the weekend! I'm very happy with Fidelity. December 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure & Very helpful site Great site, easy navigation and customer service is very knowledgeable. Have nothing bad to say all is GOOD!! November 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by IRA information page. I'm trying to help somebody set up a Roth. It would be nice if somewhere on your website you gave the initial investment requirements without my having to sign in or give you lots of info about the person. What's the BIG secret? September 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I've been a client for over 20 years I switched to Fidelity when I was in my 40's, and have never looked back. Whenever anyone discusses brokerage companies, I always recommend Fidelity September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy Pleased with services and personnel. Questions nd concerns are addressed in a timely fashion. July 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Too many statements Why does my 401k have quarterly statements but the Roth IRA has to have monthly statements? July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Very happy with my Roth IRA. Wish I started sooner. July 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by buying and selling stocks I really like this account because its very intuitive for buying and selling stocks. July 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Customer Service Best customer service. Agents are knowledgeable and courteous. They really solves problems you may encounter. July 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Review Items By far the largest gripe I have is this: I find it frustrating that I can not see an "annualized gain" in ANY Fidelity account. When I started this account in 2005, I entered all the information into a Yahoo! Finance account, (which does have annualized gain). Since then, as my holdings grew, and free-time dwindled, I was unable to to this. I feel that annualized gain is the best measurement for buy-and-hold investors such as myself. How am I to compare a stock that I've held for three and a half years with one I've held for 18 months and one I've held for 2 months. At the very least, put the original purchase date on there. July 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by would like to see YTD in summary section I manage 2 accounts. Mine and my wife's which is much larger. I really like the Fidelity site and tools. One thing I would like to see is the choice for a Year to Date analysis in the Portfolio Positions section. This is more useful to me than "Change since purchase". It may already be available but I have not been able to find it June 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by What I need Overall the account is clear with its risks and results. I feel that I can sufficiently manage the account myself while at the same time have the ability to ask for assistance when needed. June 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Impressive I do enjoy the fact that it is very easy to read. I can tell at a glance if a chosen stock has gone up or down since it was purchased. June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth Review Fidelity has always been professional and extremely helpful. I am very pleased with the level of customer service that I receive, and the fund selection is fantastic. I have and will continue to recommend Fidelity to family and friends. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Knowledgable and helpful Staff is very helpful and knowledgable when needed June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA One of the biggest advantages Fidelity offers is the availability of many iShare ETFs for commission-free trading. This is a huge advantage for a smaller account. Hopefully Fidelity will add more ETFs to it's commission-free trading platform. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth and IRA The way fidelity allows me to review and transfer my IRA and Roth IRA is great, and if I do have a question your personnel immediately give me any help I need. I have recommended my family esp. grandchildren to a Roth and most of us use Fidelity June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My Roth Very easy to use the Fidelity Roth. Like that there is no fee June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable, dependable I have been able to count on Fidelity for assistance when needed. June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA Review I've had my IRA for a long time and converted to a Roth many years ago (at a non-optimum time from a tax perspective). Fidelity has done a fine job. My only complaint is that Fidelity does not work completed electronically and it wastes some of my valuable time. For example, I receive electronic e-mails for shareholder voting for my stock holdings (non-Fidelity holdings), but Fidelity tells me this is not possible for Fidelity mutual funds (I own MANY). Really?!? Not Possible?!? I think you could work on making that possible. One additional thing. I've had Fidelity accounts since about 1985 and will soon have over $1MM in net assets in various Fidelity accounts. I think Fidelity should value this loyalty and provide all benefits to me in advance of me reaching that magic $1MM net assets mark. June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth eval I've beeen a client of Fiddelity for many years..... outstanding advice from a variety of contacts, always cordial and informative. June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent service, low commisions Trades are easy on-line, commissions are low, and when you need a real representative to take care of the issue the staff is knowledgeable, responsive, and gets the job done. June 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Intuitive My best recommendation to fidelity would be to make their user interface more intuitive. I should be able to trade all on one page in 1/10th of the time it currently takes me to trade. I can understand that not all accounts trade so offer me the preference or the customization of how my home page is set up. All forms should also be online with nothing requiring a fax signature. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple yet loaded with features. I have used Fidelity for over 10 years and have always been pleased with the ease of use and all the great information that is available. My suggestions for improvement are as follows: I would love to see a personalized rate of return shown for IRA accounts. Also would love to see an automated rebalance tool for IRA accounts. Thanks and keep up the good work. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Tidy Package Easy to set up and administer and so many advantages to a Roth that it is surprising more people dont use one. The only downside is that you cannot offset losses against gains for taxes as you can with a regular non-IRA account, but the benefits of building a tax free nest egg that can become an inheritance vehicle and doesnt need to be drawn at 70 1/2 are paramount. June 26, 2013
  • 2015-03-30T10:22:01.722-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_533, tr_533
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 18 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.9.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.