• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 533 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Local Office appointments The office folks are very helpful in seeing me without prior appointments. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use I have been using the Fidelity Platform for this ROTH IRA for about one year. The site is easy to use (buyin & Selling), the account display is clean and succinct, and tools are available to do my own research. I would like to see some improvement in the ETF offerings: low cost, commission-free Fidelity products and the facility transfer assets from an index mutual fund to an identically structured index ETF - without triggering a taxable event. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by USEFULLNESS Roth is an account that may be passed to heirs without income tax affects on heirs. Investments are made with a long term view in mind. January 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Roth IRA help The people at the call center tell me all the time,,,,,,,,Robert, walk into the office on Linden Rd. ( Flint, MI.) and they will help you,,,,,,,,,,yeah, if you have 60,000 thousand dollars in your account, sure they will help, but if not, sorry Charile........ January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just wish not brokerage No issue. But I wish I can have Roth IRA in regular Mutual Fund accounts, instead of forcing to open Brokerage account. I don't trade in Roth IRA account. I don't need Brokerage account. I like the old Fidelity Mutual Fund account much better than Brokerage account. Sadly, Fidelity is moving away the old Mutual Fund account and push Brokerage account to everyone right now. Brokerage account is designed for people to trade. Not for the people like me who do not trade, but just want to own Fidelity mutual funds. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA survey I've had my Roth with Fidelity for maybe 11 years. I like the fact that Fidelity has a decent platform that they only change in small increments I dislike having to relearn new formats.. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not bad I wish funds would transfer into the account quicker than they do. Other than that, it's great. January 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just fine Fidelity provides overall great products and this account is no exception. However, my experience with this account is similar to other IRA's I have had with other providers. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good research I like the way you have set up the available research. The ratings are very useful as well as search by sectors. January 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works Well and Smoothly Fidelity's retirement account features in general, and the Roth IRA features in particular, are easy to use and provide all the tools for sound investment in a variety of instrument types as may suit nearly any investor. Maintaining my account, making contributions, and tracking performance of my investments are all easy to do, and monthly reporting allows me to track results readily. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I can sleep at night without worry Customer service makes it possible. All questions are answered quickly in terms I can understand. January 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Roth I really don't like it. I have a very difficult time trading on you platform. It never seems to work right for me. I haven't been able to place one successful covered call since trying to trade on your web site or trading platform. In fact unless I place a market order nothing ever seems to go through. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Doing a rollover was easy. This has become a great tax savine method. January 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Fidelity has average service when it comes to its Roth IRA. I used to get calls from specialists to check in regarding my investments, but that has happened in 2-3 years. Everything is online and can be confusing at times to navigate. January 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by ease of access I find the website information and tools easy to understand and the choices of funds to be excellent. January 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missing Link Portfolio Positions is a good summary. Be better if at least the first purchase date of each fund were shown somewhere and then the increase decrease percentage would have some meaning. Conversely the percentage could be the average (annual) increase decrease. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gronk43 I have had accts. with fidelity for over 30 yrs. and do not see any reason to change. Any time I have a question or problem I just call and it gets resolved. I do all my own buying and selling and if I have any questions at all , just pick up the phone. I know companies look for new customers but when you offer free trades why not throw some to your loyal customers to. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional, couteous, and patient We've been extemely satisfied with the outstanding service we always get with Fidelity service personnel; regardless of which branch/location we get our questions answered thoroughly and promptly, in terms we can understand, regardless of what group or topics we may discuss. For example, we recently opened another ROTH IRA and the CSR explained all we wanted to know about this product, especially the abitity to continue to invest in mutual funds and develop a tax-free withdrawals for beneficiaries. Fidelity's Customer Service Representatives (CSR) are polite and helpful, and they always ask at the end of our conversations, if they need to answer other questions or if they detect some reluctance, they ask if there are any other issues or questions that we have prior to closing out the session. Overall, we recommend Fidelity for the friendly, patient, and courteous service that we've we received over ten years. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA A Roth is a blessing when you retire. I allows you to blend Social Security payments, Traditional IRA and Roth distributions (if needed). This can help when you ere trying to stay in a low tax bracket. The longer you don't touch the Roth the faster it grows. Fidelity offers so much helpful advice and very detailed reporting structures it only takes a few minutes to to assess any kind of performance criteria you you desire. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I only use Fidelity Fidelity makes transferring money into accounts, making trades, and answering questions easy and seamless. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and safe Fidelity makes investing easy. The ability to link different accounts and manage them on the same platform at the same time is great. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flexible Provides flexibility in portfolio design coupled with Fidelity's easy to use website. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service easy to transfer fund between banks and accounts in fidelity. easy to buy and get the quote. user friendly January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable I value my Roth IRA account and also my excellent working relationship with Fidelity and it's reps. They are extremely knowledgeable, courteous and provide EXCELLENT customer service. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenient Knowledgeable customer representatives, excellent on line tools, wide variety of products. However, with the probable exeption of the well trained customer reps, I doubt any of these things differentiate Fidelity very much from the 3 or 4 other major mass market investment sources. They are probably expensive to train/maintain, but they are Fidelity's significant market differentiator. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy account management Easy to work with, make projections outcome and reliable. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by More options & better service I like the full range of investment options and the good customer service. January 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good executions however there have been times when executions have been delayed. Happily, none recently. I have not been the active trader i once was, but looking forward to being more active in my retirement. service at times has been outstanding, but i recall being given incorrect info re: taxation of Roth withdrawals. i'm happy with the very broad selection of products. January 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA Review My account at Fidelity has been handled very well.I have been able to make some good retirement preparation decisions through the use of the available resources provided online, and through conversations with account executives. January 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by roth ira i am very happy with fidelity service and continue with their service indefinitely' January 27, 2014
  • 2015-03-27T09:44:58.476-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_533, tr_533
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.9.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.