• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 551 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Content Need to enhance more function on chart compare for stock and ETF. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and convenient Excellent customer service, lots of choice and easy use web side. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent services, great resources and overall good value I am very happy with my Roth IRA account. The research tools are wonderful, especially for dividends. Only recommendation I would make: Ability to graph portfolio performance vs various indexes. By providing this feature you can track how you are doing relative to the overall market. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax due on roth ira appreciate the info provided on the chat online service May 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by All I wanted. I have only had this Roth IRA since the first of the year but I have been totally satisfied. The range of products available and the low cost of buying them made it a no-brainer for me. I plan to add more money to it before I stop working completely. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just moved my 401K to an IRA My account manager supported me in transfering my 401K to IRA's. Transfering my accounts to IRA's was quick and easy. A multitude of investment options are available to choose from. Lots of background information is available for research. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Fidelity IRAs Nothing but praise. Fidelity has the best web site, the best customer service, etc. I've been with others. I'll never leave Fidelity. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent customer service Every time I call with a questions, representatives are friendly, knowledgeable and easy to understand. It's so nice to be able to have help whenever I need it. April 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by satisfied have invested with fideleity for almost 20 years , very satisfied with service overall March 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful I think that my Roth is a great investment choice. March 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Easy to open an account. Easy to process. Easy to see the pros and cons of other accounts. February 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professionally Managed I have had nothing but a good experience with Fidelity. There was a minor issue with the timing of a contribution. It was not straightforward and the customer service rep quickly realized he wasn't able handle the issue and escalated it. The next person researched it and handled very professionally and efficiently. There are very few good customer service groups out there and Fidelity has one of them. Very impressed. February 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by more work are desired on mobile web For example: In trade panel, when sell all share selected, a selection of current holding should be out automatically. February 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Many Options for Investors I like Fidelity and the website more each time I use it. Fidelity constantly updates and makes their site easier to use, the investing information is very useful, the funds are easy to research and the personal reports are invaluable. As an average investor I feel lucky to have these resources. When I call I get immediate, and accurate service from very helpful people with great attitudes. February 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA A Roth IRA is the best thing to have. Pay your taxes on your investment when you open the Account, then as you earn you don't have to worry about taxes. February 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good research and results I find your web site a huge help for research. I had to change the type of acct. I have last year and the phone help was very good. I would like to see rate of return available February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Very simple to use. A vanilla product for a simple concept February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Rocks Have always experienced good service whether on line or with call to customer service. Never left on hold and always pleasant experience. February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Review I feel that a Roth IRA is the best investment a person can make. This is my first year of full retirement. It bothers me that I will not be able to take out a Roth IRA for C.Y. 2014. I always looked forward to doing so. I intend to convert some of my 401K Rollover Account funds to my Roth IRA each year for the rest of my life. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by For the Grandkids Because I hopefully will not need this money, I can invest differently and take more chances, and am not bound to the rules I follow in my conservative account. February 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by retirement fund centric all my retirement fund under one roof of Fidelity and all retirement fund is consolidated under Fidelity which is very important for me February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA applicability Fidelity made it extremely easy to start and maintain this account. It is a fine vehicle when one is lucky enough to be able to contribute more than a traditional IRA allows. February 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Information about Roth IRA in general insufficient in general any question I may have related to Roth IRAs is incomplete When I ask a question about Roth IRAs I get an answer to a regular IRA February 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good my account is self directed , but the company has done a good job February 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great basics, short on Socially Responsible options The Fidelity platform is very useful for access to articles that give a firm grounding in the basics of long-term investing, and their mutual fund screening program offers diverse mutual fund options. Their selection of Socially Responsible investment products is limited to traditional funds, without access to Community Loan Funds or other more dynamic investment products. This is an important growing edge for me as an investor, and has already sent some of my investment funds elsewhere. February 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA Have not found a need up to now for person to person contact. The online is good, and any phone time has been excellent. Living in the Chicagoland area I have access to offices, but haven't really found myself in need for one. February 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and Controllable I like controlling my retirement account, being able to move assets from a declining fund to a cash reserve account to ride out drops in the stock market. If something bad happens in the world today like 9/11 or the president makes a statement that effects the market, I like the fact that I can relocate my investments to minimize the loss. February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Eas of use I have recommended Fidelity to my Father and to my daughter. I always get a fast and accurate response February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by roth account thank god I had one it gave me many tax free dollars February 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Start communications Right My orginal working with an agent were not good, he was more concerned with his goals than those that I wanted; I wanted to work with the same person (him) and stay consistent with a personal touch.... he wanted to work with whatever and pass me around.. a company should have that person call me and continue what he started or the company should realize that all theirtalk & ads are just that ----talk no action ...the success of the company SHOULD be linked to the consumer.. February 1, 2014
  • 2015-04-24T09:20:34.438-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_551, tr_551
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 19 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.9.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.