Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now


Earnings grow federally tax-free.1


Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner


No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 722 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely secure/reliable I have had a Roth IRA since the 80's. Best tool the Gov't. gave to people wanting to have investments grow and not be taxed at withdrawal. I don't understand why more people do have them. Big mistake is wanting to open one after you retire but you might not have earned income. I love my Roth IRA accounts and I love Fidelity. Your after hours/weekend support is great! December 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service Review Excellent!! The software is very easy to use. I do not have any problems, what so ever!!! December 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recently moved my Roth to Fidelity I have held small accounts at Fidelity for years, but only moved this account to Fidelity about six months ago. It is doing fine, but not enough time has passed to fairly justify giving Fidelity maximum scores in every category. There are several things I like very much. Two examples important to me are: #1 is the advice and support -- very much in tune with my needs, concerns with consideration of long term needs and tax implications of investments. (My previous adviser had more of a "one size fits all" approach, and slightly higher expense ratios.) The web site is excellent, has lots of resources for looking at alternatives, comparisons, etc., and is easy to use. My only regret is that I waited so long to look into Fidelity for this kind of help. November 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and helpful I'm a college student getting into investing and beginning my retirement planning. Fidelity has made it easy for me to learn and made educated decisions easy to make. The account has been all that I need it to be. November 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity is the Best I have been completely happy with my entire Fidelity experience - be it the tools on line - the simplicity in placing my orders. When I have issues, I call someone and they do everything to help me out. When I did a rollover, I felt the customer service representative went well beyond my expectations to make that happen. I was very appreciative of that. November 23, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Using Fideltiy for your IRA Other brokers offer more and at a better price point. If you are just buying and holding they are pretty good at that. November 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service When I called the Fidelity representative was extremely helpful. All of my questions were answered and establishingJ the Roth was as easy as it could possibly be. November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Completely confident with Fidelity. I am completely confident with Fidelity, they are true icons in the investment world. I feel safe with them, and never doubt their integrity and professional handling of my transactions, their prompt correspondence and follow up are reassurance of their commitment to total customer satisfaction. November 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Fidelity has exceeded my expectations. Tyna has done a great job. October 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth Easy to use. A variety of investments to choose from and I'm the one in control. October 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tools Everything just works really well compared to my experience with the competition. Fidelity has great visual tools and dashboards, and clicking on various tabs produces wonderful stock or bond analyses. Love the secure feeling I get from using VIP Access (the phone authentication process) and it's very easy to use. Whenever I talk to my account manager or someone in Customer Support, I feel I get excellent advice, am not rushed and am confident that I can execute my investments properly. October 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA - Great Savings Account I enjoy my account, user friendly online access, helpful customer service. October 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to update Everything works as advertised. Not much else to say. October 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lack of Timely Account Management and Contact I have mutliple accounts with Fidelity both Work Related and many Personal Accounts. Now the accounts are no longer linked in same view through my work account, which makes it harder and less convenient to view all my Fidelity information. I left my Personal Account Representative a very detailed message and all I got in return was a message from his secretary asking if I could call back and give specifics on what I was looking for etc. Obviously this indicated my voice message to my representative was not listened to following me announcing who I was, it must have not even been forwarded to the secretary, otherwise, if either of them had listened to it, they would have heard the SPECIFIC DETAILED QUESTIONS AND HELP I WAS SEEKING. Again I must emphasize that this is not in relation to JUST ONE ACCOUNT, I have at least 6 Accounts minimum with Fidelity. It is disapointing because the representative was so sincere while we set up all the additional accounts, but now I feel I have been pushed to the side now that he obtained those accounts. I have stocks that were suppose to be transfered upon finalization of my father's estate to a brokerage account with Fidelity within the next couple of months. But unfortuneately, I had to make the decision not using that account now based on what my own experience has been thus far in regards to my Personal Fidelity Accounts. I have always enjoyed having my Fidelity Accounts, but now not so much. :( September 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA I like the Fidelity Roth IRA; I mostly use the app to check my balance and day-to-day price changes. However, I do find it unusual that no one has reached out to me to help with my investment decisions. I wouldn't necessarily accept it or solicit it, but I figured that would be a selling point for the company. August 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by my review meets my limited needs its sunny today and maybe rain tomorrow August 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by New Format I would have rated these areas as good to very good. However, the new format is confusing and definitely not convenient. The old format was perfect and I do not understand the advantage of changing it. Maybe I'll get used to it, but for now, it was not a good decision. August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great resources My Roth is composed almost entirely of stocks, and it's important to me to be able to find current and reliable information on both value and growth stocks. Fidelity provides quality resources as well as low-cost trades. August 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service & Convenience Fidelity gives great customer service and is very easy to use. I called the customer service line and had a great experience with the financial representative I spoke with. I appreciated how I wasn't transferred a bunch of times to people who were poorly trained like most customer service numbers. August 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by accessable All orders were filled in a timely manner.Accounts updated regularly. August 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure with great interface I like almost everything about my 401k and Roth account with Fidelity. They're secure with an excellent app user interface that is simple and intuitive. I have only one complaint. When I log in to the app I would like to be able to see a year-to-date return % on my Roth account. My 401k account provides one right there with my balance, but not my IRA account. Surely this can be accommodated August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to manage I'm gradually converting IRA to Roth IRA and paying the taxes owed. Fidelity makes the process easy, of converting to Roth, and recharacterizing when necessary to return funds to IRA. No problem. August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by ROTH IRA The account is easy to access, researching potential purchases provides a wealth of helpful information. Costs are fair August 3, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Confidence This security is valuable and reliable. I will recommend to some my friend. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenience Active Trader Pro is a major reason I like fidelity for trading. Without it, I would rate convenience one bar. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy Quick and easy to set up . . . from electronic account opening to transfer of assets using a service rep, it all went smoothly. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best financial decision I've ever made. As many other people, I began late (early 30's) to notice the painting on the wall. Fidelity has been there for me every step of the way, and the reps are very knowledgeable and always explain things very efficiently. I always recommend Fidelity to anybody that talks about retirement planning to me. What I like about this company the most is the flexibility to do just about anything financial related with them. If you are thinking about retirement, do yourself a favor and just open an account ASAP. The younger the better! You will not regret it. July 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable retirement vehicle No better retirement vehicle out there other than a pension, gives one an opportunity to grow retirement funds without the tax consequence July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb assistance from Fidelity for Rollover IRA Fidelity remains tops in customer service. Always a well qualified, articulate and eager to help person to make business transactions easy and pleasant. July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Like ability to transfer Rollover to Roth IRA on line July 29, 2015
  • 2016-10-23 T07:37:39.061-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_722, tr_722
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 25 next>>