• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 578 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good nothing bad to say. very easy to use. customer service is great - reliable and there when you need them September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use, intuitive. I found it very easy to set up my account and change all of my settings to exactly how I wanted to receive updates. September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tax Free Growth Its a Roth Account What's in it is my doing. Your Minnetonka and Account Mgr. Are a plus. September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good the Fidelity website is superb, easy to navigate and make transactions. August 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Website Of all of the financial websites that I've used, Fidelity's is head and shoulders above the rest. I have yet to need particular information that I've been unable to find, and in most cases, could find that information easily. August 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy to invest Frankly speaking I don't understand what I am doing here. I know that I am investing but I don't know how to manage or understand it. May be I need to learn that now. August 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cumbersome I found is very complicated to find a summary report and concise of certain data . August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and low fees I have a Roth IRA with Fidelity and find it easy to access and make transactions yet low cost. That's what I was looking for and that's what Fidelity provides. August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA For those times when your income slows down, or when you're able to transfer another retirement account to a Roth, a Roth IRA is a great way to invest. There are no penalties to withdrawal and any earned money is not taxed. I have both a regular IRA and Roth IRA. I use my Roth for those investments that I believe have the potential for bigger gains and my IRA for the more stable growth mutuals and stocks. August 13, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Roth IRA Disappointment I wanted my daughter, who is a college student to open a Roth IRA with a portion of her Summer earnings, maybe 550-1000$. The rest she needs for school. We were dissappointed ho hear that there is a $2500 min invesment, or $200 per mo. Both of which dont work. Other firms wave these requirements, or have lower entry points, and I would think that Fidelity would want a college educated, young professional as a client, rather than ship her off to develop a relationship with another company . As a Premium client, I would think that a program or exception should exist for such a case. We are dissapointed, and it is now a hassle.. August 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA Setting up the Roth IRA was very easy but transferring money from my traditional IRA was not. I owned a corporate bond in my traditional IRA and because of that I had to phone in my transfers instead of on line. Once I eliminated the corporate bond, the following transfers went well. July 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA I like the product, however I am not in love with the format that the monthly reports that are displayed on my computer or the mailed papers. July 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great company This is a great company to hold your 401K or any long term investments. Buying and trading stock is super easy to do. July 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and good value The Fidelity online is so incredibly easy to use and it has wonderful research resources which I have found helpful. The only complaint (and it is not a big one) is that there is not much guidance from the people there. I guess if you're paying $8 a trade, you couldn't reasonably expect it….. July 22, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by roth ira i called in for advice about where to invest the money, but was basically told that my wife and I have too little money to invest. this doesn't make any sense. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service I have always had excellent service, even over the phone they have always had the answer to my questions. I was even out of town for a few months, went to a local Fidelity office, and you would have thought I was a regular customer there . Very impressed. July 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Easy Self-directed IRA I wanted a self-directed IRA that was easy to check.... along with in-depth, detailed research at my fingertips. The Fidelity Roth IRA gives me all of that along with security and low fees. July 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Expected much more. In terms of service, options, and value. Very disappointed. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Many options with low fees. Compared to my former investment firm, Fidelity offers more options and at lower fees. Very satisfied. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Security I am positive with my experience with Fidelity's IRA July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA Great to see all accounts on one page. We need to get better at annual conversions and tax planning. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to navigate Fidelity makes it so easy to see your stocks and how they are doing. They have an excellent app and I love it because I monitor most of my stocks from my phone. They also make it easy to research and watch stocks you may want to monitor. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by dividends ex-dividend dates shoud be placed next to symbols of your shares so if you wish to add more you can do so! June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect I enjoy the knowledge of the staff when calling in, the excellent service is what gets my business. June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA When it came time to rollover my 401k to an IRA and Roth IRA there was no question about which firm to use. I had the 401k with Fidelity and their service over the years made the choice to stay with them very easy. June 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by good stuff very happy with this account. received good and helpful information over the phone. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Setting up a ROTH IRA The members were very helpful in setting up and adding to my Roth IRA June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Content Need to enhance more function on chart compare for stock and ETF. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and convenient Excellent customer service, lots of choice and easy use web side. June 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent services, great resources and overall good value I am very happy with my Roth IRA account. The research tools are wonderful, especially for dividends. Only recommendation I would make: Ability to graph portfolio performance vs various indexes. By providing this feature you can track how you are doing relative to the overall market. June 3, 2014
  • 2015-07-01T10:36:09.888-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_578, tr_578
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 20 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.9.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.