• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 580 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use I transferred over my Roth to Fidelity, and the process was super easy. Making annual contributions is easy too, since my Fidelity online account tells me the max I contribute and tracks how much I have already contributed. This is very helpful for a do-it-yourself investor. May 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use Only thing that would of been nice when setting is the ability to use a money order to fund account. May 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Love Roth IRA You can save and Withdraw with no fees... You can Add money at anytime ... Love It! April 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value For the value, the flexibility, ease of use, research, etc. is outstanding. April 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy and cheap customer service is terrific. agents are knowledgable and if they do not have the answers they get them for me. working from my phone I have had no trouble getting personalized help with no long waits and no listening to elevator music or repetitive computer messages. April 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity® Roth IRA I am satisfied with the service from Fidelity at this point in time April 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and Convenient Great web site ,easy to use . But wish it was easier to see the personal rate of return on each fund April 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Service - Decent Price IRA Works Great, commission price keeps me from giving the fund a 5 Star rating April 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA I have 2 IRA accounts that I should be able to transfer funds from into a Roth. My first attempt, I could only transfer funds from one acct. I think I can do both now but I have not tried. This may be a bug that needs to befixed. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and convenient The Fidelity Roth IRA is a perfect solution for my financial planning needs. It's incredibly easy to use, offers several avenues for research, and the information is simple to understand. I've recommended Fidelity Roth IRA to family and friends. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity is the best! I prefer to manage my own account, but know that Fidelity's knowledgeable agents are always able to answer any questions that I have. They are so polite & helpful & have always been perfectly patient with any concern that I have. I could not be happier with Fidelity. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Fidelity does it right! There are some places that you can save a few bucks on trade commissions but overall Fidelity has an outstanding stable of products and services. From research, to planning tools, to screening, and trading, Fidelity is good, if not the best available, for those who want to make their own financial decisions. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient and Expensive Having my ROTH IRA at Fidelity is very convenient, because my employer provided 401k is also at Fidelity. I have found trading on the platform to be very user friendly and easy. My only gripe is the high trading commission. I would have liked to receive some free trades to get started, but I wasn't alloted any because my account is too small. I am a young professional, and am looking to grow my account with a brokerage firm. I am going to be opening a personal trading account next month with only $500 in the account to start. I will look at other available options, as approved by my employer, before opening the account here. I would like to fund the account and grow with a brokerage firm that does not limit my small account growth with restrictive fees. Someday, these accounts will be large, and I will remember the firm that helped me get there. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased Wide selection of low-cost funds. Good website interface. Useful personal advice availalbe, if needed. April 13, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by long wait, insufficient info on hold for a long time -- with NO indication of the end of the tunnel... these days, it should be possible to say how many people ahead of you or your expected wait time. With NO information -- it's especially frustrating. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Accounts I spent a really, really long time researching different investment companies before deciding to open by Roth IRA account with Fidelity. Part of this was based on my parents many years of experience with the company. I have found the site very easy to use and have received great customer service any time I've had a problem (only a couple user error's). The very diverse portfolio options Fidelity offers is great. I plan on sticking with Fidelity for the long haul. April 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Fidelity! Love the Roth! Mostly, it's the 800 support that's so outstanding. But the website is great, too. I like everything about Fidelity. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy The entire Roth conversion took no time and it was very easy to navigate. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy IRA Starting and using my Roth IRA have been easy (so far). I have only had the account for 6 months. Customer Service was so helpful, thorough and fast when learning about my options in the Roth IRA program. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Website full of info & Research Great website full of research and information regarding Mutal Funds & Stocks . Just wish there were more commission-free ETFs online. March 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Confusing balance amounts Cash balance does not update in real time. Actual cash available is confusing if you trade and hold options. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Street I switched from a competitor to Fidelity and I'm very happy with the products and ease of setting up an account and moving my investment. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent secure and reliable I love my entire Fidelity experiences.. is to use and user friendly... March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient This is our first year in a Roth IRA...I wish we started earlier. We will continue to contribute. March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by The long hall A Roth provides the most flexibility hpe never to need it, but if I do I love knowing what comes out will be tax free March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Future Currently this is the best opportunity for saving for my future. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and easy to do It would be nice to offer more advice regarding investment options for an overall portfolio diversification strategy. Just seems to setup easily an Roth Account but then you are on your own. March 23, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need better research tools I wish the products could be more easily researched, e.g., i'm interested in index funds, with little or no fees, and then get a results based on my criteria. another way to increase my usage and rating of fidelity.com would be for me to compare multiple funds, e.g., using the previous index funds, i can choose and compare up to maybe 5 of them at once and see them all on a page. another way I'd be interested in researching would be comparing the top no/low fee index funds with the top no/low fee ETFs. these are at top of my wishlist. March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA I was amazed how easy it was to open a Roth IRA and link it to my traditional IRA. It is a good tool for investors in their sixties who need to think about the tax consequences of a MRD before reaching 70 1/2. March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Financial Cornerstone Every financial professional recommends opening a Roth IRA if you qualify. Fidelity is a trusted institution and a low cost leader with plenty of investment options. March 16, 2015
  • 2015-07-28T11:06:44.756-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_580, tr_580
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.9.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.