Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2016 and 2017: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 724 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by No fee IRA What's to know? It's a Roth IRA and it's Fidelity. August 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by reliable I feel that the roth ria is a great way to invest your money. August 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and easy So easy to buy or sell. I like index funds - bought one tied to the S&P 500. I don't do a lot of trading - mostly a buy and hold investor, but once in awhile I will speculate and when I do it's easy and fast to buy or sell. Costs are low. August 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA The account was simple to create. It is very easy to make trades. The account reps have been excellent. August 23, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy, accurate and fun The tools and references are easy to use. The graphics on the site and mobile app helpful and easy to follow. August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by review happy so far, easy to use and check accounts daily. like the tools availble August 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Great investment! Have been converting my IRAs to Roth IRAs for a few years,so taxes are paid up front. August 16, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lazy, Sloppy or Cheap The IRS recently stopped requiring information about cost basis in Roth accounts. You stopped providing cost basis in Roth accounts and those columns now show zeroes. How is one to know whether the asset is returning positive or negative results if the costs of say a DRIP is not shown. Lack of accurate information is a good reason to change financial organizations. Are you being cheap, lazy or did someone not think this through. August 15, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Straightforward I have found the Fidelity Roth IRA product to be a helpful tool in my overall portfolio. Balancing tax-free growth and up-front tax deductible growth is a important part of my retirement planning. Setting an appt. with an advisor was straightforward and he made it easy to move my old Roth 401k to an Roth IRA. August 9, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Roth IRA review Since opening the Roth IRA, I haven't invested the balance in any way. I do not know how to go about researching investment opportunities and do not know how to actually make a transaction. August 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Support Staff I appreciate the great support staff who reach out to me and help with any questions or changes. August 9, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to Manage The Roth IRA is an easy method of securing an investment that rolled over from a previous 401K account. August 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable survey I have been very pleased with using the services and seeking the advice of the Fidelity personnel August 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA It is working our very well for me and will be of benefit as I move toward my RMD strategy. August 1, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by just ok nothing special about this account-i did it all on m own July 29, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Frustrated This system is frustrating. I try calling and get nowhere. I just want to access my account. July 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to set up I rolled over a company 401K plan into a traditional and Roth IRA. I received excellent advise and they helped make the process easy. July 27, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by roth ira I have had no issues or problems with trades and the research and articles have been very helpful. July 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe, Easy & Reliable I am very pleased and happy with my Roth IRA. The website is easy to navigate and use. I appreciate all the safeguards Fidelity has put in place to keep your personal and financial information safe. I would definitely recommend this program to others. July 25, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Site, Service but expensive I like the service porvided except that my commissions for mutual funds are higher than my previous brokerage. July 23, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Helpful in the beganining, but not when I setup my second account Fidelity was helpful in the beginning, but then not helpful when July 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by FidIRA Above rating says it all!! My experience has been uniformly pleasant and informative !! July 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to administer I am very happy with Fidelity. Online access is the plus point for me. July 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Opening the account online was a smooth and secure process. Auto transfer of funds make it easy to invest whenever and wherever with account updates available using the app from my phone. Excellent online information about performance on companies I am interested in investing with. It is nice speaking to competent people by phone when needed. July 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable, convenient, modern fast and effective customer service. reliable services July 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Customer service was helpful with conversion from traditional IRA to Roth IRA. July 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple to set-up and fund account Fidelity site made it simple to set up both traditional and Roth IRA accounts. Funding the account from an external account was easily done. Advice about investing is readily available on the site. July 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by accurate Fidelity is an excellent broker/custodian with excellent research and account data July 5, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Initial Deposit info missing While looking at the info on opening a Roth IRA, I could not find any information regarding the minimum initial deposit requirement. An important piece of info for anyone considering opening a new account.... June 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Knowledgeable people and great value! I set up my interview with Fidelity and told them my plan. The service was excellent! We got off to a good start and had had two follow up meetings at the local office and two other phone meetings. I moved all of my IRA money to Fidelity in stocks and bonds and I'm very happy! The website is also excellent for research and just checking status of your investments. June 27, 2016
  • 2016-10-30 T07:45:54.362-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_724, tr_724
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>