• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 596 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid I like the choice of investments available, especially for low fee funds. Only difficulty I have had has been transferring an old Roth IRA to a new Fidelity account, but I eventually got the help I needed- the forms were a bit difficult to find. June 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and Easy My Fidelity Roth account is an essential piece of my investment portfolio. I have had it for many years and the only regret I have is that I didn't start sooner and put more money in it. I am not required to withdraw these funds, even after I reach 70 1/2 and is a fairly simple way to leave money to your heirs. I highly recommend this investment. June 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service hassle free Had an ira with another service was deceived about what type of investment I had, decided to move to Fidelity on a referal from my brother was a fantastic move they are great!! June 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Opportunity The Roth IRA was a new investment opportunity for me. Prior to recent changes in law I was unable to benefit from the Roth IRA offerings. Converting assets to a Roth insures my tax position is more favorable in my later years.. My thanks to the Fidelity Investment Advisor for bringing thisopportunity to my attention and helping me through the exchange. June 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by new site is outdated and worse than the previous Fidelity thinks they improved their site ...but only made it worse than before...hate the site... June 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA A Roth IRA is an excellent investment but it is a small part of my portfolio. I wish they had them when I started my first 401K and traditional IRA. My tax bracket has not really decreased since I was in the work force. I am pulling my retirement from my traditional IRA and having to pay taxes. June 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth Ira I am happy that my account advisor helped me choose the right Roth IRA for my needs. I have been a Fidelity customer for many years but I did not know about the Minimum required distribution rule that affects traditional IRA's had I known I woud have started investing in a Roth IRA sooner. June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by User friendly Opening up my Roth IRA was the easiest account I have ever opened on-line. May 27, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure and Relaible I found that their services offered where convenient and help. However wishing their was more guidance provided such as financial advisors. May 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cost effective Fidelity Roth IRA was easy to set up and inexpensive to maintain. It would be better if it could have some self-directed options. May 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by wish I had started conversions from traditional IRA earlier When you accumulate a decent traditional ira and begin to understand minimum distribution tax consequences ... add ss to the mix... FOR some it pays to begin converting funds (and pay the taxes earlier in your life) to avoid having to pay the tax on SS. Easy calculation/./ Wish I had started earlier.. that way I would have maximized returns and minimized taxes. Remember too much Minimum distribution not only causes taxes on SS but also on how much you pay for Medicare when you start to receive it. May 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Reliable The trading time window can be more, the delay on the non ETF trading can be less. Funds on the clearing can be much faster. Overall a great product and good service keep up the good work. May 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Use Very user friendly and convenient to use on-line. Support is readily available be phone if necessary. May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best ever Love fidelity! Best value and great staff members!!! May 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA Like investing with Fidelity. I just wish they would give you personal guidance on what to invest in instead of having to read so much information on the website. May 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service, alot of choices for investments I had a Roth with another Investment brokerage and was not pleased with their website or service. I brought my account to Fidelity and have been very pleased. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use I transferred over my Roth to Fidelity, and the process was super easy. Making annual contributions is easy too, since my Fidelity online account tells me the max I contribute and tracks how much I have already contributed. This is very helpful for a do-it-yourself investor. May 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use Only thing that would of been nice when setting is the ability to use a money order to fund account. May 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Love Roth IRA You can save and Withdraw with no fees... You can Add money at anytime ... Love It! April 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value For the value, the flexibility, ease of use, research, etc. is outstanding. April 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy and cheap customer service is terrific. agents are knowledgable and if they do not have the answers they get them for me. working from my phone I have had no trouble getting personalized help with no long waits and no listening to elevator music or repetitive computer messages. April 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity® Roth IRA I am satisfied with the service from Fidelity at this point in time April 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and Convenient Great web site ,easy to use . But wish it was easier to see the personal rate of return on each fund April 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Service - Decent Price IRA Works Great, commission price keeps me from giving the fund a 5 Star rating April 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA I have 2 IRA accounts that I should be able to transfer funds from into a Roth. My first attempt, I could only transfer funds from one acct. I think I can do both now but I have not tried. This may be a bug that needs to befixed. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and convenient The Fidelity Roth IRA is a perfect solution for my financial planning needs. It's incredibly easy to use, offers several avenues for research, and the information is simple to understand. I've recommended Fidelity Roth IRA to family and friends. April 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity is the best! I prefer to manage my own account, but know that Fidelity's knowledgeable agents are always able to answer any questions that I have. They are so polite & helpful & have always been perfectly patient with any concern that I have. I could not be happier with Fidelity. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Fidelity does it right! There are some places that you can save a few bucks on trade commissions but overall Fidelity has an outstanding stable of products and services. From research, to planning tools, to screening, and trading, Fidelity is good, if not the best available, for those who want to make their own financial decisions. April 14, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient and Expensive Having my ROTH IRA at Fidelity is very convenient, because my employer provided 401k is also at Fidelity. I have found trading on the platform to be very user friendly and easy. My only gripe is the high trading commission. I would have liked to receive some free trades to get started, but I wasn't alloted any because my account is too small. I am a young professional, and am looking to grow my account with a brokerage firm. I am going to be opening a personal trading account next month with only $500 in the account to start. I will look at other available options, as approved by my employer, before opening the account here. I would like to fund the account and grow with a brokerage firm that does not limit my small account growth with restrictive fees. Someday, these accounts will be large, and I will remember the firm that helped me get there. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased Wide selection of low-cost funds. Good website interface. Useful personal advice availalbe, if needed. April 13, 2015
  • 2015-09-04T11:06:55.924-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_596, tr_596
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.9.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.