Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Why Choose Fidelity?

  • America's #1 IRA provider
  • No annual account fees and low minimums to invest
  • Broad range of investment choices
  • Tools, ideas and strategies to help you prepare for retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2016 and 2017: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$4.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion-en_us

Ready to get started?


Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 762 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use and monitor Seeing that this is a self directed IRA the review only applies to the wedsite which is very nice. December 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Customer Service, Not for the Novice I had a 403B through my former workplace and I was able to move my invested money between funds, choosing where I wanted investments to go and if I wanted to move existing investments. I moved to another state within the last 4 months and rolled my 403B to an IRA. I wasn't prepared for the different setup with the IRA. I have zero experience with stocks, bonds, etc. I don't understand how they work other than I buy shares from the funds and they make money or lose money. With the IRA, I can sell, buy, trade, none of which I know how to do. The good thing is that there are loads of tutorials provided by Fidelity on the website, and when I've called, their representatives are always helpful. I do not think that I would personally choose an IRA again as my inexperience could lead to severe loss. I simply am not confident in making investment decisions. That being said, someone else may enjoy this type of account and being able to control their investment decisions, so I would recommend the account to that type of person. December 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Working woman I value low-cost funds, user friendly platform for investing. December 12, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor implementation The Fidelity Roth IRA is a poor implementation of a Roth IRA. Roth IRA's have unique characteristics as it pertains to early retirement. It is possible to withdraw funds from a Roth IRA prior to the qualified age of 59 1/2 if proper records are kept. This includes the following: 1) Some rollovers from other types of retirement accounts to a Roth IRA will have a 5-year "seasoning period". Each rollover will have its own seasoning period. Withdrawals during these seasoning periods can trigger penalties. 2) The account itself has a seasoning period. Again, withdrawals during this seasoning period can trigger penalties. 3) Withdrawals of contributions (aka "cost basis") can be done without taxes or penalties prior to the qualified age if restrictions 1 and 2 above don't apply. In order to do financial planning and make these early withdrawals, proper record-keeping is essential. Sadly, the Fidelity Roth IRA provides none of the online reporting necessary to track the above items year after year. I have contacted Fidelity directly in regards to this issue, and no resolution was provided. December 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure This account is secure and easy to use. I like having control of my account. December 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable Having a local office and person assigned to help is a big asset. December 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Informative Excellent visit to the office. Person at the front desk was courteous and helpful. Meeting with consultant was informative and to the point. Very knowledgeable of current market status and gave me directions to information that will help me make future decisions. December 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA I had after tax monies stuck in a 401K Plan for many years with no means to really access those funds. Converting those funds to the Roth IRA will now permit me to have access to that money if I need it. I was pleased that my Fidelity Representative recognized this fact and suggested the conversion this year. December 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Progam this Roth helps with my needs to help with wealth management December 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I love the ease of use and that although I am new to Fidelity I can navigate and understand it easily November 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure Lots of investment choices, able to track 24/7, great option for retirement savings. November 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Security At first I had problems signing in but it was solved and I appreacate what I had to do to correct the problem It shows that Fidelity is concern about security in protecting my IRA info November 14, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA Opened during current year; therefore, review period is limited. Easy to open and choose investment options. November 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by roth ira i love that i can look at what percent i`m up or down overall November 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Roth IRA is a useful way of paying one's self first November 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA It was extremely easy to set up a Roth IRA online @ Fidelity, and i will continue to do it every year. November 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure, reliable and convenient I like the convenience of accessing my account 24 hours- seven-days a week. October 31, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by no easy help My first IRA. Not able to understand any of your website. Want to know how to invest IRA funds but unable to see how. Should have easy way to automatically invest based on risk level/goals. October 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trusted Happy with account................................................. October 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure I like the customer service at Fidelity. They always answer my questions and are willing to help with any of my financial needs. They are very professional. October 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure and reliable It is a Roth IRA. Not much more can be stated about this. October 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fine and dandy Not much activity - no deposits, one withdrawal since I retired 5 years ago. No problems. September 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't Be Rothless It was very easy to add the Roth IRA and transfer funds in. It has all the flexibility of a brokerage account but grows tax-deferred like a traditional IRA or 401K and has been a convenient way to add one more investment vehicle to my portfolio. September 27, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by your website I find you have so much information that I could use on your website, but it is so hard to find. Maybe you could provide a map of the resources for newer investors. September 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very accessible and Secure Like the ability to track investments and manage my own growth September 23, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Accessible and detail rich Good investment options available for this account. Received great feedback on various choices. September 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by All Services Fidelity has been very responsive and effective in servicing my Roth IRA continually from the time of its creation over ten years ago. September 22, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by So far So good The customer service has been great so far. Not sure what else you want here? September 21, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ambivalent I don't have anything bad to say, but simultaneously I don't have much to say that's necessarily good. Fidelity always has good customer service reviews, and my experience has proven no exception. The actual Roth IRA is just a Roth IRA; I haven't seen or used anything that especially sets it apart. Having said that, this is only my second Roth IRA account. September 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good.... Recently opened a Roth IRA. Guides were helpful and information seemed straightforward. I did receive a call after opening my account but overall everything went off without a hitch. Now the waiting game for growth.... September 21, 2016
  • 2017-02-01 T06:11:08.959-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_762, tr_762
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>