Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 699 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Opening the account online was a smooth and secure process. Auto transfer of funds make it easy to invest whenever and wherever with account updates available using the app from my phone. Excellent online information about performance on companies I am interested in investing with. It is nice speaking to competent people by phone when needed. July 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable, convenient, modern fast and effective customer service. reliable services July 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Customer service was helpful with conversion from traditional IRA to Roth IRA. July 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple to set-up and fund account Fidelity site made it simple to set up both traditional and Roth IRA accounts. Funding the account from an external account was easily done. Advice about investing is readily available on the site. July 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by accurate Fidelity is an excellent broker/custodian with excellent research and account data July 5, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Initial Deposit info missing While looking at the info on opening a Roth IRA, I could not find any information regarding the minimum initial deposit requirement. An important piece of info for anyone considering opening a new account.... June 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Knowledgeable people and great value! I set up my interview with Fidelity and told them my plan. The service was excellent! We got off to a good start and had had two follow up meetings at the local office and two other phone meetings. I moved all of my IRA money to Fidelity in stocks and bonds and I'm very happy! The website is also excellent for research and just checking status of your investments. June 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fits My Needs Everything I could need in a Roth account done from the comfort of home over the internet. June 23, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure So far so good. Reliable, very helpful when needed. Good customer Service. June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very satisfied with Fidelity! I've been with Fidelity for 16+ years and I was always very satisfied with the customer support at Fidelity, if needed. June 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy and convenient Very good platform for basic (U.S. equities, mutual funds) investments June 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by works for me very happy with it have been with fidelity a very long time June 20, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Fidelity is an average brokerage. They do some things well, and some things poorly. It is really a matter of personal preference. June 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Account Review Overall I recently moved this account back to Fidelity after being away for 5 years. I really enjoy the 24 hour customer service and the knowledgeable and friendly representatives. The variety of investments is nice (ETFs, Mutual Funds, etc) and I now have options trading capability. The trading commissions are reasonable. June 19, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good long term plan I like the options I have to invest in, for my Roth IRA. They allow me to spread risk by choosing multiple asset classes. The account works well for long term savings. The website allows me quick and easy access to view my account and investments, and make changes as necessary. June 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Please change how fees are paid I would like to be able to pay all fees out of one account. This is especially true for the Roth IRA account. Every fee I pay out of my Roth takes a bite out of my tax free income forever. I would like to pay those fees out of my brokerage account. I would even open a Fidelity checking account to pay the fees if that's what it took. June 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service and value thank you fidelity great to be part of the fidelity family June 8, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by I don't have the ability to transfer funds into my Roth electronically Unfortunately, Fidelity will not accept electronic fund transfers from my bank, which has been around since 1890. I did not find this out until I had transferred my 401k and Roth IRA's to Fidelity. The customer service folks are always friendly and willing to assist, however, I refuse to mail in a physical check to Fidelity to transfer funds. Forget it, I'll find someone else who will accept my money, based on today's standards of doing business. June 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Account Executive Recommendation Set up after suggestion from my account manager while I was setting up a Rollover IRA. He recognized that I already had significant aftertax dollars in my 401K. June 8, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by using for Roth I am using Fidelity because of convenience. It is not worse than others available June 8, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA - Ability to Contribute After reviewing my portfolio the representative told me I could open a Roth IRA every year. I was unaware of this choice from my current adviser. May 31, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tax benefit I wish I could put more money into Roth IRA account before I retired. May 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax free growth I like easy conversion process from Traditional to Roth IRA. May 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy setup This account was easy to set up, and it is easy to review periodically online. I also like the ability to review all my accounts monthly on the consolidated statement. May 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Choices & Convience I'm a solid Fidelity fan. Love having all my investments in one place. The web site is terrific. May 16, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by seems to do what it is supposed to do I chose a roth conversion to reduce future mandatory distributions and maybe have a partially tax free estate. May 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable No issues here. I enjoy seeing both of my retirement portfolios on the site when I choose "Positions." Also, I like the idea that my cost basis is shown and immediately changes after a purchase. May 1, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by 4* Your service is excellent. I can really give the company 5 stars. However the interest amounts paid on your CD's and Annuities are not competitive with rates that can be available in the open market. I can find other comparable reputable banks and insurance providers(A+ rated) providing better rates. I have conveyed this to each of your customer service professionals who answer's my call to have this information passed along. If better rates are offered on these two products I sure can transfer additional amounts held outside of Fidelity and have it consolidated. Would appreciate a feed back please. I can provide you additional details if needed. Thanks. April 25, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Percentage of Growth I have never been able to find a way to check the percentage for the growth of my Roth IRA since the beginning of the year or since inception. I can see how much money has been earned but it would be nice to also see a percentage. April 25, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by ROTH IRA review $7.95 is too expensive in this market. Plus someone just told me that there's a hold after you sell a stock and before you can buy a new stock. Again, that's not what your competitors are doing. April 25, 2016
  • 2016-08-23 T11:24:57.807-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_699, tr_699
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 24 next>>