Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2016 and 2017: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 751 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Security At first I had problems signing in but it was solved and I appreacate what I had to do to correct the problem It shows that Fidelity is concern about security in protecting my IRA info November 14, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA Opened during current year; therefore, review period is limited. Easy to open and choose investment options. November 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by roth ira i love that i can look at what percent i`m up or down overall November 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Roth IRA is a useful way of paying one's self first November 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA It was extremely easy to set up a Roth IRA online @ Fidelity, and i will continue to do it every year. November 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure, reliable and convenient I like the convenience of accessing my account 24 hours- seven-days a week. October 31, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by no easy help My first IRA. Not able to understand any of your website. Want to know how to invest IRA funds but unable to see how. Should have easy way to automatically invest based on risk level/goals. October 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trusted Happy with account................................................. October 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure I like the customer service at Fidelity. They always answer my questions and are willing to help with any of my financial needs. They are very professional. October 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure and reliable It is a Roth IRA. Not much more can be stated about this. October 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fine and dandy Not much activity - no deposits, one withdrawal since I retired 5 years ago. No problems. September 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't Be Rothless It was very easy to add the Roth IRA and transfer funds in. It has all the flexibility of a brokerage account but grows tax-deferred like a traditional IRA or 401K and has been a convenient way to add one more investment vehicle to my portfolio. September 27, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by your website I find you have so much information that I could use on your website, but it is so hard to find. Maybe you could provide a map of the resources for newer investors. September 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very accessible and Secure Like the ability to track investments and manage my own growth September 23, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Accessible and detail rich Good investment options available for this account. Received great feedback on various choices. September 22, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by All Services Fidelity has been very responsive and effective in servicing my Roth IRA continually from the time of its creation over ten years ago. September 22, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by So far So good The customer service has been great so far. Not sure what else you want here? September 21, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ambivalent I don't have anything bad to say, but simultaneously I don't have much to say that's necessarily good. Fidelity always has good customer service reviews, and my experience has proven no exception. The actual Roth IRA is just a Roth IRA; I haven't seen or used anything that especially sets it apart. Having said that, this is only my second Roth IRA account. September 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good.... Recently opened a Roth IRA. Guides were helpful and information seemed straightforward. I did receive a call after opening my account but overall everything went off without a hitch. Now the waiting game for growth.... September 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient The security and convenience of Fidelity's IRA is great. I never imagined the ease of making contributions and changes to my account. September 14, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Honesty Though the Roth IRA is good to invest in, too many hoops to jump through to obtain the money you worked hard for...but it serves its temporary purpose. September 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Customer I love the customer service and the easy online access. September 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Automatic Investing easy to use without my intervention if i am not haome. September 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA at Fidelity Fidelity's customer service is top notch, they will help you in anyway they can. The Roth IRA is in my opinion the best Retirement account to invest in. September 6, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure little hard to review IRA from the fidelity homepage August 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Choices & Convenience Very good overall. I like the flexibility of contribution dates and structured contribution amounts. I really like the vast amount of funds you can participate in if you like. August 30, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA Easy to set up, easy to manage. Plus, it was easy to access information about conventional IRA distribution requirements - and, using this information, develop a conversion schedule. August 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by No fee IRA What's to know? It's a Roth IRA and it's Fidelity. August 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by reliable I feel that the roth ria is a great way to invest your money. August 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and easy So easy to buy or sell. I like index funds - bought one tied to the S&P 500. I don't do a lot of trading - mostly a buy and hold investor, but once in awhile I will speculate and when I do it's easy and fast to buy or sell. Costs are low. August 29, 2016
  • 2017-01-18 T05:52:21.621-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_751, tr_751
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>