• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 657 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1 Satisfied, generally happy with the service and IRA. March 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easiest and best move I ever made. My transfer from another Institution says it all Right on time no excuses, mistakes or any Headaches. A+ March 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easily accessible My experience using the Fidelity platform has been extremely positive. The investment accounts are easily accessible and the platform is intuitive, even for first-time users. March 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for long term While I have had the Roth IRA for a short time, it will definitely fill a need for a long term investment vehicle with great tax advantages. Thanks. February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by FOODY I LIKE THE ROTH BECAUSE OF THE TAX FREE SAVINGS. I CAN'T COMMENT ON MUCH MORE BECAUSE I HAVE NOT HAD TO USE IT. I PLAN TO LEAVE IT AND LET IT GROW TAX FREE AND IT WOULD BE THE LAST MONEY I WOULD USE. February 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very valuable in retirement We did not have Roth IRA or the Roth 401K accounts when I was young. As earnings accumulate over the years it is much more valuable to manage the savings in a Roth account. If I were to start my career today I would use only the Roth IRAs. February 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple It is easy and simple to use! Many funds to choose from. February 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Control your future When my previous Roth IRA provider exited the business, I had the courage to take control of my investments. I had existing accounts with Fidelity so I added the Roth IRA to the mix. The newsletter I subscribe to has an excellemt track record and Fidelity makes it easy to follow their recommendations. February 15, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure Need to provide more instructions and advise for first time users. I wish someone would have helped me with investing my first $5K February 15, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dean Dailey IRA review The IRA is convenient to use. Friendly service. Good value obtained through a combination of fixed income resources such as CD's, US Treasuries etc. Standard stock trades are also very convenient but with high market volatility a bit too risky for my personal approach. February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flexibility The ROTH IRA gives so much enthusiasm and confidence knowing that withdrawals and earnings are essentially tax free. This will be a big boost one day when you need those extra funds to make a significant purchase during retirement and wont get hit with a big tax bill. That is my hope. January 26, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by On par A Roth IRA is a Roth IRA. It is the funds that make or break it. Service with Fidelity seems to have been declining recently. There even seems to be an unwillingness to face to face meetings with an Executive Account Representative. January 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth redux This account was a rollover account and it was pre-positioned prior to changing platforms. January 11, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA Our Fidelity representative is excellent. He is knowledgeable and gives us the impression he has done this before and can provide advice on situations we may not have anticipated. With the market performance the last 6 months, it is hard to say how our choices will do over the long term. I did suggest splitting the investments, which our representative had not suggested, but did agree with. We hope this investment performs well over the long haul as it will probably be inherited by our heirs at some point in time. January 11, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Oriented I have appreciated the interface with my broker. He has given me items to look at and consider. January 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use I enjoy the online tools. They allow me to do my own research and investing. January 5, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by SDR Roth IRA Fidelity does a great job managing my IRA's. The issues I have all revolve around how difficult it is to navigate through your web site. The main problem I have had is once I have made a withdrawal from my traditional IRA I have had to call each time to get help making sure the taxes were taken out. Your customer service people have been great each time, which helps a lot. Nevertheless, I should not have had to call for the help. December 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA I'm very satisfied with my Fidelity Roth IRA; I consolidated several other Roth IRAs into 1 at Fidelity. December 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to open Rollover from company 401K plan. Easy to do, representative was helpful. Reasonable commission on stock trades, easy to setup DRIP. December 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA All is good. Everything is as expected. Access to account is good. Haven't used Customer Service. Transfer from another IRA is a slow process like all brokerages that I have worked with. December 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Feedback I believe the Roth IRA is a good investment, although I find it difficult to navigate the website myself to get what I need. I typically have to call customer service and they walk me through how to get what I need. They are always very helpful. December 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by CD Valuation Frustrated with the value you place on my CD's. Would prefer to see them valued at face value in my totals, not at the value they could theoretically be sold for today. December 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful information and tools I love the wealth of information and tools provided to help me make the decision to convert an IRA to a ROTH. December 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA - Smart Move I had post tax dollars in my company 401K. Fidelity made it simple and seamless to roll these funds over without any fees with the principal invested in a Roth IRA and the dividends on the principal to an IRA. Investment Funds were either the same or similar investment objectives. December 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA A Roth IRA at Fidelity is convenient and offers many investment choices. December 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely secure/reliable I have had a Roth IRA since the 80's. Best tool the Gov't. gave to people wanting to have investments grow and not be taxed at withdrawal. I don't understand why more people do have them. Big mistake is wanting to open one after you retire but you might not have earned income. I love my Roth IRA accounts and I love Fidelity. Your after hours/weekend support is great! December 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service Review Excellent!! The software is very easy to use. I do not have any problems, what so ever!!! December 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recently moved my Roth to Fidelity I have held small accounts at Fidelity for years, but only moved this account to Fidelity about six months ago. It is doing fine, but not enough time has passed to fairly justify giving Fidelity maximum scores in every category. There are several things I like very much. Two examples important to me are: #1 is the advice and support -- very much in tune with my needs, concerns with consideration of long term needs and tax implications of investments. (My previous adviser had more of a "one size fits all" approach, and slightly higher expense ratios.) The web site is excellent, has lots of resources for looking at alternatives, comparisons, etc., and is easy to use. My only regret is that I waited so long to look into Fidelity for this kind of help. November 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and helpful I'm a college student getting into investing and beginning my retirement planning. Fidelity has made it easy for me to learn and made educated decisions easy to make. The account has been all that I need it to be. November 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity is the Best I have been completely happy with my entire Fidelity experience - be it the tools on line - the simplicity in placing my orders. When I have issues, I call someone and they do everything to help me out. When I did a rollover, I felt the customer service representative went well beyond my expectations to make that happen. I was very appreciative of that. November 23, 2015
  • 2016-05-23 T12:33:00.110-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_657, tr_657
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>

Investing involves risk, including risk of loss.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Guidance provided is educational.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.12.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.