• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now


Earnings grow federally tax-free.1


Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner


No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Rev up your readiness to retire
Fidelity study finds more than half of Americans at risk. Consider six steps to get on track.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 608 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenience Active Trader Pro is a major reason I like fidelity for trading. Without it, I would rate convenience one bar. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easy Quick and easy to set up . . . from electronic account opening to transfer of assets using a service rep, it all went smoothly. August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best financial decision I've ever made. As many other people, I began late (early 30's) to notice the painting on the wall. Fidelity has been there for me every step of the way, and the reps are very knowledgeable and always explain things very efficiently. I always recommend Fidelity to anybody that talks about retirement planning to me. What I like about this company the most is the flexibility to do just about anything financial related with them. If you are thinking about retirement, do yourself a favor and just open an account ASAP. The younger the better! You will not regret it. July 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable retirement vehicle No better retirement vehicle out there other than a pension, gives one an opportunity to grow retirement funds without the tax consequence July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb assistance from Fidelity for Rollover IRA Fidelity remains tops in customer service. Always a well qualified, articulate and eager to help person to make business transactions easy and pleasant. July 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA Like ability to transfer Rollover to Roth IRA on line July 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice and simple no major issues - would like to see how my fees and performance compare with others in fidelity July 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth Overview At first I was apprehensive about setting up a Roth IRA and converting my traditional IRA to a Roth, but it was a very simple, straightforward and intuitive process. July 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to research and screen I enjoy how easy it is to screen the stocks and ETFs I want compared to another bank. The layout of the website is also appealing, simple, and straightforward. I also enjoy how you have periodic tips. June 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Miss the personal touch I have walked into a couple of your offices trying to meet with someone and only to be put on the phone with a call center. I was also offered by a receptionist to leave my name and number and a particular agent who handles clients of my size would call me. It didn't happen. My children are in their early 20's and starting to think about investing and IRA's but I have mixed emotions about recommending Fidelity June 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tools, Good Help Fidelity has great tools for working with my IRAs. Contributions are easy to transfer from my checking account. The automated withdrawal tools seem to provide flexibility. I have been moving shares from my Traditional IRA to my Roth IRA to increase my taxable income to the top of the 15% bracket. Fidelity has a facility that lets me move all or a specified number of shares to the Roth the moment I choose without help. When I have over done the transfers to my Roth or have questions, their people have been first rate. Costs? What costs? Costs are limited to transaction fees or mutual fund fees as they would be in any other account. June 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ease of use I wanted to start a Roth IRA at an advance age and it was easy. June 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid I like the choice of investments available, especially for low fee funds. Only difficulty I have had has been transferring an old Roth IRA to a new Fidelity account, but I eventually got the help I needed- the forms were a bit difficult to find. June 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice and Easy My Fidelity Roth account is an essential piece of my investment portfolio. I have had it for many years and the only regret I have is that I didn't start sooner and put more money in it. I am not required to withdraw these funds, even after I reach 70 1/2 and is a fairly simple way to leave money to your heirs. I highly recommend this investment. June 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service hassle free Had an ira with another service was deceived about what type of investment I had, decided to move to Fidelity on a referal from my brother was a fantastic move they are great!! June 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Opportunity The Roth IRA was a new investment opportunity for me. Prior to recent changes in law I was unable to benefit from the Roth IRA offerings. Converting assets to a Roth insures my tax position is more favorable in my later years.. My thanks to the Fidelity Investment Advisor for bringing thisopportunity to my attention and helping me through the exchange. June 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by new site is outdated and worse than the previous Fidelity thinks they improved their site ...but only made it worse than before...hate the site... June 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Roth IRA A Roth IRA is an excellent investment but it is a small part of my portfolio. I wish they had them when I started my first 401K and traditional IRA. My tax bracket has not really decreased since I was in the work force. I am pulling my retirement from my traditional IRA and having to pay taxes. June 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth Ira I am happy that my account advisor helped me choose the right Roth IRA for my needs. I have been a Fidelity customer for many years but I did not know about the Minimum required distribution rule that affects traditional IRA's had I known I woud have started investing in a Roth IRA sooner. June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by User friendly Opening up my Roth IRA was the easiest account I have ever opened on-line. May 27, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure and Relaible I found that their services offered where convenient and help. However wishing their was more guidance provided such as financial advisors. May 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cost effective Fidelity Roth IRA was easy to set up and inexpensive to maintain. It would be better if it could have some self-directed options. May 26, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by wish I had started conversions from traditional IRA earlier When you accumulate a decent traditional ira and begin to understand minimum distribution tax consequences ... add ss to the mix... FOR some it pays to begin converting funds (and pay the taxes earlier in your life) to avoid having to pay the tax on SS. Easy calculation/./ Wish I had started earlier.. that way I would have maximized returns and minimized taxes. Remember too much Minimum distribution not only causes taxes on SS but also on how much you pay for Medicare when you start to receive it. May 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Reliable The trading time window can be more, the delay on the non ETF trading can be less. Funds on the clearing can be much faster. Overall a great product and good service keep up the good work. May 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Use Very user friendly and convenient to use on-line. Support is readily available be phone if necessary. May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best ever Love fidelity! Best value and great staff members!!! May 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA Like investing with Fidelity. I just wish they would give you personal guidance on what to invest in instead of having to read so much information on the website. May 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great service, alot of choices for investments I had a Roth with another Investment brokerage and was not pleased with their website or service. I brought my account to Fidelity and have been very pleased. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use I transferred over my Roth to Fidelity, and the process was super easy. Making annual contributions is easy too, since my Fidelity online account tells me the max I contribute and tracks how much I have already contributed. This is very helpful for a do-it-yourself investor. May 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use Only thing that would of been nice when setting is the ability to use a money order to fund account. May 4, 2015
  • 2015-11-30 T08:53:05.442-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_608, tr_608
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917