• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 567 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most reliable Financial Institution with proven track record Joined fidelity(IRA, Roth IRA, 401-K as well as Brokerage accounts) since more than seven years. Most reliable investment organization with proven track record. Best customer service. Completely transparent dealings. No hidden charges or fees . Practically no or low fees for the trades. I will definitely recommend to secure your financial future by having relationship with Fidelity. Good Luck DSHAN56 February 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Online trading not user friendly. Never receive deposit slips for next year's Roth IRA. Got a confirmation # for a trade once, but found out the trade was cancelled because more steps were required to complete the trade. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Easy to access and use. I did have a minor stumble with my account when you changed the form of the reports on the summary screen. Just taking a little time to get used to different ways to access my options. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Minor changes to web interface I like the new "Portfolio Positions" display. I adapted to it quickly and can find information quicker than before. I really wish my "Personal Rate of Return & Balances" was updated by the 1st or 2nd of the month. Weekly update would be nice also, February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and easily accessible. The account is easily to set up and conveniently to change investment directions by the account owner. I am happy with my account status and hope to grow it as time passes. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good selection of funds While the available funds are good, it would be nice to have more index funds or lower some of the expense ratio of the funds. February 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by too much research to invest when investing or changing investments I have to too much research to figure out what to invest in, have to know code for th investment ahead of time, not nearly as easy as my employer 401k that I also have with you. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent investment choices and service I have used Fidelity to manage my own investments for years. It has a very large selection of investment options to choose from. Low trading fees and no load funds. Everything is pretty easy to use online. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service Any time I call, I always get a friendly and helping agent. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK I would like to see a rate of return on the accounts. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable Wouild like to have a link to any available information on how to open a ROTH IRA brokerage account. Also, it is not clear to me how to go about moving money into additional Fidelity funds within this account. I feel like my money in this account could be better invested. Thanks for the opportinity to rate this account. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Processing Delays I may not be an experienced trader but I am amazed at how long it takes for a stock purchase to go through once submitted. I realize there must be a significant volume of trades everyday but I feel that I must be the lowest ranked buyer if I can't get an order through in 7 hrs (these are market orders so no limitations placed). I'm also surprised at how long it takes for a deposit to be available to make a trade. Given that everyone is using online transfers I don't see how it can take a week or more to move my money and make it available to me. It would be nice to see some explanation for the delayed purchasing and deposits or even better - improve it. February 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice way to save for retirement. The Fidelity Roth is good because it has enough options to choose from. This allows me to move from one style of portfolio to another. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient, good value Enjoy the depth and breadth of Fidelity research and ease of online use. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable I love the new Portfolio feature recently added, so that I can see my cost basis right away. Fidelity reps are all courteous and professional. If the stock transaction charge can be lowered to compete with other online trading companies, it will be perfect! February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience Establishing the Roth account and getting it funded from other investments was a seamless process. Fidelity people were both helpful and knowledgeable. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent way to invest in a ROTH I love that I can have my dividends automatically re-invested with Fidelity. This will compound my return. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax Consequences In all of the Fidelity publications dealing with the decision to convert a regular IRA to a Roth IRA, may considerations were discussed. One was not. And that was GAINS from converting a regular IRA to a ROTH IRA COULD NOT BE OFFSET by losses in other stock sales. While it seems intuitive that stock losses in a regualr brokerage account should offset stock gains in an IRA account when executing a distribution for the purpose of the conversion, this was never clearly discussed or stated. It's obviously my responsibility to research more thoroughly and I would have made the same decision (to convert to a ROTH for me and my wife) but if Fidelity is publishing advisory articles, tax consequences should be a part of that and they should be all-inclusive. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA Set up was easy but the site is difficult to navigate and it is challenging to buy/sell/trade/etc. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRAs with Fidelity are great! I enjoy having my roth ira with Fidelity as it's simple to use with a great overview / dashboard and it's amazingly simple to reach a customer representative via phone, email, or IM!! February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Meets expectations. Overall, I am pleased with my Fidelity experience. I do think it would be helpful for Fidelity to be transparent about how much per year is going toward expense ratios in account summary viewings. That is my only suggestion. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to manage. Online services are easy to use and very flexible. Reports are timely and easy to follow. Investment selections and research material are at my fingertips, literally. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Affordable Fidelity Roth IRA's are easy to apply for, are reliable, and have competitive management fees. They offer a multitude of investment choices and have great online tools for research. In addition, I did not have to pay any additional fees to have the Roth IRA's and have never had errors in bookkeeping. Very user friendly organization. February 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I do not see anything particularly good or bad. I utilize the account as a place to keep retirement assets for both emergency funding or to help avoid liquidating taxable retirement assets when the time is not convenient. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best plans I think. That's why I've had this account for so long. Great plan all throughout. I like where it's set up to help you make the most by the time frame of when you retire. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A reliable depository for funds outside my IRA and 401(k). My Roth is a smaller version of my Fidelity IRA, with only two investments. I add small amounts each year when I get a tax refund. It's convenient, because I can view it weekly on the same page as my IRA and 401(k), as well as check possible other Fidelity investments for the Roth. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth feedback I would like to see more commission free ETF options February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Annual contribution allocation Hello. It would be great if there was a way to direct automatic contributions to a specific year. When I want automatic contributions deposited before April 15 to count for the previous year, I have to call and provide that instruction. I would really like to do that online. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review 2/2012 No changes or improvements needed. Everything is just fine February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good overall The Roth account through Fidelity has plenty of investment choices and good interface. February 23, 2012
  • 2015-05-28T11:39:04.058-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_567, tr_567
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 19 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.9.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.