• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 533 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Choices available Fidelity has excellent choices to pick from and costs are very reasonable. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service I have consistently received excellent customer service from your representatives. I would have moved my account(s) if I had'nt. Keep up the great work!! February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Very easy to keep track of my Roth investments. Fidelity has great tools to help me research and very easy to follow tool tips when I have a question. I have always been able to reach and advisor quickly if I have a problem. Highly recommended. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good investment options and excellent service Fidelity offers a variety of investment products that cover all areas of diversification. Excellent customer service is available for however much you want to use it. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by friendly and helpful service, means alot these days! very secure... I like the changes you've made to the website. and, whenever I've needed help your staff is always very helpful and friendly. Service is everything! I am also in a service type industry and giving "remarkable" service heightens the customer experience. thank you February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for long term investors, lacking advanced capabilities The Fidelity Roth IRA suits the basic needs of long-term investors. You can trade stocks, ETFs and mutual funds in your Roth IRA account with ease, just like you can do it in your Fidelity brokerage account. The only complaint I have is that Fidelity prevents me from trading option spreads but allow me to trade plain calls and puts (which are more speculative). February 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommend Fidelity Investment to a friend, depends on account rep. When I started with Fidelity about 8 yrs ago, the account reps were helpful and of value to small investors; yet, it just does not seem to be the same case today. TBD... February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Par excellance Product availability is infinite, and the site itself is easy to navigate, and has features for research which are akin to those which may cost on some other sites. Service is unsurpassed, 24x7 and any hour of the day , holidays included. and costs are reasonable. The reputation of fidelity speaks for itself. My family and I have been FIDO pups for over 40 Years. We've used their Trust services and retirement accts and have been most gratified with the conduct, advice, and caring shown by the reps. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Total control of your Roth IRA Fidelity Roth IRA gives me total control of the funds that I would like to invest with variety of easy tools to use to evaluate my investment and options. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to use The thing I like best is the tools available to manage my account. Specifically the Portfolio Review. The only issues that I have are that it takes 4 clicks to get to it. It would be nice to have a link to frequently used tools on your home page. Also, when rebalancing my account, it sells all of a mutual fund and buys a similar fund. I'd like the option to keep the existing funds if the fund type remains in my portfolios asset mix. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comprehensive. It has a lot of investment choices and good access to records and research. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Listens and takes action I always get a Fidelity advisor on the phone when I need them and they proactively seek me out to discuss changes to my personal financial situation. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Efficient, smooth and customer oriented service with superb execution Fidelity works well in maintaining its benchmark status as a premier financial services firm. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and excellent user interface. I think Fidelity has a great web interface so you can basically do anything you might want to online. I've had my Roth IRA at Fidelity for > 3 years and I recommend it. The only negative I give Fidelity on a 5 star scale is for value. Other firms might have lower trading costs or expense ratios on their ETF and Index funds. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good value I like my Fidelity IRA account because it is a good value with reasonable transaction fees and no annual fee. It also has great research tools. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Straightforward and functional Meets my needs. More information about contribution limits for relatively higher earners would be helpful. I would also like it if it was simple to calculate an overall rate of return for my IRA and compare my choices to other investment approaches. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Customer Service I spoke with a rep in the Philadelphia office (Nichole) a few times about this. Even though she indicated I wasn't in her range of assets, she was more than willing to help. I was very impressed by both her knowledge and willingness to assist me. I recommend her to everyone that I can! February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good tools and interfaces for investing Good tools and options. Web interface and apple app are helpful. February 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Customer Service Customer service for this account has been excellent. I love that this department has not been outsourced to a third world country! February 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by very attractive option Easy to check on-line. I am able to do research with Fidelity tools and change investment pools as I feel necessary. Record keeping is easy to follow February 21, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Acceptable investment product My Roth IRA is located at Fidelity due to the location of my last place of employment. That company used Fidelity for its employee 401k accounts. February 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity makes IRA investing, Roth and traditional, as simple as possible. Fideility provides as much, or as little, help and guidance as any investor could require. Fdelity offers many different types of investements. All this, for a reasonable and competitive fee. February 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Very easy to transfer between banks and set up monthly automatic contributions. February 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Adam and Faye have been contacted me on a regular basis to insure the account is properly aligned with my goals February 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use. The account features are easy to use. Simple yet efficient. February 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Account is easy to use, website is helpful, low wait time when calling February 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great services. Fidelity provides great investment products. The pages are intuitive, organized, user friendly and informative. The research is thorough, balanced and diverse. The products service the most basic banking needs to sophisticated investors. Whenever I call Fidelity I talk with a representative who is friendly, helpful and knowledgable. All this at a competitive price. Well done Fidelity!!! February 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by standard Roth, Good reports, need better market A Roth is a Roth, investments are my selections and I'm satisfied with them although need a better market. Monthly and yearly reports are good and easy to understand. I use Fideltiy research and Morningstar for decisions. Only used mutual funds, do not have time to follow individual stocks. February 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by RIRA easy to manage, but would like to be able to analyze with other retirement accounts I have no problem with the ability to manage mine and my wife's RIRAs, but would like to see more ability to manage the set of retirement accounts we have (particularly, those with Fidelity). We have a number of retirement accounts including IRAs, Beneficiary IRAs, 403b, and 457-type plans that it would help to have a more total view of how those can and should be used once we retire. February 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy to set up and manage. Appreciate user friendly web site and Fidelity services. February 19, 2012
  • 2015-03-27T09:45:28.597-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_533, tr_533
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.9.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.