Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Minimum investment

There is no minimum to open the account

Certain investments, like mutual funds, require a minimum initial investment

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 720 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by thebrentster I love the old web format and hate the new dashboard format. For example, the dashboard format tells me nothing. I need detail information like the old format. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by convenient & reliable Roth ira is an ideal vehicle to hold assets. Fidelity is a group of very trained advisors. My enhancement request would be to allow self-directed retirement vehicles January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenience Plus Fidelity has removed nearly every obstacle to make IRA investing extremely easy with countless options for the self-directed investor. Compared to investors using other financial companies, I have the best of all services. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy and quick to establish " IRA to ROTH conversion " account This Roth is an " IRA to ROTH conversion " account at Fidelity. It was so easy and quick to establish and transfer the assets. The Fidelity rep assisted me in moving the assets I selected in my IRA to the new ROTH account. Very helpful. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by persident Have full confidence in Fidelity's integrity. This is what you get. Don't be greedy. January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Roth IRA Does what I expect it to do. What is there to review? January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by My Roth IRA review All of the Fidelity Accounts are relatively easy to use. My only issue is that you do not provide the same level of information for Mutual Funds that are not Fidelity even though they are NTF funds. For example, fidelity funds have 10 years of Return Data while others have only 5. I have to assume the data is available to you but you choose not to include. Also, "Composition" page gives much more detail for Fidelity funds. Finally, no distribution history for non-fidelity funds. I understand that you would rather I purchase only Fidelity Funds but that is not real world January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jeanie's IRAs with Fidelity As the one who set up these accounts with Fidelity for my wife, I'll respond. Fidelity has always treated us well in its dealings with us. The local service center in West Hartford CT has always been staffed by comptetent, friendly, and clear speaking customer service reps with the ability to understand what we want and which products fit our needs best. Even before we moved to CT 22 years ago, this was the practice when he had to deal with reps by phone. BRAVO Fidelity January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient with good research tools I am happy with the Fidelity service and the ease of accessing and modifying the account. I have made a few investment decisions that I am not so happy about, and intend to work more closely with my Fidelity investment adviser in 2013 January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the non taxable account. Probably will not use for 15 years. It's my small cap portfolio account so I don't need to worry about capital gains when I finally begin drawing on this account. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use & contribute The Roth IRA at Fidelity is easy to set up and to contribute to and has a full array of Fidelity investment products available. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Would like to see lower fees at Fidelity. I am satisfied with cusomer service. Would like you to improve your research on foreign firms. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not sure what you want here. Not clear Overall, a good product with many investment choices. It would be better if I could indicate the exact federal and state taxes to withhold when I convert funds from my traditional IRA to my Roth IRA. I would also like checing account access to my Roth account now that I qualify to withdraw funds tax free. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fine Seems fine, just like any other Fidelity account we have. We keep all our IRAs with Fidelity. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accessible and easy to use It has everything I could ask for in a Roth account . January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I'd Like to do more with this account. I need to learn what my options are. Right now I can't trade stocks. I need to go to your office and need out what is available for me. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my IRA I couldn't be happier with Fidelity. I've recommended Fidelity to three friends, two of which have opened an account with you. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by growth and incom I like the availability to research and change my funds according to the market as I see it. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple, efficient and secure A terrrific savings product supported by professional and efficient service. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by AO Web site user friendly. Calls answered promtly with no long holding. Movement of funds from my bank is painless. Questions are answered first time and I feel confident the information is correct. I work for a regional bank and am thankful that Fidelity does not have banks, they would be tough competition. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth account review I've been advised that with auto-withdrawal from the bank to the roth account that fidelity will not insure that I go over the limit for the year and that it is my responsibility not to have more than the limit deposited; please address and fix this situation if this is still the case; thanks... January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Fidelity is there to help me decide which funds to choose when I need to and the ease of managing the Roth IRA fund makes it all the more worthwhile. January 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by frustrated It was easy to transfer. My rep left and the new rep had somebody call me a few minutes before my appt and say she was sick and would contact me to reschedule. It has been a couple of months....maybe she died? I would like to invest smarter. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA good - no changes needed. I currently do not have any problems with my account. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need better tools I would like to be able to see mutual fund risk and performance parameters, for a period and/or dates of my choice. That is, I would like to be able to specify two dates, let's say Jan 1,2000 to Jan 1,2009, and be able to see return after taxes, standard deviation, beta, etc. Especially 3-year risk parameters are totally insufficient to make a decision for IRA investments. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by No complaints I have no complaints. The account is easy to use and I have never considered transferring it. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable I am very happy with the services I receive from Fidelity for my Roth IRA. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid Service Solid Service, great retirement tools. Excellent customer servove, both phone and web available. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy, automated contribution, but without threshhold assistance Our Roth IRAs have been a staple of our retirement planning. However, we feel alone in determining whether or not we can contribute to the maximum contribution level. Fidelity is not aware of our income fluctuations, so it is difficult to "guess" at when we must no longer contribute to a Roth. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Title I believe the technology is useful and information timely January 24, 2013
  • 2016-09-30 T11:10:38.596-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_720, tr_720
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 24 next>>