Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 674 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cost effective I have a number of accounts with fidelity and it gives me easy access and flexibility . I am contacted occasionally but not harassed. The only regret I have with my Roth accounts is I should have put more mutual funds in instead of in my other accounts. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Roth Ira I love my Roth Ira. I wish that I could invest more money per year. I find the small amount I am allowed to invest too limited. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by ROTH IRA REVIEW I APPRECIATE THE NUMBER OF INVESTMENTS OPTIONS FIDELITY OFFERS TO FUND MY IRA WITH. ALSO APPRCIATE THE ABILITY TO CONTACT FIDELITY TO DISCUSS MY IRA AT ANYTIME I DESIRE. ALSO APPRECIATED ALL THE RESEARCH INFORMATION THAT IS AVAILABLE TO ME ON THE FIDELITY WEB SITE. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recharaterization Very thorough help and answered all of my questions to explain the 1099-r Thanks January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth Review Fidelity has done an excellent job for me. You are easy to work with either online or on the phone or in person at the local office in Overland Park Kansas. Everyone is well trained and does a professional job. The only change I would like to see is to change the characters that you can use in a password, such as #, *, etc. Other comkpnies aloow these characters and I would like to be able to standardize on my passwords so I have fewer to memorize. I am sure this sounds trivial, and it does some to me as I write this, but 2 other people I know with Fidelity accounts have the same thoughts. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRA I love my roth ira. I do all my trading in this account as the profits are tax free and there is no reporting requirement for hundreds of small trades. The fidelity platform is easy to use and provides the information I need. Fidelity representatives are on hand to explain an unusual transaction or market issue. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and easy For a simple question this was faster than going through the phone sign-in process. January 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Transfer from Fidelity Trad IRA to Fidelity Roth IRA I am unable to find where to do this online, so I need to call by telephone. December 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for the beginners just started investing and have a lot to learn but i am happy w my choice to go w a fidelity roth and fidelity in general. April 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent I do like the Fidelity site in general, but there are several improvements i would like to see. Most importantly, between all of my accounts, I have almost $1M with Fidelity, but I pay basically the same commission as somebody with $1000. I don't think that is appropriate. Also, I think the price triggers are really cumbersome to use. You don't even provide an option to see all of your price alerts on one page. It is really tediius to have to page through page by page to change/delete, etc. I think an overhaul is long past due on that. Finally, it would be nice if you could somehow do custom views like you can in Mornignstar so you can sort by Divident yeild, etc. March 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use Your recent change to the main accounts page is a step backwards. Drop the commission for exiting low value option positions. March 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by General I've never had any problems accessing my account or reaching a Fidelity representative. Pricing on trades is in line with other online brokerages. March 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The website is easy to use. I don't have time to do alot of research so it is handy to get publications off the Fidelity website to find out what the economy is going to do. Because I have a Roth IRA I can do that. March 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service Our account executive is very helpful. She is thorough and knowledgeable about the market and applies this to our future goals. March 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Service from a reliable and insightful provider Fidelity has been a rock-solid organization through the financial crisis and has been a symbol of strength. I trust this organization more than my own bank and hence trust all my retirement account with them. The Fund-network provides access to several funds from various fund families. The research material available for customer is unparalleled. The only negative that I see is that for the funds that are not in funds-network, customer pay a big price for transactions/loads. I wish all the fund-families co-operate with each other make it 0 fee for investing in any of the funds. I will recommend not only the provider but it family of funds for retirement needs. March 5, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Private Investor The account is very convenient and meets or exceeds my expectations. Auto debiting from my checking account for making contributions is very simple to set up and modify, as is desired. Investment choices are adequately diverse. March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and reliable I've been happy with ability to choose my investments. If I have a question I know I can ask for assitance. March 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I frequently recommend Fidelity's services. I'm very satisfied wih the service i get from Fidelity Investments. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I think it has been a sound investment. The investment has given me long term confidence and since I have moved to the Upper East Side in Manhattan the service I have received at the new Fidelity Office on 77th St and 3rd Avenue has been superb. In fact, I want to expand my Investment Portfolio because of it ... March 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems pretty standard No problems with Fidelity so far. Only issue is I am unfamiliar with where/how I am getting charged? More obvious explanations would be nice. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly how I like it. Thank you. Fidelity does a great job. There with excellent assistance 24/7 if I need it. Leaves me alone when I choose to be independent. Thank you. Keep up the good work. March 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use, excellent trader tools and good information Website is easy to use. The trader tools are good and they try to maintain them well. Investment information on the website would cost me somewhat more if I bought it from a vendor separately. March 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Low Value The fees are too high. The educational tools are not extensive and easy to get to. March 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure Secure and reliable no hassle and tax free account. March 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally good service, but shoudl lower the trading fee The stock trading fee is high. For active traders, the fee should be $5.00. March 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy to navigate & trade Have a self-directed brokerage Roth IRA with Fidelity. Also, have similar accts w/ others, and find Fidelity the easiest to navigate and carry out trades. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Intuitive and mobile. I have several investment accounts with past and present employers. Fidelity is a major part of my overall plan. I have a Taxable, Roth IRA and Rollover IRA with Fidelity. I use Fidelity for roll over of my old retirement accounts. I also go to Fidelity when I need to do research about investing. I have been using ETFs more and more in my Roth and would like to see Fidelity offer a line of broadly diversified index tracking ETFs. Thank You. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far safe and reliable It appears to be safe and reliable. Fortunately no one has yet broken into the system to my knowledge. Real test or credibility of an online system will be one day, when some hacker/s breakes and steals information. Hope Fidelity will stay ahead of the game at all times. Easy to create account and maintain March 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This question is silly Excellent, secure, reliable, easy, accessible. Why do you require a minimum number of characters? March 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Helpful at times When I call to ask questions it seems that they like to use only the fidelity mutual funds and not offer other funds that could be doing as well or better. It would be nice if they would recommend other options for investing. Thanks March 1, 2012
  • 2016-06-30 T07:08:48.733-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_674, tr_674
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 23 next>>