• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Tax advantages

Earnings Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Account features

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply.

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Converting from a Traditional IRA?

If you would like to convert a Traditional IRA to a Roth IRA, use the Roth Conversion Checklists.  

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 551 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent way to invest in a ROTH I love that I can have my dividends automatically re-invested with Fidelity. This will compound my return. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tax Consequences In all of the Fidelity publications dealing with the decision to convert a regular IRA to a Roth IRA, may considerations were discussed. One was not. And that was GAINS from converting a regular IRA to a ROTH IRA COULD NOT BE OFFSET by losses in other stock sales. While it seems intuitive that stock losses in a regualr brokerage account should offset stock gains in an IRA account when executing a distribution for the purpose of the conversion, this was never clearly discussed or stated. It's obviously my responsibility to research more thoroughly and I would have made the same decision (to convert to a ROTH for me and my wife) but if Fidelity is publishing advisory articles, tax consequences should be a part of that and they should be all-inclusive. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth IRA Set up was easy but the site is difficult to navigate and it is challenging to buy/sell/trade/etc. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roth IRAs with Fidelity are great! I enjoy having my roth ira with Fidelity as it's simple to use with a great overview / dashboard and it's amazingly simple to reach a customer representative via phone, email, or IM!! February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Meets expectations. Overall, I am pleased with my Fidelity experience. I do think it would be helpful for Fidelity to be transparent about how much per year is going toward expense ratios in account summary viewings. That is my only suggestion. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to manage. Online services are easy to use and very flexible. Reports are timely and easy to follow. Investment selections and research material are at my fingertips, literally. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Affordable Fidelity Roth IRA's are easy to apply for, are reliable, and have competitive management fees. They offer a multitude of investment choices and have great online tools for research. In addition, I did not have to pay any additional fees to have the Roth IRA's and have never had errors in bookkeeping. Very user friendly organization. February 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by I do not see anything particularly good or bad. I utilize the account as a place to keep retirement assets for both emergency funding or to help avoid liquidating taxable retirement assets when the time is not convenient. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best plans I think. That's why I've had this account for so long. Great plan all throughout. I like where it's set up to help you make the most by the time frame of when you retire. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by A reliable depository for funds outside my IRA and 401(k). My Roth is a smaller version of my Fidelity IRA, with only two investments. I add small amounts each year when I get a tax refund. It's convenient, because I can view it weekly on the same page as my IRA and 401(k), as well as check possible other Fidelity investments for the Roth. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roth feedback I would like to see more commission free ETF options February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Annual contribution allocation Hello. It would be great if there was a way to direct automatic contributions to a specific year. When I want automatic contributions deposited before April 15 to count for the previous year, I have to call and provide that instruction. I would really like to do that online. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review 2/2012 No changes or improvements needed. Everything is just fine February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by good overall The Roth account through Fidelity has plenty of investment choices and good interface. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, low cost options - Easy to Use! Fidelity is a well-respected company and I opened my Roth here because they also have my employer's 401k, which is very easy for me to have all of my funds together. They did such a great job with my employer's 401k, they were the first to come to mind for the IRA. There are great resources available for all levels of investors, and many low cost options available to maximize your money. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rebalancing tool needed I would like to see rebalancing options for my Roth IRA similar to 401k and 403b accounts. I would like the option to rebalance quarterley and adjust my asset allocations accordingly to my investment goals and objectives. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Program I appreciate the depth of funds available for investments and the convenient on-line ability to make adjustments. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and Great Value love the convenience and $7.95 trades. I would like to see more information on the tax consequences of certain types of investments in my roth - Like an MLP and how l'm suppose to report that on my personal taxes. Also like more info on buying individual bonds. And I have to say. The format of this survey is not good. "review summary" ???? and Review requiring a minimum? Otherwise fidelity is great! Have I reached the minimum yet? xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Choices available Fidelity has excellent choices to pick from and costs are very reasonable. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service I have consistently received excellent customer service from your representatives. I would have moved my account(s) if I had'nt. Keep up the great work!! February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Very easy to keep track of my Roth investments. Fidelity has great tools to help me research and very easy to follow tool tips when I have a question. I have always been able to reach and advisor quickly if I have a problem. Highly recommended. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good investment options and excellent service Fidelity offers a variety of investment products that cover all areas of diversification. Excellent customer service is available for however much you want to use it. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by friendly and helpful service, means alot these days! very secure... I like the changes you've made to the website. and, whenever I've needed help your staff is always very helpful and friendly. Service is everything! I am also in a service type industry and giving "remarkable" service heightens the customer experience. thank you February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for long term investors, lacking advanced capabilities The Fidelity Roth IRA suits the basic needs of long-term investors. You can trade stocks, ETFs and mutual funds in your Roth IRA account with ease, just like you can do it in your Fidelity brokerage account. The only complaint I have is that Fidelity prevents me from trading option spreads but allow me to trade plain calls and puts (which are more speculative). February 23, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recommend Fidelity Investment to a friend, depends on account rep. When I started with Fidelity about 8 yrs ago, the account reps were helpful and of value to small investors; yet, it just does not seem to be the same case today. TBD... February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Par excellance Product availability is infinite, and the site itself is easy to navigate, and has features for research which are akin to those which may cost on some other sites. Service is unsurpassed, 24x7 and any hour of the day , holidays included. and costs are reasonable. The reputation of fidelity speaks for itself. My family and I have been FIDO pups for over 40 Years. We've used their Trust services and retirement accts and have been most gratified with the conduct, advice, and caring shown by the reps. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Total control of your Roth IRA Fidelity Roth IRA gives me total control of the funds that I would like to invest with variety of easy tools to use to evaluate my investment and options. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to use The thing I like best is the tools available to manage my account. Specifically the Portfolio Review. The only issues that I have are that it takes 4 clicks to get to it. It would be nice to have a link to frequently used tools on your home page. Also, when rebalancing my account, it sells all of a mutual fund and buys a similar fund. I'd like the option to keep the existing funds if the fund type remains in my portfolios asset mix. February 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comprehensive. It has a lot of investment choices and good access to records and research. February 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Listens and takes action I always get a Fidelity advisor on the phone when I need them and they proactively seek me out to discuss changes to my personal financial situation. February 23, 2012
  • 2015-04-27T10:09:34.234-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_551, tr_551
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 19 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.9.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.