• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now


Earnings grow federally tax-free.1


Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner


No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2014 and 2015: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Rev up your readiness to retire
Fidelity study finds more than half of Americans at risk. Consider six steps to get on track.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 606 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure, Convenient and Easy to Use With my hectic schedule, I do not always have time to call for financial advice, or do research on my own to find the best savings options. I have found my Fidelity IRA to be invaluable in helping me to save for my retirement, and ensure I do so wisely. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Website is easy to navigate, and if I need to contact customer service by phone, the representatives are knowledgeable and helpful. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plenty of Choices There is a wide selection of investment choices available through Fidelity. The research tools are comprehensive and simple to use and the online banking provided by Fidelity lets me make my choices with ease. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall Happy with my account Very convenient. No real issues or complaints. I like being able to direct deposit from my paycheck into my account. Trading fees are reasonable. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by ease of use I like the ease of use with the fidelity website. I would like to see more investment choices, like REIT but i don't find them easily for my account. Not sure if these are index fund or not but i would prefer them. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to manage I like my self directed Roth IRA for ease of access and services. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by more helpful Your advice for investments would be more helpful if the advice were more specific. My expertise is in the field I work in and I am happy to go into as deep an explanation as you would deem necessary as my client. Your advice always seems limited and expecting research from me. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure, reliable, easy tools for research I really like the customer service - it is live and it is there when ever I need it. It is also accurate. Lots of choices and very good price. It's a clear decision for me and I often suggest Fidelity to others. February 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Roth IRA Excess Contribution I called Fidelity to obtain guidance on what to do with excess contribution. (I just found out while doing my taxes that my adjusted gross income is higher than the limit, and so that means I am not eligible to contribute to my Roth IRA the previous year.) The person on the call was very rude and did not have the patience to explain each option to me, what's the pros and cons of each (or why a person would decide one over the other). His tone was very condescending. In the end, I did my research online and decided on one of the options as next steps. His service was horrible. I admit I'm not very knowledgeable in these things, but if customer service is this bad, I'd rather take/move my money elsewhere -- one that will provide advice, help me reach my goals and add value to a learning investor (I still have many many years before retirement and have just started investing). I wouldn't put money to invest with Fidelity if they are not very helpful. February 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Everything I need and more Excellent site, personal, products, and reputation. I'm happy. February 28, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I do NOT like the new display of account positions on the web site. The new display of account positions is not making things easier. It is making me want to shop other brokerages as I value the web interaface and ease of use that I previously had at Fidelity. February 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple and convenient I have a Fidelity Roth IRA. It's very easy to understand and to contribute every year. My only concern is that I'm not taking full advantage of the investment opportunities available through the account. But, I have no complaints. I don't have to think much about it, which makes my life much easier. February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent products We have been very happy working with Fidelity! Questions are answered and support given when requested. No complaints from me! February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to set up and easy to use. I found it very easy to set up the ROTH IRA account online. Funding was a simple process with a few clicks, we were finished. February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Excellent and efficient service, secure transactions as always with Fidelity. February 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy as pie ? Easy to add, change, and review investments. Good for a beginner like me. February 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Have (IT) problem with account, and it is not being resolved in expeditious manner. See below. Several problems: 1. Wife's 403b account is not being reflected in one view (Summary), and it is being double-counted (and both with incorrect amount) in another view (Analysis). Have attempted to get this cleared up through 1-800 service (poor response, I was basically refered to my Account Rep.) and now via my Account Rep. 2. The numbers being portrayed in the "pie chart" and the "bar chart" for asset allocation are inconsistent. The former has my bond % around 24-25, while the latter has 35%. This cannot be. See No. 1 ... used same method to try to resolve. 3. The bond numbers (individual holdings) shown within a given account (in my case, in my Joint Account and 401k) do not agree with the numbers that appears in the bond section of "Analysis" tab. Something is wrong. The numbers must be identical. February 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy access and available research Easy to review offerings, make deposits and conduct additional research into available products February 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great people to work with! There have been many great conversations with knowledgable, experienced, and friendly people. Whether the market was up or down I have been very happy with the services from Fidelity. Love your website too! February 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It is good service The serviice is good in general, I like it. Havn't used customer service yet. February 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by satisfied My wife handles this and it works for me. I value having the roth product.productive February 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenient, easy to navigate I prefer Fidelity to other investment companies. When I resign from my job in may I will roll over my other investments to Fidelity. February 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by would like more guidence from fidelty Wish Fidelity interacted more with me. Would give more advise on what my options should be... February 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Going green saves Fidelity green, but not me; and I am asked every log-in Fidelity should offer a financial incentive to have statements e-mailed. Financial institutions save a lot of money by e-mailing proxies and statements, but do not pass on the savings...so why not deposit $1-5 each quarter to my account for ME making that decision to go green. Also, offer the option to decline e-mailed statments once and not be repeatedly asked at every log-in. That gets annoying and is bad customer service. February 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Future The most important thing to me at this time is to start investing in the future. I understand that I am not going to make any huge strides in making money early on, but I am only thinking about my future at this time. February 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Excellent Overall excellent. Would however like the following: An easy way to break down all my investments including outside Fidelity in ways to help understand how to rebalance for diversification. Ex. by style of stock, bond, cash, other. This should take into account that a mutual fund may have a percentage in each of these categories as well. February 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Site I am quite pleased with the lay out of the web page it is clear concise and understandable. The sense of a secured site is also quite reassuring. February 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure related familyso i use fidelity and have always used fidelity and probablt always will February 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works for me. I like using Fidelity and my Roth account is included. February 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Low-Cost Flexible Tax-Free to Build Way to Build a Retirement Nest Egg The Fidelity IRA brokerage accounts, especially the Roth IRA accounts, are excellent ways to build a retirement nest egg while avoiding Uncle Sam's big tax bite in the form of ordinary income tax when withdrawals start after retirement. Fidelity has convenient ways to addi funds to existing IRA accounts and does not charge any maintenance fees. A wide variety of investment options are available to invest. February 24, 2012
  • 2015-11-25 T07:22:06.275-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_606, tr_606
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 21 next>>

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917