• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Roth IRA

With a Roth IRA, you make contributions with money on which you've already paid taxes. Your money can then potentially grow tax-free, with tax-free withdrawals in retirement, provided that certain conditions are met.1

Reasons to consider a Roth IRA

  • Earnings grow federally tax-free.1
  • Tax-free withdrawals1
  • Tools, ideas, and strategies to help you prepare for your retirement

Get started now

Earnings

Earnings grow federally tax-free.1

Withdrawals

Tax-free withdrawals1

No minimum required distributions (MRDs) during the lifetime of the original owner

Eligibility

No age limit2

Must have employment compensation

Other income requirements apply

IRA maximum contribution

2015 and 2016: $5,500 ($6,500 if age 50 or older)

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs

Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees3

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

More information

Converting to a Roth IRA
Learn about the potential benefits of a Roth IRA and how to take advantage of them if you have assets in a Traditional IRA.

Contribute to your IRA
Already have a Fidelity IRA? Contribute now to take advantage of tax-deferred growth.

Roth Conversion Checklists
Follow these steps to convert a Traditional IRA or an old 401(k) to a Roth IRA.

006
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 657 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by I frequently recommend Fidelity's services. I'm very satisfied wih the service i get from Fidelity Investments. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I think it has been a sound investment. The investment has given me long term confidence and since I have moved to the Upper East Side in Manhattan the service I have received at the new Fidelity Office on 77th St and 3rd Avenue has been superb. In fact, I want to expand my Investment Portfolio because of it ... March 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems pretty standard No problems with Fidelity so far. Only issue is I am unfamiliar with where/how I am getting charged? More obvious explanations would be nice. March 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly how I like it. Thank you. Fidelity does a great job. There with excellent assistance 24/7 if I need it. Leaves me alone when I choose to be independent. Thank you. Keep up the good work. March 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use, excellent trader tools and good information Website is easy to use. The trader tools are good and they try to maintain them well. Investment information on the website would cost me somewhat more if I bought it from a vendor separately. March 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Low Value The fees are too high. The educational tools are not extensive and easy to get to. March 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure Secure and reliable no hassle and tax free account. March 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Generally good service, but shoudl lower the trading fee The stock trading fee is high. For active traders, the fee should be $5.00. March 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Easy to navigate & trade Have a self-directed brokerage Roth IRA with Fidelity. Also, have similar accts w/ others, and find Fidelity the easiest to navigate and carry out trades. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Intuitive and mobile. I have several investment accounts with past and present employers. Fidelity is a major part of my overall plan. I have a Taxable, Roth IRA and Rollover IRA with Fidelity. I use Fidelity for roll over of my old retirement accounts. I also go to Fidelity when I need to do research about investing. I have been using ETFs more and more in my Roth and would like to see Fidelity offer a line of broadly diversified index tracking ETFs. Thank You. March 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far safe and reliable It appears to be safe and reliable. Fortunately no one has yet broken into the system to my knowledge. Real test or credibility of an online system will be one day, when some hacker/s breakes and steals information. Hope Fidelity will stay ahead of the game at all times. Easy to create account and maintain March 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This question is silly Excellent, secure, reliable, easy, accessible. Why do you require a minimum number of characters? March 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Helpful at times When I call to ask questions it seems that they like to use only the fidelity mutual funds and not offer other funds that could be doing as well or better. It would be nice if they would recommend other options for investing. Thanks March 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lack of interest Not much interest from person servicing my acct. he wants more of my investment $, but doesn't recommend anything that I have been excited about for thIs small acct so why should I move more $ here? February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by non-active I am not very active in doing reviews of different funds. I just put money in safe funds and forget about them. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by favorable review As someone not particularly active in money matters I was very pleased with the service and helpfulness of the people I dealt with. They were patient and understanding and were willing to slowly work with me. They gave me input but let me make my own decisions. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like doing business with Fidelity. There is a branch that is close to my office and I visit it often. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I would recommend Fidelity Investments to adult investors. When my children were ready to set up a Roth IRA, the first place we looked was Fidelity. I was very disappointed to learn that Fidelity would not open a Roth IRA for minors. I couldn't understand why Fidelity had this policy, but we easily found another custodian that welcomed minor Roth IRA accounts. I would think the market would be competitive enough that Fidelity would not want to shun a future customer. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bi-monthly contributions desired I would like to be able to make contributions twice/month. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by easily customized to present the views of performance that I want I have had the account for a number of years and have never found a reason to consider changing. Fidelity is forward looking when it comes to technology and competitive when it comes to costs of trades - what more could you ask for ? February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Knowledge and esasy to use We've been account holders for years and have had an overall great experience. The customer service reps are friendly and very knowledgeable when it comes to their products. February 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by ???? The website could be simpler. I tried to find out how much I had contributed to my account last year. I had a hard time finding it. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why go anywhere else, Fidelty has it all. Moved my all of my moveable accounts to Fidelity. One website, one statement. Current taxable dividends always available. Nice GUI, good utility. Thanks Fred February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy company to work with I started saving with Fidelity in 1989 and have continued to do so ever since. I am so happy my company just this year went to Fidelity for our retirement so now all my $ is with Fidelity. It makes it easy to follow my portfolio. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by no complaints As I'm not a 'helicopter' investor, I mainly think about my account when I receive a statement or a report. I rely on Fidelity's reputation. My only concern is how often fund managers seem to change. February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great technology, investment ideas not easy to find. Please insure that Fidelity lobbies our government to NOT change Roth rules for "tax free" growth, ro include beneficiaries as well as owner (ME) February 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient but not the lowest expense Fair selection of funds, easy user interface, good customer service. However, I have the majority of my investments at another financial institution because their expenses and expense ratio for funds are lower. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by very convenient, a little pricey for trades I like the convenience. It is fairly reliable although I had an incident where the pricing on my account did not correlate with the pricing at the NYSE.... February 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and versatatile A Fidelty Poth account when used in conjunction with a brokerage account is very easy to use. Money can be transfered from the brokerage to the roth easily for aditional investments. The investments are many and varied. The account can be easily tracked on-line along with the brokerage account. February 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Highest marks to Fidelity Fidelity is far and above the rest. I always feel like a valued customer. There professionals are truly that.. February 29, 2012
  • 2016-05-24 T11:11:46.692-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_657, tr_657
  • loc_en_US, sid_006, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 22 next>>

Investing involves risk, including risk of loss.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

1. A distribution from a Roth IRA is tax-free and penalty-free provided that the five-year aging requirement has been satisfied and one of the following conditions is met: age 59½, death, disability, qualified first time home purchase.
2. You must be at least 18 to open an IRA at Fidelity.
3. $7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

Guidance provided is educational.

The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
Fidelity Brokerage Services, LLC, Member NYSE, SIPC, 900 Salem Street, Smithfield RI 02917
560591.12.0
close

Roth IRA Income Requirements

For single filers

For 2014, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $114,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with Modified Adjusted Gross Incomes (MAGI) up to $116,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $114,000 and $129,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $116,000 and $131,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For joint filers

For 2014, those with MAGI up to $181,000 are eligible to make full contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI up to $183,000 are eligible to make full contributions.

For 2014, those with MAGI between $181,000 and $191,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. For 2015, those with MAGI between $183,000 and $193,000 are eligible to make partial contributions. Use Fidelity's IRA Contribution Calculator to determine your partial contribution amount.

For those with income above the limits

If you are above these limits and you have assets in a Traditional IRA or an old workplace savings plan, such as a 401(k), you may still be able to take advantage of the benefits of a Roth IRA by converting these assets. Learn about converting to a Roth IRA.