• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

Ready to roll over your old 401(k) to an IRA?

We'll guide you step-by-step—from opening your new IRA to moving and investing your money.

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace plan 

Learn more about the Fidelity Rollover IRA

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.


10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options.
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 672 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by More flexible than 401K was Especially liked the greater ability to control what funds I want to invest in. February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flexibility and choices are awesome! I've had this account for quite a few years and I not only enjoy the flexibility I have but also the amount of choices in investment vehicles. When I need advice, I just make a call and have the option to go to a local Fidelity office! February 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I associated Fidelity with my first job in 1990.Ups & down, able to expand the investment as fianancially accomodeted. Now in retirement, looking for Generation-wealth building. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retired. I have been with other investment company ,finally I came to you and find out you are the best. Keep up the way you are doing. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Experience Great Account Executive in office close to home. Easy to use web site. I rebalance asset allocations and so on myself online and appreciate being able to do that. February 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Service I have had Rollover IRA for last couple of years. It is very convenient to Rollover. Many products are available, such as Mutual Funds, ETFs etc. Quite a few of them have no trading costs. Customer support is available 24x7. February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good Very good investment options at a fair price. Intuitive operation. Every other firm I've work with had requirements that didn't make sense. The only thing I would change is one part of the web site. I like the formate of the quarterly report you send of my investments but it does not include my outside investments even though I check both accounts. Every time I go back to the analyze page it defaults back to just the fidelity brokerage account. I can create a report myself but the formate is not the same as you create. February 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inconvenience Not good experience with the rollover IRA account. Please provide more infrormation about cash account trading restrictions. February 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by conservative ira mrd worked well as expected --------------------- February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by professional, secure, reliable, full confidence Over the years my tax deferred accounts have been a bullwark for my finances since my early retirement 19 years ago. Thank you very much February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable I have been happy with fidelity as a secure and reliable investment facility and have been using your company for many years, and at this point will continue to do so. February 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Minimum Required Distribution not reporting correctly The Minimum Required Distribution shown on the Retirement Distributions Center web page does not report correctly for the year in which I turned 71. It does not take into account that I deferred taking the MRD in the year I turned 70 1/2 until April 1 of the year I turned 71. The MRD showing on the Fidelity Retirement Distributions Center web page should include the deferred amount. February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most complete with easy access I have everything I need with my account. It's easy to navigate with up to the minute updates. Very east to withdraw from and very fast service. It gives you every available option there is to manage your account February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Technology Combined With A Supportive Advisor Very good experience with Fidelity. My advisor has assisted me build a balanced portfolio that I have been very pleased with. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Conscientious. In-depth analysis of personal risks and goals. Courteous, knowledgeable, and efficient staff. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comforting Good to have back up with good advice to secure my retirement January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by safe and simple to manage Have had my rollover with FIdelity for almost 14 years. Started letting FIdelity manage investments of same, however in 2001 took over and self managed. While my trading level is modest I find the process of trading easy and economical. I also use FIdelity for automatic withdrawals and last of all I feel my portfolio is safe. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Options and service I have been very pleased with my self-directed rollover IRA at Fidelity. I met with my investor center advisor to discuss my plan for a diversified fund selection, and he was supportive and had good insights when it came to slelecting between different funds in one of my targeted categories. I enjoyed using Fidelity's online analytical tools as I was exploring fund options for my targeted categories. Performance and service are what brings me back to Fidelity; I have invested with them since I entered college in the '70's! January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Low cost and easy to trade Still difficult to shop for and find bonds to buy. Should be an easier way to get it done. When you click the research tab for a stock the information that comes up is not great. For example dividend yield is one item that does not immedietly come up . Google Finance has better information on a company with the first hit versus Fiedlity. Many times I have to go back to Google to get the information I need and then come back to Fidelity to make a trade if that was the decision made. Fidelity should at least have the information google has. If you want to know what Google has on the first hit just go to Google Finance and enter any stock symbol and see what comes up....thanks January 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by naked I would appreciate having specific stock and bond picks offered to me by Fidelity. The accounts are without that needed input. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by backupplan I have had the account for more than 20 yrs and I am very pleased with it. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Efficient and Valuable Resource My IRA was transferred to Fidelity last year and I have been very pleased with the ease of setting up investments and processing transactions. Also very satisfied with the paperless statements and availability of analytical tools to evaluate market conditions and investment potential This was the first year that Fidelity managed my RMD and the process worked smoothly. Very satisfied with Fidelity on all counts. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An extended family They have all the positive characteristics of a family...honesty, loyalty, integrity, helpfulness, and most of all, my best interests at heart . Fidelity, in every instance, has been there for me, and I feel, will always be there for me. The guidance, professionalism, and competency is outstanding. Everyone has financial products, only a very few have earned the mantel of trust that Fidelity enjoys. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retirement basis Fidelity has provided a safe vehicle for conservative investment of my 401K savings from various employers. It has also allowed me to allocate portions of the IRA when events required it. I have had fairly simple goals, but they have provided a secure footing for my retirement (which I have been in for a year now). January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good sound tool! I am relatively pleased with this product. It has not had any significant problems. Hopefully the future will continue to be seamless. Everyone should strive to maintain these accounts. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Very pleased with service I receive with Rollover IRA. I cannot get on my computer and prefer to get answers over the phone, especially on how to invest to get the most for my bucks. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and effective This site integrates investment and research into a seamless grouping of useful pages. January 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by no clue I am a bit disappointed with Fidelity in general. I am not very knowledgeable about my finances and have asked for someone to assist me several times with no response. The nearest office is an hour away. I am considering changing companies especially now with my employer cutting my hours has left me in a financial disaster. I am very disappointed with Fidelity. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by convienent and flexible Ease of conversion from 401k to IRA was impressive. The flexibility of investment choices is great. User friendly transactions through my account are appreciated. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to access and review daily I like to check on my account daily and Fidelity makes it easy to navigate the web site and all of its functions. January 31, 2014
  • 2015-10-10T12:03:43.931-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_672, tr_672
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 23 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037


Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?