• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes rolling over an old retirement savings plan from a former employer easy for you. Our tax-deferred account can help you invest for growth or income.

Account features

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
007
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 579 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service I have received excellent on-on-one, telephone and Web site service during the 8 years I've been with Fidelity. There are excellent reviews and various status reports that are very helpful. I do everything on line including statements without any problems. Many thanks Fidelity. August 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horribly stuck in the 80s Tried to transfer from a Fidelity 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA. First: You cannot do this on your own; you must call and request a form that they will mail or charge you $20 for express mail. Never heard of Adobe Acrobat? Second, they will offer to use FAX, which personally I haven't had access to since the 90s. Seriously. Third, if consent from a spouse is needed, you need that signed and a notary public to stamp. Yes, it's officially not 2013 anymore, we've regressed that far. Fourth, they will put a short-term expiry on the distribution request. So now try and get spouse to sign in front of a notary in a short window and do that with 2 kids and both parents working and still waiting for form to arrive eats into that time. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Standard Functions as expected but have no expierence at other firms. July 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it It is ideal for Roll Over individuals and I like the investment option July 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Pretty much hassle-free. Commission rate is wonderful. July 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but missing a few mobile conveniences I like Fidelity a lot but would like to see the mobile apps include trading options for other than stocks and ETFs, and include extended hours trading options. I much prefer iPad access to my accounts but limited functionality reduces my ability to manage my account easily. I suffer from a vision impairment and the iPad is much easier to see than my laptop. While I can access Fidelity via Safari and get full functionality, an enhanced mobile app would be very favorably received July 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by User friendly site My relationship account representive is very knowledgeable and knows my objectives. She reviews my allocation with those objctives in mind and keeps me on track. The volatility of the market urges me to be over-racting and she keeps me grounded on the goal. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by RET rvw Very happy with the Rollover IRA from Fidelity. No negatives at all. My Fidelity rep made the entire rollover process simple and quick. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by In Hindsight While I was building my IRA, I was happy that it was tax exempt. Now that I have been retired for a dozen years, I wish I didn't owe so much of it to the IRS.. I started transferring some to a Roth last year but I wish I had started sooner. July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollovers I am happy with my rollovers, but was not aware that if you roll them over, you can't take early withdrawals at age 55 without penalties. If money is left in 401K, you can. I am presently looking at more simplification and consolidation to allow me to have fewer funds, mostly ETFs and no load Index funds, it would make it easier to manage and understand. I have more than 25 funds and would like to have 6 to 10. July 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr. Klarer Overall I am quite satisfied with Fidelity. Your transactions are executed with excellent speed & statements are always accurate. I remember 1970: when we would sit in the brokerage office and watch the ticker tape, and place buy & sell orders by phone. Back then we sometimes took possession of the stock certificates. The times & processes have changed so much since, to the benefit of both institutions & small investors July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not entirely accurate All of the important pieces are there. My biggest objection is the rounding errors caused by limiting amounts to three places after the decimal instead of four. I don't feel comfortable when the numbers don't add up the way they should. June 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by No Complaints Nice solid program to manage my rollover 401k from a prior employer. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trusted Investment Provider The Fidelity Brand represents trust. I believe that both the organization and all of its representatives embody this core value. Services and advise are given in the long term best interest of customers. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only one thing wrong I wish someone had reminded me that I should have used all my cash money outside my IRA's before taking the money out of my tax differed funds. That comment would have changed my approach entirely. June 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure & independant It serves my purpose, without a lot of pushy marketing of products. June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable Your people is very helpful, The persons that I talked with they had a lots of knowledge and willing to work with you in order to get the right investment. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer friendly I manage my own account and find the Fidelity team always courteous and most helpful. appreciate the ability to know each day the status and love the ease of trading on line. Recently transferred stock certificates to a joint account and a difficult task was made easy with specia forms and advice. Thanks. Ben Moore June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by simple and easy I really like the access to research tools and ideas. The website is very easy to navigate and trade costs are great. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best borkerage service I cannot say enough good about fidelity they are allways their for you with good sound advice and also no pressure to do anything .It is up to you you make the final choice on what you want to do . June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable customer service The customer service has been excellent since my first contact with Fidelity. No fluff; just facts. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth as silk I have no complaints and no suggestions so, please just continue as is. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by More videos needed and in local branches classes I love all of the info that is on the Fidelity site. However, I would like to see more videos for us not so bright investors that don't really know what we are doing! Even though most of us try to make educated decisions a video for me is much more user friendly. If you would bring back classes into your local branches that would help as well. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by MY RETIREMENT I HAVE AN EXCELLENT SELECTION OF FUNDS WITH GOOD DIVERSITY. I PREFER INDEX FUNDS AS TO KEEP EXPENSES DOWN. I LIKE THE INFO AND GUIDANCE I RECEIVE FROM MY ACCOUNT MGR. June 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Tracking Capability I have requested many times to have the ability to track visually my total account value on a daily or other basis. It would be great if I could also SEE my dividends all grouped together. Something like what a manager of a Mutual Fund might have since really what I have is my own personal fund of equities. I'm always told that "we value all comments and we want to satisfy all customer request but that may take time. I have seen no effort to satisfy this customer request. I am therefor unsatisfied. Also the one on one consulting services that I got just about a year ago in Portland were almost meaningless to provide any real, helpful advice, direction of managing my investment and future retirement. Very fluffy! -Rich June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by most of the rollover was pretty straightforward I think that with the exception of choosing distribution in shares vs cash, the process was pretty straighforward. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure I do think of Fidelity with any type of retirement savings and have recommended you often to others. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied I'm very satisfied with the Rollover IRA. Doing everything on line has been very reliable and easy to use. And the price is right. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent customer service When I first rolled my account over, my Fidelity rep was excellent in helping me with all the processes and forms, not only required by Fidelity, but also from my roll-from account, another large institution. He continued to help me through some investment choices, always being there to help, never pushing. I highly recommend Fidelity for their service-oriented culture. As a Customer Service executive myself, I set high standards and don't easily give such high marks! As for value, I have only been a customer for 1+ year. Too soon to evaluate. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleased I like the support systems very much and have no suggestions for improvement. June 28, 2013
  • 2015-03-31T10:04:10.924-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_579, tr_579
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 20 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560620.11.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037