401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?


Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 775 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable and secure I am pleased with my rollover Gret information and ease to invest January 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good Being new to this type of account, I am learning as I go along and will surely get better with practice. Information is good. Navigation of site sometimes a little confusing but that should become less as I use the site. January 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly designed... Website is hard to navigate, poorly designed. While some good tools available, the trading tools are horrible. January 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by dougs opinion i have tried to move other money to fidelity but my agent or contact person well never respond back to me.he was suppose to call me back on a question i asked him on 12/17/14 and have not heard a word from him. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Tools and Performance Tracking I am pleased with the tools and research options provided with the Rollover IRA. January 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Financial Excellence I retired mid-2006, that fall I rolled my IRA into a variety of mutual funds under the Fidelity umbrella. It was convenient and quick. Not all funds were Fidelity, some were from 'competing' companies and two of those were suggested by the Fidelity rep. I do an annual 'checkup', typically late year to review balance and swap some funds. I have been VERY happy with Fidelity, they have the expertise and systems to help you manage your financial assets. January 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and convenient I find the Fidelity Rollover IRA to be secure and I feel that I have easy and convenient access wherever I am on whatever device I have at that time. January 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I could have invested anywhere My only investment strategy is to put a bunch of money into one, or possibly many, market index funds. I can find those anywhere and the returns on any of them should be close to equal. I chose Fidelity because it was recommended by a friend. If I could go back 6 months I would definitely choose differently. I have tried for several months to roll my TSP over into my Rollover IRA and I have ran into nothing but hurdles and incompetence. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA evaluation Allows selection of a large variety of mutual funds. Provides great research capability. The retirement planning and projection of assets for the next 30 years is very valuable. Plus, it is all free. January 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investment Review I like that I have more acces to my account and the help that is available for me when I have questions. January 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trying another Rollover to my Rollover IRA I have had my rollover IRA with Fidelity for a while and I just want to say that when it comes time to transfer another Rollover from my past employer it is a hassle and Fidelity Reps do not want to take time to help me other than to give me the same information I can look up on the site myself. The Reps are very nice up until they ask for the value of the rollover, then they just send pre-written responses and links to where I can find the information that I already found on my own. What kind of service is this? No, I don't have a million dollars to transfer, yet, but I've been a customer since 2004 and don't get the respect that I deserve. I now know that contacting a Rep is not worth the time as they don't want to help you unless you have a large sum to transfer. Terrible Service. I will continue to keep my money at FI because I like the choice of funds I have invested in, but the Rep service is terrible! January 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 100% Excellent Had a great experience rolling my IRA over to Fidelity. Their expert team made the entire process very easy and seamless. I would recommend Fidelity, for ALL products, to anyone and everyone. Thank you, Fidelity! January 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable the best customer service ever. Never had a hassle and good recommendations January 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure Helpfull with ways to accomplish your goals, withoutt pushing choices on you. January 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service Has always provided excellent service. I do my research. when needed Rep. gets back to me fo guidance January 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and reliable So far so good. Just don't like all the restrictions. December 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Impossible to find 401k rollover to existing rollover account I have spent 20 minutes trying to find the place to rollover a 401k to an existing rollover account. All I can find are places that want me to call a phone number. Can we please be in the modern era and not need to talk to someone on the phone? December 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Questionable Since I moved my 401K to an IRA the gentleman that assisted has been promoted. I am not sure who my working agent is so I can contact them for assistance when an if I need them. December 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Service personnel too new When my company was bought out I attempted to roll-over my 401K into a Fidelity IRA, hoping to keep my investments the same with the new account. I did not know the term "in kind" at the time and was not offered that. My customer service rep had never done this type transaction before and cashed my whole account out. Very disappointed I was not informed of my options during the transaction. I should have hung up and called back for a more experienced advisor when she had to put me on hold for instructions herself. December 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Building Retirement The cooperation and commitment has been extremely positive and I have no reason to believe that it will not continue going forward . December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stable and worthy My account is a great asset to my future. The customer service is splendid. December 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Denial of trading options I recently requested to trade option from my retirement account and was denied. I do not understand this decision, as I trade options spreads from other accounts and have not problems. I dislike the fact that Fidelity seems to think that I am incapable of investing my own money. I will be finding another broker. December 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity delivers Fidelity has not disappointed me. Service and the results met my expectations from day one of being contacted by my representative. December 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good website Before I moved my IRA funds, they called me several times. After I moved them, no one ever called. There was no hand-holding as was promised initially. Website relatively easy to use. Sometimes the daily changes are not available on all my funds (they show a dash and have to wait until the next day to find out whether they moved up or down; annoying). December 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by How and where to rollover my 401K I used this site to find out who the check needs to be made out, from my former employer 401K account, and where in Fidelity to send it. It was quick and simple. December 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rollover I found a poor response in getting basic guidance from the two different advisors that I contacted. Extremely long follow up to calls and long waits for appointments to discuss my accounts. December 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fidelity does not make it right when they make an error. Fidelity has completely lost any credibility with me. I have been trying to transfer my Fidelity pension into my Fidelity Rollover IRA. It was supposed to be transferred on 11/01/14. Because of a paperwork error on Fidelity's side, documents had to signed and notarized for a second time so that I could receive the funds on 12/01/14. Today, 12/02/14, I received a call stating that the funds will be available after 1/1/15. Fidelity is not taking any responsibility for their error and not making it right. I have 4 other accounts with Fidelity. Once I leave my current employer, I will close all of my accounts with Fidelity. I would not recommend that anyone open new accounts with them. They have had multiple chances to correct the situation and have dragged their feet. December 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover ease and use had customer service help with the rollover. All went well. Later Fidelity even contacted me once they saw my investment stratagy and invested in a few better options for me. However the functions for balancing and removing funds was had to work with and required lots of math. They said they were working on changes and something may have happened in October, but I have not had a chance to review yet. The GM 401K netbenefits was easier to work with. November 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Reliable All in all my time with fidelity has been an asset and fruitful, I do not think that fedelity treats the customer as an individual but more as an asset. more one on one would be advisable. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Investment Excellent customer service. Always accommodating and willing to help November 11, 2014
  • 2016-06-24 T15:04:23.122-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_775, tr_775
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 26 next>>
007
5508tridion