• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes rolling over an old retirement savings plan from a former employer easy for you. Our tax-deferred account can help you invest for growth or income.

Account features

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
007
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 561 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by simple and easy I really like the access to research tools and ideas. The website is very easy to navigate and trade costs are great. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best borkerage service I cannot say enough good about fidelity they are allways their for you with good sound advice and also no pressure to do anything .It is up to you you make the final choice on what you want to do . June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable customer service The customer service has been excellent since my first contact with Fidelity. No fluff; just facts. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth as silk I have no complaints and no suggestions so, please just continue as is. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by More videos needed and in local branches classes I love all of the info that is on the Fidelity site. However, I would like to see more videos for us not so bright investors that don't really know what we are doing! Even though most of us try to make educated decisions a video for me is much more user friendly. If you would bring back classes into your local branches that would help as well. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by MY RETIREMENT I HAVE AN EXCELLENT SELECTION OF FUNDS WITH GOOD DIVERSITY. I PREFER INDEX FUNDS AS TO KEEP EXPENSES DOWN. I LIKE THE INFO AND GUIDANCE I RECEIVE FROM MY ACCOUNT MGR. June 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Tracking Capability I have requested many times to have the ability to track visually my total account value on a daily or other basis. It would be great if I could also SEE my dividends all grouped together. Something like what a manager of a Mutual Fund might have since really what I have is my own personal fund of equities. I'm always told that "we value all comments and we want to satisfy all customer request but that may take time. I have seen no effort to satisfy this customer request. I am therefor unsatisfied. Also the one on one consulting services that I got just about a year ago in Portland were almost meaningless to provide any real, helpful advice, direction of managing my investment and future retirement. Very fluffy! -Rich June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by most of the rollover was pretty straightforward I think that with the exception of choosing distribution in shares vs cash, the process was pretty straighforward. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure I do think of Fidelity with any type of retirement savings and have recommended you often to others. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied I'm very satisfied with the Rollover IRA. Doing everything on line has been very reliable and easy to use. And the price is right. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent customer service When I first rolled my account over, my Fidelity rep was excellent in helping me with all the processes and forms, not only required by Fidelity, but also from my roll-from account, another large institution. He continued to help me through some investment choices, always being there to help, never pushing. I highly recommend Fidelity for their service-oriented culture. As a Customer Service executive myself, I set high standards and don't easily give such high marks! As for value, I have only been a customer for 1+ year. Too soon to evaluate. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleased I like the support systems very much and have no suggestions for improvement. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover Ira. Moving my Ira to fidelity was a wise choice. The information available is useful in decision making and makes it easy to track my stocks and buy and sell. If there was one area I would like to see improved it would be the ability to purchase IPO's. everyone should have the ability to invest in new opportunities not just a subset. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable I trust Fidelity. MY IRA is available to me anytime. I am able to completely manage my own account. Fidelity's brokerage service is very responsive. When I do personally contact customer service the people I work with are very helpful and easy to talk with, and knowledgeable. Fidelity keeps finding new ways to make capital allocation secure and easy. Most inportant...I TRUST FIDELITY. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't be happier Not sure why you would choose any other provider. Fidelity has it all and gives you the tools to manage your account with confidence. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the website I have a 401k, IRA, and money market account with Fidelity. Love the website; well managed, easy to navigate. Would like to see more informative economic analysis. Thanks! June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by June 2013 Review It would be more convenient to me if there was an option on to see the annuallized percentage gain/loss of my individual holdings in addition too the existing "gain since purchased" info. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA I'm very happy that I converted my 401(k) to a Rollover IRA at Fidelity upon my retirement. June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid online resource The website is easy to use. The fees are reasonable if you make your own investment decisions. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flexibility I have a wide range of choices in funds and ETF's at very low costs. I also have the convenience of making transactions and analysis using the internet. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ms. I am a Fidelity client for many years and I am glad I choose Fidelity . Thank you for making the financial part of my life easy. . June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity A good company offering a large selection of investment options. Easy to do business with having excellent customer servide June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy track but could use some better metrics. For the most part I am very happy with rolling over our IRA's and 401-ks to Fidelity. I am extremely pleased with the customer service and the two account representatives we have had. I have in the past in responding to surveys pointed out that I would love to have a report that would allow me to see what my dividend rate is for dividend stocks we have in our portfolio based on our acquisition costs and the current dividend (whether dividend is the same as when stock originally purchased, or whether the dividend has gone up or down since purchase.) Such a report would take a lot of tracking off my shoulders and would be invaluable to those of us who purchase dividend stocks. For example if a dividend is reduced the return could go from 10% to 7% based upon the original purchase price of the stock. But based upon the underlying strength of the company a 7% return still might be worth sticking with. In any case this is the third time I have mentioned this with out any followup from Fidelity. I however will take responsibility for not following up with customer service about this. Over all this would not cause me to leave Fidelity. June 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Poor Experience Yesterday I wanted to move money from my Fidelity IRA to a Fidelity Time Warner 401k, a procedure I have done before. I was told that a form would be mailed to me in 1 week to 10 days, then after I had mailed the form back, I would be mailed a check which I would then mail to TW. The procedure would take several weeks, evidently. All this in an age if milliseconds trading! The Pony Express delivered letters faster than I am able to move my funds around. Not acceptable. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy Fidelity makes investing interesting because if its friendly and reliable service. June 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by IRA - missed opportunities The initial rollover was a pretty simple transaction. Where Fidelity was lacking is the interaction with the agent that assisted me. There was no help offered with regards to how to reinvest the money, or the steps that would be required once the account was setup. It sat for a few months until I was speaking to my father in-law about it and we went on-line to look into it. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Port Review Would like to have a longer password to log on to my account so that I could use the same scheme as I use on my other secure sites. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Innovative Approach My wife and I have used your services for years. I know you publish your percentage fees you charge for your funds. Why not be the first to actually write the dollar amount charges per fund on your monthly statement. Perhaps the industry might sit up and take notice. It's as competitive as ever, why not be innovative? June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Making it last Because my account is self directed I do not hear from Fidelity proactively. However, when I do call I get prompt responses although advice is not dispensed. Just reinforcement of my opinions. June 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Satisfied There were many offers to rollover 401K's into a Fidelty IRA so I did and never received my bonus. June 26, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 19 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560620.10.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037