401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?


Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 820 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to understand, and seamless. My rollover IRA was very easy to understand and was done in my best interest. When I had a question my Financial Consultant was available to make sure that I fully understood what was happening and thoughtfully answered my questions. It was a seamless transaction completed by a company I know I can trust, and who treat their customers as they would treat themselves. Thanks. April 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by mehhh it's ok Feel like a # and not a customer but don't ask for more or expected it. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenience & Ease Overall good to excellent; product offerings, convenience and ease of use - familiarity with system. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Educational Material I rate Fidelity Rollover IRA options as being very good with a wide variety of options to chose from. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very factual Process was easy and personnel were very professional. Ready to move my wife's IRA over soon. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple procedure This was a simple clerical action that accomplished what was intended. My Fidelity advisor handled the deed efficiently and effectively. Mission accomplished. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grateful one Very pleased with all aspects of Fidelity. All my encounters with the office staff have been most helpful. My only regret is that I did not use Fidelity 15 years ago March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Fidelity has bent over backwards to help me rollover a pension buyout and an old 401k into an IRA. I have nothing but praise and appreciation for all the help I have received from their courteous staff. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer service regarding RMD I was very disappointed with the chat that I had concerning my RMD. I had initially scheduled my RMD to be withdrawn in December for the full amount. I needed to withdraw $5,000.00 this month expecting my RMD balance to reflect the reduced amount to be withdrawn in December. The CSR that I spoke to was very vague as too how to adjust that amount to the point that I when I treid it, nothing changed March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Rollover Account Once walked through the ways to trade stocks and look up investment grade information, the process is very convenient. Access to recent research on companies and industry trends is also useful. The research compliments additional sources of investment and market information. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and Safe I like the many options Fidelity provides and the friendly, knowledgeable and responsive customer service. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Is The Best! Simple, straightforward, good investment options, nice website, great customer service, what more can you ask for? Rolled over from my workplace 401k. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure easy to set up. Everyone was extremely helpful. Great experience March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Retirement rollover Everything was easy however it wasn't clear to me what the funds would be invested in. March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Use Just love haivng so much control over these investments. March 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Service Poor My account manager never followed up on the credit to my account for the creation and rollover of funds. Still have not seen the funds credited for transferring funds. She was very anxious to have me transfer funds however once transferred never heard from her again March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable It was easy and fast to fill out the application for enrollment. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Support My 401K was managed by Fidelity. I retired in 2008 and rolled over my 401 to a traditional IRA with Fidelity. I also had IRA's outside of my 401 as well as taxable accounts. Fidelity has been part of my financial life for many years. With rare exception, I have never had an issue with the account executive or Fidelity in general. In fact, they have been very helpful when I have to rearrange investments and guide me through it as needed. The account executive is not a financial advisor in the traditional sense but provides a huge service in discussing options. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy I have made a lot of changes in my IRA over the years and have been very pleased with the support and help I have received from my Financial Retirement Representative. Even though I have another primary representative, the Fidelity folks have worked with me to meet my needs. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Have enjoyed using Fidelity over the years and have always received great service and information. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Effective and easy. I needed a place to put 401K funds that my former company have moved from Fidelity to a poorer-performing company. I met with a local representative who walked me through the process or creating a Rollover IRA account, and then transferring the funds. There are plenty of investment choices, and I selected a fund keyed to my estimated retirement date. Very cost-effective and easy. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable Very satisfied with Fidelity and their customer service. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service I have multiple accounts and when calling in for questions, the agent was so helpful. She never once sighed or complained about all the questions. She was a pleasure to work with and made my day. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe and Secure The process of rolling over my 401k into a Fidelity IRA was one of the easiest and smoothest transactions I have ever made. The Fidelity rep was a true professional and helped guide through each step. An overall great move and experience. March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent IRA 5 Star rating!! Excellent stock brokers there with Fidelity! March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy Could not be happier with your customer service and professionalism, keep it up!!! February 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing exceptional I have 2 IRAs with Fidelity that are self-directed. I chose the positions to invest in. Although I have an account manager, I only speak with him when I initiate the call. For my part, I can have such an arrangement with any investment house, so Fidelity offers nothing more. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roll over 401 K to IRA Rolling over my employers 401 K to a IRA was so simple and the help that I received was second to none. Great Customer Service. February 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure On website doesn't really offer a lot of information and how to invest in other commodities. February 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rolled Over I rolled over an amount of money into Fidelity, hoping they would help me invest. I had a representative call me and set an appointment. They forgot about me and never rescheduled to this day. I'm in search of transferring my money out soon. February 17, 2015
  • 2016-08-26 T12:01:08.838-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_820, tr_820
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 28 next>>
007
5508tridion