• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes rolling over an old retirement savings plan from a former employer easy for you. Our tax-deferred account can help you invest for growth or income.

Account features

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
007
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 614 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by rollover procedures I don't feel I got the assistance I needed to complete the rollover transaction I was wanting to happen. Perhaps, I am just not savvy enough with this website, or financial websites in general. Once I've gotten a new estimate from the TRB in CY for purchasing 2 more years of service credit, I will again attempt to learn how to make this happen. January 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rollover with Fidelity - good move These days hard to tell what direction to go. Fidelity has been productive for me. Sometimes I think their help / service is geared for the high level expert in investments, not the everyday investor. I don't think that anyone else is better, though. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to set up and use I rolled over my account into Fidelity with little or no problem. Fidelity has provided me excellent information to be able to make prudent decisions and provides occasional reviews of what they think is happening or might happen. I find it useful. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast, Easy and Hopefully Worth It The rollover for us was in 3 steps. First, last year went smoothly as well as the second. The third will take place within the next 4 weeks and I expect the same result, which is fast and easy. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Lots of selections for my IRA. Lots of help if I have problems or questions. Great website that helps me manage my accounts. My account executive is always there for backup. Thanks. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accurate and Trustworthy I have had my Fidelty IRA for over 20 years. My actions have always been performed speedily and accurately. I cannot remember one mistake ever having been made by Fidelity. I will be happy to continue using Fidelity for years to come. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Very Helpfull and provides great Service, Very help full Over the phone with any Questions And Help. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trade with confidence You have "Piece of Mind" when you trade here , Fidelity has the resources to research your choice, to help you decide how to move forward to meet your goal January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I originally began with my company 401K program. When retiring from my company, Fidelity made the transition easy to move over to IRA Account and was able to keep two of my investments. Fidelity understood my needs and not a high risk investor. Great Job! January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover The process was handled in an excellent manner by yor personnel. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent service I have had an excellent experience with Fidelity. Thank you for all you do. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by rollover ira I like the rollover ira just fine. It does exactly what I want it to do. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not what I expected... I would have preferred to receive some proactive investment advice. I always get referred to the website, which I find to be overwhelming. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by trustworthy An IRA at Fidelity is an excellent vehicle at a low cost. The ease of use and resources provided by Fid. make investing smooth and reliable. Fid is always ready to answer questions and ofen provides information before the need for it occurs to me. I spent over 40 years working on Wall St. and when I retired Fidelity was my first choice. Fidelity was considered the number one client of every firm I worked for. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Service Every thing I do at the website and phone service is quick and easy to use January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glad I did it. I'm glad I finally rolled my old 401K over to the Fidelity IRA. I have more direct control of the funds, and many more investment choices. The Fidelity research is very helpful. Fees are very reasonable. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by JimmysTake Local representatives helpful and accessible. Have received good advice regarding selection of funds and balancing the portfolio. The systematic withdrawal plan that automatically sets up the MRD is very convenient. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fx Fidelity is our life line. 30% of our money comes from our Fidelity account and the rest social security. January 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No action what so ever I don't seem to get any service from of for my Rollover IRA. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable So far, I have enjoyed the level of attention to my investment needs that I expected. Now, if the market would only cooperate and increase in value it would be a home run. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover account review The convenience of working with the website for changes and the broad selection, of investment options make for a great tool. Customer assistance in the distribution process is valued by me. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Multiple Roll-overs I am very pleased with the website, which is the only way I've handled the Fidelty account. I can do changes, trades, and planning with very good supportive and secure web design and options. The improvement that I really would like is to get an annual statement of the account, rather than the monthly statements. An annual statement is available for my employer's 401k account and is preferable to the monthly statement. Regards, Etha McDowell January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure I am very pleased with Fidelity investment and customer support January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Building Financial Confidence I did as much research as I could on my former employees fund offerings from their 401k plan. I listened to the older folks their and followed their advice for 15+ years... save, save, save. In parallel I did my own investing with an account I opened at Fidelity, so when I eventually moved to another firm to advance my career, I could not wait to roll over my 401k into a traditional IRA at Fidelity with all they have to offer. The advisor sat me down and worked with me in such a professional way, that to this day, 6 years later I still have a smile on my face. He helped me put together the most diversified portfolio to weather all storms... and it has. Do yourself a favour, walk into a Fidelity office or call them... check out their investment tools online... these guys inspire you to reach your financial goals. January 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Tricky and vague I cant navigate this web site easily trying to reestablish my beneficiaries which I feel I should not have to do since I am going from a 401k to an ira within fidelity. January 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rollover Ira I had a rollover request for which i called Fidelity to find out what needs to be done. Initially i got the feel that they were not very helpful but i got over it and submitted my paperwork anyways. Its been 45 + days when i did not see that happen i called on 01-18-14 to be told that i have to resubmit the paperwork. Its time to look into some other company . If a company does not take my money & business seriously its time for me to look for somebody else. January 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not surprised Less than a month ago I retired (airline career) and contacted Fidelity about three months ago. They were very informative at that time and directed me to contact them when I actually retired. I have now reconnected this week over the phone and to speak with someone in person at a local Fidelity office. The two persons helping me were extremely informative and supportive, giving me choices with clear explanation and reassurance about options and allocations. I chose a rollover IRA and I will have future help from Fidelity regarding a buyout payment from my former employer. Again, I have full confidence that any and all questions have been and will be answered with future choices. Thanks Fidelity. January 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by costomer service representative I recently rolled over my 401k into a IRA and the costumer service representative i dealt with was Michael K. he was very friendly and positive and helped me with everything from start to finish i was completely satisfied with his service and would recommend him to anybody in need of services through fidelity thank you for all of you help Mike. January 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service & assistance... I have had accounts with Fidelity on/off for the last 25 years. They have come a long way from demanding a notarized statement just to get MY funds released. It has been wonderful to see the increased level of knowledge and assistance over the years I was very impressed at the ease of transferring my 401(k) into a Traditional IRA this last year. I would recommend Fidelity to anyone... December 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Information Was told I must take RMD since I am 73 yrs old. Not if you are still employeed. Bad info. Wanted to start and fund a Roth IRA for wife who is not working. Was told I could not do this even after quoting the IRS sheet saying it was legal. While they have been helpful you can not take all their advice as gospel December 9, 2013
  • 2015-05-22T10:22:56.751-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_614, tr_614
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 21 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560620.11.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037