• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

Ready to roll over your old 401(k) to an IRA?

We'll guide you step-by-step—from opening your new IRA to moving and investing your money.

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace plan 

Learn more about the Fidelity Rollover IRA

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.


10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options.
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 684 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by accountt rollover I have ytied and tried to get help with "investing" my rollover account sinceaccomplishing my rollover this summer. Got confusing information from each customer service personel. Will be taking my account elsewhere February 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prompt, Knowledgeable, Caring Any concerns or questions I've had have always been answered promptly. My account executive, Robin, has been and continues to ease any worries my wife and I have with decisions with our IRA account. February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Confident I feel my assets are in good hands. Fidelity people exude trust and confidence. I appreciate their candor, honesty, friendliness, and expertise. February 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does the job! Good execution, useful website. I have no complaints whatsoever. February 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by MRD The rep made it very easy for me to rely on Fidelity to keep distribution in a orderly and timely way. February 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by shooting blind Not a peep from anyone @ Fidelity about what I should do with my money. Even when I asked when in your office in Delaware County Ohio. As tho since I didn't have a six figure fund I was a leper. February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA I was a Delaware state employee and was enrolled in Fidelity in a deferred saving plan while I worked. When I retired in 2011, I placed a part of my savings in Fidelity's Rollover IRA. I have always been extremely satisfied when I called customer service. My questions were always answered in a clear, understandable, friendly way. I have been pleased with both your on-line services and your phone customer service February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service and value Fidelity has some of the best pros in the Industry. Great online web service and really knowledgable advisors. So far, the best I have dealt with. February 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investing Opportuities The conversion went well and the product provided gives me the tools I need to do my investments are good for researching my investments. The origional support I got in reviewing my goals and getting a recommedation in setting up portfolio was very valueable being succesfull during 2014 in meeting my goals. Going forward I am very interested in goingto one of the Fidelity education centers to get some one on one training on better using your tools February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I had been with Fidelity for 401-K, just rolled it over, easy to do. February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Manager I like the system just the way it is....however sometimes I would like to be able for the system to suggest to me other stocks or products I should look at in the same category that may give me a better returns! February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great account to have for retirement When I had to rollover my 401K, Fidelity helped with all the transactions and figuring out where to put my money within the account. February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by More flexible than 401K was Especially liked the greater ability to control what funds I want to invest in. February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flexibility and choices are awesome! I've had this account for quite a few years and I not only enjoy the flexibility I have but also the amount of choices in investment vehicles. When I need advice, I just make a call and have the option to go to a local Fidelity office! February 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I associated Fidelity with my first job in 1990.Ups & down, able to expand the investment as fianancially accomodeted. Now in retirement, looking for Generation-wealth building. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retired. I have been with other investment company ,finally I came to you and find out you are the best. Keep up the way you are doing. February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Experience Great Account Executive in office close to home. Easy to use web site. I rebalance asset allocations and so on myself online and appreciate being able to do that. February 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Service I have had Rollover IRA for last couple of years. It is very convenient to Rollover. Many products are available, such as Mutual Funds, ETFs etc. Quite a few of them have no trading costs. Customer support is available 24x7. February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good Very good investment options at a fair price. Intuitive operation. Every other firm I've work with had requirements that didn't make sense. The only thing I would change is one part of the web site. I like the formate of the quarterly report you send of my investments but it does not include my outside investments even though I check both accounts. Every time I go back to the analyze page it defaults back to just the fidelity brokerage account. I can create a report myself but the formate is not the same as you create. February 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Inconvenience Not good experience with the rollover IRA account. Please provide more infrormation about cash account trading restrictions. February 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by conservative ira mrd worked well as expected --------------------- February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by professional, secure, reliable, full confidence Over the years my tax deferred accounts have been a bullwark for my finances since my early retirement 19 years ago. Thank you very much February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable I have been happy with fidelity as a secure and reliable investment facility and have been using your company for many years, and at this point will continue to do so. February 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Minimum Required Distribution not reporting correctly The Minimum Required Distribution shown on the Retirement Distributions Center web page does not report correctly for the year in which I turned 71. It does not take into account that I deferred taking the MRD in the year I turned 70 1/2 until April 1 of the year I turned 71. The MRD showing on the Fidelity Retirement Distributions Center web page should include the deferred amount. February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Most complete with easy access I have everything I need with my account. It's easy to navigate with up to the minute updates. Very east to withdraw from and very fast service. It gives you every available option there is to manage your account February 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Technology Combined With A Supportive Advisor Very good experience with Fidelity. My advisor has assisted me build a balanced portfolio that I have been very pleased with. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Conscientious. In-depth analysis of personal risks and goals. Courteous, knowledgeable, and efficient staff. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comforting Good to have back up with good advice to secure my retirement January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by safe and simple to manage Have had my rollover with FIdelity for almost 14 years. Started letting FIdelity manage investments of same, however in 2001 took over and self managed. While my trading level is modest I find the process of trading easy and economical. I also use FIdelity for automatic withdrawals and last of all I feel my portfolio is safe. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Options and service I have been very pleased with my self-directed rollover IRA at Fidelity. I met with my investor center advisor to discuss my plan for a diversified fund selection, and he was supportive and had good insights when it came to slelecting between different funds in one of my targeted categories. I enjoyed using Fidelity's online analytical tools as I was exploring fund options for my targeted categories. Performance and service are what brings me back to Fidelity; I have invested with them since I entered college in the '70's! January 31, 2014
  • 2015-11-28 T12:13:26.885-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_684, tr_684
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 23 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037


Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?