401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?


Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 791 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rolled Over I rolled over an amount of money into Fidelity, hoping they would help me invest. I had a representative call me and set an appointment. They forgot about me and never rescheduled to this day. I'm in search of transferring my money out soon. February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable They are first in answering your question. They are customer friendly. February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of research options One of the biggest things is the availability of research options. Active Trader Pro is a great tool to use. February 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Roll Over It took some time to get everything in order. I think it is now complete. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by competitive offerings with good service The transfer from my 401k to the Fidelity IRA went smoothly. The low-priced index funds offerings are competitive with other sources. The customer service is friendly and helpful. A great choice! February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Rollover The Fidelity rollover coordinator insured the process was convenient, quick and accurate. Applying net unrealized appreciation basis to company stock saved tax dollars. February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover from BCBST the whole process was well explained and easy to implement February 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seamless transition The process to roll over a retirement lump sum payout into an IRA was simple and made it easy to immediately begin managing my own future. I especially like the investment tools that let me manage risk, balancing the portfolio (including both IRA and tradtional invenstment accounts). February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EASY TO NAVIGATE I AM ABLE TO VIEW MY INFORMATION WITH EASY ACCESS AND NO PROBLEMS. IT IS A SECURE SITE AND VERY RELIABLE. I LIKE THAT THE INFORMATION IS EASY TO NAVIGATE THROUGH AND EASY TO UNDERSTAND. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH HAVING MY IRA WITH FIDELITY. February 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unable to do roll over .. Your system did not allow me to do the roll over to IRA..Wants me to do a withdrawl and a check will be sent to me..All I want to do is a roll over not a withdrawl. February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1 make it easier to find stocks and bonds held by the fund February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable They do a Great Job and they are there for you when you need them. February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Although the rollover took some coordination from the previous holder the transition was relatively painless February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy I have been very satisfied with my 401K Rollover, I gained the flexibility to trade securities, which Is what I wanted to achieve. January 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy with Fidelity Easy to contact if I need assistance with anything or have questions. Very friendly. Website easy to use & understand. January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable and secure I am pleased with my rollover Gret information and ease to invest January 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good Being new to this type of account, I am learning as I go along and will surely get better with practice. Information is good. Navigation of site sometimes a little confusing but that should become less as I use the site. January 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly designed... Website is hard to navigate, poorly designed. While some good tools available, the trading tools are horrible. January 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by dougs opinion i have tried to move other money to fidelity but my agent or contact person well never respond back to me.he was suppose to call me back on a question i asked him on 12/17/14 and have not heard a word from him. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Tools and Performance Tracking I am pleased with the tools and research options provided with the Rollover IRA. January 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Financial Excellence I retired mid-2006, that fall I rolled my IRA into a variety of mutual funds under the Fidelity umbrella. It was convenient and quick. Not all funds were Fidelity, some were from 'competing' companies and two of those were suggested by the Fidelity rep. I do an annual 'checkup', typically late year to review balance and swap some funds. I have been VERY happy with Fidelity, they have the expertise and systems to help you manage your financial assets. January 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and convenient I find the Fidelity Rollover IRA to be secure and I feel that I have easy and convenient access wherever I am on whatever device I have at that time. January 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I could have invested anywhere My only investment strategy is to put a bunch of money into one, or possibly many, market index funds. I can find those anywhere and the returns on any of them should be close to equal. I chose Fidelity because it was recommended by a friend. If I could go back 6 months I would definitely choose differently. I have tried for several months to roll my TSP over into my Rollover IRA and I have ran into nothing but hurdles and incompetence. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA evaluation Allows selection of a large variety of mutual funds. Provides great research capability. The retirement planning and projection of assets for the next 30 years is very valuable. Plus, it is all free. January 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investment Review I like that I have more acces to my account and the help that is available for me when I have questions. January 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trying another Rollover to my Rollover IRA I have had my rollover IRA with Fidelity for a while and I just want to say that when it comes time to transfer another Rollover from my past employer it is a hassle and Fidelity Reps do not want to take time to help me other than to give me the same information I can look up on the site myself. The Reps are very nice up until they ask for the value of the rollover, then they just send pre-written responses and links to where I can find the information that I already found on my own. What kind of service is this? No, I don't have a million dollars to transfer, yet, but I've been a customer since 2004 and don't get the respect that I deserve. I now know that contacting a Rep is not worth the time as they don't want to help you unless you have a large sum to transfer. Terrible Service. I will continue to keep my money at FI because I like the choice of funds I have invested in, but the Rep service is terrible! January 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 100% Excellent Had a great experience rolling my IRA over to Fidelity. Their expert team made the entire process very easy and seamless. I would recommend Fidelity, for ALL products, to anyone and everyone. Thank you, Fidelity! January 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable the best customer service ever. Never had a hassle and good recommendations January 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure Helpfull with ways to accomplish your goals, withoutt pushing choices on you. January 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service Has always provided excellent service. I do my research. when needed Rep. gets back to me fo guidance January 4, 2015
  • 2016-07-24 T12:08:48.407-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_791, tr_791
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 27 next>>
007
5508tridion