• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

Ready to roll over your old 401(k) to an IRA?

We'll guide you step-by-step—from opening your new IRA to moving and investing your money.

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace plan 

Learn more about the Fidelity Rollover IRA

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.


10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options.
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 672 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRAs The only complaint I have is about your statements. I have a roth & rollover IRA. Sometimes I get a paper with the rollover on one side & the roth statement on the other.This makes it complicated to keep them separate for record keeping. I think each account should be started with a separate sheet. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Internet lay out I just went thru the new layout and it is great. It tells me more in a much easier format. Very easy to find things. You and the team have done an outstanding job in making the updates that we have now. God Bless You Lee June 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe, accurate and highly reliable I am completely satisfied with you guys being the custodians of my IRA account. I have a lot of flexibility to play with my mutual funds . June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Made easy Good company with a goal to help customers not rob them. June 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy & Convenient Easy to log on and off. Easy to access all accounts and information. Lots of helpful information there for your taking. June 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by No Incentives Very disappointed on incentives provided to high value accounts. Other firms provide free trading and Pro Trade tools when your accounts hits certain dollar value. But, not at Fidelity. May 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ira The site is easy to use. I like all of the research options. The roll over I did on the phone was really easy to do. They helped me roll over an even older 401K into my new IRA. Fidelity made the process really easy. May 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy, easier, easiest it does not get much easier to move your old 401 employer sponsored plan to fidelity then following the outlined steps. May 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service and attention I am very happy with the services I have received from Fidelity. The investment professional assigned to my account is helpful and knowledgeable. So far I have only had excellent experiences with my roll-over IRA account. May 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Employee Rollover IRA Rollover went smooth and quick ...no problems! Would recommend. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Easy to follow my investment plan. I can keep up with value by quickly scanning the portfoilo positions screen. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well laid out Navigation of the site is easy and the information is presented well. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The reason I came here Fidelity made it easy to roll over. Though it is annoying to get flagged for updating the financial advisory all the time. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 401K Rollover to IRA Great input from Fidelity personnel, easy to manage process and excellent self service capabilities. April 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My IRA rollover It was easy, convenient, helpfully! And I am female with little money knowledge. Fedelity made my experience friendly, no regrets! The staff was very good at answering my questions. Love the company!! March 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Clear great job at anticipating customer questions. answers were clear and free of financial guru jargon. March 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dividend & Capitol Gains Assignment Overall I am very satisfied with my Fidelity Rollover IRA account, however, I would like the availability to request any dividends & capitol gains to be reinvested, put in a money market account (or automatically direct deposit the funds in my bank account without having to request a withdrawal.) Plus, the availability to designate the percent of Federal Tax withholding that stays constant until I decide to change it. February 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Definitely something to consider Rolling over a 401K to a Fidelity IRA was pretty easy. Anyone retiring or changing jobs should seriously consider it for 3 reasons: 1) more investment options - 100's instead of the few in a 401k, 2) better service - account managers and staffs compared with an outsourced service, and 3) much lower fees, especially with ETF's as an option. February 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by accountt rollover I have ytied and tried to get help with "investing" my rollover account sinceaccomplishing my rollover this summer. Got confusing information from each customer service personel. Will be taking my account elsewhere February 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Prompt, Knowledgeable, Caring Any concerns or questions I've had have always been answered promptly. My account executive, Robin, has been and continues to ease any worries my wife and I have with decisions with our IRA account. February 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Confident I feel my assets are in good hands. Fidelity people exude trust and confidence. I appreciate their candor, honesty, friendliness, and expertise. February 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does the job! Good execution, useful website. I have no complaints whatsoever. February 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by MRD The rep made it very easy for me to rely on Fidelity to keep distribution in a orderly and timely way. February 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by shooting blind Not a peep from anyone @ Fidelity about what I should do with my money. Even when I asked when in your office in Delaware County Ohio. As tho since I didn't have a six figure fund I was a leper. February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA I was a Delaware state employee and was enrolled in Fidelity in a deferred saving plan while I worked. When I retired in 2011, I placed a part of my savings in Fidelity's Rollover IRA. I have always been extremely satisfied when I called customer service. My questions were always answered in a clear, understandable, friendly way. I have been pleased with both your on-line services and your phone customer service February 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service and value Fidelity has some of the best pros in the Industry. Great online web service and really knowledgable advisors. So far, the best I have dealt with. February 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investing Opportuities The conversion went well and the product provided gives me the tools I need to do my investments are good for researching my investments. The origional support I got in reviewing my goals and getting a recommedation in setting up portfolio was very valueable being succesfull during 2014 in meeting my goals. Going forward I am very interested in goingto one of the Fidelity education centers to get some one on one training on better using your tools February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I had been with Fidelity for 401-K, just rolled it over, easy to do. February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Manager I like the system just the way it is....however sometimes I would like to be able for the system to suggest to me other stocks or products I should look at in the same category that may give me a better returns! February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great account to have for retirement When I had to rollover my 401K, Fidelity helped with all the transactions and figuring out where to put my money within the account. February 3, 2014
  • 2015-10-08T12:06:54.738-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-8, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_672, tr_672
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 23 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037


Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?