• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

Ready to roll over your old 401(k) to an IRA?

We'll guide you step-by-step—from opening your new IRA to moving and investing your money.

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace plan 

Learn more about the Fidelity Rollover IRA

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.


10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options.
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 668 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by my ira i am pleased with my fidelity IRA. the people i talked with are very helpful and have a good understanding of the products i ask about. October 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investments Do you sell the names of your investors. Since moving my accounts, brokerage account have been calling me CONSTANTLY! October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing DIY Service! I've used Fidelity for well over 20 years. They can be reached 24/7 for most questions. The website is regularly improved. I find Fidelity representatives extremely easy to work with, and accommodating. However, if you're looking for a portfolio manager to make decisions for you on what to buy/sell, that is not what they do (unless you pay for an actively managed account).Fidelity gives you every resource you could possibly need to research and make your own decisions. September 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by No complaints I have found the customer service people exceptional, professional and polite. I have never felt rushed or that my question was not fully answered. And when using the online sights, if you can make it easy for me ,ANYONE can use it. September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable,convenient and secure My advisor was knowledgable,friendly and able to explain the products offered and answered all my questions. He did not pressure me to invest in any way. When I have a question if he is not available immediately he gets back to me quickly. September 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure & Reliable It would be nice if IRA could accumulate some kind interest. September 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by ira Lots of promises before transferning my account, but very little followup or effective help given. Stock ratings do not seem very accurate. September 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Roll over IRA I continue to tell Fidelity that I do NOT want to have them manage my funds but constantly get calls. September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient So far Fidelity has been easy to work with. Confused on a few issues, balancing portfolio on line. September 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Withdrawal Customer service made this a very pleasant experience! Thank you! September 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA So Easy! Customer service department took the time to walk me through all of the functions I needed. They made me feel so important and welcomed me to call anytime. I can manage my account pretty well on my own but know that they are just a phone call away and friendly! Navigating the website is easy. Thank you September 9, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great company, poor support I have moved all my IRA and Roth IRA to a competitor. The trading platform and customer service is not in the same league as competitor platforms. When I wanted to make a trade in my Fidelity account I would go to a competitor's platform to determine the market price for a position before entering the order in Fidelity. When I required support from Fidelity it was inferior to the competitor regardless of if the request was made by phone or e-mail. Fidelity is a great firm for institutions to use but they are not geared towards the retail market even if an individual has significant assets. I had my assets split between Fidelity and a competitor with the intent on picking one to move forward with (I had hoped it would be Fidelity). After several years I have decided to move as much as practical to the competitor. September 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Honest Too soon to have formed an opinion..Last investment firm was awful this one seems a lot better and easier to use,,Very happy so far August 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure in convince for stock trading setup update. When I make a change for my order, it was too complicate than other finance institution. August 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review The process was fairly straightforward and the folks I taked to did a good deal of handholding and explaining what was taking place. August 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe. I love the way you all have things now myself I'm please. August 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Efficient & Trushworthy Efficiently presented financial information. Trust I won't get ripped off in management fees. Slow transfer of funds, but seems to be industry standard. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure I did not have any problems with the rollover process. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thanks for Help When it comes to money I know very little about it making me money. Well with Fidelity rollover I have found all the help I need... Thanks Gals and Guys July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Easy to work with; great customer service and knowledge level. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Process I met with a Fidelity representative in their DC office and she was able to walk my through the steps that would be involved with my rollover. It was professional and the process was simple. Plenty of investment options for me to choose from. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenience The service is very convenient, which for me it is a priority. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by mrs. easy process in rolling my funds over. I like getting paper statements once a quarter, telling me where I stand. July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by What I was looking for Good summary of positions. Need graphical comparison tool to compair current holdings with other stocks, bonds, funds etc. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA Easy to manage, great selection of funds, very low cost options available July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I believe that Fidelity has done the best job for me. They are always ready to answer question and to provide service. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRAs The only complaint I have is about your statements. I have a roth & rollover IRA. Sometimes I get a paper with the rollover on one side & the roth statement on the other.This makes it complicated to keep them separate for record keeping. I think each account should be started with a separate sheet. June 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by New Internet lay out I just went thru the new layout and it is great. It tells me more in a much easier format. Very easy to find things. You and the team have done an outstanding job in making the updates that we have now. God Bless You Lee June 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe, accurate and highly reliable I am completely satisfied with you guys being the custodians of my IRA account. I have a lot of flexibility to play with my mutual funds . June 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Made easy Good company with a goal to help customers not rob them. June 10, 2014
  • 2015-10-04T10:35:22.477-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_668, tr_668
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 23 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037


Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?