401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.


10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½


Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 851 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Incompetent & Unresponsive Attempted to have several of my 403 b's rolled over into one IRA. After hand delivering the paperwork for this to be accomplished all of my paperwork was lost. They were never able to find it nor did they follow up with me regarding this mishap. I will be removing all of my money from Fidelity and will take it else where. October 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tools and Visuals Everything works really well compared to my experience with competitors. Fidelity has great visual tools and dashboards, and clicking on various tabs produces wonderful stock or bond analyses. Love the secure feeling I get from using VIP Access (the phone authentication process) and it's very easy to use. Whenever I talk to my account manager or someone in Customer Support, I feel I get excellent advice, am not rushed and am confident that I can execute my investments properly. October 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by In Ryan's care Meets all my deferred savings needs with great choices of investments options. October 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 6 months progress I entered ira during worst market time the past 10 years October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy process The reps made the process super easy. they walked me through each step October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fast, secure, reliable & friendly Good selection of products to choose from, though homing in and finding exactly the right ones can be a lengthy and sometimes frustrating process. Differing restrictions from standard 401K program can be confusing and hindering in terms of making quick and/or frequent changes. Overall, pretty happy with products & services. October 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Every thing is fine. Don't have a review. I like what I got. October 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recent transfers I recently transferred back a fair amount of money to Fidelity but did not receive excellent customer service so I'm debating whether I want to keep my money here. Had to make too many phone calls and some did not return my calls October 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent I love Fidelity its easy to make any changes to my account October 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top notch Fidelity offers an impressive array of investment choices, excellent customer service, and superior research functionality. They make it very easy to do business together. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by good customer service Excellent customer service from account rep in setting up a diversified IRA rollover account. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA-Review-Sept 2015 I used my IRA account with limited marginal account extended by Fidelity to me. The Fidelity site is very user-friendly and speedier in execution of trades. Some account information is updated over-night and needs to be real-time. However, all trades are very real-time and perfect and I had used the Site over Mobile device too without any performance degradation. Senior staff of Fidelity are very knowledgeable and available even on week-end clarifications. September 30, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointed I don't understand why the IRA tool doesn't provide real time security quotes. This is something I can get on Yahoo Finance for free, why can't I get it from Fidelity where I am holding my retirement savings? Trying to reach a representative takes 30' of waiting on the phone. The Fidelity Viewpoint webinars are interesting though and do provide some insightful information on the markets. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by confident My retirement has been very good with the company. Good customer service and ready information available for you. Any thing you need to know they are knowledgeable and willing to listen. September 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by poor service Since rolling over my account from a 401k, I have had no contact with anyone from Fidelity. There appears to be no initiative on their part to evaluate performance and develop a plan. I would not recommend Fidelity to anyone. September 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Invest App This app has been very convenient for me. Also, the custoumer service has been very helpful when I've had questions about investing. The best benefit is the value you get by investing through Fidelity. September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA I have had a very good experience with Fidelity from the very start. Before my IRA it was under Fidelity's care with work as a 401K. I was helped with the transition at the time of retirement by wonderful Fidelity personal, I would very highly recommend Fidelity. September 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover review This was an easy transaction and the officer explained everything very thoroughly. September 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mr Very disappointed with the new viewing format and not very easy to maneuver in and out of accounts September 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Multiple accounts I was disappointed I tried to switch between accounts to make changes is another account and made a purchase in the wrong account September 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by taxes I am going though a bad time with my husband. I had to retire and was to young to collect S.S. I had to take money out of my 401/IRA and have been taxed a lot. now my retirement money is less than haft of what I started with.the taxes you charge are to much. September 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great sources for stock research and analysis The rollover set up was easy and was referred to knowledgeable staff person to help navigate the Fidelity site. September 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Both Website and Choice of Investments Disappointing The Fidelity website is among the least user-friendly and attractive that I have interacted with in the financial services industry. You don't want to spend time on it and getting information or making investment changes is just a pain. That combined with a limited choice of investments, makes me less than satisfied with my Fidelity account. September 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA is easy to access The website design is better than the app. Some features did not appear or were awkward on the app, so I always used the website. The total gain/loss column is not explained anywhere, so it doesn't help with decisions about keeping money in a fund or moving it to another. Access to fund information is outstanding. You can get to it almost anywhere the fund appears. August 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Satisfaction Very satisfied with help provided when needed .Easy to reach represenattive August 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overjoyed! Being totally illiterate when it comes to market investments, Fidelity has always provided me with confident representatives who make it a personnel commitment to invest my money wisely. Being retired now, this is very reassuring to know my finances are in good hands. Thank you so very much Fidelity. August 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome experience! It was very easy to roll my money over into this program. I'd like to get a bit more advice from Fidelity sometimes, even though when I call, the service is superb! Fidelity is definitely a leader in the service arena. August 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greg Vincent Fidelity, is doing a great job helping me with my rollover IRA August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My First IRA Rollover Fidelity Investments made it super easy to rollover my old 401k to an IRA. Being nervous, I contacted a Fidelity rep to assist me and it was a breeze. We talked about investments and mutual fuunds and where to place my funds. He also went thru the website with me to show me where to find training aides and how to perform research. I've been using Fidelty Investments for 8 months and compared to other online trading platfors, they are hands down THE BEST! August 17, 2015
  • 2016-10-22 T07:48:24.585-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_851, tr_851
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 29 next>>