• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes rolling over an old retirement savings plan from a former employer easy for you. Our tax-deferred account can help you invest for growth or income.

Account features

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
007
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 565 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Options and service I have been very pleased with my self-directed rollover IRA at Fidelity. I met with my investor center advisor to discuss my plan for a diversified fund selection, and he was supportive and had good insights when it came to slelecting between different funds in one of my targeted categories. I enjoyed using Fidelity's online analytical tools as I was exploring fund options for my targeted categories. Performance and service are what brings me back to Fidelity; I have invested with them since I entered college in the '70's! January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Low cost and easy to trade Still difficult to shop for and find bonds to buy. Should be an easier way to get it done. When you click the research tab for a stock the information that comes up is not great. For example dividend yield is one item that does not immedietly come up . Google Finance has better information on a company with the first hit versus Fiedlity. Many times I have to go back to Google to get the information I need and then come back to Fidelity to make a trade if that was the decision made. Fidelity should at least have the information google has. If you want to know what Google has on the first hit just go to Google Finance and enter any stock symbol and see what comes up....thanks January 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by naked I would appreciate having specific stock and bond picks offered to me by Fidelity. The accounts are without that needed input. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by backupplan I have had the account for more than 20 yrs and I am very pleased with it. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Efficient and Valuable Resource My IRA was transferred to Fidelity last year and I have been very pleased with the ease of setting up investments and processing transactions. Also very satisfied with the paperless statements and availability of analytical tools to evaluate market conditions and investment potential This was the first year that Fidelity managed my RMD and the process worked smoothly. Very satisfied with Fidelity on all counts. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An extended family They have all the positive characteristics of a family...honesty, loyalty, integrity, helpfulness, and most of all, my best interests at heart . Fidelity, in every instance, has been there for me, and I feel, will always be there for me. The guidance, professionalism, and competency is outstanding. Everyone has financial products, only a very few have earned the mantel of trust that Fidelity enjoys. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Retirement basis Fidelity has provided a safe vehicle for conservative investment of my 401K savings from various employers. It has also allowed me to allocate portions of the IRA when events required it. I have had fairly simple goals, but they have provided a secure footing for my retirement (which I have been in for a year now). January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good sound tool! I am relatively pleased with this product. It has not had any significant problems. Hopefully the future will continue to be seamless. Everyone should strive to maintain these accounts. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Very pleased with service I receive with Rollover IRA. I cannot get on my computer and prefer to get answers over the phone, especially on how to invest to get the most for my bucks. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and effective This site integrates investment and research into a seamless grouping of useful pages. January 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by no clue I am a bit disappointed with Fidelity in general. I am not very knowledgeable about my finances and have asked for someone to assist me several times with no response. The nearest office is an hour away. I am considering changing companies especially now with my employer cutting my hours has left me in a financial disaster. I am very disappointed with Fidelity. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by convienent and flexible Ease of conversion from 401k to IRA was impressive. The flexibility of investment choices is great. User friendly transactions through my account are appreciated. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to access and review daily I like to check on my account daily and Fidelity makes it easy to navigate the web site and all of its functions. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure I like to make my own decisions. I am happy with the ease of investing and the speed in which my orders have been processed. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick & Easy Have been with Fidelity a LONG TIME. Never had a problem with my previous 401K or my now rollover IRA. Easy access and trades/changes done quickly. Thanks Much!! January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Plenty of tools and investment options I like the clarity of the online site. I can pretty easily discern how well my investments are doing and make changes as needed. Most importantly, I can find out how my portfolio has performed (return). I have no complaints. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy The conversion to a Fidelity rollover IRA was quick and easy. Fidelity reps were readily available in person and had information on planned investments at hand. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and competitive. Your offering match my requirements at my age. I also like the flexibility of making changes within my portfolio. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure, reliable & easy to use I am very satisfied with my IRA rollover, easy to track funds, make changes or transfer money to other accounts. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investments It has been seven or eight months since I rolled over my account. Therefore the specifics of the transaction are not fresh in my mind. Overall a good experience and no major or minor issues with the process of rolling over. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by SECURE NOTHING SPECIAL TO SAY ABOUT THIS ,JUST THE COMMUNICATION WITH THE PEOPLE NOT DOING GOOD THEY TAKE TO MUCH TIME TO SERVE WHAT YOU NEED WITH SO MANY QUESTION THAT SOME TIME COST YOU January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA I'm very happy with the product and the service. I'm glad I decided to go with Fidelity. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by must do Have no issues with this IRA rollover account. Fidelity provides good "food" for thought and on a timely basis January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by SAFE AND SECURE EASY TO MONITOR INVESTMENTS, MAKE TRADES, AND ANALYZE PERFORMANCE. ACCESS TO OTHER MUTUAL FUNDS IS A PLUS. AND INFORMATION INRE TO STATEMENTS AND TAX FORMS IS EASILY OBTAINED. OVERALL I FIND FIDELITY TO BE A GREAT COMPANY WITH GREAT SERVICE. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't ask for better! My Fidelity Rollover IRA is the perfect retirement financial vehicle. The huge number of investment options, the ease of selling/buying online, the convenience of withdrawal and the availability of financial advice are all reasons why I rate Fidelity excellent in all phases of their operation. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Unable to Sell and Buy with Transaction Fee Involved If a transaction fee is involved in the buy portion of a sell and buy transaction, the Fidelity system cannot execute the trade. I was required to execute a sell, wait for it to clear and then execute a buy. I was told the system is unable to automatically deduct the $49.95 transaction fee from my sell proceeds and execute the buy with the balance. It seems simple enough so why can't you do it? January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like it ...... The only improvement I can suggest is that you allow the direct transfer of shares from the IRA to the customers brokerage account .. without the necessity of selling and rebuying those share .. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient Excellent online access system with low cost trading and fund availability. Excellent reporting system and performance features. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely satisfied rollover IRA customer I had my IRA money in two different places, so I decided to consolidate it and move it to Fidelity. I have dealt with Fidelity off and on over the years and have always enjoyed the experience. I do most of my financial activity online, so Fidelity's web site is very important to me. It is superb! I have no complaints and am 100% satisfied at this incipient point in time. January 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Feeback I am mostly satisfied with the IRA and information provided. However, I would like to see a running rate of return or a quarterly rate of return displayed online for my holdings. January 31, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 19 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560620.10.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037