401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?


Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 855 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Rollover IRA easy process The customer service rep gave me simple directions to follow. Any questions or concerns were addressed and I was very satisfied with Fidelity. January 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure, reliable This is my first time using an investment company, It looks like Fidelity was a great choice, I have been using my Retirement account without. problems. I have a lot to learn and I love the tools that are provided for the learning process. So far, so good. January 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Excellent and very satisfactory. What more can I say but that I am very pleased. January 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenient convenient. good customer service. helpful staff. excellent education materials for everyone. lots of good funds and etfs to choose from relevant to invesment personality. January 24, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by More Information Please The information online isn't much help. I must go into a local Fidelity store to get answers. I can't just stop in there without an appointment. January 24, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by average service, high fees choices of available funds A- service B+ website and support B fee C overall value C January 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use any questions I had were answered by customer service staff January 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't beat this service Fidelity continues to provide the service we want and need in both of our IRA's January 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA from Profit Sharing Process was pretty straightforward and simple once we had contacted Vito our Fidelity representative. He set up the Rollover IRA account and outlined the process and defined the address and who the check was to be made out to. The rollover went off without a hitch without me ever taking physical possession of the check which could potentially have resulted in a withholding and even triggerred a taxable event. January 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Helpful The people at Fidelity have been extremely helpful and answered all my questions December 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable always helps when I need it and they are easy to get hold of. December 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor I have never had such bad service. I cannot believe how I have been treated as a customer. I pass the word to others. I got no assistance. My IRA is still sitting in cash. I am looking to leave Fedelity. December 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by owner i am happy with my service. Customer service has been very helpful. December 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome Awesome is the way i can describe fidelity, amazing customer service December 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Discussion about RMD As a novice, I have received appropriate timelines information from the customer relations of the Fidelity. December 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Local Fidelity Representative a big help... Our local Fidelity Rep helped us with the rollover to IRA with analysis of my plan for the rollover, pointing out some changes to make better and recommending additional investments, which I did. The Fidelity web site is loaded with information and insight. Depending on how much you want to dig down into the data, it is helpful for making changes or staying the course. I am pleased with the outcome overall of my IRA rollover with Fidelity. December 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nothing Works I tried setting up EFT using your webpage. It did not work. I have spent 3 hours on the phone last week and 1 hour on the phone this week, and no one was able to help me out. I was told to using the secure message system to upload my EFT form. However, I am unable to upload files. The file I am uploading is only 700kb and should not be a size issue. I cannot use the account if I can not transfer funds into and out of it. I cannot get it working via the web page, and I can not get anyone on the phone to help me out, and the messaging system is not working. There are no offices around my area. What am I suppose to do? December 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Rollover great for short term cash. IRA Rollover great for short term cash when buying new home & waiting for escrow to close on old home. December 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure I am very pleased with the customer service everyone has been very polite and courteous November 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Investment Cpmpany Solid Company for retirement and 401k solutions. Great Technology and easy to use. November 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointed I understand my IRA isn't very large but it is important to my retirement. Since depositing my check I have received zero followup. No one has offered any sort if investment advice. Instead, I get far too many emails promoting online services and webinars. I will be moving my small investment to another firm after the new year. November 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by secure and reliable reliable but i still like to get my statements in the mail because it is easy for me to keep not a compuuter person but trying to get better at it November 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service. I am very happy with Fidelity. Their service is excellent. No complaints. November 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by RJs This is what I don't like. I trade options. It doesn't tell me when earnings will be easily. I can't enter contingency/conditional trades before the market opens. It doesn't show me the expected move each week for the underlying. I'm okay with everything else. November 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA & Financial Advice! Everyone that I have consulted or had contact with made sure of my Investments and I was well aware of the underlying situations; That being said it is great have people you understand your needs and are looking out for your best interest!! November 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Review The ease and convenience in using the website I really love. The information available in the research folder is awesome! I love having control over my IRA. Being able to make my own investing decisions are great! I only had to talk to customer service when I initially set up the account. Customer service was thorough and excellent. November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable I turned over my 403b to an IRA account so I would have better access. I'm was very pleased with the account rep I worked with. He was very knowledgeable and made the transfer from one account to another very easy. November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to access and flexible We manage our own funds within our IRA and have found the web access very easy to use - wtih clear information and instructions. On the few occasions where we needed to contact a representative, we have found them to be very knowledgable and helpful. October 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Incompetent & Unresponsive Attempted to have several of my 403 b's rolled over into one IRA. After hand delivering the paperwork for this to be accomplished all of my paperwork was lost. They were never able to find it nor did they follow up with me regarding this mishap. I will be removing all of my money from Fidelity and will take it else where. October 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tools and Visuals Everything works really well compared to my experience with competitors. Fidelity has great visual tools and dashboards, and clicking on various tabs produces wonderful stock or bond analyses. Love the secure feeling I get from using VIP Access (the phone authentication process) and it's very easy to use. Whenever I talk to my account manager or someone in Customer Support, I feel I get excellent advice, am not rushed and am confident that I can execute my investments properly. October 19, 2015
  • 2016-10-30 T07:46:01.538-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_855, tr_855
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 29 next>>
007
5508tridion