• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

Ready to roll over your old 401(k) to an IRA?

We'll guide you step-by-step—from opening your new IRA to moving and investing your money.

Learn more about the Fidelity Rollover IRA

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options.
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 630 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by How and where to rollover my 401K I used this site to find out who the check needs to be made out, from my former employer 401K account, and where in Fidelity to send it. It was quick and simple. December 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rollover I found a poor response in getting basic guidance from the two different advisors that I contacted. Extremely long follow up to calls and long waits for appointments to discuss my accounts. December 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fidelity does not make it right when they make an error. Fidelity has completely lost any credibility with me. I have been trying to transfer my Fidelity pension into my Fidelity Rollover IRA. It was supposed to be transferred on 11/01/14. Because of a paperwork error on Fidelity's side, documents had to signed and notarized for a second time so that I could receive the funds on 12/01/14. Today, 12/02/14, I received a call stating that the funds will be available after 1/1/15. Fidelity is not taking any responsibility for their error and not making it right. I have 4 other accounts with Fidelity. Once I leave my current employer, I will close all of my accounts with Fidelity. I would not recommend that anyone open new accounts with them. They have had multiple chances to correct the situation and have dragged their feet. December 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover ease and use had customer service help with the rollover. All went well. Later Fidelity even contacted me once they saw my investment stratagy and invested in a few better options for me. However the functions for balancing and removing funds was had to work with and required lots of math. They said they were working on changes and something may have happened in October, but I have not had a chance to review yet. The GM 401K netbenefits was easier to work with. November 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Reliable All in all my time with fidelity has been an asset and fruitful, I do not think that fedelity treats the customer as an individual but more as an asset. more one on one would be advisable. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Investment Excellent customer service. Always accommodating and willing to help November 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Rollover Process Quick and easy to set up, lots of invetment options, and user-friendly web site to manage the account (that was just recently upgraded). Nice to have money from multiple sources all in one place now. November 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent customer service The customer service representative assigned to us at Mt. View office was excellent and very helpful November 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover Process I did a 401k rollover to Fidelity via the website. Although the process was straightforward - no where on the site, or during the process, does it tell you that non-Fidelity holdings will NOT be converted to the same non-institutional funds, but will instead be dumped into a cash core account. This should be made very obvious to everyone, so that the investor can make the appropriate choices when needed. November 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by don't expect to be able to get a face to face with Fidelity Tried to get a face to face appointment. Once I finally did I was made to wait in one waiting room 20minutes before being moved to another waiting room for 15min before I got up and drove back to work. No respect for me or my time, no call to appologise. I asked the on line folks for the mangers name and was denied but told that they would contact him and I would hear from him, this never happened. I called again and this time got a managers name, I called him and never got a return call, waited a few weeks tried again ..nothing. Called the call center and they got him to return my call. He gave me a new rep to visit face to face and this guy made it difficult to get an appointment even for a phone call. I give up, will work with the call center, they are curtious and knowledgeable, If you want to actually see the local team take your business elsewhere. November 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing all around Fidelity is the only company I've ever had an investment account with I have so I don't have much to compare it to, but I am extremely impressed with the level of customer service and the ease and assistance with the actual rollover of funds. November 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure I like t hat I can call anytime an a person will help me with any computer questions. November 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Waste my time with this BS Your systems are so complicated that the people you pay to assist your clients do not know how they work. Took me from May till November to get an automatic withdrawal started. Most of thew problems was due to YOUR personnel not understanding how to do stuff. November 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fast trade execution. Everything is Aok, dispite a current bearish market. Hopefully, 2015 will be more bullish. November 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great resource Tips and information at my fingertips... I can keep an eye on my funds and make changes easily. November 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable Rolled over my funds to the IRA to cover my 401. Have received nothing but good information , and customer service. Wish my current employer used Fidelity. October 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and easy to use I love my Fidelity Rollover IRA as it is well presented and easy to use and make transactions. It has all the features that I need to see results, performances and changes that I have made. It works really well for me. October 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by HLG I have had a good experience with Fidelity Investment. October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and informative The investment advisors were courteous and very informative. They answered my questions and made me feel that my account was important to them. The entire process was very easy. October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Everything was done promptly and very professionally. October 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I LOVE Fidelity This was the easiest transfer of employer-held retirement funds I have ever experienced. All was processed seamlessly. The Fidelity Representative who assisted me today went beyond my expectations to ensure I was at ease with the transaction. Thanks so much! October 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good but not awesome I would like to have more interaction with a Fidelity representative, to discuss investment options, and be able to divest my pension fund from fossil fuels. Currently this is not possible and I would like to have that option. October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by my ira i am pleased with my fidelity IRA. the people i talked with are very helpful and have a good understanding of the products i ask about. October 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investments Do you sell the names of your investors. Since moving my accounts, brokerage account have been calling me CONSTANTLY! October 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing DIY Service! I've used Fidelity for well over 20 years. They can be reached 24/7 for most questions. The website is regularly improved. I find Fidelity representatives extremely easy to work with, and accommodating. However, if you're looking for a portfolio manager to make decisions for you on what to buy/sell, that is not what they do (unless you pay for an actively managed account).Fidelity gives you every resource you could possibly need to research and make your own decisions. September 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by No complaints I have found the customer service people exceptional, professional and polite. I have never felt rushed or that my question was not fully answered. And when using the online sights, if you can make it easy for me ,ANYONE can use it. September 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable,convenient and secure My advisor was knowledgable,friendly and able to explain the products offered and answered all my questions. He did not pressure me to invest in any way. When I have a question if he is not available immediately he gets back to me quickly. September 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure & Reliable It would be nice if IRA could accumulate some kind interest. September 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by ira Lots of promises before transferning my account, but very little followup or effective help given. Stock ratings do not seem very accurate. September 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Roll over IRA I continue to tell Fidelity that I do NOT want to have them manage my funds but constantly get calls. September 16, 2014
  • 2015-07-07T10:49:14.607-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_630, tr_630
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 21 next>>
007
5508tridion

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
559548.10.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037

close

Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?