• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

Ready to roll over your old 401(k) to an IRA?

We'll guide you step-by-step—from opening your new IRA to moving and investing your money.

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace plan

Learn more about the Fidelity Rollover IRA

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options.
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 651 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by dougs opinion i have tried to move other money to fidelity but my agent or contact person well never respond back to me.he was suppose to call me back on a question i asked him on 12/17/14 and have not heard a word from him. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Tools and Performance Tracking I am pleased with the tools and research options provided with the Rollover IRA. January 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Financial Excellence I retired mid-2006, that fall I rolled my IRA into a variety of mutual funds under the Fidelity umbrella. It was convenient and quick. Not all funds were Fidelity, some were from 'competing' companies and two of those were suggested by the Fidelity rep. I do an annual 'checkup', typically late year to review balance and swap some funds. I have been VERY happy with Fidelity, they have the expertise and systems to help you manage your financial assets. January 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and convenient I find the Fidelity Rollover IRA to be secure and I feel that I have easy and convenient access wherever I am on whatever device I have at that time. January 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I could have invested anywhere My only investment strategy is to put a bunch of money into one, or possibly many, market index funds. I can find those anywhere and the returns on any of them should be close to equal. I chose Fidelity because it was recommended by a friend. If I could go back 6 months I would definitely choose differently. I have tried for several months to roll my TSP over into my Rollover IRA and I have ran into nothing but hurdles and incompetence. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA evaluation Allows selection of a large variety of mutual funds. Provides great research capability. The retirement planning and projection of assets for the next 30 years is very valuable. Plus, it is all free. January 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investment Review I like that I have more acces to my account and the help that is available for me when I have questions. January 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trying another Rollover to my Rollover IRA I have had my rollover IRA with Fidelity for a while and I just want to say that when it comes time to transfer another Rollover from my past employer it is a hassle and Fidelity Reps do not want to take time to help me other than to give me the same information I can look up on the site myself. The Reps are very nice up until they ask for the value of the rollover, then they just send pre-written responses and links to where I can find the information that I already found on my own. What kind of service is this? No, I don't have a million dollars to transfer, yet, but I've been a customer since 2004 and don't get the respect that I deserve. I now know that contacting a Rep is not worth the time as they don't want to help you unless you have a large sum to transfer. Terrible Service. I will continue to keep my money at FI because I like the choice of funds I have invested in, but the Rep service is terrible! January 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 100% Excellent Had a great experience rolling my IRA over to Fidelity. Their expert team made the entire process very easy and seamless. I would recommend Fidelity, for ALL products, to anyone and everyone. Thank you, Fidelity! January 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable the best customer service ever. Never had a hassle and good recommendations January 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure Helpfull with ways to accomplish your goals, withoutt pushing choices on you. January 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service Has always provided excellent service. I do my research. when needed Rep. gets back to me fo guidance January 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and reliable So far so good. Just don't like all the restrictions. December 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Impossible to find 401k rollover to existing rollover account I have spent 20 minutes trying to find the place to rollover a 401k to an existing rollover account. All I can find are places that want me to call a phone number. Can we please be in the modern era and not need to talk to someone on the phone? December 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Questionable Since I moved my 401K to an IRA the gentleman that assisted has been promoted. I am not sure who my working agent is so I can contact them for assistance when an if I need them. December 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Customer Service personnel too new When my company was bought out I attempted to roll-over my 401K into a Fidelity IRA, hoping to keep my investments the same with the new account. I did not know the term "in kind" at the time and was not offered that. My customer service rep had never done this type transaction before and cashed my whole account out. Very disappointed I was not informed of my options during the transaction. I should have hung up and called back for a more experienced advisor when she had to put me on hold for instructions herself. December 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Building Retirement The cooperation and commitment has been extremely positive and I have no reason to believe that it will not continue going forward . December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stable and worthy My account is a great asset to my future. The customer service is splendid. December 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Denial of trading options I recently requested to trade option from my retirement account and was denied. I do not understand this decision, as I trade options spreads from other accounts and have not problems. I dislike the fact that Fidelity seems to think that I am incapable of investing my own money. I will be finding another broker. December 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity delivers Fidelity has not disappointed me. Service and the results met my expectations from day one of being contacted by my representative. December 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good website Before I moved my IRA funds, they called me several times. After I moved them, no one ever called. There was no hand-holding as was promised initially. Website relatively easy to use. Sometimes the daily changes are not available on all my funds (they show a dash and have to wait until the next day to find out whether they moved up or down; annoying). December 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by How and where to rollover my 401K I used this site to find out who the check needs to be made out, from my former employer 401K account, and where in Fidelity to send it. It was quick and simple. December 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rollover I found a poor response in getting basic guidance from the two different advisors that I contacted. Extremely long follow up to calls and long waits for appointments to discuss my accounts. December 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fidelity does not make it right when they make an error. Fidelity has completely lost any credibility with me. I have been trying to transfer my Fidelity pension into my Fidelity Rollover IRA. It was supposed to be transferred on 11/01/14. Because of a paperwork error on Fidelity's side, documents had to signed and notarized for a second time so that I could receive the funds on 12/01/14. Today, 12/02/14, I received a call stating that the funds will be available after 1/1/15. Fidelity is not taking any responsibility for their error and not making it right. I have 4 other accounts with Fidelity. Once I leave my current employer, I will close all of my accounts with Fidelity. I would not recommend that anyone open new accounts with them. They have had multiple chances to correct the situation and have dragged their feet. December 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover ease and use had customer service help with the rollover. All went well. Later Fidelity even contacted me once they saw my investment stratagy and invested in a few better options for me. However the functions for balancing and removing funds was had to work with and required lots of math. They said they were working on changes and something may have happened in October, but I have not had a chance to review yet. The GM 401K netbenefits was easier to work with. November 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Reliable All in all my time with fidelity has been an asset and fruitful, I do not think that fedelity treats the customer as an individual but more as an asset. more one on one would be advisable. November 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Investment Excellent customer service. Always accommodating and willing to help November 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Rollover Process Quick and easy to set up, lots of invetment options, and user-friendly web site to manage the account (that was just recently upgraded). Nice to have money from multiple sources all in one place now. November 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent customer service The customer service representative assigned to us at Mt. View office was excellent and very helpful November 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover Process I did a 401k rollover to Fidelity via the website. Although the process was straightforward - no where on the site, or during the process, does it tell you that non-Fidelity holdings will NOT be converted to the same non-institutional funds, but will instead be dumped into a cash core account. This should be made very obvious to everyone, so that the investor can make the appropriate choices when needed. November 10, 2014
  • 2015-08-28T10:32:38.838-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_651, tr_651
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 22 next>>
007
5508tridion

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
559548.11.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037

close

Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?