401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?


Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 841 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe & Happy Very pleased with Fidelity. Your account reps have listened to me and responded with very favorable service. May 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by ira very well done, great support, easy transition, good result May 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Layout I also use Fidelity Active Trader Pro which I like very much except the account summary page in my regular Fidelity account is much better. Would it be possible to add or set-up this page in Fidelity Active Trader Pro? May 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Rollover Everything was handled nicely and loved the financial incentive to roll with Fidelity May 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good choice I switched from another investment company to Fidelity last year. I like the fact that they have a local office that I can go in and talk to an actual person when I have a question or concern. The customer service over the phone has also been very helpful and friendly. this was a good choice for me. May 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seemingly Secure and mostly reliable My representative helped me when we rolled my 401k to an IRA and did a good job. I like personal contact and unfortunately that is last and only time I've heard from him. He his collected his commission and that was it ! I only require a call every couple of months for a few minutes but without them I cannot rate your customer service as highly as I could. May 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Helpful When rolling over my IRA to my current employer's 401(k) plan, the folks at Fidelity couldn't have been more helpful and courteous. My nervousness was all for naught as the process was more delightful than I could've ever imagined. May 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Who needs a bank? Having had investment accounts and banking functions in separate institutions for my entire career, both have now been consolidated under the Fidelity umbrella. Fidelity's customer service, easy to navigate website, and its educational resources are all top-notch. May 10, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to access, no work required The rollover process was easy, the account has been managed well. I had to call a few times to ensure that the account didn't stay in a "cash" status and was actually invested into an account, but everyone was nice when I called. May 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by safe and reliable Fedility is a great company. They have every thing at your fingertips to help you. If you need to go into there offices they are very helpful. There customer service is number one. May 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service The representative was helpful, considerate, and explained all the information thoroughly . and gave us information and options .We were asked our needs in handling investment and worked with us to reach our goals. May 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My IRA Fidelity needs to upgrade their scheduler. The scheduler needs to be able to know days of the week. Example: deposit my IRA dividends to my checking acct on the 2nd Wednesday. Currently the Fidelity scheduler can only use numeric calender days, example the 10th ( which may fall on a weekend ). May 2, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure I have invested in Fidelity mutual funds and other mutual funds for a number of years and believe Fidelity provides an acceptable array of options with acceptable returns. May 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by No effort on my part My son set this up for me and he monitors it. I just look at it from time to time. April 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use A very good account with no hassles, it keeps me informed and up todate of what is availiable. April 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy It was easy to get this years distribution. I just made a phone call. Thank you. April 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable The people is what I have found makes Fidelity Strong. April 18, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by good response and very professional good reliable folks to use and deal with to do business April 17, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Some data not up to date The search categories seem to broad. The mutual fund data is sometimes more than a quarter out of date. April 12, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trustworthy with excellent resources The Fidelity team are customer focused with an array of outstanding on line resources to assist with planning your objectives. April 12, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use Lots of helpful content across the website. Friendly and knowledgable staff when calling with questions. April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Knowledgeable employees My husband have been with Fidelity from 2002 and they have been very professional doing business with April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable I have had my Fidelity accounts since 86, both IRA's and taxable Brokerage. They have always been accurate and up to date. Their call in support has been accurate and knowledgeable. I have always felt confident with their handling of my accounts. April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Secure Rolling my 401-k plan into this IRA was easy. The customer service provided by Fidelity was great. April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to roll over Fidelity made it easy to roll over funds from two previous employers and went above and beyond the call to assist me. The site is very easy to use. April 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy user friendly, easy process, customer service are good. April 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by MRDs Love that you have a convienent link to what MRD is required and that I can go back to previous years. It was great when I did our taxes. April 6, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fidelity match Your staff needs training. I signed up after seeing "matching" promo online. I discussed the promo with 3-4 Fidelity staff members and when it was time to get the match funds, I was told the offer had expired. Even though, the offer was still on the Fidelity website. When I questioned it, I was told I was not eligible. My eligibility should have been verified by Fidelity when I funded the account. I specifically asked each person I talked to about the promo. It was not very professional. April 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by EASILY MANAGEABLE I love all of the investment options that the rollover provides. The website is easily navigable and very easy to manage. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review of RO IRa The representative in the office was very helpful and respected my decisions. He was not the person I was supposed to see, who got ill and whom I was uneasy about. It worked out better this way! April 4, 2016
  • 2016-09-23 T11:00:09.369-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_841, tr_841
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 29 next>>
007
5508tridion