• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

Ready to roll over your old 401(k) to an IRA?

We'll guide you step-by-step—from opening your new IRA to moving and investing your money.

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace plan

Learn more about the Fidelity Rollover IRA

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options.
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 651 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Support My 401K was managed by Fidelity. I retired in 2008 and rolled over my 401 to a traditional IRA with Fidelity. I also had IRA's outside of my 401 as well as taxable accounts. Fidelity has been part of my financial life for many years. With rare exception, I have never had an issue with the account executive or Fidelity in general. In fact, they have been very helpful when I have to rearrange investments and guide me through it as needed. The account executive is not a financial advisor in the traditional sense but provides a huge service in discussing options. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy I have made a lot of changes in my IRA over the years and have been very pleased with the support and help I have received from my Financial Retirement Representative. Even though I have another primary representative, the Fidelity folks have worked with me to meet my needs. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Have enjoyed using Fidelity over the years and have always received great service and information. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Effective and easy. I needed a place to put 401K funds that my former company have moved from Fidelity to a poorer-performing company. I met with a local representative who walked me through the process or creating a Rollover IRA account, and then transferring the funds. There are plenty of investment choices, and I selected a fund keyed to my estimated retirement date. Very cost-effective and easy. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable Very satisfied with Fidelity and their customer service. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service I have multiple accounts and when calling in for questions, the agent was so helpful. She never once sighed or complained about all the questions. She was a pleasure to work with and made my day. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe and Secure The process of rolling over my 401k into a Fidelity IRA was one of the easiest and smoothest transactions I have ever made. The Fidelity rep was a true professional and helped guide through each step. An overall great move and experience. March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent IRA 5 Star rating!! Excellent stock brokers there with Fidelity! March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy Could not be happier with your customer service and professionalism, keep it up!!! February 25, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing exceptional I have 2 IRAs with Fidelity that are self-directed. I chose the positions to invest in. Although I have an account manager, I only speak with him when I initiate the call. For my part, I can have such an arrangement with any investment house, so Fidelity offers nothing more. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roll over 401 K to IRA Rolling over my employers 401 K to a IRA was so simple and the help that I received was second to none. Great Customer Service. February 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure On website doesn't really offer a lot of information and how to invest in other commodities. February 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rolled Over I rolled over an amount of money into Fidelity, hoping they would help me invest. I had a representative call me and set an appointment. They forgot about me and never rescheduled to this day. I'm in search of transferring my money out soon. February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable They are first in answering your question. They are customer friendly. February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of research options One of the biggest things is the availability of research options. Active Trader Pro is a great tool to use. February 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Roll Over It took some time to get everything in order. I think it is now complete. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by competitive offerings with good service The transfer from my 401k to the Fidelity IRA went smoothly. The low-priced index funds offerings are competitive with other sources. The customer service is friendly and helpful. A great choice! February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Rollover The Fidelity rollover coordinator insured the process was convenient, quick and accurate. Applying net unrealized appreciation basis to company stock saved tax dollars. February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover from BCBST the whole process was well explained and easy to implement February 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seamless transition The process to roll over a retirement lump sum payout into an IRA was simple and made it easy to immediately begin managing my own future. I especially like the investment tools that let me manage risk, balancing the portfolio (including both IRA and tradtional invenstment accounts). February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EASY TO NAVIGATE I AM ABLE TO VIEW MY INFORMATION WITH EASY ACCESS AND NO PROBLEMS. IT IS A SECURE SITE AND VERY RELIABLE. I LIKE THAT THE INFORMATION IS EASY TO NAVIGATE THROUGH AND EASY TO UNDERSTAND. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH HAVING MY IRA WITH FIDELITY. February 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unable to do roll over .. Your system did not allow me to do the roll over to IRA..Wants me to do a withdrawl and a check will be sent to me..All I want to do is a roll over not a withdrawl. February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1 make it easier to find stocks and bonds held by the fund February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable They do a Great Job and they are there for you when you need them. February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Although the rollover took some coordination from the previous holder the transition was relatively painless February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy I have been very satisfied with my 401K Rollover, I gained the flexibility to trade securities, which Is what I wanted to achieve. January 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy with Fidelity Easy to contact if I need assistance with anything or have questions. Very friendly. Website easy to use & understand. January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable and secure I am pleased with my rollover Gret information and ease to invest January 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good Being new to this type of account, I am learning as I go along and will surely get better with practice. Information is good. Navigation of site sometimes a little confusing but that should become less as I use the site. January 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly designed... Website is hard to navigate, poorly designed. While some good tools available, the trading tools are horrible. January 20, 2015
  • 2015-08-30T11:01:34.023-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_651, tr_651
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 22 next>>
007
5508tridion

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
559548.11.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037

close

Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?