• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

Ready to roll over your old 401(k) to an IRA?

We'll guide you step-by-step—from opening your new IRA to moving and investing your money.

Learn more about the Fidelity Rollover IRA

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options.
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 642 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing exceptional I have 2 IRAs with Fidelity that are self-directed. I chose the positions to invest in. Although I have an account manager, I only speak with him when I initiate the call. For my part, I can have such an arrangement with any investment house, so Fidelity offers nothing more. February 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roll over 401 K to IRA Rolling over my employers 401 K to a IRA was so simple and the help that I received was second to none. Great Customer Service. February 18, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure On website doesn't really offer a lot of information and how to invest in other commodities. February 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rolled Over I rolled over an amount of money into Fidelity, hoping they would help me invest. I had a representative call me and set an appointment. They forgot about me and never rescheduled to this day. I'm in search of transferring my money out soon. February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable They are first in answering your question. They are customer friendly. February 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lots of research options One of the biggest things is the availability of research options. Active Trader Pro is a great tool to use. February 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Roll Over It took some time to get everything in order. I think it is now complete. February 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by competitive offerings with good service The transfer from my 401k to the Fidelity IRA went smoothly. The low-priced index funds offerings are competitive with other sources. The customer service is friendly and helpful. A great choice! February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Rollover The Fidelity rollover coordinator insured the process was convenient, quick and accurate. Applying net unrealized appreciation basis to company stock saved tax dollars. February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover from BCBST the whole process was well explained and easy to implement February 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seamless transition The process to roll over a retirement lump sum payout into an IRA was simple and made it easy to immediately begin managing my own future. I especially like the investment tools that let me manage risk, balancing the portfolio (including both IRA and tradtional invenstment accounts). February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by EASY TO NAVIGATE I AM ABLE TO VIEW MY INFORMATION WITH EASY ACCESS AND NO PROBLEMS. IT IS A SECURE SITE AND VERY RELIABLE. I LIKE THAT THE INFORMATION IS EASY TO NAVIGATE THROUGH AND EASY TO UNDERSTAND. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH HAVING MY IRA WITH FIDELITY. February 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unable to do roll over .. Your system did not allow me to do the roll over to IRA..Wants me to do a withdrawl and a check will be sent to me..All I want to do is a roll over not a withdrawl. February 4, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1 make it easier to find stocks and bonds held by the fund February 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable They do a Great Job and they are there for you when you need them. February 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Although the rollover took some coordination from the previous holder the transition was relatively painless February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy I have been very satisfied with my 401K Rollover, I gained the flexibility to trade securities, which Is what I wanted to achieve. January 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy with Fidelity Easy to contact if I need assistance with anything or have questions. Very friendly. Website easy to use & understand. January 27, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable and secure I am pleased with my rollover Gret information and ease to invest January 27, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good Being new to this type of account, I am learning as I go along and will surely get better with practice. Information is good. Navigation of site sometimes a little confusing but that should become less as I use the site. January 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly designed... Website is hard to navigate, poorly designed. While some good tools available, the trading tools are horrible. January 20, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by dougs opinion i have tried to move other money to fidelity but my agent or contact person well never respond back to me.he was suppose to call me back on a question i asked him on 12/17/14 and have not heard a word from him. January 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Tools and Performance Tracking I am pleased with the tools and research options provided with the Rollover IRA. January 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Financial Excellence I retired mid-2006, that fall I rolled my IRA into a variety of mutual funds under the Fidelity umbrella. It was convenient and quick. Not all funds were Fidelity, some were from 'competing' companies and two of those were suggested by the Fidelity rep. I do an annual 'checkup', typically late year to review balance and swap some funds. I have been VERY happy with Fidelity, they have the expertise and systems to help you manage your financial assets. January 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and convenient I find the Fidelity Rollover IRA to be secure and I feel that I have easy and convenient access wherever I am on whatever device I have at that time. January 13, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by I could have invested anywhere My only investment strategy is to put a bunch of money into one, or possibly many, market index funds. I can find those anywhere and the returns on any of them should be close to equal. I chose Fidelity because it was recommended by a friend. If I could go back 6 months I would definitely choose differently. I have tried for several months to roll my TSP over into my Rollover IRA and I have ran into nothing but hurdles and incompetence. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA evaluation Allows selection of a large variety of mutual funds. Provides great research capability. The retirement planning and projection of assets for the next 30 years is very valuable. Plus, it is all free. January 8, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investment Review I like that I have more acces to my account and the help that is available for me when I have questions. January 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Trying another Rollover to my Rollover IRA I have had my rollover IRA with Fidelity for a while and I just want to say that when it comes time to transfer another Rollover from my past employer it is a hassle and Fidelity Reps do not want to take time to help me other than to give me the same information I can look up on the site myself. The Reps are very nice up until they ask for the value of the rollover, then they just send pre-written responses and links to where I can find the information that I already found on my own. What kind of service is this? No, I don't have a million dollars to transfer, yet, but I've been a customer since 2004 and don't get the respect that I deserve. I now know that contacting a Rep is not worth the time as they don't want to help you unless you have a large sum to transfer. Terrible Service. I will continue to keep my money at FI because I like the choice of funds I have invested in, but the Rep service is terrible! January 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 100% Excellent Had a great experience rolling my IRA over to Fidelity. Their expert team made the entire process very easy and seamless. I would recommend Fidelity, for ALL products, to anyone and everyone. Thank you, Fidelity! January 7, 2015
  • 2015-08-04T12:21:15.681-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_642, tr_642
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 22 next>>
007
5508tridion

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
559548.11.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037

close

Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?