• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Get started now


Already have a Fidelity IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace planLog In Required

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 749 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by good customer service Excellent customer service from account rep in setting up a diversified IRA rollover account. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA-Review-Sept 2015 I used my IRA account with limited marginal account extended by Fidelity to me. The Fidelity site is very user-friendly and speedier in execution of trades. Some account information is updated over-night and needs to be real-time. However, all trades are very real-time and perfect and I had used the Site over Mobile device too without any performance degradation. Senior staff of Fidelity are very knowledgeable and available even on week-end clarifications. September 30, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointed I don't understand why the IRA tool doesn't provide real time security quotes. This is something I can get on Yahoo Finance for free, why can't I get it from Fidelity where I am holding my retirement savings? Trying to reach a representative takes 30' of waiting on the phone. The Fidelity Viewpoint webinars are interesting though and do provide some insightful information on the markets. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by confident My retirement has been very good with the company. Good customer service and ready information available for you. Any thing you need to know they are knowledgeable and willing to listen. September 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by poor service Since rolling over my account from a 401k, I have had no contact with anyone from Fidelity. There appears to be no initiative on their part to evaluate performance and develop a plan. I would not recommend Fidelity to anyone. September 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Invest App This app has been very convenient for me. Also, the custoumer service has been very helpful when I've had questions about investing. The best benefit is the value you get by investing through Fidelity. September 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA I have had a very good experience with Fidelity from the very start. Before my IRA it was under Fidelity's care with work as a 401K. I was helped with the transition at the time of retirement by wonderful Fidelity personal, I would very highly recommend Fidelity. September 18, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover review This was an easy transaction and the officer explained everything very thoroughly. September 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mr Very disappointed with the new viewing format and not very easy to maneuver in and out of accounts September 8, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Multiple accounts I was disappointed I tried to switch between accounts to make changes is another account and made a purchase in the wrong account September 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by taxes I am going though a bad time with my husband. I had to retire and was to young to collect S.S. I had to take money out of my 401/IRA and have been taxed a lot. now my retirement money is less than haft of what I started with.the taxes you charge are to much. September 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by great sources for stock research and analysis The rollover set up was easy and was referred to knowledgeable staff person to help navigate the Fidelity site. September 7, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Both Website and Choice of Investments Disappointing The Fidelity website is among the least user-friendly and attractive that I have interacted with in the financial services industry. You don't want to spend time on it and getting information or making investment changes is just a pain. That combined with a limited choice of investments, makes me less than satisfied with my Fidelity account. September 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA is easy to access The website design is better than the app. Some features did not appear or were awkward on the app, so I always used the website. The total gain/loss column is not explained anywhere, so it doesn't help with decisions about keeping money in a fund or moving it to another. Access to fund information is outstanding. You can get to it almost anywhere the fund appears. August 31, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Satisfaction Very satisfied with help provided when needed .Easy to reach represenattive August 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overjoyed! Being totally illiterate when it comes to market investments, Fidelity has always provided me with confident representatives who make it a personnel commitment to invest my money wisely. Being retired now, this is very reassuring to know my finances are in good hands. Thank you so very much Fidelity. August 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome experience! It was very easy to roll my money over into this program. I'd like to get a bit more advice from Fidelity sometimes, even though when I call, the service is superb! Fidelity is definitely a leader in the service arena. August 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greg Vincent Fidelity, is doing a great job helping me with my rollover IRA August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My First IRA Rollover Fidelity Investments made it super easy to rollover my old 401k to an IRA. Being nervous, I contacted a Fidelity rep to assist me and it was a breeze. We talked about investments and mutual fuunds and where to place my funds. He also went thru the website with me to show me where to find training aides and how to perform research. I've been using Fidelty Investments for 8 months and compared to other online trading platfors, they are hands down THE BEST! August 17, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by IRA NEW CUSTOMER SO FAR AVERAGE EVERY TIME I CALL THE PERSON GIVES ME THEIR EX IF I HAVE QUESTIONS LEAVE MESSAGE THEY NEVER GET BACK TO ME August 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional service, support and advice I have received exceptional service and support from all Fidelity representatives in rolling over one of my pensions to an IRA. Follow-up lifetime income reviews and recommendations were also outstanding. I would highly recommend Fidelity to anyone needing financial assistance and advice. August 15, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA Good experience and is pleased with my interaction so far. August 13, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by TEACHER It was very easy to transfer a 401k to an IRA after a change in jobs. Fidelity representatives were very helpful and guided me through the process to have my funds start working for me immediately. August 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure reliable Excellent service answers question would recommend services August 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service Good service and businesses can be hard to find and trust in these times. However, Fidelity Investments has proven to me that they are a business that provides excellent customer service and that they can be trusted to handle your business as well. Every person that I've talked to at Fidelity Investments has been pleasant, patience, attentiveness, and very helpful. Their goal is to satisfy their customers. If they're not sure about something they will do their best to find out. This has been my experience. I hope that your experience was or will be just as satisfying as mine and that you will share it too for the sake of others looking, wanting, and hoping to find something good that works for them too. God bless! August 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service My Fidelity account manager was excellent in helping get my 401K rolled over into an IRS. He has been with me every step of the way July 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Customer Support Fidelity Reps provided outstanding customer service and support during the rollover of my old 401K. They answered any questions and even checked my new employer 401K to ensure future transactions were possible. July 29, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and reliable It's very easy to navigate online, their technology is excellent! July 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and easy Fidelity Investment is a very good investment company for me; people are so helpful and service is very prompt. July 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy, informative, inexpensive I moved my rollover IRA and my Roth IRA to Fidelity for ease of access and reasonable fee structure. Fidelity is already the administrator for my employer's 401k plan. I got what I wanted PLUS participation in various online informational seminars have been very educational and thought provoking. Happy. Thanks. July 20, 2015
  • 2016-05-05 T09:45:55.523-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_749, tr_749
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 25 next>>
007
5508tridion

More information

1. For a Rollover IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2015 is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000. For 2016 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2016 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $184,000 for 2016; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $194,000.
$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
Guidance provided is educational.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information. Read it carefully.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
559548.13.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037

close

Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?