401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?


Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 775 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome Awesome is the way i can describe fidelity, amazing customer service December 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Discussion about RMD As a novice, I have received appropriate timelines information from the customer relations of the Fidelity. December 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Local Fidelity Representative a big help... Our local Fidelity Rep helped us with the rollover to IRA with analysis of my plan for the rollover, pointing out some changes to make better and recommending additional investments, which I did. The Fidelity web site is loaded with information and insight. Depending on how much you want to dig down into the data, it is helpful for making changes or staying the course. I am pleased with the outcome overall of my IRA rollover with Fidelity. December 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nothing Works I tried setting up EFT using your webpage. It did not work. I have spent 3 hours on the phone last week and 1 hour on the phone this week, and no one was able to help me out. I was told to using the secure message system to upload my EFT form. However, I am unable to upload files. The file I am uploading is only 700kb and should not be a size issue. I cannot use the account if I can not transfer funds into and out of it. I cannot get it working via the web page, and I can not get anyone on the phone to help me out, and the messaging system is not working. There are no offices around my area. What am I suppose to do? December 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Rollover great for short term cash. IRA Rollover great for short term cash when buying new home & waiting for escrow to close on old home. December 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure I am very pleased with the customer service everyone has been very polite and courteous November 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Investment Cpmpany Solid Company for retirement and 401k solutions. Great Technology and easy to use. November 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointed I understand my IRA isn't very large but it is important to my retirement. Since depositing my check I have received zero followup. No one has offered any sort if investment advice. Instead, I get far too many emails promoting online services and webinars. I will be moving my small investment to another firm after the new year. November 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by secure and reliable reliable but i still like to get my statements in the mail because it is easy for me to keep not a compuuter person but trying to get better at it November 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service. I am very happy with Fidelity. Their service is excellent. No complaints. November 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by RJs This is what I don't like. I trade options. It doesn't tell me when earnings will be easily. I can't enter contingency/conditional trades before the market opens. It doesn't show me the expected move each week for the underlying. I'm okay with everything else. November 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA & Financial Advice! Everyone that I have consulted or had contact with made sure of my Investments and I was well aware of the underlying situations; That being said it is great have people you understand your needs and are looking out for your best interest!! November 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Review The ease and convenience in using the website I really love. The information available in the research folder is awesome! I love having control over my IRA. Being able to make my own investing decisions are great! I only had to talk to customer service when I initially set up the account. Customer service was thorough and excellent. November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable I turned over my 403b to an IRA account so I would have better access. I'm was very pleased with the account rep I worked with. He was very knowledgeable and made the transfer from one account to another very easy. November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to access and flexible We manage our own funds within our IRA and have found the web access very easy to use - wtih clear information and instructions. On the few occasions where we needed to contact a representative, we have found them to be very knowledgable and helpful. October 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Incompetent & Unresponsive Attempted to have several of my 403 b's rolled over into one IRA. After hand delivering the paperwork for this to be accomplished all of my paperwork was lost. They were never able to find it nor did they follow up with me regarding this mishap. I will be removing all of my money from Fidelity and will take it else where. October 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tools and Visuals Everything works really well compared to my experience with competitors. Fidelity has great visual tools and dashboards, and clicking on various tabs produces wonderful stock or bond analyses. Love the secure feeling I get from using VIP Access (the phone authentication process) and it's very easy to use. Whenever I talk to my account manager or someone in Customer Support, I feel I get excellent advice, am not rushed and am confident that I can execute my investments properly. October 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by In Ryan's care Meets all my deferred savings needs with great choices of investments options. October 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 6 months progress I entered ira during worst market time the past 10 years October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy process The reps made the process super easy. they walked me through each step October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fast, secure, reliable & friendly Good selection of products to choose from, though homing in and finding exactly the right ones can be a lengthy and sometimes frustrating process. Differing restrictions from standard 401K program can be confusing and hindering in terms of making quick and/or frequent changes. Overall, pretty happy with products & services. October 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Every thing is fine. Don't have a review. I like what I got. October 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recent transfers I recently transferred back a fair amount of money to Fidelity but did not receive excellent customer service so I'm debating whether I want to keep my money here. Had to make too many phone calls and some did not return my calls October 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent I love Fidelity its easy to make any changes to my account October 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top notch Fidelity offers an impressive array of investment choices, excellent customer service, and superior research functionality. They make it very easy to do business together. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by good customer service Excellent customer service from account rep in setting up a diversified IRA rollover account. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA-Review-Sept 2015 I used my IRA account with limited marginal account extended by Fidelity to me. The Fidelity site is very user-friendly and speedier in execution of trades. Some account information is updated over-night and needs to be real-time. However, all trades are very real-time and perfect and I had used the Site over Mobile device too without any performance degradation. Senior staff of Fidelity are very knowledgeable and available even on week-end clarifications. September 30, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointed I don't understand why the IRA tool doesn't provide real time security quotes. This is something I can get on Yahoo Finance for free, why can't I get it from Fidelity where I am holding my retirement savings? Trying to reach a representative takes 30' of waiting on the phone. The Fidelity Viewpoint webinars are interesting though and do provide some insightful information on the markets. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by confident My retirement has been very good with the company. Good customer service and ready information available for you. Any thing you need to know they are knowledgeable and willing to listen. September 28, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by poor service Since rolling over my account from a 401k, I have had no contact with anyone from Fidelity. There appears to be no initiative on their part to evaluate performance and develop a plan. I would not recommend Fidelity to anyone. September 28, 2015
  • 2016-06-28 T06:37:20.868-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_775, tr_775
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 26 next>>
007
5508tridion