• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Get started now


Already have a Fidelity IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace planLog In Required

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 747 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable always helps when I need it and they are easy to get hold of. December 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor I have never had such bad service. I cannot believe how I have been treated as a customer. I pass the word to others. I got no assistance. My IRA is still sitting in cash. I am looking to leave Fedelity. December 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by owner i am happy with my service. Customer service has been very helpful. December 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by awesome Awesome is the way i can describe fidelity, amazing customer service December 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Discussion about RMD As a novice, I have received appropriate timelines information from the customer relations of the Fidelity. December 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Local Fidelity Representative a big help... Our local Fidelity Rep helped us with the rollover to IRA with analysis of my plan for the rollover, pointing out some changes to make better and recommending additional investments, which I did. The Fidelity web site is loaded with information and insight. Depending on how much you want to dig down into the data, it is helpful for making changes or staying the course. I am pleased with the outcome overall of my IRA rollover with Fidelity. December 6, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nothing Works I tried setting up EFT using your webpage. It did not work. I have spent 3 hours on the phone last week and 1 hour on the phone this week, and no one was able to help me out. I was told to using the secure message system to upload my EFT form. However, I am unable to upload files. The file I am uploading is only 700kb and should not be a size issue. I cannot use the account if I can not transfer funds into and out of it. I cannot get it working via the web page, and I can not get anyone on the phone to help me out, and the messaging system is not working. There are no offices around my area. What am I suppose to do? December 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Rollover great for short term cash. IRA Rollover great for short term cash when buying new home & waiting for escrow to close on old home. December 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure I am very pleased with the customer service everyone has been very polite and courteous November 29, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Investment Cpmpany Solid Company for retirement and 401k solutions. Great Technology and easy to use. November 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointed I understand my IRA isn't very large but it is important to my retirement. Since depositing my check I have received zero followup. No one has offered any sort if investment advice. Instead, I get far too many emails promoting online services and webinars. I will be moving my small investment to another firm after the new year. November 29, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by secure and reliable reliable but i still like to get my statements in the mail because it is easy for me to keep not a compuuter person but trying to get better at it November 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service. I am very happy with Fidelity. Their service is excellent. No complaints. November 17, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by RJs This is what I don't like. I trade options. It doesn't tell me when earnings will be easily. I can't enter contingency/conditional trades before the market opens. It doesn't show me the expected move each week for the underlying. I'm okay with everything else. November 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA & Financial Advice! Everyone that I have consulted or had contact with made sure of my Investments and I was well aware of the underlying situations; That being said it is great have people you understand your needs and are looking out for your best interest!! November 10, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Review The ease and convenience in using the website I really love. The information available in the research folder is awesome! I love having control over my IRA. Being able to make my own investing decisions are great! I only had to talk to customer service when I initially set up the account. Customer service was thorough and excellent. November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable I turned over my 403b to an IRA account so I would have better access. I'm was very pleased with the account rep I worked with. He was very knowledgeable and made the transfer from one account to another very easy. November 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to access and flexible We manage our own funds within our IRA and have found the web access very easy to use - wtih clear information and instructions. On the few occasions where we needed to contact a representative, we have found them to be very knowledgable and helpful. October 26, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Incompetent & Unresponsive Attempted to have several of my 403 b's rolled over into one IRA. After hand delivering the paperwork for this to be accomplished all of my paperwork was lost. They were never able to find it nor did they follow up with me regarding this mishap. I will be removing all of my money from Fidelity and will take it else where. October 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Tools and Visuals Everything works really well compared to my experience with competitors. Fidelity has great visual tools and dashboards, and clicking on various tabs produces wonderful stock or bond analyses. Love the secure feeling I get from using VIP Access (the phone authentication process) and it's very easy to use. Whenever I talk to my account manager or someone in Customer Support, I feel I get excellent advice, am not rushed and am confident that I can execute my investments properly. October 19, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by In Ryan's care Meets all my deferred savings needs with great choices of investments options. October 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 6 months progress I entered ira during worst market time the past 10 years October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy process The reps made the process super easy. they walked me through each step October 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fast, secure, reliable & friendly Good selection of products to choose from, though homing in and finding exactly the right ones can be a lengthy and sometimes frustrating process. Differing restrictions from standard 401K program can be confusing and hindering in terms of making quick and/or frequent changes. Overall, pretty happy with products & services. October 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Every thing is fine. Don't have a review. I like what I got. October 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recent transfers I recently transferred back a fair amount of money to Fidelity but did not receive excellent customer service so I'm debating whether I want to keep my money here. Had to make too many phone calls and some did not return my calls October 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent I love Fidelity its easy to make any changes to my account October 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top notch Fidelity offers an impressive array of investment choices, excellent customer service, and superior research functionality. They make it very easy to do business together. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by good customer service Excellent customer service from account rep in setting up a diversified IRA rollover account. September 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA-Review-Sept 2015 I used my IRA account with limited marginal account extended by Fidelity to me. The Fidelity site is very user-friendly and speedier in execution of trades. Some account information is updated over-night and needs to be real-time. However, all trades are very real-time and perfect and I had used the Site over Mobile device too without any performance degradation. Senior staff of Fidelity are very knowledgeable and available even on week-end clarifications. September 30, 2015
  • 2016-05-01 T05:53:49.919-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_747, tr_747
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>
007
5508tridion

More information

1. For a Rollover IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2015 is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000. For 2016 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2016 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $184,000 for 2016; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $194,000.
$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
Guidance provided is educational.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information. Read it carefully.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
559548.13.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037

close

Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?