• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

Ready to roll over your old 401(k) to an IRA?

We'll guide you step-by-step—from opening your new IRA to moving and investing your money.

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace plan 

Learn more about the Fidelity Rollover IRA

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.


10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options.
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 684 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glad I went with Fidelity With all the different options available for one to roll over their 401k account upon retirement, it can be a challenge to determine what company is the right fit for you. I have found the folks at Fidelity to be most helpful every step of the way. I am very pleased with the ease of making trades and for all the investment tools that Fidelity provides. July 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Helpful tools The website provides a wealth of really helpful tools to manage your portfolio, as well as many resources for learning about different aspects of investing. July 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Rollover The rollover from my 401 K to an IRA went smoothly, and Fidelity personnel on both sides were very helpful. June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid investment service I like Fidelity. I think they do a nice job of having alot of sources for research. The people at their locations are very helpful as well. One experience I had, I rolled over an old 401k to my IRA and I was asked how I was planning on investing it. At the time, I was clueless of my investment options, so the rep speant over an hour with me showing me all the tools I can use to learn up on everything. It was helpful and I was happy that someone took the time to do that. Its been very beneficial. June 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Encourages Active Participation The Active Trader Pro software is helpful in managing account positions. Relatively inconsequential bug fixes, user interface improvements and information presentation changes could make it a superb investing tool for average semi-active investors. June 15, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Secure The trading platform is great and easy to use and up to date June 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 401K rollover Easy access, great customer service. Very complete web site. June 9, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy and thoughly With Fidelity consultant's help, rollover my 401K to IRA is smoother and easier than I expected. The consultant explained the rollover procedure so well, it made me felt comfortable. June 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Although my former employer has been using Fidelity to manage the company 401k for more than 10 years, I have only interacted with Fidelity since Dec/2014 when I converted my 401k to a rollover IRA. The service I have received has thus far has been excellent. June 8, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 401k Transfer The transfer is very simple and quick. Andrew is very helpful. June 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Be careful of moving from low cost 401K Many large companies have low cost 401K cost structures and transferring money from 401K to an Individual IRA at Fidelity could result in higher fees. Need to look at your individual situation carefully. June 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent The help and advice I have received from Fidelity has always been top notch. The people are always very friendly and explain information to me that I may not understand June 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good index-based fund selection I like the large fund selection available in the Fidelity IRA, especially their options for low-expense index funds (mutual funds & ETFs). This is a major advantage over my employer-sponsored 401k account and is the primary reason that I opened this account. I wish there were tools for maintaining a specified asset allocation similar to those provided by the 401k accounts I've had, for example, the ability to specify a new asset allocation for existing investments, an asset allocation for new investments (i.e. automatically invest on inbound transfers), and perform periodic rebalancing. These are conveniences that are not that hard to do manually but would facilitate more of a "set it and forget it" approach for retirement saving. June 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bob P As of this date I have no issues with the company, Its simple to use, quick and clear. If I have any questions the staff is ready to help. May 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable All the agents I've talked to have been responsive to my questions as if I were a million dollar client. Although my account is in a target date account I have been treated with respect and consideration. As has been my wife. Two accounts which have made the agents no money, but lots of good advertising. I always recommend Fidelity to my friends, who by the way, are much more adventurous than I am. Keep up the good work. May 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to access It is a convenient place to place my retirement money into where I can still have access to it and have the ability to use it to grow my income under a tax deferred basis. May 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA I rolled my retirement fund over into an IRA after leaving my previous place of employment. I communicated with the Fidelity representative that I was not planning to make additional investments at the present time. Although I was not planning to invest at this time, I was provided with exceptional customer service from my first contact up to the present time. I did not understand the basics of an IRA and the representative patiently explained every aspect to me, more than once. I was guided as to how to use the web site and given the contact infirmation of the representative in case I had additiinal questions. Each time I have used the on-line support the representative has been professional and knowledgable. It has been a pleasure working with Fidelity. I soon wll be investing again, I had not thiught about using Fidelity prior to this experience, I now am willing to gain more information regarding having them manage a portfolio. May 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by ira Very efective and secure and exellent and helpfull May 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Review I am very satisfied with my Fidelity Accounts. I look forward to a bright future with Fidelity. May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Comments Great customer support - always willing to take time to talk on the phone and assure my questions are answered. On-line system is easy to use and pretty intuitive. May 18, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fidelity review I am VERY disappointed in my Fidelity. I opened a large account assuming I would get to participate in IPOs. To date, I have only been allocated 1 vs numerous requests. Based on this, I am seriously thinking of closing my account May 18, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seamless Transfer The transfer of her 401K account to the new Rollover IRA and maintaining the portfolio was extremely easy. May 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA Since converting both my old 401(k) and ESOP accounts to separate IRA's, I have been pleased with both. Keeping them separate has allowed me to direct dividends differently and also name beneficiaries differently. I am very happy with both IRA accounts. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable When accessing this site it is very reliable . Also if help is needed you many options to go to. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by simple and easy process My rollover was so simple and the process was easy. Once I made the decision to rollover my 401K to an IRA all I did was call and make an appointment with the local Fidelity office and everything was done in that one meeting. I can track my IRA online everyday if I want. This is so easy. May 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Program Easy to start with numerous choices of stocks and funds. Customer service was helpful in guiding my decision. May 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA is a good bargain Using Fidelity for my IRA has been a low cost way of taking care of my IRA. The trading fees are reasonable, the research tools good and the customer service excellent. Most notable, being able to call and talk to someone about any aspect of the services is very well appreciated by me. May 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Money I found it so easy to rollover a large part of my 401K once I started a new job. Fidelity even provided me with a way to continue to make contributions to the new IRA just like I had to my 401K for years. May 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service! My financial consultant has help me tremendously in managing my 401K rollover from my previous employers and consolidate all into great funds at Fidelity. Tools for helping in evaluating and planning my retirement have been great! What can you ask more for this great service! May 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Use I enjoy being able to find everything I need in one succinct portfolio. It is easy to keep track of my money and tell how well it is or isn't performing for me. May 4, 2015
  • 2015-11-25 T07:22:02.632-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_684, tr_684
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 23 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037


Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?