401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?


Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 775 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Excellent service and reliability. I recommend Fidelity very highly. March 24, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by very good my rep. is very good and knowledgeable . he has my best interest in mind. my aunt also has an account with matt. March 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Customer Always able to make transactions in a timely manner. Clear and concise instructions and info. regarding account structure and growth. March 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA tools Been with Fidelity for over 10 years their research products continue to expand and are easy to use. Customer service is excellent March 16, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover 23 In principal for minimal risk it is fine. However I sometimes withdraw more than once a year and with the IRA have to treat my own money as income and submit a 1099. If I could place all my funds into a 401k I would gladly do so. March 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent Great service and customer support. I like the diverse accounts available to me. March 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Review Very good. Convenient and easy to use and monitor. March 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Strong and Stable I like the fact that I can make my own decisions regarding what I invest in but also have access to a financial advisor who is willing to give me feedback and useful information to build my portfolio. February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very satisfied very satisfied with Fidelity's customer service and the returns on my target retirement account. February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly useful IRA Tools I have found that the Fidelity systems provide the tools and services necessary to effectively manage my IRA accounts. The investment alternatives span the full range of products and investment alternatives which I find necessary in managing these accounts. February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great way to save for the Future I am very happy with my IRA account and the way it appears in the website. It would be helpful to see what the market totals are when you are looking at the positions. February 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by handled with ease process of transferring assets was easy and went smoothly. The site is easily navigated and therefore easy to use February 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Support I opened my rollover IRA account with Fidelity for almost 6 months. So far I received excellent advice and support from my personal financial consultant. He has been very helpful and patient in answering my questions during our scheduled meetings. I also got my personal Retirement Analysis and Social Security Analysis and Strategy reports from him in a timely manner. I was with several other financial companies and Fidelitiy has provided me the best customer support. February 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Fast The process for my Rollover IRA was flawless; Fidelity has very knowledgeable, professional and patient representatives to provide guidance. I couldn't be more pleased, excellent experience.... which is why I plan to move all my other retirement accounts to Fidelity. February 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My IRA Very easy to do and help always available if needed. February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Choice Ever The convenience and ease of the site makes everything seamless. February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable The customer service is exceptional. From the brick and mortar the representatives are informed and courteous. The representatives that are on the telephone are friendly and fast as well. February 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and informative really enjoying participating in all the webinars that are being offered. .they are really helpful in forming strategies for investing...both long and short term January 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Rollover IRA easy process The customer service rep gave me simple directions to follow. Any questions or concerns were addressed and I was very satisfied with Fidelity. January 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure, reliable This is my first time using an investment company, It looks like Fidelity was a great choice, I have been using my Retirement account without. problems. I have a lot to learn and I love the tools that are provided for the learning process. So far, so good. January 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Excellent and very satisfactory. What more can I say but that I am very pleased. January 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenient convenient. good customer service. helpful staff. excellent education materials for everyone. lots of good funds and etfs to choose from relevant to invesment personality. January 24, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by More Information Please The information online isn't much help. I must go into a local Fidelity store to get answers. I can't just stop in there without an appointment. January 24, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by average service, high fees choices of available funds A- service B+ website and support B fee C overall value C January 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use any questions I had were answered by customer service staff January 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't beat this service Fidelity continues to provide the service we want and need in both of our IRA's January 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Helpful The people at Fidelity have been extremely helpful and answered all my questions December 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable always helps when I need it and they are easy to get hold of. December 28, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor I have never had such bad service. I cannot believe how I have been treated as a customer. I pass the word to others. I got no assistance. My IRA is still sitting in cash. I am looking to leave Fedelity. December 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by owner i am happy with my service. Customer service has been very helpful. December 15, 2015
  • 2016-06-28 T06:37:20.718-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_775, tr_775
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>
007
5508tridion