401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?


Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 905 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service and Website Great Service and Website! Great Service and Website! October 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I find the opportunities and the prices EXCELLENT !! October 3, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Modern and efficient It was an efficient process to rollover my account. The customer service reps were patient and answered several of my calls to properly prepare and educate myself before I did so, as well. October 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent fund choices! Great fund choices and customer service! Easy to pull up and view entire account ! October 3, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly and easy. When inquiring about my GM 401(k) account, I was advised that I had substantial after-tax contributions in my account. I was advised that I could roll them over to a Roth IRA if I also rolled-over the untaxed related earnings on all after-tax contributions. Therefore, I established a roll-over Roth IRA and a roll-over (tax-deferred) roll-over IRA. It was easy and quick with Fidelity. October 2, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to work with I rolled $ from my work 401K, which had limited choices for investment, into a rollover, where I direct the investments. This is a meaningful capability for me. October 2, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure and reliable but frustrating too. I am investment illiterate and while I understand no customer service agent can recommend a particular action but I need all the guidance I can get. I am not at all happy with the result so far. September 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to understand and manage My Fidelity IRA has been easy to understand and manage since the rollover. The features at the Fidelity site, the reporting, and the tools all contribute to a clear view and understanding of the account. The webinars help illuminate the features and options available to the investor. September 27, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really Happy with it I rolled over my 401K after changing jobs and am very happy with both the products available and the service. September 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable website I like the Fidelity website as well as the news items that pertain to my holdings September 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure & reliable Have been very happy with people and investment opportunities with Fidelity. September 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Great help with the process of rollover of my IRA and also with the investment!! September 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA The best thing about Fidelity is their customer service. September 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I like the personalized service and fast responses to my questions. Thank you. September 14, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by myword I just find it difficul to maneuver through the system September 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great I am very satisfied with the service i am given and the professional advise . Thank You September 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anyone can do it The wife and I had 403b accounts with Fidelity for 35 years. At retirement, we rolled to the Fidelity Rollover IRA. We're very happy that we did. We can manage our investments with ease. We've configured automatic deposits of dividends to our checking account. We can fund retirement without making a career of it. Love it! September 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by grow retirement I appreciate the easy way to contact and knowledge of your customer service September 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and very reliable Really value their customers and focus on keeping them haapy September 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy The staff answers the phone and is very efficient at answering questions and transferring funds . They are very knowledgeable. September 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resources Have no issues with online capabilities and reference resources; however, I had attended a bonds seminar in the Shrewsbury, NJ office over a month ago and thought I would have heard back about my wanting a meeting to discuss the bonds in my portfolio. September 7, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rollover (after) Even though my old 401K was with Fidelity I still found the rollover very easy to accomplish. Everything went very smoothly and in the time frame indicated. It is after the rollover I am having some difficulty. The resources available are not as easy to navigate. There are plenty of options but they don't flow well and I feel I have to dig deep to find what I want. I also have part of the rollover that didn't match any of the IRA funds just sitting in cash. I will have to call to figure out what assistance I can get to invest that portion. September 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Readily available Easy to get and easy to use! All the information I need. September 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Completely satified with investments made and customer service provide to me Very satisfied with my decision to choose Fidelity to manage my portfolio September 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Helpful & Knowledgeable I have had lots of experience with Fidelity representatives over the last 2 years & I have always been treated with dignity, courtesy, & respect. I always get a knowledgeable rep who helps and gives good, honest advice. I highly recommend using Fidelity as your retirement savings provider! September 2, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roll over 403B Helpful staff both on the phone and in the center, The rollover when smoothly . August 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA My Rollover IRA has done well aince I set it up and retired and is convenient to have money in one place. I just turned 70 so will need to talk to a Fidelity representative in a couple of months as I moved out of state. August 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable the account provides me with all the necassary data to analyze activity August 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rolled Over Experience was relatively painless. Didn't take much time, web site wasn't bad. I've seen much worse. August 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient Convenient way to invest if you don't have the time or inclination to do a lot of research. August 29, 2016
  • 2017-01-22 T06:39:21.997-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_905, tr_905
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 31 next>>
007
5508tridion