401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?


Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 855 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resources Have no issues with online capabilities and reference resources; however, I had attended a bonds seminar in the Shrewsbury, NJ office over a month ago and thought I would have heard back about my wanting a meeting to discuss the bonds in my portfolio. September 7, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rollover (after) Even though my old 401K was with Fidelity I still found the rollover very easy to accomplish. Everything went very smoothly and in the time frame indicated. It is after the rollover I am having some difficulty. The resources available are not as easy to navigate. There are plenty of options but they don't flow well and I feel I have to dig deep to find what I want. I also have part of the rollover that didn't match any of the IRA funds just sitting in cash. I will have to call to figure out what assistance I can get to invest that portion. September 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Readily available Easy to get and easy to use! All the information I need. September 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Completely satified with investments made and customer service provide to me Very satisfied with my decision to choose Fidelity to manage my portfolio September 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Helpful & Knowledgeable I have had lots of experience with Fidelity representatives over the last 2 years & I have always been treated with dignity, courtesy, & respect. I always get a knowledgeable rep who helps and gives good, honest advice. I highly recommend using Fidelity as your retirement savings provider! September 2, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Roll over 403B Helpful staff both on the phone and in the center, The rollover when smoothly . August 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA My Rollover IRA has done well aince I set it up and retired and is convenient to have money in one place. I just turned 70 so will need to talk to a Fidelity representative in a couple of months as I moved out of state. August 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable the account provides me with all the necassary data to analyze activity August 29, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rolled Over Experience was relatively painless. Didn't take much time, web site wasn't bad. I've seen much worse. August 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient Convenient way to invest if you don't have the time or inclination to do a lot of research. August 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by lesmark86 Quick and convenient rollover process made it easy. August 28, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Reliable There was a long wait time and the investment specialist I spoke with left me on hold after we've discussed that I'm investing in a Fidelity product. Another specialist picked up the phone without knowing what was discussed previously with the other person, so he has to read the notes. That was unprofessional and time wasted!!!! August 24, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great investment Fidelity is easy to use and has great tips and advice available on the website. August 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and performance Customer service could not have been better. Very easy and convenient to set up. Having been with Fidelity for many years I have great faith in the value of your service. August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Besides secure and reliable Convenient and user friendly. Just what I need. I will always use Fidelity in the future unless I land a job at one of your competitors and are required to transfer account. August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Roll over Very pleased with the customer service and the quality of service provided. August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA I am so happy with your customer service. Employees are some of the best August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peace of mind Gives us everything we need to make an informed decision! August 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome experience I have always enjoyed dealing with anyone working with Fidelity. Their system is good to work with. A lot of information though. August 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional and Client Friendly I have used Fidelity for my IRA since 1982been a. I now am located near a local office (Vero Beach FL) and find that to be a significant plus as I do get face to face professional care in addition to easy access to experts on the phone at any time. Fidelity has been an excellent service provider and as of earlier this year has been an account manager. August 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Employees Everyone that I've Worked with at Fidelity has been great to work with and very helpful! August 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to USe Access to trade, review the status of, perform research for my IRA is exceptional. The trading pages are easy to use and trade execution is extremely fast. August 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by best service Whenever I have needed any help your representatives have been there for me. they have walked me through every step. could not be more pleased. August 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My opinion I am not computer savy, so I am not too impressed with the web site. However, the service is excellent when I call or chat on line. August 15, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by owner The location for me is close. Any question I have is answered quickly. I need to spend more time using your resources. So far this is my problem. The quarterly updates have been helpful. If I miss one it would be helpful if I could get the data either e-mailed or mailed to me. What should I do to receive? August 15, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple 401K Rollover I called a representative prior to rolling over my 401K into an IRA with Fidelity and as always got friendly professional service. The rollover itself was simply a matter of filling out the on-line forms and submitting them. After the rollover account was opened I asked about their managed accounts and did get a little bit of sales pressure to use them but opted to go it alone for the time being. Maybe in the future I'll try a more interactively managed account or even the robo-account if and when it becomes available? August 9, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by very easy to use I started using the Fidelity website and Active Trader Pro to manage my investment including my IRA(s). Very easy to use and understand. Very reliable. Recommend it for sure. August 9, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by ira so far so good - what more can i say - it all depends on my investments and market August 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by ALWAYS EXCELLENT I have been a Fidelity customer since the mid 1980's. Without exception every time I have asked for help I have been assisted by knowledgeable, courteous people. I have done roll over accounts seamlessly and without any trouble. August 5, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Experience Overall I had a positive experience. As someone who is relatively new to investing the choices are a bit overwhelming. I downgraded the experience because I didn't reduce the choices by as much as hoped using the filters. Nonetheless it was as good or better than what I'd expect from another provider. August 1, 2016
  • 2016-10-30 T07:46:02.195-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_855, tr_855
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 29 next>>
007
5508tridion