401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?


Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 820 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Experience Overall I had a positive experience. As someone who is relatively new to investing the choices are a bit overwhelming. I downgraded the experience because I didn't reduce the choices by as much as hoped using the filters. Nonetheless it was as good or better than what I'd expect from another provider. August 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by owner I like working with Fidelity. Everything is easy to find and review. August 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA I am very pleased about my transition to Fidelity and what it has to offer. August 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use tools The Fidelity Rollover IRA was easy to set up and offer great research tools. The app is also streamlined and user friendly. August 1, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by check book We set up the dividends to be deposited into the check book and this has not been done for 2 months in a row. July 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best Things worked out very well for me. If any of my friends are looking to invest you are the one I would recommend. July 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure I am very happy with the Fidelity service. I have great confidence in your professional dignity. I also like the fact that your office is very close to my home. July 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful Very knowledgeable and helpful. Staff was friendly. Didn't make me feel stupid for not understanding everything July 25, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by New rollover IRA I am pleased with the advice and assistance I received for my rollover IRA account. I opened my IRA account 5 months ago and am pleased with my options and service. I decided to open a Fidelity Rollover IRA because of my satisfaction with my Fidelity Brokerage Account. July 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by convenient and simple I rolled an employer 401k over by calling fidelity and then while on the phone we called the previous financial institution and the two reps figured all of the logistics out. All I had to do was provide various identifying information. Very easy and simple. July 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by N's IRA Complete comprehensiveness for investing in stocks, mutuals and bonds! July 25, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast and convenient Thank you for the valuable advice on my rollover. This past year and a half has been hectic sometimes. With your help this task was much easier. Thank you very much. July 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My IRA rollover Fidelity staff members are courteous and make me feel very comfortable the way they have been helping me with my accounts, whenever I ask a question they are right there with the answers or options I have with the choices I have made since my retirement. I have participated in some of the training session and webinars and they have been terrific. July 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by I am happy with my decisions When my company got acquired and I was faced with rolling my money over to another institution, I was unsure of what to do. I liked the service at Fidelity and after talking with the other institution about rolling my money into their 401K, I was not impressed. They were very basic and uncaring. I chose instead to roll my money into a Fidelity IRA. Not knowing what to do with it, I let it sit a while, then called Fidelity for advice. I was given options by some of the most patient and mild mannered people. I really appreciated their concern. I got the education I needed to make an informed decision about my money and feel good about it. Kudos!! July 19, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Effective and Efficient I worked with a fidelity representative before I retired to work out a plan to convert my retirement portfolio to a rollover IRA. The representative was very knowledgable understanding of how to maximize my income in retirement while conserving my assets for estate planning purposes. July 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and convenient to manage Excellent services from Fidelity overall. I was allowed a set of free trades in the first year which made the deployment of my IRA assets easy. The web view of the account is very easy to read. July 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I have had problems with this account, It has always been my fault for forgetting to do what I need to do. July 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Fidelity does a great job managing my IRA account, and I have easy access to my funds. July 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient, easy to access and many products to choose from. I find my rollover IRA very easy to use as a hands-off investor who wishes to "invest and forget" for the long term. Also, I like the many types of products I can choose to invest in, as well as the support I receive from my account representative. July 18, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA This is a great option, you get a lot of flexibility and it couldn't have been easier to make trades. The customer service person I spoke with was very polite and helpful and he was able to teach me how to trade in just a few minutes. This is exactly what I was looking for. July 15, 2016
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unclear on this survey Not sure why this showed up for answering. All I know is what Fidelity tells/shows me per portfolio reports. Looks good but still just "pie in the sky" at this juncture of my life. July 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to Manage, Lots of Features I was contacted by Fidelity when I left my previous employer. They suggested that I roll over my Fidelity 401k to a Fidelity IRA. I can't say for sure that it was the right or wrong thing to do however I can say that there are a lot of available choices and my IRA survived Brexit pretty well. The adviser assigned to me was very helpful although I haven't heard from them for a while. July 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of use of site. Since joining Fidelity, I have been able to quickly learn and navigate your customer online site. It is clear and understandable. If I do need assistance, representatives are quick to respond with their thoughts and suggestions on moving forward. July 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great customer service and investment options The customer service is phenomenal; everyone is so helpful in answering my often newbie questions. I really appreciate the number of investment options available (e.g. physical gold, bitcoin ETF) and the low management fees. Keep up the good work. July 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Switching from a 401K to an IRA the folks at Fidelity made the transition easy and understandable. Can't ask for more. July 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Process and Investment Tools I rolled an early buyout pension into a Fidelity Rollover IRA. I couldn't be more pleased, with everything from the process of the rollover with the assistance from my Fidelity representative, to the variety of options in my investment portfolio. I have additional Fidelity accounts and am pleased with all of them, and particularly all of the tools that are offered to make me a more informed investor. July 6, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unable to do rollover I am trying to process a rollover from my former employer's 401(k). When I go through Fidelity's Transfer of Assest, I am met with the following error: System Error Sorry, but we were unable to complete this request. Please try again. If you continue to experience this error, please contact us at 800-396-8982. All I need to know is who they should make the rollover check out to. July 1, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable Transferred from my 401K administered by Fidelity due to certain restrictions on my 401K. Transfer was done efficiently and has been very helpful in maintaining my finances. June 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient I worked through a Fidelity local agent. He helped set up the online stuff. The rest came easy. Moved 4 external accounts to my one Fidelity Rollover account. Simplified everything. June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by comfortable and trustworthy Because our life style and financial needs are very simple at this stage of our life it is very satisfying to be able to meet all our needs with people in person and conveniently located. The roll over of our IRA into Fidelity was very simple.t. June 17, 2016
  • 2016-08-27 T12:02:42.401-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_820, tr_820
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 28 next>>
007
5508tridion