401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?


Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 796 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Switching from a 401K to an IRA the folks at Fidelity made the transition easy and understandable. Can't ask for more. July 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy Process and Investment Tools I rolled an early buyout pension into a Fidelity Rollover IRA. I couldn't be more pleased, with everything from the process of the rollover with the assistance from my Fidelity representative, to the variety of options in my investment portfolio. I have additional Fidelity accounts and am pleased with all of them, and particularly all of the tools that are offered to make me a more informed investor. July 6, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unable to do rollover I am trying to process a rollover from my former employer's 401(k). When I go through Fidelity's Transfer of Assest, I am met with the following error: System Error Sorry, but we were unable to complete this request. Please try again. If you continue to experience this error, please contact us at 800-396-8982. All I need to know is who they should make the rollover check out to. July 1, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reliable Transferred from my 401K administered by Fidelity due to certain restrictions on my 401K. Transfer was done efficiently and has been very helpful in maintaining my finances. June 20, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient I worked through a Fidelity local agent. He helped set up the online stuff. The rest came easy. Moved 4 external accounts to my one Fidelity Rollover account. Simplified everything. June 20, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by comfortable and trustworthy Because our life style and financial needs are very simple at this stage of our life it is very satisfying to be able to meet all our needs with people in person and conveniently located. The roll over of our IRA into Fidelity was very simple.t. June 17, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Retiree I am very pleased with the ease of rollover and the selection of a Minium Required Distribution format. The over the phone staff were very helpful as was the on site review by my assigned councilor. June 14, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by all is well I have no complaints and has done well for me the past 10 years June 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent service Fidelity service is excellent from the local branch personnel to the call in number personnel however I do not find the online services as user friendly or as comprehensive as I had expected. June 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by 6 Months Only 6 months of my investments being in this 401 account, I have been able to review the account with ease. Not enough me to evaluate it's value. June 13, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA As a newcomer to managing my own investment, I really need training, consultation and mentoring. The resources and tools available are good but it is overwhelming and information over load. June 13, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by customer service and new accounts Needed easier access to retirement accounts. Customer service and account reps are knowledgable, curtious and very helpful in transferring assets to Fidelity. I now have access to my accounts that suit me. June 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Compedent I have held accounts with Fidelity for many years so when it came time to roll our 401k plans to IRAs I didn't hesitate and am so glad I did it. June 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very happy with the customer service I was a bit apprehensive when I needed to rollover my 401k but the Fidelity representatives have made the process amazingly simple. They gave been patient and helpful. June 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by customer service very courteous know job well, but sometime you don't get that return call they promise have not had a lot of business transaction with the company, but am very pleased with the service I have received. May 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe & Happy Very pleased with Fidelity. Your account reps have listened to me and responded with very favorable service. May 31, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by ira very well done, great support, easy transition, good result May 30, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Layout I also use Fidelity Active Trader Pro which I like very much except the account summary page in my regular Fidelity account is much better. Would it be possible to add or set-up this page in Fidelity Active Trader Pro? May 23, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Rollover Everything was handled nicely and loved the financial incentive to roll with Fidelity May 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good choice I switched from another investment company to Fidelity last year. I like the fact that they have a local office that I can go in and talk to an actual person when I have a question or concern. The customer service over the phone has also been very helpful and friendly. this was a good choice for me. May 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seemingly Secure and mostly reliable My representative helped me when we rolled my 401k to an IRA and did a good job. I like personal contact and unfortunately that is last and only time I've heard from him. He his collected his commission and that was it ! I only require a call every couple of months for a few minutes but without them I cannot rate your customer service as highly as I could. May 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Helpful When rolling over my IRA to my current employer's 401(k) plan, the folks at Fidelity couldn't have been more helpful and courteous. My nervousness was all for naught as the process was more delightful than I could've ever imagined. May 12, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Who needs a bank? Having had investment accounts and banking functions in separate institutions for my entire career, both have now been consolidated under the Fidelity umbrella. Fidelity's customer service, easy to navigate website, and its educational resources are all top-notch. May 10, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to access, no work required The rollover process was easy, the account has been managed well. I had to call a few times to ensure that the account didn't stay in a "cash" status and was actually invested into an account, but everyone was nice when I called. May 10, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by safe and reliable Fedility is a great company. They have every thing at your fingertips to help you. If you need to go into there offices they are very helpful. There customer service is number one. May 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service The representative was helpful, considerate, and explained all the information thoroughly . and gave us information and options .We were asked our needs in handling investment and worked with us to reach our goals. May 9, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My IRA Fidelity needs to upgrade their scheduler. The scheduler needs to be able to know days of the week. Example: deposit my IRA dividends to my checking acct on the 2nd Wednesday. Currently the Fidelity scheduler can only use numeric calender days, example the 10th ( which may fall on a weekend ). May 2, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure I have invested in Fidelity mutual funds and other mutual funds for a number of years and believe Fidelity provides an acceptable array of options with acceptable returns. May 1, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by No effort on my part My son set this up for me and he monitors it. I just look at it from time to time. April 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy to use A very good account with no hassles, it keeps me informed and up todate of what is availiable. April 25, 2016
  • 2016-07-29 T09:49:51.517-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_796, tr_796
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 27 next>>
007
5508tridion