• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes rolling over an old retirement savings plan from a former employer easy for you. Our tax-deferred account can help you invest for growth or income.

Account features

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
007
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 614 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA Brokerage Account Great Expectations, something that seems to be lacking from most companies anymore, but I have been very satisfied with Fidelity. I had my 401K with them, and they have met my expectations, and I decided to roll the 401K into an IRA with Fidelity. April 15, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by No one is there to help you I opened an IRA account. I called Fidelity to try to start the roll over process. Called for more than 30 minutes, never got answered. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Self directed I prefer to self manage and make my own investment decisions. April 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by It does what it should The statements are simple to understand. The Staff is knowledgable. The office is neat and professional. the research tools are good The options and "offering" are well based for a retired person. there is a time to handle your own money and future, and there is also a time to know when to have someone else do it for you. The services and options are there for you to choose when you feel that time has come for you. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ease of process but website issues The actual process to transfer a 401-K to an IRA was made extremely easy with the guidance of my Fidelity Rep. however, the website is far more difficult to understand and maneuver than what I was accustom to through the 401-K. Even after seeking guidance from my representative it still seems too complex. April 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to use, understandable Easy to use and has the answers to questions using the menus. Lots of other information regarding all aspects of IRA's and other accounts. Information was for the most part is understandable being that I am not all that familiar with selling and buying of stocks, bonds, CD's, etc...I think that I need to work on this! April 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to understand, and seamless. My rollover IRA was very easy to understand and was done in my best interest. When I had a question my Financial Consultant was available to make sure that I fully understood what was happening and thoughtfully answered my questions. It was a seamless transaction completed by a company I know I can trust, and who treat their customers as they would treat themselves. Thanks. April 7, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by mehhh it's ok Feel like a # and not a customer but don't ask for more or expected it. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenience & Ease Overall good to excellent; product offerings, convenience and ease of use - familiarity with system. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Educational Material I rate Fidelity Rollover IRA options as being very good with a wide variety of options to chose from. April 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very factual Process was easy and personnel were very professional. Ready to move my wife's IRA over soon. April 6, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple procedure This was a simple clerical action that accomplished what was intended. My Fidelity advisor handled the deed efficiently and effectively. Mission accomplished. March 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grateful one Very pleased with all aspects of Fidelity. All my encounters with the office staff have been most helpful. My only regret is that I did not use Fidelity 15 years ago March 30, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Fidelity has bent over backwards to help me rollover a pension buyout and an old 401k into an IRA. I have nothing but praise and appreciation for all the help I have received from their courteous staff. March 30, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer service regarding RMD I was very disappointed with the chat that I had concerning my RMD. I had initially scheduled my RMD to be withdrawn in December for the full amount. I needed to withdraw $5,000.00 this month expecting my RMD balance to reflect the reduced amount to be withdrawn in December. The CSR that I spoke to was very vague as too how to adjust that amount to the point that I when I treid it, nothing changed March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Rollover Account Once walked through the ways to trade stocks and look up investment grade information, the process is very convenient. Access to recent research on companies and industry trends is also useful. The research compliments additional sources of investment and market information. March 24, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and Safe I like the many options Fidelity provides and the friendly, knowledgeable and responsive customer service. March 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Is The Best! Simple, straightforward, good investment options, nice website, great customer service, what more can you ask for? Rolled over from my workplace 401k. March 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure easy to set up. Everyone was extremely helpful. Great experience March 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Retirement rollover Everything was easy however it wasn't clear to me what the funds would be invested in. March 17, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of Use Just love haivng so much control over these investments. March 16, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer Service Poor My account manager never followed up on the credit to my account for the creation and rollover of funds. Still have not seen the funds credited for transferring funds. She was very anxious to have me transfer funds however once transferred never heard from her again March 16, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable It was easy and fast to fill out the application for enrollment. March 14, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Support My 401K was managed by Fidelity. I retired in 2008 and rolled over my 401 to a traditional IRA with Fidelity. I also had IRA's outside of my 401 as well as taxable accounts. Fidelity has been part of my financial life for many years. With rare exception, I have never had an issue with the account executive or Fidelity in general. In fact, they have been very helpful when I have to rearrange investments and guide me through it as needed. The account executive is not a financial advisor in the traditional sense but provides a huge service in discussing options. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy I have made a lot of changes in my IRA over the years and have been very pleased with the support and help I have received from my Financial Retirement Representative. Even though I have another primary representative, the Fidelity folks have worked with me to meet my needs. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Have enjoyed using Fidelity over the years and have always received great service and information. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Effective and easy. I needed a place to put 401K funds that my former company have moved from Fidelity to a poorer-performing company. I met with a local representative who walked me through the process or creating a Rollover IRA account, and then transferring the funds. There are plenty of investment choices, and I selected a fund keyed to my estimated retirement date. Very cost-effective and easy. March 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable Very satisfied with Fidelity and their customer service. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Customer Service I have multiple accounts and when calling in for questions, the agent was so helpful. She never once sighed or complained about all the questions. She was a pleasure to work with and made my day. March 3, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe and Secure The process of rolling over my 401k into a Fidelity IRA was one of the easiest and smoothest transactions I have ever made. The Fidelity rep was a true professional and helped guide through each step. An overall great move and experience. March 2, 2015
  • 2015-05-25T11:12:08.704-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_614, tr_614
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560620.11.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037