• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Get started now


Already have a Fidelity IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace planLog In Required

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 759 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use Lots of helpful content across the website. Friendly and knowledgable staff when calling with questions. April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Knowledgeable employees My husband have been with Fidelity from 2002 and they have been very professional doing business with April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dependable I have had my Fidelity accounts since 86, both IRA's and taxable Brokerage. They have always been accurate and up to date. Their call in support has been accurate and knowledgeable. I have always felt confident with their handling of my accounts. April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Secure Rolling my 401-k plan into this IRA was easy. The customer service provided by Fidelity was great. April 11, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to roll over Fidelity made it easy to roll over funds from two previous employers and went above and beyond the call to assist me. The site is very easy to use. April 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by easy user friendly, easy process, customer service are good. April 6, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by MRDs Love that you have a convienent link to what MRD is required and that I can go back to previous years. It was great when I did our taxes. April 6, 2016
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fidelity match Your staff needs training. I signed up after seeing "matching" promo online. I discussed the promo with 3-4 Fidelity staff members and when it was time to get the match funds, I was told the offer had expired. Even though, the offer was still on the Fidelity website. When I questioned it, I was told I was not eligible. My eligibility should have been verified by Fidelity when I funded the account. I specifically asked each person I talked to about the promo. It was not very professional. April 5, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by EASILY MANAGEABLE I love all of the investment options that the rollover provides. The website is easily navigable and very easy to manage. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Review of RO IRa The representative in the office was very helpful and respected my decisions. He was not the person I was supposed to see, who got ill and whom I was uneasy about. It worked out better this way! April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Satisfied It was very easy to set up my IRA. I was surprised that when I called Fidelity I was able to reach a live person and get assistance so quickly. April 4, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA rollover Michael was very helpful and knowledgeable. made my decision easy. March 31, 2016
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fidelity® Rollover IRA No assistance whatsoever and about ready to close all my accounts March 28, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure I have been with Fidelity for over 20 years, make my own decisions buy but when I ask for assistance it's right there. Just had a total review with fidelity with Tim, took over an hour but a great experience. He did make a few suggestions as we are now trying to protect what we have accumulated which I took each one of them. My opinion anyone having trouble with Fidelity is because of their not understanding or trying to do something not allowed by law. Good Job Guys!! March 26, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable Excellent service and reliability. I recommend Fidelity very highly. March 24, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by very good my rep. is very good and knowledgeable . he has my best interest in mind. my aunt also has an account with matt. March 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Customer Always able to make transactions in a timely manner. Clear and concise instructions and info. regarding account structure and growth. March 21, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA tools Been with Fidelity for over 10 years their research products continue to expand and are easy to use. Customer service is excellent March 16, 2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover 23 In principal for minimal risk it is fine. However I sometimes withdraw more than once a year and with the IRA have to treat my own money as income and submit a 1099. If I could place all my funds into a 401k I would gladly do so. March 14, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent Great service and customer support. I like the diverse accounts available to me. March 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Review Very good. Convenient and easy to use and monitor. March 7, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Strong and Stable I like the fact that I can make my own decisions regarding what I invest in but also have access to a financial advisor who is willing to give me feedback and useful information to build my portfolio. February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very satisfied very satisfied with Fidelity's customer service and the returns on my target retirement account. February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Highly useful IRA Tools I have found that the Fidelity systems provide the tools and services necessary to effectively manage my IRA accounts. The investment alternatives span the full range of products and investment alternatives which I find necessary in managing these accounts. February 29, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great way to save for the Future I am very happy with my IRA account and the way it appears in the website. It would be helpful to see what the market totals are when you are looking at the positions. February 22, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by handled with ease process of transferring assets was easy and went smoothly. The site is easily navigated and therefore easy to use February 21, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Support I opened my rollover IRA account with Fidelity for almost 6 months. So far I received excellent advice and support from my personal financial consultant. He has been very helpful and patient in answering my questions during our scheduled meetings. I also got my personal Retirement Analysis and Social Security Analysis and Strategy reports from him in a timely manner. I was with several other financial companies and Fidelitiy has provided me the best customer support. February 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and Fast The process for my Rollover IRA was flawless; Fidelity has very knowledgeable, professional and patient representatives to provide guidance. I couldn't be more pleased, excellent experience.... which is why I plan to move all my other retirement accounts to Fidelity. February 16, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by My IRA Very easy to do and help always available if needed. February 8, 2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Choice Ever The convenience and ease of the site makes everything seamless. February 8, 2016
  • 2016-05-30 T12:15:20.931-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_759, tr_759
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 26 next>>
007
5508tridion

More information

1. For a Rollover IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2015 is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000. For 2016 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2016 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $184,000 for 2016; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $194,000.
$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
Guidance provided is educational.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information. Read it carefully.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
559548.13.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037

close

Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?