401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?


Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 775 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only one thing wrong I wish someone had reminded me that I should have used all my cash money outside my IRA's before taking the money out of my tax differed funds. That comment would have changed my approach entirely. June 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure & independant It serves my purpose, without a lot of pushy marketing of products. June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable Your people is very helpful, The persons that I talked with they had a lots of knowledge and willing to work with you in order to get the right investment. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer friendly I manage my own account and find the Fidelity team always courteous and most helpful. appreciate the ability to know each day the status and love the ease of trading on line. Recently transferred stock certificates to a joint account and a difficult task was made easy with specia forms and advice. Thanks. Ben Moore June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by simple and easy I really like the access to research tools and ideas. The website is very easy to navigate and trade costs are great. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best borkerage service I cannot say enough good about fidelity they are allways their for you with good sound advice and also no pressure to do anything .It is up to you you make the final choice on what you want to do . June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable customer service The customer service has been excellent since my first contact with Fidelity. No fluff; just facts. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth as silk I have no complaints and no suggestions so, please just continue as is. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by More videos needed and in local branches classes I love all of the info that is on the Fidelity site. However, I would like to see more videos for us not so bright investors that don't really know what we are doing! Even though most of us try to make educated decisions a video for me is much more user friendly. If you would bring back classes into your local branches that would help as well. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by MY RETIREMENT I HAVE AN EXCELLENT SELECTION OF FUNDS WITH GOOD DIVERSITY. I PREFER INDEX FUNDS AS TO KEEP EXPENSES DOWN. I LIKE THE INFO AND GUIDANCE I RECEIVE FROM MY ACCOUNT MGR. June 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Tracking Capability I have requested many times to have the ability to track visually my total account value on a daily or other basis. It would be great if I could also SEE my dividends all grouped together. Something like what a manager of a Mutual Fund might have since really what I have is my own personal fund of equities. I'm always told that "we value all comments and we want to satisfy all customer request but that may take time. I have seen no effort to satisfy this customer request. I am therefor unsatisfied. Also the one on one consulting services that I got just about a year ago in Portland were almost meaningless to provide any real, helpful advice, direction of managing my investment and future retirement. Very fluffy! -Rich June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by most of the rollover was pretty straightforward I think that with the exception of choosing distribution in shares vs cash, the process was pretty straighforward. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure I do think of Fidelity with any type of retirement savings and have recommended you often to others. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied I'm very satisfied with the Rollover IRA. Doing everything on line has been very reliable and easy to use. And the price is right. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent customer service When I first rolled my account over, my Fidelity rep was excellent in helping me with all the processes and forms, not only required by Fidelity, but also from my roll-from account, another large institution. He continued to help me through some investment choices, always being there to help, never pushing. I highly recommend Fidelity for their service-oriented culture. As a Customer Service executive myself, I set high standards and don't easily give such high marks! As for value, I have only been a customer for 1+ year. Too soon to evaluate. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Pleased I like the support systems very much and have no suggestions for improvement. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover Ira. Moving my Ira to fidelity was a wise choice. The information available is useful in decision making and makes it easy to track my stocks and buy and sell. If there was one area I would like to see improved it would be the ability to purchase IPO's. everyone should have the ability to invest in new opportunities not just a subset. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable I trust Fidelity. MY IRA is available to me anytime. I am able to completely manage my own account. Fidelity's brokerage service is very responsive. When I do personally contact customer service the people I work with are very helpful and easy to talk with, and knowledgeable. Fidelity keeps finding new ways to make capital allocation secure and easy. Most inportant...I TRUST FIDELITY. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't be happier Not sure why you would choose any other provider. Fidelity has it all and gives you the tools to manage your account with confidence. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the website I have a 401k, IRA, and money market account with Fidelity. Love the website; well managed, easy to navigate. Would like to see more informative economic analysis. Thanks! June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by June 2013 Review It would be more convenient to me if there was an option on to see the annuallized percentage gain/loss of my individual holdings in addition too the existing "gain since purchased" info. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA I'm very happy that I converted my 401(k) to a Rollover IRA at Fidelity upon my retirement. June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid online resource The website is easy to use. The fees are reasonable if you make your own investment decisions. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flexibility I have a wide range of choices in funds and ETF's at very low costs. I also have the convenience of making transactions and analysis using the internet. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ms. I am a Fidelity client for many years and I am glad I choose Fidelity . Thank you for making the financial part of my life easy. . June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity A good company offering a large selection of investment options. Easy to do business with having excellent customer servide June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy track but could use some better metrics. For the most part I am very happy with rolling over our IRA's and 401-ks to Fidelity. I am extremely pleased with the customer service and the two account representatives we have had. I have in the past in responding to surveys pointed out that I would love to have a report that would allow me to see what my dividend rate is for dividend stocks we have in our portfolio based on our acquisition costs and the current dividend (whether dividend is the same as when stock originally purchased, or whether the dividend has gone up or down since purchase.) Such a report would take a lot of tracking off my shoulders and would be invaluable to those of us who purchase dividend stocks. For example if a dividend is reduced the return could go from 10% to 7% based upon the original purchase price of the stock. But based upon the underlying strength of the company a 7% return still might be worth sticking with. In any case this is the third time I have mentioned this with out any followup from Fidelity. I however will take responsibility for not following up with customer service about this. Over all this would not cause me to leave Fidelity. June 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Poor Experience Yesterday I wanted to move money from my Fidelity IRA to a Fidelity Time Warner 401k, a procedure I have done before. I was told that a form would be mailed to me in 1 week to 10 days, then after I had mailed the form back, I would be mailed a check which I would then mail to TW. The procedure would take several weeks, evidently. All this in an age if milliseconds trading! The Pony Express delivered letters faster than I am able to move my funds around. Not acceptable. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy Fidelity makes investing interesting because if its friendly and reliable service. June 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by IRA - missed opportunities The initial rollover was a pretty simple transaction. Where Fidelity was lacking is the interaction with the agent that assisted me. There was no help offered with regards to how to reinvest the money, or the steps that would be required once the account was setup. It sat for a few months until I was speaking to my father in-law about it and we went on-line to look into it. June 26, 2013
  • 2016-06-28 T06:37:21.261-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_775, tr_775
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 26 next>>
007
5508tridion