• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes rolling over an old retirement savings plan from a former employer easy for you. Our tax-deferred account can help you invest for growth or income.

Account features

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
007
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 578 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by need more offices I enjoy doing bussness with fidelity , but you need an office in modesto, ca. there is alot of money here you are missing June 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by MikeM IRA I could use more advice about the review and re-distribution of my assets. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good This is new to me, so I didn't know what to expect. So far, my experience has been excellent as far as the service I was given going in, and now the management ability I have online. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very convenient with a broad spectrum of investments Fidelity runs a good wide spectrum of funds and makes another larger group very available for investors. The online service and web site is probably why I have stayed with them. They are not always the least expensive, although the fund prices are reasonably so, and they can be a bit difficult if one wants a specific class of someone elses fund. The convenience and website functions make up for it. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smart Wealth Management I like my Fidelity rollover IRA not only because of its grand total but also because Fidelity's website makes it so easy to slice and dice that grand total. I do my own investing with Fidelity because Fidelity gives me all the tools to use in investment decisions. (The tool I am impressed with the most is the Retirement Income Planner.) I believe (and tell others) that Fidelity has the most user-friendly website in the financial management industry. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to find research I use several trading platforms. I find that Fidelity provides better and more intuitive asset comparisons that the other platforms. There are a few things that could be improved, of course, but overall a good platform. I have also been impressed with Fidelity portfolio planning tools. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great online website and extensive investment options I enjoy using the Fidelity website to review my portfolio. The analysis tools, historical information, and different investment options are pretty easy to review. Fidelity also contimues to process enhancements to the site to increase the options available for viewing data. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful to the un-initiated Your patience with my questions on my little IRA are very helpful. Just wish I could do more! June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure & reliable Have confidence in Fidelity . I am about to recommend to a friend to do a "Tranfer In Kind" June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Total $ Change / Activity For The Day I've given this feedback before, but my suggestion still has not been implemented. Before recent changes, Fidelity had information at the bottom of portfolio activity that was labeled "not included in totals" or something to that effect. It was basically, the amount of activity such as mutual funds that reflected the prior days activity. Currently, if you look at a day's activity, you must add mutual funds changes and subtract the change from the total to see the day's "actual" activity change. After the mutual funds update later that evening, the true change for the day is reflected. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by rollover made easy the agent I spoke with was helpful, khowledgable, and very interested with what i wanted to do and understood June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Accessibility Online Online guidance is very good but recommended changes are made without reason for recommendations. Would like to have some guidance as to why changes are being recommended before proceeding with plan. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Educational, Enjoyable, Valuable I have enjoyed researching individual stocks and selecting companies in which I am interested. Selecting the stocks and watching their progress has actually increased my interest in the companies, the market, and the economy. The Fidelity process is easy to understand and follow. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My investment partner I do all of my own investing, find my own investment ideas, but my research partner is Fidelity. All of the tools I need to make an informed decision are at my finger tips on the web site. Getting the most out of a new idea depends on speed and timing and Fidelity gives me both. I also find that a lot of the articles posted to the site help me find safe, reliable and unseen (by the thundering herd) investments. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rolling Over 401K to IRA; changing boats in the middle of the stream Generally everything went OK, Rolling over a 401K plan with Fidelity to an IRA (also with Fidelity). Rolling over a plan from one institution to another will take at least few days and often requires liquidating the assets of the original plan even between similar plans. At times of high market volatility, there is a risk element for those long term investors. Furthermore, investment vehicles in the original plan are not necessarily offered in the roll over plan (even within the same institution). Rolling over within the same institution should mitigate those risk factors. My experience with this particular roll over was mixed. I still had to liquidate practically all my assets going from the 401K plan to the IRA, even investments in Fidelity own Mutual Funds (and for good reasons). But because the roll over was partically overnight, the risk was kept at a minumum. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good service and concealing I've been with Fidelity for a long time and I think that says it all. Everytime I needed clarification and help I have got it right away. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Very satisfied. I have had my account for about 6 years. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need YTD summary for Fidelity iPhone App Overall, good, but lacks a YTD summary, the way other Fidelity accounts have. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by my ira the service that I have received from fidelity over the past 20 years has been more than I can ask of a financial company.I thank you June 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by IPOs Good and Bad I appreciate the opportunity to take advantage of IPO based on my account balance, but it is very obvious Fidelity caters to the higher valued clients first with IPO offerings. IPO opportunities are one of the main reasons I am with Fidelity. Based on recent experiences with IPOs, the value of staying with Fidelity has diminished. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA - Easy to use It's easy to use. Loads quickly and is easy to navigate! June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure I have been using Fidelity for over 10 years.Good company. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Off line service staff Your online/phone staff is very good. However, I had the misfortune to deal with one of your in house representatives here in the Woodlands Texas. His service was horrible. If I had not been getting good service from you on line/phone staff I would have moved my account. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investment Product Ease of transfer is very good. I'd like to have an agent call me to discuss the products that I can invest my IRA. My IRA is currently sitting idle and I need to invest it. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Warehouse/CPE Clerk Everyone was very helpful to me that made this transaction so easy. I am proud to part of Fidelity. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keep Up the Good Work! Everything has been fine with Fidelity. Especially appreciate the main website and how I can easily find everything about my account status. Thanks, Jennifer June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by rollover The Fidelity representative was very helpful. He made the arrangements for a rollover and partial disbursement of the account. June 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by secure & reliablel As I notified someone at your branch in Brea, my husband George Sargeant passed away on May 2, 2012. One day soon I need to get together with someone at your office to go over what all is in this account, he always took care of this and he died very suddenly of cancer. Winnie Sargeant, wife of George Sargeant June 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by large selection of fund and low costs Like Fidelity for its low costs which is a must for me as a investor. Good managers on most funds. But I miss the INVESTORS QUARTERLY that we use to get, had many interesting articles in it. Can we get it back? June 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It works I find the UI for Fidelity.com to be somewhat cumbersome and confusing, and the menu selections unintuitive. The account itself, the investment choices are all adequate and get the job done. June 11, 2012
  • 2015-03-28T10:32:35.129-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_578, tr_578
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 20 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560620.11.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037