• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

Ready to roll over your old 401(k) to an IRA?

We'll guide you step-by-step—from opening your new IRA to moving and investing your money.

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace plan 

Learn more about the Fidelity Rollover IRA

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.


10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options.
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 684 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by investment diversity I need to involve my team at Fidelity more than I do now to achieve investments which involve energy and other emerging markets January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by happy camper Felt I got good guidence from my advisor, everyone I have contacted has been intelligent, helpful and nice. And I trust Fidelity more than other firms I've dealt with. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seattle jan 25 Fidelity representative has provided detailed, timely information and met all timing obligations. His personality and professionalism make it easy to conduct business. The customer service team has been there to answer special questions regarding both the rollover and adding additional monies currently held at other locations. The rollover process was conducted seamlessly. January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good and Not so Good My conversion from the GM 401k to a Fidelity was good in that it provided more options. It was not so good in that I was cashed out from the preferred money market account and the institutional class of GM offerings. The Fidelity people have been very good and responsive. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service I have enjoyed my relationship with Fidelity for over 15 years total. I find the customer service to be excellent, knowledgeable people who are empowered to perform their duties or have the ability to immediately connect with the right person to get any transaction completed. I have enjoyed and benefitted from my meetings with our account reps over the years and try to meet in person at least twice per year. Again, very informed people with timely, helpful suggestions. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Features My Fidelity Rollover Account has many outstanding features that make it easy to manage and trade positions. The features include clear navigation screens, graphing of positions, and ability to research positions. January 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Mr Fidelity I need more communication with a live person. Got a couple calls in the beginnig and played voice mail tag. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investment advice Need more active advising from Fidelity. I am not a money manager and I would like Fidelity to sometimes give me a hint if my funds should be re-arranged etc. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent overall I think you provide an excellent service overall. The only thing I would like to see you do is, when you send me a confirmation of a trade, tell me in the email specifically which trade it is. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Error, but excellent recovery Fidelity deposited my rollover check into the wrong account. After it was brought to their attention, they did an excellent job of correcting the error and following up. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to do Fidelity makes it easy to roll over to an IRA account. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by ira review Fidelity should provide a column on the account display screen that shows YTD performance up to the prior business day not 30 days ago. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by good communication I like the fact that I can easily talk to someone personally. Your staff are knowledgeable and professional always. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Services offer I love all the services provided by Fidelity especially the ease of buying and selling, the smart checking, transfers and online check deposits, and bill paying. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Consistant Service with Good Systems I am at a value and experience level that I am still looking for the sharp talented investment advisor who can truly help and support me in my financial journey. So far all I have found are individuals offering some type of anemic canned program at a yearly cost of 1 to 2% of my asset value. No value there. Fidelity provides the systems and the tools to allow me to manage my investments at my pace. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent employees/service Your company is probably the best on the market including all lines of business. Your employees are the best and knowledgeable. No problems on my part which goes back to 1980. January 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Waste of My Time I felt that the rollover was a big waste of my time. Had to go to your office multiple times to verify info and sign forms, which I already did online. January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I WANT ONLINE PERFORMANCE CALCULATORS I like the online accessibility with my IRA, it's easy to access and understand. However, I do not have access to performance calculators (ie YTD, MTD, date range). I messaged a rep and they said it's only available to basically high net worth clients, which I'm aware since I work for a wealth manager. I'm able to see it in my 401K which is custodied by Fidelity's Net Benefits, but I would really like to see it in my regular IRA's as well. Can Fidelity make that happen for it's everyday average Joe clients as well? January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Rollover Worked like a charm with no issues at all. This is just one of the reasons I use Fidelity for all my investments. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy rollover This was my husbands 401K and Fidelity made it relatively easy to assume his 401K after he died. It's a difficult enough time for me right now, so making these things easy is very important. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of access Our Fidelity rollover has worked well for us. Our Fidelity Rep does a great job of answering questions and helping execute transactions. We have a comfortable feeling about our accounts. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quality Product, but Missing Rebalance Feature My Fidelity Rollover IRA account has provided the excellence that I would expect with Fidelity in terms of fund selection, customer service and web site quality. However, there is a feature missing that could easily be added. When my funds were on the Fidelity 401K side of the business with my employer, I had some great tools available to rebalance my portfolio (by percentage of holdings or by dollar amount) at intervals I could customize. These tools disappeared once I rolled over the account into the IRA side of the business. Please incorporate those rebalance tools everywhere (even in regular non-retirement accounts) - they are extremely useful tools. Also, Fidelity could have lower management fees for the actively managed funds - for such a large fund company (with such immense buying power), the fees seem a little high. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comprehensive and Complete It took me a while to get used to it as the information was so complete, however that is what makes the pages helpful without so many back and forth efforts. I am anxious to see the new Mutual Fund pages you have coming as I used that investing mode most often January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by quick and easy rolling my IRA into a Fidelity account a number of years ago was easy and allowed me to invest it however I chose January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by inconvenience Why is it that you can not offer a % reallocation scheme when we want to exchange funds in our IRA accounts. Your annuities offer it. Granted, they have a limited choice of funds available but, with computer systems and databases, that should not be an issue at all. As opposed to sell some $ amount and then distribute the amount across other or existing funds you want, offering % reallocation could be much more convenient. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Customer Keep up the very good work. Keep up the very good work January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Excellent customer service. Knowledgeable personnel and helpful January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and reliable trade executions are frustratingly slow. even when another site gives that quote. wonder why! January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extensive Investment Choices, online convenience, valuable calculators Good investment choices for my IRA and user-friendly online experience. I find the online applications particularly useful, especially the minimum required distribution calculator since I'm over 70 1/2. I've never had any problems with security and the record keeping is extremely detailed and helpful. January 23, 2013
  • 2015-11-26 T13:58:39.259-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_684, tr_684
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 23 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037


Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?