• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes rolling over an old retirement savings plan from a former employer easy for you. Our tax-deferred account can help you invest for growth or income.

Account features

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
007
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 614 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Why did I wait so long? Three years after I left my last employer I finally decided to roll over my 401k to an IRA. Fidelity made it easy. When I had a question they were just a phone call away with the answer. They also put me in touch with a local Fidelity advisor who helped even further. Thank you Fidelity. June 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable and Informative I find that my rollover IRA managed by Fidelity is secure and I can obtain information at any time related to my accounts. I trust the information regarding stocks that Fidelity gives me. All of my money is still in the tax deferred status. June 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Review I can say that the service is convenient. I can look at my account whenever I please. Customer service is very helpful in trying to answer questions and concerns. Offering information on other services is continual. Receiving e-mails on updates offered is excellent. Keeping in touch with customers increases confidence in the company. June 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable My account has been handled exactly as I have requested. And, the agent that calls is very professional and friendly. June 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use. Fidelity website is easy to use, has real-time updates, easy to make trades at a good price. Moble app works well to keep me aware of changes in the market. Great tools to help me keep up with the changing markets. June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I enjoyed the investment flexibility I acquired after rollling my 401K over to Fidelity IRA. The process was simple, quick, and done with great professionalism on the part of the individual I spoke with. June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2012 Fidelity review I like all the stock and funds research information that you can obtain for free. June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover Advantage Rollover account offers a large choice of stocks, mutual funds and ETF's. More choices than are available in the standard 401k account. I like the ability to buy and sell ETF's in this up and down market. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Web Site Fidelity has a very well designed accounts page coupled with their value and great customer service make them second to none. June 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by What title do u want I would like to give a portion of my equity for you all to manage but with inputs from me. However you want total control. Would like a scheme say 50K managed but with inputs from customer. June 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by simple transaction great customer service and feedback from Fidelity administrators and account managers. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Transition. The gentleman who helped me made the process easy to do. June 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by useless very hard to navigate and advisers are not very knoweledgeable about any products. June 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Distribution Woes I opened a Fidelity Rollover IRA specifically to transfer requirement monies from a previous employer to then be used to purchase a home. Prior to my beginning this three part transaction, I contacted Fidelity to determine the number of days and other requirements to complete the transactions. The close date for my home purchase was set based on this prediction. When I went to have funds wiretransferred to the escroe company, I was told that the office would be open on Christmas Eve. I asked specifically and was assured that it would be open. It was not. This delayed me several days until the office reopened. I completed the paperwork for the transfer, which I was assured would go out that day. It did not. The next day I went in and talked to an officer, who assured me that it would go out the next day. Again, it did not. He had not followed through with calling the central wire transfering location to assure that everything would go through as required. This officer didn't even do me the courtesy of contacting me about the additional delay. He had a co-worker do that. If I had not already put my funds in Fidelity, I would have deposited them elsewhere. I found your customer service severely lacking, with errors that almost cost me the house I planned to purchase. Luckily, after a number of phone calls, I was able to put the close day off by one day. Fidelity needs to be more professional, and followthrough on customer requests. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Very good service, timely access to the IRA funds. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Always helpful when I call. Easy to deal with. Would like to be able to get info on contributions and distributions from all pages without having to go to specific accounts June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by ira & 401k i am very happy with fidelity. you have been very helpful with any issue's i have had. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Service Helpful staff and on-line processes very easy. Thank you so much June 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover IRA I like the convenience of going in every 6 months and making investment changes recommended by Fidelity for my conservative investment theme. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gives me want I want I am interested in owning stocks. The IRA provides the research I need and the trades are fast at a fair price.. I can follow my account at the web site. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and dependable Since I rollover my 401(k) to Fidelity, I have been very satisfied with their services: from staking care of my MRD to exicution of stocks orders. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use I was really amazed when I first called Fidelity and realized how easy it was to establish my Individual IRA account and rollover from my previous employers 401(k). Since then I have found the website and services very easy to use ! June 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not so good. Trades are expensive and the software is not the best. I will likely be switching to a lower cost brokerage. Also the interface isn't intuitive. Switching windows is a pain and it's not clear where things are. Again I'll probably be switching soon. June 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Major Missed Opportunity Fidelity manages current account at work. Wanted to roll over two different accounts into Fidelity from elsewhere. Filled out papers appropriately and fully to allow transaction to occur. Spoke with very friendly and high energy individual who assured my needs would be met and instructions to transfer and then sell convert to cash allowing new construction of approach and investment. This was to follow discussions and advise. Part of transfer was made. No changes were implemented and rest of my IRA still sits elsewhere. Very unhappy and in fact surprised with lack of effort to do anything. No confidence in Fidelity for supporting any of my interests or needs at all. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easily Understandable Clicking on links inside the account bring up new windows in a flash. Also, details on the pages are as concise as needed and lend no confusion. June 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by comment I do not understand why canadian holdings in my portfolio are not priced during the day. I know you have the info because I can lookup the stock symbol and get a current price Surely with the talent I KNOW you have in IT this would not be a big deal. Your site is full of ifo but is a little cumbersome to navigate. I sometimes go to yahoo fin. just for convenience. You asked, so there it is. June 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Communication lacking. You send me emails but I cannot email acct mgr to set up mtg or phone call. Actually communication score is 2 of 5.. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good tools for a DIY person Fidelity provides me with all the tools I need to manage my rollover IRA, and I use those tools to support one of my maxims in life which is to be self-reliant (on just about everything). With that being said I am completely satisfied with the products and service, and do a fair amount of research at my own pace, and make 100% of my own investment decisions. Because I am self-reliant I use the resources on the website to make my decisions and will not use any additional outside help. If Fidelity tries to communicate with me and I don't respond it doesn’t mean I am unhappy. It means I am not looking for any additional help at this time. June 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by xxxxx You are ok. You do nothing special that others don't do. You are just one of many June 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average I don't know anything about investing and depend on Fidelity to take care of me. I haven't heard anything from my broker since I consolidated my accounts, but to be fair, I don't know what I would expect him to say since I had the same experience with my previous company. June 13, 2012
  • 2015-05-21T11:42:38.150-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_614, tr_614
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 21 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560620.11.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037