• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

Ready to roll over your old 401(k) to an IRA?

We'll guide you step-by-step—from opening your new IRA to moving and investing your money.

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace plan 

Learn more about the Fidelity Rollover IRA

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options.
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 711 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rollover-Sort of Rolling over an IRA from a previous employer to the Fidelity account was easy and convenient. However, once I had rolled the funds into Fidelity, I discovered the options for investing the funds were "limited". Let me explain. I wanted to invest portions of the funds into 3 or 4 different mutual funds. However, they weren't "Fidelity funds" and thus carried what I perceived to a steep penalty to invest outside the Fidelity family of funds. I don't consider that to be the depth of service you would expect from Fidelity. That's especially true as in total, I have nearly $400K invested with Fidelity. June 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never ending loop Just wanted to roll my money out of this account and you would not believe all the hoops I had to jump through to accomplish this, not to mention the pointless 50 minute phone call that simply wasted my time. Don't call and ask a customer service rep to help you because they clearly cannot, although they were polite. That is the best thing I have to say about the whole experience March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I know more than I thought! Your help has been so easy and fun! I can make changes and understand the process very well. February 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by selling for IRA Dist. Would like to sell and transfer to joint account, without transfer selling to money market and than transfering to joint account February 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Systems Recent enhancements are nice but basic system problems are bothersome. EFT's are 15-minute delayed while stocks are real-time. Advanced charts are slow and the IE "display mixed content" pop-up box is stupid; it's a chart, not any private information. There is no way to get back to Portfolio Research from Latest News without an error that requires "Refresh". Why do I have to use Adobe to participate in web information sessions? Why aren't there streaming quotes while you are trading? I have told Fidelity and sent queries many times regarding but nothing has been done. February 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Review Outstanding customer service. Returns are up to individual risk. Overall, great people to deal with. February 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and simple Upon retirement, my wife and I consolidated our 401k's Into the Fidelity Rollover IRA. We have easy and quick online access to our funds, reports and helpful investment news if we choose to take advantage of it. February 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by NESTEGG Had this account in various forms for thirty years, with no complaints. Definitely a keeper. January 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover with confidence I rolled over my 401k with confidence and knowledge of security. The people at Fidelity were very helpful and friendly. I visited the local location and called the phone associates and all were great. January 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slow to process Fidelity returned the paperwork to the bank I was transferring the IRA to twice, delaying about a month the transaction. They could have done a wire transfer near the end, when thing had gone so poorly but did not. They could have phoned,emailed or contacted me to resolve any issues with the bank, instead they just wasted tons of time sending the package back in the mail, twice. From my complaint Fidelity did assist me with some lost interest from their delays. January 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good analytical tool Provides good tool for retirement planning and forecasting. It needs to be expanded to update and include non-Fidelity portfolio value dynamiccally. January 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cost effective and flexible Keep you costs low and offer all financial options. Fidelity's research is sometimes cumbersome. Yahoo Finance is quicker. I trust you. January 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Informative and Navigable Moving from a workplace 401(k) to a Fidelity rollover IRA was an easy process. The workplace 401(k) had recently added brokerage service that made me familiar with navigating the Fidelity website. This feature in addition to the wonderful research tools is the reason I chose Fidelity when I chose to rollover my account. The IRA gives me complete freedom to manage my investments. At the same time I have consulted with knowledgeable Fidelity team members who have quickly answered questions and offered guidance on withdrawals and other tools. January 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by No problems I am very satisfied with the IRA at Fidelity. I have plenty of investment options and the support of helpful associates to make sound decisions. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comments re my Rollover IRA Telephone service and counter service at local office is excellent. I utilize internet for most matters regardung my accounr, but do appreciate mailed monthly statements and hope the are not discontinued. I suggest that routine correspondence could be done on E-mail. January 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and simple fine other than not being able to trade spreads. Dont see why it is limited. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by IN THE WILD BLUE YONDER! As we travel we depend upon a network of persons and institutions to guide us and keep us safe. With our retirement we have depended upon Fidelity to provide us with reliable information an services. Our trust has been fully honored. THANK YOU! January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by On Track I have been very please with Fidelity and my advisor. He is always there when I have questions. January 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not my first choice I rolled over a 401k account to Fidelity just out of convenience since that is who the employer used. I've done this with 2 401k funds and also have a brokerage account since a third employer decided to switch agents for their stock program. No one from Fidelity ever calls me about my accounts; no one offers advice or guidance. They take your money and see you later. I have a pretty sizable overall portfolio most of which is with another provider who has actually taken the time to get to know me as a person and to understand my financial goals and needs. As soon as all the stock awards have vested, I will consolidate all of my holdings with another provider, not Fidelity. January 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by User friendly The thing I like best is the ease of use. I can easily research, change investments, or withdraw funds. January 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by poor recommendations i receive very little guidance from my representative. I need to find my own investments! January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great online tools, low cost Fidelity has been great from the start (1990 for me) and you have made continuous improvements over time. Great online tools, fast and low cost transactions. You have added investment products over time. Have attended several of your live and online seminars and they are very helpful. On the rare occasions when I have needed to talk to a Fidelity person, they have been very knowledgable and helpful. January 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use! The web access is very intuitive and user friendly. January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Security I never worry about Fidelity holding my funds. Great trading platform with Active Trader Pro, great support from the Atlanta team. January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by good stuff I like the easy access from website and good support from executive account team January 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better Stock Charts Needed I like to put stop losses based on support levels and moving averages. It would be nice if your charting program were a little more sophisticated so that I don't have to go back and forth checking with the free Yahoo Finance charts. January 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Feature Our account rep quickly directed us on how to streamline our investments. We are quite happy with our single sign on view of our accounts January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by investment diversity I need to involve my team at Fidelity more than I do now to achieve investments which involve energy and other emerging markets January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by happy camper Felt I got good guidence from my advisor, everyone I have contacted has been intelligent, helpful and nice. And I trust Fidelity more than other firms I've dealt with. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Seattle jan 25 Fidelity representative has provided detailed, timely information and met all timing obligations. His personality and professionalism make it easy to conduct business. The customer service team has been there to answer special questions regarding both the rollover and adding additional monies currently held at other locations. The rollover process was conducted seamlessly. January 24, 2013
  • 2016-02-10 T10:25:34.016-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_711, tr_711
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 24 next>>
007
5508tridion

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
Guidance provided is educational.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
559548.12.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037

close

Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?