• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

Ready to roll over your old 401(k) to an IRA?

We'll guide you step-by-step—from opening your new IRA to moving and investing your money.

Learn more about the Fidelity Rollover IRA

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options.
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 641 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and clear communications Thanks for making this easy and simple to do. One simple discussion and the transaction was done. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by SMOOTH TRANSACTION This was a very smooth and easy transaction. The Fidelity representatives I dealt with were all very professional and knowledgeable. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr Fidelity was an excellant choice for my IRA rollover January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by within my needs and expectations I interact with my fidelity advisor at least every 3-6 months to discuss my present investments and possible alternate directions. We also discuss the above as related to the federal and economic expected directions so as to optimize my portfolio. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and great customer service Customer service is always great and the people are so nice to me each time call and has always had an answer to my question. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stable and Informative Easy to access, work with and understand. Multiple useful web pages and good functionality. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by as expected We expected more than adequate service from Fidelity and they have reached our expectations. Contact has always been quick and questions handled courteously and competently. We will continue our association with Fidelity in the future. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Organized My IRA has been with Fidelity over the past eighteen years, and during that time my overall experience with the account, the services Fidelity provides, and its representatives, has been excellent. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service & Accurate Record Keeping I have had an Fidelity IRA for years and have had excellent service. I would like to go back to the original way of tracking position costs for mutual funds. Including dividends and interest as part of the cost in a tax free account does not reflect my true cost to judge performance. Other than that, this has been an excellent account. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by use easy to use and the investment choices are many. I love it. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure,quick,easy As in other years,this years minimum required distribution was handled with minimum inconvenience to me. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA I am happy with my rollover IRA and feel that the account managers that I have been assigned have been helpful and made good suggestions for me. Possibly one of them was not completely in sync with me but he was not really wrong I just did not feel comfortable with him. I try not to meddle on a daily basis with my accounts. When I have a question I contact my account manager and he helps me with making decisions. Since I am not a sophisciated investor I rely on your counsel and it has not steered me wrong, at least not that I am aware of. The only suggestion that I might have is that if you are aware of the fact that I am in a fund that is underperfoming or not one to keep I would appreciate knowing that. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My accounts All services provided to me were excellent. I don't have any improvement comment. Thank you and keep up with the good work. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple I've enjoyed the simplicity of my account, as I have kept complete investment control. I've gained by having a Fidelity representative who appears to have interest in my account and investment choices. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Accessible from most anywhere & reliable Following regarding my IRA Account: Greatly appreciate receiving a mailed statement for each distribution that was sent directly to various charities, at my direction. Also, appreciate having a "brick & mortar" location near me. Would like to have available a summary of distributions on 1 page of each distribution and who it was distributed to, by date during that year. Appreciate the availability of Investment Research information. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by good place for self-managed IRA Fidelity offers an excellent web site and an unmatched number of investment choices to manage my IRA. I am always looking for lower fees and they do an adequate job in that area. I grew up using mutual funds, but may have to switch to ETF's if Fidelity doesn't do more to match the low fees and instant redemptions. Fidelity has made it easy to use the computer at home to manage my investments. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Review I do a lot of account/fund research so it's helpful for me to know how much each of my funds were worth on a given day in the past. I have had my retirement money at other companies in the past that allowed me to key in a date, and view my fund performance through that day. I would really like to have this historical data made available to me. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased except for Customer Service I am exceptionally pleased with Fidelity's services. I recently changed account representatives and felt my former rep was much more responsive and involved in my account January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review Rollover IRA I like that I have the freedom to review, change, buy, sell as I wish, but when I need help, a customer representative is always available. They are always very courteous and talk at a level that even the novilice understands. January 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by not user friendly or customer oriented I was encouraged, practically hounded, to seek personal help at a Fidelity service center when rolling over my 401k to an IRA and choosing my investments. I received NO help choosing my investments as promised because I did not choose to have a managed account. I thought this was all a waste of time and very misleading. I made all of my own choices and I hope they were the right ones. Now I am trying to figure out how to move investments around and buy stock with my core account. Questions to Fidelity still send me to printed answers. September 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service Fidelity provides a great service. My account is easy to access and easy to make changes. The statements straightforward and easy to understand. There are many added features. July 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Kapusta Happy with the service and the value. Could use some help regarding conversion to a Roth IRA. July 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Satisfied with one exception. The IRA does not allow for dividends to be paid out automatically. I must do this manually, though electronic funds transfers are simple. July 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rating NO ONE THERE KNOWS WHAT THEY ARE DOING. AS SOON AS THINGS ARE SETTLED I AM MOVING ALL MY FUNDS TO ANOTHER COMPANY. LOST PAPERS, NO COMMUNICATION, HOLD TIME ON THE PHONE. I DON'T HAVE ONE GOOD THING TO SAY ABOUT FIDELITY... June 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy Peezy I'd left some money in the 401K at my old job in Pensacola-- Fidelity representatives walked me through the process of lumping back into my present IRA... they made it real simple, sent me the forms and in about a week it was a done deal. June 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenience Our Fidelity Account Executive handled the entire conversion of a 403B to an IRA. She contacted the Fidelity central location for such conversions, our information was exchanged over the phone with the representative, and the transaction was completed in her office. It could not have been more convenient. June 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost 20 years w/Fidelity I started my investment relationship back in 1993 through my employer and then did a rollover from that account to an IRA. I have been pleased with your handling of these funds, although I did take some of the funds from here to diversify since I'm afraid of having all my "eggs in one basket." June 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Why did I wait so long? Three years after I left my last employer I finally decided to roll over my 401k to an IRA. Fidelity made it easy. When I had a question they were just a phone call away with the answer. They also put me in touch with a local Fidelity advisor who helped even further. Thank you Fidelity. June 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reliable and Informative I find that my rollover IRA managed by Fidelity is secure and I can obtain information at any time related to my accounts. I trust the information regarding stocks that Fidelity gives me. All of my money is still in the tax deferred status. June 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Review I can say that the service is convenient. I can look at my account whenever I please. Customer service is very helpful in trying to answer questions and concerns. Offering information on other services is continual. Receiving e-mails on updates offered is excellent. Keeping in touch with customers increases confidence in the company. June 15, 2012
  • 2015-07-30T12:41:18.447-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_641, tr_641
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 22 next>>
007
5508tridion

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
559548.11.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037

close

Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?