• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes rolling over an old retirement savings plan from a former employer easy for you. Our tax-deferred account can help you invest for growth or income.

Account features

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
007
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 563 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good service and concealing I've been with Fidelity for a long time and I think that says it all. Everytime I needed clarification and help I have got it right away. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable Very satisfied. I have had my account for about 6 years. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need YTD summary for Fidelity iPhone App Overall, good, but lacks a YTD summary, the way other Fidelity accounts have. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by my ira the service that I have received from fidelity over the past 20 years has been more than I can ask of a financial company.I thank you June 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by IPOs Good and Bad I appreciate the opportunity to take advantage of IPO based on my account balance, but it is very obvious Fidelity caters to the higher valued clients first with IPO offerings. IPO opportunities are one of the main reasons I am with Fidelity. Based on recent experiences with IPOs, the value of staying with Fidelity has diminished. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity IRA - Easy to use It's easy to use. Loads quickly and is easy to navigate! June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure I have been using Fidelity for over 10 years.Good company. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Off line service staff Your online/phone staff is very good. However, I had the misfortune to deal with one of your in house representatives here in the Woodlands Texas. His service was horrible. If I had not been getting good service from you on line/phone staff I would have moved my account. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Investment Product Ease of transfer is very good. I'd like to have an agent call me to discuss the products that I can invest my IRA. My IRA is currently sitting idle and I need to invest it. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Warehouse/CPE Clerk Everyone was very helpful to me that made this transaction so easy. I am proud to part of Fidelity. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Keep Up the Good Work! Everything has been fine with Fidelity. Especially appreciate the main website and how I can easily find everything about my account status. Thanks, Jennifer June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by rollover The Fidelity representative was very helpful. He made the arrangements for a rollover and partial disbursement of the account. June 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by secure & reliablel As I notified someone at your branch in Brea, my husband George Sargeant passed away on May 2, 2012. One day soon I need to get together with someone at your office to go over what all is in this account, he always took care of this and he died very suddenly of cancer. Winnie Sargeant, wife of George Sargeant June 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by large selection of fund and low costs Like Fidelity for its low costs which is a must for me as a investor. Good managers on most funds. But I miss the INVESTORS QUARTERLY that we use to get, had many interesting articles in it. Can we get it back? June 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It works I find the UI for Fidelity.com to be somewhat cumbersome and confusing, and the menu selections unintuitive. The account itself, the investment choices are all adequate and get the job done. June 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr Kenneth W. Applegate I always reach helpful Fidelity personnel that answer all my questions and concerns. It is the best investment company I have ever delt with. I recommend your service to all my friends. June 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Secure and dependable. I feel like I have no relationship with Fidelity like I have with my bank. Although I have money in an account and have made several calls no one seems to get back with me even after hearing the person I first met when I completed my rollover was no longer with the company. The TV ads are great but I don't feel what I see on TV is what is being delivered. June 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service good service great call help when a question is asked like the folks who answer and solve any problems encountered June 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Like the new format trades are fast and accurate. Cust service is as good as it has to be. Haven't had any issues myself but the Tampa office could use some senitiviity (sp) training. Not the lad at the reception desk but some of the back office types. June 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nothing Special Account is nothing special. While easy to access, difficult to talk with someone or get help with the research section to understand the data for a given mutual fund or stock. June 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover IRA It would be good to offer reminders once in awhile about the easiest ways to make a move (either trade, buy or sell) on a held stock or fund where indviduals view their personal holdings on your website. June 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by secure and reliable i very much like the convenience, the ability to look up a fund or stock and read about it as the market is happening, you guys put alot of work into research and provide the tools to work with June 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent service Find your investment advisors knowledgeable and eager to help. June 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fidelity Premium Service?? Attempts to coordinate a portfolio review with a Fidelity representative have yielded discouraging results despite leaving messages for a call back and a request for follow up. As a Fidelity Premium Services client, this has been dissapointing. If I was not so busy with work, I would take the time to find an alternate IRA account holder. I even called to confirm an appointment, and before I left my office to come to the appointment, I had called to confirm, and there was no record of having this appointment and could not contact the local office directly, except via a central number who could not give me the information I needed to speak directly to the person I had an appointment with. The lines at the local office were not available, and I did not receive a return call back June 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by deceptive sales practices After significant hype and sales pressure, I moved some of my 401K into an IRA Rollover. Then Fidelity increased the fees charged on the rollover accounts but created lower fee structures for the 401 K that I was using. When I asked to return the amount moved, back to my 401 K it was denied. So now I'm stuck with paying your higher user fees on what I moved to the IRA rollover. I'm thankful that I only moved a part of my 401 portfolio. June 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Good I am secure with the choices that I have made with Fidelity. June 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to use and good research I like the research options that Fidelity provides but I would like more clarity around the total expenses of the different funds that are available. June 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Could be better If you have an account in excess of 250,000 active trader pro should be part of the package. June 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Soloff IRA review I am very happy with Fidelity. I find the online features to be very helpful. June 11, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA feedbaxk We have found the online tools and phone support have been very good. Easy to use and easy to develop the reports i need. Transactions are also easy to complete June 11, 2012
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 19 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560620.10.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037