• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Get started now


Already have a Fidelity IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace planLog In Required

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 758 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by secure and reliable I trust Fidelity. MY IRA is available to me anytime. I am able to completely manage my own account. Fidelity's brokerage service is very responsive. When I do personally contact customer service the people I work with are very helpful and easy to talk with, and knowledgeable. Fidelity keeps finding new ways to make capital allocation secure and easy. Most inportant...I TRUST FIDELITY. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Couldn't be happier Not sure why you would choose any other provider. Fidelity has it all and gives you the tools to manage your account with confidence. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the website I have a 401k, IRA, and money market account with Fidelity. Love the website; well managed, easy to navigate. Would like to see more informative economic analysis. Thanks! June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by June 2013 Review It would be more convenient to me if there was an option on to see the annuallized percentage gain/loss of my individual holdings in addition too the existing "gain since purchased" info. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA I'm very happy that I converted my 401(k) to a Rollover IRA at Fidelity upon my retirement. June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid online resource The website is easy to use. The fees are reasonable if you make your own investment decisions. June 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flexibility I have a wide range of choices in funds and ETF's at very low costs. I also have the convenience of making transactions and analysis using the internet. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ms. I am a Fidelity client for many years and I am glad I choose Fidelity . Thank you for making the financial part of my life easy. . June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity A good company offering a large selection of investment options. Easy to do business with having excellent customer servide June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy track but could use some better metrics. For the most part I am very happy with rolling over our IRA's and 401-ks to Fidelity. I am extremely pleased with the customer service and the two account representatives we have had. I have in the past in responding to surveys pointed out that I would love to have a report that would allow me to see what my dividend rate is for dividend stocks we have in our portfolio based on our acquisition costs and the current dividend (whether dividend is the same as when stock originally purchased, or whether the dividend has gone up or down since purchase.) Such a report would take a lot of tracking off my shoulders and would be invaluable to those of us who purchase dividend stocks. For example if a dividend is reduced the return could go from 10% to 7% based upon the original purchase price of the stock. But based upon the underlying strength of the company a 7% return still might be worth sticking with. In any case this is the third time I have mentioned this with out any followup from Fidelity. I however will take responsibility for not following up with customer service about this. Over all this would not cause me to leave Fidelity. June 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Poor Experience Yesterday I wanted to move money from my Fidelity IRA to a Fidelity Time Warner 401k, a procedure I have done before. I was told that a form would be mailed to me in 1 week to 10 days, then after I had mailed the form back, I would be mailed a check which I would then mail to TW. The procedure would take several weeks, evidently. All this in an age if milliseconds trading! The Pony Express delivered letters faster than I am able to move my funds around. Not acceptable. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trustworthy Fidelity makes investing interesting because if its friendly and reliable service. June 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by IRA - missed opportunities The initial rollover was a pretty simple transaction. Where Fidelity was lacking is the interaction with the agent that assisted me. There was no help offered with regards to how to reinvest the money, or the steps that would be required once the account was setup. It sat for a few months until I was speaking to my father in-law about it and we went on-line to look into it. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Port Review Would like to have a longer password to log on to my account so that I could use the same scheme as I use on my other secure sites. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Innovative Approach My wife and I have used your services for years. I know you publish your percentage fees you charge for your funds. Why not be the first to actually write the dollar amount charges per fund on your monthly statement. Perhaps the industry might sit up and take notice. It's as competitive as ever, why not be innovative? June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Making it last Because my account is self directed I do not hear from Fidelity proactively. However, when I do call I get prompt responses although advice is not dispensed. Just reinforcement of my opinions. June 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Satisfied There were many offers to rollover 401K's into a Fidelty IRA so I did and never received my bonus. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Value and Easy I have friends that have taken months to execute a rollover this just does not happen at Fidelity. Additionally, the fees are very reasonable. The only problem I do have is that if I place an order it is sometimes broken into multiple orders costing me additional fees. June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by No personal rate of return? I am really annoyed that the IRA does not provide a personalized rate of return. My accounted originated with my former employer, as a 401(k), and I rolled the balance into this IRA when I left there. When I contacted customer service about the missing feature, it was explained that, essentially, that was a premium feature. I can appreciate that Fidelity is in the business of making money, but I do think this particular item is a poor choice. The incremental cost surely is negligible to you, but would be of great value to your customers, and perhaps better engage them with your product. I'm otherwise satisfied with the product, but will certainly entertain (favorably) a similar product that includes the rate of return feature. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover account The staff at Fidelity made the process of my rollover very easy. They were so helpful and kept me informed along the way. June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by My opinon Excellent access, online help when needed or wanted. Reminders come timely. Easy to setup and adjust if necessary. June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by expediency It seems to take a long time to receive a check when making a withdrawal from my IRA. My last withdrawal took about l week. I don't understand why it can't be an almost immediate transfer of funds. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Choices The Fidelity rollover IRA is a good place to place for me to place the money from an old 401K plan. It offers me lots of investment choices including a good number of both Fidelity and non-Fidelity mutual funds or the ability to invest in individual stocks if I choose. This gives me plenty of options to suit my investment style. June 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Satisfied Plus From day one with the professional help I reieved at Fidelity in order to avoid any legal tax problems to the smooth transition to my current stage of MRD. The tools available for balancing my account as I have moved along the age spectrum have all been first class. I have recomended to family and friends that they could not beat the Rollover Services supplied by Fidelity. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Excellent website with multiple investing tools, good selection of mutual funds to choose from, very good customer support when needed June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent funds availability Offers excellent no load funds from wide variety of providers. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient I wish to make my own decisions on the investments, and this IRA allows me to do that in a very convenient manner. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE LOVE LOVE MAKE IT EASIER TO RESEARCH DETAILS ABOUT LONG AGO STOCK EXECUTIONS: UNLESS I DO NOT DO IT CORRECTLY. I USE TRADE SEARCH FUNCTION AND IT DOESN'T SHOW ME STOCK DETAILS OF WHAT I DID... June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mrs Efficient enrollment process and good customer service. I would like to see more financial planning to low risk investment tools. June 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Rollover IRA Convenience in managing your account from home (with a secure source), when you need to perform a transaction outside the normal business hours. June 25, 2013
  • 2016-05-23 T12:32:59.497-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_758, tr_758
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 26 next>>
007
5508tridion

More information

1. For a Rollover IRA, full deductibility of a contribution for 2015 is available to active participants whose 2015 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $183,000 for 2015; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $193,000. For 2016 full deductibility of a contribution is available to active participants whose 2016 Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) is $98,000 or less (joint) and $61,000 or less (single); partial deductibility for MAGI up to $118,000 (joint) and $71,000 (single). In addition, full deductibility of a contribution is available for working or nonworking spouses who are not covered by an employer-sponsored plan whose MAGI is less than $184,000 for 2016; partial deductibility for MAGI up to $194,000.
$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.
Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
Guidance provided is educational.
Before investing, consider the funds' investment objectives, risks, charges, and expenses. Contact Fidelity for a prospectus or, if available, a summary prospectus containing this information. Read it carefully.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
559548.13.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037

close

Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?