• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

Ready to roll over your old 401(k) to an IRA?

We'll guide you step-by-step—from opening your new IRA to moving and investing your money.

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace plan

Learn more about the Fidelity Rollover IRA

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options.
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 651 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Account Owner Roll over was much smoother than i expected. Thanks January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Useful and reliable I've been rolling over my company 401K's into a Fidelity IRA for many years. The website has excellent tools to estimate retirement needs and forecasting. It is a convenient and secure place for my investments and I hope it continues to be so. It also allows flexibility in investment products by offering non-Fidelity funds. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greater personal control with increased flexibility I have not changed jobs or retired. However, I did reach a magical age where I could transfer my 401K funds to a self-directed IRA with no adverse tax consequence. The reason I moved my investments was to gain greater personal control and flexibility. My company's 401K was rather limiting in selection and my self-directed IRA had the mutual funds that I desired. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feedback to Fidelity Would like to see YTD rate of return updated daily. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good I am meeting with a rep in Ann Arbor, Mi. on this coming Monday to completely review my all investments. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and Great Customer Service Wanted to transfer 'pre-tax' contributions from former employer 401K plan with minima/no tax consequences. Advisor explained I could 'roll-over' tax-free the earnings portion on pre-tax contributions to a roll-over IRA. All was very easy to understand and quickly accomplished January 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Lost to follow-up. Trying too hard to get me switched into an account with fees January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great cost seem low, info and guidance is great, and overall i'm very satisfied January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great customer service I have always been impressed with the customer service I have received when I have called with a question or issue. I have also been in the Braintree and Boston (Financial District) Offices and received excellent service there also. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lacks personal contact I have a severe hearing problem, so telephone conferencing is not good for me. Why is there not an office in fort Myers I can stop in at and discuss things on a one on one basis, without having to drive to Naples for such a conference!!! January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and clear communications Thanks for making this easy and simple to do. One simple discussion and the transaction was done. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by SMOOTH TRANSACTION This was a very smooth and easy transaction. The Fidelity representatives I dealt with were all very professional and knowledgeable. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr Fidelity was an excellant choice for my IRA rollover January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by within my needs and expectations I interact with my fidelity advisor at least every 3-6 months to discuss my present investments and possible alternate directions. We also discuss the above as related to the federal and economic expected directions so as to optimize my portfolio. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and great customer service Customer service is always great and the people are so nice to me each time call and has always had an answer to my question. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stable and Informative Easy to access, work with and understand. Multiple useful web pages and good functionality. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by as expected We expected more than adequate service from Fidelity and they have reached our expectations. Contact has always been quick and questions handled courteously and competently. We will continue our association with Fidelity in the future. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well Organized My IRA has been with Fidelity over the past eighteen years, and during that time my overall experience with the account, the services Fidelity provides, and its representatives, has been excellent. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Service & Accurate Record Keeping I have had an Fidelity IRA for years and have had excellent service. I would like to go back to the original way of tracking position costs for mutual funds. Including dividends and interest as part of the cost in a tax free account does not reflect my true cost to judge performance. Other than that, this has been an excellent account. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by use easy to use and the investment choices are many. I love it. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure,quick,easy As in other years,this years minimum required distribution was handled with minimum inconvenience to me. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by IRA I am happy with my rollover IRA and feel that the account managers that I have been assigned have been helpful and made good suggestions for me. Possibly one of them was not completely in sync with me but he was not really wrong I just did not feel comfortable with him. I try not to meddle on a daily basis with my accounts. When I have a question I contact my account manager and he helps me with making decisions. Since I am not a sophisciated investor I rely on your counsel and it has not steered me wrong, at least not that I am aware of. The only suggestion that I might have is that if you are aware of the fact that I am in a fund that is underperfoming or not one to keep I would appreciate knowing that. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My accounts All services provided to me were excellent. I don't have any improvement comment. Thank you and keep up with the good work. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Simple I've enjoyed the simplicity of my account, as I have kept complete investment control. I've gained by having a Fidelity representative who appears to have interest in my account and investment choices. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Accessible from most anywhere & reliable Following regarding my IRA Account: Greatly appreciate receiving a mailed statement for each distribution that was sent directly to various charities, at my direction. Also, appreciate having a "brick & mortar" location near me. Would like to have available a summary of distributions on 1 page of each distribution and who it was distributed to, by date during that year. Appreciate the availability of Investment Research information. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by good place for self-managed IRA Fidelity offers an excellent web site and an unmatched number of investment choices to manage my IRA. I am always looking for lower fees and they do an adequate job in that area. I grew up using mutual funds, but may have to switch to ETF's if Fidelity doesn't do more to match the low fees and instant redemptions. Fidelity has made it easy to use the computer at home to manage my investments. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Review I do a lot of account/fund research so it's helpful for me to know how much each of my funds were worth on a given day in the past. I have had my retirement money at other companies in the past that allowed me to key in a date, and view my fund performance through that day. I would really like to have this historical data made available to me. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleased except for Customer Service I am exceptionally pleased with Fidelity's services. I recently changed account representatives and felt my former rep was much more responsive and involved in my account January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review Rollover IRA I like that I have the freedom to review, change, buy, sell as I wish, but when I need help, a customer representative is always available. They are always very courteous and talk at a level that even the novilice understands. January 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by not user friendly or customer oriented I was encouraged, practically hounded, to seek personal help at a Fidelity service center when rolling over my 401k to an IRA and choosing my investments. I received NO help choosing my investments as promised because I did not choose to have a managed account. I thought this was all a waste of time and very misleading. I made all of my own choices and I hope they were the right ones. Now I am trying to figure out how to move investments around and buy stock with my core account. Questions to Fidelity still send me to printed answers. September 17, 2012
  • 2015-08-28T10:32:39.535-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_651, tr_651
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 22 next>>
007
5508tridion

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
559548.11.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037

close

Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?