401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?


Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 791 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Create Roll Over IRA Very straight forward to create Traditional IRA including beneficiary designation. Took about 20 minutes. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Service I have received excellent on-on-one, telephone and Web site service during the 8 years I've been with Fidelity. There are excellent reviews and various status reports that are very helpful. I do everything on line including statements without any problems. Many thanks Fidelity. August 15, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horribly stuck in the 80s Tried to transfer from a Fidelity 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA. First: You cannot do this on your own; you must call and request a form that they will mail or charge you $20 for express mail. Never heard of Adobe Acrobat? Second, they will offer to use FAX, which personally I haven't had access to since the 90s. Seriously. Third, if consent from a spouse is needed, you need that signed and a notary public to stamp. Yes, it's officially not 2013 anymore, we've regressed that far. Fourth, they will put a short-term expiry on the distribution request. So now try and get spouse to sign in front of a notary in a short window and do that with 2 kids and both parents working and still waiting for form to arrive eats into that time. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Standard Functions as expected but have no expierence at other firms. July 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it It is ideal for Roll Over individuals and I like the investment option July 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Pretty much hassle-free. Commission rate is wonderful. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe and easy The rollover was easy. The fees are great. The education options are great and the support staff is wonderful. July 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but missing a few mobile conveniences I like Fidelity a lot but would like to see the mobile apps include trading options for other than stocks and ETFs, and include extended hours trading options. I much prefer iPad access to my accounts but limited functionality reduces my ability to manage my account easily. I suffer from a vision impairment and the iPad is much easier to see than my laptop. While I can access Fidelity via Safari and get full functionality, an enhanced mobile app would be very favorably received July 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by User friendly site My relationship account representive is very knowledgeable and knows my objectives. She reviews my allocation with those objctives in mind and keeps me on track. The volatility of the market urges me to be over-racting and she keeps me grounded on the goal. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by RET rvw Very happy with the Rollover IRA from Fidelity. No negatives at all. My Fidelity rep made the entire rollover process simple and quick. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by In Hindsight While I was building my IRA, I was happy that it was tax exempt. Now that I have been retired for a dozen years, I wish I didn't owe so much of it to the IRS.. I started transferring some to a Roth last year but I wish I had started sooner. July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollovers I am happy with my rollovers, but was not aware that if you roll them over, you can't take early withdrawals at age 55 without penalties. If money is left in 401K, you can. I am presently looking at more simplification and consolidation to allow me to have fewer funds, mostly ETFs and no load Index funds, it would make it easier to manage and understand. I have more than 25 funds and would like to have 6 to 10. July 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mr. Klarer Overall I am quite satisfied with Fidelity. Your transactions are executed with excellent speed & statements are always accurate. I remember 1970: when we would sit in the brokerage office and watch the ticker tape, and place buy & sell orders by phone. Back then we sometimes took possession of the stock certificates. The times & processes have changed so much since, to the benefit of both institutions & small investors July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good but not entirely accurate All of the important pieces are there. My biggest objection is the rounding errors caused by limiting amounts to three places after the decimal instead of four. I don't feel comfortable when the numbers don't add up the way they should. June 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by No Complaints Nice solid program to manage my rollover 401k from a prior employer. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trusted Investment Provider The Fidelity Brand represents trust. I believe that both the organization and all of its representatives embody this core value. Services and advise are given in the long term best interest of customers. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only one thing wrong I wish someone had reminded me that I should have used all my cash money outside my IRA's before taking the money out of my tax differed funds. That comment would have changed my approach entirely. June 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by secure & independant It serves my purpose, without a lot of pushy marketing of products. June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and Reliable Your people is very helpful, The persons that I talked with they had a lots of knowledge and willing to work with you in order to get the right investment. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer friendly I manage my own account and find the Fidelity team always courteous and most helpful. appreciate the ability to know each day the status and love the ease of trading on line. Recently transferred stock certificates to a joint account and a difficult task was made easy with specia forms and advice. Thanks. Ben Moore June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by simple and easy I really like the access to research tools and ideas. The website is very easy to navigate and trade costs are great. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best borkerage service I cannot say enough good about fidelity they are allways their for you with good sound advice and also no pressure to do anything .It is up to you you make the final choice on what you want to do . June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by reliable customer service The customer service has been excellent since my first contact with Fidelity. No fluff; just facts. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smooth as silk I have no complaints and no suggestions so, please just continue as is. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by More videos needed and in local branches classes I love all of the info that is on the Fidelity site. However, I would like to see more videos for us not so bright investors that don't really know what we are doing! Even though most of us try to make educated decisions a video for me is much more user friendly. If you would bring back classes into your local branches that would help as well. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by MY RETIREMENT I HAVE AN EXCELLENT SELECTION OF FUNDS WITH GOOD DIVERSITY. I PREFER INDEX FUNDS AS TO KEEP EXPENSES DOWN. I LIKE THE INFO AND GUIDANCE I RECEIVE FROM MY ACCOUNT MGR. June 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Tracking Capability I have requested many times to have the ability to track visually my total account value on a daily or other basis. It would be great if I could also SEE my dividends all grouped together. Something like what a manager of a Mutual Fund might have since really what I have is my own personal fund of equities. I'm always told that "we value all comments and we want to satisfy all customer request but that may take time. I have seen no effort to satisfy this customer request. I am therefor unsatisfied. Also the one on one consulting services that I got just about a year ago in Portland were almost meaningless to provide any real, helpful advice, direction of managing my investment and future retirement. Very fluffy! -Rich June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by most of the rollover was pretty straightforward I think that with the exception of choosing distribution in shares vs cash, the process was pretty straighforward. June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure I do think of Fidelity with any type of retirement savings and have recommended you often to others. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied I'm very satisfied with the Rollover IRA. Doing everything on line has been very reliable and easy to use. And the price is right. June 28, 2013
  • 2016-07-23 T09:58:15.384-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_791, tr_791
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 27 next>>
007
5508tridion