• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

Ready to roll over your old 401(k) to an IRA?

We'll guide you step-by-step—from opening your new IRA to moving and investing your money.

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?
Let's roll over your old workplace plan 

Learn more about the Fidelity Rollover IRA

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.


10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options.
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Account opening and annual maintenance fees


*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 669 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent employees/service Your company is probably the best on the market including all lines of business. Your employees are the best and knowledgeable. No problems on my part which goes back to 1980. January 24, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Waste of My Time I felt that the rollover was a big waste of my time. Had to go to your office multiple times to verify info and sign forms, which I already did online. January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I WANT ONLINE PERFORMANCE CALCULATORS I like the online accessibility with my IRA, it's easy to access and understand. However, I do not have access to performance calculators (ie YTD, MTD, date range). I messaged a rep and they said it's only available to basically high net worth clients, which I'm aware since I work for a wealth manager. I'm able to see it in my 401K which is custodied by Fidelity's Net Benefits, but I would really like to see it in my regular IRA's as well. Can Fidelity make that happen for it's everyday average Joe clients as well? January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by IRA Rollover Worked like a charm with no issues at all. This is just one of the reasons I use Fidelity for all my investments. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy rollover This was my husbands 401K and Fidelity made it relatively easy to assume his 401K after he died. It's a difficult enough time for me right now, so making these things easy is very important. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ease of access Our Fidelity rollover has worked well for us. Our Fidelity Rep does a great job of answering questions and helping execute transactions. We have a comfortable feeling about our accounts. January 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quality Product, but Missing Rebalance Feature My Fidelity Rollover IRA account has provided the excellence that I would expect with Fidelity in terms of fund selection, customer service and web site quality. However, there is a feature missing that could easily be added. When my funds were on the Fidelity 401K side of the business with my employer, I had some great tools available to rebalance my portfolio (by percentage of holdings or by dollar amount) at intervals I could customize. These tools disappeared once I rolled over the account into the IRA side of the business. Please incorporate those rebalance tools everywhere (even in regular non-retirement accounts) - they are extremely useful tools. Also, Fidelity could have lower management fees for the actively managed funds - for such a large fund company (with such immense buying power), the fees seem a little high. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comprehensive and Complete It took me a while to get used to it as the information was so complete, however that is what makes the pages helpful without so many back and forth efforts. I am anxious to see the new Mutual Fund pages you have coming as I used that investing mode most often January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by quick and easy rolling my IRA into a Fidelity account a number of years ago was easy and allowed me to invest it however I chose January 24, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by inconvenience Why is it that you can not offer a % reallocation scheme when we want to exchange funds in our IRA accounts. Your annuities offer it. Granted, they have a limited choice of funds available but, with computer systems and databases, that should not be an issue at all. As opposed to sell some $ amount and then distribute the amount across other or existing funds you want, offering % reallocation could be much more convenient. January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Customer Keep up the very good work. Keep up the very good work January 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Excellent customer service. Knowledgeable personnel and helpful January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and reliable trade executions are frustratingly slow. even when another site gives that quote. wonder why! January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extensive Investment Choices, online convenience, valuable calculators Good investment choices for my IRA and user-friendly online experience. I find the online applications particularly useful, especially the minimum required distribution calculator since I'm over 70 1/2. I've never had any problems with security and the record keeping is extremely detailed and helpful. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Knowable Have recommend fidelity to all my friend , that should give you a idea on how I feel about fidelity . January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent account access and Quicken support I think Fidelity has best balance of account access, support for Quicken downloads, fairly low fees, good ability to trade and regular newsletters. Account Execs are there if you need them, but do not pester with sales calls. I know where they are if I need them January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 star service I have been managing my account online and find the research tools easy to use. I have met with an adivisor in our local office and find him to be professional and helpful. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Account Owner Roll over was much smoother than i expected. Thanks January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Useful and reliable I've been rolling over my company 401K's into a Fidelity IRA for many years. The website has excellent tools to estimate retirement needs and forecasting. It is a convenient and secure place for my investments and I hope it continues to be so. It also allows flexibility in investment products by offering non-Fidelity funds. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Greater personal control with increased flexibility I have not changed jobs or retired. However, I did reach a magical age where I could transfer my 401K funds to a self-directed IRA with no adverse tax consequence. The reason I moved my investments was to gain greater personal control and flexibility. My company's 401K was rather limiting in selection and my self-directed IRA had the mutual funds that I desired. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Feedback to Fidelity Would like to see YTD rate of return updated daily. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good I am meeting with a rep in Ann Arbor, Mi. on this coming Monday to completely review my all investments. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Secure and Great Customer Service Wanted to transfer 'pre-tax' contributions from former employer 401K plan with minima/no tax consequences. Advisor explained I could 'roll-over' tax-free the earnings portion on pre-tax contributions to a roll-over IRA. All was very easy to understand and quickly accomplished January 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rollover IRA Lost to follow-up. Trying too hard to get me switched into an account with fees January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by great cost seem low, info and guidance is great, and overall i'm very satisfied January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great customer service I have always been impressed with the customer service I have received when I have called with a question or issue. I have also been in the Braintree and Boston (Financial District) Offices and received excellent service there also. January 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lacks personal contact I have a severe hearing problem, so telephone conferencing is not good for me. Why is there not an office in fort Myers I can stop in at and discuss things on a one on one basis, without having to drive to Naples for such a conference!!! January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and clear communications Thanks for making this easy and simple to do. One simple discussion and the transaction was done. January 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by SMOOTH TRANSACTION This was a very smooth and easy transaction. The Fidelity representatives I dealt with were all very professional and knowledgeable. January 23, 2013
  • 2015-10-06T10:50:50.633-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_669, tr_669
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 23 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037


Thank you for choosing the Fidelity Rollover IRA

Don't have an existing Fidelity Rollover IRA?

Already have a Fidelity Rollover IRA or previously started a rollover?