• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes rolling over an old retirement savings plan from a former employer easy for you. Our tax-deferred account can help you invest for growth or income.

Account features

May be
appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer’s workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))

Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Investment options Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Fees

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading fees $7.95 for online U.S. equity trades
007
5508tridion
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 597 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Service Helpful staff and on-line processes very easy. Thank you so much June 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rollover IRA I like the convenience of going in every 6 months and making investment changes recommended by Fidelity for my conservative investment theme. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Gives me want I want I am interested in owning stocks. The IRA provides the research I need and the trades are fast at a fair price.. I can follow my account at the web site. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and dependable Since I rollover my 401(k) to Fidelity, I have been very satisfied with their services: from staking care of my MRD to exicution of stocks orders. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use I was really amazed when I first called Fidelity and realized how easy it was to establish my Individual IRA account and rollover from my previous employers 401(k). Since then I have found the website and services very easy to use ! June 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not so good. Trades are expensive and the software is not the best. I will likely be switching to a lower cost brokerage. Also the interface isn't intuitive. Switching windows is a pain and it's not clear where things are. Again I'll probably be switching soon. June 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Major Missed Opportunity Fidelity manages current account at work. Wanted to roll over two different accounts into Fidelity from elsewhere. Filled out papers appropriately and fully to allow transaction to occur. Spoke with very friendly and high energy individual who assured my needs would be met and instructions to transfer and then sell convert to cash allowing new construction of approach and investment. This was to follow discussions and advise. Part of transfer was made. No changes were implemented and rest of my IRA still sits elsewhere. Very unhappy and in fact surprised with lack of effort to do anything. No confidence in Fidelity for supporting any of my interests or needs at all. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quick and Easily Understandable Clicking on links inside the account bring up new windows in a flash. Also, details on the pages are as concise as needed and lend no confusion. June 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by comment I do not understand why canadian holdings in my portfolio are not priced during the day. I know you have the info because I can lookup the stock symbol and get a current price Surely with the talent I KNOW you have in IT this would not be a big deal. Your site is full of ifo but is a little cumbersome to navigate. I sometimes go to yahoo fin. just for convenience. You asked, so there it is. June 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Communication lacking. You send me emails but I cannot email acct mgr to set up mtg or phone call. Actually communication score is 2 of 5.. June 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good tools for a DIY person Fidelity provides me with all the tools I need to manage my rollover IRA, and I use those tools to support one of my maxims in life which is to be self-reliant (on just about everything). With that being said I am completely satisfied with the products and service, and do a fair amount of research at my own pace, and make 100% of my own investment decisions. Because I am self-reliant I use the resources on the website to make my decisions and will not use any additional outside help. If Fidelity tries to communicate with me and I don't respond it doesn’t mean I am unhappy. It means I am not looking for any additional help at this time. June 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by xxxxx You are ok. You do nothing special that others don't do. You are just one of many June 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average I don't know anything about investing and depend on Fidelity to take care of me. I haven't heard anything from my broker since I consolidated my accounts, but to be fair, I don't know what I would expect him to say since I had the same experience with my previous company. June 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wilson Review My rollover was not accomplished in the most efficient way with my employer and cost me a substantial amount of money due to poor coordination that took place by both parties. June 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Convenient I like the ease of transferring money into the account. I wish there was more guidance on what I should do with my money though. I had to pick and choose my own areas to invest and I would have liked a phone call to give some advise on where to invest. June 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed My overall experience with Fidelity is disappointing. First, the rollover of my 401K in 2011 from my last employer went reasonably well. Fidelity reps were very interested in assisting and promised reimbursement if I would use overnight transfer. This reimbursement did not occur even though I inquired about it several times. Then, I suppose due to the amount in my account, Fidelity assigned a Premium Services rep. I then received numerous and frequent phone calls and emails pressuring me to invest in equities and bonds. When my husband and I decided to move this account because Fidelity money market funds are not insured, we met resistance. I understand followup to find out why an investor would leave, however we did not expect delay tactics. After speaking with Fidelity reps, the transfer form we received was incorrect. Then, we executed a signature guarantee transfer request, this too was denied, directly to our receiving financial institution. Only after more phone calls to Fidelity and a Letter of Acceptance from our financial institution was my IRA transfer effected. Then, it appears that a $50 charge was applied. My husband still has his account for Fidelity for the time being, however, we expected better treatment than this. Deloris Jacobs. June 13, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by No logal representatives Last time I checked, I would have to drive about 200 miles to Chicago to see a Fidelity human being. That leaves me feeling disconnected from the help I need. I don't really like camping on an automated telephone system that tells me how valuable a customer I am while waiting in queue for the next available agent. That's not service. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Rollover IRA I enjoy being able to check my account on line and get tips. The personal phone calls and ability to talk with someone has been an added bonus as I get nearer to retirement. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Info I like the easy to use research and analysis features. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by need more offices I enjoy doing bussness with fidelity , but you need an office in modesto, ca. there is alot of money here you are missing June 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by MikeM IRA I could use more advice about the review and re-distribution of my assets. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good This is new to me, so I didn't know what to expect. So far, my experience has been excellent as far as the service I was given going in, and now the management ability I have online. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very convenient with a broad spectrum of investments Fidelity runs a good wide spectrum of funds and makes another larger group very available for investors. The online service and web site is probably why I have stayed with them. They are not always the least expensive, although the fund prices are reasonably so, and they can be a bit difficult if one wants a specific class of someone elses fund. The convenience and website functions make up for it. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smart Wealth Management I like my Fidelity rollover IRA not only because of its grand total but also because Fidelity's website makes it so easy to slice and dice that grand total. I do my own investing with Fidelity because Fidelity gives me all the tools to use in investment decisions. (The tool I am impressed with the most is the Retirement Income Planner.) I believe (and tell others) that Fidelity has the most user-friendly website in the financial management industry. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to find research I use several trading platforms. I find that Fidelity provides better and more intuitive asset comparisons that the other platforms. There are a few things that could be improved, of course, but overall a good platform. I have also been impressed with Fidelity portfolio planning tools. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great online website and extensive investment options I enjoy using the Fidelity website to review my portfolio. The analysis tools, historical information, and different investment options are pretty easy to review. Fidelity also contimues to process enhancements to the site to increase the options available for viewing data. June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful to the un-initiated Your patience with my questions on my little IRA are very helpful. Just wish I could do more! June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure & reliable Have confidence in Fidelity . I am about to recommend to a friend to do a "Tranfer In Kind" June 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Total $ Change / Activity For The Day I've given this feedback before, but my suggestion still has not been implemented. Before recent changes, Fidelity had information at the bottom of portfolio activity that was labeled "not included in totals" or something to that effect. It was basically, the amount of activity such as mutual funds that reflected the prior days activity. Currently, if you look at a day's activity, you must add mutual funds changes and subtract the change from the total to see the day's "actual" activity change. After the mutual funds update later that evening, the true change for the day is reflected. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by rollover made easy the agent I spoke with was helpful, khowledgable, and very interested with what i wanted to do and understood June 12, 2012
  • 2015-04-25T10:19:35.812-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_597, tr_597
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 20 next>>

More information

$7.95 commission applies to online U.S. equity trades in a Fidelity account with a minimum opening balance of $2,500 for Fidelity Brokerage Services LLC retail clients. Sell orders are subject to an activity assessment fee (of between $0.01 to $0.03 per $1000 of principal). Other conditions may apply. See Fidelity.com/commissions for details.

ETFs are subject to market fluctuation and the risks of their underlying investments. ETFs are subject to management fees and other expenses. Unlike mutual funds, ETF shares are bought and sold at market price, which may be higher or lower than their NAV, and are not individually redeemed from the fund.

Keep in mind that investing involves risk. The value of your investment will fluctuate over time and you may gain or lose money.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 6/21/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntary basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. Featured reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and have been reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use, and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted). Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines), and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experiences of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
560620.11.0
close

Move Your Money to Fidelity

Start moving funds into your new account with this quick checklist. You may also call a rollover specialist at 800-343-3548 for help at any point in the process.

  • Request a direct rollover from your old 401(k) plan. A rollover specialist can help you contact your former employer's plan administrator, or you can contact the administrator on your own.
  • Complete any forms required by the plan administrator.
  • Instruct them to make the check payable to: "Fidelity Management Trust Company (or FMTC), FBO: [your name]/[Fidelity IRA account number].
  • Mail the check to one of the addresses shown here, bring it into an Investor Center, or scan and deposit it using Fidelity Mobile® on an iPhone®, iPad®, or Android™ device.

    Fidelity will notify you by email and by U.S. mail when your funds have arrived.

    Regular Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    PO Box 770001
    Cincinnati, OH 45277-0037

    Overnight Mail:
    Fidelity Investments
    ATTN: Direct Rollovers
    100 Crosby Parkway KC1H
    Covington, KY 41015-0037