401(k) Rollover to IRA

Fidelity makes it easy to roll over an old workplace retirement plan such as a 401(k) to a Fidelity IRA.

What do you get with a Fidelity Rollover IRA?

  • Help building a plan that keeps up with a changing market and can adapt as your needs change
  • A wide range of investment options, including Fidelity and non-Fidelity funds, plus help choosing them
  • An easy-to-follow rollover process, with access to a specialist along the way

Ready to get started?


Tax benefits

A Rollover IRA is a type of Traditional IRA with the same potential tax-deferred growth of savings.

Withdrawals

10% early withdrawal penalty may apply for withdrawals taken prior to age 59½ if no exceptions apply.

Penalty-free withdrawals for qualifying first-time home purchase and certain college expenses

Minimum required distributions (MRDs) starting at age 70½

Contributions

Continue saving for retirement on a tax-deferred basis.1

May be appropriate for

Individuals who have changed jobs or retired and have left savings in a former employer's workplace savings plan (i.e., 401(k), 403(b), governmental 457(b))
Support and guidance

One-on-one guidance—in person, online, or over the phone

Research and tools to help you create a long-term plan and choose investments

Investment options

Access to a wide range of investments offering growth or income including mutual funds, stocks, bonds, ETFs, and FDIC-insured CDs. Learn more about your investment options

Account opening and annual maintenance fees

None*

*There is no cost to open and no annual fee for Fidelity's Traditional, Roth, SEP, and Rollover IRAs. A $50 account close out fee may apply. Fund investments held in your account may be subject to management, low balance and short term trading fees, as described in the offering materials. For all securities, see the Fidelity commission schedule (PDF) for trading commission and transaction fee details.

Trading Fees

$7.95 for online U.S. equity trades

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 841 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Unable to Sell and Buy with Transaction Fee Involved If a transaction fee is involved in the buy portion of a sell and buy transaction, the Fidelity system cannot execute the trade. I was required to execute a sell, wait for it to clear and then execute a buy. I was told the system is unable to automatically deduct the $49.95 transaction fee from my sell proceeds and execute the buy with the balance. It seems simple enough so why can't you do it? January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like it ...... The only improvement I can suggest is that you allow the direct transfer of shares from the IRA to the customers brokerage account .. without the necessity of selling and rebuying those share .. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient Excellent online access system with low cost trading and fund availability. Excellent reporting system and performance features. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extremely satisfied rollover IRA customer I had my IRA money in two different places, so I decided to consolidate it and move it to Fidelity. I have dealt with Fidelity off and on over the years and have always enjoyed the experience. I do most of my financial activity online, so Fidelity's web site is very important to me. It is superb! I have no complaints and am 100% satisfied at this incipient point in time. January 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Feeback I am mostly satisfied with the IRA and information provided. However, I would like to see a running rate of return or a quarterly rate of return displayed online for my holdings. January 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by No face to face Everything is excellent except I've never talked face to face with a Fidelity employee. As I get older, I'm less sure of my self and value face to face more. January 31, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fidelity out of touch with customers I went into a Fidelity office to transfer an IRA account I held with another investment group to Fidelity. The clerk who greeted me asked me to fill out a qualification form. I explained to him that I already had an account and all I wanted to do was roll over the account into my existing Fidelity account. He refused to perform the action without me filling out the form. I looked at the form and it was asking for a lot of personal information including my current employer, my income, my net worth, and all of my financial holdings. I asked to see the manager. I explained to the manager that this detailed financial information was none of Fidelity's business, and all I wanted to do was roll over some existing money into Fidelity. He refused to perform the action without me filing out the form, so I left. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by using online customer service I just created a link between my bank and fidelity account, and opened a new mutual fund account. David (sorry forgot his last name) guided me step to step, and did an excellent job. The whole process took less than half an hour. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My IRA From the time that I first rolled over my workplace 401(k) to a self directed IRA, Fidelity has been very helpful. They are there in your corner but not "in-your-face". I recently had questions and required help when it came time to put together my Required Minimum Distributions for 2013. The Fidelity agent practically did everything himself. He called when the funds were direct deposited to my checking account to make sure I was satisfied. I look at Fidelity as a knowledgeable and helpful friend. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover IRA I am very excited to retire with such a good company behind me and my money! January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Means to an End The Rollover IRA is an excellent tool that allows one to continue to grow capital on a tax deferred basis. Anyone can choose the products (e.g., stock and bond mutual funds, ETFs, individual stocks, bonds, etc.) that match their own risk/reward profile. There is also a strong support team available to answer any questions or give advice when necessary. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent web site, service, advise Have moved most investments to be held within my Fidelity accounts to be able to access info from one site and benefit from the web site analytical tools. It is VERY convenient. Whenever I call the representatives or my personal advisor they always are pleasant, professional, and give accurate advice. All in all extremely pleased with Fidelity. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cutting edge I have been with Fidelity for over 15 years now and like all the improvements that have been made. I think Fidelity is commented to innovation and on the cutting edge in keeping up with investment products. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by year end review very please with service and results. Working with Fidelity rep is very helpful. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Professional Fidelity personnel were professional and concise concerning the roll-over process. January 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I view my relationship with fidelity, previously in a 401k and now in a brokerage rollover Ira, as one of the most fortunate things in my life. January 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by rollover procedures I don't feel I got the assistance I needed to complete the rollover transaction I was wanting to happen. Perhaps, I am just not savvy enough with this website, or financial websites in general. Once I've gotten a new estimate from the TRB in CY for purchasing 2 more years of service credit, I will again attempt to learn how to make this happen. January 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rollover with Fidelity - good move These days hard to tell what direction to go. Fidelity has been productive for me. Sometimes I think their help / service is geared for the high level expert in investments, not the everyday investor. I don't think that anyone else is better, though. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to set up and use I rolled over my account into Fidelity with little or no problem. Fidelity has provided me excellent information to be able to make prudent decisions and provides occasional reviews of what they think is happening or might happen. I find it useful. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast, Easy and Hopefully Worth It The rollover for us was in 3 steps. First, last year went smoothly as well as the second. The third will take place within the next 4 weeks and I expect the same result, which is fast and easy. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Lots of selections for my IRA. Lots of help if I have problems or questions. Great website that helps me manage my accounts. My account executive is always there for backup. Thanks. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accurate and Trustworthy I have had my Fidelty IRA for over 20 years. My actions have always been performed speedily and accurately. I cannot remember one mistake ever having been made by Fidelity. I will be happy to continue using Fidelity for years to come. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service Very Helpfull and provides great Service, Very help full Over the phone with any Questions And Help. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Trade with confidence You have "Piece of Mind" when you trade here , Fidelity has the resources to research your choice, to help you decide how to move forward to meet your goal January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure and reliable I originally began with my company 401K program. When retiring from my company, Fidelity made the transition easy to move over to IRA Account and was able to keep two of my investments. Fidelity understood my needs and not a high risk investor. Great Job! January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rollover The process was handled in an excellent manner by yor personnel. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent service I have had an excellent experience with Fidelity. Thank you for all you do. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by rollover ira I like the rollover ira just fine. It does exactly what I want it to do. January 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not what I expected... I would have preferred to receive some proactive investment advice. I always get referred to the website, which I find to be overwhelming. January 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by trustworthy An IRA at Fidelity is an excellent vehicle at a low cost. The ease of use and resources provided by Fid. make investing smooth and reliable. Fid is always ready to answer questions and ofen provides information before the need for it occurs to me. I spent over 40 years working on Wall St. and when I retired Fidelity was my first choice. Fidelity was considered the number one client of every firm I worked for. January 29, 2014
  • 2016-09-23 T11:00:11.365-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-16, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_841, tr_841
  • loc_en_US, sid_007, prod, sort_default
<<prev 14 15 16 17 18 ... 29 next>>
007
5508tridion