• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1086 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2% points = 1% cash I just got off the phone with Fidelity Customer Service and they explained you "Earn" 2% on your spend dollars in points and when "redeemed", you net 1% on your spend dollars. I've only been getting 1% transferred to my account so this is consistent. Other reviewers state 2% cash back, but I have my doubts. May 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Too many issues I chose to get this card for my large wedding purchases to get some extra cash back. It worked well until I started booking my honeymoon hotels on priceline.com and my card continually got denied for insufficient vendor information. After hours of calls with both FIA card services and Priceline together, I had to put these purchases on another amex which had no problem at all. Not only that, but the website is one of the worst I've been on in a long time, a complete disaster that I try to avoid. Who knows what is going on with the auto-pay feature, apparently there is no auto pay in full? I've only had one knowledgable customer service rep out of the 10-12 that I've had to speak to over the past month as well. With 2% cash back I wish this card would just work!! Not worth the headache! May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great card - We use it the most by far. This is a really great credit card. Most places we shop accept AMEX - both in person and online. That 2% on everything really adds up, and it is super easy to redeem the points to your Fidelity account. Also, the foreign transaction fee is only 1%, so you still get 1% net rewards even if you use it overseas. May 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to expected Fidelity Standards I just deleted a long rant detailing FIA's failure to cover me for a merchant that failed to deliver cremains for a cremation arranged and documented by phone.(but with no written contract other than three people witnessing the agreement on a speakerphone and prolific notes...Caveat....obtain a written contract for any phone purchase otherwise you will be informed that you have no proof of the fee quoted for the service...long story here). End result, after my objections, FIA gave me a credit on my account of $150 to make up for a charge of close to $1200 that should have been partially or totally denied since, as of this date eight months later, no cremains have ever been provided even though the merchant was fully paid upfront by my use of the card. I also have had denied charges locally and during travel which is annoying. My last one was for a $15k local purchase....ie $300 reward for that one transaction. It was well below my credit limit, but denied. I gave up on telephone approval after the merchant and I both experienced dropped calls and long periods of being left on hold to verify the veracity of the charge. It was embarassing with people around to have your card denied and be unable to rectify the problem. Swiping another rewards card resulted in immediate approval with only the swipe, but halved the reward that I would have gotten through use of the FIA card. Overall I have been five star pleased with Fidelity Investments themselves for many years, but the problems I have experienced with their AMEX card relects poorly on the reputation of an otherwise excellent customer service oriented company. As a result I am currently evaluating other options for the investment of sizeable proceeds from a recent business sale. May 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Web site hard to navigate for simple transactions Difficult to move cash balance into existing fidelity account. May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Rewards Card Out There Pair this with the Fidelity Rewards Visa and you will be rolling in the rewards money. They are the only two credit cards I use. May 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Buyer Beware If I could give zero stars for customer service I would. While the cash back reward on this card is one of the best, it comes with headaches and hassle. Expect to make several calls per year to the fraud department for an overly sensitive fraud detector on routine transactions. Then expect to deal with rude and unfriendly customer service representatives who are in no hurry to help you. This is the reality of this card. Sort reviews on low to high and see how many other customers have experienced the same. Fidelity should do something about the customer service of FIA card services. May 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not for travel Once you go through the deliberately complicated task of setting up auto payment in full, then the card is a great way to automatically receive cash rewards. The FIA website is by far one of the most cluttered and confusing sites I've ever tried to navigate and I try to stay away from it as much as possible by tracking my spending through mint.com. Customer service is absolutely horrible since it goes through FIA and not AMEX. The card is fine to use around town but I will NEVER travel with it again. On a recent trip out of state, transactions were rejected routinely even though I called customer service three separate occasions and kept FIA informed of my travel dates. That said, I still use the card routinely since the 2% reward is hard to beat. May 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best rewards card in the industry At 2% cash back this is the best rewards card in the industry - bar none - ever. Most cards come with a 1% reward. You are literally doubling your money by doing nothing different other than using Amex versus V/MC. The auto deposit option makes this even easier to use. There is no time consuming redemption process, and quite frankly cash rewards is a much better option than airline miles or hotel points, etc. I have found you can find better deals online by comparison shopping and you aren't tied to a specific brand. May 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is my go-to card I really love this card. It is so easy to deposit my cash rewards back to my Fidelity CMA account. Customer service is top notch and I never have any issues. The only disappointment is the quality of the physical card you receive. You would think it would be a nice card but it reminds me of the fake credit cards you would get in the mail. Oh well. If you have a Fidelity CMA account, it's very easy to link it together to pay your bill or receive cash rewards. May 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Can't use at Amazon for multiple purchases Can't use to buy multiple train tickets in Europe. I'll be cancelling mine. I've had it 2 weeks and been on the phone with the 4 hours. Their fraud department shut down the card twice since I received. Once because there were 3 charges to a company they didn't recognize (Italy's national rail system) and a 2nd time when I bought 5 items from Amazon which were each charged separately. They said that if an online merchant charges the card more than 3 times in a short period of time, the shut it down. The benefit of 2% cash back seem excellent, but has certainly not been worth it thus far. May 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cash is king! There's never a hassle spending cash as there is with trying to use any other type of reward. No restrictions, no blackout dates, no unavailability. Getting a 2% discount in cash on everything I buy gives me the money to buy the rewards I want! May 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Favorite Credit Card I have used this card for 4 years now and love it! Once I got married, my husband decided he wanted to use the card as well. So now this is our "go-to" card and we use it for almost all purchases. The unlimited 2% cash back is amazing!! I would recommend this card to anyone. May 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Frequent transaction Rejections I had few issues with this card recently where transactions were rejected. Wasted few hours of my time making multiple calls on various occasions to resolve the issue. Ended up using my Mastercard few times but I like the 2% rewards and would love to see this card work efficiently. I was told it was to prevent fraudulent transactions which I tend to disagree. May 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frequently results in declined transactions. Something is drastically changed in the last 6 months I have had this card for over 5 years now and was fine with it until the last 6 months.. Like many other card holders are calling out above, using this card frequently results in declined transactions. About 4 weeks ago, this card was declined for <100$ transaction at Costco - a purchase I routinely make. Just yesterday, the card was declined at Sears for an 87$ transaction. a couple of months ago, a 6$ charge in the cafeteria was declined for "fraud protection".. I have used this card for similar amounts for 100s of days. Not sure what is wrong, but something is seriously busted or the company is intentionally trying hard to get rid of their customers. Ostensibly, the customer support first said the awful and faulty "fraud protection" was for my benefit. A couple of months and about 10 or so declined transactions later, when I called in to complain they made me change my cards, thus requiring me to update all my auto payments and online merchant profiles. This time however they assured me that they have fixed the problem. A week later this problem #of randomly declining transactions# was back!! I have had several random declined transactions in the past few months and have come to realize that this card despite its 2% cashback isn't worth the effort anymore. From a convenience point of view - if you don't like holding up checkout lines at the most unexpected times and tend to carry multiple back up cards or cash then this card isn't for you. From a customer service point of view, they made me go through the inconvenience of changing my cards, updating my accounts, all for no apparent reason indicates the ineptitude of their service. They are also routinely inaccessible from 8:30 pm ET or so each Sunday - when it is still 5:30 pm in the west coast. If you call for a declined transaction at that time, they can't help you since the system is completely offline. From a value point of view, the 2% is nice, but the high maintenance #in terms of time and dealing with sub-standard customer service# and complete lack of reliability, this is very low in value. No - I wouldn't recommend this card to anyone. Buyer beware!! May 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by extended warranty issue I tried to use the extended warranty service (+1 year warranty on top of mfr. warranty), and filed a claim for a dishwasher that stopped working little after a year. They said it was a temporary claim and I would receive a follow up email within two days. This didn't make any sense because I was hoping to call a repairman soon to fix the dishwasher after talking to a rep and getting a confirmation. My wife kept doing the dishes herself for these two days. In the third day, there was still no emails and I called them back. They said they are still trying to figure out if my card provides this coverage, and also asked me to call back on Monday to get the status update. This is not an acceptable experience at all. I had used Visa's extended warranty coverage before, and it was an instant approval after calling. May 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missing/Incorrect Info My card came with a two-page privacy statement, a 14-page Agreement, and a 4-page brochure. Too bad it didn't: 1. Put the Annual Fee of "None" into the Fees section of the Agreement, so it can easily be found, instead of displaying it on this website or the disclosure in the online application. 2. Put the 1% foreign transaction "commission" in the Transaction Fees, instead of just in a descriptive section. 3. Correct the FAQ at https://www.ibsnetaccess.com/NASApp/NetAccess/ContentDisplay?contentType=Help&ACCTID=7027#Credit%20Card%20Benefits where it says that the online benefits center doesn't support this card. After reading that, I carefully re-read the supplied materials and searched the web to find the details of the benefits that are only described in summary form in the supplied brochure. 4. In https://www.managerewardsonline.fiacardservices.com/RMSapp/Ctl/display?pageid=programdetails it says "to establish the mechanism for automatically redeeming Points for Fidelity rewards to be deposited into you Fidelity account, sign into fiacardservices.com/worldpoints". Looking there, I found a way to add my Fidelity account to the card, but there was no indication that that addition was sufficient to establish automatic redemptions. In contrast, even near midnight on a Saturday, the customer service reps who answered my questions were very pleasant and knowledgeable. April 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by rejected frequently lately the card is routinely rejected for routine purchases, constantly on the phone to approve charges. Get another card! Not worth the rebate! April 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by no automatic bill payment I got my card a month ago and just went to set up autopay, as I have done easily for numerous other credit cards. Agree with similar posts noting the intentionally confusing FIA payment site that does not enable automatic bill payments in full. You must log in monthly to enter the appropriate payment amount, and the login process is not user friendly. April 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Confirmed - Very Poor Service I applied online for the Investment Rewards card and upon completing the application it stated my Retirement Rewards application was complete. I immediate called Fidelity because of the error to ensure that I was getting the Investment card. They said they would cancel and to reapply. A few days later the Retirement rewards card showed up on my fidelity account and a week later I received the Retirement card in the mail. Subsequent calls have failed to get the correct card so far. Just BEWARE, the customer service that others have mentioned are in fact very poor and to get the 2% rewards there might be some pain to go through. March 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The only card I need After hearing there was 2% cash back, and I could cash out my rewards into my fidelity account, I was sold! This is truly the only card I need! March 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrrible Customer Service This is worst card that I have ever owned. It keeps getting denied (about 50%) at different merchants in my home town. Moreover, traveling is terrible with this card. I would not recommend it to anyone. March 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not consider using the Fidelity AMEX or Fidelity VISA as your primary card I love Fidelity. I love the 2% cash back on the Fidelity AMEX card. But I absolutely hate dealing with FIA Card Services, the issuer and servicing entity that you will be dealing with once you have this card. Yes, FIA is the biggest issuer/processor- but FIA is undependable, very often unprofessional, and lacks some basic capabilities that you should be able to expect from a credit card with the Fidelity name on it. I routinely charge about $50,000 per year on my Fidelity AMEX and Fidelity VISA cards. I have had these or other cards serviced by FIA for over ten years. 1) FIA declines one or two of my transactions each year due to problems with their fraud filtering algorithm. They won't call you - you call them, wait ten minutes for a rep, wait for the rep to transfer you to the fraud dept, only to hear that some routine combination of transactions that you do all the time triggered the decline. Don't get me wrong - I greatly appreciate knowing when something looks suspicious - I just do not like FIA's determination process or the way FIA handles these situations. (Compare to American Express who immediately calls you when they see something wrong.# 2) Just about every two years one or the other of my Fidelity cards is cancelled due to what FIA calls "Merchant Compromise." FIA won't call you. You have to try to use the card and find that it is declined to realize you have a problem. FIA also will not under any circumstances tell you what the "compromise" was all about. You receive a new card in the mail and have one to two weeks to change any accounts with recurring transactions that you have linked to your credit card to the new number. #I typically have 20 to 30 accounts linked to my credit cards.# 3) FIA does not support Quicken direct connect or web connect. Consequently, if you use Quicken you have to wait for your statement to close, log in to FIA, and manually download the transactions for each credit card into Quicken. Compare to a card which does offer Quicken web connect support - you make a credit card transaction, go home, open Quicken, click on "Update," and the transaction is already there for you to see. 4) Finally, some FIA customer service personnel and, in particular, fraud department personnel absolutely have no business being in customer facing positions. I used to head a customer service operation for a very large corporation and have some experience to back up this comment. Fidelity, you can do better than FIA. Yes they are one of the biggest issuing/servicing entity out there, but they are damaging your good reputation and costing you business. I, for one, just recently got fed up when my Fidelity AMEX was once again cancelled due to an unspecified "Merchant Compromise" and so switched to another broker card that calls me when this sort of thing happens. Please, please consider changing issuers/processors and you'll get my business back. March 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The card sounds like a great deal -- if you can use it I've used the Fidelity Amex Card by FIA for 5 years, and I'm getting increasingly frustrated with it. I love the cash back rate, but its getting to the point where the card company denies legitimate charges under the pretense that they are providing a service to protect me -- multiple times a week. This is despite a record of makings purchases for business travel to multiple cities and countries on a monthly basis since I've had the card. March 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE After repeated requests, AMEX is unable to mail my statements. March 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service From my research, this is the best card for general rewards points and I love the fact that I can automatically transfer that into an IRA or other savings account. What they don't tell you is that the card and the account are completely separate companies. I have been back and forth between the two companies trying to automate this automatic process with NO LUCK. Each CS rep just points to the other guy. Couple that with the fact that AMEX isn't taken everywhere and this card becomes a bit of a hassle to maintain compared to some others out there now. In short card itself offers decent rewards, just be prepared to handle any and all issues yourself. February 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just awesome!!! I was always skeptical of "points" cards and preferred my no thrills Visa w/o any fees. But it is hard to beat hard cold 2% cash back!!! #AND NO ANNUAL FEE!!!#. Don't have to have an accounting degree to understand complicated point systems #especially the ones that change per what you are spending on...#. ... I'm loving it ... I also love the system automatically putting the reward back into you investment account #you need to set it up once#. Awesome! I didn't have problem w/ my Amex accepted. Only ran into this once with a small merchant... Also FIA card services #card issuer# has a feature that allows covering minimal payment or full amount automatically. Their penalties are steep - watch out, for late payments, etc, but which Credit Card isn't? #well maybe credit union ones' aren't as bad but I am a disciplined payer so was never an issue for me# February 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by FIA Credit Cards Have the FIA Visa and AmX cards. Worst experience I've ever had with a card company. THey continually block my card for suspected fraud and I have to call in to get it back working. Has happened about 6 times in 8 months. Sometimes, it's at a merchant within 5 miles of my home. Never had this problem with my previous cards. February 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unusable This card became unusable after a few years of good experience. They made posting errors with my checks, couldn't answer simple questions at the call center, gave me erroneous information at the call center, declined sales with non explanations ( "we must be having trouble with this merchant" ). A supervisor did call me after a series of problems, and was truly helpful and profusely apologetic. At that point, however, I had no confidence in the card and stopped using it. I find it ironic that Fidelity - with customer service in other areas that is exceptional - would expose their customers to this third-party. Almost cost Fidelity all of my brokerage business. February 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lacking convenience I got this card last year and planned to use it as my main credit card. Then I discovered that the transactions don't download into Quicken until a statement is generated. This eliminated this card from being my daily card as it makes it impossible to manage a budget through the month. The thought that a card wouldn't go into Quicken in a timely way didn't even cross my mind. I haven't had this issue in over 15 years with other financial accounts. February 6, 2014
  • 2015-05-03T10:16:35.488-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1086, tr_1086
  • loc_en_US, sid_003, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 37 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0