• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1142 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed. First of all, this card is not maintained by American Express. It's kind of misleading. I only have this card for a short time. I wanted to set up auto payment from my checking acc to this card. I included my checking acc # and routing #. They verified it by making two deposits of about $1.00 into my checking acc over two weeks ago. I assumed that it was all verified and my auto pay will take place on the due date. I just called to confirm and found out that this was not the case and verification is still pending. I was told that I had to log into this card website and enter those amounts. I am glad I called otherwise I would have been consider late making my payment. The point here is that no one instructed me to do so nor did I receive an email being advised of that. The other thing is that I am spoiled with the Amex services and website as it’s so easy to get the information I need with one click and not several. I am back to using my old Amex card and will cancel this card asap. September 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2% discount on anything I've had this card for a few years and recommend it to anyone who can get their hands on it. A 2% cash back with no annual fee is as good as it gets. Their BillPay is nothing special but easy enough. Never had any issues and whenever I call (usually to inform them I'm traveling out of the country) the service is quite good. If only AMEX was accepted more places... September 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Online services clunky Excellent card with great rewards and no annual fee. Website is pretty clunky, especially rewards website. Could use improvement. September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by AmEx Fidelity card I like the 2% back, but they have a weird way of calculating it. A lot of places don't accept the American Express Card. September 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by You get what you pay for This is not an AMEX serviced card. It is "serviced" by FIA customer services which consistently rates at the bottom of customer service reviews. You can only dispute a charge via mail. Customer service phone support in only available Mon-Thurs. Their anti fraud algorithm is really bad and will inconvenience you on many occasions, even if you have made similar payments to the same organizations in the past. The cash back is nice. The service in the worst. I am surprised AMEX lets this shoddy servicer service an AMEX branded card. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great card but fraud-control gets obsessive 2% rebates are great. Use this card for everything I can. However, the fraud control people have caused be embarrassment and inconvenience numerous times. If you use the card at a new vendor or merchant they may very well decline the transaction and shut the card down. This necessitates a callback to Customer Service, 20 minutes of waiting time followed by 20 questions worth of birth dates, license number, DNA samples - on and on. Isn't it time they thought of a better way to control fraud? September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Flexibility Fidelity needs to offer a M/C or Visa which are more widely accepted. Too many places do not accept AmEx. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Awesome Can't beat it with a stick. Just awesome. I use it for everyday expenses as well as big ticket items. September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Best No nonsense, no gimmicks, easy to use. I had no complain so far since I got this card in 2010. Rewards are simple to monitor and get cash back directly in my cash management account. August 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Rewards American Express® Card Review Great rewards, but accepted at limited locations/businesses. My biggest grip is I can't setup alerts for each time the card is used. August 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by American Express card I've had the College Plan AMEX card only a few months but have been extremely pleased thus far. It is slowly becoming my only most used credit card--would be my only card but not all businesses accept AMEX. Still, it's a good way to add to my grandsons' 529 college plans. August 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great automatic saving plan By using the card wherever possible, we automatically add 2% to our savings plan. It's a no brainer. August 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service Unless you are paying them for service they don't provide you personal service. My account manager Nick A. doesn't care about the account unless you decide to move money. August 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient and good value Convenience of card account comes from capability to link directly to Fidelity brokerage account and automatically apply cash back reward accruals to brokerage account. Good value comes from a 2% cash back reward rate from card use, which is better than most or all other card offers. August 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rewards Card So happy with my new card. Love the 2% cash back on everything August 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by bill paying antiquated My checking account is with is with another bank. I have computerized bill pay through them. In order to make a payment from my account, the bank has to send a check to Fidelity. This is the only company I have to do this with. Once it gets to my Fidelity account, I have to transfer it to the credit card account. The credit card company won't accept payment until 5 days before the bill is due. Once I am able to transfer the money to pay the bill, my Fidelity account does not reflect the transfer for about 7 days, leading to confusion as to whether the bill has been paid or not. Also, you do not get 2% back on all your payments. August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Consumer Opptionality Love the features of selecting which fund cash back goes into - consumer opptionality! August 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Catching up I applied for the Fidelity rewards card to supplement an existing Visa card that I have with my bank. The 2% cash back benefit was obviously my main driver for doing so. However, when I compare the Fidelity rewards card with my existing Visa card, I can see some shortcomings that need to be addressed to equal the ease of use of my Visa. I think there is still room for improvement with the App when compared to other cards. It's not nearly as flexible as other Apps and can only do limited things. In fact, the Fidelity website that is used to manage the Rewards card also seems to be a bit behind the other banks. I'm willing to put up with the additional inconvenience because of the 2% but I hope these shortcomings are addressed soon to keep customers interested. August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great I like the 2 percent rebate. But it would be nice to redeem 5,000 points and not wait until I accumulate 10,000 points. August 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Waste of time Having this card has been a total waste of my time. Card denials, inept resolutions, no notifications to changes in website access - all this in the name of security? Security from whom, the customer? Not worth the effort for me. August 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by What Credit Card world are you all livin' in? We just started using the American Express Card and I have found five places that will not accept it. One being Consumers power out of Jackson MI. A vehicle repair place and two Chinese Buffets. I can't remember the other one right now. The cash back has already gone into my Fidelity Account and we haven't paid the first credit bill yet. I would recommend the card but you had better have a backup card for the occasional non-participating business. August 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by System Change - No More Alerts The online portal that is used to manage the card recently migrated to a new platform and as a result, a lot of functionality has been lost. Namely, the system no longer has email statement alerts. However, this was never communicated to me and likely not communicated to any card users. Because of the change, I did not receive my statement notification and missed my payment, which is the first time I have ever missed a credit card payment. As with all financial institutions and card issuers, FIA Card Services is insistent with the switch to paperless statements. The only issue is that with the new system change you will not receive a notification that your statement is ready and they don't want to send you the paper statement either. I love this card and the rewards and have consistently praised the card, but this change and the lack of communication has left me with a very bad impression of the Fidelity Rewards card. August 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by very reliable,answers all my questions I never had a problem that was not resolved immediately August 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Goofy security? I charge heavily on the card each month and pay in full on or before the due date each month. The cash back rewards are smooth and a lot less hassle than tallying points, etc. to turn in for products or air travel. The problem, however, is their inept security. A few times over the last several months my card has been denied at the point of sale. When I called their fraud department they had no logical reason for the embarrassment I endured at the merchant, nor reason for the "security" lock out. Over the last few months with a major home remodeling project underway I made very large charges, for appliances, etc. No problem or questions from the fraud department. Then, quite unexplainably the card was denied at a neighborhood drug store for a few hundred dollar prescription purchase. Red-faced I used another card. When I got home a few minutes later there was a message on my home phone to call the card's security/fraud department to clear the recent attempted purchase. When I did, the young staffer, speaking almost unintelligibly in a low barely audible voice said that I could now use the card. (Of course it had been denied just ten minutes prior). No explanation. Made no sense whatsoever! I wrote a letter to the card servicer, FIA Card Services, and have yet to receive an explanation or answer. I'm going to cancel the card, as I warned Fidelity and FIA, if this repeated incident occurs again. Fidelity sent me a nice letter, but the card servicer doesn't seem to understand. I appreciate the security and fraud checking of course, but one would think that the earlier, much larger purchases, including some made online, over the previous months would have been the ones to raise concerns about, not a $200 purchase a few blocks from home. August 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Features, but problems with strip Nice to get 2% back on every purchase, but it is still AMEX so it is not universally accepted. The magnetic strip on the back is not typical nor is it robust. It wears away easily and in some instances would not work in some store card scanners. August 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the hassle The 2% cash back is a great promo. The problem is FIA and their fraud prevention team. The number one thing I look for in a credit card is ease of use; unfortunately, with FIA every purchase becomes potentially a denied charge due to the actions of FIA's fraud prevention team. I use to charge up to $10000 a month on my card and had the account set up for monthly payment of the balance in full. However, with FIA small charges -- such as my lunch at the hospital -- keep leading to a hold on my card. Yesterday's rejection of a small charge at Walmart (under $200) was the final straw -- I will never again use the card so long as FIA is servicing the card. August 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by American EXPRESS SUCKS Poor service . personal not get who the customer is. Ill trained employes & co. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Easy Way to Save Without question the best decision to open a FI account and allow the 2% cash back to get automatically deposited. Unlike other wanna-be cards that pay higher for gas and restaurants the FRAE card gives a straight 2% on every purchase transaction. My account grows steadily on a monthly basis - limited only to the amount of charges I incur for the month. I pay the charge bill in full every month and so am left with the only the sweet rewards! July 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mediocre I find the card frequently turns down merchants and even when I call frequently the card does not go through. This happens at major corporations such as the ATT store; not exactly a fly by night operation. Customer service may take a bit of time and more so when the card is not accepted as they need to transfer you to the fraud unit. Representatives are pleasant but lack knowledge of their own system. July 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by FIA poor service My wife made the credit card payment online FIA sent a confirmation of payment received. We then were notified that we were past due. Turns out FIA did not accept the payment because they changed the terms and only I can pay the bill. We are paying out of a joint account and have been doing so for the past four years. So if we were to write a check and mail it they would not accept the check if I my wife signed it, who cares who is paying the bill as long as it is paid. Plus I am getting 1% but now see a 2% will I have to re-apply for the 2%? July 23, 2014
  • 2015-06-30T10:27:39.024-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1142, tr_1142
  • loc_en_US, sid_003, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 39 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0