• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1159 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not an Integrated Product Poor Website. No App. Difficult to monitor and make payments. The point of having a Fidelity AmEx was to consolidate credit spending with investment accounts, which is no longer possible with this card. Currently, you have to log into another site to manage statements and payments. The website is not a Fidelity site, rather some third party (FIA Card Services) site that requires separate authentication credentials. Furthermore, there is no app offered that allows management of the credit card and as far as I can tell there is noway to set up automatic payments to pay the statement balance. It is clear to me now that the reason the card is called "Fidelity Rewards American Express" is because no one would open an account with "FIA Card Services." Fidelity had been great over the years, but this account is terrible. October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good cashback program 2% back on everything is a good deal. Easy to set up automatic sweep of rewards into Cash Reserves. AMEX is not accepted everywhere other credit cards can be used October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My default card This has got to be the best cash back card out there. Some cards have their "special category" in the 2% range; this card is 2% cash back for every purchase. This card is great for people interested in maximizing cash back. It's bad for people who want to carry just one credit card, because obviously, as we all know, AMEX is not accepted everywhere. The other thing to note is that this card is not serviced by AMEX, so whatever benefits and services you think are so great about AMEX - it doesn't apply here. This card is serviced by FIA Card Services. I'm not saying that they are bad; I'm just saying don't get this card solely based off of AMEX's stellar customer service reputation. (FYI, I leave my big purchases to my other "real" AMEX card.) October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wolff49 I think it is the best card on the market. I use credit cards frequently and this gives me an opportunity to earn extra rewards. October 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Two Problems I got this card about three months ago. The first problem is that I signed up for paperless, and have received no e-mail notifications so far. This caused a late payment and interest charges which they were very cooperative about crediting. They said there can be a problem with AOL, and asked if I have another e-mail address. NO. I have had this e-mail address for a VERY long time and have no intention of changing it just to accommodate a single credit card. Now I just have a note on my calendar to check the web site each month when the statement is due. Not good! The second, and more annoying problem, is that they do not allow the option on autopay of paying the entire statement balance (only a fixed amount) each month. I do not carry balances on my credit cards, and EVERY other card that I have allows payment of the full balance on autopay. In spite of the nice 2% return, I am not sure that I will continue with this card for that reason. September 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value I use the Amex 529 card everywhere I can. For those situations where Amex isn't accepted, I simply use my Fidelity Visa. The 2% is a great rebate, with no fine print and no schedules to have to keep track of to ensure you get the max rebate. Recent website improvements enable me to manage both my Amex and Visa accounts from the same login. The only improvement I would suggest - I wish the card tracked cardholder charges separately so I could view my wife's activity on the card separately from mine. September 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Confusing rewards program It is confusing as to how 2% back on every purchase actually translated in real dollars. Example. If I spend $200 on a dinner, will I get $40 back? September 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK Deal - Poor FIA Customer Service This is a newer card for us so I called FIA to let them know we were traveling from SC to MI before we left to avoid any problems. I was told there was no reason to call, but they would take in the information anyway. A couple of smaller purchases in MI went through OK - but the first time I tried to us it for a purchase over $100, it was refused and then blocked until I called FIA. The FIA agent on the phone was completely unapologetic and told me they never guarantee the card will work - even now that I called again to confirm I was traveling and that the large purchase ($400) was mine. Great - just what i need when traveling: an unreliable credit card, even if I call ahead to inform them I am traveling. September 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service I love the fact that the 2% cash back automatically appears each month in my Fidelity account. However, customer service is terrible. As others have commented, the card is occasionally denied because someone decided a previous (quite normal) charge looked suspicious and placed a hold on the account. Even worse, they once sent me (and presumably thousands of others) a new card because someone hacked into the computer of a merchant - which meant I had to spend an afternoon changing the information on all of my auto-pay accounts. It would be one thing if all of this were really helping to cut down on fraudulent transactions - but this does not seem to be the case. During one afternoon a few weeks ago my card number was used to make several hundred dollars worth of purchases at each of 5 different liquor stores in Canada (I live in Los Angeles). However, the credit card people did not notice this until I saw my statement and challenged the charges. It is also irritating that when I have complained to Fidelity about the service, the response is that they do not service the card and I need to talk with FIA. Fidelity does not seem to think it relevant that they allow the Fidelity name to go on the card. September 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Positive Experience ... but ... I use this card every day, regularly, and it's rare that I have to fall back to my Visa. However, I've had it deactivated a couple times because of 'fraud protection'. We all know that 'fraud protection' is protecting the card company right? September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple Rewards The Fidelity Am Ex Rewards card is convenient and easy to use. It has no annual fee, and the rewards are credited to your Fidelity account automatically every month. It is much simpler to use and understand than cards that require you to activate varying reward categories every quarter, or that you must access their website when you wish to claim a reward. September 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by rewards card This has not been a great experience. Quite a few places do not accept American express, so I had to use another card. My card was disabled because they thought it was fraud when it wasn't. So I went back to using my old card due to the inconvenience. September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best everyday card This card has quickly become the go-to card for my family. Almost every place we shop accepts it, and 2% swept into my CMA account can't be beat. September 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not accepted everywhere, still not sure how to redeem points? seems like i have a low interest rate, as i carry a small balance and use this card for large, long term purchases, and i realized its not accepted everywhere, as it has been turned down a couple times. also, i am still not sure how to redeem the points, which is kind of why i got the card in the first place. i wish it was simpler. September 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great card hard to pay Every month I need to call in to pay my bill over the phone or mail a check. I am used to doing everything online. I only use the phone payment system because the online payment system stinks. There is an authentication process that fails when I try to link my bank to the card on the web site, and guess what I need to MAIL a form to fix it. I do not want to MAIL a form or a MAIL a check. On line works fine and does not waste my time or Fidelity's. So every month, slightly irritated, I call in and pay the bill using the automated phone system because that and only that works without me needing to MAIL a form or MAIL a check. DO NOT MAKE ME MAIL SOMETHING!! its really annoying to do and costs both parties involved time. Still though the card is great, customer service is great, the 2% back is great, the card much to my surprise is accepted in most places, just please … PLEASE fix the payment system. Thanks. I hope this message is read by someone but who knows. September 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by A Never-ending Customer Service Nightmare The 2% cash back feature is nice, and reward redemption to a Fidelity account is fast and convenient. The website integrates well with Fidelity, provides info on posted transactions and pending authorizations, but lacks key alert capabilities present with many other cards. Customer service agents try to be helpful, but seem overwhelmed by systems and processes they don't understand. There appears to be no escalation or problem resolution process and no one is capable of solving issues before they spiral out of control. Over the last year I've had my account blocked without notification and have been without use of the card for several days at a time while new cards were in transit. In the most recent example, due to a "data entry error", I was never sent a new card when the card was to expire and only received notice of the expiration when a car rental company notified me to update my profile. When FIA Card Services was notified of this, they immediately closed the account, created a new account number and offered to ship a new card "overnight". A package arrived, but contained a card with the old blocked card number. They blocked the account again and issued a third card number, promising another "overnight" shipment, which, two days later, does not appear to be en-route. Five days into this latest experience, I am still without a usable card. No, I would not recommend this card as the periodic inconveniences outweigh the benefits. September 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Card Card works very well and i am satisfied with it. i have encountered any hesitatio when using this card. This is my review. September 4, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed. First of all, this card is not maintained by American Express. It's kind of misleading. I only have this card for a short time. I wanted to set up auto payment from my checking acc to this card. I included my checking acc # and routing #. They verified it by making two deposits of about $1.00 into my checking acc over two weeks ago. I assumed that it was all verified and my auto pay will take place on the due date. I just called to confirm and found out that this was not the case and verification is still pending. I was told that I had to log into this card website and enter those amounts. I am glad I called otherwise I would have been consider late making my payment. The point here is that no one instructed me to do so nor did I receive an email being advised of that. The other thing is that I am spoiled with the Amex services and website as it’s so easy to get the information I need with one click and not several. I am back to using my old Amex card and will cancel this card asap. September 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2% discount on anything I've had this card for a few years and recommend it to anyone who can get their hands on it. A 2% cash back with no annual fee is as good as it gets. Their BillPay is nothing special but easy enough. Never had any issues and whenever I call (usually to inform them I'm traveling out of the country) the service is quite good. If only AMEX was accepted more places... September 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Online services clunky Excellent card with great rewards and no annual fee. Website is pretty clunky, especially rewards website. Could use improvement. September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by AmEx Fidelity card I like the 2% back, but they have a weird way of calculating it. A lot of places don't accept the American Express Card. September 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by You get what you pay for This is not an AMEX serviced card. It is "serviced" by FIA customer services which consistently rates at the bottom of customer service reviews. You can only dispute a charge via mail. Customer service phone support in only available Mon-Thurs. Their anti fraud algorithm is really bad and will inconvenience you on many occasions, even if you have made similar payments to the same organizations in the past. The cash back is nice. The service in the worst. I am surprised AMEX lets this shoddy servicer service an AMEX branded card. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great card but fraud-control gets obsessive 2% rebates are great. Use this card for everything I can. However, the fraud control people have caused be embarrassment and inconvenience numerous times. If you use the card at a new vendor or merchant they may very well decline the transaction and shut the card down. This necessitates a callback to Customer Service, 20 minutes of waiting time followed by 20 questions worth of birth dates, license number, DNA samples - on and on. Isn't it time they thought of a better way to control fraud? September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Flexibility Fidelity needs to offer a M/C or Visa which are more widely accepted. Too many places do not accept AmEx. September 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Awesome Can't beat it with a stick. Just awesome. I use it for everyday expenses as well as big ticket items. September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Best No nonsense, no gimmicks, easy to use. I had no complain so far since I got this card in 2010. Rewards are simple to monitor and get cash back directly in my cash management account. August 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Rewards American Express® Card Review Great rewards, but accepted at limited locations/businesses. My biggest grip is I can't setup alerts for each time the card is used. August 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by American Express card I've had the College Plan AMEX card only a few months but have been extremely pleased thus far. It is slowly becoming my only most used credit card--would be my only card but not all businesses accept AMEX. Still, it's a good way to add to my grandsons' 529 college plans. August 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great automatic saving plan By using the card wherever possible, we automatically add 2% to our savings plan. It's a no brainer. August 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service Unless you are paying them for service they don't provide you personal service. My account manager Nick A. doesn't care about the account unless you decide to move money. August 28, 2014
  • 2015-08-03T11:12:38.109-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1159, tr_1159
  • loc_en_US, sid_003, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 39 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0