• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1032 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE After repeated requests, AMEX is unable to mail my statements. March 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service From my research, this is the best card for general rewards points and I love the fact that I can automatically transfer that into an IRA or other savings account. What they don't tell you is that the card and the account are completely separate companies. I have been back and forth between the two companies trying to automate this automatic process with NO LUCK. Each CS rep just points to the other guy. Couple that with the fact that AMEX isn't taken everywhere and this card becomes a bit of a hassle to maintain compared to some others out there now. In short card itself offers decent rewards, just be prepared to handle any and all issues yourself. February 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just awesome!!! I was always skeptical of "points" cards and preferred my no thrills Visa w/o any fees. But it is hard to beat hard cold 2% cash back!!! #AND NO ANNUAL FEE!!!#. Don't have to have an accounting degree to understand complicated point systems #especially the ones that change per what you are spending on...#. ... I'm loving it ... I also love the system automatically putting the reward back into you investment account #you need to set it up once#. Awesome! I didn't have problem w/ my Amex accepted. Only ran into this once with a small merchant... Also FIA card services #card issuer# has a feature that allows covering minimal payment or full amount automatically. Their penalties are steep - watch out, for late payments, etc, but which Credit Card isn't? #well maybe credit union ones' aren't as bad but I am a disciplined payer so was never an issue for me# February 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by FIA Credit Cards Have the FIA Visa and AmX cards. Worst experience I've ever had with a card company. THey continually block my card for suspected fraud and I have to call in to get it back working. Has happened about 6 times in 8 months. Sometimes, it's at a merchant within 5 miles of my home. Never had this problem with my previous cards. February 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unusable This card became unusable after a few years of good experience. They made posting errors with my checks, couldn't answer simple questions at the call center, gave me erroneous information at the call center, declined sales with non explanations ( "we must be having trouble with this merchant" ). A supervisor did call me after a series of problems, and was truly helpful and profusely apologetic. At that point, however, I had no confidence in the card and stopped using it. I find it ironic that Fidelity - with customer service in other areas that is exceptional - would expose their customers to this third-party. Almost cost Fidelity all of my brokerage business. February 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lacking convenience I got this card last year and planned to use it as my main credit card. Then I discovered that the transactions don't download into Quicken until a statement is generated. This eliminated this card from being my daily card as it makes it impossible to manage a budget through the month. The thought that a card wouldn't go into Quicken in a timely way didn't even cross my mind. I haven't had this issue in over 15 years with other financial accounts. February 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Transaction and Fraud Monitoring While I love all other aspects of this card, it does not provide transaction level alerts to e-mail or cell phone. It has no alert capability at all. January 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service I have used The Fidelity AMEX card for sometime. But I find that oftentimes it has a "hold" and can't be used. The Customer Service is bad. It seems that Fidelity should not associate itself with such a poor service January 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Card It was really easy to open my account, the line of credit is very generous, it's nice getting 2% back and best of all, American Express is accepted at all Costco locations. January 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Is the 2% cash worth the hassle ? I have held the Fidelity Amex for almost 4 years. Today I learned that, for the THIRD time, my card was being replaced because the account "MAY HAVE BEEN COMPROMISED". While I understand the credit card issuers need to detect and deter fraud none of my other credit card issuers (VISA, Master Card, etc.) have seen the need to replace their cards during that 4 year period. Both my wife and I also have had to go thru the embarrassment of having our Fidelity Amex card denied at a retailer because "the transaction appeared suspicious". Again this has never happened with my other credit cards. Bottom line, i will not be using this card as my main card in the future! Save the hassle, get a different card !! January 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Card is great - website, monitoring options, methods to contact FIA Card Services - they are awful I love having a 2% cashback card. However, the lack of services on the FIA Card Services site is appalling. You cannot: - setup alerts - contact them via email or chat - use a virtual card number - challenge a charge online December 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best card i own Hesitant at first, but now it's the only card I use December 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by HOW IS THERE NO AUTOPAY FOR FULL BALANCE??? This card has a great rewards program, but it blows my mind that there is no option to set up an autopay for the full balance each month!!! I simply can't wrap my head around what is motivating this glaring omission. For people with many credit card accounts, this feature is CRITICAL. Please, for the love of God, add a full monthly balance auto-pay option. It's outrageous that it's not there already. December 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the Best I am considered a credit card guru. For years I have researched credit cards from every bank and credit union out their. This card is by far the best. Most cards give limited rewards or they reward higher in certain categories and then jump through hoops or go around their rules to redeem the points. I've had this card now for 3 years and out of all my cards this is the best card hands down. No fuss, no hassle, just straight 2% back on every purchase. Having to have a Fidelity account is no big deal. I have a brokerage account ( also have IRA) but my cash back is automatically deposited into my brokerage account and I have that account linked to an external savings account. Each month I just transfer the amount of my cash back into my savings. It's just that simple. Hands down, this is the best overall card you can get. Believe me, I know just about every credit card out their. Plus this card only has a 1% foreign transaction fee, which basically means you are still earning 1% cash back on every purchase outside the US with no annual fee!!! December 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quicken Users: Currently not a good choice if daily activity important The AMEX provider , FIA Card Services, N.A., presently does not provide either thru the website or using Quicken WEB-downloads a daily update of transactions. One must wait until the monthly statement is generated to receive these downloads. Not a great process if you are use to using Quicken to police and post your daily and/or weekly activities and/or detect fraudulent use of your card. December 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great card, horrible service The card itself is simple - 2% goes straight to the designated account ($50 minimum for redemption). However, customer service is HORRIBLE. I applied for the retirement rewards card, and three times now I've gotten the 529 college rewards card. Every time I called customer service, it would just be a cyclic headache with no resolution. I still have the 529 card (it's been months). I understand that the points are equivalent, but I wonder why customer service can't fix this. Using the card for the benefits, most definitely not the service. November 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rewards are great but ... There are some quirks about this card that are pretty annoying. I still have a Fidelity AMEX card but my wife and two sons do not. For example, I wanted to give a secondary card to my son away at college, but the secondary cards will have the exact same number as my card. That makes it impossible to easily identify which card was used to initiate the charge and makes the AMEX fraud detection process problematic since my son and I are in different states. Another annoyance for me is that you can only download your AMEX transactions to Quicken once per month. Every credit card I have ever had can do that, other than this one. On the plus side, however, are the 2% rewards, the standard AMEX card benefits and the $ 0 annual fee. November 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Just got my new AMEX 2% back card This card is not worthy of Fidelity or AMEX. I should have know when I first called for information and got someone in a call center that didn't know anything about the product. I did talk to an underwriter that was terrific, but that's where the good comments end. My biggest beef so far is that I can't get periodic Quicken downloads. I can only download monthly, hopefully it will work when I try that. I have read numerous complaints about denials of charges, high foreign transaction fees, and lousy billing practices. Looks like I'm not going to be able to use this card over seas. I will hang in there through a few cycles, but if FIA screws up, its likely I will cancel the card. I am very angry with Fidelity. There is no way they should sponsor such a poor product. Fix it or get rid of it! At the very least this Quicken problem needs to be fixed ASAP. November 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fraud Dept too Aggressive FIA card services calls way too frenquently to verify charges. Then they verify say 3 days of charges instead of just the one in question. Travel is problematic because it almost always generates a fraud dept call. Even calling in advance doesnt always work. October 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Rewards Card I have the retirement rewards card. No other card I know of gives 2% cash back consistently. As most people know, AMEX is not accepted everywhere so that can be a problem if this is your only credit card. This is my main card, but I do have a visa and mastercard for the times it is not accepted. For me, I use it everywhere I can, especially for big purchases like christmas gifts, airline tickets, and electronics. I have only had my card halted once, because I spent an uncommon, really uncommon, amount. They called me to confirm the exact purchases. I would definitely recommend this as a supplement credit card. Great benefits, and good customer service. October 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by foreign currency charge This is a good card only for domestic USA. There are more charges, foreign exchange rate and cash withdraw in foreign currency if you travel to outside of USA , Should Fidelity consider to offer above waive fees outside USA. I expect these benefit in near future. ( it is a benefit for all Fidelity investors.) October 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Rewards, Great Card I have had this card for many months and I have not had any issues or problems with the card. I use it for many purchases at the store and for online purchases, including bill payment. And the 2% cash back is fantastic! Great rewards card! October 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Card Ever This card is an embarrassment to Fidelity and American Express. I have had other Amex cards since 1970. I like Amex a lot. Not this piece of junk. Not worth the 2%. I will be canceling this card. Cannot set up alerts. Does not download to Quicken on a daily basics. Card gets denied much to often. Etc. Bad customer service. Long wait times. October 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Can no longer recommend the card I have been a Fidelity AMEX card holder for years. Up until this year (something changed in 2013), I never had any issues with the card. Now the fraud protection on the card is ridiculously aggressive to the point that I might as well not carry the card, because it is so frequently declined and subsequently locked until I call customer service to confirm that, "Yes, I did intent to buy that bottle of water and energy bar." The card is particularly terrible during travel. Every time I swipe the card, I have no idea if it will be declined or not. When it is declined, I need to call FIA Card Services, because they no longer proactively call me (another change this year). When I speak with them, they will tell me the same thing every time, "It was an unusual charge or it was outside your home area." Never mind the fact that I travel 20 or 30 times a year and the activity is perfectly normal (e.g., lunches, rental cars, snacks, hotels, gas, etc.). Also, even when I have called ahead of time to say I will be traveling, the card was rejected. When I spoke with customer service, they said, "We do not have any record that you would be traveling this week." More importantly, there is no way I am going to pick up the phone every other week to tell them I am getting on a flight. I do not have to do that with any other card, in particular, a true America Express card. In the past few months, I have spent more time with customer service getting my card unfrozen than all other customer service issues I have ever on every other card I have ever had combined. In summary, until Fidelity and FIA Card Services address their defective fraud protection system, there is no way I would recommend the card, regardless of the rebate. My recommendation to Fidelity, switch back to a free Gold and subsidized Platinum card with American Express like you used to do in the past. The current setup with FIA Card Services is terrible. October 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Took 2 months to get card. FIA Card services took 2 months to review my account because the original representative did not document our conversation when I qualified for the card. If you speak with a representative, make sure he/she notes your entire conversation. If it were not for my follow-up phone-calls asking about the delay, I would have never recieved my card. September 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Accessing account Our bill is automatically deducted from our checking account. We want to access the statement to see what was charged when and there is nowhere on the page to do this! September 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Amex card out there I used to accumulate points and then go out to an expensive meal. Which always cost me more than the points because of the tip. Did I really need to be eating a $50 steak because my other Amex gave me points? This is WAY better! I use the card for almost all my expenditures, including cell phone bills, gas, groceries, purchases etc. Every couple of months I get back $50 or $100 dollars which goes right into my Fidelity bank account. The last time I checked, it would take me a long time to accumulate that kind of interest on a small savings account. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by REWARDS You advertise/promote that you pay 1.5% rewards and up to 2% based on volume. Yet I have never been paid more than 1%. Why is that? pierre September 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the rebate, hate the declines I have both the Fidelity Amex and Visa and use the Amex where ever it is accepted and the Visa in other places. I love the 2% back on all purchases and the doubling of warranty when I use the Amex. But I get a fair amount of merchants declining the purchase - both online and in the store/gas station. Each time I need to call Customer Support and re-activate my card. If you can deal with the overheads, it is good deal. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for International Travel, too... Not only does this card deposit the rewards in an IRA or in a regular account, it has other benefits as well. Since it is a genuine American Express Card, the foreign transaction fee is only 1%, versus 3% for other credit cards such as Mastercard or VISA. Thus, this card has become our card of choice for foreign travel. The Customer Service desk is both very friendly and competent when I call with our upcoming travel plans. We have never had an issue when using this card on our foreign (or domestic) travel, especially if you inform Customer Service about your travel plans. September 3, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 35 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0