• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1060 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by very reliable,answers all my questions I never had a problem that was not resolved immediately August 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Goofy security? I charge heavily on the card each month and pay in full on or before the due date each month. The cash back rewards are smooth and a lot less hassle than tallying points, etc. to turn in for products or air travel. The problem, however, is their inept security. A few times over the last several months my card has been denied at the point of sale. When I called their fraud department they had no logical reason for the embarrassment I endured at the merchant, nor reason for the "security" lock out. Over the last few months with a major home remodeling project underway I made very large charges, for appliances, etc. No problem or questions from the fraud department. Then, quite unexplainably the card was denied at a neighborhood drug store for a few hundred dollar prescription purchase. Red-faced I used another card. When I got home a few minutes later there was a message on my home phone to call the card's security/fraud department to clear the recent attempted purchase. When I did, the young staffer, speaking almost unintelligibly in a low barely audible voice said that I could now use the card. (Of course it had been denied just ten minutes prior). No explanation. Made no sense whatsoever! I wrote a letter to the card servicer, FIA Card Services, and have yet to receive an explanation or answer. I'm going to cancel the card, as I warned Fidelity and FIA, if this repeated incident occurs again. Fidelity sent me a nice letter, but the card servicer doesn't seem to understand. I appreciate the security and fraud checking of course, but one would think that the earlier, much larger purchases, including some made online, over the previous months would have been the ones to raise concerns about, not a $200 purchase a few blocks from home. August 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Features, but problems with strip Nice to get 2% back on every purchase, but it is still AMEX so it is not universally accepted. The magnetic strip on the back is not typical nor is it robust. It wears away easily and in some instances would not work in some store card scanners. August 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the hassle The 2% cash back is a great promo. The problem is FIA and their fraud prevention team. The number one thing I look for in a credit card is ease of use; unfortunately, with FIA every purchase becomes potentially a denied charge due to the actions of FIA's fraud prevention team. I use to charge up to $10000 a month on my card and had the account set up for monthly payment of the balance in full. However, with FIA small charges -- such as my lunch at the hospital -- keep leading to a hold on my card. Yesterday's rejection of a small charge at Walmart (under $200) was the final straw -- I will never again use the card so long as FIA is servicing the card. August 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by American EXPRESS SUCKS Poor service . personal not get who the customer is. Ill trained employes & co. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple and Easy Way to Save Without question the best decision to open a FI account and allow the 2% cash back to get automatically deposited. Unlike other wanna-be cards that pay higher for gas and restaurants the FRAE card gives a straight 2% on every purchase transaction. My account grows steadily on a monthly basis - limited only to the amount of charges I incur for the month. I pay the charge bill in full every month and so am left with the only the sweet rewards! July 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Mediocre I find the card frequently turns down merchants and even when I call frequently the card does not go through. This happens at major corporations such as the ATT store; not exactly a fly by night operation. Customer service may take a bit of time and more so when the card is not accepted as they need to transfer you to the fraud unit. Representatives are pleasant but lack knowledge of their own system. July 28, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by FIA poor service My wife made the credit card payment online FIA sent a confirmation of payment received. We then were notified that we were past due. Turns out FIA did not accept the payment because they changed the terms and only I can pay the bill. We are paying out of a joint account and have been doing so for the past four years. So if we were to write a check and mail it they would not accept the check if I my wife signed it, who cares who is paying the bill as long as it is paid. Plus I am getting 1% but now see a 2% will I have to re-apply for the 2%? July 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great card all around, except for alerts This card is terrific. Only gripe (hope they fix it) is not being able to set up spend alerts as I can with all my other cards July 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fraud Prevention Dept Twice I told them to PLEASE not hold up a charge that was coming from a European contact. TWICE they told me they had flagged it to go thru. TWICE they dropped the ball. July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Express Card Excellent, I use the Fidelity American Express when ever I can...earning 2% back on every purchase. The cash back points are awesome. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The best that I've found. In order to get the 2% on everything, you do need to deposit it into a Fidelity Investment account, which isn't a problem because of the number of investment options available. The only thing that I personally would love to see them add is the ability to download directly into QuickBooks which I use for my business AND personal bookkeeping. July 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does not work with Fidelity's Full View Had to stop using as it does not interface with Fidelity's Full View. It worked for awhile until they made some changes and for the past month or more it has failed and all they can say is that they are working on it. They hired an outside firm to do the web site and It looks like they don't know what they are doing so I have had to stop using the card. July 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Changes OK product but the problem with American Express is that many of the places I need to you use the card at do NOT accept it, making it hard to reach a large enough monthly charge to get the $50.00 reward. I intend to switch to the Visa reward card instead. July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Awful I've had the card 1 year. It's been replaced 2x due to security issues and denied and put on hold 5x for everyday purchases they think are fraudulent. Never had a worse card July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cash back great but short on features Love the 2% rewards with no gimmicks. Customer Service seems very good. My other cards allow me to set up alerts for almost any type of card activity but this card does not. Also I can't download transactions in Quicken during the billing cycle like my other cards, only when the cycle closes. High on value, low on automated features. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent and Reliable An excellent credit card for daily use and the rewards pile up fast! I use it for all my shopping including Costco, Groceries, etc. July 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Big brother card service I have used this cash back card for over two years and pay my balance in full, on time every month. Like others, I experience the embarrassing denial of charges at local and out of town retailers. It's a hassle but I have accepted it as the cost of the receiving 2% back. However, FIA Card Services has decided to not allow me to use my email address that I have used for the last 10 years and is linked to my Fidelity account. The FIA Card Services IT tech told me their updated software rejects the use of my Fortune 500 company email address because the firewall is makes it difficult for them to push messages to my account. I can only assume he was talking about invasive software as I do not have issues with receiving emails from FIA. The FIA tech suggested that I use a hotmail account to manage my card. As of now, I can only redeem points over the phone. I am thinking about canceling. I agree with others that FIA is tarnishing the sterling brand of Fidelity. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Might be the best card for rewards Unless you carry 6-8 card in your wallet and keep track with what bonuses each card is eligible for. I keep several cards in my wallet but find that for most everyday spending, the other cards aren't useful. I'm always pulling out the green card. July 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Card, but lacking Android app This is a fabulous card, and the rewards beat anything on the market. We use it pay all of our bills and the 2% cash reward into our Fidelity Account is amazing. Having said that, I was more than a little surprised to learn that Fidelity, nor FIA (the 3rd party administrator of this card) has an app for card management in the Google Play Store. Every other major financial player that I have any business with, all have apps that I can load on my phone, and then see detailed transactions of my card use. For this card the only way that can be done is by logging into the web site. Not at all convenient for business folks on the go. Frankly I have to say that this is very disappointing. I was really stunned that Fidelity did not have this. With all the good things that Fidelity does, this is a shock indeed from a user convenience standpoint. July 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Use in Europe The Fidelity American Express Card, like many other US "strip & signature" cards, is increasingly difficult to use in Europe, especially in automated charge stations like gas or tolls. Just drove 3,000+ miles through Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Italy, and France. "chip & signature" cards are equally problematic. Fidelity American Express needs to convert to "chip & pin" or it will become increasingly worthless to world travelers. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beware FIA Card Services The concept of 2% cash back is excellent. Hard to find a better cash back deal anywhere else. Has the Fidelity name associated with it so that is nice, very reputable company with great service from my brokerage account. The foreign transaction fee is acceptable and Amex merchant acceptance has improved considerably. The problem with this card (and this is a BIG problem) is FIA card services. Horrible customer service. They will regularly place a block on your credit card for "suspicious" activity. Imagine being in line at a merchant and now your card is declined because FIA thinks its being used fraudulently. Now you have to spend the next hour of your vacation calling FIA and jumping from rep to rep (even though you placed a travel alert on your card prior to your trip) just to have them unlock your card. Never had these kinds of problems with other card issuers only FIA. Fidelity you've got a great product here, please leave FIA and use a different processor to provide customers with at least something that resembles decent customer service. July 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sucks for large purchase - trips fraud every time This card sucks for large purchase. It trips fraud every time you make a purchase over $300. I'm on the phone with fraud deduction more than with my Mother! July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by GOOD CARD This card gives the best rewards I know of, Thank You Fidelity for having this program, July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Card The best thing about this card is the 2% cashback which is not offered by any other credit card year long all the places it is accepted and it can be used for anything ranging from groceries to paying your bills. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best reward card! I love this card. Use it for everything and get 2% cash back on ALL purchases - including high ticket items like Medical. No other card offers that. Most cards offer 5% back on a few categories, but have a limit. And the categories keep changing every quarter. And you have to log in and sign up every quarter. Total nonsense. This card eliminates all that. Love it! June 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Never take this Credit Card, no relation to Fidelity or Amex Never take this Credit card even though the Cash Back is 2%. I took this credit card and linked to my Fidelity Checking Account, When I made the online payment of $500 from checking Account which had enough balance, the same was not reflected instantly in my Credit Card Account. Even after 19 days it is still not reflected even though both are Fidelity Account. This card is not serviced by American Express. It is serviced by FIA Card Services (under license from American Express). When I contacted FIA card Services, they had no clue about the payment, when I contacted Fidelity, they transferred the call to another company who maintains & supports online payments. They couldnot resolve the issue. and transferred the line again to Fidelity Credit Card account. The Fidelity Credit card ( 3rd party - FIA Card Services) couldn't resolve the issue till date. I am now told there is another 3rd party for Bill Payment processing. Nothing is resolved yet. Highly Frustrating. June 21, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by "burden of proof is on the customer" I used my Fidelity Rewards AMEX in a restaurant which overcharged me by 300%. I filed a dispute but did not have a receipt. Customer service said without a receipt, I must accept this amount with no recourse and the merchant was not required to submit their copy of the receipt for review. I have disputed charges on AMEX cards in the past with no receipt and was provided copies of the merchant's receipt in every instance. June 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Reliable 2% Cash back is great, but do not count on this card as your only card. My card has been suspended 3 times for possible fraud activity. It has occurred at my regular grocery store and when traveling out of state. You must contact customer service to end the hold, very inconvenient when you travel. This is the first and only card I have ever experienced this problem with. The website is terrible and so is integration with Quicken and Quickbooks. Fidelity can do better than FIA Card Services. June 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by cash is King I have had both the credit cards from fidelity with 2% cash back. IMO these are the BEST deals around. The credit card service is also excellent. Throw away your airlines affinity cards and start saving for your retirement or kids education. June 14, 2014
  • 2015-03-28T10:31:39.406-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_1060, tr_1060
  • loc_en_US, sid_003, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 36 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0