• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1116 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wish It Worked With Apple Pay! Love the rewards, but its my only Amex that does NOT work with Apple Pay, this makes it far less convenient then my other cards. Customer service is also challenging and at times takes far too long to get a person on the phone. October 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by cash back rolls to fidelity account Fidelity funds are my longest held investments and best performing overall. Having an AMEX card that earns 2% across the board AND can be readily deposited in a fidelity non-retirement account is my cup of tea! I hope I can someday make the deposit process automatic (i.e., not requiring my express input each time). October 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by No Apple Pay support Disappointed to find out it does not support Apple Pay. Hope they fix this ASAP. October 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Secure Paymemts The next card must have EVM chip & pin and linked to Apple pay. October 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity Amex Card The card is simple and straightforward, and the best overall cash-back deal available. Responding to the ad to apply for the card and establishing account settings through the Fidelity website, a bit more complicated, but at least you only have to do it once. There is no down-side to this card. October 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's the only card I use I use to carry several credit cards in my wallet and use various ones depending on what was the best cash back. Now I only carry my Fidelity card because it has the best cash back. October 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent card My only qualm is that there are some merchants who do not accept amex. With that being said, I use this card as often as possible. October 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rebate Good. FIA Bad. The 2% cash back is tops and running it through a Fidelity account is not a problem. No other card can match that and that's why I have the card. FIA (the card servicer), on the other hand, is terrible. Compared to American Express, they are not in the same league. We have had more transactions declined by FIA for "security reasons" than all other cards combined. Extremely inconvenient. If they were really concerned about security, they would offer the option to text cardholders for all purchases, but they don't. Their website is rudimentary. Customer service runs hot and cold. Long wait times, wrong and conflicting answers. It's surprising they are still in business. After several years, I am considering going back to my real Amex card for world class service. October 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for you Anytime I travel, my card is declined. Yesterday I could not charge a $75 dinner in Sunnyvale, despite traveling there repeatedly. Despite giving them 10's of thousands of dollars of business a year, they would rather worry about fraud charges at this level and inconvenience me. I finally had it when the customer service rep asked me no less than 6 questions to verify my identiy, and wanted to ask a seventh. I said "no" he could not ask any more questions after getting my driver's license number, former place of residence with cross-street, login ID, card number, address, etc. This card is very convenient to pay and transfer rewards, but if you travel, prepare to have it declined every time you are away from home. Yes, calling my credit card company every time I travel is definitely too much to ask. I expect them to absorb a couple hundred dollars of fraudulent charges if necessary rather than decline my $30 charge at home depot, just to keep me happy. I give them many times that in fees. October 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by card is good, website not so much I really like the card and the 2% cash to a Fidelity account. The website is difficult to navigate and poorly designed. Also, I would like to be able to add this card to my American Express web portal along with my other AMEX cards, but the management structure does not allow that. October 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great card! Other than the occasional merchant who doesn't take AMEX, I love my Fidelity Rewards AMEX. It is my primary go-to CC, and haven't used my hotel/flight miles cards for much of anything in the last year - Fidelity all the way! October 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Convenient and Great Value No fees coupled with 2% back on purchases and free withdrawal at any U.S. ATM make this card a great choice. No need to redeem rewards, they are automatically deposited into your account monthly. Great service. October 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Benefits; Monthly Cashout Certain reviews of this card online suggested a poor website, customer service, and issues with the card being rejected frequently. After about 6 months, I can confirm only positive customer service experiences, that the website is adequate (perhaps not perfect, but functional enough), and that the card has only been rejected a couple of times despite hundreds of disparate charges. Bottom line is 2% across the board adds up quickly, and the monthly cashout option means not having to wait for an annual payout. Very satisfied. October 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Best Card Worst Service I'm about to cancel this card after having it for almost 4 years. The benefits are out of this world. 2% cash back on all purchases is hard to beat! Unfortunately, my wife and I have started being declined frequently even with special requests to Fidelity AMEX to not have it declined so frequently. We're talking about declines like a cup of coffee at the local airport, a lunch for $10 at a restaurant I eat lunch at 4 miles from our house where I ate frequently next door to my office, and grocery store bill around $200 1 mile from our house. Also, they decide frequently to cancel your account number and send you a new card - frustrating when you have automatic payments set up and your expiration date isn't for a year or two. This most recent time they sent a new card number and left the expiration date the same which was only 4 months away - great, a new credit card number expiring in 4 months. I requested the date be extended and that they send a new card for me and for my wife. They sent only mine after confirming two separate times they'd send both. I'm sick and tired (and embarrassed) of my card being declined for small typical purchases. October 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Use to be my #1 card I own a business and spend about 50k a month on merchandise. I have about 8 different cards or so and this is one of my main ones I use. I have never been late on payments and have a long history. Until recently my card was near the limit for about a month because I purchased a large amount of stock for my business. Out of nowhere they closed my card, I found out after my card was declined at the store and called. Customer service was useless and got me to apply again with a hard pull and denied me because my balances were too high on my cards. Unbelievable. My income is 100k, always paid in full and no lates but that does not matter to them October 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tops Them All I have gone through 6 billing cycles and 2 rewards cycles. To date, this card is everything it claims to be. There are more options to cash in rewards than any other card I've ever carried. So far, only Popeyes Chicken doesn't take it and they show this on their display both on the front door and the cash register. I called a few days ago about an overcharge pending for gasoline and customer service explained how gas stations customarily overcharge then process the charge correctly. That's what happened. This is my best card. October 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by The Worst American Express offers the very worst customer service They took many months to resolve a minor dispute. The merchant as well as myself had the call Amex multiple times to get a credit issued. The merchant made a $300 charge in error. I even faxed them twice for them to contact me and that never did I stopped using my card I tried to call their corporate office but I was refused to be connected to higher ups. This company does not care about their customers I was spending thousands of dollars each month and never late on payments They lost a very valued customer Dr Z October 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not an Integrated Product Poor Website. No App. Difficult to monitor and make payments. The point of having a Fidelity AmEx was to consolidate credit spending with investment accounts, which is no longer possible with this card. Currently, you have to log into another site to manage statements and payments. The website is not a Fidelity site, rather some third party (FIA Card Services) site that requires separate authentication credentials. Furthermore, there is no app offered that allows management of the credit card and as far as I can tell there is noway to set up automatic payments to pay the statement balance. It is clear to me now that the reason the card is called "Fidelity Rewards American Express" is because no one would open an account with "FIA Card Services." Fidelity had been great over the years, but this account is terrible. October 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good cashback program 2% back on everything is a good deal. Easy to set up automatic sweep of rewards into Cash Reserves. AMEX is not accepted everywhere other credit cards can be used October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My default card This has got to be the best cash back card out there. Some cards have their "special category" in the 2% range; this card is 2% cash back for every purchase. This card is great for people interested in maximizing cash back. It's bad for people who want to carry just one credit card, because obviously, as we all know, AMEX is not accepted everywhere. The other thing to note is that this card is not serviced by AMEX, so whatever benefits and services you think are so great about AMEX - it doesn't apply here. This card is serviced by FIA Card Services. I'm not saying that they are bad; I'm just saying don't get this card solely based off of AMEX's stellar customer service reputation. (FYI, I leave my big purchases to my other "real" AMEX card.) October 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by wolff49 I think it is the best card on the market. I use credit cards frequently and this gives me an opportunity to earn extra rewards. October 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Two Problems I got this card about three months ago. The first problem is that I signed up for paperless, and have received no e-mail notifications so far. This caused a late payment and interest charges which they were very cooperative about crediting. They said there can be a problem with AOL, and asked if I have another e-mail address. NO. I have had this e-mail address for a VERY long time and have no intention of changing it just to accommodate a single credit card. Now I just have a note on my calendar to check the web site each month when the statement is due. Not good! The second, and more annoying problem, is that they do not allow the option on autopay of paying the entire statement balance (only a fixed amount) each month. I do not carry balances on my credit cards, and EVERY other card that I have allows payment of the full balance on autopay. In spite of the nice 2% return, I am not sure that I will continue with this card for that reason. September 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value I use the Amex 529 card everywhere I can. For those situations where Amex isn't accepted, I simply use my Fidelity Visa. The 2% is a great rebate, with no fine print and no schedules to have to keep track of to ensure you get the max rebate. Recent website improvements enable me to manage both my Amex and Visa accounts from the same login. The only improvement I would suggest - I wish the card tracked cardholder charges separately so I could view my wife's activity on the card separately from mine. September 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Confusing rewards program It is confusing as to how 2% back on every purchase actually translated in real dollars. Example. If I spend $200 on a dinner, will I get $40 back? September 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK Deal - Poor FIA Customer Service This is a newer card for us so I called FIA to let them know we were traveling from SC to MI before we left to avoid any problems. I was told there was no reason to call, but they would take in the information anyway. A couple of smaller purchases in MI went through OK - but the first time I tried to us it for a purchase over $100, it was refused and then blocked until I called FIA. The FIA agent on the phone was completely unapologetic and told me they never guarantee the card will work - even now that I called again to confirm I was traveling and that the large purchase ($400) was mine. Great - just what i need when traveling: an unreliable credit card, even if I call ahead to inform them I am traveling. September 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service I love the fact that the 2% cash back automatically appears each month in my Fidelity account. However, customer service is terrible. As others have commented, the card is occasionally denied because someone decided a previous (quite normal) charge looked suspicious and placed a hold on the account. Even worse, they once sent me (and presumably thousands of others) a new card because someone hacked into the computer of a merchant - which meant I had to spend an afternoon changing the information on all of my auto-pay accounts. It would be one thing if all of this were really helping to cut down on fraudulent transactions - but this does not seem to be the case. During one afternoon a few weeks ago my card number was used to make several hundred dollars worth of purchases at each of 5 different liquor stores in Canada (I live in Los Angeles). However, the credit card people did not notice this until I saw my statement and challenged the charges. It is also irritating that when I have complained to Fidelity about the service, the response is that they do not service the card and I need to talk with FIA. Fidelity does not seem to think it relevant that they allow the Fidelity name to go on the card. September 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Positive Experience ... but ... I use this card every day, regularly, and it's rare that I have to fall back to my Visa. However, I've had it deactivated a couple times because of 'fraud protection'. We all know that 'fraud protection' is protecting the card company right? September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simple Rewards The Fidelity Am Ex Rewards card is convenient and easy to use. It has no annual fee, and the rewards are credited to your Fidelity account automatically every month. It is much simpler to use and understand than cards that require you to activate varying reward categories every quarter, or that you must access their website when you wish to claim a reward. September 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by rewards card This has not been a great experience. Quite a few places do not accept American express, so I had to use another card. My card was disabled because they thought it was fraud when it wasn't. So I went back to using my old card due to the inconvenience. September 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best everyday card This card has quickly become the go-to card for my family. Almost every place we shop accepts it, and 2% swept into my CMA account can't be beat. September 10, 2014
  • 2015-05-29T15:09:43.195-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1116, tr_1116
  • loc_en_US, sid_003, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 38 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0