• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1113 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid card No hassles at all with this card - only drawback is that American Express not quite as widely accepted as its rivals. January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Card No issues whatsoever. Easy to use. Cashback to Brokerage account like clockwork. January 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2% Cash back? Card is fine but I still cannot figure out when and how much money I am suppose to be getting. I pay my statement on time in full each month but cannot say same for the 2% January 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Most used card I use my Fidelity Amex the most among all my cards. On that account, I would give it 5 stars. However, they have been late to the party on Apple Pay. Also, they are not accepted in several stores in my area. January 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't Leave Home Without It I've used American Express branded cards since 1975 and still have my original account with them. But the Fidelity Amex offers 2% for my child's 529 account and I cannot think of a better way to use the bonus. Other cards give me miles for air travel but I travel so much on business, my idea of a reward is getting to stay home. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used Correctly this is a Great Product I use this for normal monthly spending as well as with regular bills like the cell phone. You should commit to paying off balances each billing period, and in that way the 2% will be beneficial. January 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Limited The whole reason to choose this card is for the cash back rewards. Other than that, the electronic tools (web/apps) are not at a par as far as services and user-friendliness with other modern cards. Also, the lack of support for Apple Pay is a detriment. January 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by When Overseas Watchout! I love this card in most ways. I have 2, one AMEX and one VISA. I particularly like the no foreign transaction fee associated with the AMEX. However, about 4 years ago I started getting declined while abroad. The first time I was in South America. I had to find a phone and call Fidelity card services. They explained they thought it was fraud. I explained I had used this card with no issues in the past while in South America. They removed the flag and I was on my way. I would like to point out that I called them at the expense of $2.00 a minute. So no problems right? I figure it is merely the issue I was in a country with a less than stellar reputation. Well, fast forward 6 months, I am in Holland and get declined. Well, you know the drill I call them and they explain that it was suspected fraud. I explain I have used this card throughout Europe in the past no problems. Well, they remove the flag and no problems. Now I have been trained to call them in advance and tell them my plans. The problem is often times I will fly to Europe with no plan. I want to explore and go wherever. That unfortunately leads to issues with this card. I think whoever manages their fraud department has the strictest fraud policy of any card I have ever used. It definitely diminished the overall value to me. :(. In conclusion, in USA this is without a doubt my favorite card. Outside of US? Not so much. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works fine for me... Could not ask for better. Accepted most everywhere and customer svc. is terrific. January 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not accepted in a lot of places I'm actually thinking about canceling the card because so many vendors don't accept the card. January 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fraud Control Excessive and Mindless The card is fine and is accepted well. The 2% return on purchases is excellent. The fraud control group is far too aggressive and will shut the card down mindlessly with no consideration of either the amount of the questioned purchase or the account history. Recently we have experienced card shutdown on small and legitimate transactions about once a month. This is intolerable if the card is used for business purposes and embarrassing otherwise. A better approach would be to consider the history of the account and magnitude of the transaction before denying the transaction and then to follow up with an email or telephone call for clarification and confirmation. January 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Had 2 unauthorized charges and was taken care of easily. January 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very pleased I had no problems what so ever , thanks for excellent service January 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not accepted everywhere A great card if it were Visa or Mastercard. I still need to maintain another card to pay for transactions where AMEX is not accepted, including three recurring bills that charge every month. It's still a good card because of the cash back and it is the only card you can use at Costco. January 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Value Card The Fidelity Amex card delivers a 2% discount on all purchases, superior to any other card I have found. And there is no annual fee to Fidelity customers which increases its overall value. January 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by need an iphone app need an iphone app ------------------------------ January 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome I like getting my rewards money put into my trading account so I can turn my rewards dollars inot even more dollars... January 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great benefits I have had my card for a few years and have used it all the time and received over $200 contributed to my retirement account during 2014. I cannot believe I got paid for using my credit card. It is a great benefit for Fidelity acct holders. January 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rewards Redemption The explanation of the rewards program is confusing, it says 2% reward when you actually receive 1% but you get double rewards when you make a purchase. So if you spend 1000 you receive 2000 in rewards and when you redeem you receive 1%. Other issue you can only make 3 payments on line per month. January 3, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Multiple Card Rejections I had my card rejected again (at least third time in same number of months) while trying to buy a rifle which led to a 15 minute ordeal involving two store sales clerks and eventual shutting down the checkout line at a well known retail store. As so typical of this outfit, the process involves calling, going thru multiple irrelevant questions and data before getting to at least three different real people and then getting dropped from the line. Tried again and finally was able to get card cleared for the purchase after going thru similar process. Yes you make 2% on purchases that will take the card, but be prepared for an abnormal amount of embarrassing card rejects while trying to check out along with the runaround to get it cleared. December 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Apple Pay Convenience would be 5 Star if Apple Pay was accepted :( December 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amex Difficult to access acct through fid.com and about 10 percent of merchants won't accept Love the card and rebate.would recommend to everyone. December 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by High maintenance card I use this card for most purchases including recurring charges. Far too many times I have received phone calls that my card might have been compromised. Turns out it is the same exact recurring charge for the exact amount from the same exact merchant. It happened for months in a row. Thought of canceling the card and going to another 2% back card. Annoying people at customer service. December 23, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Great Rewards, But Constant Hassle Obviously a great choice for a cash reward card, and I will likely continue using it unless I finally snap. HOWEVER, be warned that you will be subject to seemingly constant account "freezes" due to their filters for possible fraud. Be prepared to carry a secondary card because this one will regularly be declined. I promise it will drive you crazy. December 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Annoying admin issues !!! I signed up for the card for the 2% cash back but the administration issues make me wonder. My card has been rejected three times for no good reason. Once while travelling after I had even called and informed them exactly when and where I would be going. The other two times was when I had made two purchases on the same day at the same store, the second purchase was denied. In all cases it was annoying, embarrassing and frustrating to correct the issues. Customer service was not empathetic nor efficient. They made promises that were not kept. Also I can not use Apple pay yet even though I can use it on my other Amex card. The reward process is OK but not reliable or clear in my opinion. I like getting the 2% but I'm not sure it's worth the hassle !!! December 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2% of payments returned as cash. I use this American Express card whenever possible. I have had no problems beyond the merchants who do not accept American Express cards. They pay a higher service fee to Amex than to the other cards. Otherwise, this is the best credit card available. December 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible Card First of all this card is almost impossible to get unless you are rich and old. My daughter in law has been applying and has been rejected for about two years now. She has NEVER made a credit mistake, has bought and finished paying for brand new cars on her own, been at the same job over 8 years and does still not qualify. This card stinks of Elitism and there are much better cards that do not have such high credit requirements. Fidelity as a company is AWESOME it's sad that they chose to partner with such an Elitist company. Absolutely worst partnering I have ever seen in my life. December 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good card. I use it on everything. This card is very good. I really like the 2% cash back going to my Roth IRA account. I have it since early September 2014 and I already have like $140 cash back into my Roth IRA account. I use this card on every puchase. A lot of places are accepting American Express now. Customer service is very good. The only thing that I would like to see is FIA Card Services adding this card to Apple Pay. December 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Features First I was told I would have all of the features of my other American Express cards which was completely false. The two most important to me: 1) Different numbers for myself and my wife to make it easy to track spending between the two. 2) Email alerts for any charges over $10. Those two features are extremely important and neither is available with your card. The other problem I have had is the magnetic strip seems to be of very poor quality and stops working very easily. I have had numerous cards over the last 27 years and never had a problem with card readers like I have had with this card. The rewards are also much more of a burden than is needed. You should be able to set it up in such a way that when you have qualifying awards they can be automatically invested, instead of having to manipulate the awards each month manually. December 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the 2%! 2% back is the best you can find. Don't need to worry about categories. Great! December 9, 2014
  • 2015-05-26T10:54:36.331-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1113, tr_1113
  • loc_en_US, sid_003, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 38 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0