• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1159 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by regularly decline transactions I have a very high credit limit and perfect payment record but regularly get transactions denied due to suspicious activity. Not worth the hassle of dealing with these people. May 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dont Get this card Dont get this card unless you want a card that gets declined about 30% of the time. This card gets declined and no one at card services can tell you why. It gets declined if you travel out of your zip code, if you use it too much or too little, or because they feel like it. I had to get another credit card because I couldnt trust this one when I travelled on business, because you never know when or why they put a block on your card, and they dont know either and don't care. May 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best card yet! 2% back everywhere with no gimmiks. What more could you want. May 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service Customer service from FIA isn't close the Amex's own service. I wish I had known in the beginning that Amex doesn't support this card. The most annoying thing is that there is an arbitrary and unreasonable algorithm that leads them to block charges as possible fraud for no good reason. I have complained to customer service repeatedly, but the customer reps have no idea why a charge is refused and have no ability to make changes to their system. May 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by No Direct Connect This card would be perfect if not for the lack of the Direct Connect feature that most other credit cards have. This feature allows daily downloads to financial software such as Quicken and iBank. April 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best card ever! It's 2% cash back ON EVERYTHING! I don't understand how that's not TWICE as good as EVERY other card out there. The only exception is if you travel weekly for business. But for most people, this is definitely the card to have. April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOW TRANSFER RATE Besides the 2% cash back, this FIA card only charges one third the transfer rate that other cards charge. I always use it when in Europe. April 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 98% Perfect 98% perfect. If only there were no foreign transaction fees, it would be 100% best card on the market. April 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Can not update Quicken This card does not work with Quicken one step update. You can only download at the end of the month. With financial information from many sources daily Quicken helps me identify fraudulent charges immediately with all my other cards and accounts. Without this feature this card is of no value to me. It operates they way we did things 15 years ago. I can't believe Fidelity put it's name on a product that is so backwards technologically. April 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best rewards card This is hands down the best rewards card. No fuss and no hassle rewards of 2% on every purchase. I wish that all merchants would accept Amex though. April 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Card - Poor Customer Services Customer in June 2011 and love the benefits. Tried getting my limit increased and it was painful. Spoke with 5 different people and then was on-hold for 20+ minutes. Thumbs-down with my experiece calling them. If you don't ever need to speak with a live human being, then this card is for you. April 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works perfect where accepted Works at about 95% of places. For the rest, just grab the Fidelity Visa which has comparable awards. March 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Rewards, Poor Service With 2% cash back, this is a leading rewards card. Rewards redemption is quick and easy. Existing Amex customers should be warned, however, that this card is serviced by FIA Card Services, not by Amex. Don't expect the highest level of customer service. Instead, be prepared for lowest. March 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and smart Saving for my future is easy when I simply earn rewards for the spending I would naturally do. January 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cash back rewards card! I got this card for the 2% cash back rewards and have not been disappointed. It is the best deal of any rewards card that I have found. January 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Reward plan, improvement possible I love the card and reward plan. I use it for any purchase I can. the web site is fast, intuitive, and has the functionality I need to check balances and make payments. However, I would like to see some added flexibility I have seen with other reward cards in the market. 1. I would like separate card numbers for different family members linked to one account, with the ability to filter by the card that made the purchase. This way I can track the spending of each person who has a card in the family. 2. I would like the ability to separate the reward account by card number also. This one may be more difficult to put in place though. For example, I would love my wife's reward to contribute to my son's 529 plan, while my reward goes toward my daughter. I could do this with completely separate accounts, but really don't want to open another account to accomplish it. January 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accepted more places than I anticipated I opened the amex card to help save for retirement, assuming I would only be able to use it for gas and groceries. I've been able to use it as my primary credit card with no problems. The only downside is for online bill pay, I wouldn't get email updates and had to switch to paper billing. Otherwise, great card with no big complaints! January 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use with very good phone support. The only issue I have is with working the awards group. Way too much work to set up the awards the first.. January 19, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice rewards, inconvenient website I am very happy with the rewards and services the Fidelity card offers, particularly the ability to link the credit card account to my fidelity account. The card payment option is more complicated and harder to change than other credit cards. January 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by exellant services and i am very happy exellent services and i am very happy I am going to refer more and more friends and my family members to open up an account January 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Way to Save for College without missing a dollar I love to use this for my kids college savings and i don't have to think about it -- i just spend as usual - and poof - the reward gets deposited into my kid's 529 accounts without me thinking twice about it! Now that's convenient. January 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thus far this CC was working out just fine... Thus far this CC was working out just fine...Thus far this CC was working out just fine...Thus far this CC was working out just fine...Thus far this CC was working out just fine... January 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Limited ability to download charges to Quicken Charges cannot be downloaded automatically into Quicken and cannot be downloaded between statements. Should be able to download charges directly from the Fidelity Site without going to FIS. January 8, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This cash back program no longer best credit card bet Great idea, but ever since you lowered the percentage back this card is not the best deal out there. I am looking at other cards that give a better deal - and maybe we will just keep investing in college on our own. January 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Awful Online Experience In general, the card does what a credit card should, and the contributions to my retirement account are a good value, however the card suffers from two major problems: 1.) your web presence and online management tools are absolutely abysmal - worst I've ever used for any card 2.) During months when my charges exceed $2500, I get billed in two separate installments - the first for $2500 and the second for whatever remaining balance there is. Why don't you just bill me for the full amount? This is both stupid and makes reconcilliation more difficult. I pay my bill in full on time each month - why the extra step. January 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Card, Highest Cash Back, No Problems at All Thanks for a great overall card that gives me 2% back everywhere on everything. I keep redeeming into my Fidelity Brokerage account with no issues or problems. Keep up the good work. January 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cashing in If I remember right, it was hard to find what number to call to redeem my points. Seems I called two or three numbers before reaching what I thought was the right one. Then the person I spoke to didn't seem to know how to add the $50 to a mutual fund. At the end of the rather lengthy conversation I said to do nothing. (I was going to try to contact someone else.) Before I did anything more about it, I received a check for $25. That was not what I wanted or asked for. I'd like to know the best way to go about it. January 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Card is convenient, but it makes you work for your money I'm happy with the Fidelity Rewards American Express Card. I like the promotions, and the ease to register for them. It's great to have the opportunity to automatically invest as you spend. The only thing I do not like about the rewards is the delay of waiting until you reach 5000 points to be able to convert them to your account. I also feel like the points could be worth a little more when you convert them. Other than that, everything has worked out well thus far. January 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Communication poor; procedures not explained I never received confirmation that my application was being processed. I expected an email at least letting me know that you had received my application. Nada. There was no warning of the length of time required to "confirm" my bank account in order to pay my statement online. Fortunately I started the process early and avoided "late fees" but it took several phone calls, lots of time and aggravation. New clients should be warned that this takes several days and the process should be CLEARLY explained. Also, no good explanation of how the rewards program works. I'm still not sure that I've "registered my account" and done all the things required. If not for the promised 2% cash back I would have bailed with all the problems that I encountered. Bear in mind that I have managed my charge card accounts online since Moby Dick was a sardine so I'm familiar with the process. I'd like this better if was a REAL American Express card and not just a card where FIA pays American Express to use their name. January 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Card needs redesigned! An American Express card is an elite card. The pale green card needs redisigned to make it look more exclusive. January 5, 2012
  • 2015-07-31T10:36:51.350-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-29, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1159, tr_1159
  • loc_en_US, sid_003, prod, sort_default
<<prev 27 28 29 30 31 ... 39 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0