• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1159 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Service! I have had problems with them freezing my account due to questions as to whether I was using it or an unauthorized person for even small amounts. THEN I went overseas, told them where I was going and STILL it was frozen multiple times.. Had to use my Visa Card overseas.... NEVER had these problems when I had my Amex Card directly from Amex.... November 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by BEWARE! Autopay may result in overdraft charges If you choose "autopay previous balance", your payment account will always be charged the FULL previous month's balance even if you make an interim payment on this balance from another account. Every other credit card servicer I am aware of deducts interim payments from the autopay amount. Fidelity AMEX does not subtract interim payments from the autopay amount. If the previous balance was already paid from another account, Fidelty AMEX ignores this payment and again withdraws the full previous balance from the assigned payment account. This policy always results in overpayment and possibly an overdraft (if insufficient funds are present in this account.) Fidelity should require that FIA Cardservices recognize interim payments in its autopay policy. November 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by 5000 points every month? Do you have to charge $5000.00 every month to get 2% automatic redemption into your eligible Fidelity account? Please let me know. The reviews I been reading are like a horror movie. Unbelievable that Fidelity and Amx. Exp. are not responding. November 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic! All-around, this is a great card. I appreciate the fraud prevention efforts, and have not had any troubles with routine purchases as other users have mentioned. I have recommended this card to many of my friends. Thanks Fidelity! November 2, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by card use dollar rewards are deposited directly to money market account, which is a big plus. the problem with the card is their fraud detection is way over the top and a huge inconvenience. we have had charges as small as ten dollars rejected,and if we travel out of state they require a pre call. will be canceling. November 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Use Mint to Track Purchases I love the cash back. I had a few issues early on with the fraud monitoring, but this has settled down. If you like to keep track of your card activity, you can used MINT. It's a free online financial product that lets you watch account balances and transactions. For some reason, FIA allows mint to receive daily transaction info while QUICKEN is only available monthly. October 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by No Direct Link to Quicken The Fidelity Rewards American Express Card is serviced by FIA Card Services. They do not offer Direct Link to Quicken and this prevents you from keeping up to date if you use Quicken. I have brought this to the attention of both FIA Card Services and Fidelity over the last 3 years and there does not seem to be any changes on the horizon. October 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by OMG This FIDELITY Amex Card AWESOME Simple to use. Cash just plops into my FIDELITY brokerage account each month. 2% - is FABULOUS. Real deal - CASH - yeee ha October 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Card is fine - Customer Service, not the same as Amex If one of the reasons you are thinking of getting this card is because you love AmEx customer service, you should know that the card doesn't appear to be serviced by AmEx. I lost my wallet last week. I called AmEx to cancel the card, but they had no record of the card. They did have my regular AmEx acct info. It took nearly 30 minutes to get connected with the proper folks to cancel the card. And unlike the regular AmEx card replacement, which was over-nighted, it's been 5 business days since I reported my Fidelity Card lost. I followed up today was told that it was mailed only yesterday and I can expect it in 5-8 days. Too bad for them, as in the meantime, I'm using my other AmEx card. October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2% cash back on everything What more can you ask for, 2% cash into your Fidelity account on everything you buy! (Which is essentially 2% cash back as you could take it right out if you wanted to) October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Rewards Card Out There I have made it my hobby to find the rewards card that gives the most in terms of real value. I've had airline miles cards, cash back cards, cards that gave money toward car purchases.... This one is the best of them all. 2% is the best rate going, and there's no annual limits. It's easy to link it to your accounts and no hassle. I just sit back and watch all the money pour into my college savings portfolio. October 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Value & Simplicity Of all the no annual fee credit cards available, this is the simplest card that maximizes returns. The 2% cash back never ends, nor is it contingent on 'categories'. It's just 2%, all the time. Thanks, Fidelity! September 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best ever If you have a Fidelity account, and why wouldn't you, this is the best credit card deal available. No fees at all (just pay your full balance each month directly from cash in your Fidelity account# and get 2% cash rebate from purchases automatically deposited into that same Fidelity cash account. AmEx is honored almost everywhere, though there are times we need to fall back on our Fidelity Investment Rewards MasterCard #all the same perks, but a slightly lower rebate rate). If you are not using this card, you should be. September 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity has the best hooks in the financial industry. I use this card for every purchase. It is the rare mom-n-pop operation that will not accept the Am Ex card these days. I have recommended the Fidelity Rewards Am Ex Card to my friends. They confirmed being happy with the card too. Initially, I experienced a few purchase challenges until Fidelity learned my shopping patterns. Now, I only hear from them when there is actually a fraudulent purchase. I have found the Fidelity customer service to be outstanding and very friendly. Fidelity has helped me refute charges from more than one vendor with sloppy records. They have honored my requests for credit increases immediately. What is there not to like? I have access to my checking, investments, and credit card statement by simply logging into the Fidelity web site. It is sweet. Fidelity has some of the best financial hooks around. They pull you in with their 2% cash rewards card and the provision that you establish a small account. Now that a relationship is established, you might as well use Fidelity's excellent banking service - it is the best. A few months down the road you discover some sweet investments on their website and then you are hooked. September 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! Only one gripe... Love this card. Great rewards. Easy. Love AMEX customer service. BUT - this card can NOT be linked to Fidelity bill pay if you use Fidelity's Cash Account to receive an e-bill. You have to manually pay etc. September 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but not perfect No fee and 2% back is great. However, on 2 different occasions in the last year, my card was declined because Fidelity decided that there was the possibility of fradulent use by someone else. Each time it was very inconvienent and was for small dollars (maybe a hundred dollars or less), even though I spend thousands each month. It caused me to lose reserved airline seats. Also, I tried to make a claim for a damaged iPhone under the warranty program. Because I bought it online I did not have a store receipt - no claims without a store receipt I was told. P.S. the claims are made with Fidelity and not through the American Express company itself. (It's a Fidelity card, not an AMEX card they like to point out). August 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recommended A very good cash back card; accumulating minimum $50 cash back very fast if you use this card everywhere August 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rewards are great FIA Card Services Customer Service is HORRIBLE The card and its rewards are excellent. There are no problems with the card being accepted anywhere that American Express is accepted. However, the customer service at FIA Card Services (the issuer of the card) is horrible. I have made at least a half a dozen calls to their call center and the people are rude and agressive in challenging your requests. If I could find a card with as good of rewards, I would switch my card. August 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Trigger Happy I was trying to purchase a TV at a large national store. The purchase was well within my limit and was about ten in the morning. The purchase was denied! After checking with AMEX, they said oh sorry, that looked like fraud. It did not fit your purchase pattern. Talk about embarrassing. My credit is bulletproof. August 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great cash back, fraud detection holds are a pain 2% cash back is great, easy setup w/ Fidelity account. FIA Card Services "fraud detection" has placed holds several times on simple, legitimate transactions - small $ amounts, not while travelling so I'm not sure what triggers their fraud alert and their representatives aren't able to explain it either. And it seems to be occurring more frequently. August 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Annoying and impossible fraud detection service This account is history. The rewards are good but they continually put holds on charges due to fraud detection. There has been no change in my charge pattern and I have brought it to their attention twice that the payment holds need to stop. Card will be cancelled as soon as paid up, not worth the trouble. July 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Card is Great, Fidelity is Not The cash back AMEX card seems too good to be true -- and is. While FIA Card Services (who operates the card) is great, Fidelity decided they weren't making enough money on me, so decided to close my account after I had been happily accumulating cash back on the AMEX card for a year. So now my accumulated points are in limbo, with no Fidelity account to transfer them to, which means I will probably only get half of the stated cash back I deserve. I've never had a bank account closed in my life, and even when I submitted all kinds of documentation to Fidelity to appeal the decision, they wouldn't budge. Beware. July 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Clarity of statement - very very poor American Express card makes it very difficult to find the balance due. The statements always show the minimum - in order to maximize your interest. If Fidelity offered any other card, I would discontinue American Express! July 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Card! This is the best rewards card I have in my wallet. Only downside is AMEX isn't accepted everywhere. June 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Why so many fraudulent charges? Since acquiring both the Fidelity Rewards American Express and the Rewards Visa cards by FIA, there have been several occasions where my account has been locked on both cards because their security department has detected fraudulent charges. Although they were all legitimate fraudulent charges and I appreciated their being able to detect such charges, it definitely is an inconvenience to have the account locked, have a new card sent, and have to change account numbers and any automated payment procedures. Never before with any other credit cards --and I've had many throughout the years-- have I had to deal with this situation. The fact that it occurs with such regularity and frequency is a concern and something that really shouldn't happen. I have to put the blame on them as I haven't really done anything different with these cards than I have done with the numerous credit cards I've had in the past as far as how carefully I use them to prevent anything being revealed. I believe FIA has to work harder on this. Otherwise, their service has been satisfactory but like others have said, it doesn't compare with the service provided by the American Express representatives themselves. The procedure to automatically redeem cash back into a Fidelity brokerage account is very confusing and not user friendly at all. I'm still unsure as to how to toggle back and forth pertaining to this feature. Overall, I'd still recommend this card to friends as it does provide a true 2% cash back without caps, or other confusing restrictions. June 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible for quicken users! You can't beat 2% cash back. However, I hardly use this card because it is almost impossible to track using quicken. Had I known that the card was issued by FIA card services (not fidelity) and that it is managed on a clunky website: www.ibsnetaccess.com (again, not fidelity) I would not have signed up. You cannot download your statement until the statement is over, and forget about setting up automatic updates with quicken (or I'd imagine any other personal finance software). Plus, the ibsnetaccess.com website frequently crashes, further complicating the process. In sum, if you use personal finance software to track your finances, this card is NOT for you. While you may save slightly more than you would with other cards, it is not worth the extra time it takes to manage the card. June 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a real Amex The card works as promised for rebates, and so it is a pretty good deal. However, the customer service and account protections aren't up to snuff. The card is neither run by Fidelity nor by Amex. The bank that does issue the card is not especially helpful or easy to contact. I had a minor problem with a purchase and they made it very difficult to dispute the charge. In the end the merchant corrected the mistake on their own, but the credit card issuer was worthless in helping to resolve the problem. June 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does-it-for-you-card The Fidelity American Express Card is the card for those who; want the points that are converted to cash, but don't want to wast time counting the points. Fidelity AMX card rewards you with 2% of your purchases, which can be set up to be contributed directly to your Fidelity retirement account (401K, etc). Before forgoing the 2% as a a minor sum, remember that bank savings account interest is less. I read CBS Money Watch, 2/23/2011 and was convinced. June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love getting 2%! Getting 2% on every purchase is fantastic! The only downside is that some merchants don't accept american express. June 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST CASHBACK CARD OUT THERE! NO CONTEST! If they take AMEX, this is the card I use. I pay most of my monthly bills with it too. 2% across the board cashback. Simple! No rotating categories, no hoops to jump through to get rewards. Rewards are automatically deposited. This is the way cashback cards should be. June 4, 2012
  • 2015-08-03T11:12:40.309-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-28, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1159, tr_1159
  • loc_en_US, sid_003, prod, sort_default
<<prev 26 27 28 29 30 ... 39 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0