• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1144 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good, but not perfect No fee and 2% back is great. However, on 2 different occasions in the last year, my card was declined because Fidelity decided that there was the possibility of fradulent use by someone else. Each time it was very inconvienent and was for small dollars (maybe a hundred dollars or less), even though I spend thousands each month. It caused me to lose reserved airline seats. Also, I tried to make a claim for a damaged iPhone under the warranty program. Because I bought it online I did not have a store receipt - no claims without a store receipt I was told. P.S. the claims are made with Fidelity and not through the American Express company itself. (It's a Fidelity card, not an AMEX card they like to point out). August 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recommended A very good cash back card; accumulating minimum $50 cash back very fast if you use this card everywhere August 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rewards are great FIA Card Services Customer Service is HORRIBLE The card and its rewards are excellent. There are no problems with the card being accepted anywhere that American Express is accepted. However, the customer service at FIA Card Services (the issuer of the card) is horrible. I have made at least a half a dozen calls to their call center and the people are rude and agressive in challenging your requests. If I could find a card with as good of rewards, I would switch my card. August 9, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Trigger Happy I was trying to purchase a TV at a large national store. The purchase was well within my limit and was about ten in the morning. The purchase was denied! After checking with AMEX, they said oh sorry, that looked like fraud. It did not fit your purchase pattern. Talk about embarrassing. My credit is bulletproof. August 3, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great cash back, fraud detection holds are a pain 2% cash back is great, easy setup w/ Fidelity account. FIA Card Services "fraud detection" has placed holds several times on simple, legitimate transactions - small $ amounts, not while travelling so I'm not sure what triggers their fraud alert and their representatives aren't able to explain it either. And it seems to be occurring more frequently. August 3, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Annoying and impossible fraud detection service This account is history. The rewards are good but they continually put holds on charges due to fraud detection. There has been no change in my charge pattern and I have brought it to their attention twice that the payment holds need to stop. Card will be cancelled as soon as paid up, not worth the trouble. July 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Card is Great, Fidelity is Not The cash back AMEX card seems too good to be true -- and is. While FIA Card Services (who operates the card) is great, Fidelity decided they weren't making enough money on me, so decided to close my account after I had been happily accumulating cash back on the AMEX card for a year. So now my accumulated points are in limbo, with no Fidelity account to transfer them to, which means I will probably only get half of the stated cash back I deserve. I've never had a bank account closed in my life, and even when I submitted all kinds of documentation to Fidelity to appeal the decision, they wouldn't budge. Beware. July 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Clarity of statement - very very poor American Express card makes it very difficult to find the balance due. The statements always show the minimum - in order to maximize your interest. If Fidelity offered any other card, I would discontinue American Express! July 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Card! This is the best rewards card I have in my wallet. Only downside is AMEX isn't accepted everywhere. June 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Why so many fraudulent charges? Since acquiring both the Fidelity Rewards American Express and the Rewards Visa cards by FIA, there have been several occasions where my account has been locked on both cards because their security department has detected fraudulent charges. Although they were all legitimate fraudulent charges and I appreciated their being able to detect such charges, it definitely is an inconvenience to have the account locked, have a new card sent, and have to change account numbers and any automated payment procedures. Never before with any other credit cards --and I've had many throughout the years-- have I had to deal with this situation. The fact that it occurs with such regularity and frequency is a concern and something that really shouldn't happen. I have to put the blame on them as I haven't really done anything different with these cards than I have done with the numerous credit cards I've had in the past as far as how carefully I use them to prevent anything being revealed. I believe FIA has to work harder on this. Otherwise, their service has been satisfactory but like others have said, it doesn't compare with the service provided by the American Express representatives themselves. The procedure to automatically redeem cash back into a Fidelity brokerage account is very confusing and not user friendly at all. I'm still unsure as to how to toggle back and forth pertaining to this feature. Overall, I'd still recommend this card to friends as it does provide a true 2% cash back without caps, or other confusing restrictions. June 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible for quicken users! You can't beat 2% cash back. However, I hardly use this card because it is almost impossible to track using quicken. Had I known that the card was issued by FIA card services (not fidelity) and that it is managed on a clunky website: www.ibsnetaccess.com (again, not fidelity) I would not have signed up. You cannot download your statement until the statement is over, and forget about setting up automatic updates with quicken (or I'd imagine any other personal finance software). Plus, the ibsnetaccess.com website frequently crashes, further complicating the process. In sum, if you use personal finance software to track your finances, this card is NOT for you. While you may save slightly more than you would with other cards, it is not worth the extra time it takes to manage the card. June 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a real Amex The card works as promised for rebates, and so it is a pretty good deal. However, the customer service and account protections aren't up to snuff. The card is neither run by Fidelity nor by Amex. The bank that does issue the card is not especially helpful or easy to contact. I had a minor problem with a purchase and they made it very difficult to dispute the charge. In the end the merchant corrected the mistake on their own, but the credit card issuer was worthless in helping to resolve the problem. June 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Does-it-for-you-card The Fidelity American Express Card is the card for those who; want the points that are converted to cash, but don't want to wast time counting the points. Fidelity AMX card rewards you with 2% of your purchases, which can be set up to be contributed directly to your Fidelity retirement account (401K, etc). Before forgoing the 2% as a a minor sum, remember that bank savings account interest is less. I read CBS Money Watch, 2/23/2011 and was convinced. June 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love getting 2%! Getting 2% on every purchase is fantastic! The only downside is that some merchants don't accept american express. June 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST CASHBACK CARD OUT THERE! NO CONTEST! If they take AMEX, this is the card I use. I pay most of my monthly bills with it too. 2% across the board cashback. Simple! No rotating categories, no hoops to jump through to get rewards. Rewards are automatically deposited. This is the way cashback cards should be. June 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by regularly decline transactions I have a very high credit limit and perfect payment record but regularly get transactions denied due to suspicious activity. Not worth the hassle of dealing with these people. May 30, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dont Get this card Dont get this card unless you want a card that gets declined about 30% of the time. This card gets declined and no one at card services can tell you why. It gets declined if you travel out of your zip code, if you use it too much or too little, or because they feel like it. I had to get another credit card because I couldnt trust this one when I travelled on business, because you never know when or why they put a block on your card, and they dont know either and don't care. May 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best card yet! 2% back everywhere with no gimmiks. What more could you want. May 3, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Service Customer service from FIA isn't close the Amex's own service. I wish I had known in the beginning that Amex doesn't support this card. The most annoying thing is that there is an arbitrary and unreasonable algorithm that leads them to block charges as possible fraud for no good reason. I have complained to customer service repeatedly, but the customer reps have no idea why a charge is refused and have no ability to make changes to their system. May 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by No Direct Connect This card would be perfect if not for the lack of the Direct Connect feature that most other credit cards have. This feature allows daily downloads to financial software such as Quicken and iBank. April 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best card ever! It's 2% cash back ON EVERYTHING! I don't understand how that's not TWICE as good as EVERY other card out there. The only exception is if you travel weekly for business. But for most people, this is definitely the card to have. April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOW TRANSFER RATE Besides the 2% cash back, this FIA card only charges one third the transfer rate that other cards charge. I always use it when in Europe. April 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 98% Perfect 98% perfect. If only there were no foreign transaction fees, it would be 100% best card on the market. April 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Can not update Quicken This card does not work with Quicken one step update. You can only download at the end of the month. With financial information from many sources daily Quicken helps me identify fraudulent charges immediately with all my other cards and accounts. Without this feature this card is of no value to me. It operates they way we did things 15 years ago. I can't believe Fidelity put it's name on a product that is so backwards technologically. April 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best rewards card This is hands down the best rewards card. No fuss and no hassle rewards of 2% on every purchase. I wish that all merchants would accept Amex though. April 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Card - Poor Customer Services Customer in June 2011 and love the benefits. Tried getting my limit increased and it was painful. Spoke with 5 different people and then was on-hold for 20+ minutes. Thumbs-down with my experiece calling them. If you don't ever need to speak with a live human being, then this card is for you. April 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works perfect where accepted Works at about 95% of places. For the rest, just grab the Fidelity Visa which has comparable awards. March 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Rewards, Poor Service With 2% cash back, this is a leading rewards card. Rewards redemption is quick and easy. Existing Amex customers should be warned, however, that this card is serviced by FIA Card Services, not by Amex. Don't expect the highest level of customer service. Instead, be prepared for lowest. March 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy and smart Saving for my future is easy when I simply earn rewards for the spending I would naturally do. January 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cash back rewards card! I got this card for the 2% cash back rewards and have not been disappointed. It is the best deal of any rewards card that I have found. January 22, 2012
  • 2015-07-03T11:09:44.138-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-28, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1144, tr_1144
  • loc_en_US, sid_003, prod, sort_default
<<prev 26 27 28 29 30 ... 39 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0