• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1066 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Two Years The 2% rebate is great! I've used this card for two years and Fidelity Brokerage executives advise that they will forward the my complaints about the automated pay by phone system. The system does not offer the amount due, only the minimum payment. You have to wade through the prompt menu and fill in the amount due that appears on the paper monthly statement. FID is making it difficult to avoid interest charges. Paying Visa and regular American Express by phone is a breeze and tokes a small fraction of the time. March 7, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by 2% cash back great... but horrible service!!! We charge everything to our card and love the 2% cash back. That is the only reason we keep the card. Every time we charge anything over 1k+ we get a call from fraud control explaining that for our protection they have frozen the account. February 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Credit Card Program This is the best best credit card program I've used in 45 years. 2% return and it's automatically deposited into my account. It doesn't get any better. February 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by And no foreign transaction fees! I agree w/every positive comment about this card. And have had no difficulty depositing rewards points (last year $1500) in my brokerage account. Another positive is that there is NO FOREIGN TRANSACTION FEE. The website says there is a 1% charge. Haven't seen it. Only negative is that AX isn't accepted everywhere--especially abroad. So in those instances there are other back-ups. The few times I over-charged my account or was late with a payment, FIA willingly forgave the fees. I love this feature Fidelity Investment offers. February 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by rewards great, poor fraud-detection a nightmare As the title says, the rewards that are deposited straight into my Fidelity account are great. That's where my "value" rating of 4 comes from -- it would be 5 if not for the hassles that come with the poor fraud detection. It is never clear what triggers a fraud alert, and customer service can't seem to say how to avoid it. Yesterday, our card was declined at our local grocery store. We shop there every week for about the same amount. The service rep first said that the card wasn't declined, it was "referred". That means it wasn't approved until we spoke to them by phone. That sounds like a decline to me... She then said that it was declined when we tried to use it a second time for the same purchase because double-purchases are a fraud indicator. But that doesn't explain the 1st time. She then said that we had been shopping out-of-state. Yes, we live in Rhode Island, and the Home Depot 7.5 miles from our house is in Massachusetts. We shop there all the time, too... All of this happened yesterday, wasting time and inconveniencing us. Of course, FIA considers all of this a service to cardholders. It would be, if the false positives were not the only fraud they detect. Oh, wait, they did discover a real fraud issue. They managed to have some number of card numbers stolen, and so we had to get a new card number. That, of course, meant we had to update the dozens of vendors that we either have auto-pay set up with or that have our number to make web purchases more convenient. February 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by What do you expect I've been with Fidelity over 30 years, and they've had almost perfect customer service all that time, so what else would one expect from the credit card? Problems are handled immediately and to my total satisfaction. And they pay ME 2% for this? Maybe we should pay THEM 2%.... (forget I said this :) February 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pay yourself First By charging everything that we had to buy, we were able to fund 3/4 of one year's expenses at CSU Sonoma. That included tuition, books, Room & Board. That was done in just 6 years, begnning about 2004. Imagine what you could do if started at the birth of your child. Additionally, I find that the fraud detection is incredible. FIA has sniffed out at least 3 fraud attempts immediately. Although the loss of use of the card is a real pain, I am really impressed by the speed of their software algorithms. January 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Erroneous Fraud Alerts I recently had my Fidelity AMEX card declined on 3 separate ocassions while I was traveling in Florida. Needless to say, this was very embarrassing and inconvenient. When I called FIA, I was abrubtly told this was due to a computer deciding that there was "suspicious" activity on my card (not sure why they didn't call me first). I advised them that I own a vacation home in Florida and was told that would be noted in the file. On the next trip my card was declined again. Five days later the card was declined again. When I called FIA I was told this was because there were 2 back-to-back transactions on the same day at the same store. Bottom line...if you want impersonal service and a card you can't count on bring "available" when you really need it, this is the card for you. January 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad experience with Fidelity American Express Card After many years with the FIA Fidelity Mastercard, I switched to the American Express Rewards Card. Although it was great when it worked, the extremely sensitive fraud alert settings on the account made it unreliable to use. On one instance, I was denied credit when checking out at a Kroger grocery store and on another the card declined to accept a automatic payment from Verizon FIOS even though they had accepted similar payments for many months. As a result, I have discontinued using the account. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply The Best The best credit card I have ever owned. 2% back with no limit, no annual fee, and linked to my Fidelity account. The BEST. January 28, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad card They reject purchases, embarrassing you constantly, they give you a difficult time with their warranty protection and extended warranty programs, continually giving you the runaround and dodging legitimate claims. January 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by How much pain is 2% worth? Or rather, how much pain is 1% (the difference between this card and most others) worth? The fraud detection algorithms are very poor, resulting in one or two rejected charges per month on average. We’ve spoken with customer service four times, and they keep promising that they’ve fixed the problems. Most recently we were rejected buying airline tickets, and the CS rep told us that this would never happen again. Less than 24 hours later, the card was rejected at our grocery store. This was the last straw for my wife, and in spite of a supervisor promising (again) to make sure this never happens again (again), she has stopped using the card. I recommend this card only if you will be charging over $100,000 per year, as it would take $1000 to compensate for the inconvenience, embarrassment, and time it takes to use it. January 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Waist of time 10 days after applying for the card I received 2 cards for my wife and myself . They gave both of us a combined $5000 credit line. We both have over 800 Fico score . Total waist of time ! I guess we are going to keep our old American Express cards. No limits and better service. We are mailing the cards back. January 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent card BUT FIA HAS TO GO! The 2% cash back into my Fidelity account is great! The only gripe I have is that I REALLY wish Fidelity would ditch FIA Card Services! FIA Card services is about 10+ years behind on the technology and their online account is something you would have seen in the late 1990's. To do an auto-pay they sent me a letter that had been written on a typewriter that I had to fill out and mail back! REALLY?! Come on Fidelity, PLEASE ditch FIA Card Services and choose a company that's current with the times! January 19, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Prepare to be humiliated I have had this card for a couple of years. The points are great and easy to use. The fraud detection department is horrible. They decline purchases and leave you stranded in line. Imagine the humility then they ask you personal questions while you are standing in line. They declined three purchases for us in the past 5 months. All were local stores that we shop at regularly , Lots of apologies and then one individual wanted to go through all our recent purchases while in the checkout line. You can do better ! We are cashing in our points and looking for a new credit card company. January 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Card Fidelity hands down has the best credit card out there... no annual fee, easy transfering of reward points into money and great iphone app. My only downfall is that there is such a disconnect with FIA card services and Fidelity and have experience some frustrating customer service. January 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible accounting software support I used the card for my business in the last 6 months. Now I want to import the transaction into my Quickbooks program. It does not support QB. Only Quicken is. I called the customer service and they were no help. This is the only card that I have seen no supporting QB software. I have been using QB for over 10 yrs and at least 10 different cards. All support QB. Now I have to enter all the info manually. Waste of time. December 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great customer service! I really love this card and the amount of rewards I earn by using it for my everyday purchases. I forgot to pay my balance in full a few months ago. I called customer service to see if I could get a courtesy waiver and before I even asked the rep said "let me reverse that for you." She then began telling me what I valued customer I was and how she appreciated my business. I was blown away by this as I've never experienced customer service like this. Me and my fiancée typically spend about $1000+ a month on the card, which is probably more than the average customer? I have no complaints. This is the only card we use unless the retailer doesn't accept AMEX then we have to use our debit cards. I even got a couple friends and my parents to sign up for this card. December 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by FIDELITY INVESTMENTS AMERICAN EXPRESS CARD THE 2% CASH IS, INDEED, A NICE PERK THE DOWNSIDE TO THIS CARD IS FIA CARD SERVICES CUSTOMER SERVICE AT FIA IS DEPLORABLE--- WAITED OVER 15 MINUTES RECENTLY FOR AN AGENT----- WHEN YOU DO GET AGENTS----NOT VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE, AND NOT HELPFUL.... SO BEST BET IS TO WAIT ON HOLD FOR AN AGENT---THEN IMMEDIATELY ASK FOR A SUPERVISOR...THEN MAKE SURE YOU DO, IN FACT, GET A SUPERVISOR.... IF THIS CARD WAS SERVICED BY AMERICAN EXPRESS IT WOULD BE AN AWESOME CARD December 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a no-brainer and worth 6 stars For frequent flier miles, you pay at least $100 a year for the card. Suppose you have 100 thousand miles.Try to use it. INSTEAD, with this card, your fidelity account has an extra $2000 and you have kept your $100. No other credit card does that. This is a no-brainer. December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing benefits, great falue, NO FEE!!! I Love Love Love this card...after searching for the best CC of the year and with best rewards i came up with Amex thru fidelity. I have been in love ever since and I do not wish to use any other cards!!!! Loveeeeeeeeeeeee it!!!!!! December 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Customer service and website issues Disputing transaction is more difficult as you cant use website and customer service rep was not that friendly. Fiacardservice website is not as mature as like actual American express website. I found 2 bugs so you need to use more phone than website. December 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fidelity AmEx Card I starting using the Fidelity AmEx card 2 years ago.. I have had a AmEx Gold card for 35 years and never had an issue, always excellent service. This card is not the same. Today, for the sixth time in two years, my card was rejected. It is embarrassing to be in line holding people up while the clerk is told to call for authorization. The clerks calls and gets bounced around each time reentering info.. every time after 5 minutes of this, and everyone in line looking at you like a deadbeat, I tell the clerk to just hang up and I give him another card. Meanwhile they kill your card until you call them. Later I then have to call the FIA number and then I get bounced around until you end up with a phone center in India.. These folks have no idea why the charge was denied but make vague comments about security. Eventually they say you can start using your card again. Although the 2% is great this card has none of the Professionalism of a real AmEx card. Be prepared to be embarrassed every couple of months.. the very reason my wife refuses to us it. This card also does not work with some vendors, especially gas stations, who even though they take AmEx, their system/reader will not acknowledge the card as valid. One last piece of advice.. never buy gas twice in the same day within a few hours, which happens when you and your wife need to gas up on the same day, or their system will shut down the card.. December 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our "go to" card We use this card for almost every purchase we make. I can't recommend it highly enough. It's convenient, and it feels good to know that every purchase is helping to fund our retirement. The customer service agents are top notch. My only complaint is that there are still a few places that don't accept Amex. Not their fault, of course. November 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Standard I have had this credit card since 2009 and it has since replaced ALL my other credit cards. I have stopped using my other cards due to the EXCELLENT rewards programd and bonus rewards program (if you use there online mall). Money is deposited into my IRA and it's made me more aware of my savings, spending and investment goals. Thank you Amex and Fidelity for your continued service. November 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Low Credit Limit My credit limit was reduced from $50000 to $10000 without telling me. I just noticed it when I went online to check account. I pay my full balance every month and am a Fidelity Million Dollar Plus customer. In the past, I made an over payment of $10000 and they wanted to charge me $75 to refund my money.. When I called to ask why my credit limit was reduced, they lowered the credit limit on my Fidelity Mastercard to $10000. I use the card for all my utility bills and insurance, and every place else that accepts American Express. I use the Fidelity Mastercard for everything else, but it only rebates one and a half percent. November 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Transaction approval fiasco I called customer service to confirm availability of credit for a big purchase (a kitchen). Nonetheless, half an hour later, the charge was declined. I then called customer service again, the person asked various security questions, apologized but did not approve the charge. Instead, transferred the call to somebody else who (once again) asked various security questions, apologized but did not approve the charge either. He asked to put the call on hold for 2 more minutes, but didn’t return for 20 minutes! During this time the credit card terminal was blocked, customers gave up the purchase and walked away and (obviously) I was EXTREMELY embarrassed. Finally, the same gentleman returned, asked more security questions (some of them, ridiculous, like the number of my checking account!!) and finally approved the charge. I suspect that going away and leaving me waiting for 20 minutes was just an attempt to have me give up and drop off the line; I cannot imagine a 20 min long discussion regarding the approval of a perfectly legitimate charge, and not for an item that I was carrying out with me. November 26, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Service! I have had problems with them freezing my account due to questions as to whether I was using it or an unauthorized person for even small amounts. THEN I went overseas, told them where I was going and STILL it was frozen multiple times.. Had to use my Visa Card overseas.... NEVER had these problems when I had my Amex Card directly from Amex.... November 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by BEWARE! Autopay may result in overdraft charges If you choose "autopay previous balance", your payment account will always be charged the FULL previous month's balance even if you make an interim payment on this balance from another account. Every other credit card servicer I am aware of deducts interim payments from the autopay amount. Fidelity AMEX does not subtract interim payments from the autopay amount. If the previous balance was already paid from another account, Fidelty AMEX ignores this payment and again withdraws the full previous balance from the assigned payment account. This policy always results in overpayment and possibly an overdraft (if insufficient funds are present in this account.) Fidelity should require that FIA Cardservices recognize interim payments in its autopay policy. November 5, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by 5000 points every month? Do you have to charge $5000.00 every month to get 2% automatic redemption into your eligible Fidelity account? Please let me know. The reviews I been reading are like a horror movie. Unbelievable that Fidelity and Amx. Exp. are not responding. November 4, 2012
  • 2015-04-01T09:50:19.841-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-24, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_1066, tr_1066
  • loc_en_US, sid_003, prod, sort_default
<<prev 22 23 24 25 26 ... 36 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0