• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 4 out of 5 by 1034 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dependable and convenient I have enjoyed my American Express card and enjoy the online access and visibility. Only negative I might mention would be that not all vendors will accept an American Express card as opposed to Visa, MasterCard and Discover cards. These situations require I carry a "back up" card when I would rather use just one. I also was told I would receive extra bonus points when I signed up for the card and I do not recall that being the case. February 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Whats not to like....... Been using since October ... So far flawless...I pay my cable bill , insurance , utilities on this card ... The rewards mount up fast.... I no longer used the 3-2-1 cards since most change categories quarterly... January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Rewards 2% is hands down the best rewards around. As a Fidelity customer already, this card is perfect for me. I would rather have the card managed by Amex (not Fia) since I already have cards with them. Also, I did have a transaction declined when I went to Canada (I should have let them know). Nevertheless, it has been an overall great experience. January 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good value Automatic deposits work well. The web site is easy to use and provides details on account activity. January 28, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolute Win/Win. Don't miss out We have used this card for 3 years and absolutely love it. We use the card for as many purchases as possible and pay it off every month. My husband's Fidelity account has received over $1,000 a year the last 2 years. How perfect is it to get free money for purchases you already planned on making and that free money then has the potential to grow as an investment? Even if that free money loses in the stock market, it is not out of your pocket. Absolute Win/Win. I recommend this card to anyone who can get it. January 28, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good but a couple things need work I like the card a lot and customer service is really helpful. I like that the rewards just show up as cash in my account. There are two issues with my experience so far: 1. It would be really nice for the fidelity investment/cash management website to accurately reflect the balances of my cards. I have to log in to FIA to get accurate information. 2. I wish autopay was easier to set up. It took over two months to get it going and then when it was up and running I didn't know and I ended up double paying the balance. I have used other banking sites and autopay was easier to set up and more transparent. Thanks for asking for feedback. January 27, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by American Express Review It is very restrictive to use the American Express card. I find it much easier to use my MasterCard and Visa credit cards. January 27, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by WONT WORK WITH APPLE PAY This was one of my favorite credit cards, until Fidelity dropped the ball on getting it to work with Apple Pay. I have drastically cut my spending with this card as a result. Once Fidelity gets caught up with the times, I will probably start to use this card again. January 26, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Use Worldpoints for best rewards program This card was recommended to me by a friend who used to obsess over credit card points collection. I was using a 2% VISA card at the time, so I didn't believe the Fidelity Amex to be better. I later discovered that I was wrong because of the 2% rebate plus the Worldpoints program. Worldpoints are better than other points redemption programs because they can be used to purchase flights using fewer points than with other programs I have used. For example, a flight that would normally cost up to 40k points can be had for only 25k points using Worldpoints. You have to be willing to take the lowest priced flight available, but this isn't always a problem. You still have the option to pay the full 40k (or other amount) if needed. They also offer other increments like 30k Worldpoints for what would otherwise cost 50k points. This makes a difference for a large family like mine that likes to travel. The other 2% cards don't seem to have this. Another benefit is that you can get more than 2% back when you order online from a large list of businesses that provide bonus points on purchases, sometimes 10% or more (in addition to the 2% that the card provides). That is a great way to rack up points. The downside of this card is that some places won't accept Amex, their fraud protection is a bit too aggressive, and they were recently hacked. I have learned to just notify them whenever I travel, which solves the fraud protection problem. But this accounts for why I deducted points on convenience and service. All in all, I still think that my friend was right and this continues to be the best credit card for point collection, especially for people who want to redeem their points for travel. I also recommend the Fidelity Investment Visa card as a companion product. Even though it starts at 1.5% and gets to 2% only after $15k of purchases, the points can be combined with the Fidelity Amex points. It can be a substitute for when the vendor won't accept an Amex card. January 23, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why would you use any other card? I discovered this card through a Readers' Digest article about the Best Credit Cards and have used it for several years. Told my CPA son about it and he agrees it is the best ever. I can't believe I can earn over $1K/yr. No concerns over air miles, flight schedules,etc. January 21, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Card Love this card and how easy it is to use. I had to take a star off because american express just isnt excepted at as many places as visa. January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid card No hassles at all with this card - only drawback is that American Express not quite as widely accepted as its rivals. January 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Card No issues whatsoever. Easy to use. Cashback to Brokerage account like clockwork. January 19, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by 2% Cash back? Card is fine but I still cannot figure out when and how much money I am suppose to be getting. I pay my statement on time in full each month but cannot say same for the 2% January 19, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Most used card I use my Fidelity Amex the most among all my cards. On that account, I would give it 5 stars. However, they have been late to the party on Apple Pay. Also, they are not accepted in several stores in my area. January 13, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't Leave Home Without It I've used American Express branded cards since 1975 and still have my original account with them. But the Fidelity Amex offers 2% for my child's 529 account and I cannot think of a better way to use the bonus. Other cards give me miles for air travel but I travel so much on business, my idea of a reward is getting to stay home. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Used Correctly this is a Great Product I use this for normal monthly spending as well as with regular bills like the cell phone. You should commit to paying off balances each billing period, and in that way the 2% will be beneficial. January 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Limited The whole reason to choose this card is for the cash back rewards. Other than that, the electronic tools (web/apps) are not at a par as far as services and user-friendliness with other modern cards. Also, the lack of support for Apple Pay is a detriment. January 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by When Overseas Watchout! I love this card in most ways. I have 2, one AMEX and one VISA. I particularly like the no foreign transaction fee associated with the AMEX. However, about 4 years ago I started getting declined while abroad. The first time I was in South America. I had to find a phone and call Fidelity card services. They explained they thought it was fraud. I explained I had used this card with no issues in the past while in South America. They removed the flag and I was on my way. I would like to point out that I called them at the expense of $2.00 a minute. So no problems right? I figure it is merely the issue I was in a country with a less than stellar reputation. Well, fast forward 6 months, I am in Holland and get declined. Well, you know the drill I call them and they explain that it was suspected fraud. I explain I have used this card throughout Europe in the past no problems. Well, they remove the flag and no problems. Now I have been trained to call them in advance and tell them my plans. The problem is often times I will fly to Europe with no plan. I want to explore and go wherever. That unfortunately leads to issues with this card. I think whoever manages their fraud department has the strictest fraud policy of any card I have ever used. It definitely diminished the overall value to me. :(. In conclusion, in USA this is without a doubt my favorite card. Outside of US? Not so much. January 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works fine for me... Could not ask for better. Accepted most everywhere and customer svc. is terrific. January 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not accepted in a lot of places I'm actually thinking about canceling the card because so many vendors don't accept the card. January 12, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fraud Control Excessive and Mindless The card is fine and is accepted well. The 2% return on purchases is excellent. The fraud control group is far too aggressive and will shut the card down mindlessly with no consideration of either the amount of the questioned purchase or the account history. Recently we have experienced card shutdown on small and legitimate transactions about once a month. This is intolerable if the card is used for business purposes and embarrassing otherwise. A better approach would be to consider the history of the account and magnitude of the transaction before denying the transaction and then to follow up with an email or telephone call for clarification and confirmation. January 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Had 2 unauthorized charges and was taken care of easily. January 6, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by very pleased I had no problems what so ever , thanks for excellent service January 5, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not accepted everywhere A great card if it were Visa or Mastercard. I still need to maintain another card to pay for transactions where AMEX is not accepted, including three recurring bills that charge every month. It's still a good card because of the cash back and it is the only card you can use at Costco. January 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Value Card The Fidelity Amex card delivers a 2% discount on all purchases, superior to any other card I have found. And there is no annual fee to Fidelity customers which increases its overall value. January 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by need an iphone app need an iphone app ------------------------------ January 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome I like getting my rewards money put into my trading account so I can turn my rewards dollars inot even more dollars... January 5, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great benefits I have had my card for a few years and have used it all the time and received over $200 contributed to my retirement account during 2014. I cannot believe I got paid for using my credit card. It is a great benefit for Fidelity acct holders. January 5, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rewards Redemption The explanation of the rewards program is confusing, it says 2% reward when you actually receive 1% but you get double rewards when you make a purchase. So if you spend 1000 you receive 2000 in rewards and when you redeem you receive 1%. Other issue you can only make 3 payments on line per month. January 3, 2015
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 35 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0