• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1064 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! Great deals, no annual fee, cash back (2%), no hassles or fees March 14, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great card but lack feature Love the rewards & the auto redemption to my fidelity account. I would add more authorize users & use it more often if spending on different cards can be track separately like the other AX cards. Also need to eliminate the foreign transaction fee. March 12, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by No Apple Pay For months, all that customers have been told is that Fidelity is working on the card being set up with Apple Pay, without being provided with any time frame for when this is likely to occur. When you call FIA, the representatives are totally in the dark about if and when this is likely to occur. The lack of information is very frustrating and is leaving me thinking I should switch to another card which already accepts Apple Pay. March 12, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Go-To Card Every Chance I Get Do the math: I average $2000 each month times 12 months for more than 3 years. That's at least $1500 cash into my Fidelity account without any extra effort or expense. I still get a kick out of mentally subtracting the 2% from the posted gas price at the pump, and when I pay a larger bill (such as the $5000 I had to shell out to the dentist), knowing I was saving a hundred bucks made it a little easier to take. And, on the two occasions when my account number was compromised, a ten-minute phone call had a new card overnighted to me with no problems. March 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stuck with Penalties I paid on line and got stuck with penalties and interest because they said the payment wasn't received. I won't use this card again. Customer service was no help. March 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Customer Service on an Otherwise Great Card I enthusiastically applied for this card and love the 2% cash rewards and the linkage to my Fidelity account. What I can’t stand is the customer service provided by FIA, the servicer. Four times over the past six months, my card has been frozen and charges declined for “fraud alerts.” In each case, after waiting on an extensive hold, I reviewed the “suspicious” charges and found them to be normal, recurring and for modest amounts. The last straw occurred yesterday when I was frozen again. When I first called, I was told that their systems were down and I should call back later. Upon calling a second time, one of the “suspicious” transactions was over two months old. I asked why it would have been flagged as I had already seen the bill, reviewed all the charges and paid the balance. They had no answer. The other two charges were for local merchants where we shop weekly. For a company such as Fidelity who focuses on customer service, they need to reevaluate their credit card partner if they don’t was disappointed clients. I cannot recommend this card until the customer service improves. March 11, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by WHAT'S NOT TO LIKE? before i applied and received the card i read all the negative reviews. who needs a cc in his wallet that's a problem to use, right? but since i got the card and have been using it a year, i'm really puzzled by the negative reviews. some criticized the card because of the "declines". i think what they mean is that a large number of smaller merchants don't take american express. most people know that. it's not a reason to write a negative review. it works fine for me, and the time i needed customer service that was easy too. so i'm writing to say don't let the negative reviewers make your decisions for you. March 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Rewards I use this card everywhere AmEx is accepted. 2% cash back is terrific. I highly recommend it. Why wouldn't you use it? March 5, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by overly cautious fraud protection I stopped using my card because Fidelity/ FIA refused a number of charges they considered suspicious and suspended use until I called to confirm. The last straw was a pharmacy charge even though I was there in person and had charged purchases in that same pharmacy several times before. They should have at least called the pharmacy to see speak to me to check. I called to complain and asked for a call back from a supervisor which I never received. So, I just stopped using the card. I do not have this problem with the other credit cards I use. March 5, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great card, but makes it very difficult to dispute fraud charges Fidelity Rewards Amex has been my primary card for years. Unfortunately recently I got a fraudulent charge from B&M store. So far it was impossible for me to resolve a dispute. Dispute department refuses to credit the charges. Very unfortunate situation for otherwise great card. March 2, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by does not work with Apple Pay 2% rewards are good but does not work with Apple Pay unlike most other American Express cards. Fidelity and FIA Card Services, please enable Apple Pay on this card as soon as possible. Most other card providers have been supporting Apple Pay for months. Thanks. March 2, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2% no limit, no exclusions, redeem anytime Nothing beats the rewards from Fidelity AMEX. The ability to get your rebate as often as you wish (assuming you've accrued enough points, which isn't hard) is a huge plus. The 2% starts from the first dollar (no minimum) and has no cap. It applies to all purchases, so you don't have to remember what category is in season. Great card! March 2, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by great rewards, awful site Review title says it all. 2% on everything is awesome. Best deal out there. Wish it were easier to manage online, including scheduling payments for full amount and being able to print details of an individual transaction. Also, the site makes Fidelity look second rate. But then, that's true of the site all around, not just for card services. I'd have far more assets with Fidelity (and use the card more) if you made it easier for me to work with your site. March 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fidelity credit card A major disappointment. I cannot use the card because it does not download into QuickBooks- which is the accounting system I use. The card only downloads into Quicken. Please Fidelity- get your act together. March 2, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by 2 hr. wait time to report fraud Huge wait times to report fraud charges Latest fraud charge was made 2 days after being issued a new card due to suspected hacking. March 1, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2% back on everything I opened this card to capture 2% back on all purchases when paired with a Cash Management account. It has done just that and is fairly easy to integrate with my other Fidelity accounts. One improvement I would like is the ability to redeem awards at lower levels than the $50 minimum, since these transactions are all electronic I hope this would be possible. February 25, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic rewards Fidelity is a one stop shop for all financial needs and this card lives up to Fidelity's name. The rewards are top in the industry, the customer service representatives are pleasant and quick to answer questions. Unlike many other credit card companies, this bill comes well in advance of the due date. The AE card compliments Fidelity's Visa card nicely. These are the only 2 credit cards I will carry. February 24, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Fraud department does not pick up their phone Great card for rewards etc. Have been using for 4 years. Has saved me thousands But now unable to reach their fraud department Recent trip to Canada triggered a hold and have tried 5 times to call them during the last 3 days and their fraud department does not pick up. I waited over 30 minutes each time. Tried weekdays and weekends , morning and night. At this point starting to understand they dont want my business February 24, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Amazing card, when it works Worst customer experience I've ever had with any product or service. The only reason I tolerate it is because of the 2% cash back, but now there are alternatives so I have no reason to use this card for my daily expenditures. Fraud protection is so overzealous that my card is declined at least every two weeks. They always promise to fix it, but it's the same story every time, and nothing happens. 90 minute+ hold times to speak with customer service. When I do connect, every now and then they accidentally hang up on me, so I have to get back in the queue. I've gotten stuck at so many cash registers on hold while trying to get my card unlocked, it's become a running joke. February 23, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Be careful!! I read all the reviews about how this is the best value in credit cards. I took advantage of the 0% on transfers and paid it off within a few months, but because I had a rotating balance (I paid the full balance each month) I was charged interest on an amortized amount of my transfer even after I paid the transfer fee. Could be a great card, just don't transfer a balance. February 20, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by No backup while traveling Beware. If you are on vacation and incur a fraudulent charge, your account is put on hold and they cannot get a card to you for at least a week. Unlike some other cards, there is no capability to limit transactions to the area that you are traveling to. February 20, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great card - don't change anything! Amazing card, very easy to use with Fidelity account. February 17, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Put a potential fraud hold on my account without cause I was informed that a hold had put on my account because of three "unusual transactions." All three were made by the legit holders of the cards at stores frequented by them. I called and answered a recording that described each transaction and explained that all were correct. I was told the hold would be lifted in 10 minutes. It was still on the next afternoon, causing a large purchase to be declined. It then took my waiting an hour to get to customer service, where a person asked me about exactly the same transactions. February 13, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy and reliable The card is easy to use at point of purchase. It is also easy to pay the bill each month online. I like being able to see my balance each time I log in to Fidelity. Customer service is also helpful and friendly. They also pritoritize security. February 11, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Customer Service Imaginable By far the worst customer service I've ever experienced for a credit card. Was getting multiple holds a week for suspected fraud when I was making normal every day purchases. As far as I could tell, the automated system to clear the fraud alert would ask you to verify every single past purchase I'd ever made. There was no end in sight, and after verifying 20+ purchases I gave up and called a representative. Getting adjustment to fix a double payment to my bill has taken over three weeks and still hasn't been refunded. Told it will post in 7-10 business days, but I don't see the payment returned, so I call and am told it's 3-5 more business days. 5 days pass and when I call back am told that it will be another 3 business days and if it doesn't show then it will need to be reissued - which I imagine will start this cycle all over again... Other issues: Phone payments are not reflected online. Website is a piece of junk. Automated payments can't be scheduled (except in fixed amounts). February 10, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like my Fidelity Rewards AmEx Card It works great. Customer support is fine. Web access is good. February 10, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Cash Back - Horrible Service I have been using this card for about 2 years . If you can put up with their horrible customer service and denial of payments its a great card. Keep in mind this is not your normal AMEX card and if you travel you're going to have a lot of problems. We have homes in the South and Northeast and when we travel between them we have to call a couple of times before they allow charges. The same happens when you travel abroad and even after you list the countries the charges are sometimes denied. Recently we had some fraudulent charges which they took care of but we still haven't received our replacement card. It turns out if you need your card overnight you must ask them, if not, they send it regular mail. The bottom line is that if you can put up with all the nonsense its a great card.... February 7, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by No-nonsense free money? Yes please. The only criticism I could think of for this card is that the Amex payment network is not universally accepted, which may result in a few instances of being unable to use the card. Other than that, flat 2% cash with helpful, courteous customer service. It's nice to get paid for spend that I would be making anyways. Highly recommend. February 6, 2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great cash back program / FIA not so much I love the 2% piece, but FIA is behind the times as it relates to technology and integration with programs like Quicken. I also don't like the fact they have had multiple security issues and seems like annually they have to reissue a new card. Also they seem to decline even the slightest unusual (to them) transaction. Then they don't call me back on the number I have listed as primary. February 4, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service and rebate best in the credit card space. I recommend to every one February 3, 2015
  • 2015-03-31T10:03:22.574-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_1064, tr_1064
  • loc_en_US, sid_003, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 36 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0