• Print
  • Default text size A
  • Larger text size A
  • Largest text size A

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Our American Express® Card gives you cash-back with the flexibility of depositing your rewards into one or more eligible Fidelity brokerage, IRA, 529, or Cash Management accounts.

Earn 2% rewards toward the eligible account of your choice1

Tell us how much you charge each month, and we'll show you the hypothetical value of your account in 20 years.

Calculate your potential rewards.

Apply online or by phone. When applying by phone, reference priority code: VACAUL

Product details

Industry recognition accolades_animation
Rewards

Earn 2% cash back on purchases each time you use your card when you direct your deposit into your eligible Fidelity account: every $2,500 spent equals a $50 deposit.5

Link to Fidelity
accounts

Deposit 2% of your purchases into the eligible Fidelity account1 of your choice, including your:

  • Fidelity® Cash Management Account
  • Brokerage account
  • Fidelity-managed 529 account
  • Retirement account

Direct all your rewards toward one account, or divide them among up to five accounts. Family members can also link their Fidelity Rewards cards to your eligible Fidelity account.

To set up automatic point redemptions, be sure to provide your Fidelity account number when applying.6 You can link additional accounts at FIA Card Services.

See how 2% rewards can really add up.

Additional card 
benefits7
  • No limits on rewards
  • No annual fee
  • 24-hour customer service
  • Zero liability fraud protection and identity theft recovery service
  • Retail purchase protection for merchandise
  • Travel and emergency assistance, including car rental loss and damage insurance
  • See our Pricing and Program Benefits before applying

Next steps

Fidelity® Investment Rewards® American Express® Card

Additional resources

003
5508tridion
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 1066 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Amex card out there I used to accumulate points and then go out to an expensive meal. Which always cost me more than the points because of the tip. Did I really need to be eating a $50 steak because my other Amex gave me points? This is WAY better! I use the card for almost all my expenditures, including cell phone bills, gas, groceries, purchases etc. Every couple of months I get back $50 or $100 dollars which goes right into my Fidelity bank account. The last time I checked, it would take me a long time to accumulate that kind of interest on a small savings account. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by REWARDS You advertise/promote that you pay 1.5% rewards and up to 2% based on volume. Yet I have never been paid more than 1%. Why is that? pierre September 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Love the rebate, hate the declines I have both the Fidelity Amex and Visa and use the Amex where ever it is accepted and the Visa in other places. I love the 2% back on all purchases and the doubling of warranty when I use the Amex. But I get a fair amount of merchants declining the purchase - both online and in the store/gas station. Each time I need to call Customer Support and re-activate my card. If you can deal with the overheads, it is good deal. September 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for International Travel, too... Not only does this card deposit the rewards in an IRA or in a regular account, it has other benefits as well. Since it is a genuine American Express Card, the foreign transaction fee is only 1%, versus 3% for other credit cards such as Mastercard or VISA. Thus, this card has become our card of choice for foreign travel. The Customer Service desk is both very friendly and competent when I call with our upcoming travel plans. We have never had an issue when using this card on our foreign (or domestic) travel, especially if you inform Customer Service about your travel plans. September 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by like the rebates but almost impossible to use the credit card I signed up for the reward credit card last year because I do like to earn the 2% reward. However, it was almost impossible for me to use the credit card because the great majority of credit card charges were denied. We are not even talking about major purchases, but little charges for $100 or less. In other words, we are talking about a small fraction of one percent of the usual credit limit for each and every one of my credit card. I spent so much time dealing with Amex Customer Service, and I had no choice but to stop using the card. I frankly do not understand the logics, because Amex/Fidelity must have spent a fortune on payroll costs for the time of their Customer Service employees on harassment of their customers. I will consider charging on the credit card in the future, but only if we can get at least a somewhat bearable experience with Amex. August 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rewards high but "fraud prevention" a hassle This card's 2% cash back to my Fidelity account is great. However this card also has an exceptionally aggressive fraud prevention feature that leads to declined charges often if one uses it as one's primary card. It makes no difference if you call in advance or not -- the "sales prevention team" at FIA Card Services is always ready to make sure charges are declined, sometimes in an unpredictable manner. Don't even think of trying to use this card internationally on a multi-country trip! (PS - I'm a longstanding Fidelity account holder with substantial (7 figure) assets, excellent credit, no late payments, a high credit limit on the card, and almost no chargebacks requested -- It makes no difference. If you can use this card -- do it! But make sure you have a backup with you at all times. Thus, I do not recommend unless you have another account. August 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Rewards The only issue I have with this program is that it would be good for Fidelity to offer a Master Card or Visa card because American Express is not accepted by all retailers. August 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by would be great if it worked with Quicken Fidelity is a great company. Unfortunately, they've sub contracted their Visa and AMEX cards to FIA card services. This card may still work for you but this is what you should know: PROs: Great cash back award. Automatic payment into your fidelity account when you charge $2,500 CONs These cards do not load transactions daily into Quicken, if you use quicken, these cards are a pain! The foreign transactions fees are very high FIA card services phone support is spotty August 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Terrible website I love the 2% cash back which is why I use the card. But I've never seen a worse website for a credit card. August 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by of limited value with over 750,000 in Fidelity assets, I was given a card with a 7500 credit limit. When I tried to get the limit increased to a limit more appropriate to the risk involved, I was given the "fifth degree" I see no benefit in holding a card which bears little recognition for my role in the "process" August 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not if you travel abroad This card would be perfect except for one serious problem. They are constantly refusing charges, especially from outside the US. Even if I call them before making a charge and tell them exactly what the charge will be, they still often refuse it. They say I must have it refused and then call them and then retry. August 5, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by The problem is FIA Services I did not know that a name like Fidelity would be using such a horrible card service, the website looks 10 years back and my biggest peeve point is they don't even let an auto-payment of entire statement balance. You can either do a auto-pay of the minimum balance or come each month and make your payments, sounds like a trap to make people pay interest charges. I haven't seen such a thing in my last 8 years of credit card operations. I am also reading some other very bad reviews of poor FIA customer service and arbitrary charges on internet, I don't think 2% is worth it with all this hassle. August 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fidelity Amex Retirement Rewards Cards Really pay 1% The 2% rewards card refers to points not $dollars- the $rewards are really only 1%. Marketing material indicates every $2500 spent equals $50 deposit- but the FIA card details indicate every 5,000 points = $50 or 1%. Seems like your earn 2% points which is worth $1. Why the complicated points versus dollar conversion? August 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Make your money work for you! I love thing card. It is great and pays you back for spending the money you would spend anyway at the best rate that I've seen on any card. August 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Card Ever This is the best credit card of the many, many credit cards I have or have had. There are no fees or limits and the rewards automatically are deposited into my Fidelity Account. It could not be easier. Plus when I call customer service, which is not often, I quickly get a live person to address the matter. July 31, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Poor Customer Service You wait on hold than get put into a call center. The people who staff the center do little to help you. If you need to call back you end up getting a different person. you have to explain yourself all over again. There is no way for you to call the same person, supposedly working on your case. There is no way for that person to call you back. There is no way to e-mail in documentation. Cash back is not worth the hassle. July 30, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Does not provide daily download to quicken Every card I have ever used would download up to date transactions to quicken. Was stunned to learn FIA does not! Soooo inconvenient and disrespectful of customer needs. What could possibly explain their refusal to deliver this basic service. Makes you look for opportunities to use alternative cards. Hopefully more posts will get them to fix. July 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome card The card is awesome, the service unparallel. Fidelity card is very good in all aspects. July 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Fails With Quicken Financial Software One of my other credit cards returns only 1% on "everything else". With this card I can earn 2%, double that, on "everything else". That's great! Where this card fails is the lack of DAILY downloading of transactions via Quicken updating into Quicken. Unlike my four major bank accounts and two other credit cards, not to mention Fidelity Investments and Fidelity Net Benefits, FIA does not permit daily downloading of transactions via Quicken updating into Quicken. I have to wait for the monthly statement which I can download into Quicken only by initiating the download at the FIA website. Not great! In fact, it stinks. For me it was almost a deal-killer! In sum, beyond having to wait for the MONTHLY FIA statement and then having to download it from the FIA website I have to waste time visiting the FIA website daily to check on posted transactions rather than letting Quicken download the daily transactions for me. FIA needs to improve customer service and convenience on this issue. I recommend this card only for its value. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this card and the customer service is excellent First of all this card is amazing and it's great how the rewards really add up. I've used the customer service a few times and they are helpful and great. This is the only credit card I carry. July 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Excellent product and good cash back. What more can I ask for July 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2% Back with Zero Effort I've had this card for 4 years. It's great to get 2% back on every purchase. Once you link it to your Fidelity account, the cash back is 100% automatic. No games or hoops, or forgetting to claim your rewards. I've had no hassles at all with this card. The paper statements are good. The site where I pay the bill each month is a bit different, but works fine. I have not tried the downloading of expenses feature. July 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Rewards Con: can't be used at gas stations, unless they take AmEx, which several do not. Would like to see a way to accumulate points faster, as 5,000 for $50 credit in account takes forever. July 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by good return I opened it simply for the 2% reward. Works fine but would get more use is it were a Visa or Mastercard as some merchants do not take American Express. July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by High payback, lacking some features The 2% payback into my IRA is a great benefit. Funds are automatically placed in my account; unlike other reward programs no action required on my part, nothing expires, no black out dates, or etc. The one feature it lacks is the ability to download transactions to Quicken. For me, a big hassle. Therefore, I only put larger purchases on this card. June 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fidelity Rewards American Express Card I am pleased with my card, however, I am unable to use it when traveling overseas. I have been told that my card does not have a metal chip in it and, therefore, is not acceptable for purchases or cash. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by its the best! 2% CASH on every purchase with no limit makes it very attractive to me. However I do miss the special offers where you offered a higher % for certain categories for a limited period. June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent benefits an flexibility The best card I have ever had! Straight forward offerings..no sudden changes to benefits. I absolutely love it! The 2 percent cash back really adds up. I pay everything with this card. It helps me to keep track of my expenses by category. Keep up the great job, June 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very reliable..... Pays 2% on all purchases which is appealing. Somewhat slow in sending rebates to Fidelity account. June 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fidelity American Express Good card although I wish the rewards could be automatically deposited into a Fidelity Mutual Fund of my choice - this was the policy in a previous card that I had with Fidelity. Easy to contact people about the card and they are very responsive. June 28, 2013
  • 2015-04-01T09:50:10.294-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-10, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_1066, tr_1066
  • loc_en_US, sid_003, prod, sort_default
<<prev 8 9 10 11 12 ... 36 next>>
close

Easy, automatic savings

Earn 2 points per $1 spent on every purchase, every time.

Monthly purchases Points toward Fidelity rewards
Groceries $400 800
Dining out $180 360
Drugstore purchases $75 150
Clothes and home furnishings $375 750
Entertainment $100 200
Your monthly total $1,250 2,500

After just two months, you could add $50 to your Fidelity account.

This is for illustrative purposes only. Your actual rewards earned will depend on your individual purchases.

Or by phone

Reference priority code: VACAUL

1. Eligible registrations include all nonretirement registrations. Traditional IRA, Roth IRA, Rollover IRA, SEP-IRA, and all Fidelity-managed 529 plans are also eligible. The ability to contribute to an IRA or 529 college savings plan account is subject to IRS rules and specific program policies, including those on eligibility and annual and maximum contribution limits. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card.
2. The Best Cash-Back Credit Cards in America, Credit.com, April 2014. Learn more about the award. Credit.com is a free, independent comparison service working to educate and empower consumers. Results were based on a selected universe of credit card companies and credit card offers by the author and considered the rewards as a percentage of spending, the other perks that a credit card may offer (which can include, but are not limited to, travel insurance and purchase protection policies) and fees.
3. Editor's Choice Award for Best Cash Back Credit Cards, Cardratings.com, December, 2013.
4. MONEY® Magazine, October 2013, ©2013 Time Inc. MONEY is a registered trademark of Time Inc. and is used under License. MONEY and Time Inc. are not affiliated with, and do not endorse products or services of, Fidelity Investments.
5. You will earn 2 points per dollar in net retail purchases charged to the card. Credits, returns, adjustments, and certain transactions do not earn points. The 2% rewards value applies only to points redeemed for a deposit into an eligible Fidelity account. The redemption value is different if you choose to redeem your points for other rewards. Other restrictions apply. Full details appear in the Program Guidelines new card customers receive with their card. Establishment or ownership of a Fidelity account or other relationship with Fidelity Investments is not required to obtain a card or to be eligible to use points to obtain any rewards offered under the program other than Fidelity Rewards.
6. To receive a deposit, you must link your eligible Fidelity account to your card. This can be accomplished in any of following ways. 1. You may contact FIA Card Services Customer Service at the toll-free phone number located on the back of your credit card and provide them with your eligible Fidelity account (s) number. 2. Simply click the “manage reward points” hyperlink from the credit card snapshot page on Fidelity.com and follow the easy steps. You may also watch a brief video that describes the linking process on the credit card snapshot page also found on Fidelity.com. Please note that automatic redemptions will occur on a monthly basis as long as you have reached the point redemption threshold of 5000 points.
7. Certain restrictions apply to each benefit. Details accompany new account materials.
8. This credit card program is issued and administered by FIA® Card Services, which is not an affiliate of Fidelity Investments. Investment Rewards and FIA Card Services are registered trademarks of FIA Card Services and/or its affiliates.
American Express is a federally registered service mark of American Express and is used by the issuer pursuant to a license.
Note that the Fidelity Rewards Card accrues points which can be redeemed for a variety of rewards, one of which is Fidelity Rewards.
Third-party trademarks appearing herein are the property of their respective owners.
The initial customer ratings and reviews for this product (those dated before 3/16/2012) were provided to Fidelity through an email solicitation for feedback on the product. All ratings and reviews are provided to Fidelity on a voluntarily basis and are screened in accordance with the guidelines set forth in our Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of Use. For additional information on which ratings and reviews may be posted, please refer to our Customer Ratings and Review Terms of Use. Featured Reviews have been selected based on subjective criteria and reviewed by Fidelity Investments. The average rating is determined by calculating the mathematical average of all ratings that are approved for posting per the Customer Ratings and Reviews Terms of use and does not include any ratings that did not meet the guidelines and were therefore not posted. Ratings and reviews are added continuously to the website (after a delay for screening against guidelines) and average ratings are updated dynamically as reviews are added or removed.
The ratings and experience of customers may not be representative of the experiences of all customers or investors and is not indicative of future success. The accuracy of information included in the customer ratings and reviews cannot be guaranteed by Fidelity Investments. Customers who post ratings may be responsible for disclosing whether they have a financial interest or conflict in submitting a rating and review.
Please contact a Fidelity representative if you have additional questions or concerns about the ratings and reviews posted here.
611195.13.0